CClinicalTrials.gg
TerminatedNCT04303845Updated Feb 17, 2023Results posted

Erenumab For Treatment of Hemicrania Continua

A Phase 2 interventional study of Erenumab in Hemicrania Continua, sponsored by Mayo Clinic. Terminated at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years to 66 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2023-02-17.

Sponsored by Mayo Clinic · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment

Why this study was terminated
difficulty with recruitment
Phase
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
2
Allocation
Not applicable
Ages
18 Years to 66 Years
Sex
All
01

Study summary

This research is being conducting to learn if the study drug erenumab is successful in treating hemicrania continua. The study is also evaluating the safety and tolerability of erenumab in individuals being treated for hemicrania continua.

02

Conditions studied

  • Hemicrania Continua

Browse trials for

03

In context

Headache

1,226 studies on the registry are indexed under Headache; 202 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 2 is below the median of 60 across 918 interventional studies indexed under Headache.

Browse Headache studies →

Lead sponsor

Mayo Clinic is the lead sponsor of 3,218 studies on the registry; 670 are open to participants now.

Of its 445 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 313 (70%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years to 66 Years
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • Adults over the age of 18-66
  • At least a 12 month history of hemicrania continua (unremitting subtype) according to International Classification of Headache Disorders, 3rd Edition (ICHD-3)1
  • Previous or current complete response to indomethacin
  • Stable preventive treatment for at least 2 months and no anticipated need to adjust/add current headache prevention treatment

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria

  • Nonresponse to a therapeutic dose of indomethacin for hemicrania continua when used for at least 1 week
  • Pregnant or lactating subjects
  • Use of barbiturate or opioid >6 days per month; history of chronic migraine
  • History of previous trigeminal-autonomic cephalalgia
  • History within previous 2 months of interventional procedure for headache (occipital or other extracranial nerve block, sphenopalatine ganglion block, cervical facet block, facet rhizotomy)
  • History of cranial nerve/rhizolysis
  • Botulinumtoxin injection with previous 4 months
  • Parenteral infusion of or oral corticosteroid use for more than 3 days within 4 weeks prior to screening phase
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
2 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Treatment with Erenumab

    Subjects diagnosed with hemicrania continua will receive single dose of Erenumab

    Drug: Erenumab

Interventions

  • DrugErenumab

    140 mg of erenumab via subcutaneous injection

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Headache Days

    The total number of days per month (28 days) with headache of any kind/severity

    Time frame: 4 weeks post erenumab treatment

Secondary outcomes

  1. Migraine Days

    Total number of days per month (28 days) with migraines

    Time frame: 4 weeks post erenumab treatment

  2. Headache Freedom

    Total number of days per month (28 days) with complete headache freedom

    Time frame: 4 weeks post erenumab treatment

  3. Remission Rate

    Number of participants who do not have any occurrence of headache

    Time frame: 4 weeks post erenumab treatment

07

Results

Posted Feb 17, 2023
Limitations and caveats
Terminated study due to low enrollment

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneTreatment With Erenumab
Started2
Completed2
Not completed0

Outcome measures

PrimaryHeadache Days

The total number of days per month (28 days) with headache of any kind/severity

Time frame:
4 weeks post erenumab treatment
Reported as:
Mean · days
Headache Days
daysTreatment With Erenumab
Headache Days24.5 ± 4.9
SecondaryMigraine Days

Total number of days per month (28 days) with migraines

Time frame:
4 weeks post erenumab treatment
Reported as:
Mean · days
Migraine Days
daysTreatment With Erenumab
Migraine Days0.5 ± 0.7
SecondaryHeadache Freedom

Total number of days per month (28 days) with complete headache freedom

Time frame:
4 weeks post erenumab treatment
Reported as:
Mean · days
Headache Freedom
daysTreatment With Erenumab
Headache Freedom3.5 ± 4.9
SecondaryRemission Rate

Number of participants who do not have any occurrence of headache

Time frame:
4 weeks post erenumab treatment
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Remission Rate
ParticipantsTreatment With Erenumab
Remission Rate0

Adverse events

Collected over Adverse Events were collected from baseline to end of study, approximately 8 weeks.. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Treatment With Erenumab0/2 (0%)0/2 (0%)1/2 (50%)
Most frequent other events
Most frequent other events
EventTreatment With Erenumab
Worsening of pre-existing medical conditionGeneral disorders1/2

Baseline characteristics

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)Treatment With Erenumab
Mean58.5 ± 19.0
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Treatment With Erenumab
Female1
Male1
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Treatment With Erenumab
Hispanic or Latino0
Not Hispanic or Latino2
Unknown or Not Reported0
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Treatment With Erenumab
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Asian1
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
Black or African American0
White1
More than one race0
Unknown or Not Reported0
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(participants)Treatment With Erenumab
United States2
08

Study locations

1 site
  • Mayo Clinic in Arizona
    Scottsdale, Arizona 85259, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Oct 6, 2021

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: No

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Feb 17, 2023, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT04303845
Lead sponsor
Mayo Clinic
Responsible party
Rashmi B. Halker Singh MD (Principal Investigator, Mayo Clinic) — Principal investigator
First posted
Mar 11, 2020
Start date
Aug 4, 2021
Primary completion
Apr 6, 2022
Completion
Apr 6, 2022
Results posted
Feb 17, 2023
Last update
Feb 17, 2023

Study contacts

Rashmi Halker Singh, MD
principal investigator · Mayo Clinic

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is terminated, as verified in Jan 2023. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion