CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT05694260CLEAR Path 1Updated Jul 17, 2026Results posted

A Clinical Study in Children With Heterozygous Familial Hypercholesterolemia (HeFH) Aged 6 to 17 Treated Once Daily With Bempedoic Acid Oral Dosing (CLEAR Path 1)

A Phase 2 interventional study of Bempedoic acid in Hypercholesterolemia, sponsored by Esperion Therapeutics, Inc.. Completed at 24 sites in 6 countries. Open to participants aged 6 Years to 17 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2026-07-17.

Sponsored by Esperion Therapeutics, Inc. · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
31
Allocation
Non-randomized
Ages
6 Years to 17 Years
Sex
All
01

Study summary

Multiple-dose study to measure pharmacokinetics, pharmacodynamics and safety of bempedoic acid in pediatric participants 6 to 17 years of age with HeFH.

Read the detailed description

Dose-selection based on body weight will be determined for use in pediatric clinical development.

02

Conditions studied

  • Hypercholesterolemia

Keywords

  • Pediatric
  • Heterozygous familial hypercholesterolemia
  • Low-density lipoprotein cholesterol (LDL-cholesterol)
  • Bempedoic acid
  • ETC-1002
  • Adenosine triphosphate citrate lyase
03

In context

Hypercholesterolemia

1,238 studies on the registry are indexed under Hypercholesterolemia; 109 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 31 is below the median of 99 across 991 interventional studies indexed under Hypercholesterolemia.

Browse Hypercholesterolemia studies →

Lead sponsor

Esperion Therapeutics, Inc. is the lead sponsor of 22 studies on the registry; 1 is open to participants now.

Of its 8 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 8 (100%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
6 Years to 17 Years
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • Participant's parent(s)/guardian(s) must be willing to provide written informed consent and the participant must provide informed assent before any study-specific procedures are performed;
  • Participant must be aged 6-17 years old and willing to swallow tablets;
  • Participant must weigh at least 16 kilograms (kg);
  • Participant must have a diagnosis of HeFH prior to receiving the first dose of study medication at Treatment Visit T1 per Make Early Diagnosis to Prevent Early Deaths project (MEDPED) criteria by meeting at least one of the following clinical criteria:

    1. Documented diagnosis of HeFH determined by positive genetic testing; or
    2. Documented LDL-C or TC meeting one or more of the following criteria:

    i. LDL-C >200 milligrams per deciliter (mg/dL) (5.2 millimole per liter [mmol/L]) or TC >270 mg/dL (7.0 mmol/L), with no first- second- or third-degree relative with documented FH diagnosis (general population); or ii. LDL-C >155 mg/dL (4.0 mmol/L) or TC >220 mg/dL (5.7 mmol/L), and also having a first-degree relative with documented familial hypercholesterolemia (FH) diagnosis; or iii. LDL-C >165 mg/dL (4.3 mmol/L) or TC >230 mg/dL (5.9 mmol/L), and also having a second-degree relative with documented FH diagnosis; or iv. LDL-C >170 mg/dL (4.4 mmol/L) or TC >240 mg/dL (6.2 mmol/L), and also having a third-degree relative with documented FH diagnosis

  • Current treatment with approved stable lipid-modifying therapy (LMT), including an optimal dose of statin with or without other LMT(s), at stable dose for at least 4 weeks prior to Treatment Visit T1 (6 weeks for fibrates; however, gemfibrozil is not allowed in participants taking a statin as per coadministration instructions defined in the statin label). Participants must remain on that stable dose throughout the duration of the trial. Optimal dose of statin will be determined by the investigator using their medical judgment and available sources, including the participant's self-reported history of LMT. A participant's optimal dose of statin is defined as meeting one of the following criteria:

    1. the highest approved dose of statin prescribed for the age of the participant based on regional practice or local guidelines; or
    2. less than the highest approved dose of statin, including no statin, prescribed for the age of the participant based on regional practice or local guidelines (including no statin) if: i. the participant has previously taken 2 or more statin therapies at any dose and not able to tolerate or unresponsive due to their mutations (null); or ii. the participant has previously taken 1 or more statin therapies at any dose and is unwilling to attempt another statin at any dose or advised by a physician to not attempt another statin at any dose.
    3. Participant/parent and investigator attestation to the participant's unwillingness to attempt and/or physician advice to not attempt additional statin therapy will be recorded.

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Participant has a diagnosis of homozygous familial hypercholesterolemia (HoFH) or compound HeFH;
  • Participant has a fasting triglyceride (TG) level ≥400 mg/dL (4.5 mmol/L);
  • Participant has uncontrolled hypothyroidism, including a value for thyroid-stimulating hormone (TSH) \< lower limit of normal (LLN) or >1.5 × the upper limit of normal (ULN);
  • Participant has liver disease or dysfunction, including:

    1. positive serology for hepatitis B surface antigen (HBsAg) and/or hepatitis C virus antibodies (HCV-AB), or
    2. serum alanine aminotransferase (ALT) or aspartate aminotransferase (AST) value ≥2 × ULN and/or serum total bilirubin (TB) value ≥2 × ULN. If the serum TB value is ≥1.2 × ULN, a reflex indirect (unconjugated) bilirubin will be obtained and, if consistent with Gilbert's disease or if the participant has a history of Gilbert's disease, the participant may be enrolled in the study.
  • Participant has renal dysfunction or glomerulonephritis, including an estimated glomerular filtration rate (eGFR) \<75 milliliters/minute/1.73 square meter (mL/min/1.73 m\^2).

Other protocol defined inclusion and exclusion criteria.

05

Study design

Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Non-randomized
Intervention model
Parallel assignment
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
31 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Cohort 1

    Participants at 16 to \<30 kilograms (kg) body weight at screening receiving once daily 60 milligrams (mg) bempedoic acid for 8 weeks followed by 90 mg bempedoic acid for 8 weeks.

    Drug: Bempedoic acid

  • Experimental
    Cohort 2

    Participants at 30 to 60 kg body weight at screening receiving once daily120 mg bempedoic acid for 8 weeks followed by 150 mg bempedoic acid for 8 weeks.

    Drug: Bempedoic acid

  • Experimental
    Cohort 3

    Participants at greater than 60 kg body weight at screening receiving once daily 180 mg bempedoic acid for 8 weeks.

    Drug: Bempedoic acid

Interventions

  • DrugBempedoic acid

    Once daily oral dosing with oral tablets.

    Also known as: ETC-1002

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Observed Trough Plasma Concentration of ETC-1002 Following 8 Weeks of Steady State Dosing of Bempedoic Acid

    Blood plasma samples were collected and analyzed to determine the plasma trough concentration of ETC-1002 following 8 weeks of steady-state dosing of bempedoic acid. The data presented here is for participants who received tablet formulation only.

    Time frame: Week 8 pre-dose

  2. Model-based Steady State Area Under the Concentration-time Curve Over 24 Hours (AUC,24ss) of ETC-1002

    Blood plasma samples were collected and analyzed to determine the AUC,24ss of ETC-1002 over 24 hours. The data presented here is for participants who received tablet formulation only.

    Time frame: 24 hours

  3. Model-based Steady State Average Plasma Concentration (Cavg,ss) of ETC-1002

    Blood plasma samples were collected and analyzed to determine the Cavg,ss of ETC-1002. Cavg was calculated by empirical Bayesian estimated pediatric exposure over 24 hours divided by 24 (AUC24hr.ss / 24). The data presented here is for participants who received tablet formulation only.

    Time frame: Week 8, 24 hours post-dose at steady state

  4. Model-based Steady State Maximum Plasma Concentration (Cmax,ss) of ETC-1002

    Blood plasma samples were collected and analyzed to determine the Cmax,ss of ETC-1002. The data presented here is for participants who received tablet formulation only.

    Time frame: Day 1: 1-hour and 4 hours post-dose; Week 4 pre-dose; Week 8 pre-dose

Secondary outcomes

  1. Observed Trough Plasma Concentration of ESP15228

    Blood plasma samples were collected and analyzed to determine the trough plasma concentration of active metabolite ESP15228 following 8 weeks of steady-state dosing of bempedoic acid. The data presented here is for participants who received tablet formulation only.

    Time frame: Week 8 pre-dose

  2. Observed Plasma Concentration at 4 Hours (C4hr) of ETC-1002

    Blood plasma samples were collected and analyzed to determine the trough plasma concentration of ETC-1002 4 hours post-dose. The data presented here is for participants who received tablet formulation only.

    Time frame: Day 1: 4 hours post-dose

  3. Observed C4hr of ESP15228

    Blood plasma samples were collected and analyzed to determine the trough plasma concentration of active metabolite ESP15228 4 hours post-dose on Day 1. The data presented here is for participants who received tablet formulation only.

    Time frame: Day 1: 4 hours post-dose

  4. Simulated Percent Change From Baseline in Exposure/ Low-Density Lipoprotein-Cholesterol (LDL-C)

    Blood samples were collected for the analysis of and exposure/LDL-C-lowering response relationship.

    Time frame: Baseline and Week 12

  5. Observed Percent Change From Baseline in LDL-C

    Blood samples were collected for analysis of LDL-C levels. Baseline is defined as the last assessment measurements before the first dose of investigational medical product (IMP). Percent change from baseline was calculated as the (\[post-Baseline value minus the Baseline value\] divided by the Baseline value) x 100. The treatment period for participants in cohort 1 (60 mg), cohort 2 (120 mg), and cohort 3 was weeks 1-8. The treatment period for participants in cohort 1 (90 mg) and cohort 2 (150 mg) was weeks 8-16.

    Time frame: Baseline and 8 Weeks post-treatment

  6. Observed Absolute Change From Baseline in LDL-C (mg/dl)

    Blood samples were collected for analysis of LDL-C levels. Baseline is defined as the last assessment measurements before the first dose of IMP. Change from baseline is defined as post- dose visit value minus baseline value. The treatment period for participants in cohort 1 (60 mg), cohort 2 (120 mg), and cohort 3 was weeks 1-8. The treatment period for participants in cohort 1 (90 mg) and cohort 2 (150 mg) was weeks 8-16.

    Time frame: Baseline and 8 Weeks post-treatment

  7. Observed Percent Change From Baseline in Non-high-density Lipoprotein Cholesterol (Non-HDL-C)

    Blood samples were collected for analysis of Non-HDL-C levels. Baseline is defined as the last assessment measurements before the first dose of IMP. Percent change from Baseline was calculated as the (\[post-Baseline value minus the Baseline value\] divided by the Baseline value) x 100. The treatment period for participants in cohort 1 (60 mg), cohort 2 (120 mg), and cohort 3 was weeks 1-8. The treatment period for participants in cohort 1 (90 mg) and cohort 2 (150 mg) was weeks 8-16.

    Time frame: Baseline and 8 Weeks post-treatment

  8. Observed Absolute Change From Baseline in Non-HDL-C (mg/dL)

    Blood samples were collected for analysis of Non-HDL-C levels. Baseline is defined as the last assessment measurements before the first dose of IMP. Change from Baseline is defined as post- dose visit value minus Baseline value. The treatment period for participants in cohort 1 (60 mg), cohort 2 (120 mg), and cohort 3 was weeks 1-8. The treatment period for participants in cohort 1 (90 mg) and cohort 2 (150 mg) was weeks 8-16.

    Time frame: Baseline and 8 Weeks post-treatment

  9. Observed Percent Change From Baseline in Total Cholesterol (TC)

    Blood samples were collected for analysis of total cholesterol levels. Baseline is defined as the last assessment measurements before the first dose of IMP. Percent change from Baseline was calculated as the (\[post-Baseline value minus the Baseline value\] divided by the Baseline value) x 100. The treatment period for participants in cohort 1 (60 mg), cohort 2 (120 mg), and cohort 3 was weeks 1-8. The treatment period for participants in cohort 1 (90 mg) and cohort 2 (150 mg) was weeks 8-16.

    Time frame: Baseline and 8 Weeks post-treatment

  10. Observed Absolute Change From Baseline in TC (mg/dL)

    Blood samples were collected for analysis of TC levels. Baseline is defined as the last assessment measurements before the first dose of IMP. Change from Baseline is defined as post- dose visit value minus Baseline value. The treatment period for participants in cohort 1 (60 mg), cohort 2 (120 mg), and cohort 3 was weeks 1-8. The treatment period for participants in cohort 1 (90 mg) and cohort 2 (150 mg) was weeks 8-16.

    Time frame: Baseline and 8 Weeks post-treatment

  11. Observed Percent Change From Baseline in High-sensitivity C-reactive Protein (hsCRP)

    Blood samples were collected for analysis of hsCRP. Baseline is defined as the last assessment measurements before the first dose of IMP. Percent change from Baseline was calculated as the (\[post-Baseline value minus the Baseline value\] divided by the Baseline value) x 100. The treatment period for participants in cohort 1 (60 mg), cohort 2 (120 mg), and cohort 3 was weeks 1-8. The treatment period for participants in cohort 1 (90 mg) and cohort 2 (150 mg) was weeks 8-16.

    Time frame: Baseline and 8 Weeks post-treatment

  12. Observed Absolute Change From Baseline in hsCRP (mg/L)

    Blood samples were collected for analysis of hsCRP levels. Baseline is defined as the last assessment measurements before the first dose of IMP. Change from Baseline is defined as post- dose visit value minus Baseline value. The treatment period for participants in cohort 1 (60 mg), cohort 2 (120 mg), and cohort 3 was weeks 1-8. The treatment period for participants in cohort 1 (90 mg) and cohort 2 (150 mg) was weeks 8-16.

    Time frame: Baseline and 8 Weeks post-treatment

  13. Acceptability of Taste of Liquid Formulation Using a Dosing Acceptability Questionnaire

    Participant acceptance is defined as the overall ability of the participant to use a medicine as intended. The acceptability of overall flavor of IMP was recorded using a dosing acceptability questionnaire, where participants were asked 'Yes' or 'No', whether the flavor of the medication was acceptable. At Week 8 (Phone) participants in cohorts 1 and 2 were contacted by phone to collect questionnaire information. The number of participants who have responded at each time point have been presented.

    Time frame: Days 1 and 2; Weeks 2, 4, 8, 8 (Phone), 10, 12, and 16

  14. Acceptability of Ease of Swallowing Tablet Formulation Using a Dosing Acceptability Questionnaire

    Participant acceptance is defined as the overall ability of the participant to use a medicine as intended. Acceptability of ease of swallowing was recorded using a dosing acceptability questionnaire where participants were asked if they were able to swallow the entire dose or not, by ticking 'yes' or 'no'. At Week 8 (Phone) participants in cohorts 1 and 2 were contacted by phone to collect questionnaire information. The number of participants who responded at each time point have been presented.

    Time frame: Days 1 and 2; Weeks 2, 4, 8, 8 (Phone), 10, 12, and 16

  15. Number of Participants Reporting Serious Adverse Events (SAEs) and Non-SAEs

    An AE is the development of an undesirable medical condition or the deterioration of a pre-existing medical condition following or during exposure to a pharmaceutical product, whether or not considered causally related to the product. A serious AE is an AE occurring during any study phase (i.e., baseline, treatment, washout, or follow-up), and at any dose of the study medication that fulfills one or more of the following: results in death, is immediately life-threatening, requires in-patient hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization, results in persistent or significant disability or incapacity, results in a congenital abnormality or birth defect, is an important medical event that may jeopardize the participant or may require medical intervention to prevent one of the outcomes listed above.

    Time frame: Up to Week 16

07

Results

Posted Jul 17, 2026

Participant flow

This was a multi-dose study to measure the pharmacokinetics (PK), pharmacodynamics (PD), and safety of bempedoic acid in pediatric participants aged 6 to 17 years with heterozygous familial hypercholesterolemia (HeFH).

Treatment Period 1 (Up to Week 8)
Participant flow — Treatment Period 1 (Up to Week 8)
MilestoneCohort 1 (16 to <30 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 60 mgCohort 1 (16 to <30 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 90 mgCohort 2 (30 to 60 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 120 mgCohort 2 (30 to 60 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 150 mgCohort 3 (> 60 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 180 mg
Started4016011
Completed4015011
Not completed00100
Withdrew: Protocol deviation00100
Treatment Period 2 (Week 8 to Week 16)
Participant flow — Treatment Period 2 (Week 8 to Week 16)
MilestoneCohort 1 (16 to <30 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 60 mgCohort 1 (16 to <30 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 90 mgCohort 2 (30 to 60 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 120 mgCohort 2 (30 to 60 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 150 mgCohort 3 (> 60 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 180 mg
Started040140
Completed040140
Not completed00000

Outcome measures

PrimaryObserved Trough Plasma Concentration of ETC-1002 Following 8 Weeks of Steady State Dosing of Bempedoic Acid

Blood plasma samples were collected and analyzed to determine the plasma trough concentration of ETC-1002 following 8 weeks of steady-state dosing of bempedoic acid. The data presented here is for participants who received tablet formulation only.

Time frame:
Week 8 pre-dose
Reported as:
Geometric mean · nanograms/milliliter (ng/ml)
Observed Trough Plasma Concentration of ETC-1002 Following 8 Weeks of Steady State Dosing of Bempedoic Acid
nanograms/milliliter (ng/ml)Cohort 1 (16 to <30 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 60 mgCohort 1 (16 to <30 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 90 mgCohort 2 (30 to 60 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 120 mgCohort 2 (30 to 60 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 150 mgCohort 3 (> 60 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 180 mg
Observed Trough Plasma Concentration of ETC-1002 Following 8 Weeks of Steady State Dosing of Bempedoic Acid5740 ± 39.610189 ± 20.47174 ± 156.615356 ± 95.07123 ± 122.9
PrimaryModel-based Steady State Area Under the Concentration-time Curve Over 24 Hours (AUC,24ss) of ETC-1002

Blood plasma samples were collected and analyzed to determine the AUC,24ss of ETC-1002 over 24 hours. The data presented here is for participants who received tablet formulation only.

Time frame:
24 hours
Reported as:
Mean · milligram hours per liter (mg*h/L)
Model-based Steady State Area Under the Concentration-time Curve Over 24 Hours (AUC,24ss) of ETC-1002
milligram hours per liter (mg*h/L)Cohort 1 (16 to <30 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 60 mgCohort 1 (16 to <30 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 90 mgCohort 2 (30 to 60 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 120 mgCohort 2 (30 to 60 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 150 mgCohort 3 (> 60 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 180 mg
Model-based Steady State Area Under the Concentration-time Curve Over 24 Hours (AUC,24ss) of ETC-1002305.1 ± 56.03419.4 ± 42.43348.0 ± 141.3443.8 ± 183.6296.2 ± 110.0
PrimaryModel-based Steady State Average Plasma Concentration (Cavg,ss) of ETC-1002

Blood plasma samples were collected and analyzed to determine the Cavg,ss of ETC-1002. Cavg was calculated by empirical Bayesian estimated pediatric exposure over 24 hours divided by 24 (AUC24hr.ss / 24). The data presented here is for participants who received tablet formulation only.

Time frame:
Week 8, 24 hours post-dose at steady state
Reported as:
Mean · milligrams per liter (mg/L)
Model-based Steady State Average Plasma Concentration (Cavg,ss) of ETC-1002
milligrams per liter (mg/L)Cohort 1 (16 to <30 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 60 mgCohort 1 (16 to <30 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 90 mgCohort 2 (30 to 60 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 120 mgCohort 2 (30 to 60 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 150 mgCohort 3 (> 60 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 180 mg
Model-based Steady State Average Plasma Concentration (Cavg,ss) of ETC-100212.7 ± 2.3317.5 ± 1.7714.5 ± 5.8918.5 ± 7.6512.3 ± 4.58
PrimaryModel-based Steady State Maximum Plasma Concentration (Cmax,ss) of ETC-1002

Blood plasma samples were collected and analyzed to determine the Cmax,ss of ETC-1002. The data presented here is for participants who received tablet formulation only.

Time frame:
Day 1: 1-hour and 4 hours post-dose; Week 4 pre-dose; Week 8 pre-dose
Reported as:
Mean · milligrams per liter (mg/L)
Model-based Steady State Maximum Plasma Concentration (Cmax,ss) of ETC-1002
milligrams per liter (mg/L)Cohort 1 Bempedoic Acid (16 to <30 Kg)Cohort 1 (16 to <30 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 90 mgCohort 2 Bempedoic Acid (30 to 60 Kg)Cohort 2 (30 to 60 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 150 mgCohort 3 Bempedoic Acid (> 60 Kg)
Model-based Steady State Maximum Plasma Concentration (Cmax,ss) of ETC-100220.25 ± 4.08827.39 ± 1.73622.49 ± 8.41028.70 ± 10.8919.10 ± 7.320
SecondaryObserved Trough Plasma Concentration of ESP15228

Blood plasma samples were collected and analyzed to determine the trough plasma concentration of active metabolite ESP15228 following 8 weeks of steady-state dosing of bempedoic acid. The data presented here is for participants who received tablet formulation only.

Time frame:
Week 8 pre-dose
Reported as:
Geometric mean · nanograms per milliliter (ng/ml)
Observed Trough Plasma Concentration of ESP15228
nanograms per milliliter (ng/ml)Cohort 1 (16 to <30 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 60 mgCohort 1 (16 to <30 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 90 mgCohort 2 (30 to 60 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 120 mgCohort 2 (30 to 60 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 150 mgCohort 3 (> 60 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 180 mg
Observed Trough Plasma Concentration of ESP152281270 ± 30.21982 ± 13.11596 ± 102.02690 ± 52.21305 ± 81.5
SecondaryObserved Plasma Concentration at 4 Hours (C4hr) of ETC-1002

Blood plasma samples were collected and analyzed to determine the trough plasma concentration of ETC-1002 4 hours post-dose. The data presented here is for participants who received tablet formulation only.

Time frame:
Day 1: 4 hours post-dose
Reported as:
Geometric mean · ng/ml
Observed Plasma Concentration at 4 Hours (C4hr) of ETC-1002
ng/mlCohort 1 (16 to <30 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 60 mgCohort 1 (16 to <30 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 90 mgCohort 2 (30 to 60 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 120 mgCohort 2 (30 to 60 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 150 mgCohort 3 (> 60 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 180 mg
Observed Plasma Concentration at 4 Hours (C4hr) of ETC-10028215 ± 21.216500 ± 13.411047 ± 28.220757 ± 38.19355 ± 61.0
SecondaryObserved C4hr of ESP15228

Blood plasma samples were collected and analyzed to determine the trough plasma concentration of active metabolite ESP15228 4 hours post-dose on Day 1. The data presented here is for participants who received tablet formulation only.

Time frame:
Day 1: 4 hours post-dose
Reported as:
Geometric mean · ng/ml
Observed C4hr of ESP15228
ng/mlCohort 1 (16 to <30 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 60 mgCohort 1 (16 to <30 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 90 mgCohort 2 (30 to 60 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 120 mgCohort 2 (30 to 60 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 150 mgCohort 3 (> 60 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 180 mg
Observed C4hr of ESP15228715 ± 23.02395 ± 39.4661 ± 39.02601 ± 54.2741 ± 32.6
SecondarySimulated Percent Change From Baseline in Exposure/ Low-Density Lipoprotein-Cholesterol (LDL-C)

Blood samples were collected for the analysis of and exposure/LDL-C-lowering response relationship.

Time frame:
Baseline and Week 12
Reported as:
Mean · percent change
Simulated Percent Change From Baseline in Exposure/ Low-Density Lipoprotein-Cholesterol (LDL-C)
percent changeCohort 1 (16 to <30 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 60 mgCohort 2 (30 to 60 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 120 mgCohort 3 (> 60 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 180 mg
Simulated Percent Change From Baseline in Exposure/ Low-Density Lipoprotein-Cholesterol (LDL-C)-23.5 ± 12.1-23.9 ± 12.5-22.5 ± 11.2
SecondaryObserved Percent Change From Baseline in LDL-C

Blood samples were collected for analysis of LDL-C levels. Baseline is defined as the last assessment measurements before the first dose of investigational medical product (IMP). Percent change from baseline was calculated as the (\[post-Baseline value minus the Baseline value\] divided by the Baseline value) x 100. The treatment period for participants in cohort 1 (60 mg), cohort 2 (120 mg), and cohort 3 was weeks 1-8. The treatment period for participants in cohort 1 (90 mg) and cohort 2 (150 mg) was weeks 8-16.

Time frame:
Baseline and 8 Weeks post-treatment
Reported as:
Mean · percent change
Observed Percent Change From Baseline in LDL-C
percent changeCohort 1 (16 to <30 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 60 mgCohort 1 (16 to <30 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 90 mgCohort 2 (30 to 60 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 120 mgCohort 2 (30 to 60 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 150 mgCohort 3 (> 60 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 180 mg
Observed Percent Change From Baseline in LDL-C-21.1 ± 29.2-24.9 ± 10.4-5.7 ± 16.6-12.9 ± 18.7-8.0 ± 23.9
SecondaryObserved Absolute Change From Baseline in LDL-C (mg/dl)

Blood samples were collected for analysis of LDL-C levels. Baseline is defined as the last assessment measurements before the first dose of IMP. Change from baseline is defined as post- dose visit value minus baseline value. The treatment period for participants in cohort 1 (60 mg), cohort 2 (120 mg), and cohort 3 was weeks 1-8. The treatment period for participants in cohort 1 (90 mg) and cohort 2 (150 mg) was weeks 8-16.

Time frame:
Baseline and 8 Weeks post-treatment
Reported as:
Mean · milligrams per deciliter (mg/dl)
Observed Absolute Change From Baseline in LDL-C (mg/dl)
milligrams per deciliter (mg/dl)Cohort 1 (16 to <30 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 60 mgCohort 1 (16 to <30 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 90 mgCohort 2 (30 to 60 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 120 mgCohort 2 (30 to 60 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 150 mgCohort 3 (> 60 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 180 mg
Observed Absolute Change From Baseline in LDL-C (mg/dl)-49.0 ± 63.06-47.3 ± 17.95-10.1 ± 29.45-23.5 ± 33.97-12.8 ± 38.20
SecondaryObserved Percent Change From Baseline in Non-high-density Lipoprotein Cholesterol (Non-HDL-C)

Blood samples were collected for analysis of Non-HDL-C levels. Baseline is defined as the last assessment measurements before the first dose of IMP. Percent change from Baseline was calculated as the (\[post-Baseline value minus the Baseline value\] divided by the Baseline value) x 100. The treatment period for participants in cohort 1 (60 mg), cohort 2 (120 mg), and cohort 3 was weeks 1-8. The treatment period for participants in cohort 1 (90 mg) and cohort 2 (150 mg) was weeks 8-16.

Time frame:
Baseline and 8 Weeks post-treatment
Reported as:
Mean · percent change
Observed Percent Change From Baseline in Non-high-density Lipoprotein Cholesterol (Non-HDL-C)
percent changeCohort 1 (16 to <30 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 60 mgCohort 1 (16 to <30 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 90 mgCohort 2 (30 to 60 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 120 mgCohort 2 (30 to 60 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 150 mgCohort 3 (> 60 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 180 mg
Observed Percent Change From Baseline in Non-high-density Lipoprotein Cholesterol (Non-HDL-C)-21.7 ± 26.1-24.7 ± 9.8-4.4 ± 14.1-10.6 ± 19.0-5.8 ± 20.6
SecondaryObserved Absolute Change From Baseline in Non-HDL-C (mg/dL)

Blood samples were collected for analysis of Non-HDL-C levels. Baseline is defined as the last assessment measurements before the first dose of IMP. Change from Baseline is defined as post- dose visit value minus Baseline value. The treatment period for participants in cohort 1 (60 mg), cohort 2 (120 mg), and cohort 3 was weeks 1-8. The treatment period for participants in cohort 1 (90 mg) and cohort 2 (150 mg) was weeks 8-16.

Time frame:
Baseline and 8 Weeks post-treatment
Reported as:
Mean · mg/dL
Observed Absolute Change From Baseline in Non-HDL-C (mg/dL)
mg/dLCohort 1 (16 to <30 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 60 mgCohort 1 (16 to <30 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 90 mgCohort 2 (30 to 60 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 120 mgCohort 2 (30 to 60 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 150 mgCohort 3 (> 60 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 180 mg
Observed Absolute Change From Baseline in Non-HDL-C (mg/dL)-51.0 ± 57.64-49.0 ± 15.72-8.9 ± 28.65-22.1 ± 35.48-10.7 ± 37.02
SecondaryObserved Percent Change From Baseline in Total Cholesterol (TC)

Blood samples were collected for analysis of total cholesterol levels. Baseline is defined as the last assessment measurements before the first dose of IMP. Percent change from Baseline was calculated as the (\[post-Baseline value minus the Baseline value\] divided by the Baseline value) x 100. The treatment period for participants in cohort 1 (60 mg), cohort 2 (120 mg), and cohort 3 was weeks 1-8. The treatment period for participants in cohort 1 (90 mg) and cohort 2 (150 mg) was weeks 8-16.

Time frame:
Baseline and 8 Weeks post-treatment
Reported as:
Mean · percent change
Observed Percent Change From Baseline in Total Cholesterol (TC)
percent changeCohort 1 (16 to <30 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 60 mgCohort 1 (16 to <30 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 90 mgCohort 2 (30 to 60 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 120 mgCohort 2 (30 to 60 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 150 mgCohort 3 (> 60 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 180 mg
Observed Percent Change From Baseline in Total Cholesterol (TC)-17.4 ± 21.1-20.0 ± 11.2-4.5 ± 11.8-9.2 ± 15.8-5.0 ± 17.3
SecondaryObserved Absolute Change From Baseline in TC (mg/dL)

Blood samples were collected for analysis of TC levels. Baseline is defined as the last assessment measurements before the first dose of IMP. Change from Baseline is defined as post- dose visit value minus Baseline value. The treatment period for participants in cohort 1 (60 mg), cohort 2 (120 mg), and cohort 3 was weeks 1-8. The treatment period for participants in cohort 1 (90 mg) and cohort 2 (150 mg) was weeks 8-16.

Time frame:
Baseline and 8 Weeks post-treatment
Reported as:
Mean · mg/dL
Observed Absolute Change From Baseline in TC (mg/dL)
mg/dLCohort 1 (16 to <30 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 60 mgCohort 1 (16 to <30 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 90 mgCohort 2 (30 to 60 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 120 mgCohort 2 (30 to 60 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 150 mgCohort 3 (> 60 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 180 mg
Observed Absolute Change From Baseline in TC (mg/dL)-53.5 ± 62.85-51.3 ± 24.03-11.4 ± 29.24-24.9 ± 39.16-12.4 ± 39.81
SecondaryObserved Percent Change From Baseline in High-sensitivity C-reactive Protein (hsCRP)

Blood samples were collected for analysis of hsCRP. Baseline is defined as the last assessment measurements before the first dose of IMP. Percent change from Baseline was calculated as the (\[post-Baseline value minus the Baseline value\] divided by the Baseline value) x 100. The treatment period for participants in cohort 1 (60 mg), cohort 2 (120 mg), and cohort 3 was weeks 1-8. The treatment period for participants in cohort 1 (90 mg) and cohort 2 (150 mg) was weeks 8-16.

Time frame:
Baseline and 8 Weeks post-treatment
Reported as:
Median · percent change
Observed Percent Change From Baseline in High-sensitivity C-reactive Protein (hsCRP)
percent changeCohort 1 (16 to <30 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 60 mgCohort 1 (16 to <30 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 90 mgCohort 2 (30 to 60 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 120 mgCohort 2 (30 to 60 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 150 mgCohort 3 (> 60 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 180 mg
Observed Percent Change From Baseline in High-sensitivity C-reactive Protein (hsCRP)0.0 (-30.0 to 233.3)-20.0 (-60.0 to 650.0)-16.7 (-70.8 to 75.0)0.0 (-38.9 to 30.0)-16.7 (-52.9 to 83.3)
SecondaryObserved Absolute Change From Baseline in hsCRP (mg/L)

Blood samples were collected for analysis of hsCRP levels. Baseline is defined as the last assessment measurements before the first dose of IMP. Change from Baseline is defined as post- dose visit value minus Baseline value. The treatment period for participants in cohort 1 (60 mg), cohort 2 (120 mg), and cohort 3 was weeks 1-8. The treatment period for participants in cohort 1 (90 mg) and cohort 2 (150 mg) was weeks 8-16.

Time frame:
Baseline and 8 Weeks post-treatment
Reported as:
Median · milligrams per liter (mg/L)
Observed Absolute Change From Baseline in hsCRP (mg/L)
milligrams per liter (mg/L)Cohort 1 (16 to <30 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 60 mgCohort 1 (16 to <30 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 90 mgCohort 2 (30 to 60 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 120 mgCohort 2 (30 to 60 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 150 mgCohort 3 (> 60 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 180 mg
Observed Absolute Change From Baseline in hsCRP (mg/L)0.00 (-0.03 to 0.70)-0.06 (-0.10 to 0.26)-0.02 (-0.26 to 0.10)0.00 (-0.10 to 0.03)-0.10 (-1.70 to 0.50)
SecondaryAcceptability of Taste of Liquid Formulation Using a Dosing Acceptability Questionnaire

Participant acceptance is defined as the overall ability of the participant to use a medicine as intended. The acceptability of overall flavor of IMP was recorded using a dosing acceptability questionnaire, where participants were asked 'Yes' or 'No', whether the flavor of the medication was acceptable. At Week 8 (Phone) participants in cohorts 1 and 2 were contacted by phone to collect questionnaire information. The number of participants who have responded at each time point have been presented.

Time frame:
Days 1 and 2; Weeks 2, 4, 8, 8 (Phone), 10, 12, and 16
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Acceptability of Taste of Liquid Formulation Using a Dosing Acceptability Questionnaire
ParticipantsCohort 1 Bempedoic Acid (16 to <30 Kg)Cohort 2 Bempedoic Acid (30 to 60 Kg)Cohort 3 Bempedoic Acid (> 60 Kg)
Day 1 was the flavor of the medication acceptable? — Yes155
Day 1 was the flavor of the medication acceptable? — No020
Day 2 was the flavor of the medication acceptable? — Yes054
Day 2 was the flavor of the medication acceptable? — No010
Week 2 was the flavor of the medication acceptable? — Yes044
Week 2 was the flavor of the medication acceptable? — No010
Week 4 was the flavor of the medication acceptable? — Yes044
Week 4 was the flavor of the medication acceptable? — No000
Week 8 was the flavor of the medication acceptable? — Yes043
Week 8 was the flavor of the medication acceptable? — No000
Week 8 (Phone) was the flavor of the medication acceptable? — Yes040
Week 8 (Phone) was the flavor of the medication acceptable? — No000
Week 10 was the flavor of the medication acceptable? — Yes040
Week 10 was the flavor of the medication acceptable? — No000
Week 12 was the flavor of the medication acceptable? — Yes040
Week 12 was the flavor of the medication acceptable? — No000
Week 16 was the flavor of the medication acceptable? — Yes040
Week 16 was the flavor of the medication acceptable? — No000
SecondaryAcceptability of Ease of Swallowing Tablet Formulation Using a Dosing Acceptability Questionnaire

Participant acceptance is defined as the overall ability of the participant to use a medicine as intended. Acceptability of ease of swallowing was recorded using a dosing acceptability questionnaire where participants were asked if they were able to swallow the entire dose or not, by ticking 'yes' or 'no'. At Week 8 (Phone) participants in cohorts 1 and 2 were contacted by phone to collect questionnaire information. The number of participants who responded at each time point have been presented.

Time frame:
Days 1 and 2; Weeks 2, 4, 8, 8 (Phone), 10, 12, and 16
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Acceptability of Ease of Swallowing Tablet Formulation Using a Dosing Acceptability Questionnaire
ParticipantsCohort 1 Bempedoic Acid (16 to <30 Kg)Cohort 2 Bempedoic Acid (30 to 60 Kg)Cohort 3 Bempedoic Acid (> 60 Kg)
Day 1 was the patient able to swallow the entire dose? — Yes396
Day 1 was the patient able to swallow the entire dose? — No000
Day 2 was the patient able to swallow the entire dose? — Yes4107
Day 2 was the patient able to swallow the entire dose? — No000
Week 2 was the patient able to swallow the entire dose? — Yes4107
Week 2 was the patient able to swallow the entire dose? — No000
Week 4 was the patient able to swallow the entire dose? — Yes4117
Week 4 was the patient able to swallow the entire dose? — No000
Week 8 was the patient able to swallow the entire dose? — Yes4116
Week 8 was the patient able to swallow the entire dose? — No000
Week 8 (Phone) was the patient able to swallow the entire dose? — Yes390
Week 8 (Phone) was the patient able to swallow the entire dose? — No000
Week 10 was the patient able to swallow the entire dose? — Yes3100
Week 10 was the patient able to swallow the entire dose? — No000
Week 12 was the patient able to swallow the entire dose? — Yes3100
Week 12 was the patient able to swallow the entire dose? — No000
Week 16 was the patient able to swallow the entire dose? — Yes3100
Week 16 was the patient able to swallow the entire dose? — No000
SecondaryNumber of Participants Reporting Serious Adverse Events (SAEs) and Non-SAEs

An AE is the development of an undesirable medical condition or the deterioration of a pre-existing medical condition following or during exposure to a pharmaceutical product, whether or not considered causally related to the product. A serious AE is an AE occurring during any study phase (i.e., baseline, treatment, washout, or follow-up), and at any dose of the study medication that fulfills one or more of the following: results in death, is immediately life-threatening, requires in-patient hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization, results in persistent or significant disability or incapacity, results in a congenital abnormality or birth defect, is an important medical event that may jeopardize the participant or may require medical intervention to prevent one of the outcomes listed above.

Time frame:
Up to Week 16
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants Reporting Serious Adverse Events (SAEs) and Non-SAEs
ParticipantsCohort 1 (16 to <30 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 60 mgCohort 1 (16 to <30 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 90 mgCohort 2 (30 to 60 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 120 mgCohort 2 (30 to 60 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 150 mgCohort 3 (> 60 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 180 mg
SAEs00000
Non-SAEs3310109

Adverse events

Collected over Up to Week 16. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Cohort 1 (16 to <30 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 60 mg0/4 (0%)0/4 (0%)3/4 (75%)
Cohort 1 (16 to <30 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 90 mg0/3 (0%)0/3 (0%)3/3 (100%)
Cohort 2 (30 to 60 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 120 mg0/16 (0%)0/16 (0%)10/16 (62.5%)
Cohort 2 (30 to 60 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 150 mg0/14 (0%)0/14 (0%)10/14 (71.4%)
Cohort 3 (> 60 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 180 mg0/11 (0%)0/11 (0%)9/11 (81.8%)
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 37
Most frequent other events
EventCohort 1 (16 to <30 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 60 mgCohort 1 (16 to <30 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 90 mgCohort 2 (30 to 60 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 120 mgCohort 2 (30 to 60 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 150 mgCohort 3 (> 60 Kg) Bempedoic Acid 180 mg
NasopharyngitisInfections and infestations0/41/32/163/141/11
Ear infectionInfections and infestations0/41/30/161/140/11
GastroenteritisInfections and infestations0/41/30/160/140/11
NauseaGastrointestinal disorders1/41/30/160/142/11
PyrexiaGeneral disorders0/41/30/160/140/11
LeukopeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders0/41/30/160/140/11
DiarrhoeaGastrointestinal disorders1/40/30/160/140/11
HeadacheNervous system disorders1/40/33/163/140/11
Influenza like illnessGeneral disorders0/40/31/163/141/11
Gastroenteritis viralInfections and infestations0/40/33/160/140/11

Baseline characteristics

Full analysis population included all participants enrolled into the study and received at least 1 dose of bempedoic acid.

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)Cohort 1 Bempedoic Acid (16 to <30 Kg)Cohort 2 Bempedoic Acid (30 to 60 Kg)Cohort 3 Bempedoic Acid (> 60 Kg)Total
Mean7.5 ± 1.2912.4 ± 2.3914.8 ± 1.9912.6 ± 3.10
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Cohort 1 Bempedoic Acid (16 to <30 Kg)Cohort 2 Bempedoic Acid (30 to 60 Kg)Cohort 3 Bempedoic Acid (> 60 Kg)Total
Female28717
Male28414
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Cohort 1 Bempedoic Acid (16 to <30 Kg)Cohort 2 Bempedoic Acid (30 to 60 Kg)Cohort 3 Bempedoic Acid (> 60 Kg)Total
Hispanic or Latino0011
Not Hispanic or Latino4161030
Unknown or Not Reported0000
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Cohort 1 Bempedoic Acid (16 to <30 Kg)Cohort 2 Bempedoic Acid (30 to 60 Kg)Cohort 3 Bempedoic Acid (> 60 Kg)Total
American Indian or Alaska Native0000
Asian0101
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0000
Black or African American0022
White415928
More than one race0000
Unknown or Not Reported0000
08

Study locations

24 sites
  • Cedars-Sinai Medical Center
    Los Angeles, California 90048, United States
  • Providere Research Inc
    West Covina, California 91790, United States
  • Excel Medical Clinical Trials, LLC
    Boca Raton, Florida 33434, United States
  • Washington University School of Medicine, Division of Endocrinology, Metabolism and Lipid Research
    St Louis, Missouri 63110, United States
  • Wake Forest University Health Sciences
    Winston-Salem, North Carolina 27157, United States
  • Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center
    Cincinnati, Ohio 45229, United States
  • Cardiology Care for Children
    Lancaster, Pennsylvania 17601, United States
  • University of Utah and Primary Children's Hospital
    Salt Lake City, Utah 84113, United States
  • University of Alberta Hospital - Stollery Children's Hospital
    Edmonton, Alberta T6G 2B7, Canada
  • McMaster University Medical Center
    Hamilton, Ontario L8N 3Z5, Canada
  • Ecogene-21
    Chicoutimi, Quebec G7H 5H6, Canada
  • Rigshospitalet
    Copenhagen, 2100, Denmark
  • Viborg Regional Hospital
    Viborg, Denmark
  • Universitaetsklinikum Frankfurt - Klinikum der Johann Wolfgang Goethe Universitaet
    Frankfurt am Main, Germany
  • Kinder- und Jugendkrankenhaus AUF DER BULT
    Hanover, Germany
  • Amsterdam UMC - Locatie AMC
    Amsterdam, 1105 AZ, Netherlands
  • Erasmus MC
    Rotterdam, 3015 G, Netherlands
  • Hospital Abente y Lago
    A Coruña, Galicia 15001, Spain
  • Corporacio Sanitaria Parc Tauli - Hospital de Sabadell
    Barcelona, 8208, Spain
  • Hospital Sant Joan de Deu
    Barcelona, 8950, Spain
  • Hospital Universitario de Jerez de la Frontera
    Cadiz, 11407, Spain
  • Hospital Universitario Reina Sofia
    Córdoba, 14004, Spain
  • Hospital Universitario Ramon y Cajal
    Madrid, 28034, Spain
  • Hospital Universitario 12 de Octubre
    Madrid, Spain
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Study protocol · Jan 29, 2025
  • Statistical analysis plan · Jun 6, 2025

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: No — The Investigator must ensure that the participant's confidentiality is maintained. The names and identities of all research participants will be kept in strict confidence and will not appear on eCRFs or other records that are provided to or retained by the Sponsor (or designee). If a participant's name appears on any document, it must be redacted and replaced with the participant identifier before a copy of the document is supplied to the Sponsor (or designee). The ICF must include appropriate statements explaining that participant data will be confidential and the actions that will be taken to ensure participant confidentiality. Any other confidentiality requirements specified by the site, IRB or IEC, or national or local regulations will be adhered to and detailed appropriately in the ICF.

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Jul 17, 2026, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT05694260
Lead sponsor
Esperion Therapeutics, Inc.
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Jan 23, 2023
Start date
Jan 12, 2023
Primary completion
Jun 4, 2025
Completion
Jun 4, 2025
Results posted
Jul 17, 2026
Last update
Jul 17, 2026

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Jul 2026. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion