A Phase 3 interventional study of Benralizumab and Placebo in Bullous Pemphigoid, sponsored by AstraZeneca. Terminated at 39 sites in 11 countries. Open to participants aged 18 Years to 130 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2024-11-29.
Sponsored by AstraZeneca · Phase 3, Interventional, and Treatment
The purpose of this study is to investigate the use of benralizumab is effective in the treatment of patients symptomatic Bullous Pemphigoid (BP).
Bullous pemphigoid (BP) is a rare disease mainly affecting the elderly. BP is associated with significant morbidity and increased mortality secondary to increased risk of secondary infections, comorbid conditions, and serious side effects from high-dose steroids and immunosuppressants. The aim of this study is to investigate the use of benralizumab as a treatment for patients symptomatic with Bullous Pemphigoid (BP).
73 studies on the registry are indexed under Pemphigoid, Bullous; 11 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 67 is above the median of 29 across 43 interventional studies indexed under Pemphigoid, Bullous.
Browse Pemphigoid, Bullous studies →AstraZeneca is the lead sponsor of 3,429 studies on the registry; 270 are open to participants now.
Of its 357 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 173 (48%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Participants are eligible to be included in the study only if all of the following criteria apply:
Informed Consent/Age
Adult participants ≥ 18 years of age at the time of signing the ICF.
Type of Participant and Disease Characteristics
Participants must have clinical features of BP (eg, urticarial or eczematous or erythematous plaques, bullae, pruritus) at the screening visit and confirmed diagnosis with histology, direct immunofluorescence, and serology at randomization. Required for inclusion:
(i) indirect immunofluorescence (IgG on the roof of salt- split skin). (ii) positive serology on ELISA for BPAG1 (230-kd). (iii) positive serology on ELISA for BPAG2 (180-kd).
Sex 7 Male or female.
Reproduction 8 Female participants capable of having children must meet both of the following conditions ([a] and [b]):
(a) Have a negative urine pregnancy test at screening and (b) Must agree to use a highly effective method of birth control (confirmed by the investigator) from randomization throughout the study duration and within 12 weeks after last dose of IP. Highly effective forms (those that can achieve a failure rate of less than 1% per year when used consistently and correctly) of birth control include: (i) Combined (estrogen and progestogen containing) hormonal contraception associated with inhibition of ovulation - oral, intravaginal, or transdermal.
(ii) Progestogen-only hormonal contraception associated with inhibition of ovulation - oral, injectable, or implantable.
(iii) Intrauterine device. (iv) Intrauterine hormone-releasing system. (v) Bilateral tubal occlusion. (vi) Sexual abstinence, ie, refraining from heterosexual intercourse (the reliability of sexual abstinence needs to be evaluated in relation to the duration of the clinical study and the preferred and usual lifestyle of the participant).
(vii) Vasectomized sexual partner provided that partner is the sole sexual partner of the female of childbearing potential (FOCBP) study participant and that the vasectomized partner has received medical assessment of the surgical success.
(c) Females not of childbearing potential are defined as females who are either permanently sterilized (hysterectomy, bilateral oophorectomy, or bilateral salpingectomy), or who are postmenopausal. Females will be considered postmenopausal if they have been amenorrhoeic for ≥ 12 months prior to the planned date of randomization without an alternative medical cause. The following age-specific requirements apply: (i) Females \< 50 years old will be considered postmenopausal if they have been amenorrhoeic for 12 months or more following cessation of exogenous hormonal treatment and follicle-stimulating hormone (FSH) levels in the postmenopausal range. Until FSH is documented to be within menopausal range, treat the participant as a female of childbearing potential.
(ii) Females ≥ 50 years old will be considered postmenopausal if they have been amenorrhoeic for 12 months or more following cessation of all exogenous hormonal treatment.
Exclusion Criteria:
Participants are excluded from the study if any of the following criteria apply:
Medical Conditions
Current or history of malignancy within 5 years before the screening visit with the following exceptions:
Current active liver disease.
A history of known immunodeficiency disorder including a positive human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) test.
Prior/Concomitant Therapy
Use of immunosuppressive medication, including, but not limited to: methotrexate, cyclosporine, azathioprine, within 4 weeks or 5 half-lives prior to the date informed consent is obtained, whichever is longer.
Other Exclusions
For females only: Currently pregnant, breastfeeding, or lactating females.
(a) A urine pregnancy test must be performed for FOCBP at Visit 1. A positive urine test result must be confirmed with a serum pregnancy test. If serum test is positive, the participant should be excluded.
Benralizumab subcutaneously (SC) loading dose followed by repeat dosing of SC benralizumab plus Oral Corticosteroids per SoC tapering. Open-Label (OLE): after completion of the double-blind treatment period, all participants will have the option of entering an OLE period, starting at week 36 benralizumab SC until study closure.
Biological: Benralizumab
Placebo plus Oral Corticosteroids per SoC tapering. Open-Label (OLE): after completion of the double-blind treatment period, all participants will have the option of entering an OLE period, starting at week 36 benralizumab SC until study closure.
Biological: Placebo
Benralizumab subcutaneously (SC) loading dose followed by repeat dosing of SC benralizumab plus Oral Corticosteroids per SoC tapering. Open-Label (OLE): after completion of the double-blind treatment period, all participants will have the option of entering an OLE period, starting at week 36 benralizumab SC until study closure.
Also known as: Benralizumab, Benra, Fasenra
Placebo plus Oral Corticosteroids per SoC tapering. Open-Label (OLE): after completion of the double-blind treatment period, all participants will have the option of entering an OLE period, starting at week 36 benralizumab SC until study closure.
Percentage of Responders at Week 36
A responder was defined as a participant who was in complete remission while off OCS for ≥2 months at Week 36.
Time frame: At Week 36
Percentage of Participants Who Remained Relapse-Free up to Week 36
Relapse was defined as the appearance of 3 or more new lesions per month (blisters, eczematous lesions, or urticarial plaques); or at least 1 large (\>10 centimeter \[cm\] diameter) eczematous lesion or urticarial plaques that did not heal within 1 week; or the extension of established lesions or daily pruritus in participants who had achieved disease control.
Time frame: Up to Week 36
Cumulative OCS Exposure From Baseline to Week 36
The cumulative OCS exposure was estimated as the sum over the relevant 4-week periods from the mixed-effect model for repeated measures (MMRM) model. Baseline was defined as the last recorded value on or prior to the date of randomization. Equivalents were prednisone equivalents (converted from mg).
Time frame: Baseline (Day 1) and Week 36
Change From Baseline in Bullous Pemphigoid Disease Area Index (BPDAI) Activity Score at Week 36
BPDAI is a clinician completed tool that is used for independent disease severity assessment to measure disease extent in BP. The total BPDAI activity score is calculated as the arithmetic sum of the 3 subcomponents - cutaneous blisters/erosions, cutaneous urticaria/erythema, and mucosal blisters/erosions. The BPDAI total activity gives an indication of disease activity, with score range from 0 (no disease activity) to 360 (severe disease activity). Higher scores indicating greater disease activity. Baseline was defined as the last recorded value on or prior to the date of randomization.
Time frame: Baseline (Day 1) and Week 36
Change From Baseline in BPDAI-Pruritus Score at Week 36
The BPDAI-Pruritus is a separate component of the BPDAI that asks the participant to grade the severity of pruritus over the past 24 hours, the past week, and the past month. For each recall period, severity of pruritus is rated on a numeric rating scale (NRS) ranging from 0 for no itch to 10 for maximal itching. The BPDAI-Pruritus score was computed as the sum of 3 components ranging from 0 to 30. Higher scores indicated worse condition. Baseline was defined as the last recorded value on or prior to the date of randomization.
Time frame: Baseline (Day 1) and Week 36
Cumulative OCS Exposure From Baseline to Week 16
The cumulative OCS exposure was estimated as the sum over the relevant 4-week periods from the MMRM model. Baseline was defined as the last recorded value on or prior to the date of randomization. Equivalents were prednisone equivalents (converted from mg).
Time frame: Baseline (Day 1) and Week 16
This study was conducted in adult participants with symptomatic bullous pemphigoid (BP) at 32 sites in 11 countries. Study consisted of screening period, double-blind (DB) period in which 67 participants were randomized in 1:1 ratio to either receive benralizumab or placebo for 36 weeks followed by optional open-label extension (OLE) period (for participants who completed the DB period), in which all participants received benralizumab for at least 1 year.
| Milestone | DB Period: Benralizumab | DB Period: Placebo | OLE Period: Benralizumab (DB)/Benralizumab (OLE) | OLE Period: Placebo (DB)/Benralizumab (OLE)- |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Started | 34 | 33 | 0 | 0 |
| Completed | 16 | 19 | 0 | 0 |
| Not completed | 18 | 14 | 0 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Death | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Adverse event | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Study terminated by sponsor | 8 | 6 | 0 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject | 2 | 4 | 0 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Physician decision | 4 | 3 | 0 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Other | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Milestone | DB Period: Benralizumab | DB Period: Placebo | OLE Period: Benralizumab (DB)/Benralizumab (OLE) | OLE Period: Placebo (DB)/Benralizumab (OLE)- |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Started | 0 | 0 | 16 | 18 |
| Randomized but did not receive treatment in ole period | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| Completed | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Not completed | 0 | 0 | 16 | 18 |
| Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| Withdrew: Investigator decision | 0 | 0 | 2 | 1 |
| Withdrew: Study terminated by sponsor | 0 | 0 | 14 | 15 |
| Withdrew: Other | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
A responder was defined as a participant who was in complete remission while off OCS for ≥2 months at Week 36.
| Percentage of participants | DB Period: Benralizumab | DB Period: Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Percentage of Responders at Week 36 | 11.1 (-2.70 to 26.11) | 5.26 (-5.06 to 15.07) |
Relapse was defined as the appearance of 3 or more new lesions per month (blisters, eczematous lesions, or urticarial plaques); or at least 1 large (\>10 centimeter \[cm\] diameter) eczematous lesion or urticarial plaques that did not heal within 1 week; or the extension of established lesions or daily pruritus in participants who had achieved disease control.
| Percentage of participants | DB Period: Benralizumab | DB Period: Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Percentage of Participants Who Remained Relapse-Free up to Week 36 | 23.78 (5.95 to 41.61) | 19.79 (1.43 to 38.15) |
The cumulative OCS exposure was estimated as the sum over the relevant 4-week periods from the mixed-effect model for repeated measures (MMRM) model. Baseline was defined as the last recorded value on or prior to the date of randomization. Equivalents were prednisone equivalents (converted from mg).
| mg per kilogram (mg/kg) | DB Period: Benralizumab | DB Period: Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Cumulative OCS Exposure From Baseline to Week 36 | 71.37 ± 63.19 | 62.71 ± 46.90 |
BPDAI is a clinician completed tool that is used for independent disease severity assessment to measure disease extent in BP. The total BPDAI activity score is calculated as the arithmetic sum of the 3 subcomponents - cutaneous blisters/erosions, cutaneous urticaria/erythema, and mucosal blisters/erosions. The BPDAI total activity gives an indication of disease activity, with score range from 0 (no disease activity) to 360 (severe disease activity). Higher scores indicating greater disease activity. Baseline was defined as the last recorded value on or prior to the date of randomization.
| Score on a scale | DB Period: Benralizumab | DB Period: Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Change From Baseline in Bullous Pemphigoid Disease Area Index (BPDAI) Activity Score at Week 36 | -53.29 ± 46.33 | -52.75 ± 17.36 |
The BPDAI-Pruritus is a separate component of the BPDAI that asks the participant to grade the severity of pruritus over the past 24 hours, the past week, and the past month. For each recall period, severity of pruritus is rated on a numeric rating scale (NRS) ranging from 0 for no itch to 10 for maximal itching. The BPDAI-Pruritus score was computed as the sum of 3 components ranging from 0 to 30. Higher scores indicated worse condition. Baseline was defined as the last recorded value on or prior to the date of randomization.
| Score on a scale | DB Period: Benralizumab | DB Period: Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Change From Baseline in BPDAI-Pruritus Score at Week 36 | -5.57 ± 7.23 | -16.58 ± 9.21 |
The cumulative OCS exposure was estimated as the sum over the relevant 4-week periods from the MMRM model. Baseline was defined as the last recorded value on or prior to the date of randomization. Equivalents were prednisone equivalents (converted from mg).
| mg/kg | DB Period: Benralizumab | DB Period: Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Cumulative OCS Exposure From Baseline to Week 16 | 46.90 ± 27.19 | 42.15 ± 33.33 |
Collected over All-cause mortality, serious adverse events (SAEs) and non-serious AEs were collected from first dose of study treatment (Day 1) up to study termination (approximately 133 weeks).. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| DB Period: Benralizumab | 1/34 (2.9%) | 9/34 (26.5%) | 22/34 (64.7%) |
| DB Period: Placebo | 1/33 (3%) | 8/33 (24.2%) | 23/33 (69.7%) |
| OLE Period: Benralizumab (DB)/Benralizumab (OLE) | 0/16 (0%) | 4/16 (25%) | 8/16 (50%) |
| OLE Period: Placebo (DB)/Benralizumab (OLE) | 0/18 (0%) | 2/18 (11.1%) | 8/18 (44.4%) |
| Event | DB Period: Benralizumab | DB Period: Placebo | OLE Period: Benralizumab (DB)/Benralizumab (OLE) | OLE Period: Placebo (DB)/Benralizumab (OLE) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Covid-19Infections and infestations | 0/34 | 0/33 | 2/16 | 0/18 |
| OsteoarthritisMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders | 0/34 | 0/33 | 2/16 | 0/18 |
| PemphigoidSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders | 4/34 | 1/33 | 0/16 | 0/18 |
| SepsisInfections and infestations | 0/34 | 1/33 | 0/16 | 1/18 |
| HypotensionVascular disorders | 0/34 | 0/33 | 0/16 | 1/18 |
| CellulitisInfections and infestations | 0/34 | 1/33 | 0/16 | 0/18 |
| Pneumocystis jirovecii pneumoniaInfections and infestations | 0/34 | 1/33 | 0/16 | 0/18 |
| Pneumonia aspirationInfections and infestations | 0/34 | 1/33 | 0/16 | 0/18 |
| Staphylococcal sepsisInfections and infestations | 0/34 | 1/33 | 0/16 | 0/18 |
| FallInjury, poisoning and procedural complications | 0/34 | 1/33 | 0/16 | 0/18 |
| Event | DB Period: Benralizumab | DB Period: Placebo | OLE Period: Benralizumab (DB)/Benralizumab (OLE) | OLE Period: Placebo (DB)/Benralizumab (OLE) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Covid-19Infections and infestations | 6/34 | 4/33 | 0/16 | 1/18 |
| ArthralgiaMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders | 0/34 | 2/33 | 2/16 | 2/18 |
| OsteoarthritisMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders | 0/34 | 0/33 | 2/16 | 0/18 |
| Oedema peripheralGeneral disorders | 4/34 | 2/33 | 0/16 | 0/18 |
| Herpes zosterInfections and infestations | 4/34 | 2/33 | 0/16 | 0/18 |
| ContusionInjury, poisoning and procedural complications | 0/34 | 3/33 | 0/16 | 0/18 |
| HypertensionVascular disorders | 3/34 | 2/33 | 1/16 | 1/18 |
| Hiatus herniaGastrointestinal disorders | 0/34 | 0/33 | 1/16 | 0/18 |
| Body tineaInfections and infestations | 0/34 | 0/33 | 1/16 | 0/18 |
| NasopharyngitisInfections and infestations | 2/34 | 0/33 | 1/16 | 1/18 |
Full analysis set (FAS) included all randomized participants who received at least 1 dose of investigational product (IP), irrespective of their protocol adherence and continued participation in the study.
| Age, Continuous(Years) | DB Period: Benralizumab | DB Period: Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 68.0 ± 10.4 | 72.5 ± 11.4 | 70.2 ± 11.1 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | DB Period: Benralizumab | DB Period: Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 20 | 22 | 42 |
| Male | 14 | 11 | 25 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | DB Period: Benralizumab | DB Period: Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 34 | 32 | 66 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | DB Period: Benralizumab | DB Period: Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Asian | 14 | 13 | 27 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Black or African American | 2 | 0 | 2 |
| White | 16 | 20 | 36 |
| More than one race | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 2 | 0 | 2 |
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
Plan to share: Yes — Qualified researchers can request access to anonymized individual patient-level data from AstraZeneca group of companies sponsored clinical trials via the request portal. All request will be evaluated as per the AZ disclosure commitment: https://astrazenecagrouptrials.pharmacm.com/ST/Submission/Disclosure
Supporting information: Study protocol, Sap
This study is terminated, as verified in Nov 2024. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
AstraZeneca