A Phase 2 interventional study of carboplatin and paclitaxel in Fallopian Tube Cancer, Ovarian Cancer and Peritoneal Cavity Cancer, sponsored by SWOG Cancer Research Network. Completed. Open to female participants aged 18 Years to 120 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2016-01-08.
Sponsored by SWOG Cancer Research Network · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment
RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining more than one drug or combining chemotherapy with surgery may kill more tumor cells.
PURPOSE: Phase II trial to study the effectiveness of combination chemotherapy and surgery in treating patients who have stage III or stage IV ovarian epithelial cancer, primary peritoneal cancer, or fallopian tube cancer.
OBJECTIVES:
OUTLINE: This is a multicenter study.
Patients receive neoadjuvant therapy comprising paclitaxel IV over 3 hours followed by carboplatin IV over 30-60 minutes on day 1. Treatment repeats every 21 days for 3 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Within 35 days of receiving the third course of chemotherapy, patients with at least a 50% reduction in CA 125 undergo debulking surgery. Within 35 days of undergoing surgery, patients with a tumor reduction to below 1 cm receive adjuvant therapy comprising paclitaxel IV over 3 hours followed by carboplatin intraperitoneally (IP) on day 1 and paclitaxel IP on day 8. Treatment repeats every 28 days for 6 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
Patients are followed every 3 months for 1 year, every 6 months for 2 years, and then annually for up to 5 years.
PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 55 patients will be accrued for this study within 3 years.
2,695 studies on the registry are indexed under Ovarian Neoplasms; 727 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 62 is close to the median of 60 across 2,030 interventional studies indexed under Ovarian Neoplasms.
Browse Ovarian Neoplasms studies →SWOG Cancer Research Network is the lead sponsor of 328 studies on the registry; 37 are open to participants now.
Of its 17 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 17 (100%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:
Histologically or cytologically confirmed stage III or IV ovarian epithelial cancer, primary peritoneal cancer, or fallopian tube cancer
PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:
Age:
Performance status:
Life expectancy:
Hematopoietic:
Hepatic:
Renal:
Cardiovascular:
Other:
PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:
Biologic therapy:
Chemotherapy:
Endocrine therapy:
Radiotherapy:
Surgery:
Other:
neoadjuvant chemotherapy (carboplatin and paclitaxel) followed by debulking surgery followed by intraperitoneal chemotherapy (carboplatin and paclitaxel)
Drug: carboplatin · Drug: paclitaxel · Procedure: debulking surgery
pre-surgery - target AUC=6, Day 1 IV, q 21 days X 3 cycles post-surgery - target AUC=5, Day 1 IP, q 28 days X 6 cycles
Also known as: carbo
pre-surgery - 175 mg/m2 IV Day 1, q 21 days X 3 cycles post-surgery - 175 mg/m2 IV Day 1, q 28 days X 6 cycles AND 60 mg/m2 IP Day 8, q 28 days X 6 cycles
Also known as: Taxol
exploratory laparotomy, interval cytoreduction (to \< 1 cm residual)
Also known as: surgery, debulking, cytoreduction, laparotomy
Overall Survival
Overall survival was defined as the time from the date of registration until the date of death due to any cause. Patients last known to be alive were censored at the date of last contact. Patients were followed every 3 months for the first year, every 6 months for years 2 and 3, and then annually for years 4 and 5.
Time frame: assessed every 3 months for 1st year, then every 6 months for 2 years, then annually for years 4 and 5
Progression-Free Survival
Progression was defined as a CA-125 value that is both twice the nadir since registration and greater than 70 units/ml, and is confirmed by a second determination at least 7 days apart, or appearance of any new lesion/site. Symptomatic deterioration was defined as a global deterioration of health status requiring removal from protocol treatment. Progression-Free Survival was defined as the time from the date of registration to the date of progression, symptomatic deterioration, or death due to any cause. Patients last known to be alive and progression-free were censored at last contact date.
Time frame: Monthly during protocol treatment, then every 3 months up to the end of Year 1, then every 6 months for the next two years, then annually up to Year 5.
| Milestone | Experimental: Chemo/Debulking Surgery/IP Chemo |
|---|---|
| Started | 58 |
| Eligible | 58 |
| Completed | 38 |
| Not completed | 20 |
| Withdrew: Adverse event | 3 |
| Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject | 3 |
| Withdrew: Lack of efficacy | 6 |
| Withdrew: Not protocol specified | 8 |
| Milestone | Experimental: Chemo/Debulking Surgery/IP Chemo |
|---|---|
| Started | 38 |
| Received protocol surgery | 36 |
| Completed | 36 |
| Not completed | 2 |
| Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject | 2 |
| Milestone | Experimental: Chemo/Debulking Surgery/IP Chemo |
|---|---|
| Started | 26 |
| Completed | 18 |
| Not completed | 8 |
| Withdrew: Adverse event | 6 |
| Withdrew: Progression | 1 |
| Withdrew: Not protocol specified | 1 |
Overall survival was defined as the time from the date of registration until the date of death due to any cause. Patients last known to be alive were censored at the date of last contact. Patients were followed every 3 months for the first year, every 6 months for years 2 and 3, and then annually for years 4 and 5.
| months | Experimental: Chemo/Debulking Surgery/IP Chemo |
|---|---|
| Overall Survival | 32 (22 to 37) |
Progression was defined as a CA-125 value that is both twice the nadir since registration and greater than 70 units/ml, and is confirmed by a second determination at least 7 days apart, or appearance of any new lesion/site. Symptomatic deterioration was defined as a global deterioration of health status requiring removal from protocol treatment. Progression-Free Survival was defined as the time from the date of registration to the date of progression, symptomatic deterioration, or death due to any cause. Patients last known to be alive and progression-free were censored at last contact date.
| months | Experimental: Chemo/Debulking Surgery/IP Chemo |
|---|---|
| Progression-Free Survival | 21 (15 to 32) |
Collected over Patients were assessed for adverse events every 3 weeks during neoadjuvant chemotherapy, and then every 4 weeks during intravenous/intraperitoneal chemotherapy following cytoreductive surgery.. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Neoadjuvant Paclitaxel (IV) + Carboplatin (V) | — | 1/58 (1.7%) | 41/58 (70.7%) |
| Post-Cytoreduction Paclitaxel (IV/IP) + Carboplatin (IP) | — | 0/26 (0%) | 22/26 (84.6%) |
| Event | Neoadjuvant Paclitaxel (IV) + Carboplatin (V) | Post-Cytoreduction Paclitaxel (IV/IP) + Carboplatin (IP) |
|---|---|---|
| HypokalemiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders | 1/58 | 0/26 |
| Event | Neoadjuvant Paclitaxel (IV) + Carboplatin (V) | Post-Cytoreduction Paclitaxel (IV/IP) + Carboplatin (IP) |
|---|---|---|
| LeukopeniaInvestigations | 9/58 | 17/26 |
| Fatigue/malaise/lethargyGeneral disorders | 17/58 | 15/26 |
| Neutropenia/granulocytopeniaInvestigations | 13/58 | 15/26 |
| AnemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 14/58 | 14/26 |
| Abdominal pain/crampingGastrointestinal disorders | 10/58 | 14/26 |
| NauseaGastrointestinal disorders | 5/58 | 12/26 |
| ThrombocytopeniaInvestigations | 7/58 | 11/26 |
| Sensory neuropathyNervous system disorders | 0/58 | 11/26 |
| AlopeciaSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders | 0/58 | 10/26 |
| Constipation/bowel obstructionGastrointestinal disorders | 3/58 | 9/26 |
| Age, Continuous(years) | Experimental: Chemo/Debulking Surgery/IP Chemo |
|---|---|
| Median | 62 (31 to 79) |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Experimental: Chemo/Debulking Surgery/IP Chemo |
|---|---|
| Female | 58 |
| Male | 0 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Experimental: Chemo/Debulking Surgery/IP Chemo |
|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 3 |
| Asian | 0 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 1 |
| Black or African American | 1 |
| White | 51 |
| More than one race | 0 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 2 |
| Stage(participants) | Experimental: Chemo/Debulking Surgery/IP Chemo |
|---|---|
| Stage III | 43 |
| Stage IV | 15 |
| Primary Site(participants) | Experimental: Chemo/Debulking Surgery/IP Chemo |
|---|---|
| Ovary | 43 |
| Peritoneal | 14 |
| Not reported | 1 |
No study locations are listed for this record.
This study is completed, as verified in Dec 2015. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
SWOG Cancer Research Network