CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT00020631Updated Jun 19, 2013

Pirfenidone in Treating Patients With Fibrosis Caused by Radiation Therapy for Cancer

An interventional study of pirfenidone in Radiation Fibrosis, sponsored by National Cancer Institute (NCI). Completed at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2013-06-19.

Sponsored by National Cancer Institute (NCI) · Not applicable, Interventional, and Supportive care

Phase
Not applicable
Study type
Interventional
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

RATIONALE: Pirfenidone may prevent or lessen fibrosis caused by radiation therapy.

PURPOSE: Pilot trial to study the effectiveness of pirfenidone in preventing or lessening fibrosis in patients who have undergone radiation therapy for cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Determine the safety and therapeutic efficacy of pirfenidone in cancer patients with radiation-induced fibrosis.

OUTLINE: Patients receive oral pirfenidone 3 times daily. Treatment continues for up to 2 years in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

Principal functional abilities are assessed at baseline, every 3 months, and at termination of therapy.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 10-25 patients will be accrued for this study within 1 year.

02

Conditions studied

  • Radiation Fibrosis

Keywords

  • radiation fibrosis
03

In context

Fibrosis

3,255 studies on the registry are indexed under Fibrosis; 465 are open to participants now.

Browse Fibrosis studies →

Lead sponsor

National Cancer Institute (NCI) is the lead sponsor of 3,506 studies on the registry; 334 are open to participants now.

Of its 402 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 365 (91%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Eligibility criteria

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Regional post-radiation fibrosis of a specific body area (e.g., neck, back, or extremities)

    • At least moderate impairment in at least 1 of the following principal functional abilities:

      • Range of motion
      • Strength
      • Edema
      • Swallowing
  • Prior radiation for cancer received more than 6 months ago
  • No evidence of recurrent or metastatic cancer
  • No history of collagen vascular disease
  • No positive antinuclear antibody

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age:

  • 18 and over

Performance status:

  • ECOG 0-2

Life expectancy:

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic:

  • Not specified

Hepatic:

  • Hepatitis B and C negative

Renal:

  • Not specified

Other:

  • HIV negative
  • No evidence of second primary cancer
  • No life-threatening situation requiring rehabilitation intervention
  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy:

  • No concurrent anticancer immunotherapy

Chemotherapy:

  • No concurrent anticancer chemotherapy

Endocrine therapy:

  • No concurrent anticancer hormonal therapy

Radiotherapy:

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • No concurrent anticancer radiotherapy

Surgery:

  • Not specified

Other:

  • No other concurrent anticancer investigational agents
  • Stable doses of medicine (e.g., non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs) currently being taken are allowed
05

Study design

Phase
Not applicable
Primary purpose
Supportive care

Interventions

  • Drugpirfenidone
06

Study locations

1 site
  • Warren Grant Magnuson Clinical Center - NCI Clinical Studies Support
    Bethesda, Maryland 20892-1182, United States
07

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Jun 19, 2013, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
08

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT00020631
Lead sponsor
National Cancer Institute (NCI)
First posted
Jan 27, 2003
Start date
Oct 2001
Completion
Oct 2007
Last update
Jun 19, 2013

Study contacts

Kevin Camphausen, MD
principal investigator · NCI - Radiation Oncology Branch; ROB
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Apr 2004. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion