CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT04112316DOT3HF-HFrEFUpdated Dec 24, 2024Results posted

Developing Oral LT3 Therapy for Heart Failure - HFrEF

A Phase 1/2 interventional study of Liothyronine and Placebo in Heart Failure With Reduced Ejection Fraction (HFrEF) and Low T3 Syndrome, sponsored by University of Pennsylvania. Completed at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2024-12-24.

Sponsored by University of Pennsylvania · Phase 1/2, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 1/2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
28
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

Investigation of the safety, feasibility, and preliminary efficacy of thyroid hormone therapy with Liothyronine (LT3) in individuals with heart failure with reduced ejection fraction (HFrEF) and low triiodothyronine (T3) syndrome by conducting a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled cross-over study with a two-week washout period between treatments.

Read the detailed description

The overall goal is to determine the safety, feasibility, and preliminary efficacy of administering oral LT3 therapy in the study population of participants with Heart Failure with reduced ejection fraction (HFrEF). The study will consist of two treatment periods - each treatment period will be approximately 8 weeks in duration, with weekly titration of study drug for 4 weeks, followed by a maintenance dose for 4 weeks, then 2-week washout before crossing over to the other arm (placebo or drug). LT3 will be titrated to T3 levels.

02

Conditions studied

  • Heart Failure With Reduced Ejection Fraction (HFrEF)
  • Low T3 Syndrome

Browse trials for

Keywords

  • Heart Failure
  • HFrEF
  • Low T3 Syndrome
03

In context

Heart Failure

5,701 studies on the registry are indexed under Heart Failure; 1,220 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 28 is below the median of 72 across 3,736 interventional studies indexed under Heart Failure.

Browse Heart Failure studies →

Lead sponsor

University of Pennsylvania is the lead sponsor of 1,635 studies on the registry; 239 are open to participants now.

Of its 154 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 104 (68%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  1. Men and women aged ≥18 years
  2. NYHA Class I, II or III heart failure
  3. EF≤40 percent within the past year
  4. An implantable cardioverter-defibrillator (ICD)
  5. Stable doses of neurohormonal blockade for 30 days
  6. TSH and free T4 level within the laboratory reference range and total T3 level \<94 ng/dL

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  1. Hypertrophic or restrictive cardiomyopathy
  2. Uncorrected severe primary valvular disease
  3. Arrhythmia that results in irregular heart rate
  4. Inability to perform VO2max exercise testing
  5. Severe lung disease, including treatment with oral steroids within past 6 months for exacerbation of obstructive lung disease or use of daytime supplemental oxygen
  6. Serum creatinine > 3.0 mg/dL
  7. History of cirrhosis
  8. LVAD use
  9. Heart failure hospitalization within past month
  10. Acute coronary syndrome, coronary intervention or ablation therapy within past 2 months or cardiac surgery, percutaneous repair of a valve or septal defect repair within the past 6 months
  11. Taking thyroid extract, LT4, LT3, amiodarone, or medication that affects the absorption or metabolism of thyroid hormone; gastrointestinal conditions that affect the absorption of thyroid hormone
  12. If female, current or planned pregnancy within the timeframe of study participation
  13. Any medical condition that in the opinion of the investigator, will interfere with the safe completion of the study.
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 1 / Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Crossover assignment
Masking
Triple (Participant, Care provider, Investigator)
Enrollment
28 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Active comparator
    Liothyronine (LT3), then placebo

    Participants received liothyronine first, with weekly titration of study drug for four weeks, followed by a maintenance dose for 4 weeks, then 2-week washout before crossing over to receive placebo for 8 weeks.

    Drug: Liothyronine · Other: Placebo

  • Placebo comparator
    Placebo, then liothyronine

    Participants received placebo first, with weekly sham titration for four weeks, followed by a maintenance dose for 4 weeks, then 2-week washout before crossing over to receive LT3 for 8 weeks.

    Drug: Liothyronine · Other: Placebo

Interventions

  • DrugLiothyronine

    Liothyronine (L-triiodothyronine or LT3) in the 5 mcg tablet dose formulation. Minimum LT3 dose was 2.5 mcg three times daily and the maximum LT3 dose was 12.5 mcg three times daily.

    Also known as: LT3

  • OtherPlacebo

    A placebo tablet matching in appearance to LT3 tablets. Minimum placebo tablet dose was 1/2 tablet three times daily and the maximum placebo dose was 2 1/2 tablets three times daily.

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Cardiac Rhythm Monitoring by 14 Day Patch Rhythm Assessment

    Number of participants with atrial fibrillation or ventricular tachycardia \>= 4 beats

    Time frame: continuous during intervention (14 days)

  2. T3 Level

    Number of participants with T3 levels above upper limit of reference range

    Time frame: 8 weeks

Secondary outcomes

  1. Change in Peak Maximal Rate of Oxygen Consumption During Exercise (VO2 Max)

    Change in peak rate of oxygen consumption during exercise between baseline and 8 weeks

    Time frame: 8 weeks

  2. Change in Kansas City Cardiomyopathy Questionnaire (KCCQ) Quality of Life

    Change in KCCQ from baseline to 8 weeks, 0-100 scale, higher is better

    Time frame: 8 weeks

  3. Activity Measured Via Actigraphy

    Remotely sensed minutes/day of cumulative light, moderate, or vigorous activity in minutes/day after 8 weeks of LT3 or placebo

    Time frame: 8 weeks

  4. Change in NT-proBNP Levels

    Change in B-type natriuretic peptide levels, Pg/mL, from baseline to 8 weeks

    Time frame: 8 weeks

07

Results

Posted Dec 24, 2024

Participant flow

First Period (8 Weeks)
Participant flow — First Period (8 Weeks)
MilestoneLiothyronine (LT3), Then PlaceboPlacebo, Then Liothyronine
Started1414
Completed1214
Not completed20
Withdrew: Protocol violation10
Withdrew: Lost to follow-up10
Washout (2 Weeks)
Participant flow — Washout (2 Weeks)
MilestoneLiothyronine (LT3), Then PlaceboPlacebo, Then Liothyronine
Started1214
Completed1214
Not completed00
Second Intervention (8 Weeks)
Participant flow — Second Intervention (8 Weeks)
MilestoneLiothyronine (LT3), Then PlaceboPlacebo, Then Liothyronine
Started1214
Completed1214
Not completed00

Outcome measures

PrimaryCardiac Rhythm Monitoring by 14 Day Patch Rhythm Assessment

Number of participants with atrial fibrillation or ventricular tachycardia \>= 4 beats

Time frame:
continuous during intervention (14 days)
Reported as:
Number · Number of participants with events
Cardiac Rhythm Monitoring by 14 Day Patch Rhythm Assessment
Number of participants with eventsLiothyronine (LT3)Placebo
Cardiac Rhythm Monitoring by 14 Day Patch Rhythm Assessment1119
PrimaryT3 Level

Number of participants with T3 levels above upper limit of reference range

Time frame:
8 weeks
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
T3 Level
ParticipantsLiothyronine (LT3)Placebo
T3 Level40
SecondaryChange in Peak Maximal Rate of Oxygen Consumption During Exercise (VO2 Max)

Change in peak rate of oxygen consumption during exercise between baseline and 8 weeks

Time frame:
8 weeks
Reported as:
Mean · ml/kg/min
Change in Peak Maximal Rate of Oxygen Consumption During Exercise (VO2 Max)
ml/kg/minLiothyronine (LT3)Placebo
Change in Peak Maximal Rate of Oxygen Consumption During Exercise (VO2 Max)11.18 ± 4.2410.78 ± 4.31
SecondaryChange in Kansas City Cardiomyopathy Questionnaire (KCCQ) Quality of Life

Change in KCCQ from baseline to 8 weeks, 0-100 scale, higher is better

Time frame:
8 weeks
Reported as:
Mean · units on a scale
Change in Kansas City Cardiomyopathy Questionnaire (KCCQ) Quality of Life
units on a scaleLiothyronine (LT3)Placebo
Change in Kansas City Cardiomyopathy Questionnaire (KCCQ) Quality of Life0.6 ± 6.8-0.6 ± 10.3
SecondaryActivity Measured Via Actigraphy

Remotely sensed minutes/day of cumulative light, moderate, or vigorous activity in minutes/day after 8 weeks of LT3 or placebo

Time frame:
8 weeks
Reported as:
Mean · minutes/day
Activity Measured Via Actigraphy
minutes/dayLiothyronine (LT3)Placebo
Activity Measured Via Actigraphy241 ± 83265 ± 82
SecondaryChange in NT-proBNP Levels

Change in B-type natriuretic peptide levels, Pg/mL, from baseline to 8 weeks

Time frame:
8 weeks
Reported as:
Mean · pg/mL
Change in NT-proBNP Levels
pg/mLLiothyronine (LT3)Placebo
Change in NT-proBNP Levels66.1 ± 248.398.7 ± 450.9

Adverse events

Collected over 17 weeks. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Liothyronine (LT3)0/28 (0%)0/28 (0%)15/28 (53.6%)
Placebo0/28 (0%)0/28 (0%)9/28 (32.1%)
Most frequent other events
Most frequent other events
EventLiothyronine (LT3)Placebo
TotalInvestigations15/289/28

Baseline characteristics

Age, Categorical
Age, Categorical(Participants)Liothyronine (LT3), Then PlaceboPlacebo, Then LiothyronineTotal
<=18 years000
Between 18 and 65 years5813
>=65 years9615
Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)Liothyronine (LT3), Then PlaceboPlacebo, Then LiothyronineTotal
Mean63.9 ± 11.059.0 ± 12.361.4 ± 11.9
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Liothyronine (LT3), Then PlaceboPlacebo, Then LiothyronineTotal
Female246
Male121022
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Liothyronine (LT3), Then PlaceboPlacebo, Then LiothyronineTotal
Hispanic or Latino202
Not Hispanic or Latino121426
Unknown or Not Reported000
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Liothyronine (LT3), Then PlaceboPlacebo, Then LiothyronineTotal
American Indian or Alaska Native000
Asian000
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander000
Black or African American246
White121022
More than one race000
Unknown or Not Reported000
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(participants)Liothyronine (LT3), Then PlaceboPlacebo, Then LiothyronineTotal
United States141428
08

Study locations

1 site
  • PennMedicine
    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19104, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · May 11, 2022

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: No

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Dec 24, 2024, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT04112316
Lead sponsor
University of Pennsylvania
Collaborators
National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI)
Responsible party
Anne Cappola, MD (Professor of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania) — Principal investigator
First posted
Oct 2, 2019
Start date
Feb 11, 2020
Primary completion
Oct 31, 2023
Completion
Oct 31, 2023
Results posted
Dec 24, 2024
Last update
Dec 24, 2024

Study contacts

Anne R Cappola, MD,ScM
principal investigator · University of Pennsylvania

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Dec 2024. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion