CClinicalTrials.gg
TerminatedNCT03879655Updated Dec 26, 2023Results posted

Open-label Study of VTS-270 in Participants With Neurologic Manifestations of Niemann-Pick Type C1

A Phase 2/3 interventional study of VTS-270 in Niemann-Pick Disease, Type C, sponsored by Mandos LLC. Terminated at 1 site in Costa Rica. Open to participants aged 4 Years to 21 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2023-12-26.

Sponsored by Mandos LLC · Phase 2/3, Interventional, and Treatment

Why this study was terminated
Terminated by previous Sponsor decision
Phase
Phase 2/3
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
2
Allocation
Not applicable
Ages
4 Years to 21 Years
Sex
All
01

Study summary

This is a multicenter, multinational, open-label study of VTS-270 to evaluate the long-term safety and tolerability of VTS-270 (2-hydroxypropyl-β-cyclodextrin) in participants transitioning from Study VTS301 (Parts A/B [NCT02534844] and Part C [NCT04958642]) with neurologic manifestations of Niemann-Pick Type C1 (NPC1) disease.

Read the detailed description

Non-clinical studies and a Phase 1 clinical trial suggest that intrathecal (IT) administration of VTS-270 in participants with neurologic manifestations of NPC1 disease has the potential to slow the rate of progression of their neurologic disease. NPC1 disease is a rare, neurodegenerative, inherited, autosomal recessive lysosomal lipid storage disorder primarily in children and teenagers. The disease is characterized by the inability to properly metabolize cholesterol and other lipids within the cell due to mutations in the NPC1 gene causing unesterified cholesterol to accumulate in the brain, liver and spleen.

Eligible participants who transition into this study will receive treatment with VTS-270 at the last dose level administered in Study VTS301, administered IT via lumbar puncture (LP) infusion every 2 weeks, for up to a total duration of 3 years or until the investigator considers VTS-270 to be no longer beneficial to the participant, VTS-270 receives marketing authorization, or the VTS-270 development program is discontinued.

02

Conditions studied

03

In context

Neurologic Manifestations

198 studies on the registry are indexed under Neurologic Manifestations; 67 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 2 is below the median of 40 across 107 interventional studies indexed under Neurologic Manifestations.

Browse Neurologic Manifestations studies →

Lead sponsor

Mandos LLC is the lead sponsor of 4 studies on the registry; none are open to participants now.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
4 Years to 21 Years
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Eligibility criteria

Key Inclusion Criteria:

To be eligible to participate in the study, at the Baseline Visit (except as noted below):

  1. Participant completed Part B of Study VTS301 (defined as having completed Visit 27/Week 52 or completed at least through Visit 13/Week 24 and required rescue option) and is continuing in Part C of Study VTS301.
  2. Participant, in the opinion of the Principal Investigator, should continue treatment with VTS-270.
  3. Females of childbearing potential (not surgically sterile) must use a medically acceptable method of contraception and must agree to continue use of this method for the duration of the study and for 30 days after participation in the study. Acceptable methods of contraception include barrier method with spermicide, intrauterine device, steroidal contraceptive in conjunction with a barrier method, abstinence, or same-sex partner.
  4. Participant or parent/guardian must provide written informed consent to participate in the study. In addition to parental consent, assent to participate must also be sought from minor children.

Key Exclusion Criteria:

A participant is ineligible for study participation if, at the Baseline Visit:

  1. Participants discontinued from Study VTS301 for AEs.
  2. Participant has an unresolved serious adverse event (SAE) for which treatment with VTS-270 has been halted.
  3. Female participants who are pregnant or nursing.
  4. Participants with suspected infection of the central nervous system or any systemic infection.
  5. Participants with a spinal deformity that could impact the ability to perform a LP.
  6. Participants with a skin infection in the lumbar region within 2 months of study entry.
  7. Any of the following laboratory abnormalities at the Baseline Visit:

    1. Neutropenia, defined as an absolute neutrophil count of less than 1.5 × 10\^9/liter (L).
    2. Thrombocytopenia (platelet count of less than 75 × 10\^9/L).
    3. Activated partial thromboplastin time or prothrombin time prolonged by greater than 1.5 × the upper limit of normal (ULN) or known history of a bleeding disorder.
    4. Aspartate aminotransferase or alanine aminotransferase (ALT) greater than 4 × ULN.
    5. Anemia: hemoglobin greater than 2 standard deviations below normal for age and gender.
    6. Estimated glomerular filtration rate less than 60 milliliters (mL)/minute/1.73 square meter (m\^2) calculated using the modified Schwartz formula (Schwartz et al., 2009) for participants aged 4 through 17 years old or using the Chronic Kidney Disease Epidemiology Collaboration equation formula for participants aged 18 years or older.
  8. Evidence of obstructive hydrocephalus or normal pressure hydrocephalus.
  9. Recent use of anticoagulants (in past 2 weeks prior to first dose [Study Day 0]).
  10. Active pulmonary disease, oxygen requirement, or clinically significant history of decreased blood oxygen saturation, pulmonary therapy, or requiring active suction.
  11. Participants who, in the opinion of the investigator, are unable to comply with the protocol or have medical conditions that would potentially increase the risk of participation.
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 2 / Phase 3
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
2 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    VTS-270

    Eligible participants who transition into this study will receive treatment with VTS-270 at the last dose level administered in Study VTS301, administered IT via LP infusion every 2 weeks, for up to a total duration of 3 years or until the investigator considers VTS-270 to be no longer beneficial to the participant, VTS-270 receives marketing authorization, or the VTS-270 development program is discontinued.

    Drug: VTS-270

Interventions

  • DrugVTS-270

    Administered IT via LP infusion of VTS-270

    Also known as: 2-hydroxypropyl-β-cyclodextrin, Cyclodextrin, Adrabetadex

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Number of Participants With Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) and Serious Adverse Events (SAEs)

    An AE was defined as any untoward medical occurrence in a participant who received study drug without regard to possibility of causal relationship. Serious adverse events (SAEs) were defined as death, a life-threatening AE, inpatient hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization, persistent or significant disability or incapacity, a congenital anomaly or birth defect, or an important medical event that jeopardized participant and required medical intervention to prevent 1 of the outcomes listed in this definition. A TEAE was defined as an AE with onset on or after the start of adrabetadex treatment. A summary of other non-serious AEs and all serious AEs, regardless of causality is located in Reported AE section.

    Time frame: Baseline up to Week 156

07

Results

Posted Dec 26, 2023
Limitations and caveats
Study was terminated by the Sponsor and only 2 participants were enrolled in the study.

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneAdrabetadex
Started2
Received at least 1 dose of study drug2
Completed2
Not completed0

Outcome measures

PrimaryNumber of Participants With Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) and Serious Adverse Events (SAEs)

An AE was defined as any untoward medical occurrence in a participant who received study drug without regard to possibility of causal relationship. Serious adverse events (SAEs) were defined as death, a life-threatening AE, inpatient hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization, persistent or significant disability or incapacity, a congenital anomaly or birth defect, or an important medical event that jeopardized participant and required medical intervention to prevent 1 of the outcomes listed in this definition. A TEAE was defined as an AE with onset on or after the start of adrabetadex treatment. A summary of other non-serious AEs and all serious AEs, regardless of causality is located in Reported AE section.

Time frame:
Baseline up to Week 156
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants With Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) and Serious Adverse Events (SAEs)
ParticipantsAdrabetadex
All TEAEs2
SAEs0

Adverse events

Collected over Baseline up to Week 156. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Adrabetadex0/2 (0%)0/2 (0%)2/2 (100%)
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 16
Most frequent other events
EventAdrabetadex
HypoacusisEar and labyrinth disorders2/2
Joint injuryInjury, poisoning and procedural complications1/2
InfluenzaInfections and infestations1/2
AstheniaGeneral disorders1/2
Gelastic seizureNervous system disorders1/2
Respiratory tract infection viralInfections and infestations1/2
DysphagiaGastrointestinal disorders1/2
Anal incontinenceGastrointestinal disorders1/2
AtaxiaNervous system disorders1/2
Disturbance in attentionNervous system disorders1/2

Baseline characteristics

All enrolled participants

Age, Categorical
Age, Categorical(Participants)Adrabetadex
<=18 years2
Between 18 and 65 years0
>=65 years0
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Adrabetadex
Female—
Male—
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Adrabetadex
Hispanic or Latino—
Not Hispanic or Latino—
Unknown or Not Reported—
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Adrabetadex
American Indian or Alaska Native—
Asian—
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander—
Black or African American—
White—
More than one race—
Unknown or Not Reported—
08

Study locations

1 site
  • Hospital Clinica Biblica
    San José, 10101, Costa Rica
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Feb 10, 2021

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: No

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Dec 26, 2023, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT03879655
Lead sponsor
Mandos LLC
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Mar 19, 2019
Start date
Dec 2, 2019
Primary completion
Oct 18, 2021
Completion
Oct 18, 2021
Results posted
Dec 26, 2023
Last update
Dec 26, 2023

Study contacts

Clinical Study Lead
study director · Mandos LLC

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is terminated, as verified in Dec 2023. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion