CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT05673460Updated May 13, 2026Results posted

A Clinical Study of Nemtabrutinib in Japanese Participants With Hematological Malignancies (MK-1026-002)

A Phase 1 interventional study of Nemtabrutinib in Mature B-cell Neoplasms, sponsored by Merck Sharp & Dohme LLC. Completed at 7 sites in Japan. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2026-05-13.

Sponsored by Merck Sharp & Dohme LLC · Phase 1, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 1
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
7
Allocation
Not applicable
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

The purpose of this study was to evaluate the safety, tolerability, pharmacokinetics (PK), and preliminary efficacy of nemtabrutinib in Japanese participants with mature B-cell neoplasms.

02

Conditions studied

  • Mature B-cell Neoplasms
03

In context

Lead sponsor

Merck Sharp & Dohme LLC is the lead sponsor of 2,114 studies on the registry; 133 are open to participants now.

Of its 489 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 362 (74%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

The main inclusion and exclusion criteria include but are not limited to the following:

Inclusion criteria

Inclusion Criteria:

  • Histologically confirmed B-cell malignancy:

    • Chronic lymphocytic leukemia (CLL)
    • Small lymphocytic lymphoma (SLL)
    • Waldenström's macroglobulinemia (WM)
    • Lymphoplasmacytic lymphoma (LPL)
    • Other B-cell neoplasm
  • Failed or intolerant to either at least 2 prior regimens given in combination or sequentially OR have received 1 prior Bruton's tyrosine kinase (BTK)-containing regimen when a BTK inhibitor is approved as first line therapy
  • Have the ability to swallow and retain oral medication
  • Is Japanese

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Active Hepatitis B virus (HBV)/Hepatitis C virus (HCV) infection at study entry
  • History of a second malignancy, unless potentially curative treatment has been completed with no evidence of malignancy for 3 years
  • Known history of human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) infection
  • Clinically significant gastrointestinal abnormalities that might alter absorption (eg, gastric bypass surgery, gastrectomy)
  • Underlying history of severe bleeding disorders
  • History or concurrent condition of pneumonitis/interstitial lung disease
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 1
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
7 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Nemtabrutinib

    Participants receive nemtabrutinib at specified dose orally once daily (QD) until progressive disease (PD) or discontinuation

    Drug: Nemtabrutinib

Interventions

  • DrugNemtabrutinib

    Nemtabrutinib tablets will be administered orally QD at dosage of 45 mg or 65 mg

    Also known as: MK-1026, ARQ 531

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Number of Participants Who Experience Dose Limiting Toxicities (DLTs) Per National Cancer Institute Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (NCI-CTCAE) Version 5.0

    A DLT is ≥1 of: Grade ≥3 nonhematologic toxicity with exception of Grade 3 nausea, vomiting, diarrhea, rash, fatigue, and uncontrolled hypertension lasting \>72 hours despite optimal supportive case; Grade 4 hematologic toxicity lasting \>7 days, Grade 4 platelet count decreased of any duration (with exceptions), or Grade 3 platelet count decreased with bleeding (with exceptions), or Grade 3 or higher febrile neutropenia of any duration; Grade 3 or Grade 4 nonhematologic laboratory abnormality, if results in drug induced liver injury (DILI), or medical intervention is required, or the abnormality leads to hospitalization, or the abnormality persists for \>1 week (with exceptions); missing \>25% of nemtabrutinib doses as a result of drug-related AE(s); Grade 5 toxicity. Toxicities will be graded using NCI-CTCAE version 5.0 except hematologic toxicities in participants with chronic lymphocytic leukemia (CLL) assessed according to the International Workshop on CLL (iwCLL) criteria.

    Time frame: Up to approximately 4 weeks

  2. Number of Participants Who Experience Adverse Events (AEs)

    An AE is any untoward medical occurrence in a clinical study participant, temporally associated with the use of study intervention, whether or not considered related to the study intervention.

    Time frame: Up to approximately 26 months

  3. Number of Participants Discontinuing Study Treatment Due to AEs

    An AE is any untoward medical occurrence in a clinical study participant, temporally associated with the use of study intervention, whether or not considered related to the study intervention.

    Time frame: Up to approximately 26 months

Secondary outcomes

  1. Area Under the Curve From Dosing to 24 Hours Postdose (AUC0-24) of Nemtabrutinib

    AUC0-24 is the area under the curve of plasma concentration of nemtabrutinib from dosing to 24 hours postdose.

    Time frame: Day 1: Pre-dose and 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, and 24 hours post-dose

  2. Minimum Concentration (Cmin) of Nemtabrutinib

    Cmin is the lowest observed plasma concentration.

    Time frame: Day 1: Pre-dose and 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, and 24 hours post-dose

  3. Maximum Concentration (Cmax) of Nemtabrutinib

    Cmax is the lowest observed plasma concentration.

    Time frame: Day 1: Pre-dose and 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, and 24 hours post-dose

  4. Time to Maximum Concentration (Tmax) of Nemtabrutinib

    Tmax is the time to reach Cmax.

    Time frame: Day 1: Pre-dose and 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, and 24 hours post-dose

  5. Objective Response Rate (ORR) as Assessed by Investigator

    ORR is the proportion of participants in the analysis population with objective response. Objective response is defined as participants who achieve at least a partial response (PR) per disease-specific criteria as assessed by investigator. Data are presented separately for participants with chronic lymphocytic leukemia (CLL)/small lymphocytic lymphoma (SLL) and non-CLL/SLL participants.

    Time frame: Up to approximately 26 months

  6. Duration of Response (DOR) as Assessed by Investigator

    For participants who demonstrate an objective response as assessed by investigator, per disease-specific criteria, duration of response is defined as the time from the first documented evidence of an objective response until disease progression or death due to any cause, whichever occurs first.

    Time frame: Up to approximately 26 months

07

Results

Posted May 13, 2026

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneNemtabrutinib 45 mgNemtabrutinib 65 mg QD
Started34
Completed00
Not completed34
Withdrew: Death33
Withdrew: Sponsor decision01

Outcome measures

SecondaryArea Under the Curve From Dosing to 24 Hours Postdose (AUC0-24) of Nemtabrutinib

AUC0-24 is the area under the curve of plasma concentration of nemtabrutinib from dosing to 24 hours postdose.

Time frame:
Day 1: Pre-dose and 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, and 24 hours post-dose
Reported as:
Least squares mean · hr*ng/mL
Area Under the Curve From Dosing to 24 Hours Postdose (AUC0-24) of Nemtabrutinib
hr*ng/mLNemtabrutinib 45 mgNemtabrutinib 65 mg
Area Under the Curve From Dosing to 24 Hours Postdose (AUC0-24) of Nemtabrutinib8000 (5470 to 11700)9890 (7120 to 13700)
SecondaryMinimum Concentration (Cmin) of Nemtabrutinib

Cmin is the lowest observed plasma concentration.

Time frame:
Day 1: Pre-dose and 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, and 24 hours post-dose
Reported as:
Least squares mean · ng/mL
Minimum Concentration (Cmin) of Nemtabrutinib
ng/mLNemtabrutinib 45 mgNemtabrutinib 65 mg
Minimum Concentration (Cmin) of Nemtabrutinib190 (105 to 346)218 (130 to 366)
SecondaryMaximum Concentration (Cmax) of Nemtabrutinib

Cmax is the lowest observed plasma concentration.

Time frame:
Day 1: Pre-dose and 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, and 24 hours post-dose
Reported as:
Least squares mean · ng/mL
Maximum Concentration (Cmax) of Nemtabrutinib
ng/mLNemtabrutinib 45 mgNemtabrutinib 65 mg
Maximum Concentration (Cmax) of Nemtabrutinib638 (454 to 895)917 (638 to 1230)
SecondaryTime to Maximum Concentration (Tmax) of Nemtabrutinib

Tmax is the time to reach Cmax.

Time frame:
Day 1: Pre-dose and 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, and 24 hours post-dose
Reported as:
Median · Hours
Time to Maximum Concentration (Tmax) of Nemtabrutinib
HoursNemtabrutinib 45 mgNemtabrutinib 65 mg
Time to Maximum Concentration (Tmax) of Nemtabrutinib1.88 (0.92 to 1.90)1.43 (0.92 to 1.92)
SecondaryObjective Response Rate (ORR) as Assessed by Investigator

ORR is the proportion of participants in the analysis population with objective response. Objective response is defined as participants who achieve at least a partial response (PR) per disease-specific criteria as assessed by investigator. Data are presented separately for participants with chronic lymphocytic leukemia (CLL)/small lymphocytic lymphoma (SLL) and non-CLL/SLL participants.

Time frame:
Up to approximately 26 months
Reported as:
Number · Percentage of Participants
Objective Response Rate (ORR) as Assessed by Investigator
Percentage of ParticipantsNemtabrutinib 45 mgNemtabrutinib 65 mg
CLL/SLL100.0 (2.5 to 100.0)100.0 (2.5 to 100.0)
non-CLL/SLL0.0 (0.0 to 84.2)0.0 (0.0 to 70.8)
PrimaryNumber of Participants Who Experience Dose Limiting Toxicities (DLTs) Per National Cancer Institute Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (NCI-CTCAE) Version 5.0

A DLT is ≥1 of: Grade ≥3 nonhematologic toxicity with exception of Grade 3 nausea, vomiting, diarrhea, rash, fatigue, and uncontrolled hypertension lasting \>72 hours despite optimal supportive case; Grade 4 hematologic toxicity lasting \>7 days, Grade 4 platelet count decreased of any duration (with exceptions), or Grade 3 platelet count decreased with bleeding (with exceptions), or Grade 3 or higher febrile neutropenia of any duration; Grade 3 or Grade 4 nonhematologic laboratory abnormality, if results in drug induced liver injury (DILI), or medical intervention is required, or the abnormality leads to hospitalization, or the abnormality persists for \>1 week (with exceptions); missing \>25% of nemtabrutinib doses as a result of drug-related AE(s); Grade 5 toxicity. Toxicities will be graded using NCI-CTCAE version 5.0 except hematologic toxicities in participants with chronic lymphocytic leukemia (CLL) assessed according to the International Workshop on CLL (iwCLL) criteria.

Time frame:
Up to approximately 4 weeks
Reported as:
Number · Participants
Number of Participants Who Experience Dose Limiting Toxicities (DLTs) Per National Cancer Institute Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (NCI-CTCAE) Version 5.0
ParticipantsNemtabrutinib 45 mgNemtabrutinib 65 mg
Number of Participants Who Experience Dose Limiting Toxicities (DLTs) Per National Cancer Institute Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (NCI-CTCAE) Version 5.000
PrimaryNumber of Participants Who Experience Adverse Events (AEs)

An AE is any untoward medical occurrence in a clinical study participant, temporally associated with the use of study intervention, whether or not considered related to the study intervention.

Time frame:
Up to approximately 26 months
Reported as:
Number · Participants
Number of Participants Who Experience Adverse Events (AEs)
ParticipantsNemtabrutinib 45 mgNemtabrutinib 65 mg
Number of Participants Who Experience Adverse Events (AEs)34
PrimaryNumber of Participants Discontinuing Study Treatment Due to AEs

An AE is any untoward medical occurrence in a clinical study participant, temporally associated with the use of study intervention, whether or not considered related to the study intervention.

Time frame:
Up to approximately 26 months
Reported as:
Number · Participants
Number of Participants Discontinuing Study Treatment Due to AEs
ParticipantsNemtabrutinib 45 mgNemtabrutinib 65 mg
Number of Participants Discontinuing Study Treatment Due to AEs00
SecondaryDuration of Response (DOR) as Assessed by Investigator

For participants who demonstrate an objective response as assessed by investigator, per disease-specific criteria, duration of response is defined as the time from the first documented evidence of an objective response until disease progression or death due to any cause, whichever occurs first.

Time frame:
Up to approximately 26 months
Reported as:
Median · Months
Duration of Response (DOR) as Assessed by Investigator
MonthsNemtabrutinib 45 mgNemtabrutinib 65 mg
Duration of Response (DOR) as Assessed by InvestigatorNA (NA to NA)NA (NA to NA)

Adverse events

Collected over Up to ~26 months. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Nemtabrutinib 45 mg3/3 (100%)1/3 (33.3%)3/3 (100%)
Nemtabrutinib 65 mg3/4 (75%)1/4 (25%)4/4 (100%)
Most frequent serious events
Most frequent serious events
EventNemtabrutinib 45 mgNemtabrutinib 65 mg
MyelosuppressionBlood and lymphatic system disorders1/30/4
Infusion related reactionInjury, poisoning and procedural complications1/30/4
Tumour lysis syndromeMetabolism and nutrition disorders1/30/4
Interstitial lung diseaseRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders0/31/4
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 36
Most frequent other events
EventNemtabrutinib 45 mgNemtabrutinib 65 mg
ConstipationGastrointestinal disorders3/31/4
Platelet count decreasedInvestigations2/30/4
Oedema peripheralGeneral disorders0/32/4
DysgeusiaNervous system disorders0/32/4
LeukopeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders1/30/4
NeutropeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders1/30/4
ThrombocytopeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders1/30/4
NauseaGastrointestinal disorders1/30/4
MalaiseGeneral disorders1/30/4
PneumoniaInfections and infestations1/30/4

Baseline characteristics

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(Years)Nemtabrutinib 45 mgNemtabrutininb 65 mgTotal
Mean71.3 ± 14.469.8 ± 11.070.4 ± 11.4
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Nemtabrutinib 45 mgNemtabrutininb 65 mgTotal
Female112
Male235
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Nemtabrutinib 45 mgNemtabrutininb 65 mgTotal
Hispanic or Latino000
Not Hispanic or Latino347
Unknown or Not Reported000
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Nemtabrutinib 45 mgNemtabrutininb 65 mgTotal
American Indian or Alaska Native000
Asian347
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander000
Black or African American000
White000
More than one race000
Unknown or Not Reported000
08

Study locations

7 sites
  • Nagoya University Hospital ( Site 0003)
    Nagoya, Aichi-ken 466-8560, Japan
  • National Cancer Center Hospital East ( Site 0002)
    Kashiwa, Chiba 2778577, Japan
  • Kindai University Hospital ( Site 0006)
    Sayama, Osaka 589-8511, Japan
  • Chiba Cancer Center ( Site 0005)
    Chiba, 260-8717, Japan
  • Kyushu University Hospital ( Site 0008)
    Fukuoka, 812-8582, Japan
  • Okayama University Hospital ( Site 0007)
    Okayama, 700-8558, Japan
  • Yamagata University Hospital ( Site 0001)
    Yamagata, 990-9585, Japan
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Jun 17, 2025

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: Yes — https://trialstransparency.msdclinicaltrials.com/pdf/ProcedureAccessClinicalTrialData.pdf

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on May 13, 2026, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT05673460
Lead sponsor
Merck Sharp & Dohme LLC
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Jan 6, 2023
Start date
Feb 13, 2023
Primary completion
Apr 28, 2025
Completion
Sep 3, 2025
Results posted
May 13, 2026
Last update
May 13, 2026

Study contacts

Medical Director
study director · Merck Sharp & Dohme LLC

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in May 2026. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion