CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT00002804Updated Jul 25, 2014

Combination Chemotherapy, Surgery, and Radiation Therapy in Treating Children With Advanced Soft Tissue Sarcoma

A Phase 2 interventional study of filgrastim and doxorubicin hydrochloride in Sarcoma, sponsored by Children's Oncology Group. Completed at 9 sites in 3 countries. Open to participants aged Up to 21 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2014-07-25.

Sponsored by Children's Oncology Group · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
43
Allocation
Not applicable
Ages
Up to 21 Years
Sex
All
01

Study summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. Combining more than one chemotherapy drug with radiation therapy may kill more tumor cells.

PURPOSE: Phase II trial to study the effectiveness of combination chemotherapy, surgery, and radiation therapy in treating children who have advanced soft tissue sarcoma.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES: I. Assess the response to vincristine/ifosfamide/doxorubicin (VID) with granulocyte colony-stimulating factor support in children with newly diagnosed, inoperable or metastatic non-rhabdomyosarcoma soft tissue sarcomas. II. Estimate the 2-year and event-free survival rates in children treated with VID plus radiotherapy and/or surgery. III. Establish a bank of frozen tumor and peripheral blood tissue for use in further molecular studies.

OUTLINE: The following acronyms are used: DOX Doxorubicin, NSC-123127 G-CSF Granulocyte Colony-Stimulating Factor (Amgen), NSC-614629 IFF Ifosfamide, NSC-109724 Mesna Mercaptoethane sulfonate, NSC-113891 VCR Vincristine, NSC-67574 VID VCR/IFF/DOX Induction: 3-Drug Combination Chemotherapy. VID. Local Control: Surgery and/or Radiotherapy plus 3-Drug Combination Chemotherapy. Excision of the primary tumor and pulmonary metastases; and/or irradiation of the primary tumor and pulmonary metastases using x-rays or Co60 beam energies of at least 4 MV (electrons or iridium-192 implant allowed for boost); plus VID. Continuation: 3-Drug Combination Chemotherapy. VID.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 40 patients will be entered over 2.7 years if there are at least 7 responses in the first 20 patients.

02

Conditions studied

  • Sarcoma

Browse trials for

Keywords

  • nonmetastatic childhood soft tissue sarcoma
  • metastatic childhood soft tissue sarcoma
03

In context

Sarcoma

1,667 studies on the registry are indexed under Sarcoma; 393 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 43 is close to the median of 40 across 1,283 interventional studies indexed under Sarcoma.

Browse Sarcoma studies →

Lead sponsor

Children's Oncology Group is the lead sponsor of 436 studies on the registry; 34 are open to participants now.

Of its 12 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 11 (92%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
Up to 21 Years
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Eligibility criteria

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS: Biopsy proven non-rhabdomyosarcoma soft tissue sarcoma (NRSTS) Evaluable residual tumor after initial biopsy or excision required Registration required within 42 days of definitive diagnosis Grade II/III, unresectable or metastatic disease The following histologies exclude: Angiofibroma of the nasopharynx Mesothelioma Desmoid tumor Peripheral neuroepithelioma Desmoplastic small cell tumor Rhabdomyosarcoma Extraosseous Ewing's sarcoma Undifferentiated sarcoma Kaposi's sarcoma Grade 1 NRSTS, including: Angiomatoid malignant fibrous histiocytoma Dermatofibrosarcoma protuberans Myxoid and well-differentiated liposarcoma Well-differentiated and infantile hemangiopericytoma Well-differentiated malignant peripheral nerve sheath tumor

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS: Age: 21 and under Performance status: Not specified Hematopoietic: Not specified Hepatic: Not specified Renal: Creatinine normal for age No hydronephrosis Cardiovascular: Shortening fraction greater than 28% Other: No HIV infection Not pregnant or nursing Effective contraception required of fertile women

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY: No prior chemotherapy or radiotherapy No prior nephrectomy (surgical correction of hydronephrosis allowed)

05

Study design

Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
43 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Chemotherapy Regimen

    Induction (Weeks 1-6) Vincristine sulfate (1.5 mg/m2) day 1, Ifosfamide (3 grams/m2) days 1-3, Doxorubicin (30 mg/m2) days 1-2, filgrastim day 4. Weeks 2 and 3 - Vincristine sulfate (1.5 mg/m2) IV day 1, week 5 no chemotherapy. Evaluate for response. Local Control (Weeks 7-13) Conventional surgery and radiation therapy. Vincristine sulfate (1.5 mg/m2) IV day 1, Ifosfamide (3 grams/m2) days 1-3, Doxorubicin (30 mg/m2) days 1-2, filgrastim day 4. Treatment continues per protocol.

    Biological: filgrastim · Drug: doxorubicin hydrochloride · Drug: ifosfamide · Drug: mesna · Drug: vincristine sulfate · Procedure: conventional surgery · Radiation: brachytherapy · Radiation: low-LET cobalt-60 gamma ray therapy · Radiation: low-LET electron therapy · Radiation: low-LET photon therapy

Interventions

  • Biologicalfilgrastim

    Also known as: Granulocyte-Colony Stimulating Factor, Neupogen, G-CSF

  • Drugdoxorubicin hydrochloride

    Also known as: Adriamycin, NSC#123127

  • Drugifosfamide

    Also known as: Isophosphamide, IFEX

  • Drugmesna

    Also known as: Sodium 2-Mercaptoethane Sulfonate, Mesnex, Urimetexan, NSC#113891

  • Drugvincristine sulfate

    Also known as: VCR, Oncovin, NSC#67574

  • Procedureconventional surgery
  • Radiationbrachytherapy
  • Radiationlow-LET cobalt-60 gamma ray therapy
  • Radiationlow-LET electron therapy
  • Radiationlow-LET photon therapy
06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Estimate the response rate to the combination of vincristine, ifosfamide, and doxorubicin (VID), with G-CSF support

    To estimate the response rate to the combination of vincristine, ifosfamide, and doxorubicin (VID), with G-CSF support, in children with newly diagnosed inoperable or metastatic non-rhabdomyosarcoma soft tissue sarcomas.

Secondary outcomes

  1. Event-free Survival

    To estimate the 2-year survival and event-free survival of children treated with VID in combination with radiotherapy and/or surgery

  2. Establish a bank of frozen tissue (tumor and peripheral blood)

    To establish a bank of frozen tissue (tumor and peripheral blood) for use in further molecular studies.

07

Study locations

9 sites
  • Via Christi Regional Medical Center
    Wichita, Kansas 67214, United States
  • MBCCOP - LSU Medical Center
    New Orleans, Louisiana 70112, United States
  • Saint Jude Children's Research Hospital
    Memphis, Tennessee 38105-2794, United States
  • Medical City Dallas Hospital
    Dallas, Texas 75230, United States
  • San Antonio Military Pediatric Cancer and Blood Disorders Center
    Lackland Air Force Base, Texas 78236-5300, United States
  • University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio
    San Antonio, Texas 78284-7811, United States
  • Cancer Center, University of Virginia HSC
    Charlottesville, Virginia 22908, United States
  • University of Puerto Rico School of Medicine Medical Sciences Campus
    San Juan, 00936-5067, Puerto Rico
  • Clinique de Pediatrie
    Geneva, 1211, Switzerland
08

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Jul 25, 2014, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
09

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT00002804
Lead sponsor
Children's Oncology Group
Collaborators
National Cancer Institute (NCI)
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Jul 1, 2004
Start date
Sep 1996
Primary completion
Jun 2000
Completion
Apr 2006
Last update
Jul 25, 2014

Study contacts

Alberto S. Pappo, MD
study chair · St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Jul 2014. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion