CClinicalTrials.gg
TerminatedNCT05288283Updated Feb 3, 2025Results posted

Efficacy and Safety of GWP42003-P Oral Solution in Children With Epilepsy With Myoclonic-atonic Seizures

A Phase 3 interventional study of GWP42003-P and Placebo in Seizures Associated With EMAS, sponsored by Jazz Pharmaceuticals. Terminated at 14 sites in 2 countries. Open to participants aged 1 Year to 18 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2025-02-03.

Sponsored by Jazz Pharmaceuticals · Phase 3, Interventional, and Treatment

Why this study was terminated
The study was terminated due to a business decision.
Phase
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
3
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
1 Year to 18 Years
Sex
All
01

Study summary

The primary aim of Part A of the study to assess the efficacy and tolerability of GWP42003-P compared to placebo as an adjunctive treatment for children with Epilepsy with myoclonic-atonic seizures (EMAS) -associated seizures.

Part B of this study will be conducted to evaluate the long-term safety and tolerability of GWP42003-P in participants with EMAS.

Read the detailed description

The duration of study participation in Part A will be approximately 26 weeks, which includes a 1- to 3-week Screening Period, 4-week Baseline Observation Period, 14-week Dose Optimization Treatment Period, 10-day Taper Period, and a Safety Follow-up Period (4 weeks after end of taper visit). Participants will be randomized centrally in a 1:1 ratio to receive either GWP42003-P or matching placebo. Randomization will be stratified by clobazam use (on/off) and age of seizure onset (3 years of age and younger or older than 3 years of age). Upon completion of the double-blind phase (Part A), participants will have an option to continue in a 54-week open-label extension (Part B).

02

Conditions studied

  • Seizures Associated With EMAS

Keywords

  • Epilepsy
  • Seizures
  • Epilepsy with Myoclonic-Atonic Seizures (EMAS)
  • Myoclonic-Atonic Epilepsy
  • Doose syndrome
  • Myoclonic-Astatic epilepsy (MAE)
  • Children
  • Cannabidiol (CBD)
  • GWP42003-P
03

In context

Epilepsy

1,805 studies on the registry are indexed under Epilepsy; 417 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 3 is below the median of 50 across 1,206 interventional studies indexed under Epilepsy.

Browse Epilepsy studies →

Lead sponsor

Jazz Pharmaceuticals is the lead sponsor of 167 studies on the registry; 20 are open to participants now.

Of its 39 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 28 (72%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
1 Year to 18 Years
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • Participant has a current diagnosis of epilepsy with myoclonic-atonic seizures (EMAS), also known as Doose syndrome, myoclonic-astatic epilepsy, or myoclonic-atonic epilepsy, consistent with the International League Against Epilepsy (ILAE) guidelines. Presence of myoclonic-atonic seizures is mandatory to support a diagnosis of EMAS as determined by medical history and independent approval by The Epilepsy Study Consortium (TESC).
  • Participant's initial seizure onset occurred from ≥ 6 months to \< 6 years of age, with normal or mildly impaired/delayed neurodevelopment reported prior to onset of seizures. During the first year of seizure onset, the majority of seizures experienced by the participant were myoclonic-atonic seizures or generalized tonic-clonic seizures as determined by medical history.
  • Participant is currently treated with one or more antiepileptic drug (AED) on a stable regimen (≥ 28 days prior to starting the baseline period [Part A Visit 2]) or on a stable ketogenic diet (≥ 3 months prior to starting the baseline period [Part A Visit 2]) and no changes to treatment are planned for the duration of the study.
  • Participant is refractory to anticonvulsant medication and failed at least 1 AED (e.g., valproic acid, clobazam, clonazepam, and levetiracetam) at therapeutic doses.
  • Participant is able to provide a historical electroencephalogram (EEG) report, which was performed within 12 months of Screening (Part A Visit 1), or is willing to complete an EEG at Screening (Part A Visit 1), that confirms a 3 to 6 Hertz (Hz) generalized spike-and-slow-wave or polyspike-and-slow-wave pattern.
  • Contraceptive use by male and female participants should be consistent with Clinical Trial Facilitation Group (CTFG) guidelines and any applicable local regulations regarding the methods of contraception for those participating in clinical studies.

    1. Fertile male participants with partners of childbearing potential (CBP) must be willing to use a male barrier method of contraception in addition to a second method of acceptable contraception used by their female of CBP partners, from the time of Screening (Part A Visit 1) until 3 months after the follow-up visit.
    2. Female participants of CBP will not be pregnant or lactating and have a confirmed negative highly sensitive serum pregnancy test at Screening (Part A Visit 1).
    3. Female participants must also have a confirmed negative urine pregnancy test prior to receiving their first dose of blinded investigational medicinal product (IMP) at Part A Visit 3.
    4. Female participants who are continuing to Part B must have a confirmed negative urine pregnancy test prior to receiving their first dose of open-label GWP42003-P at Part B Visit 1.
    5. Female participants of CBP must be willing to use a highly effective method of contraception from the time of signing the Informed Consent Form (ICF) until 3 months after the follow-up visit.
  • Participant or participant's caregiver(s) (according to local laws) is/are willing and able to give signed informed consent for participation in the study including compliance with the requirements and restrictions listed in the ICF and in the protocol.
  • Participant's caregiver(s) are willing to allow the responsible authorities to be notified of participation in the study, if mandated by local law.
  • Participant's caregiver completes at least 89% of Seizure eDiary entries during the first 28 days of the Baseline period (≥ 25 days of entries).

Part B only:

  • Has completed Part A of this study
  • Was compliant with all requirements of Part A (e.g., dosing, seizure eDiary, visits/procedures), in the judgement of the investigator and sponsor

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Has a history of psychogenic non-epileptic seizures that confounds the assessment of the primary efficacy measure
  • Has clinically significant unstable medical condition(s), other than EMAS
  • Has a clinically significant illness in the 28 days prior to Screening (Visit 1) or randomization (Part A Visit 3), other than epilepsy, which in the opinion of the investigator could affect seizure frequency
  • Has presence of focal seizures or persistent focal epileptiform discharges on EEG
  • Has a history of infantile spasms
  • Has moderate to severe neurocognitive and/or developmental delay prior to seizure onset
  • Has a progressive neurological condition
  • Has known or suspected hypersensitivity to cannabinoids or any of the excipients of GWP42003-P such as sesame oil
  • Is unwilling or unable to remain stable on concurrent AEDs throughout the study.
  • Has, in the opinion of the investigator, clinically significant abnormalities in the electrocardiogram (ECG) measured at Screening (Part A Visit 1), or any concurrent cardiovascular conditions, which will interfere with the ability to read their ECGs
  • Has significantly impaired hepatic function at the Screening visit (Visit 1) or prior to dosing, defined as any of the following:

    1. alanine aminotransferase (ALT) or aspartate aminotransferase (AST) > 5 × upper limit of normal (ULN);
    2. total bilirubin (TBL) (serum) ≥ 2 × ULN or International Normalized Ratio (INR) > 1.5 (TBL ≥ 2 × ULN exclusion will not apply for participants diagnosed with Gilbert's disease);
    3. serum ALT or AST ≥ 3 × ULN with the presence of fatigue, nausea, vomiting, right upper quadrant pain or tenderness, fever, rash, and/or eosinophilia (> 5%);
    4. elevated ALT or AST at Screening (Part A Visit 1), should be discussed with the medical monitor prior to Randomization (Part A Visit 3); the medical monitor may allow for a confirmatory re-draw prior to randomization.

This criterion can only be confirmed once the laboratory results are available.

  • Has clinically significant impaired renal function at Screening (Part A Visit 1), as evidenced by an estimated creatinine clearance lower than 60 milliliters per minute (mL/min)
  • Is a female participant of CBP, who is pregnant (positive pregnancy test), lactating or planning pregnancy during the course of the study and for 3 months thereafter
  • Participant has any known or suspected history of alcohol or substance abuse
  • Any clinically significant abnormalities identified following a physical examination or laboratory assessments of the participant that, in the opinion of the investigator, would jeopardize the safety of the participant if they take part in the study
  • Participant has any other clinically significant disease or disorder which, in the opinion of the investigator, may either put the participant, other participants, or site staff at risk because of participation in the study, may influence the result of the study, or may affect the participant's ability to take part in the study
  • Has a change in anticonvulsant therapies within 28 days of starting the baseline period (Part A Visit 2), including AEDs or settings on vagal nerve stimulator
  • Has any planned clinical interventions or intends to change any or all medications that may impact seizures during the study
  • Has been treated with a general anesthetic in the 28 days prior to screening (Part A Visit 1) or randomization (Part A Visit 3 [Week 0])
  • Has undergone surgery for epilepsy in the 6 months prior to Screening (Part A Visit 1)
  • Is being considered for epilepsy surgery or any procedure involving general anesthesia during the study
  • Has initiated a ketogenic diet within 3 months prior to the Baseline period (Part A Visit 2). Participants who are stable on a ketogenic diet for ≥ 3 months and willing to remain on a stable epilepsy dietary therapy (e.g., ketogenic diet, Atkins diet, low glycemic index diet) during the study, are eligible for inclusion.
  • Has initiated felbamate within 12 months prior to screening (Part A Visit 1). Participants who are stable on a felbamate for ≥ 12 months are eligible for inclusion.
  • Is currently being treated with or had previously (within 3 months prior to screening [Part A Visit 1] received intravenous immunoglobulin treatment or plasma exchange for the treatment of seizures
  • Has participated in a clinical study involving administration of an IMP (new chemical entity) or medical device (e.g., vagal nerve stimulator) within 1 month prior to screening (Part A Visit 1)
  • Have previously been randomized, completed, or withdrawn from this study
  • Is currently using a drug of abuse or current non-prescribed use of any prescription drug
  • Is currently using or has used recreational or medicinal cannabis, cannabinoid-based medications, products, or supplements (botanical or synthetic) within 28 days prior to screening (Part A Visit 1).
  • Mother (if breastfeeding the participant) is currently using or has used recreational or medicinal cannabis, cannabinoid-based medications, products, or supplements (botanical or synthetic) within 28 days of screening (Part A Visit 1).
  • Has any history of suicidal behavior or serious suicidal ideation, defined as Category 4 or greater on the Columbia Suicide Severity Rating Scale (C-SSRS) at any visit prior to dosing with IMP. This criterion applies only to participants 4 to 18 years of age.
  • Is unwilling or unable to comply with all study requirements, including accurate eDiary completion
  • Participants who, in the opinion of the investigator (or designee), should not participate in this study
  • Has travel planned outside their country of residence during the study, unless the participant has confirmation that the IMP is permitted in the destination country and all stops along the way

Part B only:

  • Has significantly impaired hepatic function at Part A Visit 9, defined as any of the following:

    1. ALT or AST > 5 × ULN;
    2. TBL (serum) ≥ 2 × ULN or INR > 1.5 (TBL ≥ 2 × ULN exclusion will not apply for participants diagnosed with Gilbert's disease.
    3. Serum ALT or AST ≥ 3 × ULN with the presence of fatigue, nausea, vomiting, right upper quadrant pain or tenderness, fever, rash, and/or eosinophilia (> 5%). The medical monitor may allow for a confirmatory redraw prior to rollover.
  • Meets any exclusion criteria at Part B Visit 1
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Parallel assignment
Masking
Quadruple (Participant, Care provider, Investigator, Outcomes assessor)
Enrollment
3 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    GWP42003-P

    Participants will be initiated on a dose of GWP42003-P 2.5 milligrams per kilogram (mg/kg) twice a day (BID) (5 mg/kg/day); after 1 week, the dose will be increased to 5 mg/kg BID (10 mg/kg/day). Dose escalation up to a maximum daily dosage of 20 mg/kg/day (in increments of 5 mg/kg/day \[2.5 mg/kg BID\] no more rapidly than every 7 days) may occur after Day 15 based on the investigator's assessment of efficacy, safety and tolerability.

    Drug: GWP42003-P

  • Placebo comparator
    Placebo

    Participants will receive the matching placebo.

    Drug: Placebo

Interventions

  • DrugGWP42003-P

    oral solution

    Also known as: EPIDIOLEX, Cannabidiol, Cannabidiol oral solution (CBD-OS)

  • DrugPlacebo

    oral solution

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Part A: Percent Change From Baseline in Epilepsy With Myoclonic-atonic Seizures (EMAS) Associated Seizure Frequency (Myoclonic-atonic, Atonic, Tonic, Clonic, or Tonic-clonic) Over the 14-week Treatment Period

    Time frame: Baseline; up to 14 weeks

  2. Part B: Number of Participants With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events

    Time frame: up to Week 54

  3. Part B: Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Vital Sign Values

    Time frame: up to Week 50

  4. Part B: Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Physical Examination Values

    Time frame: up to Week 48

  5. Part B: Number of Participants With Clinically Significant 12-lead Electrocardiogram (ECG) Values

    Time frame: up to Week 48

  6. Part B: Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Laboratory Test Values

    Time frame: up to Week 48

  7. Part B: Number of Participants With Changes in Tanner Staging

    Time frame: up to Week 48

  8. Part B: Number of Participants With a Change in Columbia-Suicide Severity Rating Scale (C-SSRS) Ideation Scores

    Time frame: up to Week 54

  9. Part B: Number of Participants With a Change in the Number of Suicide Attempts Per C-SSRS Scores

    Time frame: up to Week 54

Secondary outcomes

  1. Part A: Number of Participants Who Achieve ≥ 50% Reduction From Baseline in EMAS-associated Seizures Over the 14-week Treatment Period

    Time frame: Baseline; up to 14 weeks

  2. Part A: Total Seizure Frequency Over the 14-week Treatment Period

    Time frame: Baseline; up to 14 weeks

  3. Part A: Caregiver Global Impression of Change (CGIC) Score at Week 14

    Time frame: Week 14

  4. Part A: Physician Global Impression of Change (PGIC) Score at Week 14

    Time frame: Week 14

  5. Part A: Number of Participants Who Achieve ≥ 25%, ≥ 50%, ≥ 75%, and 100% Reduction From Baseline in Total Seizures Over the 14-week Treatment Period

    Time frame: Baseline; up to 14 weeks

  6. Part A: Change From Baseline in the Number of EMAS-associated Seizure-free Days Over the 14-week Treatment Period

    Time frame: Baseline; up to 14 weeks

  7. Part A: Number of Participants With at Least 25% and 50% Reduction From Baseline in the Number of Days Per Week With Myoclonic Seizures During the 14-week Treatment Period

    Time frame: Baseline; up to 14 weeks

  8. Part A: Time to Baseline Seizure Frequency

    Time frame: up to 14 weeks

  9. Part A: Number of Participants With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events

    A TEAE is an adverse event that started or worsened in severity or seriousness following the first dose of the investigational medicinal product.

    Time frame: From the time of informed consent signing up to 27 weeks.

  10. Part A: Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Laboratory Test Values

    Time frame: up to 27 weeks

  11. Part A: Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Vital Sign Values

    Time frame: up to 27 weeks

  12. Part A: Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Physical Examination Values

    Time frame: up to 27 weeks

  13. Part A: Number of Participants With Clinically Significant 12-lead ECG Values

    Time frame: up to 27 weeks

  14. Part A: Number of Participants With Changes in Tanner Staging

    Time frame: up to Day 99

  15. Part A: Number of Participants With a Change in C-SSRS Ideation Scores

    Time frame: up to 27 weeks

  16. Part A: Number of Participants With a Change in the Number of Suicide Attempts Per C-SSRS Scores

    Time frame: up to 27 weeks

  17. Part B: Percent Change From Baseline in EMAS-associated Seizure Frequency (Myoclonic-atonic, Atonic, Tonic, Clonic, or Tonic-clonic) Over the 48-week Open-label Treatment Period

    Time frame: Baseline; up to 48 weeks

  18. Part B: Number of Participants Achieving ≥50% Reduction From Baseline in EMAS-associated Seizures Over the 48-week Open-label Treatment Period

    Time frame: Baseline; up to 48 weeks

  19. Part B: Total Seizure Frequency Over the 48-week Open-label Treatment Period

    Time frame: up to Week 48

  20. Part B: CGIC Score at Weeks 14, 24, and 48

    Time frame: Weeks 14, 24, and 48

  21. Part B: PGIC Score at Weeks 14, 24, and 48

    Time frame: Weeks 14, 24, and 48

  22. Part B: Number of Participants Who Achieve ≥ 25%, ≥ 50%, ≥ 75%, and 100% Reduction From Baseline in Total Seizures Over the 48-week Open-label Treatment Period

    Time frame: Baseline; up to 48 weeks

  23. Part B: Change From Baseline in the Number of EMAS-associated Seizure-free Days Over the 48-week Open-label Treatment Period

    Time frame: Baseline; up to 48 weeks

  24. Part B: Number of Participants With at Least 25% and 50% Reduction From Baseline in the Number of Days Per Week With Myoclonic Seizures During the 48-week Open-label Treatment Period

    Time frame: Baseline; up to 48 weeks

07

Results

Posted Feb 3, 2025

Participant flow

Participants were screened for enrollment at 14 activated sites: 10 in the USA and 4 in Italy.

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneGWP42003-PPlacebo
Started11
Completed00
Not completed11
Withdrew: Study terminated early11

Outcome measures

PrimaryPart A: Percent Change From Baseline in Epilepsy With Myoclonic-atonic Seizures (EMAS) Associated Seizure Frequency (Myoclonic-atonic, Atonic, Tonic, Clonic, or Tonic-clonic) Over the 14-week Treatment Period
Time frame:
Baseline; up to 14 weeks

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

PrimaryPart B: Number of Participants With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events
Time frame:
up to Week 54

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

PrimaryPart B: Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Vital Sign Values
Time frame:
up to Week 50

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

PrimaryPart B: Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Physical Examination Values
Time frame:
up to Week 48

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

PrimaryPart B: Number of Participants With Clinically Significant 12-lead Electrocardiogram (ECG) Values
Time frame:
up to Week 48

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

PrimaryPart B: Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Laboratory Test Values
Time frame:
up to Week 48

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

PrimaryPart B: Number of Participants With Changes in Tanner Staging
Time frame:
up to Week 48

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

PrimaryPart B: Number of Participants With a Change in Columbia-Suicide Severity Rating Scale (C-SSRS) Ideation Scores
Time frame:
up to Week 54

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

PrimaryPart B: Number of Participants With a Change in the Number of Suicide Attempts Per C-SSRS Scores
Time frame:
up to Week 54

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

SecondaryPart A: Number of Participants Who Achieve ≥ 50% Reduction From Baseline in EMAS-associated Seizures Over the 14-week Treatment Period
Time frame:
Baseline; up to 14 weeks

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

SecondaryPart A: Total Seizure Frequency Over the 14-week Treatment Period
Time frame:
Baseline; up to 14 weeks

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

SecondaryPart A: Caregiver Global Impression of Change (CGIC) Score at Week 14
Time frame:
Week 14

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

SecondaryPart A: Physician Global Impression of Change (PGIC) Score at Week 14
Time frame:
Week 14

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

SecondaryPart A: Number of Participants Who Achieve ≥ 25%, ≥ 50%, ≥ 75%, and 100% Reduction From Baseline in Total Seizures Over the 14-week Treatment Period
Time frame:
Baseline; up to 14 weeks

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

SecondaryPart A: Change From Baseline in the Number of EMAS-associated Seizure-free Days Over the 14-week Treatment Period
Time frame:
Baseline; up to 14 weeks

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

SecondaryPart A: Number of Participants With at Least 25% and 50% Reduction From Baseline in the Number of Days Per Week With Myoclonic Seizures During the 14-week Treatment Period
Time frame:
Baseline; up to 14 weeks

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

SecondaryPart A: Time to Baseline Seizure Frequency
Time frame:
up to 14 weeks

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

SecondaryPart A: Number of Participants With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events

A TEAE is an adverse event that started or worsened in severity or seriousness following the first dose of the investigational medicinal product.

Time frame:
From the time of informed consent signing up to 27 weeks.
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Part A: Number of Participants With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events
ParticipantsGWP42003-PPlacebo
Part A: Number of Participants With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events11
SecondaryPart A: Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Laboratory Test Values
Time frame:
up to 27 weeks
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Part A: Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Laboratory Test Values
ParticipantsGWP42003-PPlacebo
Part A: Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Laboratory Test Values00
SecondaryPart A: Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Vital Sign Values
Time frame:
up to 27 weeks
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Part A: Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Vital Sign Values
ParticipantsGWP42003-PPlacebo
Part A: Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Vital Sign Values00
SecondaryPart A: Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Physical Examination Values
Time frame:
up to 27 weeks
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Part A: Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Physical Examination Values
ParticipantsGWP42003-PPlacebo
Part A: Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Physical Examination Values00
SecondaryPart A: Number of Participants With Clinically Significant 12-lead ECG Values
Time frame:
up to 27 weeks
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Part A: Number of Participants With Clinically Significant 12-lead ECG Values
ParticipantsGWP42003-PPlacebo
Part A: Number of Participants With Clinically Significant 12-lead ECG Values00
SecondaryPart A: Number of Participants With Changes in Tanner Staging
Time frame:
up to Day 99

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

SecondaryPart A: Number of Participants With a Change in C-SSRS Ideation Scores
Time frame:
up to 27 weeks
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Part A: Number of Participants With a Change in C-SSRS Ideation Scores
ParticipantsGWP42003-PPlacebo
Part A: Number of Participants With a Change in C-SSRS Ideation Scores00
SecondaryPart A: Number of Participants With a Change in the Number of Suicide Attempts Per C-SSRS Scores
Time frame:
up to 27 weeks
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Part A: Number of Participants With a Change in the Number of Suicide Attempts Per C-SSRS Scores
ParticipantsGWP42003-PPlacebo
Part A: Number of Participants With a Change in the Number of Suicide Attempts Per C-SSRS Scores00
SecondaryPart B: Percent Change From Baseline in EMAS-associated Seizure Frequency (Myoclonic-atonic, Atonic, Tonic, Clonic, or Tonic-clonic) Over the 48-week Open-label Treatment Period
Time frame:
Baseline; up to 48 weeks

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

SecondaryPart B: Number of Participants Achieving ≥50% Reduction From Baseline in EMAS-associated Seizures Over the 48-week Open-label Treatment Period
Time frame:
Baseline; up to 48 weeks

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

SecondaryPart B: Total Seizure Frequency Over the 48-week Open-label Treatment Period
Time frame:
up to Week 48

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

SecondaryPart B: CGIC Score at Weeks 14, 24, and 48
Time frame:
Weeks 14, 24, and 48

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

SecondaryPart B: PGIC Score at Weeks 14, 24, and 48
Time frame:
Weeks 14, 24, and 48

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

SecondaryPart B: Number of Participants Who Achieve ≥ 25%, ≥ 50%, ≥ 75%, and 100% Reduction From Baseline in Total Seizures Over the 48-week Open-label Treatment Period
Time frame:
Baseline; up to 48 weeks

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

SecondaryPart B: Change From Baseline in the Number of EMAS-associated Seizure-free Days Over the 48-week Open-label Treatment Period
Time frame:
Baseline; up to 48 weeks

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

SecondaryPart B: Number of Participants With at Least 25% and 50% Reduction From Baseline in the Number of Days Per Week With Myoclonic Seizures During the 48-week Open-label Treatment Period
Time frame:
Baseline; up to 48 weeks

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

Adverse events

Collected over All treatment-emergent adverse events (TEAE) were collected from signing the informed consent up to approximately 27 weeks. No participants entered the open-label extension phase due to study termination.. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
GWP42003-P0/1 (0%)1/1 (100%)1/1 (100%)
Placebo0/1 (0%)0/1 (0%)1/1 (100%)
Most frequent serious events
Most frequent serious events
EventGWP42003-PPlacebo
Gastroenteritis viralInfections and infestations1/10/1
Most frequent other events
Most frequent other events
EventGWP42003-PPlacebo
IrritabilityPsychiatric disorders1/11/1
FatigueGeneral disorders1/10/1
TachycardiaCardiac disorders1/10/1
International normalised ratio increasedInvestigations1/10/1
Blood triglyceridesInvestigations0/11/1

Baseline characteristics

Age, Categorical
Age, Categorical(Participants)GWP42003-PPlaceboTotal
<=18 years112
Between 18 and 65 years000
>=65 years000
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)GWP42003-PPlaceboTotal
Female101
Male011
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)GWP42003-PPlaceboTotal
Hispanic or Latino000
Not Hispanic or Latino112
Unknown or Not Reported000
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)GWP42003-PPlaceboTotal
American Indian or Alaska Native000
Asian000
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander000
Black or African American011
White101
More than one race000
Unknown or Not Reported000
08

Study locations

14 sites
  • Children's Hospital of Alabama
    Birmingham, Alabama 35233, United States
  • University of California Davis Health
    Sacramento, California 95817, United States
  • Healthcare of Atlanta
    Atlanta, Georgia 30329, United States
  • Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children's Hospital
    Chicago, Illinois 60611, United States
  • Mayo Clinic
    Rochester, Minnesota 55905, United States
  • Wake Forest Baptist Health Sciences, Department of Neurology
    Winston-Salem, North Carolina 27157, United States
  • Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center - TS Clinic
    Cincinnati, Ohio 45229, United States
  • Medical University of South Carolina
    Charleston, South Carolina 29425, United States
  • Dell's Children's Hospital
    Austin, Texas 78723, United States
  • Seattle Children's Hospital
    Seattle, Washington 98105, United States
  • Azienda Ospedaliero Universitaria Ospedale Pediatrico Meyer
    Firenze, 50139, Italy
  • Istituto Giannina Gaslini-Ospedale Pediatrico IRCCS
    Genova, 16147, Italy
  • IRCCS Fondazione Istituto Neurologico Nazionale D. Mondino Pavia
    Pavia, 27100, Italy
  • UOC Neuropsichiatria Infantile AOUI Verona
    Verona, 37126, Italy
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Apr 23, 2023

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: No

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Feb 3, 2025, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT05288283
Lead sponsor
Jazz Pharmaceuticals
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Mar 21, 2022
Start date
Oct 31, 2022
Primary completion
Sep 28, 2023
Completion
Sep 28, 2023
Results posted
Feb 3, 2025
Last update
Feb 3, 2025

Oversight

FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is terminated, as verified in Jan 2025. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion