CClinicalTrials.gg
TerminatedNCT03988205Updated Jul 19, 2022Results posted

Patients Receiving Induction With Liposomal Daunorubicin and Cytarabine (CPX-351) for Acute Myeloid Leukemia

A Phase 4 interventional study of Outpatient Care Model and CPX-351 in Leukemia, Myeloid, Acute, sponsored by Medical College of Wisconsin. Terminated at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2022-07-19.

Sponsored by Medical College of Wisconsin · Phase 4, Interventional, and Treatment

Why this study was terminated
Low accrual
Phase
Phase 4
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
3
Allocation
Not applicable
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

This is a single-arm, single-site run-in phase (six subjects) followed by a multicenter continuation phase (114 subjects), Phase IV study. Eligible subjects will be receiving CPX-351 as their usual medical care administered according to FDA approval, as a condition for participation.

Read the detailed description

This is an open-label, non-randomized study of a non-drug intervention in subjects receiving CPX-351 as their usual medical care administered according to its FDA approval. The study intervention is the application of a prescribed outpatient care model, including a nurse teacher educational program and quality of life surveys for both subjects and caregivers, in subjects who meet medical and logistical criteria. Induction therapy and medical follow-up are performed without prophylactic admission to an inpatient facility.

02

Conditions studied

  • Leukemia, Myeloid, Acute

Keywords

  • Acute Myeloid Leukemia
  • Outpatient
  • CPX-351
  • Vyxeos®
  • Leukemia
03

In context

Leukemia

5,441 studies on the registry are indexed under Leukemia; 636 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 3 is below the median of 38 across 4,247 interventional studies indexed under Leukemia.

Browse Leukemia studies →

Lead sponsor

Medical College of Wisconsin is the lead sponsor of 540 studies on the registry; 120 are open to participants now.

Of its 71 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 56 (79%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  1. Subjects with newly diagnosed acute myeloid leukemia who are eligible for treatment with CPX-351 therapy according to the FDA approval and indication: therapy-related AML (t-AML) or AML with myelodysplasia-related changes (AML-MRC).
  2. Age ≥ 18 years
  3. Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance score of 0 or 1 (or Karnofsky Performance Status equivalent of 70 or above).
  4. Total bilirubin ≤ 3 mg/dL.
  5. Creatinine clearance > 30 mL/min by Cockcroft/Gault equation.
  6. Adequate cardiac function, as assessed by ejection fraction( ≥50% for anthracycline therapy) via multiple-gated acquisition (MUGA) or echocardiogram.
  7. Total white blood cell count of ≤ 20,000/µL on peripheral blood assessment (hydrea and/or leukapheresis allowed).
  8. No evidence of active, uncontrolled infection.
  9. No evidence of clinically significant disseminated intervascular coagulation (DIC)
  10. No clinically significant abnormalities in core vital signs like heart rate, blood pressure or oxygenation which require inpatient evaluation or monitoring.
  11. In the opinion of the enrolling physician, the subject is not at risk for clinically significant tumor lysis syndrome based on clinical assessment, complete blood count (CBC), comprehensive metabolic panel (CMP), uric acid, and lactate dehydrogenase (LDH).
  12. In the opinion of the enrolling physician, no medical conditions that preclude the subject or the primary caregiver from transportation to and from the outpatient clinical care facility.
  13. Both subject and the identified primary caregiver(s) signed informed consent.
  14. In the opinion of the enrolling physician, there are no medical contraindications to outpatient induction and management.
  15. Male subjects, even if surgically sterilized (i.e., status post vasectomy), must agree to one of the followings:

    • Practice effective barrier contraception during the entire study period and through six months after the last dose of CPX-351, OR
    • Agree to practice true abstinence when this is in line with the preferred and usual lifestyle of the subject. (Periodic abstinence [e.g., calendar, ovulation, symptothermal, postovulation methods] and withdrawal are not acceptable methods of contraception.)

Female subjects must meet one of the followings:

  • Postmenopausal for at least one year before enrollment, OR
  • Surgically sterile (i.e., undergone a hysterectomy or bilateral oophorectomy), OR
  • If the subject is of childbearing potential (defined as not satisfying either of the above two criteria), she must agree to practice two acceptable methods of contraception (combination methods require use of two of the following: diaphragm with spermicide, cervical cap with spermicide, contraceptive sponge, male or female condom, hormonal contraceptive) from the time of signing of the informed consent form through six months after the last dose of CPX-351, OR o Agree to practice true abstinence when this is in line with the preferred and usual lifestyle of the subject. (Periodic abstinence [e.g., calendar, ovulation, symptothermal, postovulation methods] and withdrawal are not acceptable contraception methods.)

Logistical Inclusion Criteria

  1. The subject must be able to reside within approximately 45 minutes of the hospital where induction therapy is administered, during normal driving conditions (in the opinion of the enrolling physician), until count recovery or 60 days post-treatment, whichever comes first
  2. The enrolling physician must verify and attest that the subject has a primary caregiver meeting all the following criteria:

    • Reside with the subject.
    • Be able to care for the subject full time or arrange to share full-time care with secondary caregivers.
    • Provide transportation.
    • Respond to clinical issues that arise.
    • Communicate with subject and physician in a timely manner.
  3. The nurse teacher must verify that the subject and primary caregiver have completed and adequately understand the study-dictated nurse teacher educational program.
  4. The nurse teacher must verify the subject and primary caregiver have capacity to comply with outpatient management program.
  5. The subject must have reliable, working telephone access.
  6. The subject must be willing and able to attend all protocol-dictated visits and be seen frequently as an outpatient at the clinical care facility where induction therapy is administered.

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  1. Pregnant women (per pregnancy test in women of childbearing potential) or women who are breast-feeding.
  2. Subjects currently receiving any investigational agents.
  3. Subjects must not have current evidence of another malignancy that requires treatment.
  4. Subjects diagnosed with Wilson's disease and/or copper-related metabolic disorders.
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 4
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
3 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Intervention

    The study intervention is the application of a prescribed outpatient care model including a nurse teacher educational program and quality of life surveys for both subjects and caregivers. Induction therapy and medical follow up are performed without prophylactic admission to an inpatient facility. Subjects will also receive CPX-351 according to FDA approval, to subjects who meet medical and logistical criteria for study enrollment.

    Behavioral: Outpatient Care Model · Drug: CPX-351

Interventions

  • BehavioralOutpatient Care Model

    Outpatient care model includes a nurse teacher educational program, scheduled outpatient visit protocol, and quality of life surveys for both subjects and caregivers.

  • DrugCPX-351

    CPX-351 is administered, according to FDA approval, to subjects who meet medical and logistical criteria for study enrollment.

    Also known as: Cytarabine, Vyxeos®

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Number of Participants Adherent to Recommendations

    This measure will record the number subjects who adhere to outpatient follow-up appointments and readmission recommendations. Subjects completing 95% of their recommended outpatient visits will be considered to be adherent to the recommendations.

    Time frame: Day 60

  2. Number of Participants Adherent to Readmission Recommendations

    This measure will record the number of subjects who complete as 100% compliance with medical provider recommendations to be admitted to the hospital (except for reasons of adopting a palliative or hospice approach to care). Subjects not achieving a 100% rate of compliance will be considered non-adherent to the recommendations.

    Time frame: Day 60

07

Results

Posted Jul 19, 2022

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneIntervention
Started3
Completed3
Not completed0

Outcome measures

PrimaryNumber of Participants Adherent to Recommendations

This measure will record the number subjects who adhere to outpatient follow-up appointments and readmission recommendations. Subjects completing 95% of their recommended outpatient visits will be considered to be adherent to the recommendations.

Time frame:
Day 60
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants Adherent to Recommendations
ParticipantsIntervention
Number of Participants Adherent to Recommendations3
PrimaryNumber of Participants Adherent to Readmission Recommendations

This measure will record the number of subjects who complete as 100% compliance with medical provider recommendations to be admitted to the hospital (except for reasons of adopting a palliative or hospice approach to care). Subjects not achieving a 100% rate of compliance will be considered non-adherent to the recommendations.

Time frame:
Day 60
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants Adherent to Readmission Recommendations
ParticipantsIntervention
Number of Participants Adherent to Readmission Recommendations3

Adverse events

Collected over 60 days. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Intervention0/3 (0%)3/3 (100%)3/3 (100%)
Most frequent serious events
Most frequent serious events
EventIntervention
Febrile neutropeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders2/3
FeverGeneral disorders1/3
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 31
Most frequent other events
EventIntervention
Neutrophil count decreasedInvestigations3/3
Platelet count decreasedInvestigations3/3
White blood cell decreasedInvestigations3/3
Lymphocyte count decreasedInvestigations2/3
AnemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders1/3
Sinus tachycardiaCardiac disorders1/3
ConstipationGastrointestinal disorders1/3
DiarrheaGastrointestinal disorders1/3
NauseaGastrointestinal disorders1/3
Edema faceGeneral disorders1/3

Baseline characteristics

Age, Categorical
Age, Categorical(Participants)Intervention
<=18 years0
Between 18 and 65 years3
>=65 years0
Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)Intervention
Mean63.34 ± .75
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Intervention
Female2
Male1
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Intervention
Hispanic or Latino0
Not Hispanic or Latino3
Unknown or Not Reported0
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Intervention
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Asian0
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
Black or African American1
White2
More than one race0
Unknown or Not Reported0
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(participants)Intervention
United States3
08

Study locations

1 site
  • Froedtert Hospital
    Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53226, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Apr 15, 2020
  • Informed consent form · May 25, 2021
  • Informed consent form · May 25, 2021

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: No

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Jul 19, 2022, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT03988205
Lead sponsor
Medical College of Wisconsin
Responsible party
Laura Michaelis (Associate Professor, Medical College of Wisconsin) — Principal investigator
First posted
Jun 17, 2019
Start date
Aug 28, 2019
Primary completion
Dec 1, 2021
Completion
Apr 1, 2022
Results posted
Jul 19, 2022
Last update
Jul 19, 2022

Study contacts

Laura Michaelis, MD
principal investigator · Medical College of Wisconsin

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is terminated, as verified in Jul 2022. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion