A Phase 3 interventional study of IgPro20 and Placebo in Post-COVID Postural Orthostatic Tachycardia Syndrome, sponsored by CSL Behring. Terminated at 38 sites in 2 countries. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2026-04-13.
Sponsored by CSL Behring · Phase 3, Interventional, and Treatment
This is a prospective, phase 3, multicenter, double-blind, randomized placebo-controlled study to investigate the efficacy, safety, and pharmacokinetics (PK) of repeat doses of IgPro20 in participants with post SARS-CoV-2 infection 2019 postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (post-Coronavirus Disease 2019 [COVID-19] POTS [post-COVID-POTS]).
CSL Behring is the lead sponsor of 142 studies on the registry; 18 are open to participants now.
Of its 24 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 17 (71%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Exclusion Criteria:
Biological: IgPro20
Biological: Placebo
IgPro20 is a 20% ready-to-use liquid formulation of polyvalent human immunoglobulin G (IgG) for subcutaneous (SC) administration
Also known as: HIZENTRA®
2% human albumin solution administered subcutaneously as a volume-matched dose to the experimental IMP.
Proportion of Participants No Longer Meeting Diagnostic Criteria of Post-COVID POTS as Measured by Standardized Standing Test (ie, No Longer Experiencing HR Increase of ≥30 Bpm, in the Absence of 20 mmHg Decrease of SBP [Orthostatic Hypotension])
The reported data reflect the percentage of participants who no longer met the diagnostic criteria for Post-Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID) Postural Orthostatic Tachycardia Syndrome (POTS), as assessed by a standardized standing test (i.e., no longer experiencing a heart-rate (HR) increase of \>=30 bpm in the absence of a 20 mmHg decrease in systolic blood pressure \[SBP; orthostatic hypotension\]), among participants evaluated at that visit. The Baseline data represent the proportion of participants who were meeting the diagnostic criteria for post-COVID POTS.
Time frame: At Baseline and at Week 25
Change From Baseline in Orthostatic Intolerance (OI) Score of Composite Autonomic Symptom Score 31 (COMPASS-31)
The COMPASS-31 was a self-reported questionnaire that measures autonomic symptoms across six domains: OI, vasomotor, secretomotor, gastrointestinal (GI), bladder, and pupillomotor. The OI domain assesses symptoms including faintness, dizziness, feeling "goofy," or had difficulty thinking soon after standing up from a sitting or lying position, and generates a total score ranging from 0 to 40 with higher scores representing a higher symptom burden. The treatment effect of interest was the difference from baseline in OI score of COMPASS-31. A more negative change from baseline indicates a greater improvement in OI symptoms.
Time frame: At Baseline and at Week 25
Change From Baseline in COMPASS-31 Total Score
The COMPASS-31 was a self-reported questionnaire that measured autonomic symptoms related to six domains: OI, vasomotor, secretomotor, gastrointestinal (GI), bladder, and pupillomotor. This questionnaire generated a weighted score ranging from 0 to 100, with higher scores representing a higher symptom burden. A COMPASS-31 score of \>=40 indicated that participants had severe autonomic dysfunction. A more negative change from baseline indicates a greater improvement in autonomic symptoms.
Time frame: At Baseline and at Week 25
Change From Baseline in Heart Rate Increase Within 10 Minutes of Standing Test
Heart rate for the standing test was measured at the end of 10 minutes in the supine position and at 1, 3, 5, 7, and 10 minutes of standing. The change in heart rate during the standing test was calculated as the difference between the average of the two highest heart rate measurements (bpm) within 10 minutes of standing and the heart rate measurement (bpm) at the end of 10 minutes in the supine position.
Time frame: At Baseline and at Week 25
Number of Participants With Treatment-Emergent Adverse Event (TEAE), Related TEAE, Serious TEAE and Related Serious TEAE
Time frame: Up to Week 45
Percentage of Participants With TEAE, Related TEAE, Serious TEAE and Related Serious TEAE
The participant data were rounded to one decimal place.
Time frame: Up to Week 45
Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Electrocardiogram (ECG) Abnormalities
Time frame: Up to Week 45
Percentage of Participants With Clinically Significant ECG Abnormalities
Time frame: Up to Week 45
Number of Participants With Change From Baseline in Clinically Significant ECG Abnormalities
Time frame: From Baseline up to Week 45
Percentage of Participants With Change From Baseline in Clinically Significant ECG Abnormalities
Time frame: From Baseline up to Week 45
This study was conducted in the United States.
| Milestone | IgPro20/IgPro20 | Placebo/IgPro20 |
|---|---|---|
| Started | 11 | 5 |
| Completed | 3 | 0 |
| Not completed | 8 | 5 |
| Withdrew: Study terminated by sponsor | 8 | 5 |
| Milestone | IgPro20/IgPro20 | Placebo/IgPro20 |
|---|---|---|
| Started | 3 | 0 |
| Completed | 0 | 0 |
| Not completed | 3 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Study terminated by sponsor | 3 | 0 |
The reported data reflect the percentage of participants who no longer met the diagnostic criteria for Post-Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID) Postural Orthostatic Tachycardia Syndrome (POTS), as assessed by a standardized standing test (i.e., no longer experiencing a heart-rate (HR) increase of \>=30 bpm in the absence of a 20 mmHg decrease in systolic blood pressure \[SBP; orthostatic hypotension\]), among participants evaluated at that visit. The Baseline data represent the proportion of participants who were meeting the diagnostic criteria for post-COVID POTS.
| Percentage of participants | IgPro20 (Double-blind Period) | Placebo (Double-blind Period) |
|---|---|---|
| At Baseline | 100 | 100 |
| At Week 25 | 33.3 | — |
The COMPASS-31 was a self-reported questionnaire that measures autonomic symptoms across six domains: OI, vasomotor, secretomotor, gastrointestinal (GI), bladder, and pupillomotor. The OI domain assesses symptoms including faintness, dizziness, feeling "goofy," or had difficulty thinking soon after standing up from a sitting or lying position, and generates a total score ranging from 0 to 40 with higher scores representing a higher symptom burden. The treatment effect of interest was the difference from baseline in OI score of COMPASS-31. A more negative change from baseline indicates a greater improvement in OI symptoms.
| Score on a scale | IgPro20 (Double-blind Period) | Placebo (Double-blind Period) |
|---|---|---|
| Change From Baseline in Orthostatic Intolerance (OI) Score of Composite Autonomic Symptom Score 31 (COMPASS-31) | -25.3 ± 10.07 | — |
The COMPASS-31 was a self-reported questionnaire that measured autonomic symptoms related to six domains: OI, vasomotor, secretomotor, gastrointestinal (GI), bladder, and pupillomotor. This questionnaire generated a weighted score ranging from 0 to 100, with higher scores representing a higher symptom burden. A COMPASS-31 score of \>=40 indicated that participants had severe autonomic dysfunction. A more negative change from baseline indicates a greater improvement in autonomic symptoms.
| Score on a scale | IgPro20 (Double-blind Period) | Placebo (Double-blind Period) |
|---|---|---|
| Change From Baseline in COMPASS-31 Total Score | -46.65 ± 6.014 | — |
Heart rate for the standing test was measured at the end of 10 minutes in the supine position and at 1, 3, 5, 7, and 10 minutes of standing. The change in heart rate during the standing test was calculated as the difference between the average of the two highest heart rate measurements (bpm) within 10 minutes of standing and the heart rate measurement (bpm) at the end of 10 minutes in the supine position.
| Beats per minute | IgPro20 (Double-blind Period) | Placebo (Double-blind Period) |
|---|---|---|
| Change From Baseline in Heart Rate Increase Within 10 Minutes of Standing Test | -13.25 ± 6.718 | — |
| Participants | IgPro20 (Double-blind Period) | Placebo (Double-blind Period) | IgPro20 (Open-label Period) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Any TEAE | 10 | 4 | 0 |
| Any TEAE Related to Study Treatment | 9 | 0 | 0 |
| Any Serious TEAE | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Any Serious TEAE Related to Study Treatment | 0 | 0 | 0 |
The participant data were rounded to one decimal place.
| Percentage of participants | IgPro20 (Double-blind Period) | Placebo (Double-blind Period) | IgPro20 (Open-label Period) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Any TEAE | 90.9 | 80.0 | 0 |
| Any TEAE Related to Study Treatment | 81.8 | 0 | 0 |
| Any Serious TEAE | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Any Serious TEAE Related to Study Treatment | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Participants | IgPro20 (Double-blind Period) | Placebo (Double-blind Period) | IgPro20 (Open-label Period) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Electrocardiogram (ECG) Abnormalities | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Percentage of participants | IgPro20 (Double-blind Period) | Placebo (Double-blind Period) | IgPro20 (Open-label Period) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of Participants With Clinically Significant ECG Abnormalities | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Participants | IgPro20 (Double-blind Period) | Placebo (Double-blind Period) | IgPro20 (Open-label Period) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Number of Participants With Change From Baseline in Clinically Significant ECG Abnormalities | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Percentage of participants | IgPro20 (Double-blind Period) | Placebo (Double-blind Period) | IgPro20 (Open-label Period) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of Participants With Change From Baseline in Clinically Significant ECG Abnormalities | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Collected over Up to Week 45. Non-serious events are listed at a 1% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| IgPro20 (Double-blind Period) | 0/11 (0%) | 0/11 (0%) | 10/11 (90.9%) |
| Placebo (Double-blind Period) | 0/5 (0%) | 0/5 (0%) | 4/5 (80%) |
| IgPro20 (Open-label Period) | 0/3 (0%) | 0/3 (0%) | 0/3 (0%) |
| Event | IgPro20 (Double-blind Period) | Placebo (Double-blind Period) | IgPro20 (Open-label Period) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Infusion site painGeneral disorders | 3/11 | 1/5 | 0/3 |
| Injection site painGeneral disorders | 3/11 | 0/5 | 0/3 |
| FatigueGeneral disorders | 0/11 | 1/5 | 0/3 |
| Infusion site haemorrhageGeneral disorders | 0/11 | 1/5 | 0/3 |
| HeadacheNervous system disorders | 2/11 | 1/5 | 0/3 |
| Balance disorderNervous system disorders | 0/11 | 1/5 | 0/3 |
| DizzinessNervous system disorders | 0/11 | 1/5 | 0/3 |
| Neuropathy peripheralNervous system disorders | 0/11 | 1/5 | 0/3 |
| Grip strength decreasedInvestigations | 0/11 | 1/5 | 0/3 |
| BronchitisInfections and infestations | 0/11 | 1/5 | 0/3 |
The Intention-to-Treat (ITT) analysis set included all participants in the Screened Analysis Set (SAS) who were randomized into the study.
| Age, Categorical(Participants) | IgPro20/IgPro20 | Placebo/IgPro20 | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| <=18 years | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Between 18 and 65 years | 11 | 5 | 16 |
| >=65 years | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Age, Continuous(Years) | IgPro20/IgPro20 | Placebo/IgPro20 | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 31.2 ± 8.78 | 37.8 ± 8.47 | 33.3 ± 8.98 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | IgPro20/IgPro20 | Placebo/IgPro20 | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 7 | 4 | 11 |
| Male | 4 | 1 | 5 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | IgPro20/IgPro20 | Placebo/IgPro20 | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 9 | 5 | 14 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | IgPro20/IgPro20 | Placebo/IgPro20 | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Asian | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Black or African American | 0 | 2 | 2 |
| White | 11 | 3 | 14 |
| More than one race | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
Plan to share: Yes — CSL will consider on a case-by-case basis requests to share Individual Patient Data (IPD) with external bona-fide, qualified scientific and medical researchers. For information on the process and requirements for submitting a voluntary data sharing request for IPD, please contact CSL at clinicaltrials@cslbehring.com.
Supporting information: Study protocol, Sap
This study is terminated, as verified in Mar 2026. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
CSL Behring