CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT03880058Updated Apr 18, 2023Results posted

Safety and Efficacy of SLI-F06 in Wound Healing and Scar Appearance

A Phase 1/2 interventional study of SLI-F06 and Formulation buffer in Scars, sponsored by Scarless Laboratories, Inc.. Completed at 3 sites in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2023-04-18.

Sponsored by Scarless Laboratories, Inc. · Phase 1/2, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 1/2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
22
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

Multicenter, double-blind study comparing SLI-F06 to vehicle formulation buffer for the improvement in scar appearance and wound strength in routine surgical excisions, as well as post-operative abdominoplasty scar appearance.

Read the detailed description

The study is divided into 2 parts where Part A is a Phase I safety/proof of concept study of small scars pre-abdominoplasty, and Part B is a Phase IIa study of post-abdominoplasty scars.

In Part A of the study, subjects will have their abdominoplasty site mapped to accommodate a series of excisions depending on pannus size. All excisions to be treated with SLI-F06 will be on one side of the mapped area (i.e., left side or right side) and vehicle treated excisions will be on the other side of the mapped area. At time of abdominoplasty the excision site will be harvested and processed.

In Part B of the study, subjects who complete Part A will be randomly assigned to receive injections of SLI-F06 along one half (left or right) of the abdominoplasty incision and control injections along the other half. The subject will undergo routine wound care and will attend study follow-up visits following abdominoplasty. The entire incision will be treated post-operatively in precisely the same manner.

Duration of study-approximately 26 months.

02

Conditions studied

  • Scars

Browse trials for

03

In context

Cicatrix

307 studies on the registry are indexed under Cicatrix; 50 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 22 is below the median of 39 across 251 interventional studies indexed under Cicatrix.

Browse Cicatrix studies →

Lead sponsor

Scarless Laboratories, Inc. is the lead sponsor of 2 studies on the registry; 1 is open to participants now.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  1. Outpatient, male or female of any race, 18 years of age or older. Female subjects of childbearing potential must have a negative urine pregnancy test (UPT) at Visit 1a and 1b and practice a reliable method of contraception throughout the study.
  2. Seeking or scheduled for standard elective abdominoplasty.
  3. Willing to undergo directed excisions and follow-up prior to abdominoplasty and to undergo all follow-up visits after abdominoplasty.
  4. Willing to undergo directed excisions under local anesthetic
  5. Be able to follow study instructions and likely to complete all required visits.
  6. Sign the Institutional Review Board (IRB)-approved Informed Consent Form (ICF), which includes the Photographic Release Form and HIPAA, prior to any study-related procedures being performed.

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  1. Female subjects that are pregnant, breast-feeding, or of childbearing potential and not practicing reliable birth control.
  2. Known hypersensitivity or previous allergic reaction to any constituent of the investigational product (IP).
  3. History of diabetes mellitus or a Hemoglobin (HgB) A1C greater than 5.7 percent.
  4. Morbid obesity (i.e., BMI >40).
  5. History of prior abdominal surgery.
  6. History of abdominal liposuction, cryolipolysis, focused ultrasound or other fat reduction procedures in or near the anterior abdomen within 12 months of baseline.
  7. History of poor or delayed wound healing such as a prior wound dehiscence, chronic wound or leg ulcer.
  8. History of or evidence of a genetic collagen disorder such as Ehlers-Danlos syndrome.
  9. Operating Physician unable to design an abdominoplasty incision area of at least 25 cm wide by 12 cm tall at the center of the fusiform.
  10. The presence of any abnormality of the skin within the area of the proposed abdominoplasty that, in the opinion of the Principal Investigator (PI), could interfere with the excision process or grading of the resultant surgical scar.
  11. Use of any restricted concomitant medications/procedures or tobacco/inhaled nicotine products within a restricted time period.
  12. Allergy to or intolerance of local anesthetics.
  13. Medical or psychiatric conditions that may increase the risk associated with study participation or may interfere with interpretation of study results or compliance of the subject and, in the opinion of the PI, would make the subject inappropriate for study entry.
  14. Any personal, familial, employment or financial situation that could impede the subject's ability to attend all study visits and successfully complete the entire clinical study.
  15. Clinically significant alcohol or drug abuse, or history of poor cooperation or unreliability.
  16. Exposure to any other investigational drug/device within 30 days prior to study entry.
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 1 / Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Parallel assignment
Masking
Triple (Participant, Care provider, Investigator)
Enrollment
22 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Active comparator
    SLI-F06

    Drug Product under investigation

    Drug: SLI-F06

  • Placebo comparator
    Formulation Buffer

    Placebo

    Drug: Formulation buffer

Interventions

  • DrugSLI-F06

    Active treatment

    Also known as: F06-C40

  • DrugFormulation buffer

    Placebo treatment

    Also known as: Placebo, vehicle

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Patient and Observer Scar Assessment Scale (POSAS) - PI Assessment

    POSAS is an established scale for assessing scar by both the patient and the observer. The overall opinion of the scar is reported on a scale of 1-10, with 1 being normal skin and 10 being the worst scar. Comparisons between treatment groups for efficacy analyses are based on 95% confidence intervals (CI) calculated using mixed models with treatment group as a fixed effect and subject as a random effect to account for multiple observations (i.e., scars) within subject.

    Time frame: Post-excision at Month 3

  2. Patient and Observer Scar Assessment Scale (POSAS) - PI Assessment

    POSAS is an established scale for assessing scar by both the patient and the observer. The overall opinion of the scar is reported on a scale of 1-10, with 1 being normal skin and 10 being the worst scar. Comparisons between treatment groups for efficacy analyses are based on 95% confidence intervals (CI) calculated using mixed models with treatment group as a fixed effect and subject as a random effect to account for multiple observations (i.e., scars) within subject.

    Time frame: Post-abdominoplasty at Month 12

07

Results

Posted Apr 18, 2023

Participant flow

Part A: Pre-abdominoplasty Injections
Participant flow — Part A: Pre-abdominoplasty Injections
MilestoneAll Study Participants
Started22
Received sli-f0622
Received control22
Completed22
Not completed0
Part B: Abdominoplasty Injections
Participant flow — Part B: Abdominoplasty Injections
MilestoneAll Study Participants
Started21
Received sli-f0621
Received control21
Completed21
Not completed0

Outcome measures

PrimaryPatient and Observer Scar Assessment Scale (POSAS) - PI Assessment

POSAS is an established scale for assessing scar by both the patient and the observer. The overall opinion of the scar is reported on a scale of 1-10, with 1 being normal skin and 10 being the worst scar. Comparisons between treatment groups for efficacy analyses are based on 95% confidence intervals (CI) calculated using mixed models with treatment group as a fixed effect and subject as a random effect to account for multiple observations (i.e., scars) within subject.

Time frame:
Post-excision at Month 3
Reported as:
Mean · score on a scale
Patient and Observer Scar Assessment Scale (POSAS) - PI Assessment
score on a scaleSLI-F06Formulation Buffer
Patient and Observer Scar Assessment Scale (POSAS) - PI Assessment4.4 ± 1.74.5 ± 1.7
PrimaryPatient and Observer Scar Assessment Scale (POSAS) - PI Assessment

POSAS is an established scale for assessing scar by both the patient and the observer. The overall opinion of the scar is reported on a scale of 1-10, with 1 being normal skin and 10 being the worst scar. Comparisons between treatment groups for efficacy analyses are based on 95% confidence intervals (CI) calculated using mixed models with treatment group as a fixed effect and subject as a random effect to account for multiple observations (i.e., scars) within subject.

Time frame:
Post-abdominoplasty at Month 12
Reported as:
Mean · score on a scale
Patient and Observer Scar Assessment Scale (POSAS) - PI Assessment
score on a scaleSLI-F06Formulation Buffer
Patient and Observer Scar Assessment Scale (POSAS) - PI Assessment1.6 ± 1.71.7 ± 1.7

Adverse events

Collected over Subjects were assessed at Visit 4a (Day 29), Visit 5a (Day 57 - Group 2 only), Visit 6a (Day 85 - Group 1 only), Visits 3b-12b (M1-3, 6, 9, 12, 15, 18, 21 and 24 at study exit).. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
SLI-F060/22 (0%)3/22 (13.6%)14/22 (63.6%)
Formulation Buffer0/22 (0%)3/22 (13.6%)14/22 (63.6%)
Most frequent serious events
Most frequent serious events
EventSLI-F06Formulation Buffer
Pulmonary embolismVascular disorders1/221/22
Abortion spontaneousPregnancy, puerperium and perinatal conditions1/221/22
NephrolithiasisRenal and urinary disorders1/221/22
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 37
Most frequent other events
EventSLI-F06Formulation Buffer
CellulitisInfections and infestations2/222/22
NasopharyngitisInfections and infestations2/222/22
Seroma drainageSurgical and medical procedures1/221/22
Umbilical herniaGastrointestinal disorders1/221/22
AlopeciaSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders1/221/22
Skin necrosisSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders1/221/22
SeromaInjury, poisoning and procedural complications1/221/22
PyrexiaGeneral disorders1/221/22
HeadacheNervous system disorders1/221/22
Aortic arteriosclerosisVascular disorders1/221/22

Baseline characteristics

In Part A, there were 140 treated scars and 140 control scars per subject for a total of 280. In Part B, there was one abdominoplasty incision per patient, with the left or right side receiving treatment or control. Each subject served as their own control.

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)All Study Participants
Mean43.4 ± 10.2
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)All Study Participants
Female21
Male1
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)All Study Participants
Hispanic or Latino4
Not Hispanic or Latino18
Unknown or Not Reported0
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)All Study Participants
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Asian0
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
Black or African American6
White16
More than one race0
Unknown or Not Reported0
BMI
BMI(kg/m^2)All Study Participants
Mean32 ± 5.4
08

Study locations

3 sites
  • Site 1
    Chicago, Illinois 60611-2950, United States
  • Site 2
    Saint Louis, Missouri 63110, United States
  • Site 3
    Bala-Cynwyd, Pennsylvania 19004, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Study protocol · Nov 20, 2020
  • Statistical analysis plan · Oct 9, 2020

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: No

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Apr 18, 2023, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT03880058
Lead sponsor
Scarless Laboratories, Inc.
Collaborators
ethica Clinical Research Inc.
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Mar 19, 2019
Start date
Mar 3, 2019
Primary completion
May 18, 2021
Completion
May 18, 2021
Results posted
Apr 18, 2023
Last update
Apr 18, 2023

Study contacts

Robert D. Galiano, MD
principal investigator · Northwestern University

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Mar 2023. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion