A Phase 2 interventional study of GLS-1027 and Placebo in Pneumonitis and SARS-CoV Infection, sponsored by GeneOne Life Science, Inc.. Completed at 17 sites in 5 countries. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2025-04-11.
Sponsored by GeneOne Life Science, Inc. · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment
This clinical trial will evaluate the safety, tolerability and efficacy of GLS-1027 in the prevention of severe pneumonitis caused by SARS-CoV-2 infection
This Phase II randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, study will assess 2 different doses of GLS-1027 in the prevention of severe pneumonitis among those hospitalized with PCR confirmed SARS-CoV-2 infection. Subjects will be randomized at a 1:1:1 ratio to either Standard of Care (SOC) plus placebo, or SOC plus GLS-1027 at either 120 mg or 360 mg daily. Clinical status will be monitored through 56 days from the initiation of treatment.
6,687 studies on the registry are indexed under Infections; 807 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 132 is close to the median of 120 across 4,200 interventional studies indexed under Infections.
Browse Infections studies →GeneOne Life Science, Inc. is the lead sponsor of 13 studies on the registry; none are open to participants now.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Exclusion Criteria:
One 120 mg pill of GLS-1027 + 2 Placebo pills given by mouth once daily
Drug: GLS-1027
Three 120 mg pills of GLS-1027 given by mouth once daily
Drug: GLS-1027
Three Placebo pills given by mouth once daily
Drug: Placebo
GLS-1027 is an oral medication with high bioavailability that has IL-6 and IL-1β inhibitory activity.
Placebo looks like GLS-1027
Number of Serious Adverse Events Relative to Treatment Group
Time frame: 28 days
Number of Treatment Failures at Day 28 From Enrollment
Time frame: 28 days
Assess the Number of Days of Hospitalization Relative to Treatment Group
Time frame: 28 days
Assess the Number of Days Requiring ICU Care Relative to Treatment Group
Time frame: 28 days
Assess the Number of Days of NIV, High-flow O2, or Mechanical Ventilation Relative to Treatment Group
Time frame: 28 days
Assess the Maximal Level of Positive End-Expiratory Pressure (PEEP) for Subjects Who Are Intubated Relative to Treatment Group.
Time frame: 28 days
Assess the Number of Days of PEEP > 5 cm H2O for Subjects Who Are Intubated Relative to Treatment Group
Time frame: 28 days
| Milestone | GLS-1027 120 mg | GLS-1027 360 mg | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|
| Started | 42 | 46 | 44 |
| Completed | 39 | 43 | 41 |
| Not completed | 3 | 3 | 3 |
| participants | GLS-1027 120 mg | GLS-1027 360 mg | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|
| Number of Serious Adverse Events Relative to Treatment Group | 1 | 3 | 0 |
| participants | GLS-1027 120 mg | GLS-1027 360 mg | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|
| Number of Treatment Failures at Day 28 From Enrollment | 1 | 3 | 2 |
| days | GLS-1027 120 mg | GLS-1027 360 mg | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|
| Assess the Number of Days of Hospitalization Relative to Treatment Group | 9.3 ± 4.20 | 9.3 ± 3.65 | 9.4 ± 4.10 |
| Days ICU care | GLS-1027 120 mg | GLS-1027 360 mg | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|
| Assess the Number of Days Requiring ICU Care Relative to Treatment Group | 0 (0 to 0) | 4 (4 to 4) | 0 (0 to 0) |
| days | GLS-1027 120 mg | GLS-1027 360 mg | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|
| Assess the Number of Days of NIV, High-flow O2, or Mechanical Ventilation Relative to Treatment Group | 6.7 ± 4.86 | 7.4 ± 4.43 | 6.1 ± 4.03 |
| cm H2O | GLS-1027 120 mg | GLS-1027 360 mg | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|
| Assess the Maximal Level of Positive End-Expiratory Pressure (PEEP) for Subjects Who Are Intubated Relative to Treatment Group. | 0 (0 to 0) | 0 (0 to 0) | 0 (0 to 0) |
| Days intubated PEEP > 5 cm H2O | GLS-1027 120 mg | GLS-1027 360 mg | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|
| Assess the Number of Days of PEEP > 5 cm H2O for Subjects Who Are Intubated Relative to Treatment Group | 0 (0 to 0) | 0 (0 to 0) | 0 (0 to 0) |
Collected over Adverse events were collected from the time of consent, daily while hospitalized (up to 15 days) and at days 28 and 56 by hospital records or telephone if discharged.. Non-serious events are listed at a 3% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| GLS-1027 120 mg | 1/42 (2.4%) | 1/42 (2.4%) | 2/42 (4.8%) |
| GLS-1027 360 mg | 1/46 (2.2%) | 3/46 (6.5%) | 3/46 (6.5%) |
| Placebo | 0/44 (0%) | 0/44 (0%) | 1/44 (2.3%) |
| Event | GLS-1027 120 mg | GLS-1027 360 mg | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cardiopulmonary failureCardiac disorders | 1/42 | 0/46 | 0/44 |
| Cerebrovascular accidentNervous system disorders | 0/42 | 1/46 | 0/44 |
| Ischaemic strokeNervous system disorders | 0/42 | 1/46 | 0/44 |
| Respiratory failureRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 0/42 | 1/46 | 0/44 |
| Event | GLS-1027 120 mg | GLS-1027 360 mg | Placebo |
|---|---|---|---|
| Oral CandidiasisInfections and infestations | 2/42 | 3/46 | 1/44 |
| Age, Categorical(Participants) | GLS-1027 120 mg | GLS-1027 360 mg | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| <=18 years | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Between 18 and 65 years | 28 | 32 | 38 | 98 |
| >=65 years | 14 | 14 | 6 | 34 |
| Age, Continuous(years) | GLS-1027 120 mg | GLS-1027 360 mg | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 52.7 ± 16.81 | 53.9 ± 15.38 | 52.2 ± 13.23 | 53.0 ± 15.09 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | GLS-1027 120 mg | GLS-1027 360 mg | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 27 | 28 | 27 | 82 |
| Male | 15 | 18 | 17 | 50 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | GLS-1027 120 mg | GLS-1027 360 mg | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 42 | 46 | 44 | 132 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | GLS-1027 120 mg | GLS-1027 360 mg | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Asian | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Black or African American | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| White | 42 | 46 | 44 | 132 |
| More than one race | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Region of Enrollment(participants) | GLS-1027 120 mg | GLS-1027 360 mg | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| North Macedonia | 35 | 34 | 36 | 105 |
| Bulgaria | 7 | 11 | 7 | 25 |
| United States | 0 | 1 | 1 | 2 |
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
Plan to share: No
This study is completed, as verified in Mar 2025. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
GeneOne Life Science, Inc.