CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT06545656Updated May 1, 2026Results posted

Daily Doxycycline to Inform Sexually Transmitted Infection Prophylaxis Regimens

A Phase 4 interventional study of Doxycycline in Sexually Transmitted Infection, sponsored by Emory University. Completed at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years to 59 Years, including healthy volunteers. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2026-05-01.

Sponsored by Emory University · Phase 4, Interventional, and Basic science

Phase
Phase 4
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
24
Allocation
Not applicable
Ages
18 Years to 59 Years
Sex
All
01

Study summary

The goal of this project is to collect data regarding the concentrations of doxycycline in mucosal tissues after daily dosing for 7 days in people assigned male sex at birth (AMAB) and assigned female sex at birth (AFAB) to inform future studies of doxycycline to protect against bacterial sexually transmitted infections (STIs).

Read the detailed description

Recent studies have demonstrated the potential utility of single-dose oral doxycycline postexposure prophylaxis (Doxy-PEP) against bacterial sexually transmitted infections (STIs). Additional dosing strategies are being explored that would also provide protection from bacterial STIs. However, the pharmacokinetics of daily doxycycline and specifically the effect of this dosing on effective drug levels in mucosal tissues is underexplored. A previous pilot study conducted by the Division of human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) Prevention (DHP) Laboratory Branch at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) examined the ability of a single 100mg oral dose of doxycycline to penetrate the vaginal and rectal mucosa. However, data regarding daily doxycycline doses and accumulation of doxycycline with multiple doses are lacking.

The purpose of this project is to collect data regarding the ability of daily oral doxycycline taken for 7 days to concentrate in mucosal tissues in people assigned male sex at birth (AMAB) and assigned female sex at birth (AFAB). Results from this study will be compared to results of the previous pilot studies conducted by the DHP Laboratory Branch at CDC.

Healthy people assigned male or female sex at birth will take the first dose of doxycycline during the enrollment visit (Hour -144/Day -6) then will take the next 5 doses at home, one per day for the next 5 days. After 6 consecutive days of dosing, study participants will have samples collected (Hour 0/Day 0) and then will take the final dose. Rectal and vaginal swab samples will be obtained 2 to 4 hours after the final dose of doxycycline. Rectal and vaginal biopsy tissue will be collected 24 hours after the last dose.

02

Conditions studied

  • Sexually Transmitted Infection
03

In context

Sexually Transmitted Diseases

424 studies on the registry are indexed under Sexually Transmitted Diseases; 71 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 24 is below the median of 470 across 346 interventional studies indexed under Sexually Transmitted Diseases.

Browse Sexually Transmitted Diseases studies →

Lead sponsor

Emory University is the lead sponsor of 1,386 studies on the registry; 236 are open to participants now.

Of its 229 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 174 (76%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years to 59 Years
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
Yes

Inclusion criteria

  • Assigned male sex or female sex at birth
  • In good general health
  • Not currently taking doxycycline or other tetracycline-derived antibiotics and no plans to initiate during the study
  • For HIV positive people, on stable antiretroviral therapy with an undetectable viral load and cluster of differentiation 4 (CD4) count> 300ul/ml
  • Willing to use condoms consistently for the duration of the study
  • Able to provide informed consent
  • No plans for relocation in the next 4 months
  • Not pregnant and does not plan on getting pregnant for the duration of the study
  • Willing to undergo peripheral blood, urine, rectal or vaginal secretion collection, and a rectal or vaginal and cervical biopsy procedure
  • Willing to use study products as directed

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Current or chronic history of liver disease
  • Continued need for, or use during the 90 days prior to enrollment, of the following medications:

    • Systemic immunomodulatory agents
    • Supraphysiologic doses of steroids (short course steroids less than 7 days duration, allowable at the discretion of the investigators)
    • Chemotherapy or radiation for treatment of malignancy
    • Experimental medications, vaccines, or biologicals
  • Intent to use doxycycline or other tetracycline-derived antibiotics during the course of the study, outside of the study procedures
  • Any other clinical condition or prior therapy that, in the opinion of the investigator, would make the patient unsuitable for the study or unable to comply with the study requirements
  • Known allergic reaction to study drugs
  • Significant laboratory abnormalities at baseline visit for rectal biopsies, including but not limited to:

    • Hemoglobin (Hgb) ≤ 10 g/dL
    • Partial thromboplastin time (PTT) > 1.5x upper limit of normal (ULN) or international normalised ratio (INR) > 1.5x ULN
    • Platelet count \<100,000
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 4
Primary purpose
Basic science
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
24 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Doxycycline

    Study participants taking 7 consecutive, daily doses of 100mg of Doxycycline.

    Drug: Doxycycline

Interventions

  • DrugDoxycycline

    Doxycycline (DOX) will be given orally at 100mg doses. Participants will take the study medication for 7 consecutive days.

    Also known as: Doxy-100, Oracea, Monodox

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Doxycycline Concentration in Rectal Tissue

    Rectal tissue doxycycline concentrations collected 24 hours after 7 daily (T7) doses of 100 mg of doxycycline were determined in assigned male sex at birth (AMAB) participants.

    Time frame: 24 hours after last dose (Hour 24/Day 1)

  2. Doxycycline Concentration in Vaginal Tissue

    Vaginal tissue doxycycline concentrations collected 24 hours after 7 daily (T7) doses of 100 mg of doxycycline were determined in Assigned female sex at birth (AFAB) participants.

    Time frame: 24 hours after last dose (Hour 24/Day 1)

07

Results

Posted May 1, 2026

Participant flow

Participants were recruited from the Hope Clinic in Atlanta, Georgia, USA. Participant enrollment began September 13, 2024, and all follow up was completed by April 29, 2025.

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneDoxycycline
Started24
Completed23
Not completed1
Withdrew: Lost to follow-up1

Outcome measures

PrimaryDoxycycline Concentration in Rectal Tissue

Rectal tissue doxycycline concentrations collected 24 hours after 7 daily (T7) doses of 100 mg of doxycycline were determined in assigned male sex at birth (AMAB) participants.

Time frame:
24 hours after last dose (Hour 24/Day 1)
Reported as:
Median · µg/g
Doxycycline Concentration in Rectal Tissue
µg/gDoxycycline
Doxycycline Concentration in Rectal Tissue2.330 (0.920 to 6.540)
PrimaryDoxycycline Concentration in Vaginal Tissue

Vaginal tissue doxycycline concentrations collected 24 hours after 7 daily (T7) doses of 100 mg of doxycycline were determined in Assigned female sex at birth (AFAB) participants.

Time frame:
24 hours after last dose (Hour 24/Day 1)
Reported as:
Median · µg/g
Doxycycline Concentration in Vaginal Tissue
µg/gDoxycycline
Doxycycline Concentration in Vaginal Tissue1.320 (0.770 to 2.090)

Adverse events

Collected over Information on adverse events was collected from the time participants provided consent to join the study (Screening Visit) until the final study visit occurring 7 days after the 7th dose of the study intervention (up to 56 days).. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Doxycycline0/24 (0%)0/24 (0%)0/24 (0%)

Baseline characteristics

Age, Categorical
Age, Categorical(Participants)Doxycycline
<=18 years0
Between 18 and 65 years24
>=65 years0
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Doxycycline
Female11
Male13
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Doxycycline
Hispanic or Latino3
Not Hispanic or Latino21
Unknown or Not Reported0
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Doxycycline
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Asian1
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
Black or African American17
White3
More than one race3
Unknown or Not Reported0
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(Participants)Doxycycline
United States24
08

Study locations

1 site
  • Hope Clinic
    Atlanta, Georgia 30322, United States
09

References and documents

Publications

  • Daly MB, Spandau M, Edwards TE, Dinh C, Fountain J, Dienhart JA, Conway-Washington C, Kelley C, Heneine W, Haaland R. Chelating anticoagulants reduce plasma doxycycline measurements: implications for doxy PEP monitoring. Expert Rev Clin Pharmacol. 2026 Jan-Feb;19(2):199-205. doi: 10.1080/17512433.2026.2632931. Epub 2026 Feb 19. PubMed 41701614 ↗

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Aug 1, 2024
  • Informed consent form · Apr 16, 2025

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: Yes — De-identified individual participant data underlie the results published for this study (including text, tables, figures, and appendices) will be made available for sharing with other researchers.

Supporting information: Study protocol, Sap

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on May 1, 2026, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT06545656
Lead sponsor
Emory University
Collaborators
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Responsible party
Colleen Kelley (Associate Professor, Emory University) — Principal investigator
First posted
Aug 9, 2024
Start date
Sep 13, 2024
Primary completion
Apr 29, 2025
Completion
Apr 29, 2025
Results posted
May 1, 2026
Last update
May 1, 2026

Study contacts

Colleen Kelley, MD, MPH
principal investigator · Emory University

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Jun 2025. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion