CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT03893825SHINEUpdated Dec 7, 2022Results posted

A Study to Test if TV-46000 is Safe for Maintenance Treatment of Schizophrenia

A Phase 3 interventional study of TV-46000 and Placebo in Schizophrenia, sponsored by Teva Branded Pharmaceutical Products R&D, Inc.. Completed at 90 sites in 5 countries. Open to participants aged 13 Years to 65 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2022-12-07.

Sponsored by Teva Branded Pharmaceutical Products R&D, Inc. · Phase 3, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
336
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
13 Years to 65 Years
Sex
All
01

Study summary

The primary objective of the study is to evaluate the long-term safety and tolerability of TV-46000. The primary safety and tolerability endpoint is the frequency of all adverse events, including serious adverse events. For new participants, the total duration of participant participation in the study is planned to be up to 80 weeks (including a screening period of up to 4 weeks, a 12-week oral conversion/stabilization stage [Stage 1], a 56-week double-blind maintenance stage [Stage 2], and a follow-up period [8 weeks]). For roll-over participants, the total duration of participant participation in the study is planned to be up to 64 weeks (including up to 56 weeks in the maintenance stage [Stage 2] and a follow-up period [8 weeks]). Participants who started Stage 2 who relapse or meet 1 or more of the withdrawal criteria should be invited to perform the Early Termination visit as soon as possible within 4 weeks of the last injection. Participants who withdraw from the study before completing the 56-week maintenance stage will have follow-up procedures and assessments performed at their follow-up visits. During the follow-up period, participants will be treated according to the investigator's judgment.

All participants will be treated with active drug.

02

Conditions studied

  • Schizophrenia

Browse trials for

03

In context

Schizophrenia

3,471 studies on the registry are indexed under Schizophrenia; 472 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 336 is above the median of 70 across 2,872 interventional studies indexed under Schizophrenia.

Browse Schizophrenia studies →

Lead sponsor

Teva Branded Pharmaceutical Products R&D, Inc. is the lead sponsor of 205 studies on the registry; none are open to participants now.

Of its 49 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 47 (96%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
13 Years to 65 Years
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

Participants Rolling Over from the Pivotal Efficacy Study TV46000-CNS-30072:

  • The participant must have participated in the pivotal efficacy study (Study TV46000-CNS-30072) without experiencing relapse events and without important protocol deviations.
  • If the participant was taking antidepressants or mood stabilizers in Study TV46000-CNS-30072, no dose changes or initiation of treatment with these medications will be permitted.
  • The participant, in the investigator's judgment, requires chronic treatment with an antipsychotic medication.
  • The participant is able to understand the nature of the study and follow protocol requirements, including the prescribed dosage regimens (oral and SC administration) and non-use of prohibited concomitant medications; can read and understand the written word in order to complete participant-reported outcomes measures; and can be reliably rated on assessment scales.
  • The participant has had a stable place of residence for the previous 3 months before the baseline visit in this study, and changes in residence are not anticipated over the course of study participation.
  • The participant has no significant life events (such as pending loss of housing, family status change, long travel abroad, surgery, etc) that could affect study outcomes expected throughout the period of study participation.
  • Women of childbearing potential and sexually active female adolescents must agree not to try to become pregnant, and, unless they have exclusively same-sex partners, must agree to use a highly effective method of contraception and agree to continue use of this method beginning 1 month before the first administration of study drug and for the duration of the study and for 120 days after the last injection of study drug.
  • The participant, if adult or adolescent male, is surgically sterile, or, if capable of producing offspring, has exclusively same-sex partners or is currently using an approved method of birth control and agrees to the continued use of this method for the duration of the study (and for 120 days after the last dose of study drug). Male participants with sex partners who are women of childbearing potential must use condoms even if surgically sterile. In addition, male participants may not donate sperm for the duration of the study and for 120 days after taking the study drug.

New Participants (Not Rolling Over from the Pivotal Efficacy Study TV46000-CNS-30072):

  • The participant has a diagnosis of schizophrenia
  • The participant has been responsive to an antipsychotic treatment (other than clozapine) in the past year based on investigator judgment (and discussions with family members, caregivers, or healthcare professionals as applicable).
  • The participant, in the investigator's judgment, requires chronic treatment with an antipsychotic medication.
  • The participant is able to understand the nature of the study and follow protocol requirements, including the prescribed dosage regimens (oral and sc administration) and non-use of prohibited concomitant medications; can read and understand the written word in order to complete participant-reported outcomes measures; and can be reliably rated on assessment scales.
  • The participant has had a stable place of residence for the previous 3 months before screening, and changes in residence are not anticipated over the course of study participation.
  • The participant has no significant life events (such as pending loss of housing, family status change, long travel abroad, surgery, etc) that could affect study outcomes expected throughout the period of study participation.
  • The participant has a body mass index between 18.0 and 38.0 kilograms (kg)/square meter (m\^2), inclusive.
  • Women of childbearing potential and sexually active female adolescents must agree not to try to become pregnant, and, unless they have exclusively same-sex partners, must agree to use a highly effective method of contraception and agree to continue use of this method beginning 1 month before the first administration of study drug and for the duration of the study and for 120 days after the last injection of study drug.
  • The participant, if adult or adolescent male, is surgically sterile, or, if capable of producing offspring, has exclusively same-sex partners or is currently using an approved method of birth control and agrees to the continued use of this method for the duration of the study (and for 120 days after the last dose of study drug). Male participants with sex partners who are women of childbearing potential must use condoms even if surgically sterile. In addition, male participants may not donate sperm for the duration of the study and for 120 days after taking the study drug.
  • Additional criteria apply, please contact the investigator for more information.

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

Participants Rolling Over from the Pivotal Efficacy Study TV46000-CNS-30072:

  • The participant has a finding in the baseline 12-lead electrocardiogram (ECG) that is considered clinically significant in the judgment of the investigator.
  • Poor compliance with study procedures (in the opinion of the investigator or sponsor) during the pivotal efficacy Study TV46000-CNS-30072. This should be discussed on a case-by-case basis.

New Participants (Not Rolling Over from the Pivotal Efficacy Study TV46000-CNS-30072) and Roll-Over Participants:

  • The participant is currently on clozapine or has received electroconvulsive therapy in the last 12 months.
  • The participant has a history of epilepsy or seizures, neuroleptic malignant syndrome, tardive dyskinesia, or other medical condition that would expose the participant to undue risk.
  • The participant has a positive serology for human immunodeficiency virus (HIV)-1, HIV-2, hepatitis B surface antigen, and/or hepatitis C.
  • The participant has current or a history of known hypersensitivity to risperidone or any of the excipients of TV-46000 or the oral formulation of risperidone used in the stabilization phase.
  • The participant has a substance use disorder, including alcohol and benzodiazepines but excluding nicotine and caffeine.
  • The participant is a pregnant or lactating female.
  • The participant has used an investigational drug other than TV-46000 within 3 months prior to screening or has participated in a non-drug clinical trial within 30 days prior to screening.
  • Vulnerable participants (for example, people kept in detention).
  • Additional criteria apply, please contact the investigator for more information.
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Parallel assignment
Masking
Quadruple (Participant, Care provider, Investigator, Outcomes assessor)
Enrollment
336 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    TV-46000 q1m

    Participants will receive a subcutaneous (SC) injection of TV-46000 at baseline and every 4 weeks (q4w) thereafter for up to 56 weeks. The maximal dose administered to adult participants is comparable to an oral risperidone dose of 5 mg/day, and the maximal dose administered to adolescents is comparable to 4 mg/day.

    Drug: TV-46000

  • Experimental
    TV-46000 q2m

    Participants will receive an SC injection of TV-46000 at baseline and every 8 weeks (q8w) thereafter, and a placebo SC injection 4 weeks after baseline and q8w thereafter for up to 56 weeks. The maximal dose administered to adult participants is comparable to an oral risperidone dose of 5 mg/day, and the maximal dose administered to adolescents is comparable to 4 mg/day.

    Drug: TV-46000 · Drug: Placebo

Interventions

  • DrugTV-46000

    TV-46000 will be administered per dose and schedule specified in the arm description.

    Also known as: Risperidone

  • DrugPlacebo

    Placebo matching to TV-46000 will be administered per schedule specified in the arm description.

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Number of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs)

    An AE was defined as any untoward medical occurrence in a participant who received study drug without regard to possibility of causal relationship. Serious adverse events (SAEs) were defined as death, a life-threatening AE, inpatient hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization, persistent or significant disability or incapacity, a congenital anomaly or birth defect, or an important medical event that jeopardized participant and required medical intervention to prevent 1 of the outcomes listed in this definition. A summary of other non-serious AEs and all serious AEs, regardless of causality is located in Reported AE section.

    Time frame: Baseline up to Week 64

  2. Number of Participants With SAEs

    An AE was defined as any untoward medical occurrence in a participant who received study drug without regard to possibility of causal relationship. SAEs were defined as death, a life-threatening AE, inpatient hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization, persistent or significant disability or incapacity, a congenital anomaly or birth defect, or an important medical event that jeopardized participant and required medical intervention to prevent 1 of the outcomes listed in this definition. A summary of other non-serious AEs and all serious AEs, regardless of causality is located in Reported AE section. The safety analysis set included all participants who received at least 1 dose of TV46000 in TV-46000-CNS-30072 study or in TV46000-CNS-30078 study.

    Time frame: Baseline up to Week 64

Other outcomes

  1. Number of Participants Who Were Withdrawn From the Treatment

    The number of participants who were withdrawn from the treatment due to any reason has been reported. The safety analysis set included all participants who received at least 1 dose of TV46000 in TV-46000-CNS-30072 study or in TV46000-CNS-30078 study.

    Time frame: Baseline up to Week 64

07

Results

Posted Oct 4, 2022

Participant flow

Participants who did not experience a relapse and completed Study TV46000-CNS-30072 (NCT03503318) (roll-over participants) and new participants entered this study. Open-label oral risperidone (at a dose of 2 to 5 milligrams \[mg\]/day, based on clinical judgment) for 12 weeks was given to stabilize new participants to the treatments before randomization.

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneTV-46000 q1mTV-46000 q2m
Started174162
Received at least 1 dose of study drug172162
Completed135122
Not completed3940
Withdrew: Death21
Withdrew: Adverse event02
Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject1921
Withdrew: Protocol deviation10
Withdrew: Lost to follow-up1010
Withdrew: Other than specified76

Outcome measures

PrimaryNumber of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs)

An AE was defined as any untoward medical occurrence in a participant who received study drug without regard to possibility of causal relationship. Serious adverse events (SAEs) were defined as death, a life-threatening AE, inpatient hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization, persistent or significant disability or incapacity, a congenital anomaly or birth defect, or an important medical event that jeopardized participant and required medical intervention to prevent 1 of the outcomes listed in this definition. A summary of other non-serious AEs and all serious AEs, regardless of causality is located in Reported AE section.

Time frame:
Baseline up to Week 64
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs)
ParticipantsTV-46000 q1mTV-46000 q2m
Number of Participants With Adverse Events (AEs)6474
Other pre-specifiedNumber of Participants Who Were Withdrawn From the Treatment

The number of participants who were withdrawn from the treatment due to any reason has been reported. The safety analysis set included all participants who received at least 1 dose of TV46000 in TV-46000-CNS-30072 study or in TV46000-CNS-30078 study.

Time frame:
Baseline up to Week 64
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants Who Were Withdrawn From the Treatment
ParticipantsTV-46000 q1mTV-46000 q2m
Death21
Adverse event25
Withdrawal by participant2125
Non-compliance with study drug10
Protocol deviation21
Lost-to-follow up57
Lack of efficacy10
Relapse33
Other1111
PrimaryNumber of Participants With SAEs

An AE was defined as any untoward medical occurrence in a participant who received study drug without regard to possibility of causal relationship. SAEs were defined as death, a life-threatening AE, inpatient hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization, persistent or significant disability or incapacity, a congenital anomaly or birth defect, or an important medical event that jeopardized participant and required medical intervention to prevent 1 of the outcomes listed in this definition. A summary of other non-serious AEs and all serious AEs, regardless of causality is located in Reported AE section. The safety analysis set included all participants who received at least 1 dose of TV46000 in TV-46000-CNS-30072 study or in TV46000-CNS-30078 study.

Time frame:
Baseline up to Week 64
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants With SAEs
ParticipantsTV-46000 q1mTV-46000 q2m
Number of Participants With SAEs811

Adverse events

Collected over Baseline up to Week 64. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
TV-46000 q1m2/172 (1.2%)8/172 (4.7%)10/172 (5.8%)
TV-46000 q2m1/162 (0.6%)11/162 (6.8%)12/162 (7.4%)
Most frequent serious events
Showing 10 of 16
Most frequent serious events
EventTV-46000 q1mTV-46000 q2m
SchizophreniaPsychiatric disorders1/1722/162
AnaemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders0/1721/162
Acute myocardial infarctionCardiac disorders0/1721/162
Angina pectorisCardiac disorders0/1721/162
HyperglycaemiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders1/1721/162
DepressionPsychiatric disorders0/1721/162
Panic attackPsychiatric disorders0/1721/162
Psychotic disorderPsychiatric disorders0/1721/162
Self-injurious ideationPsychiatric disorders0/1721/162
Chronic obstructive pulmonary diseaseRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders0/1721/162
Most frequent other events
Most frequent other events
EventTV-46000 q1mTV-46000 q2m
Injection site noduleGeneral disorders3/1729/162
Injection site painGeneral disorders9/1727/162

Baseline characteristics

The intent-to-treat (ITT) analysis set included all randomized participants who were randomized either in Study TV46000-CNS-30072 for roll-over participants or in Study TV46000-CNS-30078.

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)TV-46000 q1mTV-46000 q2mTotal
Mean51.3 ± 10.2849.8 ± 11.5150.6 ± 10.90
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)TV-46000 q1mTV-46000 q2mTotal
Female6159120
Male113103216
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)TV-46000 q1mTV-46000 q2mTotal
Hispanic or Latino5651107
Not Hispanic or Latino118110228
Unknown or Not Reported011
Race/Ethnicity, Customized
Race/Ethnicity, Customized(Participants)TV-46000 q1mTV-46000 q2mTotal
Race — White8067147
Race — Black or African American9190181
Race — Asian123
Race — Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander011
Race — Not reported112
Race — Other112
08

Study locations

90 sites
  • Teva Investigational Site 14391
    Phoenix, Arizona 85012, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14401
    Scottsdale, Arizona 85258, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14405
    Tucson, Arizona 85719, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14796
    Rogers, Arkansas 72758, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14811
    Anaheim, California 92805, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14794
    Bellflower, California 90706, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14776
    Colton, California 92324, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14802
    Costa Mesa, California 92627, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14773
    Culver City, California 90230, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14774
    Glendale, California 91206, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14817
    La Habra, California 90631, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14771
    Lemon Grove, California 91945, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14863
    Long Beach, California 90807, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14816
    Montclair, California 91763, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14786
    Oakland, California 94607, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14827
    Oceanside, California 92056-4515, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14777
    Orange, California 92868, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14815
    Pico Rivera, California 90660, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14785
    San Bernardino, California 92408, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14818
    San Diego, California 92103, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14788
    Torrance, California 90502, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14783
    Coral Gables, Florida 33134, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14865
    Hialeah, Florida 33012, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14787
    Hialeah, Florida 33016, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14814
    Hialeah, Florida 33018, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14861
    Homestead, Florida 33030, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14390
    Lake Mary, Florida 32746, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14799
    Lauderhill, Florida 33319, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14389
    Maitland, Florida 32751, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14875
    Miami, Florida 33122, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14400
    Miami, Florida 33125, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14832
    Miami, Florida 33126, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14810
    North Miami, Florida 33161, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14860
    Tampa, Florida 33613, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14396
    W. Miami, Florida 33144, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14821
    Decatur, Georgia 30030, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14770
    Marietta, Georgia 30060, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14415
    Norcross, Georgia 30093, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14829
    Chicago, Illinois 60640, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14805
    Hoffman Estates, Illinois 60169, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14871
    Lincolnwood, Illinois 60712, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14862
    Lake Charles, Louisiana 70629, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14869
    Monroe, Louisiana 71201, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14866
    Gaithersburg, Maryland 20877, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14764
    Glen Burnie, Maryland 21061, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14791
    Saint Louis, Missouri 63109, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14813
    Saint Louis, Missouri 63128, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14826
    Saint Louis, Missouri 63132, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14809
    Las Vegas, Nevada 89102, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14414
    Las Vegas, Nevada 89109, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14792
    Berlin, New Jersey 08009, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14772
    Cedarhurst, New York 11516, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14876
    New York, New York 10036, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14780
    Staten Island, New York 10312, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14867
    Hickory, North Carolina 28601, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14416
    Beachwood, Ohio 44122, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14763
    Cincinnati, Ohio 45219, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14782
    Dayton, Ohio 45417, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14859
    Garfield Heights, Ohio 44125, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14793
    Media, Pennsylvania 19063, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14778
    Charleston, South Carolina 29407, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14868
    Memphis, Tennessee 38119, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14801
    Houston, Texas 77081, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14807
    Irving, Texas 75062, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14393
    Plano, Texas 75093, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14856
    Richardson, Texas 75080, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 14395
    Bellevue, Washington 98007, United States
  • Teva Investigational Site 59148
    Bourgas, 8000, Bulgaria
  • Teva Investigational Site 59152
    Kazanlak, 6100, Bulgaria
  • Teva Investigational Site 59151
    Lovech, 5500, Bulgaria
  • Teva Investigational Site 59149
    Novi Iskar, 1282, Bulgaria
  • Teva Investigational Site 59144
    Sofia, 1680, Bulgaria
  • Teva Investigational Site 59154
    Varna, 9000, Bulgaria
  • Teva Investigational Site 59150
    Varna, 9020, Bulgaria
  • Teva Investigational Site 59146
    Vratsa, 3000, Bulgaria
  • Teva Investigational Site 11169
    Edmonton, Alberta T5J 2J7, Canada
  • Teva Investigational Site 11171
    Calgary, AL T2N 4Z6, Canada
  • Teva Investigational Site 11173
    Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 2L4, Canada
  • Teva Investigational Site 11170
    Chatham, Ontario N7L 1C1, Canada
  • Teva Investigational Site 11174
    Montreal, Quebec H1N 3M5, Canada
  • Teva Investigational Site 35259
    Clermont Ferrand Cedex 1, 63003, France
  • Teva Investigational Site 35257
    Douai, 59500, France
  • Teva Investigational Site 35260
    Nice cedex 1, 6002, France
  • Teva Investigational Site 35256
    Toulon, 83000, France
  • Teva Investigational Site 80162
    Afula, 1834111, Israel
  • Teva Investigational Site 80161
    Ashkelon, 7830604, Israel
  • Teva Investigational Site 80156
    Haifa, 31096, Israel
  • Teva Investigational Site 80155
    Hod Hasharon, 4534708, Israel
  • Teva Investigational Site 80157
    Ramat Gan, 5262160, Israel
  • Teva Investigational Site 80160
    Tel Aviv, 6423906, Israel
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Study protocol · Jun 3, 2020
  • Statistical analysis plan · Jul 7, 2020

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: Yes — Qualified researchers may request access to patient level data and related study documents including the study protocol and the statistical analysis plan. Requests will be reviewed for scientific merit, product approval status, and conflicts of interest. Patient level data will be de-identified and study documents will be redacted to protect the privacy of trial participants and to protect commercially confidential information. Please email USMedInfo@tevapharm.com to make your request

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Dec 7, 2022, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT03893825
Lead sponsor
Teva Branded Pharmaceutical Products R&D, Inc.
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Mar 28, 2019
Start date
Apr 17, 2019
Primary completion
Dec 2, 2021
Completion
Dec 2, 2021
Results posted
Oct 4, 2022
Last update
Dec 7, 2022

Study contacts

Teva Medical Expert, MD
study director · Teva Branded Pharmaceutical Products R&D, Inc.

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Dec 2022. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion