ClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT03920293Updated May 28, 2024Results posted

Safety and Efficacy Study of Ravulizumab in Adults With Generalized Myasthenia Gravis

A Phase 3 interventional study of Ravulizumab and Placebo in Generalized Myasthenia Gravis, sponsored by Alexion Pharmaceuticals, Inc.. Completed at 106 sites in 15 countries. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2024-05-28.

Sponsored by Alexion Pharmaceuticals, Inc. (part of AstraZeneca) · Phase 3, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
175
Allocation
Randomized
Sex
All
01

Study summary

The primary purpose of this study is to evaluate the safety and efficacy of ravulizumab for the treatment of participants with generalized myasthenia gravis (gMG).

02

Conditions studied

  • Generalized Myasthenia Gravis

Browse trials for

03

In context

Myasthenia Gravis

327 studies on the registry are indexed under Myasthenia Gravis; 144 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 175 is above the median of 44 across 213 interventional studies indexed under Myasthenia Gravis.

Browse Myasthenia Gravis studies →

Lead sponsor

Alexion Pharmaceuticals, Inc. is the lead sponsor of 255 studies on the registry; 24 are open to participants now.

Of its 101 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 73 (72%) have results posted.

First submitted before Alexion Pharmaceuticals, Inc. became part of AstraZeneca.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
Child (0–17), Adult (18–64), Older adult (65+)
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Go through the criteria one by one — yes, no or not sure — and take the list to your doctor or the study team. Kept in this browser only.

Inclusion criteria

  1. Diagnosed with Myasthenia Gravis at least 6 months (180 days) prior to the date of the Screening Visit as confirmed by specific criteria.
  2. Myasthenia Gravis Foundation of America Clinical Classification Class II to IV at screening.
  3. MG-ADL profile must be ≥ 6 at screening and randomization (Day 1).
  4. Vaccinated against meningococcal infections within 3 years prior to, or at the time of, initiating study drug to reduce the risk of meningococcal infection (N meningitidis).

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

Medical Conditions

  1. Any active or untreated thymoma. History of thymic carcinoma or thymic malignancy unless deemed cured by adequate treatment with no evidence of recurrence for ≥ 5 years before screening.
  2. History of thymectomy within the 12 months prior to screening.
  3. History of N meningitidis infection.
  4. Use of the following within the time period specified below:

    • IV immunoglobulin within 4 weeks of randomization
    • Use of plasma exchange within 4 weeks of randomization
    • Use of rituximab within 6 months of screening
  5. Participants who have received previous treatment with complement inhibitors (for example, eculizumab).
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Parallel assignment
Masking
Triple (Participant, Care provider, Investigator)
Enrollment
175 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Ravulizumab

    Participants will receive ravulizumab for the duration of the study.

    Biological: Ravulizumab

  • Placebo comparator
    Placebo

    Participants will receive placebo during the 26-week randomized-controlled period of the study, after which they will enter the open-label extension period of the study and receive ravulizumab.

    Drug: Placebo

Interventions

  • BiologicalRavulizumab

    Concentrated sterile, preservative-free aqueous solution (10 milligrams \[mg\]/milliliter \[mL\]) in single-use, 30-mL vial for intravenous (IV) infusion. Single loading dose on Day 1, followed by regular maintenance dosing beginning on Day 15, based on weight.

    Also known as: ALXN1210, Ultomiris

  • DrugPlacebo

    Matching, sterile, preservative-free aqueous solution in single-use, 30-mL vial for IV infusion. Single loading dose on Day 1, followed by regular maintenance dosing beginning on Day 15, based on weight.

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Change From Baseline In Myasthenia Gravis-Activities Of Daily Living (MG-ADL) Total Score At Week 26

    The MG-ADL is an 8-point questionnaire that focused on relevant symptoms and functional performance of activities of daily living in participants with MG. The 8 items of the MGADL questionnaire were derived from symptom-based components of the original 13-item QMG scale to assess disability secondary to ocular (2 items), bulbar (3 items), respiratory (1 item), and gross motor or limb (2 items) impairment related to effects from MG. In this functional status instrument, each response was graded 0 (normal) to 3 (most severe). The range of total MG-ADL score was 0 to 24. A decrease in score indicated improvement. Estimates were based on Mixed Effect Repeated Measures (MMRM) that included treatment group, stratification factor region, and MG-ADL total score at baseline, study visit, and study visit by treatment group interaction.

    Time frame: Baseline, Week 26

Secondary outcomes

  1. Change From Baseline In The Quantitative Myasthenia Gravis (QMG) Total Score At Week 26

    The QMG scoring system consisted of 13 items: ocular (2 items), facial (1 item), bulbar (2 items), gross motor (6 items), axial (1 item), and respiratory (1 item); each graded 0 to 3, with 3 being the most severe. The range of total QMG score is 0 to 39. The QMG scoring system was considered to be an objective evaluation of therapy for MG and was based on quantitative testing of sentinel muscle groups. A decrease in score indicated improvement. Estimates were based on MMRM that included treatment group, stratification factor region, and QMG total score at baseline, study visit, and study visit by treatment group interaction.

    Time frame: Baseline, Week 26

  2. Percentage of Participants With a Quantitative Myasthenia Gravis (QMG) Total Score Reduction of at Least 5 Points At Week 26

    The QMG scoring system consisted of 13 items: ocular (2 items), facial (1 item), bulbar (2 items), gross motor (6 items), axial (1 item), and respiratory (1 item); each graded 0 to 3, with 3 being the most severe. The range of total QMG score is 0 to 39. A decrease in score indicated improvement. Percentage of participants with a ≥5-point reduction in the QMG total score are reported. Estimates were based on a generalized linear mixed model (GLMM) that included treatment group, stratification factor region and QMG total score at baseline, study visit and study visit by treatment group interaction.

    Time frame: Week 26

  3. Change From Baseline In the Revised 15 Component Myasthenia Gravis Quality of Life (MG-QOL15r) At Week 26

    The revised Myasthenia Gravis Qualify of Life 15-item scale (MG-QOL15r) is a health-related QoL evaluative instrument specific to participants with MG. The MG-QOL15r was designed to provide information about participants' perception of impairment and disability, determine the degree to which disease manifestations are tolerated, and to be administered and interpreted easily. Each item was graded on a scale of 0 to 2, with 2 being the most severe. The range of MG-QOL15r score is 0 to 30. Higher scores indicated greater extent of and dissatisfaction with MG-related dysfunction. Estimates are based on MMRM that included treatment group, stratification factor region and MG-QOL15r score at baseline, study visit and study visit by treatment group interaction.

    Time frame: Baseline, Week 26

  4. Change From Baseline in Neurological Quality of Life (Neuro-QoL) Fatigue Score at Week 26

    The Neuro-QOL Fatigue is a reliable and validated brief 19-item survey of fatigue, completed by the participant. Each items was rated on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the most severe. The range of total score is 19 to 95. Higher scores indicated greater fatigue and greater impact of MG on activities. Estimates were based on MMRM that included treatment group, stratification factor region and Neuro-QoL Fatigue score at baseline, study visit, and study visit by treatment group interaction.

    Time frame: Baseline, Week 26

  5. Percentage of Participants With a Myasthenia Gravis Activities of Daily Living (MG-ADL) Total Score Reduction of at Least 3 Points At Week 26

    The MG-ADL is an 8-point questionnaire that focused on relevant symptoms and functional performance of activities of daily living in participants with MG. The 8 items of the MGADL questionnaire were derived from symptom-based components of the original 13-item QMG scale to assess disability secondary to ocular (2 items), bulbar (3 items), respiratory (1 item), and gross motor or limb (2 items) impairment related to effects from MG. In this functional status instrument, each response was graded 0 (normal) to 3 (most severe). The range of total MG-ADL score was 0 to 24. A decrease in score indicated improvement. Percentage of participants with a ≥3-point reduction in the MG-ADL total score are reported. Estimates were based on a GLMM that included treatment group, stratification factor region and MG-ADL total score at baseline, study visit and study visit by treatment group interaction.

    Time frame: Week 26

07

Results

Posted May 26, 2022

Participant flow

Randomized-Controlled Period
Participant flow — Randomized-Controlled Period
MilestoneRavulizumab to RavulizumabPlacebo to Ravulizumab
Started8689
Received at least 1 dose of study drug8689
Completed7983
Not completed76
Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject21
Withdrew: Physician decision12
Withdrew: Adverse event02
Withdrew: Sponsor decision01
Withdrew: Death20
Withdrew: Protocol violation10
Withdrew: Noncompliance10
Open- Label Extension Period
Participant flow — Open- Label Extension Period
MilestoneRavulizumab to RavulizumabPlacebo to Ravulizumab
Started7883
Completed6063
Not completed1820
Withdrew: Participants who transitioned to alternative treatment by the investigator when the study closed35
Withdrew: Death33
Withdrew: Physician decision53
Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject79

Outcome measures

PrimaryChange From Baseline In Myasthenia Gravis-Activities Of Daily Living (MG-ADL) Total Score At Week 26

The MG-ADL is an 8-point questionnaire that focused on relevant symptoms and functional performance of activities of daily living in participants with MG. The 8 items of the MGADL questionnaire were derived from symptom-based components of the original 13-item QMG scale to assess disability secondary to ocular (2 items), bulbar (3 items), respiratory (1 item), and gross motor or limb (2 items) impairment related to effects from MG. In this functional status instrument, each response was graded 0 (normal) to 3 (most severe). The range of total MG-ADL score was 0 to 24. A decrease in score indicated improvement. Estimates were based on Mixed Effect Repeated Measures (MMRM) that included treatment group, stratification factor region, and MG-ADL total score at baseline, study visit, and study visit by treatment group interaction.

Time frame:
Baseline, Week 26
Reported as:
Least squares mean · units on a scale
Change From Baseline In Myasthenia Gravis-Activities Of Daily Living (MG-ADL) Total Score At Week 26
units on a scaleRavulizumabPlacebo
Change From Baseline In Myasthenia Gravis-Activities Of Daily Living (MG-ADL) Total Score At Week 26-3.1 ± 0.38-1.4 ± 0.37
Statistical analysis
  • Ravulizumab vs Placebo · MMRM · p = =0.0009 (Statistical significance was tested at α=0.05.) · Ls mean difference: -1.6 · 95% CI -2.6 to -0.7
SecondaryChange From Baseline In The Quantitative Myasthenia Gravis (QMG) Total Score At Week 26

The QMG scoring system consisted of 13 items: ocular (2 items), facial (1 item), bulbar (2 items), gross motor (6 items), axial (1 item), and respiratory (1 item); each graded 0 to 3, with 3 being the most severe. The range of total QMG score is 0 to 39. The QMG scoring system was considered to be an objective evaluation of therapy for MG and was based on quantitative testing of sentinel muscle groups. A decrease in score indicated improvement. Estimates were based on MMRM that included treatment group, stratification factor region, and QMG total score at baseline, study visit, and study visit by treatment group interaction.

Time frame:
Baseline, Week 26
Reported as:
Least squares mean · units on a scale
Change From Baseline In The Quantitative Myasthenia Gravis (QMG) Total Score At Week 26
units on a scaleRavulizumabPlacebo
Change From Baseline In The Quantitative Myasthenia Gravis (QMG) Total Score At Week 26-2.8 ± 0.46-0.8 ± 0.45
SecondaryPercentage of Participants With a Quantitative Myasthenia Gravis (QMG) Total Score Reduction of at Least 5 Points At Week 26

The QMG scoring system consisted of 13 items: ocular (2 items), facial (1 item), bulbar (2 items), gross motor (6 items), axial (1 item), and respiratory (1 item); each graded 0 to 3, with 3 being the most severe. The range of total QMG score is 0 to 39. A decrease in score indicated improvement. Percentage of participants with a ≥5-point reduction in the QMG total score are reported. Estimates were based on a generalized linear mixed model (GLMM) that included treatment group, stratification factor region and QMG total score at baseline, study visit and study visit by treatment group interaction.

Time frame:
Week 26
Reported as:
Number · percentage of participants
Percentage of Participants With a Quantitative Myasthenia Gravis (QMG) Total Score Reduction of at Least 5 Points At Week 26
percentage of participantsRavulizumabPlacebo
Percentage of Participants With a Quantitative Myasthenia Gravis (QMG) Total Score Reduction of at Least 5 Points At Week 2630.0 (19.2 to 43.5)11.3 (5.6 to 21.5)
SecondaryChange From Baseline In the Revised 15 Component Myasthenia Gravis Quality of Life (MG-QOL15r) At Week 26

The revised Myasthenia Gravis Qualify of Life 15-item scale (MG-QOL15r) is a health-related QoL evaluative instrument specific to participants with MG. The MG-QOL15r was designed to provide information about participants' perception of impairment and disability, determine the degree to which disease manifestations are tolerated, and to be administered and interpreted easily. Each item was graded on a scale of 0 to 2, with 2 being the most severe. The range of MG-QOL15r score is 0 to 30. Higher scores indicated greater extent of and dissatisfaction with MG-related dysfunction. Estimates are based on MMRM that included treatment group, stratification factor region and MG-QOL15r score at baseline, study visit and study visit by treatment group interaction.

Time frame:
Baseline, Week 26
Reported as:
Least squares mean · score on a scale
Change From Baseline In the Revised 15 Component Myasthenia Gravis Quality of Life (MG-QOL15r) At Week 26
score on a scaleRavulizumabPlacebo
Change From Baseline In the Revised 15 Component Myasthenia Gravis Quality of Life (MG-QOL15r) At Week 26-3.3 ± 0.71-1.6 ± 0.70
SecondaryChange From Baseline in Neurological Quality of Life (Neuro-QoL) Fatigue Score at Week 26

The Neuro-QOL Fatigue is a reliable and validated brief 19-item survey of fatigue, completed by the participant. Each items was rated on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the most severe. The range of total score is 19 to 95. Higher scores indicated greater fatigue and greater impact of MG on activities. Estimates were based on MMRM that included treatment group, stratification factor region and Neuro-QoL Fatigue score at baseline, study visit, and study visit by treatment group interaction.

Time frame:
Baseline, Week 26
Reported as:
Least squares mean · units on a scale
Change From Baseline in Neurological Quality of Life (Neuro-QoL) Fatigue Score at Week 26
units on a scaleRavulizumabPlacebo
Change From Baseline in Neurological Quality of Life (Neuro-QoL) Fatigue Score at Week 26-7.0 ± 1.92-4.8 ± 1.87
SecondaryPercentage of Participants With a Myasthenia Gravis Activities of Daily Living (MG-ADL) Total Score Reduction of at Least 3 Points At Week 26

The MG-ADL is an 8-point questionnaire that focused on relevant symptoms and functional performance of activities of daily living in participants with MG. The 8 items of the MGADL questionnaire were derived from symptom-based components of the original 13-item QMG scale to assess disability secondary to ocular (2 items), bulbar (3 items), respiratory (1 item), and gross motor or limb (2 items) impairment related to effects from MG. In this functional status instrument, each response was graded 0 (normal) to 3 (most severe). The range of total MG-ADL score was 0 to 24. A decrease in score indicated improvement. Percentage of participants with a ≥3-point reduction in the MG-ADL total score are reported. Estimates were based on a GLMM that included treatment group, stratification factor region and MG-ADL total score at baseline, study visit and study visit by treatment group interaction.

Time frame:
Week 26
Reported as:
Number · percentage of participants
Percentage of Participants With a Myasthenia Gravis Activities of Daily Living (MG-ADL) Total Score Reduction of at Least 3 Points At Week 26
percentage of participantsRavulizumabPlacebo
Percentage of Participants With a Myasthenia Gravis Activities of Daily Living (MG-ADL) Total Score Reduction of at Least 3 Points At Week 2656.7 (44.3 to 68.3)34.1 (23.8 to 46.1)

Adverse events

Collected over Day 1 (after dosing) up to 2 years. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Randomized-Controlled Period: Ravulizumab2/86 (2.3%)20/86 (23.3%)77/86 (89.5%)
Randomized-Controlled Period: Placebo0/89 (0%)14/89 (15.7%)75/89 (84.3%)
Open-Label Extension Period: Placebo to Ravulizumab3/83 (3.6%)32/83 (38.6%)79/83 (95.2%)
Open-Label Extension Period: Ravulizumab to Ravulizumab3/78 (3.8%)24/78 (30.8%)77/78 (98.7%)
Most frequent serious events
Showing 10 of 125
Most frequent serious events
EventRandomized-Controlled Period: RavulizumabRandomized-Controlled Period: PlaceboOpen-Label Extension Period: Placebo to RavulizumabOpen-Label Extension Period: Ravulizumab to Ravulizumab
COVID-19Infections and infestations0/861/892/834/78
Myasthenia gravisNervous system disorders0/863/891/834/78
COVID-19 pneumoniaInfections and infestations2/860/892/830/78
CellulitisInfections and infestations0/862/892/831/78
PneumoniaInfections and infestations0/860/892/831/78
Spinal compression fractureInjury, poisoning and procedural complications0/860/892/830/78
PyrexiaGeneral disorders0/860/892/830/78
Transient ischaemic attackNervous system disorders2/860/890/830/78
DyspnoeaRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders1/860/890/831/78
ErysipelasInfections and infestations0/860/891/831/78
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 26
Most frequent other events
EventRandomized-Controlled Period: RavulizumabRandomized-Controlled Period: PlaceboOpen-Label Extension Period: Placebo to RavulizumabOpen-Label Extension Period: Ravulizumab to Ravulizumab
COVID-19Infections and infestations5/863/8926/8330/78
HeadacheNervous system disorders16/8623/8917/8312/78
DiarrhoeaGastrointestinal disorders13/8611/8910/836/78
ArthralgiaMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders6/867/899/8311/78
NasopharyngitisInfections and infestations3/865/8911/838/78
Back painMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders7/865/8910/836/78
FallInjury, poisoning and procedural complications0/860/8910/832/78
NauseaGastrointestinal disorders9/869/899/837/78
Upper respiratory tract infectionInfections and infestations0/860/899/832/78
Urinary tract infectionInfections and infestations5/864/898/837/78

Baseline characteristics

Full Analysis Set: All randomized participants who received at least 1 dose of study drug.

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)RavulizumabPlaceboTotal
Mean58.0 ± 13.8253.3 ± 16.0555.6 ± 15.14
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)RavulizumabPlaceboTotal
Female444589
Male424486
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)RavulizumabPlaceboTotal
Hispanic or Latino257
Not Hispanic or Latino7978157
Unknown or Not Reported5611
Race/Ethnicity, Customized
Race/Ethnicity, Customized(Participants)RavulizumabPlaceboTotal
American Indian or Alaska Native011
Asian151631
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander000
Black or African American246
White6761128
Other011
Unknown or Not Reported268
08

Study locations

106 sites
  • Research Site
    Phoenix, Arizona 85013, United States
  • Research Site
    Phoenix, Arizona 85018, United States
  • Research Site
    Phoenix, Arizona 85028, United States
  • Research Site
    Irvine, California 92617, United States
  • Research Site
    Loma Linda, California 92354, United States
  • Research Site
    Palo Alto, California 94304, United States
  • Research Site
    San Francisco, California 94115, United States
  • Research Site
    Sylmar, California 91342, United States
  • Research Site
    Aurora, Colorado 80045, United States
  • Research Site
    Colorado Springs, Colorado 80907, United States
  • Research Site
    Fort Collins, Colorado 80528, United States
  • Research Site
    Fairfield, Connecticut 06824, United States
  • Research Site
    Washington D.C., District of Columbia 20007, United States
  • Research Site
    Jacksonville, Florida 32209, United States
  • Research Site
    Tampa, Florida 33612, United States
  • Research Site
    Chicago, Illinois 60637, United States
  • Research Site
    Rolling Meadows, Illinois 60008, United States
  • Research Site
    Indianapolis, Indiana 46202, United States
  • Research Site
    Kansas City, Kansas 66160, United States
  • Research Site
    Lexington, Kentucky 40503, United States
  • Research Site
    Baltimore, Maryland 21287, United States
  • Research Site
    Boston, Massachusetts 02116, United States
  • Research Site
    Burlington, Massachusetts 01805, United States
  • Research Site
    Ann Arbor, Michigan 48109, United States
  • Research Site
    East Lansing, Michigan 48824, United States
  • Research Site
    Grand Rapids, Michigan 49525, United States
  • Research Site
    Columbia, Missouri 65201, United States
  • Research Site
    Las Vegas, Nevada 89104, United States
  • Research Site
    Las Vegas, Nevada 89145, United States
  • Research Site
    Great Neck, New York 11021, United States
  • Research Site
    New York, New York 10021, United States
  • Research Site
    Chapel Hill, North Carolina 27599, United States
  • Research Site
    Charlotte, North Carolina 28207, United States
  • Research Site
    Durham, North Carolina 27710, United States
  • Research Site
    Cincinnati, Ohio 45219, United States
  • Research Site
    Cleveland, Ohio 44195, United States
  • Research Site
    Columbus, Ohio 43221, United States
  • Research Site
    Hershey, Pennsylvania 17033, United States
  • Research Site
    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19104, United States
  • Research Site
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15212, United States
  • Research Site
    Charleston, South Carolina 29425, United States
  • Research Site
    North Charleston, South Carolina 29406, United States
  • Research Site
    Austin, Texas 78756, United States
  • Research Site
    Dallas, Texas 75206, United States
  • Research Site
    Houston, Texas 77030, United States
  • Research Site
    Round Rock, Texas 78681, United States
  • Research Site
    Burlington, Vermont 05401, United States
  • Research Site
    Richmond, Virginia 23298, United States
  • Research Site
    Morgantown, West Virginia 26506, United States
  • Research Site
    Vienna, 1090, Austria
  • Research Site
    Edmonton, Alberta T6G 2G3, Canada
  • Research Site
    London, Ontario N6A 5A5, Canada
  • Research Site
    Toronto, Ontario M5G 2C4, Canada
  • Research Site
    Montreal, Quebec H3A 2B4, Canada
  • Research Site
    Brno, 625 00, Czechia
  • Research Site
    Ostrava, 708 52, Czechia
  • Research Site
    Prague, 12800, Czechia
  • Research Site
    Aalborg, 9100, Denmark
  • Research Site
    Arhus C, 8000, Denmark
  • Research Site
    Copenhagen, 2100, Denmark
  • Research Site
    Garches, 92380, France
  • Research Site
    Lille, 59037, France
  • Research Site
    Marseille, 13005, France
  • Research Site
    Nice, 6000, France
  • Research Site
    Berlin, 10117, Germany
  • Research Site
    Essen, 45147, Germany
  • Research Site
    Hamburg, 20246, Germany
  • Research Site
    Leipzig, 04103, Germany
  • Research Site
    Münster, 48149, Germany
  • Research Site
    Würzburg, 97070, Germany
  • Research Site
    Haifa, 3109601, Israel
  • Research Site
    Tel Aviv, 6423906, Israel
  • Research Site
    Bergamo, 24127, Italy
  • Research Site
    Bologna, 40139, Italy
  • Research Site
    Milan, 20133, Italy
  • Research Site
    Naples, 80131, Italy
  • Research Site
    Roma, 00168, Italy
  • Research Site
    Rome, 00189, Italy
  • Research Site
    Bunkyō City, 113-8655, Japan
  • Research Site
    Chiba, 260-0877, Japan
  • Research Site
    Fukuoka, 812-8582, Japan
  • Research Site
    Hanamaki-shi, 025-0075, Japan
  • Research Site
    Kawagoe-shi, 350-8550, Japan
  • Research Site
    Moriguchi-shi, 570-8507, Japan
  • Research Site
    Nagoya, 466-8560, Japan
  • Research Site
    Niigata, 951-8585, Japan
  • Research Site
    Osaka, 565-0871, Japan
  • Research Site
    Sapporo, 060-8543, Japan
  • Research Site
    Sapporo, 063-0005, Japan
  • Research Site
    Sendai, 983-0045, Japan
  • Research Site
    Shinjuku-ku, 160-8582, Japan
  • Research Site
    Ube-shi, 755-8505, Japan
  • Research Site
    Amsterdam, 1105 AZ, Netherlands
  • Research Site
    Leiden, 2333 ZA, Netherlands
  • Research Site
    Porto, 4099-001, Portugal
  • Research Site
    Daegu, 41404, South Korea
  • Research Site
    Seoul, 02841, South Korea
  • Research Site
    Seoul, 03722, South Korea
  • Research Site
    Seoul, 06351, South Korea
  • Research Site
    Seoul, 143-729, South Korea

Showing the first 100 of 106 sites across 15 countries.

09

References and documents

Publications

  • Vu T, Meisel A, Mantegazza R, Annane D, Katsuno M, Aguzzi R, Enayetallah A, Beasley KN, Rampal N, Howard JF. Terminal Complement Inhibitor Ravulizumab in Generalized Myasthenia Gravis. NEJM Evid. 2022 May;1(5):EVIDoa2100066. doi: 10.1056/EVIDoa2100066. Epub 2022 Apr 26. PubMed 38319212 ↗
  • Meisel A, Annane D, Vu T, Mantegazza R, Katsuno M, Aguzzi R, Frick G, Gault L, Howard JF Jr; CHAMPION MG Study Group. Long-term efficacy and safety of ravulizumab in adults with anti-acetylcholine receptor antibody-positive generalized myasthenia gravis: results from the phase 3 CHAMPION MG open-label extension. J Neurol. 2023 Aug;270(8):3862-3875. doi: 10.1007/s00415-023-11699-x. Epub 2023 Apr 27. PubMed 37103755 ↗
  • Vu T, Ortiz S, Katsuno M, Annane D, Mantegazza R, Beasley KN, Aguzzi R, Howard JF Jr. Ravulizumab pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics in patients with generalized myasthenia gravis. J Neurol. 2023 Jun;270(6):3129-3137. doi: 10.1007/s00415-023-11617-1. Epub 2023 Mar 9. PubMed 36890354 ↗
  • Vanoli F, Mantegazza R. Ravulizumab for the treatment of myasthenia gravis. Expert Opin Biol Ther. 2023 Mar;23(3):235-241. doi: 10.1080/14712598.2023.2185131. Epub 2023 Mar 8. PubMed 36852670 ↗

Related links

Study documents

  • Study protocol · Oct 25, 2019
  • Statistical analysis plan · Jun 10, 2021

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

10

Timeline

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
ElapsedEstimatedEstimated, not yet reachedSimilar studies: half by the dot; the band is the middle halfHalf of similar studies reached it by the dot; the band is the middle half, from a quarter to three quarters

Ran from Mar 2019 to primary completion in May 2021, 25 months.

Results were first posted in May 2022, 1 year after primary completion. A results delay was requested in Mar 2022.

Of 43 industry-sponsored phase 3 interventional studies under Myasthenia Gravis, half reached primary completion within 27 months of starting (the median), counting those still running; a quarter within 19 and three quarters within 39. This study's 25 months is close to that.

Counting every sponsor, half of 52 studies reached it within 30 months; a quarter within 20 and three quarters within 43.

How these figures are worked out, and which studies are left out of them.

Registered
Apr 16, 2019
First posted
Apr 18, 2019
StartActual
Mar 12, 2019
Primary completionActual
May 11, 2021
CompletionActual
May 25, 2023
Results delay requested
Mar 11, 2022
Results first posted
May 26, 2022
Last update
May 28, 2024
What these dates mean
Start.
When the first participant enrolled; while estimated, when the study expects to open to recruitment.
Primary completion.
When the last participant was examined or treated to collect data for the study's main question, its primary outcome. A study that stopped early gives the date its data collection stopped.
Completion.
When the last participant's last visit took place, for every outcome, secondary ones and side effects included: the end of the study. Often later than primary completion, sometimes the same day.
Actual and Est.
Actual means the registry says the date has happened. Est. (estimated) is a date the sponsor plans or expects. It can still move, and the sponsor is expected to change it to actual once it has passed.
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on May 28, 2024, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT03920293
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Apr 18, 2019
Start date
Mar 12, 2019
Primary completion
May 11, 2021
Completion
May 25, 2023
Results posted
May 26, 2022
Last update
May 28, 2024

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Apr 2024. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Studies of the drug tested here: Ravulizumab

Start the discussion