A Phase 1/2 interventional study of CLS-AX and Anti-VEGF in Neovascular Age-related Macular Degeneration, sponsored by Clearside Biomedical, Inc.. Completed at 11 sites in United States. Open to participants aged 50 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2023-09-18.
Sponsored by Clearside Biomedical, Inc. · Phase 1/2, Interventional, and Treatment
To evaluate the safety and tolerability of suprachoroidally administered CLS-AX following intravitreal anti-VEGF therapy in subjects with neovascular age-related macular degeneration (AMD)
Multi-center, open-label, dose-escalation, phase 1/2a, safety and tolerability study to evaluate four dose groups of suprachoroidally administered CLS-AX following intravitreal anti-VEGF therapy in up to a maximum of 25 subjects with neovascular age-related macular degeneration
Clearside Biomedical, Inc. is the lead sponsor of 14 studies on the registry; none are open to participants now.
Of its 8 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 7 (88%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Go through the criteria one by one — yes, no or not sure — and take the list to your doctor or the study team. Kept in this browser only.
Exclusion Criteria:
Subjects will receive a low dose of 0.03 mg CLS-AX
Drug: CLS-AX · Drug: Anti-VEGF
Subjects will receive a low-mid dose of 0.10 mg CLS-AX
Drug: CLS-AX · Drug: Anti-VEGF
Subjects will receive a high-mid dose of 0.50 mg CLS-AX
Drug: CLS-AX · Drug: Anti-VEGF
Subjects will receive a high-mid dose of 1.0 mg CLS-AX
Drug: CLS-AX · Drug: Anti-VEGF
injectable suspension of small molecule tyrosine kinase inhibitor (TKI)
Also known as: axitinib injectable suspension
Standard of care therapy used to block vascular endothelial growth factor
Also known as: aflibercept (2mg)
Number of Participants With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs)
Number of participants with treatment-emergent adverse events (TEAEs) reported between the administration of CLS-AX and study exit.
Time frame: Day 1 to Week 12
Number of Participants With Serious Adverse Events
Number of participants with serious adverse events (SAEs) reported between the administration of CLS-AX and study exit.
Time frame: Day 1 to Week 12
Mean Change From Baseline in Pre Injection Intraocular Pressure (IOP)
Intraocular pressure (IOP) is a diagnostic measurement of the fluid pressure, measured in millimeters of mercury, inside the eye. IOP was measured using Goldmann applanation tonometry or by use of a Tonopen tonometer. Normal eye pressure is usually considered to be between 10 and 20 mmHg (AAO.org). Untreated elevated eye pressure is a risk factor for glaucoma.
Time frame: Weeks 4, 8 and 12.
Number of Participants Receiving Additional Intravitreal (IVT) Aflibercept Injections
Number of participants receiving additional intravitreal aflibercept injections during the course of the study for nAMD. Participants qualified to receive additional IVT aflibercept injections based on protocol-defined criteria, including 1) loss of 10 or more letters in BCVA compared to the best prior study-assessed BCVA in the study eye that was attributed to intra- or sub-retinal fluid, 2) increase in central subfield thickness \>75 microns from Baseline in the study eye, or 3) presence of vision-threatening hemorrhage due to AMD in the study eye. Additionally, a participant could receive additional IVT aflibercept injections in the study eye for reasons beyond the protocol-defined criteria if it was in the participant's best interest per the Investigator's judgment following best medical practice.
Time frame: From Day 1 to Week 12
Number of Participants Qualifying to Receive Additional Intravitreal (IVT) Aflibercept Injections
Number of participants qualifying to receive additional intravitreal aflibercept injections during the course of the study. Criteria included 1) loss of 10 or more letters in BCVA compared to the best prior study-assessed BCVA in the study eye that was attributed to intra- or sub-retinal fluid, 2) increase in central subfield thickness \>75 microns from Baseline in the study eye, or 3) presence of vision-threatening hemorrhage due to AMD in the study eye.
Time frame: Day 1 to Week 12
Mean Change From Baseline (Visit 2) in Central Subfield Thickness (CST) in the Study Eye
Central subfield thickness (CST) is a diagnostic measurement used in identifying the presence of edema in the circular area 1 mm in diameter centered around the fovea. CST was measured using spectral domain optical coherence tomography (SD-OCT). A central reading center graded the SD-OCT digital images. A negative change from baseline value represents a reduction in macular edema. Only images that were gradable by the central reading center were included in the analysis.
Time frame: Weeks 4, 8 and 12
Mean Change From Baseline (Visit 2) in Best Corrected Visual Acuity (BCVA) Letter Score in the Study Eye
BCVA measured on the Early Treatment Diabetic Retinopathy Study (ETDRS) chart at a starting test distance of 4 meters. The BCVA letter score ranges from 0 to 100 (best score attainable), and a gain in BCVA letter score from baseline indicates an improvement in visual acuity.
Time frame: Weeks 4, 8 and 12
Maximum Plasma Concentration [Cmax] of Axitinib
Maximum (or peak) plasma concentration of axitinib during the course of the study. Plasma samples were collected pre-dose at Baseline, 60 minutes post-dose at Baseline, and at Weeks 4 and 12. Peak quantifiable levels, based on a lower level of quantitation (LLOQ) of 0.01 ng/mL, were included in the analysis.
Time frame: Day 1 to Week 12
| Milestone | Cohort 1 (Low Dose) | Cohort 2 (Low-mid Dose) | Cohort 3 (High-mid Dose) | Cohort 4 (High Dose) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Started | 6 | 5 | 8 | 8 |
| Safety population | 6 | 5 | 8 | 8 |
| Pharmacokinetic population | 6 | 5 | 8 | 8 |
| Completed | 6 | 4 | 8 | 8 |
| Not completed | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 |
Number of participants with treatment-emergent adverse events (TEAEs) reported between the administration of CLS-AX and study exit.
| Participants | Cohort 1 (Low Dose) | Cohort 2 (Low-mid Dose) | Cohort 3 (High-mid Dose) | Cohort 4 (High Dose) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Number of Participants With Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) | 1 | 2 | 1 | 3 |
Number of participants with serious adverse events (SAEs) reported between the administration of CLS-AX and study exit.
| Participants | Cohort 1 (Low Dose) | Cohort 2 (Low-mid Dose) | Cohort 3 (High-mid Dose) | Cohort 4 (High Dose) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Number of Participants With Serious Adverse Events | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Intraocular pressure (IOP) is a diagnostic measurement of the fluid pressure, measured in millimeters of mercury, inside the eye. IOP was measured using Goldmann applanation tonometry or by use of a Tonopen tonometer. Normal eye pressure is usually considered to be between 10 and 20 mmHg (AAO.org). Untreated elevated eye pressure is a risk factor for glaucoma.
| mmHg | Cohort 1 (Low Dose) | Cohort 2 (Low-mid Dose) | Cohort 3 (High-mid Dose) | Cohort 4 (High Dose) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Week 4 | -2.8 ± 4.67 | -1.8 ± 4.15 | -0.3 ± 0.95 | 0.0 ± 4.66 |
| Week 8 | -3.0 ± 3.16 | 0.6 ± 2.79 | 0.6 ± 1.90 | 1.6 ± 4.43 |
| Week 12 | -3.0 ± 4.34 | 0.5 ± 1.91 | 0.9 ± 3.27 | 0.0 ± 3.38 |
Number of participants receiving additional intravitreal aflibercept injections during the course of the study for nAMD. Participants qualified to receive additional IVT aflibercept injections based on protocol-defined criteria, including 1) loss of 10 or more letters in BCVA compared to the best prior study-assessed BCVA in the study eye that was attributed to intra- or sub-retinal fluid, 2) increase in central subfield thickness \>75 microns from Baseline in the study eye, or 3) presence of vision-threatening hemorrhage due to AMD in the study eye. Additionally, a participant could receive additional IVT aflibercept injections in the study eye for reasons beyond the protocol-defined criteria if it was in the participant's best interest per the Investigator's judgment following best medical practice.
| Participants | Cohort 1 (Low Dose) | Cohort 2 (Low-mid Dose) | Cohort 3 (High-mid Dose) | Cohort 4 (High Dose) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Week 4 | 0 | 1 | 1 | 4 |
| Week 8 | 4 | 2 | 1 | 1 |
| Week 12 | 1 | 2 | 1 | 1 |
| Day 1 to Week 12 | 4 | 4 | 2 | 4 |
Number of participants qualifying to receive additional intravitreal aflibercept injections during the course of the study. Criteria included 1) loss of 10 or more letters in BCVA compared to the best prior study-assessed BCVA in the study eye that was attributed to intra- or sub-retinal fluid, 2) increase in central subfield thickness \>75 microns from Baseline in the study eye, or 3) presence of vision-threatening hemorrhage due to AMD in the study eye.
| Participants | Cohort 1 (Low Dose) | Cohort 2 (Low-mid Dose) | Cohort 3 (High-mid Dose) | Cohort 4 (High Dose) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Week 4 | 0 | 1 | 1 | 3 |
| Week 8 | 4 | 2 | 1 | 0 |
| Week 12 | 1 | 2 | 2 | 2 |
| Day 1 to Week 12 | 4 | 4 | 2 | 3 |
Central subfield thickness (CST) is a diagnostic measurement used in identifying the presence of edema in the circular area 1 mm in diameter centered around the fovea. CST was measured using spectral domain optical coherence tomography (SD-OCT). A central reading center graded the SD-OCT digital images. A negative change from baseline value represents a reduction in macular edema. Only images that were gradable by the central reading center were included in the analysis.
| microns | Cohort 1 (Low Dose) | Cohort 2 (Low-mid Dose) | Cohort 3 (High-mid Dose) | Cohort 4 (High Dose) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Week 4 | 22.3 ± 23.46 | 22.0 ± 17.83 | 21.1 ± 22.62 | 26.6 ± 26.45 |
| Week 8 | 62.8 ± 57.60 | 21.8 ± 32.58 | 21.9 ± 25.75 | 9.9 ± 17.87 |
| Week 12 | 8.8 ± 14.50 | 45.8 ± 69.72 | 29.1 ± 37.89 | 18.6 ± 27.33 |
BCVA measured on the Early Treatment Diabetic Retinopathy Study (ETDRS) chart at a starting test distance of 4 meters. The BCVA letter score ranges from 0 to 100 (best score attainable), and a gain in BCVA letter score from baseline indicates an improvement in visual acuity.
| letters | Cohort 1 (Low Dose) | Cohort 2 (Low-mid Dose) | Cohort 3 (High-mid Dose) | Cohort 4 (High Dose) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Week 4 | 4.7 ± 3.78 | 0.2 ± 1.64 | -0.6 ± 4.61 | 1.0 ± 2.20 |
| Week 8 | -0.2 ± 7.41 | -3.6 ± 2.30 | 0.6 ± 5.83 | 1.6 ± 2.94 |
| Week 12 | 2.2 ± 4.92 | -6.3 ± 9.18 | -2.1 ± 4.45 | 0.3 ± 3.28 |
Maximum (or peak) plasma concentration of axitinib during the course of the study. Plasma samples were collected pre-dose at Baseline, 60 minutes post-dose at Baseline, and at Weeks 4 and 12. Peak quantifiable levels, based on a lower level of quantitation (LLOQ) of 0.01 ng/mL, were included in the analysis.
| ng/mL | Cohort 1 (Low Dose) | Cohort 2 (Low-mid Dose) | Cohort 3 (High-mid Dose) | Cohort 4 (High Dose) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Maximum Plasma Concentration [Cmax] of Axitinib | 0.0101 ± 0.00949 | 0.0264 ± 0.0242 | 0.0749 ± 0.111 | 0.0602 ± 0.0251 |
Collected over Adverse events were collected over 12 weeks following CLS-AX administration.. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cohort 1 (Low Dose) | 0/6 (0%) | 0/6 (0%) | 1/6 (16.7%) |
| Cohort 2 (Low-mid Dose) | 0/5 (0%) | 0/5 (0%) | 2/5 (40%) |
| Cohort 3 (High-mid Dose) | 0/8 (0%) | 0/8 (0%) | 1/8 (12.5%) |
| Cohort 4 (High Dose) | 0/8 (0%) | 0/8 (0%) | 3/8 (37.5%) |
| Event | Cohort 1 (Low Dose) | Cohort 2 (Low-mid Dose) | Cohort 3 (High-mid Dose) | Cohort 4 (High Dose) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Macular degenerationEye disorders | 0/6 | 2/5 | 0/8 | 1/8 |
| CystitisInfections and infestations | 0/6 | 1/5 | 0/8 | 0/8 |
| Transient ischaemic attackNervous system disorders | 0/6 | 1/5 | 0/8 | 0/8 |
| Atrial fibrillationCardiac disorders | 1/6 | 0/5 | 0/8 | 0/8 |
| Conjunctival haemorrhageEye disorders | 1/6 | 0/5 | 1/8 | 0/8 |
| Ventricular extrasystolesCardiac disorders | 0/6 | 0/5 | 0/8 | 1/8 |
| Conjunctival oedemaEye disorders | 0/6 | 0/5 | 1/8 | 0/8 |
| Urinary tract infectionInfections and infestations | 0/6 | 0/5 | 1/8 | 0/8 |
| Blood lactate dehydrogenase increasedInvestigations | 0/6 | 0/5 | 0/8 | 1/8 |
| InsomniaPsychiatric disorders | 0/6 | 0/5 | 0/8 | 1/8 |
| Age, Continuous(years) | Cohort 1 (Low Dose) | Cohort 2 (Low-mid Dose) | Cohort 3 (High-mid Dose) | Cohort 4 (High Dose) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 81.8 ± 11.55 | 78.2 ± 10.92 | 86.3 ± 6.48 | 76.5 ± 5.78 | 80.9 ± 8.98 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Cohort 1 (Low Dose) | Cohort 2 (Low-mid Dose) | Cohort 3 (High-mid Dose) | Cohort 4 (High Dose) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 2 | 3 | 5 | 5 | 15 |
| Male | 4 | 2 | 3 | 3 | 12 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Cohort 1 (Low Dose) | Cohort 2 (Low-mid Dose) | Cohort 3 (High-mid Dose) | Cohort 4 (High Dose) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 6 | 5 | 8 | 8 | 27 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Cohort 1 (Low Dose) | Cohort 2 (Low-mid Dose) | Cohort 3 (High-mid Dose) | Cohort 4 (High Dose) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Asian | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Black or African American | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| White | 6 | 5 | 8 | 8 | 27 |
| More than one race | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Region of Enrollment(participants) | Cohort 1 (Low Dose) | Cohort 2 (Low-mid Dose) | Cohort 3 (High-mid Dose) | Cohort 4 (High Dose) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| United States | 6 | 5 | 8 | 8 | 27 |
| Duration of nAMD Diagnosis in the Study Eye(months) | Cohort 1 (Low Dose) | Cohort 2 (Low-mid Dose) | Cohort 3 (High-mid Dose) | Cohort 4 (High Dose) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 50.13 ± 34.131 | 49.78 ± 21.905 | 66.64 ± 41.081 | 48.21 ± 48.045 | 54.39 ± 37.945 |
| Total Number of Prior nAMD Treatments in the Study Eye(Participants) | Cohort 1 (Low Dose) | Cohort 2 (Low-mid Dose) | Cohort 3 (High-mid Dose) | Cohort 4 (High Dose) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 0-2 injections | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| 3-6 injections | 1 | 0 | 2 | 2 | 5 |
| 7-12 injections | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 | 2 |
| 13-18 injections | 1 | 2 | 1 | 0 | 4 |
| >18 injections | 4 | 2 | 5 | 5 | 16 |
| Pre injection Intraocular Pressure in the Study Eye at Baseline(mmHg) | Cohort 1 (Low Dose) | Cohort 2 (Low-mid Dose) | Cohort 3 (High-mid Dose) | Cohort 4 (High Dose) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 15.3 ± 3.08 | 15.2 ± 2.39 | 13.3 ± 2.76 | 15.4 ± 3.81 | 14.7 ± 3.10 |
2 further baseline measures are reported on the registry.
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
Plan to share: No
This study is completed, as verified in Aug 2023. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Studies of the drug tested here: Bevacizumab
Clearside Biomedical, Inc.