CClinicalTrials.gg
TerminatedNCT03874325Updated May 31, 2022Results posted

Aromatase Inhibitor and Durvalumab in Postmenopausal Breast Cancer

A Phase 2 interventional study of Durvalumab and Anastrozole 1mg in Breast Cancer and Hormone Receptor Positive Tumor, sponsored by H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute. Terminated at 1 site in United States. Open to female participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2022-05-31.

Sponsored by H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment

Why this study was terminated
lost funding
Phase
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
17
Allocation
Non-randomized
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
Female
01

Study summary

This study is to find out if an investigational drug called Durvalumab (MEDI4736) given together with a standard of care aromatase inhibitor drug can help people with breast cancer.

02

Conditions studied

  • Breast Cancer
  • Hormone Receptor Positive Tumor

Browse trials for

Keywords

  • HR+
03

In context

Breast Neoplasms

12,544 studies on the registry are indexed under Breast Neoplasms; 2,892 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 17 is below the median of 72 across 9,303 interventional studies indexed under Breast Neoplasms.

Browse Breast Neoplasms studies →

Lead sponsor

H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute is the lead sponsor of 533 studies on the registry; 74 are open to participants now.

Of its 99 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 57 (58%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
Female
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status of 0 or 1.
  • Postmenopausal, defined as meeting criteria per protocol.
  • Clinical T2-T4c, any N, MO by American Joint Committee on Cancer staging, 8th edition, with the goal being definitive surgery after completion of neoadjuvant therapy. Tumor is palpable and its size can be measured bidimensionally by tape, ruler or caliper technique. Largest tumor diameter over 2.0 cm.
  • Pathologic confirmation of invasive breast cancer that is estrogen receptor (ER) positive as defined in the protocol.
  • Invasive breast cancer is Human Epidermal Growth Factor Receptor 2 (HER2) negative as defined in the protocol protocol.
  • Documentation of mammogram and ultrasound [including ductal carcinoma in situ (DCIS) and invasive cancer] of the diseased breast performed within 60 days prior to enrollment. Mammograms for the unaffected contralateral breast is required within 12 months prior to enrollment.
  • Adequate organ and marrow function, as defined in the protocol.
  • Participants must be willing to undergo a research biopsy at baseline and after one cycle of treatment and to provide tissue obtained at surgery for biomarker and correlative studies.
  • Participants must be willing and able to comply with the protocol for the duration of the study including undergoing treatment and scheduled visits and examinations including follow up.
  • If taking herbal or natural remedies that may have immune modulatory effects, participants must be willing to discontinue use prior to first dose of durvalumab.
  • Body weight over 30 kg.

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Participation in another clinical study with an investigational product during the last 4 weeks.
  • Concurrent enrollment in another clinical study, unless it is an observational (non-interventional) clinical study or during the follow up period of an interventional study.
  • Inflammatory breast cancer defined as clinically significant erythema of the breast and/or documented dermal lymphatic invasion (not direct skin invasion by tumor or peau d'orange without erythema).
  • An excisional biopsy of this breast cancer. Hormone replacement therapy of any type, megestrol acetate, or raloxifene within one week prior to registration.
  • Surgical axillary staging procedure prior to study entry. Note: Fine needle aspiration (FNA) or core needle biopsy of axillary node is permitted.
  • Treatment for this cancer including surgery, radiation therapy, chemotherapy, biotherapy, hormonal therapy or investigational agent prior to study entry.
  • Any previous treatment with a PD1 or PD-L1 inhibitor, including durvalumab
  • History of another primary malignancy except for malignancy treated with curative intent and with no known active disease ≥ 5 years or adequately treated non-melanoma skin cancer or lentigo maligna without evidence of disease or adequately treated carcinoma in situ without evidence of disease e.g., cervical cancer in situ.
  • History of ipsilateral invasive breast cancer regardless of treatment or ipsilateral ductal carcinoma in situ (DCIS) treated with radiotherapy or endocrine therapy or contralateral invasive breast cancer at any time.
  • Current or prior use of immunosuppressive medication within 14 days before the first dose of durvalumab, with the exceptions of intranasal, inhaled, topical steroids, or local steroid injections (e.g., intra-articular injection); systemic corticosteroids at physiological doses, which are not to exceed 10 mg/day of prednisone, or an equivalent corticosteroid; or steroids as premedication for hypersensitivity reactions (e.g., CT scan premedication).
  • Active or prior documented autoimmune or inflammatory disorders (including inflammatory bowel disease [e.g., colitis or Crohn's disease], diverticulitis [with the exception of diverticulosis], systemic lupus erythematosus, Sarcoidosis syndrome, or Wegener syndrome [granulomatosis with polyangiitis, Graves' disease, rheumatoid arthritis, hypophysitis, uveitis, etc]). Some exceptions apply.
  • History of primary immunodeficiency.
  • History of allogeneic organ transplant.
  • Known allergy or history of hypersensitivity to durvalumab, or any excipient.
  • Uncontrolled intercurrent illness including, but not limited to, ongoing or active infection, symptomatic congestive heart failure, uncontrolled hypertension, unstable angina pectoris, cardiac arrhythmia, active peptic ulcer disease or gastritis, active bleeding diatheses, , or psychiatric illness/social situations that would limit compliance with study requirements or compromise the ability of the subject to give written informed consent.
  • Known active infection including tuberculosis, hepatitis B, hepatitis C, or human immunodeficiency virus (positive HIV 1/2 antibodies). Patients with a past or resolved hepatitis B infection are eligible. Patients positive for hepatitis C antibody are eligible only if polymerase chain reaction is negative for hepatitis C RNA. Note: This is applied only to patients with known infection. Screening tests for TB, hepatitis B and C, or HIV are not required.
  • Receipt of live attenuated vaccination within 30 days prior to receiving durvalumab. Note: Patients, if enrolled, should not receive live vaccine while receiving durvalumab and up to 30 days after the last dose of durvalumab.
  • Any condition that, in the opinion of the investigator, would interfere with evaluation of study treatment or interpretation of patient safety or study results.
  • Participants with uncontrolled seizures.
  • Participants with multi-centric breast cancer (defined as more than one lesion is invasive breast cancer in the same breast separated by ≥ 2 cm of normal breast tissue).
  • Major surgical procedure (as defined by the Investigator) within 28 days prior to the first dose of investigational product.
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Non-randomized
Intervention model
Sequential assignment
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
17 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Safety Run In: Durvalumab + Aromatase Inhibitor

    Participants will be administered 1500 mg Durvalumab intravenously every 4 weeks for 6 cycles. Participants will also take standard of care 1 mg anastrozole daily by mouth for 6 months. Letrozole 2.5 mg or exemastane 25 mg may be substituted for anastrozole if an intolerance to anastrozole is exhibited. Six participants will be enrolled in the safety run in stage. If 1 or fewer of six participants have a DLT, expansion stage will open to enrollment.

    Drug: Durvalumab · Drug: Anastrozole 1mg · Drug: Letrozole 2.5mg · Drug: Exemestane 25 MG

  • Experimental
    Expansion: Durvalumab + Aromatase Inhibitor

    Participants will be administered 1500 mg Durvalumab intravenously every 4 weeks for 6 cycles. Participants will also take standard of care 1 mg anastrozole daily by mouth for 6 months. Letrozole 2.5 mg or exemastane 25 mg may be substituted for anastrozole if an intolerance to anastrozole is exhibited.

    Drug: Durvalumab · Drug: Anastrozole 1mg · Drug: Letrozole 2.5mg · Drug: Exemestane 25 MG

Interventions

  • DrugDurvalumab

    1500 mg Durvalumab will be administered intravenously every 4 weeks for 6 months.

    Also known as: MEDI4736

  • DrugAnastrozole 1mg

    Participants will self administer 1 mg anastrozole by mouth daily for 6 months.

    Also known as: Arimidex

  • DrugLetrozole 2.5mg

    Participants intolerant to anastrozole will self administer 2.5 mg letrozole by mouth daily for 6 months. Exemestane may be substituted.

    Also known as: Femara

  • DrugExemestane 25 MG

    Participants intolerant to anastrozole will self administer 25 mg exemestane by mouth daily for 6 months. Letrozole may be substituted.

    Also known as: Aromasin

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Rate of Modified Preoperative Endocrine Prognostic Index (mPEPI) Score of 0

    Modified preoperative endocrine prognostic index (mPEPI) of 0. Total PEPI score assigned to each patient is the sum of the risk points derived from the pathological (pT) stage, lymph node (pN) stage, Ki67 level, and estrogen receptor (ER) status of the surgical specimen. A hazard ratio (HR) in the range of 1-2 receives one risk point; a HR in the 2-2.5 range, two risk points; a HR greater than 2.5, three risk points. mPEPI score of 0 indicates a tumor size of 5 cm or less, negative lymph nodes, and Ki67 (proliferation index) of less than or equal to 2.7%. Drug combination will be determined to be efficacious if 7 or more participants achieve an mPEPI of 0.

    Time frame: 6 months

Secondary outcomes

  1. Clinical Complete Response (CR)

    Clinical Complete response: Palpable lesion(s) identified at baseline are no longer palpable and there are no new lesion(s) or other signs of disease progression.

    Time frame: 6 months

  2. Clinical Partial Response (PR)

    Clinical Partial response: A reduction in the product of the two largest perpendicular diameters of the primary tumor by 50% or more.

    Time frame: 6 months

07

Results

Posted Jan 11, 2022

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneSafety Run In: Durvalumab + Aromatase InhibitorExpansion: Durvalumab + Aromatase Inhibitor
Started170
Completed170
Not completed00

Outcome measures

PrimaryRate of Modified Preoperative Endocrine Prognostic Index (mPEPI) Score of 0

Modified preoperative endocrine prognostic index (mPEPI) of 0. Total PEPI score assigned to each patient is the sum of the risk points derived from the pathological (pT) stage, lymph node (pN) stage, Ki67 level, and estrogen receptor (ER) status of the surgical specimen. A hazard ratio (HR) in the range of 1-2 receives one risk point; a HR in the 2-2.5 range, two risk points; a HR greater than 2.5, three risk points. mPEPI score of 0 indicates a tumor size of 5 cm or less, negative lymph nodes, and Ki67 (proliferation index) of less than or equal to 2.7%. Drug combination will be determined to be efficacious if 7 or more participants achieve an mPEPI of 0.

Time frame:
6 months
Reported as:
Number · percentage of participants
Rate of Modified Preoperative Endocrine Prognostic Index (mPEPI) Score of 0
percentage of participantsSafety Run In: Durvalumab + Aromatase Inhibitor
Rate of Modified Preoperative Endocrine Prognostic Index (mPEPI) Score of 017.65 (3.8 to 43.43)
SecondaryClinical Complete Response (CR)

Clinical Complete response: Palpable lesion(s) identified at baseline are no longer palpable and there are no new lesion(s) or other signs of disease progression.

Time frame:
6 months
Reported as:
Number · percentage of patients
Clinical Complete Response (CR)
percentage of patientsSafety Run In: Durvalumab + Aromatase Inhibitor
Clinical Complete Response (CR)58.8
SecondaryClinical Partial Response (PR)

Clinical Partial response: A reduction in the product of the two largest perpendicular diameters of the primary tumor by 50% or more.

Time frame:
6 months
Reported as:
Number · percentage of patients
Clinical Partial Response (PR)
percentage of patientsSafety Run In: Durvalumab + Aromatase Inhibitor
Clinical Partial Response (PR)41.2

Adverse events

Collected over Adverse events were collected from first study drug administration to 90 days post last dose of study treatment. Study terminated prematurely, adverse events were collected for 20 months. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Safety Run In: Durvalumab + Aromatase Inhibitor0/17 (0%)2/17 (11.8%)17/17 (100%)
Most frequent serious events
Most frequent serious events
EventSafety Run In: Durvalumab + Aromatase Inhibitor
PneumonitisRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders1/17
DiarrheaGastrointestinal disorders1/17
VomittingGastrointestinal disorders1/17
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 78
Most frequent other events
EventSafety Run In: Durvalumab + Aromatase Inhibitor
FatigueGeneral disorders12/17
ArthralgiaMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders9/17
HeadacheNervous system disorders8/17
Hot flashesVascular disorders8/17
NauseaGastrointestinal disorders7/17
DiarrheaGastrointestinal disorders5/17
AnorexiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders5/17
Breast painReproductive system and breast disorders5/17
CoughRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders5/17
PainGeneral disorders4/17

Baseline characteristics

Study terminated early and did not go beyond Safety run in

Age, Categorical
Age, Categorical(Participants)Safety Run In: Durvalumab + Aromatase Inhibitor
<=18 years0
Between 18 and 65 years6
>=65 years11
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Safety Run In: Durvalumab + Aromatase Inhibitor
Female17
Male0
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Safety Run In: Durvalumab + Aromatase Inhibitor
Hispanic or Latino1
Not Hispanic or Latino15
Unknown or Not Reported1
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Safety Run In: Durvalumab + Aromatase Inhibitor
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Asian0
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
Black or African American1
White14
More than one race0
Unknown or Not Reported2
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(participants)Safety Run In: Durvalumab + Aromatase Inhibitor
United States17
08

Study locations

1 site
  • H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute
    Tampa, Florida 33612, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Jan 30, 2019

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on May 31, 2022, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT03874325
Lead sponsor
H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute
Collaborators
AstraZeneca
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Mar 14, 2019
Start date
Apr 26, 2019
Primary completion
Nov 15, 2020
Completion
Jan 6, 2021
Results posted
Jan 11, 2022
Last update
May 31, 2022

Study contacts

Hung Khong, MD
principal investigator · H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is terminated, as verified in May 2022. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion