CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT04646499Updated Jul 27, 2023Results posted

Feasibility of Gamma Transcranial Alternating Current Stimulation to Reduce Beta-amyloid Load and Improve Memory

An interventional study of Transcranial alternating current stimulation in Mild Cognitive Impairment, sponsored by University of California, San Francisco. Completed at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 55 Years to 80 Years, including healthy volunteers. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2023-07-27.

Sponsored by University of California, San Francisco · Not applicable, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Not applicable
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
14
Allocation
Not applicable
Ages
55 Years to 80 Years
Sex
All
01

Study summary

This project assessed the feasibility of transcranial alternating current stimulation in the gamma band to lower beta-amyloid load and improve memory performance.

Read the detailed description

Thirteen individuals with aMCI received eight 60-minute sessions of 40-Hz (gamma) transcranial alternating current stimulation (tACS) in a single-arm design. Outcome measures were assessed pre- and post-intervention.

02

Conditions studied

  • Mild Cognitive Impairment
03

In context

Cognitive Dysfunction

3,843 studies on the registry are indexed under Cognitive Dysfunction; 1,100 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 14 is below the median of 65 across 2,808 interventional studies indexed under Cognitive Dysfunction.

Browse Cognitive Dysfunction studies →

Lead sponsor

University of California, San Francisco is the lead sponsor of 2,132 studies on the registry; 375 are open to participants now.

Of its 262 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 196 (75%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
55 Years to 80 Years
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
Yes

Inclusion criteria

  • English speaking
  • Grade 12 or more education
  • Normal or corrected to normal vision and hearing
  • Ability to complete cognitive tasks
  • Ability to cooperate and comply with all study procedures
  • Ability to tolerate tACS
  • Self-reported memory complaint
  • Diagnosed with mild cognitive impairment
  • Amyloid positive

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Neurological or psychiatric disorders other than mild cognitive impairment
  • Receiving investigational medications or have participated in a trial with investigational medications within last 30 days
  • Family history of epilepsy
  • Implanted electronic devices (e.g., pacemaker)
  • Prior head trauma
  • Pregnant
  • IQ \< 80
  • Taking cholinesterase inhibitory, memantine, or psychotropic medication
  • Taking anti-depressants or anti-anxiety medication
  • Color blind
  • Substance abuse
  • Glaucoma
  • Macular degeneration
  • Amblyopia (lazy eye)
  • Strabismus (crossed eyes)
05

Study design

Phase
Not applicable
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
14 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Gamma Stimulation Group

    This group will receive gamma stimulation

    Device: Transcranial alternating current stimulation

Interventions

  • DeviceTranscranial alternating current stimulation

    Transcranial alternating current stimulation (tACS) will be applied at 40 Hz (gamma band) during eight sessions over the course of a month.

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Side Effects

    Side effects were measured on a scale from 0 (not noticable) to 10 (not tolerable): headache, neck pain, scalp pain, tingling, itching, burning sensation, increased sleepiness, trouble concentrating, acute mood change, and phosphenes. Average rating across all measures reported as indicator of side effects.

    Time frame: Average of all post-tACS sessions, up to 1 month

  2. Drop Out

    Drop out rate will be assessed as the number of participants who withdraw or are withdrawn from the study.

    Time frame: post-tACS, up to 1 month

Secondary outcomes

  1. Beta Amyloid Load Change

    Change in plasma-based beta amyloid (AB) load was assessed as the AB42/40 ratio, calculated as post minus pre AB42/40 ratio. Greater increase is better.

    Time frame: pre-tACS (baseline) and post-tACS (1 month)

  2. Memory: Recall Change

    Episodic memory was assessed pre and post intervention as the number of words correct during the short delay free recall portion of the California Verbal Learning Test. Change was assessed as post minus pre. Greater increase is better.

    Time frame: pre-tACS (baseline), post-tACS (after one month of treatment)

  3. Memory: Paired Associates Change

    Episodic memory was assessed pre and post intervention from memory accuracy for a paired associates task for visual objects. Change was assessed post minus pre. Greater increase is better.

    Time frame: pre-tACS (baseline), post-tACS (after one month of treatment)

  4. Memory: Fluency Change

    Episodic memory fluency was assessed pre and post intervention from performance on the FAS task. Unit of measurement is the number of words names starting with the letter f, a, or s. Change was calculated as post minus pre. Greater increase is better.

    Time frame: pre-tACS (baseline), post-tACS (after one month of treatment)

  5. Change in Tau

    Plasma tau levels was assessed pre and post intervention. Change was calculated as post minus pre. Greater decrease is better.

    Time frame: pre-tACS (baseline), post-tACS (after one month of treatment)

07

Results

Posted Jul 27, 2023

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneGamma Stimulation Group
Started14
Completed13
Not completed1

Outcome measures

PrimarySide Effects

Side effects were measured on a scale from 0 (not noticable) to 10 (not tolerable): headache, neck pain, scalp pain, tingling, itching, burning sensation, increased sleepiness, trouble concentrating, acute mood change, and phosphenes. Average rating across all measures reported as indicator of side effects.

Time frame:
Average of all post-tACS sessions, up to 1 month
Reported as:
Mean · units on a scale
Side Effects
units on a scaleGamma Stimulation Group
Side Effects0.53 ± 0.65
PrimaryDrop Out

Drop out rate will be assessed as the number of participants who withdraw or are withdrawn from the study.

Time frame:
post-tACS, up to 1 month
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Drop Out
ParticipantsGamma Stimulation Group
Drop Out1
SecondaryBeta Amyloid Load Change

Change in plasma-based beta amyloid (AB) load was assessed as the AB42/40 ratio, calculated as post minus pre AB42/40 ratio. Greater increase is better.

Time frame:
pre-tACS (baseline) and post-tACS (1 month)
Reported as:
Mean · unitless ratio
Beta Amyloid Load Change
unitless ratioGamma Stimulation Group
Beta Amyloid Load Change0.0008 ± 0.006
Statistical analysis
  • Gamma Stimulation Group · Sign test · p = 0.34
SecondaryMemory: Recall Change

Episodic memory was assessed pre and post intervention as the number of words correct during the short delay free recall portion of the California Verbal Learning Test. Change was assessed as post minus pre. Greater increase is better.

Time frame:
pre-tACS (baseline), post-tACS (after one month of treatment)
Reported as:
Mean · words correct
Memory: Recall Change
words correctGamma Stimulation Group
Memory: Recall Change1.5 ± 2.1
Statistical analysis
  • Gamma Stimulation Group · Sign test · p = 0.024
SecondaryMemory: Paired Associates Change

Episodic memory was assessed pre and post intervention from memory accuracy for a paired associates task for visual objects. Change was assessed post minus pre. Greater increase is better.

Time frame:
pre-tACS (baseline), post-tACS (after one month of treatment)
Reported as:
Mean · percent correct
Memory: Paired Associates Change
percent correctGamma Stimulation Group
Memory: Paired Associates Change11.5 ± 21.0
Statistical analysis
  • Gamma Stimulation Group · Sign test · p = 0.083
SecondaryMemory: Fluency Change

Episodic memory fluency was assessed pre and post intervention from performance on the FAS task. Unit of measurement is the number of words names starting with the letter f, a, or s. Change was calculated as post minus pre. Greater increase is better.

Time frame:
pre-tACS (baseline), post-tACS (after one month of treatment)
Reported as:
Mean · number of items named
Memory: Fluency Change
number of items namedGamma Stimulation Group
Memory: Fluency Change1.5 ± 2.6
Statistical analysis
  • Gamma Stimulation Group · Sign test · p = 0.049
SecondaryChange in Tau

Plasma tau levels was assessed pre and post intervention. Change was calculated as post minus pre. Greater decrease is better.

Time frame:
pre-tACS (baseline), post-tACS (after one month of treatment)
Reported as:
Mean · pg/mL
Change in Tau
pg/mLGamma Stimulation Group
Change in Tau0.27 ± 0.72
Statistical analysis
  • Gamma Stimulation Group · Sign test · p = 0.31

Adverse events

Collected over 1 year. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Gamma Stimulation Group0/13 (0%)0/13 (0%)0/13 (0%)

Baseline characteristics

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)Gamma Stimulation Group
Mean74 ± 5
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Gamma Stimulation Group
Female6
Male7
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Gamma Stimulation Group
Hispanic or Latino0
Not Hispanic or Latino13
Unknown or Not Reported0
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Gamma Stimulation Group
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Asian1
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
Black or African American1
White11
More than one race0
Unknown or Not Reported0
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(Participants)Gamma Stimulation Group
United States13
Beta Amyloid
Beta Amyloid(unitless ratio)Gamma Stimulation Group
Mean0.06 ± 0.02
Tau
Tau(pg/mL)Gamma Stimulation Group
Mean3.38 ± 0.97
Memory: Recall
Memory: Recall(number of items correctly remembered)Gamma Stimulation Group
Mean6.54 ± 4.29

2 further baseline measures are reported on the registry.

08

Study locations

1 site
  • University of California, San Francisco
    San Francisco, California 94158, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Nov 2, 2021
  • Informed consent form · Nov 2, 2021

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: Yes — The dataset includes self-reported information, behavioral and electrophysiological data. The final dataset will be stripped of identifiers prior to release for sharing, thereby anonymizing the data. We will make the anonymized data available to users only under a data-sharing agreement that provides for: (1) a commitment to using the data only for research purposes and not to attempt to identify any individual participant; (2) a commitment to securing the data using appropriate computer technology; and (3) a commitment to destroying or returning the data after analyses are completed. This will be in accordance with human subject regulations.

Supporting information: Study protocol, Sap, Icf, Csr, Analytic code

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Jul 27, 2023, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT04646499
Lead sponsor
University of California, San Francisco
Collaborators
National Institute on Aging (NIA)
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Nov 30, 2020
Start date
Jan 18, 2021
Primary completion
Dec 31, 2021
Completion
May 31, 2022
Results posted
Jul 27, 2023
Last update
Jul 27, 2023

Study contacts

Theodore Zanto, Ph.D.
principal investigator · University of California, San Francisco

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
FDA-regulated drug
No
FDA-regulated device
Yes
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Jul 2023. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion