A Phase 1/2 interventional study of CTNS-RD-04 (including CTNS-RD-04-LB manufactured with LentiBOOST) in Lysosomal Storage Diseases and Cystinosis, sponsored by University of California, San Diego. Completed at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2026-08-06.
Sponsored by University of California, San Diego · Phase 1/2, Interventional, and Treatment
This study is a Phase 1/2 clinical trial that will assess the safety and efficacy of enriched gene-corrected hematopoietic stem cells isolated from patients affected with cystinosis. (Investigational Product: CTNS-RD-04, including product manufactured with and without the transduction enhancer LentiBOOST [CTNS-RD-04-LB])
Cystinosis is a rare inherited recessive disease belonging to the family of Lysosomal Storage Disorders and is characterized by lysosomal accumulation of cystine in all the cells of the body leading to multi-organ failure. Cystinosis has a devastating impact on the affected individuals, primarily children, and young adults, even with cysteamine treatment. The prevalence of cystinosis is 1 in 100,000 to 1 in 200,000. The gene involved in cystinosis is the gene CTNS that encodes for the transmembrane lysosomal cystine transporter - cystinosin. The current standard of care does not prevent the progression of the disease and significantly impacts the quality of life of patients with cystinosis.
For this study, up to 6 subjects meeting eligibility criteria will be transplanted following a 3-cohort staggered treatment design with 2 subjects per cohort. The first 2 cohorts will consist of 4 adults (18 years or older), potentially followed by a cohort consisting of 2 adolescents or adults (> 14 years old). Following the informed consent process, enrolled subjects will be screened to confirm full eligibility for participation. Eligible subjects will undergo hematopoietic stem cell (HSC) mobilization and collection (leukapheresis). A portion of cells will be kept as "back-up" for rescue purpose if necessary, and a portion will be ex vivo gene-modified with a lentiviral vector, pCCL-CTNS or pCDY.EFS.CTNS.T260I, to express CTNS gene (product name: CTNS-RD-04). Clinical manufacturing for patients in Cohort 3 will introduce a transduction enhancer LentiBOOST (product name for these patients will be CTNS-RD-04-LB, where the suffix "-LB" stands for LentiBOOST). The subjects will receive marrow cytoreduction with busulfan prior to infusion of CTNS-RD-04. Subjects will discontinue cysteamine treatment during the assessment period. The assessment follow-up period will include an initial 2 years of active end-point evaluations, where the subjects will be evaluated at 3-, 6-, 9-, 12-, 18- and 24-months post-transplantation. A Long-Term Follow-Up study (LTFU) for a total 15-year follow-up period will be offered to all subjects.
The objectives of this Phase 1/2 clinical study are to assess the safety/tolerability of CTNS-RD-04, and its efficacy through a number of clinical, molecular and biochemical assessments.
62 studies on the registry are indexed under Lysosomal Storage Diseases; 14 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 7 is below the median of 12 across 32 interventional studies indexed under Lysosomal Storage Diseases.
Browse Lysosomal Storage Diseases studies →University of California, San Diego is the lead sponsor of 958 studies on the registry; 191 are open to participants now.
Of its 110 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 70 (64%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
The following criteria must be met by all subjects considered for study participation.
Subject has adequate hematologic function:
Subject has an adequate hepatic function:
Subject has an adequate renal function:
a. Serum creatinine \<2x ULN mg/dL
Subject has adequate coagulation:
Subject has adequate thyroid function (with or without thyroid replacement therapy):
If female: female of childbearing potential (i.e., not surgically sterile [tubal ligation, hysterectomy, or bilateral oophorectomy] or not at least 2 years naturally postmenopausal) agrees to remain sexually abstinent or utilize the same acceptable form of highly effective contraception from screening through two years post-transplant.
The acceptable forms of contraception for this study include hormonal contraceptives (oral, implant, transdermal patch, or injection) associated with inhibition of ovulation at a stable dose for at least 3 months prior to screening, barrier (condom with spermicide, diaphragm with spermicide), intrauterine device, or a partner who has been vasectomized for at least 6 months and has documented medical assessment of surgical success of a vasectomy.
Note: males with cystinosis are sterile.
Exclusion Criteria:
Subject has positive serology at screening for any of the following:
Subject has impaired cardiac function within 90 days prior to screening including any of the following:
This is a single-arm, open-label study without randomization. Eligible subjects received CTNS-RD-04, an autologous CD34+ hematopoietic stem cell product transduced ex vivo with a lentiviral vector encoding CTNS. During the study, manufacturing incorporated a transduction enhancer (LentiBOOST) in later participants.
Genetic: CTNS-RD-04 (including CTNS-RD-04-LB manufactured with LentiBOOST)
Cryopreserved autologous CD34+ enriched hematopoietic stem/progenitor cells collected from mobilized peripheral blood and transduced ex vivo with a self-inactivating lentiviral vector (pCCL-CTNS or pCDY.EFS.CTNS.T260I) encoding the human CTNS complementary deoxyribonucleic acid (cDNA) sequence. In later participants, a transduction enhancer (LentiBOOST) was incorporated into the manufacturing process.
Safety and Tolerability: Total Number of Adverse Events (AEs) Per Participant (Pre- and Post-dose to End of Study)
The total count of all adverse events (AEs) recorded for each dosed participant reported at any scheduled study visit starting with the first pre-dose safety visit (i.e., the first visit after informed consent and before the first administration of study drug) and continuing through the end of the treatment period. Events were coded using MedDRA and graded according to NCI CTCAE criteria. The outcome is the total count of AEs per participant.
Time frame: From the first pre-dose safety visit to the end of the treatment period (e.g., 24 months post-dose) or the participant's last safety-assessment visit, whichever occurs later.
Safety and Tolerability: Aggregate Number of Adverse Events (AEs) by National Cancer Institute Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) Severity (Pre-dose and Post-dose to End of Study)
The total aggregate count of all graded adverse events (AEs) recorded for all dosed participants reported at any scheduled study visit starting with the first pre-dose safety visit (i.e., the first visit after informed consent and before the first administration of study drug) and continuing through the end of the treatment period. Events were coded using MedDRA v24.0 and graded according to NCI CTCAE version 4.03. The outcome is the total count of AEs per grade (Mild, Moderate, Severe, Life Threatening, Death).
Time frame: From the first pre-dose safety visit to the end of the treatment period (e.g., 24 months post-dose) or the participant's last safety-assessment visit, whichever occurs later.
Safety and Tolerability: Aggregate Number of Adverse Events (AEs) by Relationship to Study Treatment (Pre-dose and Post-dose to End of Study)
The total aggregate count of all adverse events (AEs) categorized by relationship to the study treatment recorded for all dosed participants reported at any scheduled study visit starting with the first pre-dose safety visit (i.e., the first visit after informed consent and before the first administration of study drug) and continuing through the end of the treatment period. Relationship to the study treatment was determined using the standard categories defined in the protocol: Related (probably or possibly related); Unrelated (not related, unlikely related). Each AE was coded with MedDRA v24.0. The outcome reported is the study-wide total count of AEs in each relationship category.
Time frame: From the first pre-dose safety visit to the end of the treatment period (e.g., 24 months post-dose) or the participant's last safety-assessment visit, whichever occurs later.
Safety and Tolerability: White Blood Cell Count at Baseline, 12-month, and 24-month Post-infusion
Clinical laboratory values for white blood cell (WBC) count at baseline, approximately 12 months and approximately 24 months post-infusion study visits. Results are summarized as mean (SD) across dosed participants with evaluable data at each timepoint.
Time frame: Baseline, approximately 12 months post-infusion, and approximately 24 months post-infusion.
Safety and Tolerability: Absolute Monocyte Count at Baseline, 12-month, and 24-month Post-infusion
Clinical laboratory values for absolute monocyte count at baseline, approximately 12 months and approximately 24 months post-infusion study visits. Results are summarized as mean (SD) across dosed participants with evaluable data at each timepoint.
Time frame: Baseline, approximately 12 months post-infusion, and approximately 24 months post-infusion.
Safety and Tolerability: Platelet Count at Baseline, 12 Month and 24 Month Post-infusion
Clinical laboratory values for platelet count at baseline, approximately 12 months and approximately 24 months post-infusion study visits. Results are summarized as mean (SD) across dosed participants with evaluable data at each timepoint.
Time frame: Baseline, approximately 12 months post-infusion, and approximately 24 months post-infusion.
Safety and Tolerability: Systolic and Diastolic Blood Pressure at Baseline, 12-month, and 24-month Post-infusion Study Visits
Systolic and diastolic blood pressure at baseline, approximately 12 months and approximately 24 months post-infusion study visits. Measurements were taken with subjects positioned supine, seated, or semi-Fowler's position. Results are summarized as mean (SD) across dosed participants with evaluable data at each timepoint.
Time frame: Baseline, approximately 12 months post-infusion, and approximately 24 months post-infusion.
Safety and Tolerability: Heart Rate at Baseline, 12-month, and 24-month Post-infusion Study Visits
Heart rate at baseline, approximately 12 months and approximately 24 months post-infusion study visits. Measurements were taken with subjects positioned supine, seated, or semi-Fowler's position. Results are summarized as mean (SD) across dosed participants with evaluable data at each timepoint.
Time frame: Baseline, approximately 12 months post-infusion, and approximately 24 months post-infusion.
Safety and Tolerability: Body Temperature at Baseline, 12-month, and 24-month Post-infusion Study Visits
Body temperature at baseline, approximately 12 months, and approximately 24 months post-infusion study visits. Results are summarized as mean (SD) across dosed participants with evaluable data at each timepoint.
Time frame: Baseline, approximately 12 months post-infusion, and approximately 24 months post-infusion.
Safety and Tolerability: Respiratory Rate at Baseline, 12-month, and 24-month Post-infusion Study Visits
Respiratory rate at baseline, approximately 12 months and approximately 24 months post-infusion study visits. Measurements were taken with subjects positioned supine, seated, or semi-Fowler's position. Results are summarized as mean (SD) across dosed participants with evaluable data at each timepoint.
Time frame: Baseline, approximately 12 months post-infusion, and approximately 24 months post-infusion.
Safety and Tolerability: Electrocardiogram (ECG) Ventricular Rates at Baseline, 12-month, and 24-month Post-infusion Study Visits
Electrocardiogram (ECG) ventricular rate at baseline, approximately 12 months and approximately 24 months post-infusion study visits. ECG recordings were obtained using standard 12-lead resting ECGs. Results are summarized as mean (SD) across dosed participants with evaluable data at each timepoint.
Time frame: Baseline, approximately 12 months post-infusion, and approximately 24 months post-infusion.
Safety and Tolerability: Electrocardiogram (ECG) Intervals Including PR Interval, QRS Interval, QT Interval and QTc Bazett at Baseline, 12 Month and 24 Month Post-infusion Study Visits
Electrocardiogram (ECG) intervals including PR interval, QRS interval, QT interval and QTc Bazett at baseline, approximately 12 months and approximately 24 months post-infusion study visits. ECG recordings were obtained using standard 12-lead resting ECGs. Results are summarized as mean (SD) across dosed participants with evaluable data at each timepoint.
Time frame: Baseline, approximately 12 months post-infusion, and approximately 24 months post-infusion.
Safety: Number of Dosed Participants Showing Evidence (Positive or Negative) of Genotoxicity as Determined by Polyclonal Expansion and Insertional Mutagenesis
The number of dosed participants showing evidence (positive or negative) of polyclonal expansion and insertional mutagenesis as determined by vector integration site (VIS) analysis in whole blood collected at baseline and at approximately 1, 3, 6, 12, 18, and 24 months post-transplant. VIS analysis was performed using LTR-based PCR amplification and Illumina sequencing. Clonal abundance was monitored using the Sonic Abundance method.
Time frame: Up to 24 months post-transplant
Efficacy: Cystine Levels in Leukocytes and Granulocytes at Baseline, 12 Month and 24 Month Post-infusion Study Visits
Cystine levels in leukocytes and granulocytes from whole blood collected at baseline, approximately 12 months and approximately 24 months post-infusion study visits. Liquid chromatography tandem mass spectrometry (LC-MS/MS) using d4-cystine as an internal standard was used to measure cystine levels. Results are summarized as mean (SD) across dosed participants with evaluable data at each timepoint.
Time frame: Baseline, approximately 12 months post-infusion, and approximately 24 months post-infusion.
Efficacy: Clinical Laboratory Values of Estimated Glomerular Filtration Rate (eGFR) at Baseline, 12 Month and 24 Month Post-infusion Study Visits
Estimated glomerular filtration rate (eGFR) calculated from creatinine in whole blood collected at baseline, approximately 12 months and approximately 24 months post-infusion using the 2021 CKD-EPI equation. This population included participants with native kidneys and participants with prior kidney transplantation. Results are summarized as mean (SD) across dosed participants with evaluable data at each timepoint.
Time frame: Baseline, approximately 12 months post-infusion, and approximately 24 months post-infusion.
Efficacy: Clinical Laboratory Values of Thyroxine (T4) Endocrine Levels at Baseline, 12 Month and 24 Month Post-infusion Study Visits
Thyroxine (T4) hormone levels from whole blood collected at baseline, approximately 12 months and approximately 24 months post-infusion study visits. Results are summarized as mean (SD) across dosed participants with evaluable data at each timepoint. Normal reference range: 4.5-10.9 µg/dL.
Time frame: Baseline, approximately 12 months post-infusion, and approximately 24 months post-infusion.
Efficacy: Clinical Laboratory Values Thyroid-stimulating Hormone (TSH) Endocrine Levels at Baseline, 12 Month and 24 Month Post-infusion Study Visits
Thyroid-stimulating hormone (TSH) levels from whole blood collected at baseline, approximately 12 months and approximately 24 months post-infusion study visits. Results are summarized as mean (SD) across dosed participants with evaluable data at each timepoint. Normal reference range: 0.27-4.2 µIU/mL.
Time frame: Baseline, approximately 12 months post-infusion, and approximately 24 months post-infusion.
Transduction Efficiency: Vector Copy Number (VCN) in Peripheral Blood at 12 Month and 24 Month Post-infusion Study Visits
Vector copy number (VCN) in peripheral blood cells collected at approximately 12 months and approximately 24 months post-transplant to assess engraftment and transduction efficiency of gene-modified hematopoietic stem cells. VCN was measured by droplet digital PCR (ddPCR). Results are summarized as mean (SD) across dosed participants with evaluable data at each timepoint.
Time frame: Approximately 12 months post-infusion and approximately 24 months post-infusion.
Subjects were recruited through ClinicalTrials.gov, the Cure Cystinosis International Registry, and cystinosis advocacy organization outreach, including national conferences. Eight subjects were screened; seven met eligibility criteria and were enrolled. Six subjects received CTNS-RD-04 infusion. One subject was a screen failure and one discontinued prior to dosing due to inadequate stem cell collection.
| Milestone | Gene Therapy With CTNS-RD-04 (Including Product Manufactured With and Without LentiBOOST) |
|---|---|
| Started | 7 |
| Completed | 6 |
| Not completed | 1 |
| Withdrew: Inadequate stem cell collection following leukapheresis. | 1 |
The total count of all adverse events (AEs) recorded for each dosed participant reported at any scheduled study visit starting with the first pre-dose safety visit (i.e., the first visit after informed consent and before the first administration of study drug) and continuing through the end of the treatment period. Events were coded using MedDRA and graded according to NCI CTCAE criteria. The outcome is the total count of AEs per participant.
| Adverse events per participant | Gene Therapy With CTNS-RD-04 (Including Product Manufactured With and Without LentiBOOST) |
|---|---|
| Patient 1 | 48 |
| Patient 2 | 26 |
| Patient 3 | 12 |
| Patient 4 | 34 |
| Patient 5 | 40 |
| Patient 6 | 49 |
Cystine levels in leukocytes and granulocytes from whole blood collected at baseline, approximately 12 months and approximately 24 months post-infusion study visits. Liquid chromatography tandem mass spectrometry (LC-MS/MS) using d4-cystine as an internal standard was used to measure cystine levels. Results are summarized as mean (SD) across dosed participants with evaluable data at each timepoint.
| nmol half-cystine per mg protein | Gene Therapy With CTNS-RD-04 (Including Product Manufactured With and Without LentiBOOST) |
|---|---|
| Leukocyte cystine - Baseline | 9.26 ± 5.71 |
| Leukocyte cystine - 12 Months | 2.67 ± 0.79 |
| Leukocyte cystine - 24 Months | 1.75 ± 0.84 |
| Granulocyte cystine - Baseline | 10.22 ± 4.10 |
| Granulocyte cystine - 12 Months | 5.07 ± 2.51 |
| Granulocyte cystine - 24 Months | 4.26 ± 2.56 |
Estimated glomerular filtration rate (eGFR) calculated from creatinine in whole blood collected at baseline, approximately 12 months and approximately 24 months post-infusion using the 2021 CKD-EPI equation. This population included participants with native kidneys and participants with prior kidney transplantation. Results are summarized as mean (SD) across dosed participants with evaluable data at each timepoint.
| mL/min/1.73 m² | Gene Therapy With CTNS-RD-04 (Including Product Manufactured With and Without LentiBOOST) |
|---|---|
| eGFR - Baseline | 69 ± 20 |
| eGFR - 12 Months | 67 ± 22 |
| eGFR - 24 Months | 59 ± 30 |
Thyroxine (T4) hormone levels from whole blood collected at baseline, approximately 12 months and approximately 24 months post-infusion study visits. Results are summarized as mean (SD) across dosed participants with evaluable data at each timepoint. Normal reference range: 4.5-10.9 µg/dL.
| µg/dL | Gene Therapy With CTNS-RD-04 (Including Product Manufactured With and Without LentiBOOST) |
|---|---|
| T4 - Baseline | 6.95 ± 0.92 |
| T4 - 12 Months | 6.37 ± 0.72 |
| T4 - 24 Months | 6.73 ± 1.30 |
Thyroid-stimulating hormone (TSH) levels from whole blood collected at baseline, approximately 12 months and approximately 24 months post-infusion study visits. Results are summarized as mean (SD) across dosed participants with evaluable data at each timepoint. Normal reference range: 0.27-4.2 µIU/mL.
| µIU/mL | Gene Therapy With CTNS-RD-04 (Including Product Manufactured With and Without LentiBOOST) |
|---|---|
| TSH - Baseline | 2.86 ± 1.45 |
| TSH - 12 Months | 3.74 ± 2.29 |
| TSH - 24 Months | 4.93 ± 3.10 |
Vector copy number (VCN) in peripheral blood cells collected at approximately 12 months and approximately 24 months post-transplant to assess engraftment and transduction efficiency of gene-modified hematopoietic stem cells. VCN was measured by droplet digital PCR (ddPCR). Results are summarized as mean (SD) across dosed participants with evaluable data at each timepoint.
| Vector copy number per diploid genome | Gene Therapy With CTNS-RD-04 (Including Product Manufactured With and Without LentiBOOST) |
|---|---|
| VCN - Baseline | 0.00 ± 0.00 |
| VCN - 12 Months | 1.46 ± 0.90 |
| VCN - 24 Months | 1.30 ± 0.94 |
The total aggregate count of all graded adverse events (AEs) recorded for all dosed participants reported at any scheduled study visit starting with the first pre-dose safety visit (i.e., the first visit after informed consent and before the first administration of study drug) and continuing through the end of the treatment period. Events were coded using MedDRA v24.0 and graded according to NCI CTCAE version 4.03. The outcome is the total count of AEs per grade (Mild, Moderate, Severe, Life Threatening, Death).
| Count (adverse events) | Gene Therapy With CTNS-RD-04 (Including Product Manufactured With and Without LentiBOOST) |
|---|---|
| Grade 1 (Mild) | 171 |
| Grade 2 (Moderate) | 34 |
| Grade 3 (Severe) | 4 |
| Grade 4 (Life Threatening) | 0 |
| Grade 5 (Fatal) | 0 |
The total aggregate count of all adverse events (AEs) categorized by relationship to the study treatment recorded for all dosed participants reported at any scheduled study visit starting with the first pre-dose safety visit (i.e., the first visit after informed consent and before the first administration of study drug) and continuing through the end of the treatment period. Relationship to the study treatment was determined using the standard categories defined in the protocol: Related (probably or possibly related); Unrelated (not related, unlikely related). Each AE was coded with MedDRA v24.0. The outcome reported is the study-wide total count of AEs in each relationship category.
| Adverse Events | Gene Therapy With CTNS-RD-04 (Including Product Manufactured With and Without LentiBOOST) |
|---|---|
| Unrelated to study treatment (not related or unlikely related) | 209 |
| Related to study treatment (possibly or probably) | 0 |
Clinical laboratory values for white blood cell (WBC) count at baseline, approximately 12 months and approximately 24 months post-infusion study visits. Results are summarized as mean (SD) across dosed participants with evaluable data at each timepoint.
| 1000 cells/mm^3 | Gene Therapy With CTNS-RD-04 (Including Product Manufactured With and Without LentiBOOST) |
|---|---|
| Baseline | 5.75 ± 1.72 |
| 12 Months | 4.43 ± 1.05 |
| 24 Months | 3.97 ± 0.84 |
Clinical laboratory values for absolute monocyte count at baseline, approximately 12 months and approximately 24 months post-infusion study visits. Results are summarized as mean (SD) across dosed participants with evaluable data at each timepoint.
| 1000 cells/mm^3 | Gene Therapy With CTNS-RD-04 (Including Product Manufactured With and Without LentiBOOST) |
|---|---|
| Baseline | 0.42 ± 0.16 |
| 12 Months | 0.33 ± 0.15 |
| 24 Months | 0.37 ± 0.15 |
Clinical laboratory values for platelet count at baseline, approximately 12 months and approximately 24 months post-infusion study visits. Results are summarized as mean (SD) across dosed participants with evaluable data at each timepoint.
| 1000 cells/mm^3 | Gene Therapy With CTNS-RD-04 (Including Product Manufactured With and Without LentiBOOST) |
|---|---|
| Baseline | 178 ± 74 |
| 12 Months | 148 ± 71 |
| 24 Months | 165 ± 74 |
Systolic and diastolic blood pressure at baseline, approximately 12 months and approximately 24 months post-infusion study visits. Measurements were taken with subjects positioned supine, seated, or semi-Fowler's position. Results are summarized as mean (SD) across dosed participants with evaluable data at each timepoint.
| mmHg | Gene Therapy With CTNS-RD-04 (Including Product Manufactured With and Without LentiBOOST) |
|---|---|
| Systolic - Baseline | 120.5 ± 13.7 |
| Systolic - 12 Months | 114.5 ± 10.5 |
| Systolic - 24 Months | 114.2 ± 12.4 |
| Diastolic - Baseline | 76.2 ± 16.1 |
| Diastolic - 12 Months | 74.8 ± 13.7 |
| Diastolic - 24 Months | 66.0 ± 20.9 |
Heart rate at baseline, approximately 12 months and approximately 24 months post-infusion study visits. Measurements were taken with subjects positioned supine, seated, or semi-Fowler's position. Results are summarized as mean (SD) across dosed participants with evaluable data at each timepoint.
| Beats per minute (BPM) | Gene Therapy With CTNS-RD-04 (Including Product Manufactured With and Without LentiBOOST) |
|---|---|
| Vital signs HR - Baseline | 73.2 ± 11.9 |
| Vital signs HR - 12 Months | 86.7 ± 11.2 |
| Vital signs HR - 24 Months | 71.2 ± 3.1 |
Body temperature at baseline, approximately 12 months, and approximately 24 months post-infusion study visits. Results are summarized as mean (SD) across dosed participants with evaluable data at each timepoint.
| Degrees Celsius | Gene Therapy With CTNS-RD-04 (Including Product Manufactured With and Without LentiBOOST) |
|---|---|
| Baseline | 36.47 ± 0.21 |
| 12 Months | 36.50 ± 0.21 |
| 24 Months | 36.50 ± 0.43 |
Respiratory rate at baseline, approximately 12 months and approximately 24 months post-infusion study visits. Measurements were taken with subjects positioned supine, seated, or semi-Fowler's position. Results are summarized as mean (SD) across dosed participants with evaluable data at each timepoint.
| Breaths per minute | Gene Therapy With CTNS-RD-04 (Including Product Manufactured With and Without LentiBOOST) |
|---|---|
| Baseline | 17 ± 1.7 |
| 12 Months | 16 ± 1.5 |
| 24 Months | 16 ± 2.7 |
Electrocardiogram (ECG) ventricular rate at baseline, approximately 12 months and approximately 24 months post-infusion study visits. ECG recordings were obtained using standard 12-lead resting ECGs. Results are summarized as mean (SD) across dosed participants with evaluable data at each timepoint.
| Beats per minute (BPM) | Gene Therapy With CTNS-RD-04 (Including Product Manufactured With and Without LentiBOOST) |
|---|---|
| ECG ventricular rate - Baseline | 71.3 ± 14.7 |
| ECG ventricular rate - 12 Months | 74.2 ± 15.1 |
| ECG ventricular rate - 24 Months | 66.8 ± 9.8 |
Electrocardiogram (ECG) intervals including PR interval, QRS interval, QT interval and QTc Bazett at baseline, approximately 12 months and approximately 24 months post-infusion study visits. ECG recordings were obtained using standard 12-lead resting ECGs. Results are summarized as mean (SD) across dosed participants with evaluable data at each timepoint.
| Milliseconds (ms) | Gene Therapy With CTNS-RD-04 (Including Product Manufactured With and Without LentiBOOST) |
|---|---|
| PR interval - Baseline | 145.0 ± 29.9 |
| PR interval - 12 Months | 149.7 ± 16.2 |
| PR interval - 24 Months | 148.0 ± 18.4 |
| QRS interval - Baseline | 90.3 ± 12.0 |
| QRS interval - 12 Months | 88.0 ± 14.0 |
| QRS interval - 24 Months | 88.3 ± 15.8 |
| QT interval - Baseline | 390.0 ± 40.9 |
| QT interval - 12 Months | 367.0 ± 29.7 |
| QT interval - 24 Months | 411.3 ± 74.0 |
| QTc (Bazett) - Baseline | 419.7 ± 23.1 |
| QTc (Bazett) - 12 Months | 402.8 ± 18.4 |
| QTc (Bazett) - 24 Months | 434.5 ± 102.0 |
The number of dosed participants showing evidence (positive or negative) of polyclonal expansion and insertional mutagenesis as determined by vector integration site (VIS) analysis in whole blood collected at baseline and at approximately 1, 3, 6, 12, 18, and 24 months post-transplant. VIS analysis was performed using LTR-based PCR amplification and Illumina sequencing. Clonal abundance was monitored using the Sonic Abundance method.
| Participants | Gene Therapy With CTNS-RD-04 (Including Product Manufactured With and Without LentiBOOST) |
|---|---|
| No evidence of genotoxicity or insertional mutagenesis | 6 |
| Evidence of genotoxicity or insertional mutagenesis | 0 |
Collected over From the first pre-dose safety assessment through approximately 24 months post-infusion, or the participant's last safety-assessment visit, whichever occurs later.. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gene Therapy With CTNS-RD-04 (Including Product Manufactured With and Without LentiBOOST) | 0/6 (0%) | 1/6 (16.7%) | 6/6 (100%) |
| Event | Gene Therapy With CTNS-RD-04 (Including Product Manufactured With and Without LentiBOOST) |
|---|---|
| Coronary artery stenosisCardiac disorders | 1/6 |
| Event | Gene Therapy With CTNS-RD-04 (Including Product Manufactured With and Without LentiBOOST) |
|---|---|
| HypogonadismEndocrine disorders | 6/6 |
| Oral mucositisGastrointestinal disorders | 6/6 |
| AlopeciaSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders | 6/6 |
| RashSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders | 6/6 |
| ThrombocytopeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 5/6 |
| DiarrheaGastrointestinal disorders | 5/6 |
| FatigueGeneral disorders | 5/6 |
| Bone painMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders | 5/6 |
| AzoospermiaReproductive system and breast disorders | 5/6 |
| LeukopeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 4/6 |
Baseline characteristics were analyzed for all enrolled participants who entered the mobilization and leukapheresis period (n=7). This population corresponds to the participants assigned in the Participant Flow. One enrolled participant discontinued prior to conditioning and infusion; however, baseline data were collected prior to discontinuation and are included.
| Age, Continuous(Years) | Gene Therapy With CTNS-RD-04 (Including Product Manufactured With and Without LentiBOOST) |
|---|---|
| Mean | 28.0 ± 9.2 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Gene Therapy With CTNS-RD-04 (Including Product Manufactured With and Without LentiBOOST) |
|---|---|
| Female | 2 |
| Male | 5 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Gene Therapy With CTNS-RD-04 (Including Product Manufactured With and Without LentiBOOST) |
|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 |
| Asian | 0 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 |
| Black or African American | 0 |
| White | 7 |
| More than one race | 0 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Gene Therapy With CTNS-RD-04 (Including Product Manufactured With and Without LentiBOOST) |
|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 0 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 7 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 |
| Baseline Estimated Glomerular Filtration Rate (eGFR), Continuous(mL/min/1.73m2) | Gene Therapy With CTNS-RD-04 (Including Product Manufactured With and Without LentiBOOST) |
|---|---|
| Mean | 64 ± 22 |
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
Plan to share: Yes — Individual participant data that underlie the results reported in this article, after de-identification (text, tables, figures, and appendices).
Supporting information: Study protocol
This study is completed, as verified in Jul 2026. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
University of California, San Diego