CClinicalTrials.gg
Active, not recruitingNCT04777331PADOVAUpdated Sep 4, 2026Results posted

A Study to Evaluate the Efficacy and Safety of Intravenous Prasinezumab in Participants With Early Parkinson's Disease

A Phase 2 interventional study of Prasinezumab and Placebo in Parkinsons Disease, sponsored by Hoffmann-La Roche. Active, not recruiting at 110 sites in 9 countries. Open to participants aged 50 Years to 85 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2026-09-04.

Sponsored by Hoffmann-La Roche · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
586
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
50 Years to 85 Years
Sex
All
01

Study summary

This is a multicenter, randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled study that will evaluate the efficacy and safety of intravenous (IV) prasinezumab versus placebo in participants with Early Parkinson's Disease (PD) who are on stable symptomatic PD medication.

02

Conditions studied

  • Parkinsons Disease

Browse trials for

03

Who can participate

Ages eligible
50 Years to 85 Years
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • Diagnosis of idiopathic PD based on MDS criteria with bradykinesia plus one of the other cardinal signs of PD (resting tremor, rigidity), without any other known or suspected cause of parkinsonism
  • On symptomatic PD medication, with stable doses for at least 3 months prior to baseline
  • A diagnosis of PD for at least 3 months to maximum 3 years at screening
  • MDS-UPDRS Part IV score of 0 at screening and prior to randomization
  • Hoehn and Yahr (H\&Y) Stage I or II in OFF medication state at screening and prior to randomization
  • Dopamine transporter imaging with single photon emission computed tomography (DaT-SPECT) imaging consistent with dopamine transporter deficit, as assessed by the central reader
  • No anticipated changes in PD medication from baseline throughout the study duration based on clinical status during screening
  • Willingness and ability to use a smartphone application to measure PD-related symptoms for the duration of the study
  • Willingness and ability to wear a smartwatch to measure PD-related motor signs

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Medical history indicating a Parkinsonian syndrome other than idiopathic PD
  • Diagnosis of PD dementia
  • Diagnosis of a significant neurologic disease other than PD
  • Within the last year, unstable or clinically significant cardiovascular disease
  • Uncontrolled hypertension
  • Drug and/or alcohol abuse within 12 months prior to screening, in the investigator's judgment (Nicotine is allowed, Marijuana use is not allowed)
  • Clinically significant abnormalities in laboratory test results at the screening visit, including hepatic and renal panels, complete blood count, chemistry panel and urinalysis
  • Allergy to any of the components of prasinezumab, a known hypersensitivity, or a previous IRR following administration of any other monoclonal antibody
  • Any contraindications to obtaining a brain magnetic resonance imaging (MRI)
  • Any contraindications to DaT-SPECT imaging
04

Study design

Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Parallel assignment
Masking
Double (Participant, Investigator)
Enrollment
586 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Prasinezumab

    Participants will receive an IV infusion of prasinezumab every 4 weeks (Q4W). Participants will enter into the optional Open Label Extension (OLE) once the double-blind treatment period has completed.

    Drug: Prasinezumab

  • Placebo comparator
    Placebo

    Participants will receive placebo as an IV infusion Q4W.

    Drug: Placebo

Interventions

  • DrugPrasinezumab

    Prasinezumab will be administered as an IV infusion to participants Q4W.

  • DrugPlacebo

    Prasinezumab placebo will be administered to participants.

05

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. DBT Period: Time to Confirmed Motor Progression Event Assessed by Movement Disorder Society - Unified Parkinson's Disease Rating Scale (MDS-UPDRS) Part III

    Time to confirmed motor progression event was the first time point of a worsening event defined as either \>= 5 points increase in MDS-UPDRS Part III score (assessed in "OFF" medication state) from baseline sustained over 2 consecutive assessments or a change in medication after first occurrence of \>= 5 points increase in MDS-UPDRS Part III score from baseline \& before follow-up assessment. MDS-UPDRS Part III is a clinician rater scale that assessed the motor signs of PD. The scale is composed of 18 clinical domains or tasks, which yield 33 distinct scores or ratings. For each distinct rating, a numeric score is assigned between 0-4, where 0 = Normal, 1 = Slight, 2 = Mild, 3 = Moderate, and 4 = Severe. The total MDS-UPDRS Part III score (ranging from 0 to 132) is calculated by summing these 33 individual ratings, with higher scores indicating severe impairment.

    Time frame: From study start to end of DBT period to at least 76 weeks

Secondary outcomes

  1. DBT Period: Time-to-worsening of Participant's Motor Function as Reported by the Participant in the Presence of a Confirmed Motor Progression Event

    Time to worsening of the motor function was defined as ≥3 points increase in MDS-UPDRS Part II score from baseline in the presence of a confirmed motor progression event. For the confirmed motor progression event the definition is as per primary endpoint definition. MDS-UPDRS Part II assesses motor experiences of daily living \& contained 13 questions answered by participant. For each question a numeric score is assigned between 0-4, 0 = Normal, 1=Slight, 2=Mild, 3=Moderate, 4=Severe. Score range: 0 to 52 with higher score=severe impairment.

    Time frame: From study start to end of DBT period to at least 76 weeks

  2. DBT Period: Time to Meaningful Worsening in Participant Global Impression of Change (PGI-C) Overall Disease Subscale

    The PGI is a measure commonly used in PD clinical trials to provide a concise assessment of overall health state. The change component (PGI-C) was intended to measure health state changes as reported by the participant on a 7-point scale (1=Very much improved to 7=Very much worse). The meaningfulness of the change was assessed and reported by the participant.

    Time frame: From study start to end of DBT period to at least 76 weeks

  3. DBT Period: Time to Meaningful Worsening in Clinician Global Impression of Change (CGI-C) Overall Disease Subscale

    The CGI was a measure commonly used in PD clinical trials to provide a concise assessment of overall health state. The change component (CGI-C) was intended to measure health state changes as reported by the clinician on a 7-point scale (1=Very much improved to 7=Very much worse).

    Time frame: From study start to end of DBT period to at least 76 weeks

  4. DBT Period: Time to Onset of Motor Complications as Assessed Through MDS-UPDRS Part IV

    MDS-UPDRS Part IV assessed motor complications of symptomatic treatment, dyskinesias, and motor fluctuations. The rater completed this assessment only for participants on L-Dopa treatment.

    Time frame: From study start to end of DBT period to at least 76 weeks

  5. DBT Period: Change in Motor Function From Baseline to Week 76, as Measured by the MDS-UPDRS Part III Score

    MDS-UPDRS Part III is a clinician rater scale that assessed the motor signs of PD. The scale is composed of 18 clinical domains or tasks, which yield 33 distinct scores or ratings. For each distinct rating, a numeric score is assigned between 0-4, where 0 = Normal, 1 = Slight, 2 = Mild, 3 = Moderate, and 4 = Severe. The total MDS-UPDRS Part III score (ranging from 0 to 132) is calculated by summing these 33 individual ratings, with higher scores indicating severe impairment.

    Time frame: From baseline up to Week 76

  6. DBT Period: Change in Bradykinesia and Rigidity From Baseline to Week 76, as Measured by the MDS-UPDRS Part III Bradykinesia and Rigidity Subscore

    MDS-UPDRS Part III is a clinician rater scale that assessed the motor signs of PD. The scale is composed of 18 clinical domains or tasks, which yield 33 distinct scores or ratings. For each distinct rating, a numeric score is assigned between 0-4, where 0 = Normal, 1 = Slight, 2 = Mild, 3 = Moderate, and 4 = Severe. For bradykinesia, subscore ranges from 0 to 52, while rigidity subscore ranges from 0 to 20, with higher scores indicating greater impairment. Change in bradykinesia and rigidity was assessed in "OFF" medication state. Adjusted mean is reported here.

    Time frame: From baseline up to Week 76

  7. DBT Period: Number of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs) and Serious Adverse Events (SAEs)

    An AE was any untoward medical occurrence in a participant administered a pharmaceutical product and which does not necessarily have to have a causal relationship with the treatment. An AE can therefore be any unfavorable and unintended sign (including abnormal laboratory values or abnormal clinical test results), symptoms, or disease temporally associated with the use of a pharmaceutical product, whether or not considered related to the pharmaceutical product. SAE is any significant hazard, contraindication, or side effect that is fatal or life-threatening, requires hospitalization or prolongation of an existing hospitalization, results in persistent or significant disability/incapacity, is a congenital anomaly/birth defect, is medically significant or requires intervention. Number of participants with atleast 1 AE and SAE are reported here.

    Time frame: From study start to end of DBT period to at least 76 weeks

  8. DBT Period: Number of Participants With Adverse Events of Special Interest (AESI)

    An AE was any untoward medical occurrence in participant administered a pharmaceutical product \& which does not necessarily have to have a causal relationship with treatment. It can therefore be any unfavorable and unintended sign (including abnormal laboratory values/ abnormal clinical test results), symptoms/disease temporally associated with use of pharmaceutical product, whether/not considered related to product. AESIs included potential drug-induced liver injury that include an elevated alanine transaminase (ALT) \& aspartate aminotransferase (AST) in combination with either an elevated bilirubin/clinical jaundice defined by Hy's law and suspected transmission of an infectious agent by study drug.

    Time frame: From study start to end of DBT period to at least 76 weeks

  9. DBT Period: Number of Participants With Treatment Discontinuation Due to AEs

    An AE was any untoward medical occurrence in a participant administered a pharmaceutical product and which does not necessarily have to have a causal relationship with the treatment. An AE can therefore be any unfavorable and unintended sign (including abnormal laboratory values or abnormal clinical test results), symptoms, or disease temporally associated with the use of a pharmaceutical product, whether or not considered related to the pharmaceutical product.

    Time frame: From study start to end of DBT period to at least 76 weeks

  10. DBT Period: Number of Participants With Infusion Related Reactions (IRRs)

    IRRs were defined as any signs and symptoms (AEs) occurring during infusion and/or within 24 hours administration after the end of infusion and were considered related to study treatment by the investigator. Symptoms include flushing, rash, respiratory difficulty, hypotension, tachycardia.

    Time frame: From study start to end of DBT period to at least 76 weeks

  11. DBT Period: Number of Participants With in Suicidal Ideation, as Measured by the Columbia-Suicide Severity Rating Scale (C-SSRS)

    C-SSRS=assessment tool used to assess lifetime suicidality of participant (at baseline) as well as any new instances of suicidality (C-SSRS since last visit). Structured interview prompts recollection of suicidal ideation, including intensity of ideation, behavior, and attempts with actual/potential lethality. Categories have binary responses (yes/no) and include Wish to be Dead; Non-specific Active Suicidal Thoughts; Active Suicidal Ideation with Any Methods (Not Plan) without Intent to Act; Active Suicidal Ideation with Some Intent to Act, without Specific Plan; Active Suicidal Ideation with Specific Plan and Intent, Preparatory Acts and Behavior; Aborted Attempt; Interrupted Attempt; Actual Attempt (non-fatal); Completed Suicide. Suicidal ideation/behavior is indicated by a "yes" answer to any of the listed categories. Score of 0 is assigned if no suicide risk is present. Score of 1 or higher= suicidal ideation or behavior. Categories with non-zero values are only reported here.

    Time frame: From study start to end of DBT period to at least 76 weeks

  12. DBT Period: Maximum Observed Concentration at Steady-state (Cmax,SS)

    Time frame: Day 1 of Weeks 1, 2, 4, 8, 12, 24, 36, 52, 64, 76

  13. DBT Period: Minimum Observed Concentration at Steady-state (Cmin,SS)

    Time frame: Day 1 of Weeks 1, 2, 4, 8, 12, 24, 36, 52, 64, 76

  14. DBT Period: Area Under the Serum Concentration Time Curve Over the Dosing Interval (AUCTau,SS)

    Time frame: Day 1 of Weeks 1, 2, 4, 8, 12, 24, 36, 52, 64, 76

  15. DBT Period: Percentage of Participants With Anti-Drug Antibodies (ADAs) at Baseline and Post-Treatment

    Time frame: From study start to end of DBT period to at least 76 weeks

  16. OLE Period: Number of Participants With AEs and SAEs

    An AE was any untoward medical occurrence in a participant administered a pharmaceutical product and which does not necessarily have to have a causal relationship with the treatment. An AE can therefore be any unfavorable and unintended sign (including abnormal laboratory values or abnormal clinical test results), symptoms, or disease temporally associated with the use of a pharmaceutical product, whether or not considered related to the pharmaceutical product. SAE is any significant hazard, contraindication, or side effect that is fatal or life-threatening, requires hospitalization or prolongation of an existing hospitalization, results in persistent or significant disability/incapacity, is a congenital anomaly/birth defect, is medically significant or requires intervention.

    Time frame: From signing of informed consent form up to 70 days after final dose of study treatment (Up to 66.6 months)

  17. OLE Period: Number of Participants With AESI

    An AE was any untoward medical occurrence in participant administered a pharmaceutical product \& which does not necessarily have to have a causal relationship with treatment. It can therefore be any unfavorable and unintended sign (including abnormal laboratory values/ abnormal clinical test results), symptoms/disease temporally associated with use of pharmaceutical product, whether/not considered related to product. AESIs included potential drug-induced liver injury that include an elevated ALT \& AST in combination with either an elevated bilirubin/clinical jaundice defined by Hy's law and suspected transmission of an infectious agent by study drug.

    Time frame: From signing of informed consent form up to 70 days after final dose of study treatment (Up to 66.6 months)

  18. OLE Period: Number of Participants With IRRs

    IRRs were defined as any signs and symptoms (AEs) occurring during infusion and/or within 24 hours administration after the end of infusion and were considered related to study treatment by the investigator. Symptoms include flushing, rash, respiratory difficulty, hypotension, tachycardia.

    Time frame: From signing of informed consent form up to 70 days after final dose of study treatment (Up to 66.6 months)

  19. OLE Period: Number of Participants With in Suicidal Ideation, as Measured by the C-SSRS

    C-SSRS=assessment tool used to assess lifetime suicidality of participant (at baseline) as well as any new instances of suicidality (C-SSRS since last visit). Structured interview prompts recollection of suicidal ideation, including intensity of ideation, behavior, and attempts with actual/potential lethality. Categories have binary responses (yes/no) and include Wish to be Dead; Non-specific Active Suicidal Thoughts; Active Suicidal Ideation with Any Methods (Not Plan) without Intent to Act; Active Suicidal Ideation with Some Intent to Act, without Specific Plan; Active Suicidal Ideation with Specific Plan and Intent, Preparatory Acts and Behavior; Aborted Attempt; Interrupted Attempt; Actual Attempt (non-fatal); Completed Suicide. Suicidal ideation/behavior is indicated by a "yes" answer to any of the listed categories. Score of 0 is assigned if no suicide risk is present. Score of 1 or higher= suicidal ideation or behavior.

    Time frame: From signing of informed consent form up to 70 days after final dose of study treatment (Up to 66.6 months)

06

Results

Posted Dec 2, 2025

Participant flow

A total of 586 participants with early-stage Parkinson's disease (PD) took part in the study across 110 investigative sites in 9 countries. The study consisted of double-blind treatment (DBT), where participants were randomized in 1:1 ratio to receive prasinezumab or placebo and an optional open-label extension (OLE).

DBT Period
Participant flow — DBT Period
MilestoneDBT Period: PlaceboDBT Period: PrasinezumabOLE Period: Prasinezumab
Started2932930
Safety analysis set (sas)2902920
Completed2732770
Not completed20160
Withdrew: Death210
Withdrew: Reason not specified110
Withdrew: Physician decision400
Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject12110
Withdrew: Randomized but not treated130
OLE Period
Participant flow — OLE Period
MilestoneDBT Period: PlaceboDBT Period: PrasinezumabOLE Period: Prasinezumab
Started00534
Completed000
Not completed00534
Withdrew: Ongoing in ole00534

Outcome measures

PrimaryDBT Period: Time to Confirmed Motor Progression Event Assessed by Movement Disorder Society - Unified Parkinson's Disease Rating Scale (MDS-UPDRS) Part III

Time to confirmed motor progression event was the first time point of a worsening event defined as either \>= 5 points increase in MDS-UPDRS Part III score (assessed in "OFF" medication state) from baseline sustained over 2 consecutive assessments or a change in medication after first occurrence of \>= 5 points increase in MDS-UPDRS Part III score from baseline \& before follow-up assessment. MDS-UPDRS Part III is a clinician rater scale that assessed the motor signs of PD. The scale is composed of 18 clinical domains or tasks, which yield 33 distinct scores or ratings. For each distinct rating, a numeric score is assigned between 0-4, where 0 = Normal, 1 = Slight, 2 = Mild, 3 = Moderate, and 4 = Severe. The total MDS-UPDRS Part III score (ranging from 0 to 132) is calculated by summing these 33 individual ratings, with higher scores indicating severe impairment.

Time frame:
From study start to end of DBT period to at least 76 weeks
Reported as:
Median · weeks
DBT Period: Time to Confirmed Motor Progression Event Assessed by Movement Disorder Society - Unified Parkinson's Disease Rating Scale (MDS-UPDRS) Part III
weeksDBT Period: PlaceboDBT Period: Prasinezumab
DBT Period: Time to Confirmed Motor Progression Event Assessed by Movement Disorder Society - Unified Parkinson's Disease Rating Scale (MDS-UPDRS) Part III49.7 (40.1 to 58.1)61.1 (52.3 to 71.9)
Statistical analysis
  • DBT Period: Placebo vs DBT Period: Prasinezumab · Log Rank · p = 0.0657 · Hazard ratio (hr): 0.84 · 95% CI 0.69 to 1.01
SecondaryDBT Period: Time-to-worsening of Participant's Motor Function as Reported by the Participant in the Presence of a Confirmed Motor Progression Event

Time to worsening of the motor function was defined as ≥3 points increase in MDS-UPDRS Part II score from baseline in the presence of a confirmed motor progression event. For the confirmed motor progression event the definition is as per primary endpoint definition. MDS-UPDRS Part II assesses motor experiences of daily living \& contained 13 questions answered by participant. For each question a numeric score is assigned between 0-4, 0 = Normal, 1=Slight, 2=Mild, 3=Moderate, 4=Severe. Score range: 0 to 52 with higher score=severe impairment.

Time frame:
From study start to end of DBT period to at least 76 weeks
Reported as:
Median · weeks
DBT Period: Time-to-worsening of Participant's Motor Function as Reported by the Participant in the Presence of a Confirmed Motor Progression Event
weeksDBT Period: PlaceboDBT Period: Prasinezumab
DBT Period: Time-to-worsening of Participant's Motor Function as Reported by the Participant in the Presence of a Confirmed Motor Progression Event88.3 (62.7 to 105.1)112.1 (81.1 to NA)
Statistical analysis
  • DBT Period: Placebo vs DBT Period: Prasinezumab · Cox-regression adjusted · p = 0.0914 · Hazard ratio (hr): 0.82 · 95% CI 0.66 to 1.03
SecondaryDBT Period: Time to Meaningful Worsening in Participant Global Impression of Change (PGI-C) Overall Disease Subscale

The PGI is a measure commonly used in PD clinical trials to provide a concise assessment of overall health state. The change component (PGI-C) was intended to measure health state changes as reported by the participant on a 7-point scale (1=Very much improved to 7=Very much worse). The meaningfulness of the change was assessed and reported by the participant.

Time frame:
From study start to end of DBT period to at least 76 weeks
Reported as:
Median · weeks
DBT Period: Time to Meaningful Worsening in Participant Global Impression of Change (PGI-C) Overall Disease Subscale
weeksDBT Period: PlaceboDBT Period: Prasinezumab
DBT Period: Time to Meaningful Worsening in Participant Global Impression of Change (PGI-C) Overall Disease Subscale36.1 (29.9 to 42.1)44.4 (38.1 to 52.1)
Statistical analysis
  • DBT Period: Placebo vs DBT Period: Prasinezumab · Cox-regression adjusted · p = 0.1574 · Hazard ratio (hr): 0.88 · 95% CI 0.73 to 1.05
SecondaryDBT Period: Time to Meaningful Worsening in Clinician Global Impression of Change (CGI-C) Overall Disease Subscale

The CGI was a measure commonly used in PD clinical trials to provide a concise assessment of overall health state. The change component (CGI-C) was intended to measure health state changes as reported by the clinician on a 7-point scale (1=Very much improved to 7=Very much worse).

Time frame:
From study start to end of DBT period to at least 76 weeks
Reported as:
Median · weeks
DBT Period: Time to Meaningful Worsening in Clinician Global Impression of Change (CGI-C) Overall Disease Subscale
weeksDBT Period: PlaceboDBT Period: Prasinezumab
DBT Period: Time to Meaningful Worsening in Clinician Global Impression of Change (CGI-C) Overall Disease Subscale52.1 (44.1 to 59.9)60.6 (56.1 to 67.3)
Statistical analysis
  • DBT Period: Placebo vs DBT Period: Prasinezumab · Cox-regression adjusted · p = 0.0622 · Hazard ratio (hr): 0.83 · 95% CI 0.69 to 1.01
SecondaryDBT Period: Time to Onset of Motor Complications as Assessed Through MDS-UPDRS Part IV

MDS-UPDRS Part IV assessed motor complications of symptomatic treatment, dyskinesias, and motor fluctuations. The rater completed this assessment only for participants on L-Dopa treatment.

Time frame:
From study start to end of DBT period to at least 76 weeks
Reported as:
Median · weeks
DBT Period: Time to Onset of Motor Complications as Assessed Through MDS-UPDRS Part IV
weeksDBT Period: PlaceboDBT Period: Prasinezumab
DBT Period: Time to Onset of Motor Complications as Assessed Through MDS-UPDRS Part IV91.1 (77.0 to 107.6)100.1 (81.0 to 117.1)
Statistical analysis
  • DBT Period: Placebo vs DBT Period: Prasinezumab · Cox-regression adjusted · p = 0.5515 · Hazard ratio (hr): 0.94 · 95% CI 0.75 to 1.17
SecondaryDBT Period: Change in Motor Function From Baseline to Week 76, as Measured by the MDS-UPDRS Part III Score

MDS-UPDRS Part III is a clinician rater scale that assessed the motor signs of PD. The scale is composed of 18 clinical domains or tasks, which yield 33 distinct scores or ratings. For each distinct rating, a numeric score is assigned between 0-4, where 0 = Normal, 1 = Slight, 2 = Mild, 3 = Moderate, and 4 = Severe. The total MDS-UPDRS Part III score (ranging from 0 to 132) is calculated by summing these 33 individual ratings, with higher scores indicating severe impairment.

Time frame:
From baseline up to Week 76
Reported as:
Mean · Units on a scale
DBT Period: Change in Motor Function From Baseline to Week 76, as Measured by the MDS-UPDRS Part III Score
Units on a scaleDBT Period: PlaceboDBT Period: Prasinezumab
DBT Period: Change in Motor Function From Baseline to Week 76, as Measured by the MDS-UPDRS Part III Score4.00 ± 0.5923.61 ± 0.597
Statistical analysis
  • DBT Period: Placebo vs DBT Period: Prasinezumab · Mixed-model for Repeated Measures (MMRM) · p = 0.5944 · Difference in adjusted means: -0.39 · 95% CI -1.84 to 1.05
SecondaryDBT Period: Change in Bradykinesia and Rigidity From Baseline to Week 76, as Measured by the MDS-UPDRS Part III Bradykinesia and Rigidity Subscore

MDS-UPDRS Part III is a clinician rater scale that assessed the motor signs of PD. The scale is composed of 18 clinical domains or tasks, which yield 33 distinct scores or ratings. For each distinct rating, a numeric score is assigned between 0-4, where 0 = Normal, 1 = Slight, 2 = Mild, 3 = Moderate, and 4 = Severe. For bradykinesia, subscore ranges from 0 to 52, while rigidity subscore ranges from 0 to 20, with higher scores indicating greater impairment. Change in bradykinesia and rigidity was assessed in "OFF" medication state. Adjusted mean is reported here.

Time frame:
From baseline up to Week 76
Reported as:
Mean · Units on a scale
DBT Period: Change in Bradykinesia and Rigidity From Baseline to Week 76, as Measured by the MDS-UPDRS Part III Bradykinesia and Rigidity Subscore
Units on a scaleDBT Period: PlaceboDBT Period: Prasinezumab
DBT Period: Change in Bradykinesia and Rigidity From Baseline to Week 76, as Measured by the MDS-UPDRS Part III Bradykinesia and Rigidity Subscore2.77 ± 0.4762.85 ± 0.479
Statistical analysis
  • DBT Period: Placebo vs DBT Period: Prasinezumab · MMRM · p = 0.8955 · Difference in adjusted means: 0.08 · 95% CI -1.08 to 1.24
SecondaryDBT Period: Number of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs) and Serious Adverse Events (SAEs)

An AE was any untoward medical occurrence in a participant administered a pharmaceutical product and which does not necessarily have to have a causal relationship with the treatment. An AE can therefore be any unfavorable and unintended sign (including abnormal laboratory values or abnormal clinical test results), symptoms, or disease temporally associated with the use of a pharmaceutical product, whether or not considered related to the pharmaceutical product. SAE is any significant hazard, contraindication, or side effect that is fatal or life-threatening, requires hospitalization or prolongation of an existing hospitalization, results in persistent or significant disability/incapacity, is a congenital anomaly/birth defect, is medically significant or requires intervention. Number of participants with atleast 1 AE and SAE are reported here.

Time frame:
From study start to end of DBT period to at least 76 weeks
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
DBT Period: Number of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs) and Serious Adverse Events (SAEs)
ParticipantsDBT Period: PlaceboDBT Period: Prasinezumab
AEs260267
SAEs3434
SecondaryDBT Period: Number of Participants With Adverse Events of Special Interest (AESI)

An AE was any untoward medical occurrence in participant administered a pharmaceutical product \& which does not necessarily have to have a causal relationship with treatment. It can therefore be any unfavorable and unintended sign (including abnormal laboratory values/ abnormal clinical test results), symptoms/disease temporally associated with use of pharmaceutical product, whether/not considered related to product. AESIs included potential drug-induced liver injury that include an elevated alanine transaminase (ALT) \& aspartate aminotransferase (AST) in combination with either an elevated bilirubin/clinical jaundice defined by Hy's law and suspected transmission of an infectious agent by study drug.

Time frame:
From study start to end of DBT period to at least 76 weeks
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
DBT Period: Number of Participants With Adverse Events of Special Interest (AESI)
ParticipantsDBT Period: PlaceboDBT Period: Prasinezumab
DBT Period: Number of Participants With Adverse Events of Special Interest (AESI)00
SecondaryDBT Period: Number of Participants With Treatment Discontinuation Due to AEs

An AE was any untoward medical occurrence in a participant administered a pharmaceutical product and which does not necessarily have to have a causal relationship with the treatment. An AE can therefore be any unfavorable and unintended sign (including abnormal laboratory values or abnormal clinical test results), symptoms, or disease temporally associated with the use of a pharmaceutical product, whether or not considered related to the pharmaceutical product.

Time frame:
From study start to end of DBT period to at least 76 weeks
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
DBT Period: Number of Participants With Treatment Discontinuation Due to AEs
ParticipantsDBT Period: PlaceboDBT Period: Prasinezumab
DBT Period: Number of Participants With Treatment Discontinuation Due to AEs32
SecondaryDBT Period: Number of Participants With Infusion Related Reactions (IRRs)

IRRs were defined as any signs and symptoms (AEs) occurring during infusion and/or within 24 hours administration after the end of infusion and were considered related to study treatment by the investigator. Symptoms include flushing, rash, respiratory difficulty, hypotension, tachycardia.

Time frame:
From study start to end of DBT period to at least 76 weeks
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
DBT Period: Number of Participants With Infusion Related Reactions (IRRs)
ParticipantsDBT Period: PlaceboDBT Period: Prasinezumab
DBT Period: Number of Participants With Infusion Related Reactions (IRRs)3732
SecondaryDBT Period: Number of Participants With in Suicidal Ideation, as Measured by the Columbia-Suicide Severity Rating Scale (C-SSRS)

C-SSRS=assessment tool used to assess lifetime suicidality of participant (at baseline) as well as any new instances of suicidality (C-SSRS since last visit). Structured interview prompts recollection of suicidal ideation, including intensity of ideation, behavior, and attempts with actual/potential lethality. Categories have binary responses (yes/no) and include Wish to be Dead; Non-specific Active Suicidal Thoughts; Active Suicidal Ideation with Any Methods (Not Plan) without Intent to Act; Active Suicidal Ideation with Some Intent to Act, without Specific Plan; Active Suicidal Ideation with Specific Plan and Intent, Preparatory Acts and Behavior; Aborted Attempt; Interrupted Attempt; Actual Attempt (non-fatal); Completed Suicide. Suicidal ideation/behavior is indicated by a "yes" answer to any of the listed categories. Score of 0 is assigned if no suicide risk is present. Score of 1 or higher= suicidal ideation or behavior. Categories with non-zero values are only reported here.

Time frame:
From study start to end of DBT period to at least 76 weeks
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
DBT Period: Number of Participants With in Suicidal Ideation, as Measured by the Columbia-Suicide Severity Rating Scale (C-SSRS)
ParticipantsDBT Period: PlaceboDBT Period: Prasinezumab
Passive: Wish to be Dead65
Non-specific Active Suicidal Thoughts22
Active Suicidal Ideation with Any Methods (Not Plan) without Intent to Act30
Self-injurious Behavior, no Suicidal Intent01
SecondaryDBT Period: Maximum Observed Concentration at Steady-state (Cmax,SS)
Time frame:
Day 1 of Weeks 1, 2, 4, 8, 12, 24, 36, 52, 64, 76
Reported as:
Median · micrograms/milliliter (µg/mL)
DBT Period: Maximum Observed Concentration at Steady-state (Cmax,SS)
micrograms/milliliter (µg/mL)DBT Period: Prasinezumab
DBT Period: Maximum Observed Concentration at Steady-state (Cmax,SS)313.5 (217.3 to 514.9)
SecondaryDBT Period: Minimum Observed Concentration at Steady-state (Cmin,SS)
Time frame:
Day 1 of Weeks 1, 2, 4, 8, 12, 24, 36, 52, 64, 76
Reported as:
Median · µg/mL
DBT Period: Minimum Observed Concentration at Steady-state (Cmin,SS)
µg/mLDBT Period: Prasinezumab
DBT Period: Minimum Observed Concentration at Steady-state (Cmin,SS)28.7 (12.1 to 60.9)
SecondaryDBT Period: Area Under the Serum Concentration Time Curve Over the Dosing Interval (AUCTau,SS)
Time frame:
Day 1 of Weeks 1, 2, 4, 8, 12, 24, 36, 52, 64, 76
Reported as:
Median · hours*microgram/milliter (h*µg/mL)
DBT Period: Area Under the Serum Concentration Time Curve Over the Dosing Interval (AUCTau,SS)
hours*microgram/milliter (h*µg/mL)DBT Period: Prasinezumab
DBT Period: Area Under the Serum Concentration Time Curve Over the Dosing Interval (AUCTau,SS)49384 (34850 to 82330)
SecondaryDBT Period: Percentage of Participants With Anti-Drug Antibodies (ADAs) at Baseline and Post-Treatment
Time frame:
From study start to end of DBT period to at least 76 weeks
Reported as:
Number · percentage of participants
DBT Period: Percentage of Participants With Anti-Drug Antibodies (ADAs) at Baseline and Post-Treatment
percentage of participantsDBT Period: Prasinezumab
DBT Period: Percentage of Participants With Anti-Drug Antibodies (ADAs) at Baseline and Post-Treatment0.3
SecondaryOLE Period: Number of Participants With AEs and SAEs

An AE was any untoward medical occurrence in a participant administered a pharmaceutical product and which does not necessarily have to have a causal relationship with the treatment. An AE can therefore be any unfavorable and unintended sign (including abnormal laboratory values or abnormal clinical test results), symptoms, or disease temporally associated with the use of a pharmaceutical product, whether or not considered related to the pharmaceutical product. SAE is any significant hazard, contraindication, or side effect that is fatal or life-threatening, requires hospitalization or prolongation of an existing hospitalization, results in persistent or significant disability/incapacity, is a congenital anomaly/birth defect, is medically significant or requires intervention.

Time frame:
From signing of informed consent form up to 70 days after final dose of study treatment (Up to 66.6 months)

Results for this outcome have not been posted.

SecondaryOLE Period: Number of Participants With AESI

An AE was any untoward medical occurrence in participant administered a pharmaceutical product \& which does not necessarily have to have a causal relationship with treatment. It can therefore be any unfavorable and unintended sign (including abnormal laboratory values/ abnormal clinical test results), symptoms/disease temporally associated with use of pharmaceutical product, whether/not considered related to product. AESIs included potential drug-induced liver injury that include an elevated ALT \& AST in combination with either an elevated bilirubin/clinical jaundice defined by Hy's law and suspected transmission of an infectious agent by study drug.

Time frame:
From signing of informed consent form up to 70 days after final dose of study treatment (Up to 66.6 months)

Results for this outcome have not been posted.

SecondaryOLE Period: Number of Participants With IRRs

IRRs were defined as any signs and symptoms (AEs) occurring during infusion and/or within 24 hours administration after the end of infusion and were considered related to study treatment by the investigator. Symptoms include flushing, rash, respiratory difficulty, hypotension, tachycardia.

Time frame:
From signing of informed consent form up to 70 days after final dose of study treatment (Up to 66.6 months)

Results for this outcome have not been posted.

SecondaryOLE Period: Number of Participants With in Suicidal Ideation, as Measured by the C-SSRS

C-SSRS=assessment tool used to assess lifetime suicidality of participant (at baseline) as well as any new instances of suicidality (C-SSRS since last visit). Structured interview prompts recollection of suicidal ideation, including intensity of ideation, behavior, and attempts with actual/potential lethality. Categories have binary responses (yes/no) and include Wish to be Dead; Non-specific Active Suicidal Thoughts; Active Suicidal Ideation with Any Methods (Not Plan) without Intent to Act; Active Suicidal Ideation with Some Intent to Act, without Specific Plan; Active Suicidal Ideation with Specific Plan and Intent, Preparatory Acts and Behavior; Aborted Attempt; Interrupted Attempt; Actual Attempt (non-fatal); Completed Suicide. Suicidal ideation/behavior is indicated by a "yes" answer to any of the listed categories. Score of 0 is assigned if no suicide risk is present. Score of 1 or higher= suicidal ideation or behavior.

Time frame:
From signing of informed consent form up to 70 days after final dose of study treatment (Up to 66.6 months)

Results for this outcome have not been posted.

Adverse events

Collected over From study start until the end of DBT period for at least 76 weeks. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
DBT Period: Placebo2/290 (0.7%)34/290 (11.7%)205/290 (70.7%)
DBT Period: Prasinezumab1/292 (0.3%)34/292 (11.6%)206/292 (70.5%)
Most frequent serious events
Showing 10 of 75
Most frequent serious events
EventDBT Period: PlaceboDBT Period: Prasinezumab
Acute myocardial infarctionCardiac disorders1/2904/292
Inguinal herniaGastrointestinal disorders3/2902/292
Urinary tract infectionInfections and infestations0/2903/292
Back painMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders2/2900/292
OsteoarthritisMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders2/2900/292
Prostate cancerNeoplasms benign, malignant and unspecified (incl cysts and polyps)2/2901/292
DyspnoeaRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders2/2900/292
FallInjury, poisoning and procedural complications0/2902/292
Femur fractureInjury, poisoning and procedural complications1/2902/292
AnaemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders1/2900/292
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 18
Most frequent other events
EventDBT Period: PlaceboDBT Period: Prasinezumab
COVID-19Infections and infestations68/29084/292
Back painMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders40/29046/292
Infusion related reactionInjury, poisoning and procedural complications36/29031/292
NasopharyngitisInfections and infestations31/29036/292
FallInjury, poisoning and procedural complications30/29034/292
Urinary tract infectionInfections and infestations32/29024/292
HeadacheNervous system disorders18/29027/292
ArthralgiaMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders25/29026/292
FatigueGeneral disorders11/29021/292
InfluenzaInfections and infestations16/29021/292

Baseline characteristics

Full Analysis Set (FAS) included all randomized participants, with participants grouped according to their randomized treatment.

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)DBT Period: PlaceboDBT Period: PrasinezumabTotal
Mean64.4 ± 7.564.0 ± 7.264.2 ± 7.3
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)DBT Period: PlaceboDBT Period: PrasinezumabTotal
Female104110214
Male189183372
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)DBT Period: PlaceboDBT Period: PrasinezumabTotal
Hispanic or Latino313364
Not Hispanic or Latino246241487
Unknown or Not Reported161935
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)DBT Period: PlaceboDBT Period: PrasinezumabTotal
American Indian or Alaska Native000
Asian246
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander000
Black or African American202
White278275553
More than one race000
Unknown or Not Reported111425
07

Study locations

110 sites
  • University of Alabama at Birmingham
    Birmingham, Alabama 35294, United States
  • Barrow Neurological Institute
    Phoenix, Arizona 85013, United States
  • Neurology Center of North Orange County
    Fullerton, California 92835, United States
  • UC San Diego
    La Jolla, California 92037, United States
  • Keck School of Medicine of USC
    Los Angeles, California 90033, United States
  • Cedars Sinai Medical Center
    Los Angeles, California 90048, United States
  • University of California San Francisco
    San Francisco, California 94143, United States
  • CenExel Rocky Mountain Clinical Research, LLC
    Englewood, Colorado 80113, United States
  • Institute for Neurodegenerative Disorders
    New Haven, Connecticut 06510, United States
  • JEM Research LLC
    Atlantis, Florida 33462, United States
  • Parkinson's Disease and Movement Disorders Center of Boca Raton
    Boca Raton, Florida 33486, United States
  • Renstar Medical Research
    Ocala, Florida 34470, United States
  • University of South Florida
    Tampa, Florida 33613-4706, United States
  • Charter Research - Winter Park/Orlando
    Winter Park, Florida 32792, United States
  • Northwestern University Feinberg School Of Medicine
    Chicago, Illinois 60611, United States
  • Southern Illinois University, School of Medicine
    Springfield, Illinois 62702, United States
  • University of Kansas Medical Center
    Kansas City, Kansas 66160, United States
  • Massachusetts General Hospital
    Boston, Massachusetts 02114-2759, United States
  • Quest Research Institute
    Farmington Hills, Michigan 48334, United States
  • Henry Ford Hospital
    West Bloomfield, Michigan 48322, United States
  • Dent Neurological Institute
    Amherst, New York 14226, United States
  • Cleveland Clinic
    Cleveland, Ohio 44195, United States
  • The Movement Disorder Clinic of Oklahoma
    Tulsa, Oklahoma 74136, United States
  • University Pennsylvania Hospital
    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19107, United States
  • Texas Neurology PA
    Dallas, Texas 75206, United States
  • Baylor College of Medicine Medical Center
    Houston, Texas 77030, United States
  • Central Texas Neurology Consultants
    Round Rock, Texas 78681, United States
  • University of Vermont Medical Center
    Burlington, Vermont 05401, United States
  • Sentara Neurology Specialists
    Norfolk, Virginia 23507, United States
  • EvergreenHealth Investigational Drug Services
    Kirkland, Washington 98034, United States
  • Inland Northwest Research
    Spokane, Washington 99202, United States
  • Medizinische Universität Graz
    Graz, 8036, Austria
  • Uniklinik fuer Neurologie, Medizinische Universitaet Innsbruck
    Innsbruck, 6020, Austria
  • Klinik Ottakring
    Vienna, 1160, Austria
  • Toronto Memory Program
    Toronto, Ontario M3B 2S7, Canada
  • Toronto Western Hospital
    Toronto, Ontario M5T 2S8, Canada
  • Clinique Neuro Outaouais
    Gatineau, Quebec J8Y 1W2, Canada
  • Montreal Neurological Institute and Hospital
    Montreal, Quebec H3A 2B4, Canada
  • Groupe Hospitalier Pellegrin
    Bordeaux, 33000, France
  • Groupement Hospitalier Est - Hôpital Neurologique
    Bron, 69677, France
  • Hopital Gabriel Montpied
    Clermont-Ferrand, 63003, France
  • Hôpital Henri Mondor
    Créteil, 94000, France
  • Hôpital Michallon - Centre d'Investigation Clinique
    Grenoble, 38043, France
  • CHU de Limoges - Hôpital Dupuytren
    Limoges, 87042, France
  • hopital de la Timone
    Marseille, 13385, France
  • CHU Gui de Chauliac
    Montpellier, 34000, France
  • CHU de Nice Hopital Pasteur
    Nice, 06002, France
  • Hopital Pitie-Salpetriere APHP
    Paris, 75013, France
  • CHU Poitiers
    Poitiers, 86021, France
  • CHU Rouen Charles Nicolle
    Rouen, 76031, France
  • CHU de Nantes - Hopital Laennec
    Saint-Herblain, 44800, France
  • CHU Strasbourg Hpital Hautepierre
    Strasbourg, 67098, France
  • CIC - Hôpital Purpan
    Toulouse, 31059, France
  • Università degli studi della Campania Luigi Vanvitelli
    Naples, Campania 80138, Italy
  • Az. Osp. OO.RR. S. Giovanni di Dio e Ruggi D' Aragona
    Salerno, Campania 84131, Italy
  • Ospedale Bellaria
    Bologna, Emilia-Romagna 40139, Italy
  • IRCCS San Raffaele;Clinical Trial Center
    Rome, Lazio 00166, Italy
  • Policlinico Universitario Agostino Gemelli
    Rome, Lazio 00168, Italy
  • Irccs A.O.U.San Martino Ist
    Genoa, Liguria 16132, Italy
  • Azienda Ospedaliera Spedali Civili
    Brescia, Lombardy 25100, Italy
  • IRCCS Ospedale San Raffaele
    Milan, Lombardy 20132, Italy
  • IRCCS Istituto Neurologico Carlo Besta
    Milan, Lombardy 20133, Italy
  • IRCCS Neuromed
    Pozzilli (IS), Molise 86077, Italy
  • A.O.U. Policlinico "G.Rodolico - San Marco"
    Catania, Sicily 95123, Italy
  • A.O. Universitaria Pisana
    Pisa, Tuscany 56126, Italy
  • AO di Perugia - Ospedale S. Maria della Misericordia
    Perugia, Umbria 06156, Italy
  • Azienda Ospedaliera S. Maria
    Terni, Umbria 05100, Italy
  • Azienda Ospedaliera di Padova
    Padova, Veneto 35128, Italy
  • Centre Hospitalier de Luxembourg
    Luxembourg, 1210, Luxembourg
  • NeuroKlinika Gabinet Lekarski Prof. Andrzej Bogucki
    ?ód?, 90-640, Poland
  • NZOZ Vitamed
    Bydgoszcz, 85-079, Poland
  • Szpital Sw. Wojciecha
    Gda?sk, 80-462, Poland
  • Krakowska Akademia Neurologii Sp z o.o. Centrum Neurologii K
    Krakow, 31-505, Poland
  • Indywidualna Praktyka Lekarska Prof. Dr Hab. N. Med. Konrad Rejdak.
    Lublin, 20-016, Poland
  • Nmedis sp. z o.o.
    Rzeszów, 35-232, Poland
  • Samodzielny Publiczny Szpital Kliniczny im. prof. Orlowskiego
    Warsaw, 00-416, Poland
  • Centrum Medyczne NeuroProtect
    Warsaw, 01-684, Poland
  • Mazowiecki Szpital Bródnowski w Warszawie Sp. z o.o.
    Warsaw, 03-242, Poland
  • Hospital General Universitario de Elche
    Elche, Alicante 03203, Spain
  • Hospital General De Catalunya
    Sant Cugat del Vallès, Barcelona 8195, Spain
  • Policlínica Guipuzkoa
    Donosti-San Sebastián, Guipuzcoa 20014, Spain
  • Complejo Hospitalario Universitario A Coruña (CHUAC)
    A Coruña, LA Coruna 15006, Spain
  • Hospital Universitario Fundación Alcorcón
    Alcorcón, Madrid 28922, Spain
  • HM Universitario Puerta del Sur CINAC (C.Integ.Neuroc);
    Móstoles, Madrid 28938, Spain
  • Hospital Quiron de Madrid
    Pozuelo de Alarcón, Madrid 28223, Spain
  • Clinica Universidad de Navarra
    Pamplona, Navarre 31008, Spain
  • Hospital Virgen del Puerto
    Plasencia, Palencia 10600, Spain
  • Hospital de Cruces
    Barakaldo, Vizcaya 48903, Spain
  • Hospital Vall d'Hebron
    Barcelona, 08035, Spain
  • Hospital Clinic Servicio de Neurologia
    Barcelona, 08036, Spain
  • Hospital de la Santa Creu i Sant Pau
    Barcelona, 08041, Spain
  • Hospital Universitario de Burgos. Servicio de Neurología
    Burgos, 09006, Spain
  • Hospital Ruber Juan Bravo
    Madrid, 28006, Spain
  • Hospital Universitario de la Princesa
    Madrid, 28006, Spain
  • Hospital General Universitario Gregorio Marañon
    Madrid, 28007, Spain
  • Hospital Universitario Clínico San Carlos
    Madrid, 28040, Spain
  • Hospital Universitario 12 de Octubre
    Madrid, 28041, Spain
  • Hospital Regional Universitario Carlos Haya
    Málaga, 29010, Spain
  • Hospital Universitario Virgen Macarena
    Seville, 41009, Spain
  • Hospital Virgen del Rocío
    Seville, 41013, Spain

Showing the first 100 of 110 sites across 9 countries.

08

References and documents

Publications

  • Nikolcheva T, Pagano G, Anzures-Cabrera J, Trundell D, Kustermann T, Simuni T, Marek K, Pavese N, Seppi K, Stocchi F, Postuma RB, Pross N, Monnet A, Respondek G, Schlegel V, Boak L, Rutten-Jacobs L, Kerchner GA, Brundin P, Svoboda H, Bonni A; PADOVA Investigators; Prasinezumab Study Group. Efficacy and safety of intravenous prasinezumab in individuals with early-stage Parkinson's disease on stable symptomatic monotherapy (PADOVA): a phase 2b, multicentre, randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled study. Lancet. 2026 May 30;407(10544):2227-2240. doi: 10.1016/S0140-6736(26)00865-2. PubMed 42208564 ↗

Study documents

  • Study protocol · Apr 15, 2025
  • Statistical analysis plan · Aug 5, 2024

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: Yes — For eligible studies, qualified researchers may request access to individual patient level clinical data. See Roche's commitment to transparency of clinical study information here: https://go.roche.com/data\_sharing

09

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT04777331
Lead sponsor
Hoffmann-La Roche
Collaborators
Prothena Biosciences Limited
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Mar 2, 2021
Start date
May 5, 2021
Primary completion
Sep 11, 2024
Completion
Jun 30, 2031 (estimated)
Results posted
Dec 2, 2025
Last update
Sep 4, 2026

Study contacts

Clinical Trials
study director · Hoffmann-La Roche

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is active, not recruiting, as verified in Sep 2026. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion