A Phase 3 interventional study of C19-IG 20% and 0.9% Sodium chloride in COVID-19 and Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome Coronavirus 2 (SARS-CoV-2) Infection, sponsored by Grifols Therapeutics LLC. Terminated at 12 sites in Spain. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2022-12-05.
Sponsored by Grifols Therapeutics LLC · Phase 3, Interventional, and Treatment
The purpose of the study is to compare the efficacy of anti-COVID-19 immune globulin (human) 20% (C19-IG 20%) (2 doses) versus placebo with regard to the percentage of asymptomatic participants who remain asymptomatic, i.e., who do not develop symptomatic coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) through Day 14 as per the protocol defined criteria.
6,688 studies on the registry are indexed under Infections; 807 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 465 is above the median of 120 across 4,201 interventional studies indexed under Infections.
Browse Infections studies →Grifols Therapeutics LLC is the lead sponsor of 43 studies on the registry; 4 are open to participants now.
Of its 12 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 11 (92%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Exclusion Criteria:
Women who are pregnant or breastfeeding, or if of childbearing potential, unwilling to practice a highly effective method of contraception (oral, injectable, or implanted hormonal methods of contraception, placement of an intrauterine device or intrauterine system, condom, or occlusive cap with spermicidal foam/gel/cream/suppository, male sterilization, or true abstinence) throughout the study.
Participants will receive 1 gram (g) of C19-IG 20% subcutaneous (SC) infusion containing one syringe of 5 milliliters (mL) C19-IG 20% plus one syringe of 5 mL sterile 0.9% sodium chloride (NaCl) on Day 1.
Biological: C19-IG 20% · Drug: 0.9% Sodium chloride
Participants will receive 2 g of C19-IG 20% SC infusion containing two syringes 5 mL each of C19-IG 20% on Day 1.
Biological: C19-IG 20%
Participants will receive C19-IG 20% matching placebo as SC infusion containing two syringes of 5 mL each sterile 0.9% NaCl injection on Day 1.
Drug: 0.9% Sodium chloride
Anti-COVID-19 Immune Globulin (Human) 20%
C19-IG 20% matching placebo
Percentage of Asymptomatic Participants Who Remained Asymptomatic, i.e., Who Did Not Develop Symptomatic COVID-19 Through Day 14
Participants were described as symptomatic if they a. experienced at least two of the following systemic symptoms: fever (≥38 ºC), chills, myalgia, headache, sore throat, cough, fatigue that interferes with activities of daily living, new olfactory/taste disorder(s), and vomiting/diarrhea, b. experienced at least one of the following respiratory signs/symptoms: new or worsening shortness of breath or difficulty breathing; c. experienced a peripheral oxygen saturation by pulse oximetry (SpO2) \<94% on room air; or d. had radiographical evidence of pneumonia. The percentage of participants who meet the primary endpoint within each treatment group was presented along with a two-sided exact (Clopper-Pearson) 95% confidence interval (CI).
Time frame: Up to Day 14
Change From Baseline in SARS-CoV-2 Viral Load (log10 Copies/mL)
Mean change from baseline (CFB) in log10 SARS-CoV-2 viral load at Days 7 and 14 was assessed.
Time frame: Baseline to Day 7 and Day 14
Percentage of Participants Who Remained in an Outpatient Setting and Maintained SpO2 ≥94% on Room Air on Day 3, Day 7, and Day 14
An outpatient setting was defined as no hospitalization or intensive care unit (ICU) admission through Days 3, 7, and 14. The percentage of participants who remained in an outpatient setting and maintained SpO2 ≥94% on room air at each timepoint within each treatment group were presented along with a two-sided exact (Clopper-Pearson) 95% CI. p-value and 95% CI were not estimable for C19-IG 20% 1 g vs placebo as all participants had remained in an outpatient setting and maintained SpO2 ≥94% on Room Air in C19-IG 20% 1 g and placebo arm on Day 3.
Time frame: Day 3, Day 7, and Day 14
Percentage of Participants Negative for SARS-CoV-2 by Polymerase Chain Reaction (PCR) Test at Multiple Timepoints Through Day 14 and Through Day 29
The percentage of participants with negative SARS-CoV-2 by PCR through Day 14 and Day 29 within each treatment group was presented along with a two-sided exact (Clopper-Pearson) 95% CI.
Time frame: Day 3, Day 7, Day 14, and Day 29
Time to Negative SARS-CoV-2 PCR From Baseline Through Day 29
The first negative test result was defined as the first PCR negative result after the first PCR positive result. Kaplan-Meier method was used for analysis. Participants who did not have any viral load data or had negative test results through the study were excluded from the KM analysis.
Time frame: Baseline to Day 29
Percentage of Participants Who Required Oxygen (O2) Supplementation on or Before Day 29
The percentage of participants requiring oxygen supplementation through Day 29 within each treatment group was presented along with a two-sided exact (Clopper-Pearson) 95% CI.
Time frame: Up to Day 29
Duration of Any Oxygen Use Through Day 29
The duration (number of days) of any oxygen use from Day 1 through Day 29 was calculated based on the start/stop date of using oxygen supplementation.
Time frame: Up to Day 29
Absolute Value Score on a 7-point Ordinal Scale
The ordinal scale is a 7-point scale ranging from 1 to 7 used to measure clinical status of a participant based on the following points: 1) death; 2) hospitalized, on invasive mechanical ventilation or extracorporeal membrane oxygenation (ECMO); 3) hospitalized, on non-invasive ventilation or high flow oxygen devices; 4) hospitalized, requiring supplemental oxygen; 5) hospitalized, not requiring supplemental oxygen; 6) not hospitalized, limitation on activities; and 7) not hospitalized, no limitations on activities. A higher score indicates less severity.
Time frame: Baseline, Day 7, 14, and 29
Mean Change From Baseline in the 7-point Ordinal Scale
The ordinal scale is a 7-point scale ranging from 1 to 7 used to measure clinical status of a participant based on the following points: 1) death; 2) hospitalized, on invasive mechanical ventilation or ECMO; 3) hospitalized, on non-invasive ventilation or high flow oxygen devices; 4) hospitalized, requiring supplemental oxygen; 5) hospitalized, not requiring supplemental oxygen; 6) not hospitalized, limitation on activities; and 7) not hospitalized, no limitations on activities. A higher score indicates less severity. The analysis was performed by using a linear mixed-effects model for repeated measures (MMRM).
Time frame: Baseline to Day 7, Day 14, and Day 29
Percentage of Participants in Each Severity Category of the 7-point Ordinal Scale
The ordinal scale is a 7-point scale ranging from 1 to 7 used to measure clinical status of a participant based on the following points: 1) death; 2) hospitalized, on invasive mechanical ventilation or ECMO; 3) hospitalized, on non-invasive ventilation or high flow oxygen devices; 4) hospitalized, requiring supplemental oxygen; 5) hospitalized, not requiring supplemental oxygen; 6) not hospitalized, limitation on activities; and 7) not hospitalized, no limitations on activities.
Time frame: Days 1, 7, 14, and 29
Change From Baseline in National Early Warning Score (NEWS)
The NEWS has demonstrated an ability to classify participants at risk of poor outcomes. This score is based on 7 clinical parameters (respiration rate, oxygen saturation, any supplemental oxygen, temperature, systolic blood pressure (BP), heart rate, level of consciousness \[Alert, Voice, Pain, Unresponsive\]). A score of 0 to 3 was allocated to each parameter except supplemental oxygen use (score of 0 or 2) and level of consciousness (score of 0 \[alert, normal health condition\] or 3 \[altered mental state/confusion, worst health condition\]). All parameter scores were summed to get an aggregate NEWS assessment. Scoring for NEWS ranges from 0 to 20, with higher scores meaning more severity/higher clinical risk: low risk (score 1 to 4); medium risk (score 5 to 6); high risk (score 7 to 20). The analysis is performed by using a linear MMRM.
Time frame: Baseline to Day 7, Day 14, and Day 29
Percentage of Participants Who Required At Least One COVID-19 Related Medically Attended Visit (MAV) for Management/Treatment of COVID-19 Which May Have Occurred in Any Setting Through Day 29
MAV for management/treatment of COVID-19 may have occurred in any setting e.g., emergency department, urgent care, outpatient clinic, or professional setting wherein direct in-person/telemedicine medical assessment and escalation of care for COVID-19 was provided by licensed healthcare personnel. The percentage of participants requiring at least one COVID-19-related MAV for management/treatment of COVID-19 (apart from routinely scheduled study-directed visits) within each treatment group was presented along with a two-sided exact (Clopper-Pearson) 95% CI.
Time frame: Up to Day 29
Percentage of Participants Who Required Hospital Admission for Medical Care (Non-Quarantine Purposes) Through Day 29
The percentage of participants requiring hospital admission through Day 29 within each treatment group was presented along with a two-sided exact (Clopper-Pearson) 95% CI.
Time frame: Up to Day 29
Duration of Hospital Stay Through Day 29
The duration (number of days) of hospitalization from post-randomization through Day 29 was calculated based on hospital admission and discharge dates recorded.
Time frame: Up to Day 29
Percentage of Participants Who Required Intensive Care Unit (ICU) Admission or Initiation of ICU Level Care Through Day 29
The percentage of participants requiring ICU admission through Day 29 within each treatment group was presented along with a two-sided exact (Clopper-Pearson) 95% CI. ICU level care is defined as the medical need for intensive or invasive monitoring; the immediate or impending need for the support of the airway, breathing, or circulation; and/or stabilization of acute severe, or life-threatening complications of COVID-19.
Time frame: Up to Day 29
Duration of ICU Stay Through Day 29
The duration (number of days) of ICU stay from post-randomization through Day 29 was calculated based on ICU admission and discharge dates recorded.
Time frame: Up to Day 29
Percentage of Participants Requiring Invasive Mechanical Ventilation Through Day 29
The percentage of participants requiring invasive mechanical ventilation through Day 29 within each treatment group was presented along with a two-sided exact (Clopper-Pearson) 95% CI.
Time frame: Up to Day 29
Duration of Invasive Mechanical Ventilation Through Day 29
The duration (number of days) on invasive mechanical ventilation from post randomization through Day 29 was calculated based on the start/stop dates of invasive mechanical ventilation.
Time frame: Up to Day 29
All-Cause Mortality Through Day 29
All-cause mortality rate is the percentage of participants in each treatment group who experienced mortality up to Day 29.
Time frame: Up to Day 29
Percentage of Participants With Critical COVID-19 Illness
Critical COVID-19 illness was defined as any one of the following: (a) requiring ICU admission or ICU level of care, (b) invasive mechanical ventilation, or (c) resulting in death by Day 29. The percentage of participants with critical COVID-19 illness defined above within each treatment group was presented along with a two-sided exact (Clopper-Pearson) 95% CI.
Time frame: Up to Day 29
Length of Time to Clinical Progression to Critical COVID-19 Illness Through Day 29
Length of time to clinical progression to critical COVID-19 illness was defined as the time to death, invasive mechanical ventilation, or ICU admission/requiring ICU level of care. ICU level care is defined as the medical need for intensive or invasive monitoring; the immediate or impending need for the support of the airway, breathing, or circulation; and/or stabilization of acute severe, or life-threatening complications of COVID-19. The time to clinical progression was estimated using the KM method.
Time frame: Up to Day 29
Time to COVID-19 Symptoms Through Day 14
Participants were described as symptomatic if they a. experienced at least two of the following systemic symptoms: fever (≥38℃), chills, myalgia, headache, sore throat, cough, fatigue that interferes with activities of daily living, new olfactory/taste disorder(s), and vomiting/diarrhea, b. experienced at least one of the following respiratory signs/symptoms: new or worsening shortness of breath or difficulty breathing, c. experienced a peripheral oxygen saturation by pulse oximetry (SpO2) \<94% on room air, or d. had radiographical evidence of pneumonia. Time to COVID-19 symptoms was defined as the time from study drug administration to the first time point when any of the above elements was fulfilled through Day 14. The time to COVID-19 symptoms was estimated using the KM method.
Time frame: Up to Day 14
Participants were enrolled in the study at 5 centers in Spain. The study was conducted from 28 April 2021 to 27 December 2021.
| Milestone | C19-IG 20% 1 g | C19-IG 20% 2 g | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|
| Started | 152 | 153 | 156 |
| Completed | 142 | 143 | 145 |
| Not completed | 10 | 10 | 11 |
| Withdrew: Adverse event | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject | 2 | 4 | 3 |
| Withdrew: Lost to follow-up | 7 | 5 | 7 |
| Withdrew: Reason not specified | 0 | 1 | 0 |
Participants were described as symptomatic if they a. experienced at least two of the following systemic symptoms: fever (≥38 ºC), chills, myalgia, headache, sore throat, cough, fatigue that interferes with activities of daily living, new olfactory/taste disorder(s), and vomiting/diarrhea, b. experienced at least one of the following respiratory signs/symptoms: new or worsening shortness of breath or difficulty breathing; c. experienced a peripheral oxygen saturation by pulse oximetry (SpO2) \<94% on room air; or d. had radiographical evidence of pneumonia. The percentage of participants who meet the primary endpoint within each treatment group was presented along with a two-sided exact (Clopper-Pearson) 95% confidence interval (CI).
| percentage of participants | C19-IG 20% 1 g | C19-IG 20% 2 g | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of Asymptomatic Participants Who Remained Asymptomatic, i.e., Who Did Not Develop Symptomatic COVID-19 Through Day 14 | 59.9 (51.6 to 67.7) | 64.7 (56.6 to 72.3) | 63.5 (55.4 to 71.0) |
Mean change from baseline (CFB) in log10 SARS-CoV-2 viral load at Days 7 and 14 was assessed.
| log10 copies/mL | C19-IG 20% 1 g | C19-IG 20% 2 g | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|
| Change from Baseline at Day 7 | -1.49 (-1.74 to -1.25) | -1.76 (-2.01 to -1.51) | -1.59 (-1.83 to -1.35) |
| Change from Baseline at Day 14 | -2.80 (-2.97 to -2.64) | -3.02 (-3.19 to -2.85) | -2.91 (-3.08 to -2.75) |
An outpatient setting was defined as no hospitalization or intensive care unit (ICU) admission through Days 3, 7, and 14. The percentage of participants who remained in an outpatient setting and maintained SpO2 ≥94% on room air at each timepoint within each treatment group were presented along with a two-sided exact (Clopper-Pearson) 95% CI. p-value and 95% CI were not estimable for C19-IG 20% 1 g vs placebo as all participants had remained in an outpatient setting and maintained SpO2 ≥94% on Room Air in C19-IG 20% 1 g and placebo arm on Day 3.
| percentage of participants | C19-IG 20% 1 g | C19-IG 20% 2 g | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|
| Day 3 | 100 (97.6 to 100) | 98.7 (95.3 to 99.8) | 100 (97.7 to 100) |
| Day 7 | 100 (97.6 to 100) | 96.7 (92.4 to 98.9) | 98.7 (95.5 to 99.8) |
| Day 14 | 95.3 (90.5 to 98.1) | 94.0 (88.8 to 97.2) | 96.1 (91.7 to 98.6) |
The percentage of participants with negative SARS-CoV-2 by PCR through Day 14 and Day 29 within each treatment group was presented along with a two-sided exact (Clopper-Pearson) 95% CI.
| percentage of participants | C19-IG 20% 1 g | C19-IG 20% 2 g | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|
| Day 3 | 29.1 (21.9 to 37.1) | 30.4 (23.1 to 38.5) | 26.0 (19.3 to 33.7) |
| Day 7 | 37.8 (29.8 to 46.3) | 44.0 (35.6 to 52.6) | 36.1 (28.3 to 44.4) |
| Day 14 | 65.2 (56.5 to 73.2) | 74.1 (65.8 to 81.2) | 67.2 (58.6 to 74.9) |
| Day 29 | 92.0 (85.8 to 96.1) | 89.0 (82.2 to 93.8) | 87.1 (79.9 to 92.4) |
The first negative test result was defined as the first PCR negative result after the first PCR positive result. Kaplan-Meier method was used for analysis. Participants who did not have any viral load data or had negative test results through the study were excluded from the KM analysis.
| days | C19-IG 20% 1 g | C19-IG 20% 2 g | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|
| Time to Negative SARS-CoV-2 PCR From Baseline Through Day 29 | 14 (14 to 15) | 14 (14 to 15) | 14 (14 to 15) |
The percentage of participants requiring oxygen supplementation through Day 29 within each treatment group was presented along with a two-sided exact (Clopper-Pearson) 95% CI.
| percentage of participants | C19-IG 20% 1 g | C19-IG 20% 2 g | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of Participants Who Required Oxygen (O2) Supplementation on or Before Day 29 | 2.0 (0.4 to 5.7) | 3.9 (1.5 to 8.3) | 1.3 (0.2 to 4.6) |
The duration (number of days) of any oxygen use from Day 1 through Day 29 was calculated based on the start/stop date of using oxygen supplementation.
| days | C19-IG 20% 1 g | C19-IG 20% 2 g | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|
| Duration of Any Oxygen Use Through Day 29 | 7.0 (6 to 9) | 7.0 (2 to 8) | 9.5 (4 to 15) |
The ordinal scale is a 7-point scale ranging from 1 to 7 used to measure clinical status of a participant based on the following points: 1) death; 2) hospitalized, on invasive mechanical ventilation or extracorporeal membrane oxygenation (ECMO); 3) hospitalized, on non-invasive ventilation or high flow oxygen devices; 4) hospitalized, requiring supplemental oxygen; 5) hospitalized, not requiring supplemental oxygen; 6) not hospitalized, limitation on activities; and 7) not hospitalized, no limitations on activities. A higher score indicates less severity.
| score on a scale | C19-IG 20% 1 g | C19-IG 20% 2 g | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|
| Baseline | 7.0 ± 0.00 | 7.0 ± 0.08 | 7.0 ± 0.08 |
| Day 7 | 7.0 ± 0.08 | 7.0 ± 0.16 | 7.0 ± 0.19 |
| Day 14 | 7.0 ± 0.32 | 6.9 ± 0.48 | 7.0 ± 0.08 |
| Day 29 | 7.0 ± 0.20 | 7.0 ± 0.14 | 7.0 ± 0.08 |
The ordinal scale is a 7-point scale ranging from 1 to 7 used to measure clinical status of a participant based on the following points: 1) death; 2) hospitalized, on invasive mechanical ventilation or ECMO; 3) hospitalized, on non-invasive ventilation or high flow oxygen devices; 4) hospitalized, requiring supplemental oxygen; 5) hospitalized, not requiring supplemental oxygen; 6) not hospitalized, limitation on activities; and 7) not hospitalized, no limitations on activities. A higher score indicates less severity. The analysis was performed by using a linear mixed-effects model for repeated measures (MMRM).
| score on a scale | C19-IG 20% 1 g | C19-IG 20% 2 g | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|
| Change from Baseline at Day 7 | -0.00 (-0.03 to 0.02) | -0.02 (-0.05 to 0.00) | -0.04 (-0.06 to -0.01) |
| Change from Baseline at Day 14 | -0.05 (-0.11 to 0.00) | -0.07 (-0.12 to -0.01) | -0.00 (-0.06 to 0.05) |
| Change from Baseline at Day 29 | -0.04 (-0.06 to -0.01) | -0.02 (-0.04 to 0.01) | -0.00 (-0.03 to 0.02) |
The ordinal scale is a 7-point scale ranging from 1 to 7 used to measure clinical status of a participant based on the following points: 1) death; 2) hospitalized, on invasive mechanical ventilation or ECMO; 3) hospitalized, on non-invasive ventilation or high flow oxygen devices; 4) hospitalized, requiring supplemental oxygen; 5) hospitalized, not requiring supplemental oxygen; 6) not hospitalized, limitation on activities; and 7) not hospitalized, no limitations on activities.
| percentage of participants | C19-IG 20% 1 g | C19-IG 20% 2 g | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|
| Day 1: Death | 0.0 | 0.0 | 0.0 |
| Day 1: Hospitalized, on invasive mechanical ventilation/ ECMO | 0.0 | 0.0 | 0.0 |
| Day 1: Hospitalized, on non-invasive ventilation or high flow oxygen devices | 0.0 | 0.0 | 0.0 |
| Day 1: Hospitalized, requiring supplemental oxygen | 0.0 | 0.0 | 0.0 |
| Day 1: Hospitalized, not requiring supplemental oxygen | 0.0 | 0.0 | 0.0 |
| Day 1: Not hospitalized, limitation on activities | 0.0 | 0.7 | 0.6 |
| Day 1: Not hospitalized, no limitations on activities | 100 | 99.3 | 99.4 |
| Day 7: Death | 0.0 | 0.0 | 0.0 |
| Day 7: Hospitalized, on invasive mechanical ventilation/ ECMO | 0.0 | 0.0 | 0.0 |
| Day 7: Hospitalized, on non-invasive ventilation or high flow oxygen devices | 0.0 | 0.0 | 0.0 |
| Day 7: Hospitalized, requiring supplemental oxygen | 0.0 | 0.0 | 0.0 |
| Day 7: Hospitalized, not requiring supplemental oxygen | 0.0 | 0.0 | 0.0 |
| Day 7: Not hospitalized, limitation on activities | 0.7 | 2.7 | 3.9 |
| Day 7: Not hospitalized, no limitations on activities | 99.3 | 97.3 | 96.1 |
| Day 14: Death | 0.0 | 0.0 | 0.0 |
| Day 14: Hospitalized, on invasive mechanical ventilation/ ECMO | 0.0 | 0.0 | 0.0 |
| Day 14: Hospitalized, on non-invasive ventilation or high flow oxygen devices | 0.0 | 1.4 | 0.0 |
| Day 14: Hospitalized, requiring supplemental oxygen | 0.7 | 0.0 | 0.0 |
| Day 14: Hospitalized, not requiring supplemental oxygen | 0.7 | 0.0 | 0.0 |
| Day 14: Not hospitalized, limitation on activities | 1.4 | 2.0 | 0.7 |
| Day 14: Not hospitalized, no limitations on activities | 97.3 | 96.6 | 99.3 |
| Day 29: Death | 0.0 | 0.0 | 0.0 |
| Day 29: Hospitalized, on invasive mechanical ventilation/ ECMO | 0.0 | 0.0 | 0.0 |
| Day 29: Hospitalized, on non-invasive ventilation or high flow oxygen devices | 0.0 | 0.0 | 0.0 |
| Day 29: Hospitalized, requiring supplemental oxygen | 0.0 | 0.0 | 0.0 |
| Day 29: Hospitalized, not requiring supplemental oxygen | 0.0 | 0.0 | 0.0 |
| Day 29: Not hospitalized, limitation on activities | 4.2 | 2.1 | 0.7 |
| Day 29: Not hospitalized, no limitations on activities | 95.8 | 97.9 | 99.3 |
The NEWS has demonstrated an ability to classify participants at risk of poor outcomes. This score is based on 7 clinical parameters (respiration rate, oxygen saturation, any supplemental oxygen, temperature, systolic blood pressure (BP), heart rate, level of consciousness \[Alert, Voice, Pain, Unresponsive\]). A score of 0 to 3 was allocated to each parameter except supplemental oxygen use (score of 0 or 2) and level of consciousness (score of 0 \[alert, normal health condition\] or 3 \[altered mental state/confusion, worst health condition\]). All parameter scores were summed to get an aggregate NEWS assessment. Scoring for NEWS ranges from 0 to 20, with higher scores meaning more severity/higher clinical risk: low risk (score 1 to 4); medium risk (score 5 to 6); high risk (score 7 to 20). The analysis is performed by using a linear MMRM.
| score on a scale | C19-IG 20% 1 g | C19-IG 20% 2 g | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|
| Change from Baseline at Day 7 | 0.70 (0.50 to 0.90) | 0.78 (0.58 to 0.98) | 0.70 (0.51 to 0.90) |
| Change from Baseline at Day 14 | 0.68 (0.49 to 0.87) | 0.65 (0.46 to 0.84) | 0.67 (0.48 to 0.86) |
| Change from Baseline at Day 29 | 0.61 (0.43 to 0.79) | 0.59 (0.40 to 0.77) | 0.46 (0.27 to 0.64) |
MAV for management/treatment of COVID-19 may have occurred in any setting e.g., emergency department, urgent care, outpatient clinic, or professional setting wherein direct in-person/telemedicine medical assessment and escalation of care for COVID-19 was provided by licensed healthcare personnel. The percentage of participants requiring at least one COVID-19-related MAV for management/treatment of COVID-19 (apart from routinely scheduled study-directed visits) within each treatment group was presented along with a two-sided exact (Clopper-Pearson) 95% CI.
| percentage of participants | C19-IG 20% 1 g | C19-IG 20% 2 g | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of Participants Who Required At Least One COVID-19 Related Medically Attended Visit (MAV) for Management/Treatment of COVID-19 Which May Have Occurred in Any Setting Through Day 29 | 17.1 (11.5 to 24.0) | 19.0 (13.1 to 26.1) | 14.1 (9.1 to 20.6) |
The percentage of participants requiring hospital admission through Day 29 within each treatment group was presented along with a two-sided exact (Clopper-Pearson) 95% CI.
| percentage of participants | C19-IG 20% 1 g | C19-IG 20% 2 g | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of Participants Who Required Hospital Admission for Medical Care (Non-Quarantine Purposes) Through Day 29 | 2.0 (0.4 to 5.7) | 4.6 (1.9 to 9.2) | 1.9 (0.4 to 5.5) |
The duration (number of days) of hospitalization from post-randomization through Day 29 was calculated based on hospital admission and discharge dates recorded.
| days | C19-IG 20% 1 g | C19-IG 20% 2 g | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|
| Duration of Hospital Stay Through Day 29 | 9.0 (6 to 18) | 10.0 (3 to 15) | 9.0 (8 to 15) |
The percentage of participants requiring ICU admission through Day 29 within each treatment group was presented along with a two-sided exact (Clopper-Pearson) 95% CI. ICU level care is defined as the medical need for intensive or invasive monitoring; the immediate or impending need for the support of the airway, breathing, or circulation; and/or stabilization of acute severe, or life-threatening complications of COVID-19.
| percentage of participants | C19-IG 20% 1 g | C19-IG 20% 2 g | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of Participants Who Required Intensive Care Unit (ICU) Admission or Initiation of ICU Level Care Through Day 29 | 0.66 (0.02 to 3.61) | 0.65 (0.02 to 3.59) | 0.64 (0.02 to 3.52) |
The duration (number of days) of ICU stay from post-randomization through Day 29 was calculated based on ICU admission and discharge dates recorded.
| days | C19-IG 20% 1 g | C19-IG 20% 2 g | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|
| Duration of ICU Stay Through Day 29 | 7.0 (7 to 7) | 5.0 (5 to 5) | 3.0 (3 to 3) |
The percentage of participants requiring invasive mechanical ventilation through Day 29 within each treatment group was presented along with a two-sided exact (Clopper-Pearson) 95% CI.
| percentage of participants | C19-IG 20% 1 g | C19-IG 20% 2 g | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of Participants Requiring Invasive Mechanical Ventilation Through Day 29 | 0.0 | 0.0 | 0.0 |
The duration (number of days) on invasive mechanical ventilation from post randomization through Day 29 was calculated based on the start/stop dates of invasive mechanical ventilation.
No measurements were reported for this outcome.
All-cause mortality rate is the percentage of participants in each treatment group who experienced mortality up to Day 29.
| Participants | C19-IG 20% 1 g | C19-IG 20% 2 g | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|
| All-Cause Mortality Through Day 29 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Critical COVID-19 illness was defined as any one of the following: (a) requiring ICU admission or ICU level of care, (b) invasive mechanical ventilation, or (c) resulting in death by Day 29. The percentage of participants with critical COVID-19 illness defined above within each treatment group was presented along with a two-sided exact (Clopper-Pearson) 95% CI.
| percentage of participants | C19-IG 20% 1 g | C19-IG 20% 2 g | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of Participants With Critical COVID-19 Illness | 0.66 (0.02 to 3.61) | 0.65 (0.02 to 3.59) | 0.64 (0.02 to 3.52) |
Length of time to clinical progression to critical COVID-19 illness was defined as the time to death, invasive mechanical ventilation, or ICU admission/requiring ICU level of care. ICU level care is defined as the medical need for intensive or invasive monitoring; the immediate or impending need for the support of the airway, breathing, or circulation; and/or stabilization of acute severe, or life-threatening complications of COVID-19. The time to clinical progression was estimated using the KM method.
| days | C19-IG 20% 1 g | C19-IG 20% 2 g | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|
| Length of Time to Clinical Progression to Critical COVID-19 Illness Through Day 29 | NA (NA to NA) | NA (NA to NA) | NA (NA to NA) |
Participants were described as symptomatic if they a. experienced at least two of the following systemic symptoms: fever (≥38℃), chills, myalgia, headache, sore throat, cough, fatigue that interferes with activities of daily living, new olfactory/taste disorder(s), and vomiting/diarrhea, b. experienced at least one of the following respiratory signs/symptoms: new or worsening shortness of breath or difficulty breathing, c. experienced a peripheral oxygen saturation by pulse oximetry (SpO2) \<94% on room air, or d. had radiographical evidence of pneumonia. Time to COVID-19 symptoms was defined as the time from study drug administration to the first time point when any of the above elements was fulfilled through Day 14. The time to COVID-19 symptoms was estimated using the KM method.
| days | C19-IG 20% 1 g | C19-IG 20% 2 g | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|
| Time to COVID-19 Symptoms Through Day 14 | NA (NA to NA) | NA (NA to NA) | NA (NA to NA) |
Collected over From start of the study up to end of study (up to Day 60). Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| C19-IG 20% 1 g | 0/152 (0%) | 3/152 (2%) | 10/152 (6.6%) |
| C19-IG 20% 2 g | 0/153 (0%) | 7/153 (4.6%) | 8/153 (5.2%) |
| Placebo | 0/156 (0%) | 3/156 (1.9%) | 5/156 (3.2%) |
| Event | C19-IG 20% 1 g | C19-IG 20% 2 g | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|
| COVID-19 pneumoniaInfections and infestations | 3/152 | 7/153 | 1/156 |
| PneumoniaInfections and infestations | 0/152 | 0/153 | 2/156 |
| Event | C19-IG 20% 1 g | C19-IG 20% 2 g | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|
| Alanine aminotransferase increasedInvestigations | 10/152 | 8/153 | 5/156 |
Intent-to-treat (ITT) population included all participants who were randomized. Modified ITT (mITT) population included the subset of ITT participants who were also dosed.
| Age, Continuous(years) | C19-IG 20% 1 g | C19-IG 20% 2 g | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 38.8 ± 12.76 | 41.1 ± 12.40 | 38.8 ± 13.33 | 39.6 ± 12.86 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | C19-IG 20% 1 g | C19-IG 20% 2 g | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 66 | 62 | 69 | 197 |
| Male | 86 | 91 | 87 | 264 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | C19-IG 20% 1 g | C19-IG 20% 2 g | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 40 | 32 | 45 | 117 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 112 | 121 | 111 | 344 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | C19-IG 20% 1 g | C19-IG 20% 2 g | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Asian | 1 | 0 | 3 | 4 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Black or African American | 4 | 6 | 3 | 13 |
| White | 138 | 140 | 140 | 418 |
| More than one race | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 9 | 6 | 9 | 24 |
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
Plan to share: No
This study is terminated, as verified in Nov 2022. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Grifols Therapeutics LLC