CClinicalTrials.gg
TerminatedNCT03866200Updated Dec 9, 2022Results posted

Resveratrol Trial for Relief of Pain in Pseudoachondroplasia

A Phase 2 interventional study of resveratrol and Placebo in Pseudoachondroplasia, sponsored by The University of Texas Health Science Center, Houston. Terminated at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years to 70 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2022-12-09.

Sponsored by The University of Texas Health Science Center, Houston · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment

Why this study was terminated
Inability to recruit target number
Phase
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
6
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
18 Years to 70 Years
Sex
All
01

Study summary

The purpose of this study is to determine if self-administered oral resveratrol can dampen joint pain for individuals with pseudoachondroplasia compared to placebo. Another goal of this study is to evaluate side effects in this population.

02

Conditions studied

  • Pseudoachondroplasia

Browse trials for

Keywords

  • resveratrol
  • joint pain
03

In context

Achondroplasia

47 studies on the registry are indexed under Achondroplasia; 14 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 6 is below the median of 73 across 28 interventional studies indexed under Achondroplasia.

Browse Achondroplasia studies →

Lead sponsor

The University of Texas Health Science Center, Houston is the lead sponsor of 880 studies on the registry; 209 are open to participants now.

Of its 170 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 140 (82%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years to 70 Years
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • The diagnosis of pseudoachondroplasia is based on clinical assessment either in person or by photographic review by skeletal dysplasia specialist (JTH),
  • Healthy beyond pseudoachondroplasia associated complications,

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Current use of resveratrol
  • Current use of blood thinners, lovastatin, ketoconazole, itraconazole, fexofenadine and triazolam.
  • Other non-pseudoachondroplasia related health conditions, e.g. cancers.
  • Pregnancy or breastfeeding. Women must use adequate contraception during the study.
  • Participation in another clinical study and/or using investigational agents.
  • Use of Non-steroid anti-inflammatory (NSAIDs) or aspirin.
  • Current use of Alfentanil, Cyclosporine, Dihydroergotamine, Dofetilide, Ergotamine, Fentanyl, Flibanserin, Oxycodone, Pimavanserin, Pimozide, Quinidine, Saquinavir, Sirolimus, Tacrolimus, Temsirolimus, Theophylline, Tizanidine, Thioridazine, Fosphenytoin, Phenytoin or Warfarin.
  • Baseline level of pain of 2 or higher on 10 point scale.
  • Platelet count below 50,000 per ul on baseline complete blood count (CBC).
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Crossover assignment
Masking
Triple (Participant, Investigator, Outcomes assessor)
Enrollment
6 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Resveratrol, Then Placebo

    Participants first received Resveratrol 125 mg/day or 5 ml daily for 90 days. After a washout period of 30 days, they then received Placebo 5ml daily for 90 days.

    Drug: resveratrol · Drug: Placebo

  • Placebo comparator
    Placebo, Then Resveratrol

    Participants first received Placebo 5ml daily for 90 days. After a washout period of 30 days, they then received Resveratrol 125 mg/day or 5 ml daily for 90 days.

    Drug: resveratrol · Drug: Placebo

Interventions

  • Drugresveratrol

    125 mg/day or 5 ml once per day for 90 days

    Also known as: resverages super berry tonic

  • DrugPlacebo

    5 ml once per day for 90 days

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Pain as Assessed by Numeric Pain Rating Scale

    total score 0-10 with higher scores indicating greater pain

    Time frame: baseline, 30 days, 60 days, 90 days

Secondary outcomes

  1. Health Related Quality of Life Score (HRQoL) Assessed by 36-item Short Form Health Survey Short Form-36 (SF-36)

    total score 0-100 with higher scores indicating better outcome

    Time frame: baseline, 30 days, 60 days, 90 days

07

Results

Posted Dec 9, 2022

Participant flow

First Intervention (90 Days)
Participant flow — First Intervention (90 Days)
MilestoneResveratrol, Then PlaceboPlacebo Comparator: Placebo, Then Resveratrol
Started51
Completed51
Not completed00
Washout (30 Days)
Participant flow — Washout (30 Days)
MilestoneResveratrol, Then PlaceboPlacebo Comparator: Placebo, Then Resveratrol
Started51
Completed51
Not completed00
Second Intervention (90 Days)
Participant flow — Second Intervention (90 Days)
MilestoneResveratrol, Then PlaceboPlacebo Comparator: Placebo, Then Resveratrol
Started51
Completed51
Not completed00

Outcome measures

PrimaryPain as Assessed by Numeric Pain Rating Scale

total score 0-10 with higher scores indicating greater pain

Time frame:
baseline, 30 days, 60 days, 90 days
Reported as:
Mean · score on a scale
Pain as Assessed by Numeric Pain Rating Scale
score on a scaleResveratrolPlacebo
Baseline3.60 ± 1.363.60 ± 1.36
30 days2.72 ± 1.242.36 ± 1.00
60 days2.44 ± 1.362.10 ± 1.09
90 days2.55 ± 0.921.92 ± 0.70
SecondaryHealth Related Quality of Life Score (HRQoL) Assessed by 36-item Short Form Health Survey Short Form-36 (SF-36)

total score 0-100 with higher scores indicating better outcome

Time frame:
baseline, 30 days, 60 days, 90 days
Reported as:
Mean · score on a scale
Health Related Quality of Life Score (HRQoL) Assessed by 36-item Short Form Health Survey Short Form-36 (SF-36)
score on a scaleResveratrolPlacebo
Baseline68.60 ± 13.0668.60 ± 13.06
30 days76.30 ± 11.2375.84 ± 13.78
60 days70.17 ± 16.5680.33 ± 13.46
90 days76.71 ± 14.2777.54 ± 14.34

Adverse events

Collected over 90 days for each intervention. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Resveratrol0/6 (0%)0/6 (0%)0/6 (0%)
Placebo0/6 (0%)0/6 (0%)0/6 (0%)

Baseline characteristics

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)Resveratrol, Then PlaceboPlacebo, Then ResveratrolTotal
Mean52.2 ± 16.3649 ± 051.67 ± 14.69
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Resveratrol, Then PlaceboPlacebo, Then ResveratrolTotal
Female202
Male314
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Resveratrol, Then PlaceboPlacebo, Then ResveratrolTotal
Hispanic or Latino000
Not Hispanic or Latino516
Unknown or Not Reported000
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Resveratrol, Then PlaceboPlacebo, Then ResveratrolTotal
American Indian or Alaska Native000
Asian000
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander000
Black or African American000
White516
More than one race000
Unknown or Not Reported000
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(participants)Resveratrol, Then PlaceboPlacebo, Then ResveratrolTotal
United States516
08

Study locations

1 site
  • University of Texas Health Science Center
    Houston, Texas 77030, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · May 15, 2020

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: No

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Dec 9, 2022, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT03866200
Lead sponsor
The University of Texas Health Science Center, Houston
Responsible party
Karen Posey (Assoc. Professor, The University of Texas Health Science Center, Houston) — Principal investigator
First posted
Mar 7, 2019
Start date
Jun 29, 2019
Primary completion
Oct 28, 2020
Completion
Oct 28, 2020
Results posted
Dec 9, 2022
Last update
Dec 9, 2022

Study contacts

Karen Posey, PhD
principal investigator · University of Texas

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is terminated, as verified in Nov 2022. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion