CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT04409002Updated Aug 15, 2025Results posted

Niraparib + Dostarlimab + RT in Pancreatic Cancer

A Phase 2 interventional study of Niraparib and Dostarlimab in Pancreatic Cancer and Metastatic Pancreatic Cancer, sponsored by Massachusetts General Hospital. Completed at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2025-08-15.

Sponsored by Massachusetts General Hospital · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
18
Allocation
Not applicable
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

This research is being done to see how the combination of dostarlimab, niraparib, and radiation therapy works in controlling metastatic pancreatic cancer.

Read the detailed description

This two-stage single arm phase II trial will evaluate the efficacy of niraparib with dostarlimab and radiation therapy in patients with metastatic pancreatic cancer

The research study procedures include screening for eligibility and study treatment including evaluations and follow up visits.

The names of the experimental interventions involved in this study are:

  • Dostarlimab
  • Niraparib
  • Radiation Therapy

It is expected that about 25 people will take part in this research study. An initial 15 participants will be enrolled during the first stage and evaluated for treatment disease control, if none of the initial 15 participants achieve disease control the study will be terminated.

It is expected participants will be on the research study for as long as the experimental interventions are safe, and their metastatic pancreatic cancer does not progress with up to 5 years of follow up after participants stop taking the experimental interventions.

This research study is a Phase II clinical trial. Phase II clinical trials test the safety and effectiveness of an investigational intervention to learn whether the intervention works in treating a specific disease. "Investigational" means that the intervention is being studied.

The U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has not approved dostarlimab as a treatment for any disease. Dostarlimab is a type of antibody (a protein that attaches to other cells to fight off infection) that is believed to work by attaching to a protein called PD-1 on Tcells.

This PD-1 protein controls parts of the immune system (the system in the body that fights off infections and diseases) by shutting down certain immune responses responsible for recognizing and destroying cancer cells. The investigators believe that dostarlimab will inhibit the PD-1 protein, thus allowing the immune cells to recognize and destroy cancer cells. The FDA has not approved niraparib for metastatic pancreatic cancer, but it has been approved for other uses. Niraparib is a type of drug called a "PARP inhibitor", which blocks DNA (the genetic material of cells) damage from being repaired or may prevent damage from occurring in the first place. In cancer treatment, inhibiting PARP may help kill cancer cells by not allowing the cancer cells to repair its DNA damage or prevent DNA damage from occurring. It is believed that the combination of dostarlimab, niraparib, and radiation therapy may have a greater effect on metastatic pancreatic cancer cells than when these interventions are used alone.

02

Conditions studied

  • Pancreatic Cancer
  • Metastatic Pancreatic Cancer

Keywords

  • Pancreatic Cancer
  • Metastatic Pancreatic Cancer
03

In context

Pancreatic Neoplasms

3,235 studies on the registry are indexed under Pancreatic Neoplasms; 898 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 18 is below the median of 46 across 2,424 interventional studies indexed under Pancreatic Neoplasms.

Browse Pancreatic Neoplasms studies →

Lead sponsor

Massachusetts General Hospital is the lead sponsor of 2,536 studies on the registry; 446 are open to participants now.

Of its 214 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 161 (75%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • Histologically or cytologically confirmed metastatic adenocarcinoma of pancreatic origin.
  • Age > 18 years.
  • ECOG performance status ≤ 1.
  • Life expectancy of greater than 3 months.
  • Participants must have normal organ and marrow function as defined below:

    • leukocytes ≥ 2,000/mcL
    • absolute neutrophil count ≥ 1,500/mcL
    • platelets ≥ 100,000/mcL
    • hemoglobin ≥ 9 g/dL
    • AST(SGOT)/ALT(SGPT) ≤2.5 × institutional upper limit of normal(subjects with liver metastases can have an AST (SGOT) ≤ 5 x ULN
    • creatinine ≤ 1.5 x ULN OR
    • creatinine clearance* ≥ 60 mL/min (if using the Cockcroft-Gault formula)
    • total bilirubin ≤ 1.5 x ULN (subjects with Gilbert Syndrome can have a total bilirubin \< 3 x ULN)
    • INR, PT, aPTT ≤ 1.5 x ULN (subjects receiving anticoagulant therapy must have PT or PTT within therapeutic range) *Creatinine clearance should be calculated per the following: CrCl (mL/min) = (140 - age [years]) x weight [kg] x 1.23 (x 0.85 if female)/ Serum creatinine (micromol/L)
  • Women of childbearing potential (WoCBP) must have a negative serum or urine pregnancy test (minimum sensitivity 25 IU/L or equivalent units of HCG) within 7 days prior to initiating protocol therapy.

Non childbearing potential is defined as follows (by other than medical reasons):

  • ≥45 years of age and has not had menses for >1 year
  • Patients who have been amenorrhoeic for \<2 years without history of a hysterectomy and oophorectomy must have a follicle stimulating hormone value in the postmenopausal range upon screening evaluation
  • Post-hysterectomy, post-bilateral oophorectomy, or post-tubal ligation. Documented hysterectomy or oophorectomy must be confirmed with medical records of the actual procedure or confirmed by an ultrasound. Tubal ligation must be confirmed with medical records of the actual procedure, otherwise the patient must be willing to use 2 adequate barrier methods throughout the study, starting with the screening visit through 150 days after the last dose of study treatment. See Section 4.4 for a list of acceptable birth control methods. Information must be captured appropriately within the site's source documents. Note: Abstinence is acceptable if this is the established and preferred contraception for the patient.

    • Women of childbearing potential must agree to use appropriate method(s) of contraception. WOCBP should use an adequate method to avoid pregnancy for 6 months (30 days plus the time required for niraparib to undergo five half-lives/150 days) after the last dose of investigational drug.
    • Women must not be breastfeeding during the study or for 150 days after the last dose of investigational drug.
    • Men who are sexually active with WoCBP must use any contraceptive method with a failure rate of less than 1% per year. Men receiving protocol therapy and who are sexually active with WoCBP will be instructed to adhere to contraception for a period of 6 months (150 days) after the last dose of investigational product. (Women who are not of childbearing potential, i.e. are postmenopausal as defined in the eligibility criteria or surgically sterile, as well as azoospermic men do not require contraception.) Ability to understand and the willingness to sign a written informed consent document
    • If applicable, stable dose of dexamethasone of 10mg or less for 4 weeks prior to initiation of investigational protocol therapy. Regimen must be completed >14 days prior to treatment start.
    • One previously unirradiated lesion amenable to radiotherapy at a dose of 8 Gy x 3 and can meet dose constraints, and another unirradiated measurable lesion > 1 cm in size outside the radiation field that can be used as measurable disease.
    • Patients must have had at least one line of prior treatment. Any prior line of treatment is permitted, including adjuvant.

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

Participants who meet any of the following criteria will be excluded:

  • Systemic anticancer or biological therapy including prior chemotherapy, immunotherapy, targeted small molecule therapy within 14 days prior to investigational agent, or those who have not recovered (i.e., ≤ grade 1 or at baseline) from adverse events due to agents administered more than 2 weeks earlier. Participants with ≤ grade 2 neuropathy are an exception to these criteria and may qualify for the study. If the participant received major surgery, then they must have recovered adequately from the toxicity and/or complications from the intervention prior to starting therapy.
  • Received investigational therapy ≥ 4 weeks, or within a time interval less than at least 5 half-lives of the investigational agent, whichever is shorter, prior initiating protocol therapy.
  • Major surgery ≤ 3 weeks prior to initiating protocol therapy and/or not recovered from any surgical effects.
  • Received radiation therapy encompassing >20% of the bone marrow within 2 weeks; or any radiation therapy within 1 week prior to day 1 of protocol therapy.
  • Received a transfusion (platelets or red blood cells) ≤ 4 weeks prior to initiating protocol therapy
  • Received colony-stimulating factors (e.g., granulocyte colony-stimulating factor, granulocyte macrophage colony-stimulating factor, or recombinant erythropoietin) within 4 weeks prior to initiating protocol therapy. Known history of Grade 3 or 4 anemia, neutropenia or thrombocytopenia due to prior chemotherapy that persisted > 4 weeks and was related to the most recent treatment.
  • Known history of myelodysplastic syndrome (MDS) or acute myeloid leukemia (AML).
  • Active, known or suspected autoimmune disease that has required systemic treatment within the past 2 years other than vitiligo, type I diabetes mellitus, residual hypothyroidism due to autoimmune condition only requiring hormone replacement, psoriasis not requiring systemic treatment, or conditions not expected to recur in the absence of an external trigger.
  • Any condition requiring systemic treatment with either corticosteroids (> 10 mg daily prednisone equivalents) or other immunosuppressive medications within 14 days of study drug administration. Inhaled or topical steroids and adrenal replacement doses > 10 mg daily prednisone equivalents are permitted in the absence of active autoimmune disease. Participants are permitted to use topical, ocular, intraarticular, intranasal, and inhalational corticosteroids (with minimal systemic absorption). Physiologic replacement doses of systemic corticosteroids are permitted, even if > 10 mg/day prednisone equivalents. A brief course of corticosteroids for prophylaxis (e.g., contrast dye allergy) or for treatment of non-autoimmune conditions (e.g., delayed-type hypersensitivity reaction caused by contact allergen) is permitted.
  • Known history of active TB (Bacillus Tuberculosis). Testing is not required for eligibility purposes.
  • Known hepatitis B virus surface antigen (HBV sAg) or hepatitis C virus ribonucleic acid (HCV antibody) indicating acute or chronic infection. Testing is not required for eligibility purposes.
  • Known history of testing positive for human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) or known acquired immunodeficiency syndrome (AIDS). These participants are at increased risk of lethal infections when treated with marrow suppressive therapy. Testing is not required for eligibility purposes.
  • Known ≥ Grade 3 immune-related AE with prior immunotherapy, with the exception of non-clinically significant lab abnormalities.
  • Uncontrolled intercurrent illness including, but not limited to, ongoing or active infection, symptomatic congestive heart failure, unstable angina pectoris, cardiac arrhythmia, recent (within 90 days) myocardial infarction or psychiatric illness/social situations that would limit compliance with study requirements.
  • Known psychiatric or substance abuse disorders that would interfere with cooperation with the requirements of the trial.
  • Known additional malignancy diagnosed, detected or treated ≤ 2 years prior to initiation of protocol therapy . Exceptions include basal cell carcinoma of the skin and squamous cell carcinoma of the skin that has undergone potentially curative therapy or in situ cervical cancer.
  • Known history of, or any evidence of active, non-infectious pneumonitis or interstitial lung disease.
  • Active infection requiring systemic therapy
  • Has received a live vaccine within 30 days of planned start of study therapy. Note:

Seasonal influenza vaccines for injection are generally inactivated flu vaccines and are allowed; however intranasal influenza vaccines (e.g., Flu-Mist®) are live attenuated vaccines, and are not allowed.

  • Known hypersensitivity to niraparib and dostarlimab components or excipients.
  • History of severe hypersensitivity reaction to any monoclonal antibody
  • Participants with known brain metastases should be excluded from this clinical trial because of their poor prognosis and because they often develop progressive neurologic dysfunction that would confound the evaluation of neurologic and other adverse events.

Further imaging is not required for eligibility purposes.

05

Study design

Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
18 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Niraparib+Dostarlimab + Radiation

    Each study treatment cycle lasts 21 days * Niraparib oral, once a day, predetermined dose.Dosing will commence on cycle 1 day 1 and will continue until the participant is taken off treatment * Dostarlimab by intravenous infusion once every cycle for as long as they remain on the study * Radiation therapy on every other week day of cycle 2 only. Radiation will begin on Cycle 2 Day 1

    Drug: Niraparib · Drug: Dostarlimab · Radiation: Radiation

Interventions

  • DrugNiraparib

    Niraparib oral, once a day, predetermined dose.Dosing will commence on cycle 1 day 1 and will continue until the participant is taken off treatment

    Also known as: Zejula

  • DrugDostarlimab

    Dostarlimab by intravenous infusion once every cycle for as long as they remain on the study

  • RadiationRadiation

    Radiation therapy on every other week day of cycle 2 only. Radiation will begin on Cycle 2 Day 1

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Disease Control Rate With RECIST 1.1 Criteria

    Disease control rate (DCR) is the percentage of participants who experienced a complete response (CR), partial response (PR), or stable disease (SD) assessed by the Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors (RECIST) v1.1 criteria below. * CR = Disappearance of all target lesions. Any pathological lymph nodes (whether target or non-target) must have reduction in short axis to \<10 mm. * PR = At least 30% decrease in the sum of longest diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum diameters. * SD = Neither sufficient shrinkage to qualify for PR nor sufficient increase to qualify for PD, taking as reference the baseline sum diameters while on study. * Progressive Disease (PD) = At least 20% increase in the sum of longest diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum diameters while on study. Appearance of one or more new lesions is also considered progression.

    Time frame: up to 17 months

Secondary outcomes

  1. Disease Control Rate With irRECIST Criteria

    Disease control rate (DCR) is the percentage of participants who experienced a immune-related complete response (irCR), partial response (irPR), or stable disease (irSD) assessed by the Immune-Related Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors (irRECIST) criteria below. * irCR = Disappearance of all target lesions. Any pathological lymph nodes (whether target or non-target) must have reduction in short axis to \<10 mm. * irPR = At least 30% decrease in the sum of longest diameters of target lesions, compared to baseline. * irSD = Neither sufficient shrinkage to qualify for PR nor sufficient increase to qualify for PD, compared to baseline. * Immune-related Progressive Disease (irPD) = At least 20% increase in the sum of longest diameters of target lesions AND at least 5mm absolute increase, compared to baseline. Appearance of one or more new lesions is also considered progression. Confirmation scan required at least 4 weeks later.

    Time frame: up to 17 months

  2. Progression-free Survival

    Progression-free survival (PFS) is defined as the time duration from the first day of protocol treatment to the earlier date of disease progression or death due to any cause. PFS time will be censored at the date of last follow-up for surviving patients with disease control.

    Time frame: up to 17 months

  3. Overall Survival

    Overall survival (OS) is defined as the time duration from the first day of protocol treatment to the date of death due to any cause, and will be censored at the date of last follow-up for patients still alive.

    Time frame: up to 17 months

  4. Number of Treatment-Related Adverse Events Per CTCAE v5.0

    Treatment-related adverse events (TRAEs) are evaluated according to the Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) v5.0, as grades 3-5 and at least possibly attributed to study treatment. TRAEs are evaluated from the start of study treatment through 30-days after the last treatment dose.

    Time frame: up to 19 weeks

07

Results

Posted Jul 3, 2023
Limitations and caveats
A two-stage design was used, requiring disease control in at least one of the first 15 patients before proceeding to the full accrual of 25 patients.

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneNiraparib+Dostarlimab + Radiation
Started18
Completed15
Not completed3
Withdrew: Disease progression prior to starting study treatment3

Outcome measures

PrimaryDisease Control Rate With RECIST 1.1 Criteria

Disease control rate (DCR) is the percentage of participants who experienced a complete response (CR), partial response (PR), or stable disease (SD) assessed by the Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors (RECIST) v1.1 criteria below. * CR = Disappearance of all target lesions. Any pathological lymph nodes (whether target or non-target) must have reduction in short axis to \<10 mm. * PR = At least 30% decrease in the sum of longest diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum diameters. * SD = Neither sufficient shrinkage to qualify for PR nor sufficient increase to qualify for PD, taking as reference the baseline sum diameters while on study. * Progressive Disease (PD) = At least 20% increase in the sum of longest diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum diameters while on study. Appearance of one or more new lesions is also considered progression.

Time frame:
up to 17 months
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Disease Control Rate With RECIST 1.1 Criteria
ParticipantsNiraparib+Dostarlimab + Radiation
Disease Control Rate With RECIST 1.1 Criteria0
SecondaryDisease Control Rate With irRECIST Criteria

Disease control rate (DCR) is the percentage of participants who experienced a immune-related complete response (irCR), partial response (irPR), or stable disease (irSD) assessed by the Immune-Related Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors (irRECIST) criteria below. * irCR = Disappearance of all target lesions. Any pathological lymph nodes (whether target or non-target) must have reduction in short axis to \<10 mm. * irPR = At least 30% decrease in the sum of longest diameters of target lesions, compared to baseline. * irSD = Neither sufficient shrinkage to qualify for PR nor sufficient increase to qualify for PD, compared to baseline. * Immune-related Progressive Disease (irPD) = At least 20% increase in the sum of longest diameters of target lesions AND at least 5mm absolute increase, compared to baseline. Appearance of one or more new lesions is also considered progression. Confirmation scan required at least 4 weeks later.

Time frame:
up to 17 months
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Disease Control Rate With irRECIST Criteria
ParticipantsNiraparib+Dostarlimab + Radiation
Disease Control Rate With irRECIST Criteria0
SecondaryProgression-free Survival

Progression-free survival (PFS) is defined as the time duration from the first day of protocol treatment to the earlier date of disease progression or death due to any cause. PFS time will be censored at the date of last follow-up for surviving patients with disease control.

Time frame:
up to 17 months
Reported as:
Median · months
Progression-free Survival
monthsNiraparib+Dostarlimab + Radiation
Progression-free Survival1.6 (1.1 to 2.7)
SecondaryOverall Survival

Overall survival (OS) is defined as the time duration from the first day of protocol treatment to the date of death due to any cause, and will be censored at the date of last follow-up for patients still alive.

Time frame:
up to 17 months
Reported as:
Median · months
Overall Survival
monthsNiraparib+Dostarlimab + Radiation
Overall Survival3.1 (1.5 to 7.7)
SecondaryNumber of Treatment-Related Adverse Events Per CTCAE v5.0

Treatment-related adverse events (TRAEs) are evaluated according to the Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) v5.0, as grades 3-5 and at least possibly attributed to study treatment. TRAEs are evaluated from the start of study treatment through 30-days after the last treatment dose.

Time frame:
up to 19 weeks
Reported as:
Number · treatment-related adverse events
Number of Treatment-Related Adverse Events Per CTCAE v5.0
treatment-related adverse eventsNiraparib+Dostarlimab + Radiation
Grade 3 TRAEs17
Grade 4 TRAEs3
Grade 5 TRAEs0

Adverse events

Collected over up to 17 months. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Niraparib+Dostarlimab + Radiation14/15 (93.3%)2/15 (13.3%)15/15 (100%)
Most frequent serious events
Most frequent serious events
EventNiraparib+Dostarlimab + Radiation
FeverGeneral disorders1/15
StrokeNervous system disorders1/15
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 122
Most frequent other events
EventNiraparib+Dostarlimab + Radiation
AnemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders12/15
FatigueGeneral disorders12/15
Abdominal painGastrointestinal disorders11/15
Alkaline phosphatase increasedInvestigations10/15
CD4 lymphocytes decreasedInvestigations10/15
NauseaGastrointestinal disorders10/15
AnorexiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders9/15
ConstipationGastrointestinal disorders9/15
HyperglycemiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders8/15
Platelet count decreasedInvestigations8/15

Baseline characteristics

Age, Customized
Age, Customized(Participants)Niraparib+Dostarlimab + Radiation
Age 30-39 years2
Age 40-49 years1
Age 50-59 years5
Age 60-69 years7
Age 70-79 years3
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Niraparib+Dostarlimab + Radiation
Female9
Male9
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Niraparib+Dostarlimab + Radiation
Hispanic or Latino1
Not Hispanic or Latino16
Unknown or Not Reported1
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Niraparib+Dostarlimab + Radiation
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Asian1
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
Black or African American0
White16
More than one race1
Unknown or Not Reported0
08

Study locations

1 site
  • Massachusetts General Hospital Cancer Center
    Boston, Massachusetts 02114, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Jan 21, 2021

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: Yes — The Dana-Farber / Harvard Cancer Center encourages and supports the responsible and ethical sharing of data from clinical trials. De-identified participant data from the final research dataset used in the published manuscript may only be shared under the terms of a Data Use Agreement. Requests may be directed to: \[contact information for Sponsor Investigator or designee\]. The protocol and statistical analysis plan will be made available on Clinicaltrials.gov only as required by federal regulation or as a condition of awards and agreements supporting the research.

Supporting information: Study protocol, Sap, Icf

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Aug 15, 2025, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT04409002
Lead sponsor
Massachusetts General Hospital
Collaborators
Tesaro, Inc.
Responsible party
Julie Koenig (Principal Investigator, Massachusetts General Hospital) — Principal investigator
First posted
Jun 1, 2020
Start date
Jul 23, 2020
Primary completion
Jan 19, 2022
Completion
Feb 25, 2022
Results posted
Jul 3, 2023
Last update
Aug 15, 2025

Study contacts

Julie L Koenig, MD
principal investigator · Massachusetts General Hospital

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Aug 2025. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion