CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT04542291Updated Feb 14, 2023Results posted

Targeting Pancreatic Cancer With Sodium Glucose Transporter 2 (SGLT2) Inhibition

A Phase 1 interventional study of Dapagliflozin and BIOSENSE meters in Pancreas Cancer, Pancreatic Cancer and Cancer of the Pancreas, sponsored by Washington University School of Medicine. Completed at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2023-02-14.

Sponsored by Washington University School of Medicine · Phase 1, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 1
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
15
Allocation
Not applicable
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

This is a first-in-human, pilot study of the feasibility and safety of dapagliflozin (in addition to standard of care treatment) for the treatment of patients with metastatic pancreatic ductal adenocarcinoma. The primary hypothesis is that dapagliflozin is well-tolerated and safe to use in this patient population. The investigators also hypothesize that dapagliflozin will be efficacious as an adjunct to front-line chemotherapy assessed by decreased tumor markers mediated by its pleiotropic metabolic effects.

02

Conditions studied

  • Pancreas Cancer
  • Pancreatic Cancer
  • Cancer of the Pancreas
03

In context

Pancreatic Neoplasms

3,235 studies on the registry are indexed under Pancreatic Neoplasms; 899 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 15 is below the median of 46 across 2,424 interventional studies indexed under Pancreatic Neoplasms.

Browse Pancreatic Neoplasms studies →

Lead sponsor

Washington University School of Medicine is the lead sponsor of 1,765 studies on the registry; 271 are open to participants now.

Of its 324 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 212 (65%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • Histologically or cytologically confirmed metastatic or locally advanced pancreatic ductal adenocarcinoma, pancreatic adenosquamous carcinoma or squamous cell carcinoma
  • Patients with treated/stable brain metastases, defined as patients who have received prior therapy for their brain metastases and whose CNS disease is radiographically stable at study entry, are eligible.
  • Measurable disease defined as lesions that can be accurately measured in at least one dimension (longest diameter to be recorded) as ≥ 10 mm with CT scan, as ≥ 20 mm by chest x-ray, or ≥ 10 mm with calipers by clinical exam.
  • No prior systemic therapy for pancreatic ductal adenocarcinoma in the metastatic or locally advanced setting.
  • Planning to receive treatment with nab-paclitaxel and gemcitabine.
  • At least 18 years of age.
  • ECOG performance status ≤ 1
  • Normal bone marrow and organ function as defined below:

    • Leukocytes ≥ 3,000/mcL
    • Absolute neutrophil count ≥ 1,500/mcL
    • Platelets ≥ 100,000/mcL
    • Total bilirubin ≤ 1.5 x IULN
    • AST(SGOT)/ALT(SGPT) ≤ 3.0 x IULN
    • Estimated glomerular filtration rate eGFR ≥ 30 mL/min/1.73m\^2
  • Because chemotherapeutic agents such as nab-paclitaxel and gemcitabine are known to be teratogenic, women of childbearing potential and men must agree to use adequate contraception (hormonal or barrier method of birth control, abstinence) prior to study entry and for the duration of study participation. Should a woman become pregnant or suspect she is pregnant while participating in this study, she must inform her treating physician immediately. Men treated or enrolled on this protocol must also agree to use adequate contraception prior to the study, for the duration of the study, and at least one month after completion of the study
  • Agreement to adhere to Lifestyle Considerations throughout study duration
  • Ability to understand and willingness to sign an IRB approved written informed consent document (or that of legally authorized representative, if applicable).

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • History of total pancreatectomy
  • Current or previous treatment with SGLT2i or thiazolidinedione.
  • Currently receiving regularly scheduled systemic steroids in the form of prednisone or dexamethasone. Note that dexamethasone that can be prescribed for nausea on the day of chemotherapy, but in subsequent days will be replaced by a nonsteroidal anti-emetic for patients in this trial. Topical steroid ointments or creams for occasional skin rash is allowed.
  • A history of other malignancy with the exceptions of malignancies for which all treatment was completed at least 2 years before registration with no evidence of disease and locally treated skin squamous or basal cell carcinoma.
  • History of stroke or transient ischemic attack (in the last 5 years).
  • HbA1c > 10% unless approved by endocrinologist
  • Currently receiving any other investigational agents.
  • A history of allergic reactions attributed to compounds of similar chemical or biologic composition to dapagliflozin, nab-paclitaxel, gemcitabine or other agents used in the study.
  • Uncontrolled intercurrent illness including, but not limited to, ongoing or active infection, symptomatic congestive heart failure, unstable angina pectoris, cardiac arrhythmia, peripheral arterial disease, ketoacidosis, severe kidney disease (estimated glomerular filtration rate eGFR \< 30 mL/min/1.73m2), symptomatic hypotension, and chronic/frequent urinary tract infections or yeast infections.
  • Pregnant and/or breastfeeding. Women of childbearing potential must have a negative pregnancy test within 14 days of study entry.
  • Patients with HIV are eligible unless their CD4+ T-cell counts are \< 350 cells/mcL or they have a history of AIDS-defining opportunistic infection within the 12 months prior to registration. Concurrent treatment with effective ART according to DHHS treatment guidelines is recommended.
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 1
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
15 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Dapagliflozin

    * Dapagliflozin is an oral drug which will be administered on an outpatient basis. Dosing will start at 5 mg daily and will increase to 10 mg daily after 2 weeks (after consulation with a study endrocrinologist) if the patient is tolerating the 5 mg dose. Dapagliflozin will be given for a total of 8 weeks (2 weeks at 5 mg and 6 weeks at 10 mg) * Treatment with dapagliflozin will be initiated on Cycle 1 Day 1 of standard of care chemotherapy. * Participants will use the BIOSENSE meter once daily

    Drug: Dapagliflozin · Device: BIOSENSE meters

Interventions

  • DrugDapagliflozin

    Dapagliflozin will be provided for this trial

    Also known as: Farxiga

  • DeviceBIOSENSE meters

    -Being used in this trial to evaluate utility for assessing breath ketones

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Tolerability as Measured by Number of Participants With Related Adverse Events

    * Adverse events will be graded with CTCAE v. 5.0. * Related indicates adverse events possibly, probably, or definitely related to treatment.

    Time frame: From start of treatment through 30 days after treatment (estimated to be 3 months)

Secondary outcomes

  1. Changes in Plasma Glucose

    Time frame: Screening, Cycle 1 Day 1, Cycle 1 Day 15, Cycle 2 Day 1, Cycle 2 Day 15, and End of Treatment (estimated to be 2 months)

  2. Changes in Ketones

    -Patients are to collect and test ketones weekly while on treatment.

    Time frame: Cycle 1 Day 1, Cycle 1 Day 8, Cycle 1 Day 15, Cycle 1 Day 22, Cycle 2 Day 1, Cycle 2 Day 8, Cycle 2 Day 15, and Cycle 2 Day 22

  3. Changes in HbA1c

    Time frame: Screening and Cycle 2 Day 15

  4. Changes in CA19-9

    Time frame: Cycle 1 Day 1, Cycle 2 Day 1, and End of Treatment, up to 8 weeks

  5. Changes in Total Fat Volume in Visceral Fat Area as Assessed by CT-based Body Composition

    Time frame: From pre-treatment and post-8 weeks of treatment

  6. Changes in Total Skeletal Muscle Volume in Visceral Fat Area as Assessed by CT-based Body Composition

    Time frame: From pre-treatment and post-8 weeks of treatment

  7. Changes in Total Muscle to Fat Ratio in Visceral Fat Area as Assessed by CT-based Body Composition

    Time frame: From pre-treatment and post-8 weeks of treatment

  8. Changes in CT-quantified Tumor Size

    Time frame: From pre-treatment and post-8 weeks of treatment

  9. Change in Tumor Necrosis

    Time frame: From pre-therapy to post-8 weeks of therapy

07

Results

Posted Jan 17, 2023

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneDapagliflozin
Started15
Completed12
Not completed3
Withdrew: Adverse event1
Withdrew: Physician decision2

Outcome measures

PrimaryTolerability as Measured by Number of Participants With Related Adverse Events

* Adverse events will be graded with CTCAE v. 5.0. * Related indicates adverse events possibly, probably, or definitely related to treatment.

Time frame:
From start of treatment through 30 days after treatment (estimated to be 3 months)
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Tolerability as Measured by Number of Participants With Related Adverse Events
ParticipantsDapagliflozin
Anemia15
Atrial fibrillation1
Colitis1
Constipation1
Diarrhea6
Dry mouth1
Nausea5
Vomiting3
Chills2
Edema limbs2
Fatigue6
Fever2
Sepsis1
Skin infection1
Alanine aminotransferase increased8
Alkaline phosphatase increased5
Aspartate aminotransferase increased6
Lymphocyte count decreased7
Neutrophil count decreased7
Platelet count decreased12
White blood cell decreased10
Anorexia5
Hypoalbuminemia2
Hyponatremia2
Dysgeusia1
Headache1
Peripheral sensory neuropathy4
Chronic kidney disease2
Proteinuria1
Alopecia11
Hyperhidrosis1
Pruritus1
Rash maculo-papular2
Rash on arm1
Hypotension1
SecondaryChanges in Plasma Glucose
Time frame:
Screening, Cycle 1 Day 1, Cycle 1 Day 15, Cycle 2 Day 1, Cycle 2 Day 15, and End of Treatment (estimated to be 2 months)
Reported as:
Median · mg/dL
Changes in Plasma Glucose
mg/dLDapagliflozin
Screening110 (71 to 158)
Cycle 1 Day 1106.5 (74 to 138)
Cycle 1 Day 15108.5 (79 to 138)
Cycle 2 Day 1100.5 (79 to 164)
Cycle 2 Day 15102.5 (82 to 172)
End of Treatment98 (81 to 195)
SecondaryChanges in Ketones

-Patients are to collect and test ketones weekly while on treatment.

Time frame:
Cycle 1 Day 1, Cycle 1 Day 8, Cycle 1 Day 15, Cycle 1 Day 22, Cycle 2 Day 1, Cycle 2 Day 8, Cycle 2 Day 15, and Cycle 2 Day 22
Reported as:
Median · mg/dL
Changes in Ketones
mg/dLDapagliflozin
Cycle 1 Day 10.5 (0 to 5)
Cycle 1 Day 80 (0 to 5)
Cycle 1 Day 150 (0 to 5)
Cycle 1 Day 220 (0 to 5)
Cycle 2 Day 10 (0 to 5)
Cycle 2 Day 80 (0 to 5)
Cycle 2 Day 150 (0 to 5)
Cycle 2 Day 220 (0 to 5)
SecondaryChanges in HbA1c
Time frame:
Screening and Cycle 2 Day 15
Reported as:
Median · percentage of glycosylated hemoglobin
Changes in HbA1c
percentage of glycosylated hemoglobinDapagliflozin
Screening5.95 (4.2 to 7.2)
Cycle 2 Day 155.95 (5.2 to 7.2)
SecondaryChanges in CA19-9
Time frame:
Cycle 1 Day 1, Cycle 2 Day 1, and End of Treatment, up to 8 weeks
Reported as:
Median · U/mL
Changes in CA19-9
U/mLDapagliflozin
Cycle 1 Day 11060 (27.3 to 25010)
Cycle 2 Day 1315.6 (23.3 to 9250)
End of Treatment256.1 (11.3 to 30330)
SecondaryChanges in Total Fat Volume in Visceral Fat Area as Assessed by CT-based Body Composition
Time frame:
From pre-treatment and post-8 weeks of treatment
Reported as:
Mean · cm^3
Changes in Total Fat Volume in Visceral Fat Area as Assessed by CT-based Body Composition
cm^3Dapagliflozin
Pre-treatment5009.845557 ± 1894.271988
Post-8 weeks of treatment4334.134004 ± 2127.102525
SecondaryChanges in Total Skeletal Muscle Volume in Visceral Fat Area as Assessed by CT-based Body Composition
Time frame:
From pre-treatment and post-8 weeks of treatment
Reported as:
Mean · cm^3
Changes in Total Skeletal Muscle Volume in Visceral Fat Area as Assessed by CT-based Body Composition
cm^3Dapagliflozin
Pre-treatment1494.813884 ± 324.0522377
Post-8 weeks of treatment1360.211117 ± 315.4997407
SecondaryChanges in Total Muscle to Fat Ratio in Visceral Fat Area as Assessed by CT-based Body Composition
Time frame:
From pre-treatment and post-8 weeks of treatment
Reported as:
Mean · ratio
Changes in Total Muscle to Fat Ratio in Visceral Fat Area as Assessed by CT-based Body Composition
ratioDapagliflozin
Pre-treatment0.378776105 ± 0.274872687
Post-8 weeks of treatment0.518539627 ± 0.638171644
SecondaryChanges in CT-quantified Tumor Size
Time frame:
From pre-treatment and post-8 weeks of treatment
Reported as:
Mean · cm
Changes in CT-quantified Tumor Size
cmDapagliflozin
Pre-treatment7.541666667 ± 4.825775177
Post-8 weeks of treatment7.358333333 ± 5.946038916
SecondaryChange in Tumor Necrosis
Time frame:
From pre-therapy to post-8 weeks of therapy

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

Adverse events

Collected over Adverse events were collected from start of treatment through 30 days after discontinuation of dapagliflozin. Treatment was 8 weeks in length. All-cause mortality was collected from start of treatment through completion of follow-up. Follow-up was an additional 3 months after completion of treatment.. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Dapagliflozin10/15 (66.7%)5/15 (33.3%)15/15 (100%)
Most frequent serious events
Most frequent serious events
EventDapagliflozin
Atrial fibrillationCardiac disorders1/15
DiarrheaGastrointestinal disorders1/15
Obstruction gastricGastrointestinal disorders1/15
Upper gastrointestinal hemorrhageGastrointestinal disorders1/15
VomitingGastrointestinal disorders1/15
FeverGeneral disorders1/15
SepsisInfections and infestations1/15
Vascular access complicationInjury, poisoning and procedural complications1/15
Flank painMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders1/15
HypotensionVascular disorders1/15
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 77
Most frequent other events
EventDapagliflozin
AnemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders15/15
Platelet count decreasedInvestigations12/15
AlopeciaSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders11/15
DiarrheaGastrointestinal disorders10/15
White blood cell decreasedInvestigations10/15
NauseaGastrointestinal disorders8/15
Alanine aminotransferase increasedInvestigations8/15
AnorexiaInvestigations8/15
Lymphocyte count decreasedInvestigations8/15
HypoalbuminemiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders8/15

Baseline characteristics

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)Dapagliflozin
Median68 (57 to 75)
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Dapagliflozin
Female7
Male8
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Dapagliflozin
Hispanic or Latino0
Not Hispanic or Latino15
Unknown or Not Reported0
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Dapagliflozin
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Asian1
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
Black or African American1
White13
More than one race0
Unknown or Not Reported0
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(participants)Dapagliflozin
United States15
08

Study locations

1 site
  • Washington University School of Medicine
    Saint Louis, Missouri 63110, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Apr 7, 2022
  • Informed consent form · Oct 28, 2021

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: No

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Feb 14, 2023, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT04542291
Lead sponsor
Washington University School of Medicine
Collaborators
National Institutes of Health (NIH), National Cancer Institute (NCI)
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Sep 9, 2020
Start date
Feb 25, 2021
Primary completion
Dec 24, 2021
Completion
Jan 19, 2022
Results posted
Jan 17, 2023
Last update
Feb 14, 2023

Study contacts

Kian-Huat Lim, M.D.
principal investigator · Washington University School of Medicine

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
Yes
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Jan 2023. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion