CClinicalTrials.gg
TerminatedNCT04438174Updated Jun 7, 2024Results posted

Processed Amniotic Fluid (pAF) for the Treatment of Chronic Wounds

A Phase 1/2 interventional study of Processed Amniotic Fluid and Standard of Care Wound Treatment Regimen in Wounds and Injuries, sponsored by University of Utah. Terminated at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years to 85 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2024-06-07.

Sponsored by University of Utah · Phase 1/2, Interventional, and Treatment

Why this study was terminated
Enrollment was halted prematurely after enrolling one participant due to difficulty finding eligible participants.
Phase
Phase 1/2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
1
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
18 Years to 85 Years
Sex
All
01

Study summary

A prospective randomized controlled study to determine the safety and feasibility of using processed amniotic fluid (pAF) to expedite healing in chronic wounds.

Read the detailed description

The goal of our study is to assess, in an outpatient setting, the safety and the time to wound closure in chronic wounds treated with processed amniotic fluid (pAF). We will include patients with lower extremity full thickness wounds that are greater than 3 months old and less than 12 months old. The wound size must be greater than 5cm2 and less than 75 cm2. We will exclude anyone that requires skin grafting, or wounds with sinus tracts. Our primary objective is to determine the safety and feasibility of using pAF to treat patients with chronic wounds. The secondary objective is to determine the efficacy of pAF compared to standard of care in reducing wound area.

02

Conditions studied

  • Wounds and Injuries

Browse trials for

Keywords

  • chronic wounds
03

In context

Wounds and Injuries

5,056 studies on the registry are indexed under Wounds and Injuries; 861 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 1 is below the median of 52 across 3,239 interventional studies indexed under Wounds and Injuries.

Browse Wounds and Injuries studies →

Lead sponsor

University of Utah is the lead sponsor of 969 studies on the registry; 178 are open to participants now.

Of its 107 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 62 (58%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years to 85 Years
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  1. Patients 18-85 years old.
  2. Patients with chronic lower extremity wounds (including thermal) that are greater than 3 months, but less than 12 months old.
  3. Patients with full thickness wounds.
  4. Patients with at least one wound that is ≥5 cm2 and\<75 cm2 in size.
  5. Patient who is able to complete required site study visits and procedures in good faith

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  1. Patients admitted to the hospital at the time of enrollment.
  2. Patients who are pregnant, nursing or plan to become pregnant while participating in the study. If of child-bearing potential, unwillingness to use effective birth control while participating in the study.
  3. Suspicion of or diagnosis of osteomyelitis underlying the wound.
  4. Patients who have received an investigational agent or intervention within the prior 30 days or plan to use within the study period.
  5. Patient with sinus tracts, enterocutaneous fistulas or other epithelialized tracts.
  6. Patients who require skin grafting.
  7. Patients diagnosed with a highly disruptive, non-controlled mental health disorder (e.g.., bipolar, or schizophrenia.
  8. Patients with a history of prior drug abuse.
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 1 / Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Parallel assignment
Masking
Single (Outcomes assessor)
Enrollment
1 participant (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Amniotic Fluid Injection

    Processed Amniotic Fluid. Dose is 1ml/5cm2; Route: injected directly into wound; Limited to two injections. The wound will then be dressed according to standard of care.

    Drug: Processed Amniotic Fluid

  • Active comparator
    Standard of Care Wound Treatment Regimen

    Primary dressings are variable and based on the moisture content and microorganism load. In general, wounds respond differently to various topical treatments. Through our clinical practice, we have found that wounds plateau with the same topical for greater than 4 weeks, hence changing antimicrobial topical helps to manage the bacterial overgrowth. We will start with our application of our slurry, a 1:1:1 ratio of Nystatin ointment, Mupirocin Ointment, and Bacitracin Ointment. This slurry will be applied directly to the cleansed wound, followed by silver gauze/foam product to all wounds. Types of silver product- site and comfort predict use of Restore, Mepilex-AG, or Mepitel-AG. If allergies to the above slurry occurs, we will use medical honey with or without bacitracin. If ointment related rash present with transition to silver product only or silver product plus medical honey.

    Other: Standard of Care Wound Treatment Regimen

Interventions

  • DrugProcessed Amniotic Fluid

    Injection of 1 ml of processed amniotic fluid per 5 cm2 of wound area

    Also known as: Processed Amniotic Fluids (pAF), Human Amniotic Fluids (hAF)

  • OtherStandard of Care Wound Treatment Regimen

    ointment-based dressing and non-ointment-based dressings

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Safety - Adverse Events Including Serious Adverse Events

    Safety and tolerability will be evaluated by the PI from the results of reported signs and symptoms and scheduled physical examinations. The primary endpoint is whether the patient experienced any post-randomization, study-related serious adverse event (SAEs) while on study (collections of new AEs begins at visit two and ends at visit five which is approximately, 7 months after enrollment). An SAE is considered study-related if the medical monitor concludes the SAE is either possibly related or probably related to study participation. Although unresolved SAE's were to be monitored for 1 year or until resolution, no SAEs were unresolved at the time of study completion (approximately, 7 months after enrollment).

    Time frame: Approximately 7 months after enrollment

Secondary outcomes

  1. Feasibility - Reduction in Wound Size - Secondary Outcome Per Secondary Assessor

    The percent reduction in wound area at Visit 5 (final visit) relative to the size at randomization visit (visit 2). Wound surface area will be calculated and maximal wound depth will also be measured using ImageJ overlay software technology. Two assessors examined the wound surface area at each visit using ImageJ. This is the outcome as reported by the secondary assessor. A negative value indicates an increase in wound size; a positive value indicates a decrease in wound size.

    Time frame: Visit 2 (approximately 6 weeks after enrollment) and Visit 5 (approximately 7 months after enrollment)

  2. Feasibility - Reduction in Wound Size - Secondary Outcome Per Primary Assessor

    The percent reduction in wound area at Visit 5 (final visit) relative to the size at randomization visit (visit 2). Wound surface area will be calculated and maximal wound depth will also be measured using ImageJ overlay software technology. Two assessors examined the wound surface area at each visit using ImageJ. This is the outcome as reported by the primary assessor. A negative value indicates an increase in wound size; a positive value indicates a decrease in wound size.

    Time frame: Visit 2 (approximately six weeks after enrollment) and Visit 5 (approximately 7 months after enrollment)

07

Results

Posted Jun 7, 2024
Limitations and caveats
Enrollment was halted prematurely after successful enrollment of one participant due to limited eligible participants. A single participant was enrolled in the treatment arm, hence we are unable to measure the safety and effectiveness of the intervention compared to standard care. We noted variation in wound size assessment for our single participant.

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneAmniotic Fluid InjectionStandard of Care Wound Treatment Regimen
Started10
Completed10
Not completed00

Outcome measures

PrimarySafety - Adverse Events Including Serious Adverse Events

Safety and tolerability will be evaluated by the PI from the results of reported signs and symptoms and scheduled physical examinations. The primary endpoint is whether the patient experienced any post-randomization, study-related serious adverse event (SAEs) while on study (collections of new AEs begins at visit two and ends at visit five which is approximately, 7 months after enrollment). An SAE is considered study-related if the medical monitor concludes the SAE is either possibly related or probably related to study participation. Although unresolved SAE's were to be monitored for 1 year or until resolution, no SAEs were unresolved at the time of study completion (approximately, 7 months after enrollment).

Time frame:
Approximately 7 months after enrollment
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Safety - Adverse Events Including Serious Adverse Events
ParticipantsAmniotic Fluid InjectionStandard of Care Wound Treatment Regimen
Safety - Adverse Events Including Serious Adverse Events00
SecondaryFeasibility - Reduction in Wound Size - Secondary Outcome Per Secondary Assessor

The percent reduction in wound area at Visit 5 (final visit) relative to the size at randomization visit (visit 2). Wound surface area will be calculated and maximal wound depth will also be measured using ImageJ overlay software technology. Two assessors examined the wound surface area at each visit using ImageJ. This is the outcome as reported by the secondary assessor. A negative value indicates an increase in wound size; a positive value indicates a decrease in wound size.

Time frame:
Visit 2 (approximately 6 weeks after enrollment) and Visit 5 (approximately 7 months after enrollment)
Reported as:
Mean · percent reduction in wound area
Feasibility - Reduction in Wound Size - Secondary Outcome Per Secondary Assessor
percent reduction in wound areaAmniotic Fluid InjectionStandard of Care Wound Treatment Regimen
Feasibility - Reduction in Wound Size - Secondary Outcome Per Secondary Assessor91.4 (91.4 to 91.4)—
SecondaryFeasibility - Reduction in Wound Size - Secondary Outcome Per Primary Assessor

The percent reduction in wound area at Visit 5 (final visit) relative to the size at randomization visit (visit 2). Wound surface area will be calculated and maximal wound depth will also be measured using ImageJ overlay software technology. Two assessors examined the wound surface area at each visit using ImageJ. This is the outcome as reported by the primary assessor. A negative value indicates an increase in wound size; a positive value indicates a decrease in wound size.

Time frame:
Visit 2 (approximately six weeks after enrollment) and Visit 5 (approximately 7 months after enrollment)
Reported as:
Mean · percent reduction in wound area
Feasibility - Reduction in Wound Size - Secondary Outcome Per Primary Assessor
percent reduction in wound areaAmniotic Fluid InjectionStandard of Care Wound Treatment Regimen
Feasibility - Reduction in Wound Size - Secondary Outcome Per Primary Assessor-33.7 (-33.7 to -33.7)—

Adverse events

Collected over For purposes of this study, events that occur following participant consent through visit 5 (approximately 7 months after enrollment) will be reported as adverse events.. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Amniotic Fluid Injection0/1 (0%)1/1 (100%)1/1 (100%)
Standard of Care Wound Treatment Regimen———
Most frequent serious events
Most frequent serious events
EventAmniotic Fluid InjectionStandard of Care Wound Treatment Regimen
Wound InfectionInfections and infestations1/1—
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 11
Most frequent other events
EventAmniotic Fluid InjectionStandard of Care Wound Treatment Regimen
Wound drainageSurgical and medical procedures1/1—
Gram stain positiveInvestigations1/1—
HaemorrhageVascular disorders1/1—
ErythemaSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders1/1—
RashSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders1/1—
UlcerGeneral disorders1/1—
MalaiseGeneral disorders1/1—
Wound complicationInjury, poisoning and procedural complications1/1—
Increased tendency to bruiseBlood and lymphatic system disorders1/1—
Oedema peripheralGeneral disorders1/1—

Baseline characteristics

Enrollment was halted prematurely after enrolling one subject.

Age, Categorical
Age, Categorical(Participants)Amniotic Fluid InjectionStandard of Care Wound Treatment RegimenTotal
<=18 years000
Between 18 and 65 years000
>=65 years101
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Amniotic Fluid InjectionStandard of Care Wound Treatment RegimenTotal
Female101
Male000
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Amniotic Fluid InjectionStandard of Care Wound Treatment RegimenTotal
Hispanic or Latino000
Not Hispanic or Latino101
Unknown or Not Reported000
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Amniotic Fluid InjectionStandard of Care Wound Treatment RegimenTotal
American Indian or Alaska Native000
Asian000
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander000
Black or African American000
White101
More than one race000
Unknown or Not Reported000
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(participants)Amniotic Fluid InjectionStandard of Care Wound Treatment RegimenTotal
United States1—1
08

Study locations

1 site
  • University of Utah Burn Center
    Salt Lake City, Utah 84132, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Study protocol · Feb 2, 2022
  • Statistical analysis plan · Mar 9, 2021
  • Informed consent form · Dec 8, 2022

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: No

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Jun 7, 2024, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT04438174
Lead sponsor
University of Utah
Responsible party
Giavonni Lewis (MD, University of Utah) — Principal investigator
First posted
Jun 18, 2020
Start date
Aug 2022
Primary completion
Mar 2023
Completion
Mar 2023
Results posted
Jun 7, 2024
Last update
Jun 7, 2024

Study contacts

Giavonni Lewis, MD
principal investigator · University of Utah

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is terminated, as verified in May 2024. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion