A Phase 1 interventional study of ALXN1820 SC and ALXN1820 IV in Healthy, sponsored by Alexion Pharmaceuticals, Inc.. Completed at 3 sites in 2 countries. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2024-08-20.
Sponsored by Alexion Pharmaceuticals, Inc. · Phase 1, Interventional, and Basic science
This is a Phase 1, randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled single and multiple ascending dose study designed to evaluate the safety, tolerability, pharmacokinetics, pharmacodynamics, and immunogenicity of ALXN1820 administered subcutaneously (SC) (ALXN1820 SC) and intravenously (IV) (ALXN1820 IV).
This study will include up to 10 different dosing cohorts, with each cohort consisting of 2 groups (ALXN1820 group, placebo group). Participants will be randomly assigned in a 3:1 ratio to each of these 2 groups, respectively, within all 10 cohorts, to receive either a single or multiple doses of ALXN1820 SC, a single dose of ALXN1820 IV, or a single or multiple doses of placebo.
The study will be conducted in healthy adult participants and will also include a multiple SC dose cohort in healthy participants of Japanese descent.
Alexion Pharmaceuticals, Inc. is the lead sponsor of 249 studies on the registry; 25 are open to participants now.
Of its 98 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 70 (71%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Vaccination requirement:
Exclusion Criteria:
Participants will receive ALXN1820 SC or ALXN1820 IV according to their assigned cohort. ALXN1820 SC will be evaluated in single and multiple ascending doses while ALXN1820 IV will be evaluated in a single dose cohort only.
Drug: ALXN1820 SC · Drug: ALXN1820 IV
Participants will receive Placebo SC or Placebo IV according to their assigned cohort.
Drug: Placebo SC · Drug: Placebo IV
ALXN1820 SC will be administered as a manual SC push or SC infusion via a syringe pump. Doses will range from 12.5 milligrams (mg) to a maximum of 2250 mg. Multiple dosing duration will range from 3 to 5 weeks.
ALXN1820 IV (450 mg) will be administered as an IV infusion.
Placebo SC will be administered as a manual SC push or SC infusion via a syringe pump.
Placebo IV will be administered as an IV infusion.
Number of Participants With Treatment-related Adverse Events (TEAEs) For ALXN1820 SC And ALXN1820 IV
An adverse event (AE) was defined as any unfavorable and unintended sign (for example, including an abnormal laboratory finding), symptom, or disease temporally associated with the use of a medicinal product or procedure, whether or not considered related to the medicinal product or procedure, which occurred during the course of the clinical study. TEAEs were defined as any AEs that commenced after the start of administration of study intervention. Serious AEs (SAEs) were defined as any untoward medical occurrence that met at least 1 of the following serious criteria: resulted in death, was life-threatening, required in-patient hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization, resulted in persistent or significant disability/incapacity, was a congenital anomaly/birth defect, other medically important serious event. A summary of all SAEs and Other AEs (nonserious) regardless of causality is located in the 'Reported AEs' Section.
Time frame: Cohorts 1 to 6: Baseline up to Day 127; Cohorts 8 to 9: Baseline up to Day 155
Area Under The Concentration-time Curve (AUC) From Time 0 (Dosing) To Time Infinity (AUC0-inf) And AUC During The Dosing Interval (AUCtau) of Serum ALXN1820 For Single Dose Cohorts
Time frame: Up to 126 days following the first day of dosing
Area Under The Concentration-time Curve During The Dosing Interval (AUCtau) Of Serum ALXN1820 For Multiple Dose Cohorts
Time frame: Up to 154 days following the first day of dosing
Maximum Observed Serum Concentration (Cmax) Of Serum ALXN1820 For Single Dose Cohorts
Time frame: Up to 126 days following the first day of dosing
Maximum Observed Serum Concentration (Cmax) Of Serum ALXN1820 For Multiple Dose Cohorts
Time frame: Up to 154 days following the first day of dosing
Change From Baseline in Serum Concentrations Of Total Properdin For ALXN1820 SC And ALXN1820 IV-Single Dose Cohorts
Time frame: Baseline, Day 127
Change From Baseline in Serum Concentrations Of Free Properdin For ALXN1820 SC And ALXN1820 IV-Single Dose Cohorts
Time frame: Baseline, Day 127
Change From Baseline In Serum Concentrations of Total Properdin For ALXN1820 SC- Multiple Dose Cohorts
Time frame: Baseline, Day 155
Change From Baseline In Serum Concentrations of Free Properdin For ALXN1820 SC- Multiple Dose Cohorts
Time frame: Baseline, Day 155
Change From Baseline In Complement Alternative Pathway (CAP) Activity Using The Wieslab Alternative Pathway (AP) Assay For ALXN1820 SC And ALXN1820 IV-Single Dose Cohorts
Time frame: Baseline, Day 127
Change From Baseline In Complement Alternative Pathway Activity Using The Wieslab Alternative Pathway Assay For ALXN1820 SC- Multiple Dose Cohorts
Time frame: Baseline, Day 155
Number Of Participants With Positive Antidrug Antibodies (ADAs) To ALXN1820 SC And ALXN1820 IV
Time frame: Baseline up to Day 155
Absolute Bioavailability Of ALXN1820 SC
The absolute bioavailability was expressed as ratio and was calculated as the geometric mean for the AUC\[0-inf\] for SC divided by the geometric mean for the AUC\[0-inf\] for IV. Least square means were calculated with cohort, treatment, and sequence as the fixed effects, and participant-participant (sequence) as a random effect.
Time frame: Baseline up to Day 127
| Milestone | Cohort 1: ALXN1820 12.5 mg SC | Cohort 2: ALXN1820 50 mg SC | Cohort 3: ALXN1820 150 mg SC | Cohort 4: ALXN1820 450 mg SC | Cohort 5: ALXN1820 450 mg IV | Cohort 6: ALXN1820 1200 mg SC | Cohort 8: ALXN1820 150 mg SC (QW*5) | Cohort 9: ALXN1820 150 mg SC (QW*5) | All Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Started | 5 | 6 | 5 | 5 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 6 | 15 |
| Received at least 1 dose of study drug | 5 | 6 | 5 | 5 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 6 | 15 |
| Completed | 5 | 6 | 5 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 6 | 5 | 14 |
| Not completed | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 | 1 |
| Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Other | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| Withdrew: Lost to follow-up | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Adverse event | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 |
An adverse event (AE) was defined as any unfavorable and unintended sign (for example, including an abnormal laboratory finding), symptom, or disease temporally associated with the use of a medicinal product or procedure, whether or not considered related to the medicinal product or procedure, which occurred during the course of the clinical study. TEAEs were defined as any AEs that commenced after the start of administration of study intervention. Serious AEs (SAEs) were defined as any untoward medical occurrence that met at least 1 of the following serious criteria: resulted in death, was life-threatening, required in-patient hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization, resulted in persistent or significant disability/incapacity, was a congenital anomaly/birth defect, other medically important serious event. A summary of all SAEs and Other AEs (nonserious) regardless of causality is located in the 'Reported AEs' Section.
| Participants | Cohort 1: ALXN1820 12.5 mg SC | Cohort 2: ALXN1820 50 mg SC | Cohort 3: ALXN1820 150 mg SC | Cohort 4: ALXN1820 450 mg SC | Cohort 5: ALXN1820 450 mg IV | Cohort 6: ALXN1820 1200 mg SC | Cohort 8: ALXN1820 150 mg SC (QW*5) | Cohort 9: ALXN1820 150 mg SC (QW*5) | All Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Number of Participants With Treatment-related Adverse Events (TEAEs) For ALXN1820 SC And ALXN1820 IV | 1 | 0 | 0 | 4 | 2 | 0 | 1 | 3 | 2 |
| hours*micrograms/milliliters | Cohort 1: ALXN1820 12.5 mg SC | Cohort 2: ALXN1820 50 mg SC | Cohort 3: ALXN1820 150 mg SC | Cohort 4: ALXN1820 450 mg SC | Cohort 5: ALXN1820 450 mg IV | Cohort 6: ALXN1820 1200 mg SC |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AUC0-inf | 1708.745740 ± NA | 11871.887397 ± 18.11 | 22447.444516 ± 24.22 | 65994.232565 ± 23.56 | 70222.568018 ± 13.41 | 157445.098602 ± 15.80 |
| AUCtau | 1301.090561 ± 35.33 | 11356.654811 ± 18.25 | 21767.138401 ± 24.61 | 56467.567738 ± 37.45 | 69126.480691 ± 13.16 | 151825.555391 ± 15.02 |
| hours*micrograms/milliliters | Cohort 8: ALXN1820 150 mg SC (QW*5) | Cohort 9: ALXN1820 150 mg SC (QW*5) |
|---|---|---|
| Area Under The Concentration-time Curve During The Dosing Interval (AUCtau) Of Serum ALXN1820 For Multiple Dose Cohorts | 13047.247486 ± 11.96 | 14895.697459 ± 6.63 |
| micrograms/milliliters | Cohort 1: ALXN1820 12.5 mg SC | Cohort 2: ALXN1820 50 mg SC | Cohort 3: ALXN1820 150 mg SC | Cohort 4: ALXN1820 450 mg SC | Cohort 5: ALXN1820 450 mg IV | Cohort 6: ALXN1820 1200 mg SC |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Maximum Observed Serum Concentration (Cmax) Of Serum ALXN1820 For Single Dose Cohorts | 2.346 ± 17.85 | 12.892 ± 10.48 | 29.342 ± 22.53 | 99.256 ± 33.98 | 162.518 ± 46.73 | 246.140 ± 17.14 |
| micrograms/milliliters | Cohort 8: ALXN1820 150 mg SC (QW*5) | Cohort 9: ALXN1820 150 mg SC (QW*5) |
|---|---|---|
| Maximum Observed Serum Concentration (Cmax) Of Serum ALXN1820 For Multiple Dose Cohorts | 90.53 ± 12.40 | 100.97 ± 7.94 |
| micrograms/milliliters | Cohort 1: ALXN1820 12.5 mg SC | Cohort 2: ALXN1820 50 mg SC | Cohort 3: ALXN1820 150 mg SC | Cohort 4: ALXN1820 450 mg SC | Cohort 5: ALXN1820 450 mg IV | Cohort 6: ALXN1820 1200 mg SC | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Change From Baseline in Serum Concentrations Of Total Properdin For ALXN1820 SC And ALXN1820 IV-Single Dose Cohorts | 3.744 ± 0.8941 | 2.093 ± 1.3870 | 1.788 ± 1.7589 | 5.580 ± 3.1652 | 3.014 ± 2.0181 | 15.017 ± 7.1687 | 1.240 ± 1.4712 |
| nanograms/milliliters | Cohort 1: ALXN1820 12.5 mg SC | Cohort 2: ALXN1820 50 mg SC | Cohort 3: ALXN1820 150 mg SC | Cohort 4: ALXN1820 450 mg SC | Cohort 5: ALXN1820 450 mg IV | Cohort 6: ALXN1820 1200 mg SC | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Change From Baseline in Serum Concentrations Of Free Properdin For ALXN1820 SC And ALXN1820 IV-Single Dose Cohorts | 848.0 ± 508.40 | 1096.7 ± 1815.02 | 1200.0 ± 1078.61 | 20.8 ± 2667.17 | 1188.4 ± 975.93 | 5171.8 ± 910.95 | -26.6 ± 1749.15 |
| micrograms/milliliters | Cohort 8: ALXN1820 150 mg SC (QW*5) | Cohort 9: ALXN1820 150 mg SC (QW*5) | All Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|
| Change From Baseline In Serum Concentrations of Total Properdin For ALXN1820 SC- Multiple Dose Cohorts | 6.018 ± 2.5094 | 9.878 ± 1.6731 | 0.418 ± 0.2806 |
| nanograms/milliliters | Cohort 8: ALXN1820 150 mg SC (QW*5) | Cohort 9: ALXN1820 150 mg SC (QW*5) | All Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|
| Change From Baseline In Serum Concentrations of Free Properdin For ALXN1820 SC- Multiple Dose Cohorts | 3775.2 ± 1480.18 | 3762.0 ± 796.41 | 154.5 ± 480.34 |
| percentage of activity | Cohort 1: ALXN1820 12.5 mg SC | Cohort 2: ALXN1820 50 mg SC | Cohort 3: ALXN1820 150 mg SC | Cohort 4: ALXN1820 450 mg SC | Cohort 5: ALXN1820 450 mg IV | Cohort 6: ALXN1820 1200 mg SC | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Change From Baseline In Complement Alternative Pathway (CAP) Activity Using The Wieslab Alternative Pathway (AP) Assay For ALXN1820 SC And ALXN1820 IV-Single Dose Cohorts | -15.6800 ± 19.06770 | 5.0833 ± 28.14281 | 1.6600 ± 18.75241 | 10.3750 ± 35.92282 | 3.100 ± 23.43683 | 6.6500 ± 20.32956 | 5.8091 ± 25.66349 |
| percentage of activity | Cohort 8: ALXN1820 150 mg SC (QW*5) | Cohort 9: ALXN1820 150 mg SC (QW*5) | All Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|
| Change From Baseline In Complement Alternative Pathway Activity Using The Wieslab Alternative Pathway Assay For ALXN1820 SC- Multiple Dose Cohorts | 27.9714 ± 34.63436 | 2.6667 ± 25.02420 | 7.0000 ± 15.05169 |
| Participants | Cohort 1: ALXN1820 12.5 mg SC | Cohort 2: ALXN1820 50 mg SC | Cohort 3: ALXN1820 150 mg SC | Cohort 4: ALXN1820 450 mg SC | Cohort 5: ALXN1820 450 mg IV | Cohort 6: ALXN1820 1200 mg SC | Cohort 8: ALXN1820 150 mg SC (QW*5) | Cohort 9: ALXN1820 150 mg SC (QW*5) | All Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Number Of Participants With Positive Antidrug Antibodies (ADAs) To ALXN1820 SC And ALXN1820 IV | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 1 | 0 |
The absolute bioavailability was expressed as ratio and was calculated as the geometric mean for the AUC\[0-inf\] for SC divided by the geometric mean for the AUC\[0-inf\] for IV. Least square means were calculated with cohort, treatment, and sequence as the fixed effects, and participant-participant (sequence) as a random effect.
| Ratio | Cohort 4: ALXN1820 450 mg SC |
|---|---|
| Absolute Bioavailability Of ALXN1820 SC | 89.307 (67.806 to 117.625) |
Collected over Baseline up to Day 155. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cohort 1: ALXN1820 12.5 mg SC | 0/5 (0%) | 0/5 (0%) | 4/5 (80%) |
| Cohort 2: ALXN1820 50 mg SC | 0/6 (0%) | 0/6 (0%) | 6/6 (100%) |
| Cohort 3: ALXN1820 150 mg SC | 0/5 (0%) | 0/5 (0%) | 2/5 (40%) |
| Cohort 4: ALXN1820 450 mg SC | 0/5 (0%) | 0/5 (0%) | 4/5 (80%) |
| Cohort 5: ALXN1820 450 mg IV | 0/5 (0%) | 0/5 (0%) | 4/5 (80%) |
| Cohort 6: ALXN1820 1200 mg SC | 0/6 (0%) | 0/6 (0%) | 6/6 (100%) |
| Cohort 8: ALXN1820 150 mg SC (QW*5) | 0/7 (0%) | 0/7 (0%) | 6/7 (85.7%) |
| Cohort 9: ALXN1820 150 mg SC (QW*5) | 0/6 (0%) | 0/6 (0%) | 5/6 (83.3%) |
| All Placebo | 0/15 (0%) | 0/15 (0%) | 11/15 (73.3%) |
| Event | Cohort 1: ALXN1820 12.5 mg SC | Cohort 2: ALXN1820 50 mg SC | Cohort 3: ALXN1820 150 mg SC | Cohort 4: ALXN1820 450 mg SC | Cohort 5: ALXN1820 450 mg IV | Cohort 6: ALXN1820 1200 mg SC | Cohort 8: ALXN1820 150 mg SC (QW*5) | Cohort 9: ALXN1820 150 mg SC (QW*5) | All Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| HeadacheNervous system disorders | 0/5 | 1/6 | 0/5 | 3/5 | 2/5 | 1/6 | 1/7 | 0/6 | 3/15 |
| COVID-19Infections and infestations | 0/5 | 0/6 | 0/5 | 0/5 | 1/5 | 3/6 | 3/7 | 0/6 | 2/15 |
| Viral upper respiratory tract infectionInfections and infestations | 0/5 | 0/6 | 0/5 | 0/5 | 0/5 | 3/6 | 2/7 | 0/6 | 1/15 |
| NasopharyngitisInfections and infestations | 0/5 | 0/6 | 0/5 | 0/5 | 2/5 | 1/6 | 0/7 | 0/6 | 0/15 |
| NauseaGastrointestinal disorders | 1/5 | 0/6 | 1/5 | 2/5 | 0/5 | 0/6 | 0/7 | 0/6 | 1/15 |
| Infusion site erythemaGeneral disorders | 0/5 | 0/6 | 0/5 | 2/5 | 0/5 | 0/6 | 0/7 | 0/6 | 0/15 |
| Neck painMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders | 0/5 | 1/6 | 0/5 | 2/5 | 0/5 | 0/6 | 0/7 | 0/6 | 0/15 |
| Upper respiratory tract infectionInfections and infestations | 1/5 | 2/6 | 0/5 | 0/5 | 0/5 | 0/6 | 1/7 | 0/6 | 3/15 |
| VomitingGastrointestinal disorders | 1/5 | 0/6 | 0/5 | 0/5 | 0/5 | 2/6 | 0/7 | 0/6 | 0/15 |
| DiarrhoeaGastrointestinal disorders | 1/5 | 1/6 | 0/5 | 0/5 | 0/5 | 0/6 | 1/7 | 0/6 | 4/15 |
The Safety Set included all participants who received at least 1 dose of study drug.
| Age, Categorical(Participants) | Cohort 1: ALXN1820 12.5 mg SC | Cohort 2: ALXN1820 50 mg SC | Cohort 3: ALXN1820 150 mg SC | Cohort 4: ALXN1820 450 mg SC | Cohort 5: ALXN1820 450 mg IV | Cohort 6: ALXN1820 1200 mg SC | Cohort 8: ALXN1820 150 mg SC (QW*5) | Cohort 9: ALXN1820 150 mg SC (QW*5) | All Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| <=18 years | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Between 18 and 65 years | 5 | 6 | 5 | 5 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 6 | 15 | 60 |
| >=65 years | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Cohort 1: ALXN1820 12.5 mg SC | Cohort 2: ALXN1820 50 mg SC | Cohort 3: ALXN1820 150 mg SC | Cohort 4: ALXN1820 450 mg SC | Cohort 5: ALXN1820 450 mg IV | Cohort 6: ALXN1820 1200 mg SC | Cohort 8: ALXN1820 150 mg SC (QW*5) | Cohort 9: ALXN1820 150 mg SC (QW*5) | All Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 3 | 6 | 1 | 3 | 2 | 3 | 5 | 0 | 9 | 32 |
| Male | 2 | 0 | 4 | 2 | 3 | 3 | 2 | 6 | 6 | 28 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Cohort 1: ALXN1820 12.5 mg SC | Cohort 2: ALXN1820 50 mg SC | Cohort 3: ALXN1820 150 mg SC | Cohort 4: ALXN1820 450 mg SC | Cohort 5: ALXN1820 450 mg IV | Cohort 6: ALXN1820 1200 mg SC | Cohort 8: ALXN1820 150 mg SC (QW*5) | Cohort 9: ALXN1820 150 mg SC (QW*5) | All Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 2 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 5 | 4 | 5 | 4 | 3 | 6 | 7 | 6 | 12 | 52 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 6 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Cohort 1: ALXN1820 12.5 mg SC | Cohort 2: ALXN1820 50 mg SC | Cohort 3: ALXN1820 150 mg SC | Cohort 4: ALXN1820 450 mg SC | Cohort 5: ALXN1820 450 mg IV | Cohort 6: ALXN1820 1200 mg SC | Cohort 8: ALXN1820 150 mg SC (QW*5) | Cohort 9: ALXN1820 150 mg SC (QW*5) | All Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Asian | 2 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 6 | 3 | 12 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| Black or African American | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| White | 3 | 5 | 4 | 3 | 5 | 5 | 7 | 0 | 11 | 43 |
| More than one race | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 3 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
Plan to share: No
This study is completed, as verified in Jul 2024. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Alexion Pharmaceuticals, Inc.