CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT03783936Updated Dec 19, 2023Results posted

Trial of mFOLFOX6 + Trastuzumab + Avelumab in Gastric and Esophageal Adenocarcinomas

A Phase 2 interventional study of Oxaliplatin and Leucovorin in Gastric Adenocarcinoma, Esophageal Adenocarcinoma and Metastasis, sponsored by Ashwin Somasundaram. Completed at 7 sites in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2023-12-19.

Sponsored by Ashwin Somasundaram · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
18
Allocation
Not applicable
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

The initial intent of the study was to be a multi-center single-arm open-label Simon's two-stage Phase II clinical trial of first-line mFOLFOX6 + trastuzumab + avelumab in metastatic HER2-amplified gastric and esophageal adenocarcinomas.

Accrual will halt after completion of Stage I (enrollment of 18 patients). This decision is not due to safety issues. Subjects currently on treatment will continue until criteria as defined in the protocol is met.

02

Conditions studied

  • Gastric Adenocarcinoma
  • Esophageal Adenocarcinoma
  • Metastasis
  • HER-2 Gene Amplification
03

In context

Adenocarcinoma

2,004 studies on the registry are indexed under Adenocarcinoma; 375 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 18 is below the median of 45 across 1,553 interventional studies indexed under Adenocarcinoma.

Browse Adenocarcinoma studies →

Lead sponsor

Ashwin Somasundaram is the lead sponsor of 2 studies on the registry; none are open to participants now.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  1. Written informed consent and HIPAA authorization for release of personal health information prior to registration.
  2. Age ≥ 18 years at the time of consent.
  3. ECOG Performance Status of 0 or 1.
  4. Histologically confirmed esophageal, gastroesophageal junction, or gastric adenocarcinoma, with unresectable or metastatic disease documented on diagnostic imaging studies.
  5. HER2 amplification confirmed by standard of care testing of tumor specimen (3+ by immunohistochemistry, or 2+ on IHC with ISH with HER2/CEP17 ratio ≥2).
  6. Radiographically measurable disease according to RECIST 1.1 within 28 days prior to registration.
  7. Adequate organ function as defined in the table below. All screening labs to be obtained within 28 days prior to registration.

    • Absolute Neutrophil Count ≥ 1.5 x 10\^9/L
    • Hemoglobin (Hgb) ≥ 9 g/dL (may have been transfused)
    • Platelets ≥ 100 x 10\^9/L OR ≥ 75 x 10\^9/L for patients who received Cycle 1 of mFOLFOX6 +/- trastuzumab prior to registration
    • Calculated creatinine clearance1 ≥ 30 mL/min OR creatinine ≤ 1.5 × upper limit of normal (ULN)
    • Bilirubin ≤ 1.5 × upper limit of normal (ULN) (Subjects with Gilbert's syndrome may be enrolled despite a total bilirubin level >1.5 mg/dL, if their conjugated bilirubin is \< 1.5× ULN)
    • Aspartate aminotransferase (AST) ≤ 2.5 × ULN OR ≤ 5x ULN in patients with known liver metastases
    • Alanine aminotransferase (ALT) ≤ 2.5 × ULN OR ≤ 5x ULN in patients with known liver metastases
  8. Left ventricular ejection fraction (LVEF) ≥ 50% or above the lower limit of the institutional normal range, whichever is lower.
  9. Females of childbearing potential must have a negative serum pregnancy test at screening. NOTE: Females are considered of child bearing potential unless they are surgically sterile (have undergone a hysterectomy, bilateral tubal ligation, or bilateral oophorectomy) or they are naturally postmenopausal for at least 12 consecutive months.
  10. Females of childbearing potential and males must be willing to abstain from heterosexual activity or to use 2 forms of effective methods of contraception from the time of informed consent until 210 days after treatment discontinuation. The two contraception methods can be comprised of two barrier methods, or a barrier method plus a hormonal method.
  11. As determined by the enrolling physician or protocol designee, ability of the subject to understand and comply with study procedures for the entire length of the study.

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  1. Previous systemic therapy for stage IV disease - EXCEPT that patient may have received one cycle of mFOLFOX6 +/- trastuzumab within the 4 weeks prior to registration.
  2. Active infection requiring intravenous systemic therapy.
  3. Pregnant or breastfeeding (NOTE: breast milk cannot be stored for future use while the mother is being treated on study).
  4. Treatment with any investigational drug within 28 days prior to registration.
  5. Prior immune checkpoint inhibitor therapy (i.e. anti-CTLA-4, anti-PD-L1, anti-PD-1), or HER2-directed therapy (including trastuzumab)
  6. Evidence of interstitial lung disease or active, non-infectious pneumonitis
  7. Untreated brain metastasis or brain metastasis treated within 4 weeks prior to enrollment.
  8. Known additional malignancy that is active and/or progressive requiring treatment; exceptions include basal cell or squamous cell skin cancer, in situ cervical or bladder cancer, or other cancer for which the subject has been disease-free for at least five years.
  9. Serious cardiovascular event within 6 months prior to study entry, including myocardial infarction, malignant hypertension, severe/unstable angina, symptomatic congestive heart failure (≥ New York Heart Association Classification Class II), cerebral vascular accident, transient ischemic attack, or serious cardiac arrhythmia requiring medication.
  10. History of organ allograft or allogeneic stem cell transplantation
  11. Active autoimmune disease requiring systemic treatment in the past 3 months (for example with disease modifying agents, corticosteroids, or immunosuppressive drugs).

    Exceptions Include:

    • Subjects with endocrine diseases stable on replacement therapy (e.g., thyroxine, insulin, or physiologic corticosteroid replacement therapy for adrenal or pituitary insufficiency, etc.) or hormone suppression.
    • Subjects that require intermittent use of bronchodilators, local steroid injections, or inhaled or topical steroids
    • Subjects with vitiligo, psoriasis, Sjogren's syndrome, or resolved childhood asthma/atopy
  12. Current use of immunosuppressive medication, EXCEPT for the following: a. intranasal, inhaled, topical steroids, or local steroid injection (e.g., intra-articular injection); b. Systemic corticosteroids at physiologic doses ≤ 10 mg/day of prednisone or equivalent; c. Steroids as premedication for hypersensitivity reactions (e.g., CT scan premedication).
  13. Known history of testing positive for HIV or known acquired immunodeficiency syndrome.
  14. Known history of Hepatitis B virus (HBV) or hepatitis C virus (HCV) infection. Subjects with laboratory evidence of cleared HBV and HCV infection will be permitted.
  15. Vaccination within 4 weeks of the first dose of avelumab and while on trials is prohibited except for administration of inactivated vaccines.
  16. Known prior severe hypersensitivity to investigational product or any component in its formulations, including known severe hypersensitivity reactions to monoclonal antibodies (NCI CTCAE v5 Grade ≥ 3).
  17. Persisting toxicity related to prior therapy (NCI CTCAE v5 Grade > 1); however, alopecia, sensory neuropathy Grade ≤ 2, or other Grade ≤ 2 not constituting a safety risk based on investigator's judgment are acceptable.
  18. Other severe acute or chronic medical conditions including immune colitis, inflammatory bowel disease, immune pneumonitis, pulmonary fibrosis or psychiatric conditions including recent (within the past year) or active suicidal ideation or behavior; or laboratory abnormalities that may increase the risk associated with study participation or study treatment administration or may interfere with informed consent, the interpretation of study results and, in the judgment of the investigator, would make the patient inappropriate for entry into this study.
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
18 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Other
    Induction and Maintenance

    Cycles 1-9; Induction; Cycle = 14 days mFOLFOX6 * oxaliplatin 85 mg/m2 IV Day 1 and * leucovorin 400 mg/m2 IV Day 1 and * 5 fluorouracil 400 mg/m2 IV bolus and 2400 mg/m2 IV over 46 hours Day 1 and Trastuzumab 6 mg/kg IV loading dose C1D1 then Trastuzumab 4 mg/kg IV Day 1 and Avelumab 800 mg IV Day 1 Cycles 10 and subsequent; Maintenance; Cycle = 14 days Trastuzumab 4 mg/kg Day 1 and Avelumab 800 mg Day 1

    Drug: Oxaliplatin · Drug: Leucovorin · Drug: 5 fluorouracil · Drug: Trastuzumab · Drug: Avelumab

Interventions

  • DrugOxaliplatin

    Oxaliplatin 85 mg/m2

  • DrugLeucovorin

    Leucovorin 400 mg/m2

  • Drug5 fluorouracil

    5 fluorouracil 400 mg/m2 bolus and 2400 mg/m2 continuous infusion

  • DrugTrastuzumab

    Trastuzumab 6 mg/kg loading dose C1D1 then 4 mg/kg Day 1

  • DrugAvelumab

    Avelumab 800 mg

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Best Objective Response Rate (bORR)

    Per Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST): Complete Response (CR), Disappearance of all target lesions; Partial Response (PR), \>=30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter(LD) of target lesions; Progressive Disease (PD): \>= 20% increase in tumor burden relative to nadir or the appearance of one or more new lesions; Stable Disease (SD): Neither sufficient shrinkage to qualify for PR nor sufficient increase to qualify for PD, taking as reference the smallest sum LD since the treatment started. The bORR will be defined as the percentage of subjects whose best response by 24 weeks are either a CR or PR according to RECIST 1.1. For confirmed response, PR or CR need to be confirmed by repeat assessments that should be performed no less than 4 weeks. Otherwise, it will be considered as an unconfirmed response.

    Time frame: 24 weeks

Secondary outcomes

  1. Progression Free Survival (PFS)

    Per RECIST 1.1: Complete Response (CR), Disappearance of all target lesions; Partial Response (PR), \>=30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter(LD) of target lesions; Progressive Disease (PD): \>= 20% increase in tumor burden relative to nadir or the appearance of one or more new lesions; Stable Disease (SD): Neither sufficient shrinkage to qualify for PR nor sufficient increase to qualify for PD, taking as reference the smallest sum LD since the treatment started. Progression Free Survival (PFS) will be defined as the time from the start date of treatment to the date of documented progression as determined by RECIST 1.1 or death from any cause.

    Time frame: Time of treatment start until the criteria for disease progression or death, up to a maximum of 11 months.

  2. Progression Free Survival by iRECIST(iPFS)

    Immune-RECIST Criteria(iRECIST): Complete Response(iCR), Disappearance of all measurable and non-measurable lesions; Partial Response (iPR), \>=30% decrease in tumor burden relative to baseline; Unconfirmed Progressive Disease (iUPD), \>= 20% increase in the sum of the LD of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum LD recorded since the treatment started or the appearance of one or more new lesions; Confirmed Progressive Disease (iCPD), confirmation of iUPD (by further growth) at the next assessment; Stable Disease (iSD), neither sufficient shrinkage to qualify for PR nor sufficient increase to qualify for PD, taking as reference the smallest sum LD since the treatment started. iPFS will be defined as the time from the start date of treatment to the date of documented progression as determined by iRECIST criteria or death from any cause.

    Time frame: Time of treatment start until the criteria for disease progression or death, up to a maximum of 11 months.

  3. Overall Survival (OS)

    Overall Survival (OS) will be defined as the time from start of treatment to the date of death from any cause, or date of last contact (censored).

    Time frame: Time of treatment start until death or date of last contact, up to a maximum of 20 months

  4. Disease Control Rate (DCR)

    Disease Control Rate (DCR) will be defined as the total number of patients whose best responses are either a CR, PR, or SD divided by the number of response evaluable patients. Patients with best response of SD will need to maintain SD by 24 weeks to be considered to have received clinical benefit from the treatment regimen.

    Time frame: Up to a maximum of 11 months.

  5. Number of Participants With Grade 3-4 Treatment Related Adverse Events

    The frequency and severity of all grade 3-4 treatment related adverse events are reported by CTCAE v5.

    Time frame: AE had been recorded from time of signed informed consent until 30 days after discontinuation of study drug(s) and/or until a new anti-cancer treatment starts, whichever occurs first, up to a maximum of 20 months.

07

Results

Posted Dec 19, 2023

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneInduction and Maintenance
Started18
Completed18
Not completed0

Outcome measures

PrimaryBest Objective Response Rate (bORR)

Per Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST): Complete Response (CR), Disappearance of all target lesions; Partial Response (PR), \>=30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter(LD) of target lesions; Progressive Disease (PD): \>= 20% increase in tumor burden relative to nadir or the appearance of one or more new lesions; Stable Disease (SD): Neither sufficient shrinkage to qualify for PR nor sufficient increase to qualify for PD, taking as reference the smallest sum LD since the treatment started. The bORR will be defined as the percentage of subjects whose best response by 24 weeks are either a CR or PR according to RECIST 1.1. For confirmed response, PR or CR need to be confirmed by repeat assessments that should be performed no less than 4 weeks. Otherwise, it will be considered as an unconfirmed response.

Time frame:
24 weeks
Reported as:
Number · Percentage of participants
Best Objective Response Rate (bORR)
Percentage of participantsInduction and Maintenance
Best response rate (confirmed or unconfirmed)61 (39 to 84)
Best confirmed response rate50 (29 to 71)
SecondaryProgression Free Survival (PFS)

Per RECIST 1.1: Complete Response (CR), Disappearance of all target lesions; Partial Response (PR), \>=30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter(LD) of target lesions; Progressive Disease (PD): \>= 20% increase in tumor burden relative to nadir or the appearance of one or more new lesions; Stable Disease (SD): Neither sufficient shrinkage to qualify for PR nor sufficient increase to qualify for PD, taking as reference the smallest sum LD since the treatment started. Progression Free Survival (PFS) will be defined as the time from the start date of treatment to the date of documented progression as determined by RECIST 1.1 or death from any cause.

Time frame:
Time of treatment start until the criteria for disease progression or death, up to a maximum of 11 months.
Reported as:
Median · months
Progression Free Survival (PFS)
monthsInduction and Maintenance
Progression Free Survival (PFS)8 (5.3 to NA)
SecondaryProgression Free Survival by iRECIST(iPFS)

Immune-RECIST Criteria(iRECIST): Complete Response(iCR), Disappearance of all measurable and non-measurable lesions; Partial Response (iPR), \>=30% decrease in tumor burden relative to baseline; Unconfirmed Progressive Disease (iUPD), \>= 20% increase in the sum of the LD of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum LD recorded since the treatment started or the appearance of one or more new lesions; Confirmed Progressive Disease (iCPD), confirmation of iUPD (by further growth) at the next assessment; Stable Disease (iSD), neither sufficient shrinkage to qualify for PR nor sufficient increase to qualify for PD, taking as reference the smallest sum LD since the treatment started. iPFS will be defined as the time from the start date of treatment to the date of documented progression as determined by iRECIST criteria or death from any cause.

Time frame:
Time of treatment start until the criteria for disease progression or death, up to a maximum of 11 months.
Reported as:
Median · months
Progression Free Survival by iRECIST(iPFS)
monthsInduction and Maintenance
Progression Free Survival by iRECIST(iPFS)8 (5.3 to NA)
SecondaryOverall Survival (OS)

Overall Survival (OS) will be defined as the time from start of treatment to the date of death from any cause, or date of last contact (censored).

Time frame:
Time of treatment start until death or date of last contact, up to a maximum of 20 months
Reported as:
Median · months
Overall Survival (OS)
monthsInduction and Maintenance
Overall Survival (OS)13.1 (11.5 to NA)
SecondaryDisease Control Rate (DCR)

Disease Control Rate (DCR) will be defined as the total number of patients whose best responses are either a CR, PR, or SD divided by the number of response evaluable patients. Patients with best response of SD will need to maintain SD by 24 weeks to be considered to have received clinical benefit from the treatment regimen.

Time frame:
Up to a maximum of 11 months.
Reported as:
Number · Percentage of participants
Disease Control Rate (DCR)
Percentage of participantsInduction and Maintenance
Disease Control Rate (DCR)55.6
SecondaryNumber of Participants With Grade 3-4 Treatment Related Adverse Events

The frequency and severity of all grade 3-4 treatment related adverse events are reported by CTCAE v5.

Time frame:
AE had been recorded from time of signed informed consent until 30 days after discontinuation of study drug(s) and/or until a new anti-cancer treatment starts, whichever occurs first, up to a maximum of 20 months.
Reported as:
Number · Participants
Number of Participants With Grade 3-4 Treatment Related Adverse Events
ParticipantsInduction and Maintenance
Neutrophil count decreased6
Platelet count decreased2
Anemia2
White blood cell decreased1
Lymphocyte count decreased1
Hypokalemia2
Diarrhea2
Gastroesophageal reflux disease1
Lung infection1
Mucositis oral1

Adverse events

Collected over Up to a maximum of 20 months.. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Induction and Maintenance9/18 (50%)7/18 (38.9%)18/18 (100%)
Most frequent serious events
Showing 10 of 12
Most frequent serious events
EventInduction and Maintenance
TUMOR HEMORRHAGENeoplasms benign, malignant and unspecified (incl cysts and polyps)2/18
CARDIAC ARRESTCardiac disorders1/18
DIZZINESSNervous system disorders1/18
FALLInjury, poisoning and procedural complications1/18
HEMATOMAVascular disorders1/18
LUNG INFECTIONInfections and infestations1/18
NAUSEAGastrointestinal disorders1/18
OBSTRUCTION GASTRICGastrointestinal disorders1/18
PLATELET COUNT DECREASEDInvestigations1/18
SEPSISInfections and infestations1/18
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 127
Most frequent other events
EventInduction and Maintenance
PERIPHERAL SENSORY NEUROPATHYNervous system disorders12/18
ANEMIABlood and lymphatic system disorders11/18
FATIGUEGeneral disorders11/18
NEUTROPHIL COUNT DECREASEDInvestigations11/18
ANOREXIAMetabolism and nutrition disorders9/18
NAUSEAGastrointestinal disorders9/18
PLATELET COUNT DECREASEDInvestigations9/18
CONSTIPATIONGastrointestinal disorders8/18
DIARRHEAGastrointestinal disorders8/18
WEIGHT LOSSInvestigations8/18

Baseline characteristics

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)Induction and Maintenance
Median63 (46 to 76)
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Induction and Maintenance
Female5
Male13
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Induction and Maintenance
Hispanic or Latino4
Not Hispanic or Latino14
Unknown or Not Reported0
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Induction and Maintenance
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Asian2
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
Black or African American1
White15
More than one race0
Unknown or Not Reported0
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(participants)Induction and Maintenance
United States18
Primary Tumor Site
Primary Tumor Site(Participants)Induction and Maintenance
Esophagus4
Gastroesophageal Junction8
Stomach4
Not described or multiple2
HER2 IHC
HER2 IHC(Participants)Induction and Maintenance
3 +12
2+ with ISH (in situ hybridization) +6
Programmed cell death ligand 1(PD-L1) CPS Score
Programmed cell death ligand 1(PD-L1) CPS Score(Participants)Induction and Maintenance
CPS = 04
CPS = 1 to <55
CPS = 5 to <104
CPS ≥ 104
Unknown1
08

Study locations

7 sites
  • City of Hope
    Duarte, California 91010, United States
  • Winship Cancer Insititute of Emory University
    Atlanta, Georgia 30322, United States
  • Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
    Chicago, Illinois 60611, United States
  • University of Iowa Hospital and Clinics
    Iowa City, Iowa 52242, United States
  • Atlantic Health System
    Morristown, New Jersey 07960, United States
  • Roswell Park Cancer Institute
    Buffalo, New York 14263, United States
  • University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
    Chapel Hill, North Carolina 27599, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Sep 29, 2020

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: No

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Dec 19, 2023, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT03783936
Lead sponsor
Ashwin Somasundaram
Collaborators
EMD Serono, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Responsible party
Ashwin Somasundaram (Sponsor-Investigator, Hoosier Cancer Research Network) — Sponsor-investigator
First posted
Dec 21, 2018
Start date
Jan 24, 2019
Primary completion
Sep 11, 2020
Completion
Aug 30, 2022
Results posted
Dec 19, 2023
Last update
Dec 19, 2023

Study contacts

Ashwin Somasundaram, MD
principal investigator · University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Nov 2023. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion