CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT04772547VIGAB-STATUpdated Jul 23, 2024Results posted

VIGABatrin in Post-anoxic STATus Epilepticus - Phase IIa

A Phase 2 interventional study of Vigabatrin Only Product in Status Epilepticus, Electrographic and Coma, sponsored by University of Florida. Completed at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years to 80 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2024-07-23.

Sponsored by University of Florida · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
6
Allocation
Not applicable
Ages
18 Years to 80 Years
Sex
All
01

Study summary

This is a pilot trial of a single loading dose of vigabatrin in post-anoxic status epilepticus.

Read the detailed description

This pilot trial aims to demonstrate the feasibility of enteral administration of a single load of vigabatrin within targeted 48 hours of post-anoxic status epilepticus onset in unconscious survivors of cardiac arrest undergoing targeted temperature management. The load of VGB is in addition to the load of a commonly used intravenous second-line therapy given at the discretion of the treating neurologist. Serial blood tests will be obtained, including vigabatrin levels, taurine levels, neuron specific enolase, light chain neurofilament, and glial fibrillary acidic protein. In survivors that regain consciousness and survive to follow up, 6 months visual field perimetry will be obtained.

02

Conditions studied

  • Status Epilepticus, Electrographic
  • Coma

Browse trials for

Keywords

  • post-anoxic status epilepticus, cardiac arrest, nonconvulsive status epilepticus, coma, vigabatrin
03

In context

Status Epilepticus

126 studies on the registry are indexed under Status Epilepticus; 37 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 6 is below the median of 70 across 74 interventional studies indexed under Status Epilepticus.

Browse Status Epilepticus studies →

Lead sponsor

University of Florida is the lead sponsor of 1,254 studies on the registry; 201 are open to participants now.

Of its 170 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 136 (80%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years to 80 Years
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • age ≥ 18 years
  • non-traumatic cardiac arrest (regardless of non-perfusing rhythm, etiology, or location of arrest) in whom the decision to treat unequivocal electrographic status epilepticus (as defined by the American Clinical Neurophysiology Society: having generalized spike/sharp-wave discharges ≥ 3Hz or any evolving pattern reaching > 4Hz, lasting ≥ 10 minutes, or comprising > 50% of any hour of recording) has been made
  • requiring anesthetic infusion for any reason
  • have reliable arterial access for frequent blood sampling
  • established enteral access within 48h of post-anoxic status epilepticus onset.

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • prior history of generalized epilepsy
  • history of gastrointestinal surgery within the last 21 days
  • pregnancy
  • status epilepticus onset preceding initiation of electroencephalography monitoring
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
6 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Open label

    4500 mg of vigabatrin administered enterally

    Drug: Vigabatrin Only Product

Interventions

  • DrugVigabatrin Only Product

    enteral medication administration, serial blood draws, and outcome assessment

    Also known as: sabril, vigabatrone

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Primary Pharmacologic Outcome - Absorption

    By analyzing serial vigabatrin levels including baseline, we characterized vigabatrin absorption; the target was to achieve a detectable vigabatrin level in the serum of ≥ 80% of enrolled subjects by 3 hours post-load.

    Time frame: 3h

  2. Primary Feasibility Outcome - Enrollment and Drug Delivery

    We looked at the ability to deliver vigabatrin within 48 hours of PASE onset in ≥ 80% of enrolled subjects. Vigabatrin dose was adjusted according to renal functioning (CrCl\>50 ml/min: 4500 mg, CrCl 30-50 ml/min: 2250 mg, CrCl\<30 ml/min: 1125 mg)

    Time frame: 48 hours

  3. Primary Feasibility Outcome - Visual Screening (Goldmann Perimetry)

    We planned to obtain Goldmann perimetry testing in the subjects who could cooperate at the 6 months follow-up. Our goal was to have reliable visual field perimetry in ≥ 80% of survivors who regained consciousness following index hospitalization.

    Time frame: 6 months

  4. Primary Feasibility Outcome - Participants With Visual Screening for Taurine Levels

    We obtained serial taurine levels during ICU stay at time 0h, 72h and 168h following vigabatrin administration. Our goal was to achieve a 90% completion rate for taurine levels.

    Time frame: 0h, 72h and 168h following vigabatrin administration

Secondary outcomes

  1. Ultra-early Vigabatrin Administration

    We tracked the proportion of enrolled subjects who received a vigabatrin load within 12 and 24 hours of PASE onset to explore the possibility of ultra-early administration of vigabatrin in subsequent phases.

    Time frame: 0h to 48h after vigabatrin admnistration

  2. Secondary Pharmacologic Outcome: Elimination

    By analyzing serial VGB levels, we characterized drug elimination. We anticipated subjects with normal renal function would have undetectable vigabatrin levels by 72 hours, and those with creatinine clearance less than 30 mL/min would have detectable VGB levels at 72 hours. We anticipated undetectable vigabatrin levels in all subjects by 7 days regardless of their renal function.

    Time frame: 72h and 7 days following vigabatrin administration

  3. PASE Onset Detection

    We tracked the proportion of subjects in whom PASE was present upon connection to EEG (onset misses) to explore alternatives to allow prompt EEG monitoring following the return of spontaneous circulation (ROSC).

    Time frame: Determined at the time of connection to EEG monitoring

07

Results

Posted Jul 12, 2024
Limitations and caveats
We could not characterize the exploratory safety outcome in our subjects. We aimed to detect rates of retinopathy on vision loss screening via Goldmann perimetry upon regain of consciousness, ICU discharge, and 6 months, in addition to long-term visual screening at 6 months via Visual Function Questionnaire 25 (VFQ-25). However, all six patients enrolled in the trial did not regain consciousness or survive through the follow-up period. So, the assessments could not be performed.

Participant flow

The study recruitment occurred from September 2021 until June 2023 at the University of Florida, Shands Hospital. All patients with cardiac arrest requiring continuous EEG (cEE) monitoring were screened for eligibility.

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneOpen Label
Started6
Completed6
Not completed0

Outcome measures

PrimaryPrimary Pharmacologic Outcome - Absorption

By analyzing serial vigabatrin levels including baseline, we characterized vigabatrin absorption; the target was to achieve a detectable vigabatrin level in the serum of ≥ 80% of enrolled subjects by 3 hours post-load.

Time frame:
3h
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Primary Pharmacologic Outcome - Absorption
ParticipantsOpen Label
Detectable drug level 3h post-administration6
Undetectable drug level 3h post-administration0
PrimaryPrimary Feasibility Outcome - Enrollment and Drug Delivery

We looked at the ability to deliver vigabatrin within 48 hours of PASE onset in ≥ 80% of enrolled subjects. Vigabatrin dose was adjusted according to renal functioning (CrCl\>50 ml/min: 4500 mg, CrCl 30-50 ml/min: 2250 mg, CrCl\<30 ml/min: 1125 mg)

Time frame:
48 hours
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Primary Feasibility Outcome - Enrollment and Drug Delivery
ParticipantsOpen Label
Vigabatrin administered within 48h of PASE onset6
Vigabatrin not administered within 48h of PASE onset0
PrimaryPrimary Feasibility Outcome - Visual Screening (Goldmann Perimetry)

We planned to obtain Goldmann perimetry testing in the subjects who could cooperate at the 6 months follow-up. Our goal was to have reliable visual field perimetry in ≥ 80% of survivors who regained consciousness following index hospitalization.

Time frame:
6 months

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

PrimaryPrimary Feasibility Outcome - Participants With Visual Screening for Taurine Levels

We obtained serial taurine levels during ICU stay at time 0h, 72h and 168h following vigabatrin administration. Our goal was to achieve a 90% completion rate for taurine levels.

Time frame:
0h, 72h and 168h following vigabatrin administration
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Primary Feasibility Outcome - Participants With Visual Screening for Taurine Levels
ParticipantsOpen Label
Taurine levels collected at 0h6
Taurine levels collected at 72h4
Taurine levels collected at 168h1
SecondaryUltra-early Vigabatrin Administration

We tracked the proportion of enrolled subjects who received a vigabatrin load within 12 and 24 hours of PASE onset to explore the possibility of ultra-early administration of vigabatrin in subsequent phases.

Time frame:
0h to 48h after vigabatrin admnistration
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Ultra-early Vigabatrin Administration
ParticipantsOpen Label
within 12h of PASE onset1
within 12-24h of PASE onset3
within 24-48h of PASE onset2
SecondarySecondary Pharmacologic Outcome: Elimination

By analyzing serial VGB levels, we characterized drug elimination. We anticipated subjects with normal renal function would have undetectable vigabatrin levels by 72 hours, and those with creatinine clearance less than 30 mL/min would have detectable VGB levels at 72 hours. We anticipated undetectable vigabatrin levels in all subjects by 7 days regardless of their renal function.

Time frame:
72h and 7 days following vigabatrin administration
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Secondary Pharmacologic Outcome: Elimination
ParticipantsOpen Label
Undetectable vigabatrin concentration at 72h2
Detectable vigabatrin concentration at 72h2
Undetectable vigabatrin concentration at 7 days2
Detectable vigabatrin concentration at 7 days0
SecondaryPASE Onset Detection

We tracked the proportion of subjects in whom PASE was present upon connection to EEG (onset misses) to explore alternatives to allow prompt EEG monitoring following the return of spontaneous circulation (ROSC).

Time frame:
Determined at the time of connection to EEG monitoring
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
PASE Onset Detection
ParticipantsPASE Onset Misses
PASE Onset Detection8

Adverse events

Collected over As per clinical trial protocol, all subjects were monitored daily for adverse (AE) and serious adverse events (SAE) from the time of enrollment for the duration of their ICU stay. The PI monitored patient safety data within 24 hours of AE's or SAE's. The duration of ICU stay for the subjects was approximately 1 week. Screening for visual AE's was planned at the 6-month follow-up visit. Due to inpatient mortality, none of the enrolled subjects completed the 6-month follow-up.. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Open Label6/6 (100%)0/6 (0%)0/6 (0%)

Baseline characteristics

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)Open Label
Median62 (22 to 68)
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Open Label
Female2
Male4
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Open Label
Hispanic or Latino0
Not Hispanic or Latino6
Unknown or Not Reported0
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Open Label
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Asian0
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
Black or African American1
White5
More than one race0
Unknown or Not Reported0
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(participants)Open Label
United States6
BMI
BMI(kg/m^2)Open Label
Mean33.22 ± 13.11
Creatinine Clearance (CrCl)
Creatinine Clearance (CrCl)(Participants)Open Label
CrCl >50 ml/min2
CrCl 30-50 ml/min2
CrCl <30 ml/min2
Weight
Weight(kg)Open Label
Mean88.03 ± 32.12

1 further baseline measures are reported on the registry.

08

Study locations

1 site
  • University of Florida
    Gainesville, Florida 32610, United States
09

References and documents

Publications

  • Maciel CB, Teixeira FJP, Dickinson KJ, Spana JC, Merck LH, Rabinstein AA, Sergott R, Shan G, Miao G, Peloquin CA, Busl KM, Hirsch LJ. Early vigabatrin augmenting GABA-ergic pathways in post-anoxic status epilepticus (VIGAB-STAT) phase IIa clinical trial study protocol. Neurol Res Pract. 2022 Jan 24;4(1):4. doi: 10.1186/s42466-022-00168-x. PubMed 35067230 ↗

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · May 11, 2023
  • Informed consent form · Sep 8, 2021

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: No

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Jul 23, 2024, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT04772547
Lead sponsor
University of Florida
Collaborators
Yale University, Thomas Jefferson University, American Heart Association
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Feb 26, 2021
Start date
Sep 22, 2021
Primary completion
Jun 7, 2023
Completion
Jan 23, 2024
Results posted
Jul 12, 2024
Last update
Jul 23, 2024

Study contacts

Carolina B Maciel, MD, MSCR
principal investigator · University of Florida

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Jul 2024. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion