A Phase 1 interventional study of Olaparib tablets, 150 mg and Lynparza® (olaparib) tablets 150 mg in Ovarian Cancer and Breast Cancer, sponsored by Sandoz. Completed at 1 site in India. Open to female participants aged 18 Years to 85 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2024-10-03.
Sponsored by Sandoz (formerly part of Novartis) · Phase 1, Interventional, and Other
This is a two-way crossover bioequivalence study between test and reference product in patients diagnosed with BRCA mutated ovarian cancer, recurrent ovarian cancer or metastatic breast cancer.
This is a two-way crossover bioequivalence study between test and reference product in patients diagnosed with BRCA mutated ovarian cancer, recurrent ovarian cancer or metastatic breast cancer.
Patients will be enrolled after providing written informed consent and treatments will be allocated to patient by carrying out randomization using statistical techniques.
Patients that are already on a stable dose of Lynparza® (olaparib) tablets and have met the eligibility criteria will be directly randomized for participation in the study.
After randomization patients will receive either test or reference product in a crossover manner based on the randomization schedule. Patients will receive the dose of 300 mg twice daily for 16 days in a crossover design.
In period-I (Day 1 to Day 8), patients will receive either Test product or Reference product for 8 days based on the randomization schedule.
In period-II (Day 9 to Day 16), patients will be switched to the other product for a second period of 8 days.
2,757 studies on the registry are indexed under Ovarian Neoplasms; 735 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 70 is above the median of 59 across 2,075 interventional studies indexed under Ovarian Neoplasms.
Browse Ovarian Neoplasms studies →Sandoz is the lead sponsor of 139 studies on the registry; none are open to participants now.
Of its 11 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 6 (55%) have results posted.
First submitted before Sandoz left Novartis.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Go through the criteria one by one — yes, no or not sure — and take the list to your doctor or the study team. Kept in this browser only.
- First-Line Maintenance Treatment of BRCA-mutated Advanced Ovarian Cancer maintenance treatment of adult patients with deleterious or suspected deleterious germline or somatic BRCA-mutated advanced epithelial ovarian, fallopian tube or primary peritoneal cancer who are in complete or partial response to first-line platinum-based chemotherapy.
OR Maintenance Treatment of Recurrent Ovarian Cancer maintenance treatment of adult patients with recurrent epithelial ovarian, fallopian tube or primary peritoneal cancer, who are in complete or partial response to platinum-based chemotherapy.
OR Advanced Germline BRCA-mutated Ovarian Cancer After 3 or More Lines of Chemotherapy treatment of adult patients with deleterious or suspected deleterious germline BRCA-mutated (gBRCAm) advanced ovarian cancer who have been treated with three or more prior lines of chemotherapy.
OR Germline BRCA-mutated Human epidermal growth factor receptor 2 (HER2) -negative Metastatic Breast Cancer treatment of adult patients with deleterious or suspected deleterious gBRCAm, HER2-negative metastatic breast cancer, who have been treated with chemotherapy in the neoadjuvant, adjuvant, or metastatic setting. Patients with hormone receptor (HR)-positive breast cancer should have been treated with a prior endocrine therapy or be considered inappropriate for endocrine therapy.
OR Women of child bearing potential must have negative pregnancy test at screening visit and before randomization and must agree to use an effective method of avoiding pregnancy (including oral, transdermal or implanted contraceptives [any hormonal method in conjunction with a secondary method], intrauterine device, female condom with spermicide, diaphragm with spermicide, absolute sexual abstinence, use of condom with spermicide by sexual partner or sterile [at least 6 months prior to IMP administration] sexual partner) for at least 4 weeks prior to IMP administration, during the study and up to 6 months after the last dose of IMP. Cessation of birth control after this point should be discussed with a responsible physician.
Exclusion Criteria:
participants will receive 2 x 150 mg Olaparib tablets twice daily for 16 days in a crossover design
Drug: Olaparib tablets, 150 mg · Drug: Lynparza® (olaparib) tablets 150 mg
participants will receive 2 x 150 mg Olaparib tablets twice daily for 16 days in a crossover design
Drug: Olaparib tablets, 150 mg · Drug: Lynparza® (olaparib) tablets 150 mg
Olaparib tablets, 150 mg of Lek Pharmaceuticals d.d., Slovenia
Lynparza® (olaparib) tablets 150 mg Manufactured for: AstraZeneca Pharmaceuticals LP, Wilmington, Delaware (DE).
Maximum Plasma Concentration During the Dosing Interval at Steady State (CmaxSS)
To assess the pharmacokinetics and establish bioequivalence of the Test Product (Olaparib tablets, 150 mg) relative to that of Reference Product (Lynparza® (olaparib) tablets 150 mg) in patients with Breast Cancer Gene (BRCA) mutated ovarian cancer, recurrent ovarian cancer or metastatic breast cancer.
Time frame: Pre-dose (0.00 hr) on day 1,6,7,8,14,15 and 16 and Post-dose on day 8 and day 16
Area Under the Plasma Concentration Versus Time Curve for One Dosing Interval at Steady State (AUC(0-t)ss)
To assess the pharmacokinetics and establish bioequivalence of the Test Product (Olaparib tablets, 150 mg) relative to that of Reference Product (Lynparza® (olaparib) tablets 150 mg) in patients with BRCA mutated ovarian cancer, recurrent ovarian cancer or metastatic breast cancer.
Time frame: Pre-dose (0.00 hr) on day 1,6,7,8,14,15 and 16 and Post-dose on day 8 and day 16
Number of Serious Adverse Events
To monitor the serious adverse events of patients and to assess safety of each of the two formulations.
Time frame: up to Day 24
Number of Adverse Events
To monitor the adverse events of patients and to assess safety of each of the two formulations.
Time frame: up to Day 24
| Milestone | Olaparib Tablets, 150 mg, Then Lynparza® (Olaparib) Tablets 150 mg | Lynparza® (Olaparib) Tablets 150 mg, Then Olaparib Tablets, 150 mg |
|---|---|---|
| Started | 35 | 35 |
| Completed | 35 | 35 |
| Not completed | 0 | 0 |
| Milestone | Olaparib Tablets, 150 mg, Then Lynparza® (Olaparib) Tablets 150 mg | Lynparza® (Olaparib) Tablets 150 mg, Then Olaparib Tablets, 150 mg |
|---|---|---|
| Started | 35 | 35 |
| Completed | 34 | 35 |
| Not completed | 1 | 0 |
To assess the pharmacokinetics and establish bioequivalence of the Test Product (Olaparib tablets, 150 mg) relative to that of Reference Product (Lynparza® (olaparib) tablets 150 mg) in patients with Breast Cancer Gene (BRCA) mutated ovarian cancer, recurrent ovarian cancer or metastatic breast cancer.
| ng/mL | Olaparib Tablets, 150 mg | Lynparza® (Olaparib) Tablets 150 mg |
|---|---|---|
| Maximum Plasma Concentration During the Dosing Interval at Steady State (CmaxSS) | 10395.085 ± 3374.4800 | 9676.278 ± 2845.1708 |
To assess the pharmacokinetics and establish bioequivalence of the Test Product (Olaparib tablets, 150 mg) relative to that of Reference Product (Lynparza® (olaparib) tablets 150 mg) in patients with BRCA mutated ovarian cancer, recurrent ovarian cancer or metastatic breast cancer.
| hr*ng/mL | Olaparib Tablets, 150 mg | Lynparza® (Olaparib) Tablets 150 mg |
|---|---|---|
| Area Under the Plasma Concentration Versus Time Curve for One Dosing Interval at Steady State (AUC(0-t)ss) | 59480.137 ± 25073.7016 | 64104.218 ± 29492.0018 |
To monitor the serious adverse events of patients and to assess safety of each of the two formulations.
| Number of Serious Adverse Events | Olaparib Tablets, 150 mg | Lynparza® (Olaparib) Tablets 150 mg |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Serious Adverse Events | 0 | 1 |
To monitor the adverse events of patients and to assess safety of each of the two formulations.
| Number of Adverse Events | Olaparib Tablets, 150 mg | Lynparza® (Olaparib) Tablets 150 mg |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Adverse Events | 43 | 37 |
Collected over From signing informed consent form till end of the study safety assessments (24 days).. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Olaparib Tablets, 150 mg | 0/70 (0%) | 0/70 (0%) | 19/70 (27.1%) |
| Lynparza® (Olaparib) Tablets 150 mg | 0/69 (0%) | 1/69 (1.4%) | 17/69 (24.6%) |
| Event | Olaparib Tablets, 150 mg | Lynparza® (Olaparib) Tablets 150 mg |
|---|---|---|
| AstheniaGeneral disorders | 0/70 | 1/69 |
| Event | Olaparib Tablets, 150 mg | Lynparza® (Olaparib) Tablets 150 mg |
|---|---|---|
| AnaemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 7/70 | 7/69 |
| NauseaGastrointestinal disorders | 6/70 | 4/69 |
| White blood cell count decreasedInvestigations | 2/70 | 4/69 |
| AstheniaGeneral disorders | 4/70 | 2/69 |
| Age, Continuous(years) | Olaparib Tablets, 150 mg, Then Lynparza® (Olaparib) Tablets 150 mg | Lynparza® (Olaparib) Tablets 150 mg, Then Olaparib Tablets, 150 mg | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 47.77 ± 8.977 | 50.74 ± 10.590 | 49.26 ± 9.859 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Olaparib Tablets, 150 mg, Then Lynparza® (Olaparib) Tablets 150 mg | Lynparza® (Olaparib) Tablets 150 mg, Then Olaparib Tablets, 150 mg | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 35 | 35 | 70 |
| Male | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Olaparib Tablets, 150 mg, Then Lynparza® (Olaparib) Tablets 150 mg | Lynparza® (Olaparib) Tablets 150 mg, Then Olaparib Tablets, 150 mg | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 35 | 35 | 70 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Olaparib Tablets, 150 mg, Then Lynparza® (Olaparib) Tablets 150 mg | Lynparza® (Olaparib) Tablets 150 mg, Then Olaparib Tablets, 150 mg | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Asian | 35 | 35 | 70 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Black or African American | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| White | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| More than one race | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Region of Enrollment(participants) | Olaparib Tablets, 150 mg, Then Lynparza® (Olaparib) Tablets 150 mg | Lynparza® (Olaparib) Tablets 150 mg, Then Olaparib Tablets, 150 mg | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| India | 35 | 35 | 70 |
| BMI(Kg/m^2) | Olaparib Tablets, 150 mg, Then Lynparza® (Olaparib) Tablets 150 mg | Lynparza® (Olaparib) Tablets 150 mg, Then Olaparib Tablets, 150 mg | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 25.27 ± 3.480 | 25.62 ± 3.444 | 25.44 ± 3.441 |
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
Ran from Apr 2022 to primary completion in Oct 2022, 6 months.
Results were first posted in Oct 2024, 1 year 11 months after primary completion.
Of 155 industry-sponsored phase 1 interventional studies under Ovarian Neoplasms, half reached primary completion within 47 months of starting (the median), counting those still running; a quarter within 29 and three quarters within 67. This study's 6 months is below that.
Counting every sponsor, half of 288 studies reached it within 54 months; a quarter within 31 and three quarters within 79.
How these figures are worked out, and which studies are left out of them.
This study is completed, as verified in Jun 2024. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Studies of the drug tested here: Olaparib