A Phase 3 interventional study of Tropicamide 1%-Phenylephrine 2.5% ophthalmic solution (TR/PE) and Tropicamide 1% ophthalmic solution (TR) in Mydriasis, sponsored by Eyenovia Inc.. Completed at 1 site in United States. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2022-03-18.
Sponsored by Eyenovia Inc. · Phase 3, Interventional, and Diagnostic
This study evaluated pupil dilation after administration of fixed combination tropicamide-phenylephrine (TR/PE) vs. phenylephrine (PE) alone and tropicamide (TR) alone. Participants attended 3 visits. At each visit, after baseline measurements, 1 of the 3 drugs was administered to both eyes, then pupil dilation and safety assessments were performed at specific time intervals.
Volunteer participants were screened for study eligibility during a Screening Visit and enrolled after signing the study-specific informed consent form. Subjects meeting all inclusion/exclusion criteria were scheduled for 3 treatment visits, which were at least 2 days, but no more than 7 days apart. At each treatment visit, baseline measurements were taken, then 1 of the 3 study drugs was administered to both eyes (each participant's drug administration sequence was randomly determined). Afterwards, efficacy and safety assessments were performed at 20, 35, 50, 65, 80, 120, and 180 minutes.
Exclusion Criteria:
Participants were dosed once at 3 separate clinic visits in accordance with this sequence. Each participant received 2 sprays of the study drug in each eye.
Drug: Tropicamide 1%-Phenylephrine 2.5% ophthalmic solution (TR/PE) · Drug: Tropicamide 1% ophthalmic solution (TR) · Drug: Phenylephrine 2.5% ophthalmic solution (PE)
Participants were dosed once at 3 separate clinic visits in accordance with this sequence. Each participant received 2 sprays of the study drug in each eye.
Drug: Tropicamide 1%-Phenylephrine 2.5% ophthalmic solution (TR/PE) · Drug: Tropicamide 1% ophthalmic solution (TR) · Drug: Phenylephrine 2.5% ophthalmic solution (PE)
Participants were dosed once at 3 separate clinic visits in accordance with this sequence. Each participant received 2 sprays of the study drug in each eye.
Drug: Tropicamide 1%-Phenylephrine 2.5% ophthalmic solution (TR/PE) · Drug: Tropicamide 1% ophthalmic solution (TR) · Drug: Phenylephrine 2.5% ophthalmic solution (PE)
Participants were dosed once at 3 separate clinic visits in accordance with this sequence. Each participant received 2 sprays of the study drug in each eye.
Drug: Tropicamide 1%-Phenylephrine 2.5% ophthalmic solution (TR/PE) · Drug: Tropicamide 1% ophthalmic solution (TR) · Drug: Phenylephrine 2.5% ophthalmic solution (PE)
Participants were dosed once at 3 separate clinic visits in accordance with this sequence. Each participant received 2 sprays of the study drug in each eye.
Drug: Tropicamide 1%-Phenylephrine 2.5% ophthalmic solution (TR/PE) · Drug: Tropicamide 1% ophthalmic solution (TR) · Drug: Phenylephrine 2.5% ophthalmic solution (PE)
Participants were dosed once at 3 separate clinic visits in accordance with this sequence. Each participant received 2 sprays of the study drug in each eye.
Drug: Tropicamide 1%-Phenylephrine 2.5% ophthalmic solution (TR/PE) · Drug: Tropicamide 1% ophthalmic solution (TR) · Drug: Phenylephrine 2.5% ophthalmic solution (PE)
Fixed combination tropicamide 1%-phenylephrine 2.5% ophthalmic solution administered with the Optejet microdose dispenser
Also known as: Mydcombi
Tropicamide 1% ophthalmic solution administered with the Optejet microdose dispenser
Phenylephrine 2.5% ophthalmic solution administered with the Optejet microdose dispenser
Change in Pupil Diameter From Baseline
Difference in 35-minute pupil diameter vs. baseline measured using pupillometry in highly photopic conditions. Pupil diameter is reported in millimeters. For the change in pupil diameter, larger measurements indicate a better outcome.
Time frame: 35 minutes after initial dose
Percentage of Eyes Achieving Pupil Diameter 6.0 mm or Larger After Receipt of Each Medication
The percent of eyes with pupil diameter 6.0 mm or larger as measured using pupillometry in highly photopic conditions. As this is a cross-over study, each of the 62 participants received each medication. Data is reported separately for the right and left eyes of the 62 participants. A higher percentage indicates a better outcome.
Time frame: 35 minutes after initial dose
Percentage of Eyes Achieving Pupil Diameter 7.0 mm or Larger After Receipt of Each Medication
The percent of eyes with pupil diameter 7.0 mm or larger as measured using pupillometry in highly photopic conditions. As this is a cross-over study, each of the 62 participants received each medication. Data is reported separately for the right and left eyes of the 62 participants. A higher percentage indicates a better outcome.
Time frame: 35 minutes after initial dose
70 patients signed the study informed consent form and were screened for eligibility between October 31, 2018 and November 16, 2018 at a clinical research center located in Cypress, California.
| Milestone | TR/PE - TR - PE | TR/PE - PE - TR | TR - TR/PE - PE | TR - PE - TR/PE | PE - TR/PE - TR | PE - TR - TR/PE |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Started | 10 | 11 | 11 | 11 | 10 | 11 |
| Received 1st drug in sequence | 10 | 11 | 11 | 11 | 10 | 11 |
| Received 2nd drug in sequence | 10 | 11 | 10 | 10 | 10 | 11 |
| Received 3rd drug in sequence | 10 | 11 | 10 | 10 | 10 | 11 |
| Completed | 10 | 11 | 10 | 10 | 10 | 11 |
| Not completed | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 |
Difference in 35-minute pupil diameter vs. baseline measured using pupillometry in highly photopic conditions. Pupil diameter is reported in millimeters. For the change in pupil diameter, larger measurements indicate a better outcome.
| millimeters | TR/PE - Right Eye | TR/PE - Left Eye | TR - Right Eye | TR - Left Eye | PE - Right Eye | PE - Left Eye |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Baseline pupil diameter | 2.672 ± 0.5673 | 2.583 ± 0.4674 | 2.657 ± 0.6016 | 2.569 ± 0.5211 | 2.651 ± 0.5749 | 2.584 ± 0.5344 |
| 35-minute pupil diameter | 7.301 ± 0.8943 | 7.329 ± 0.9771 | 6.762 ± 0.8619 | 6.690 ± 0.8682 | 3.388 ± 0.8950 | 3.552 ± 0.9340 |
| Change in 35-minute pupil diameter | 4.629 ± 0.8343 | 4.746 ± 0.8173 | 4.105 ± 0.7207 | 4.121 ± 0.6839 | 0.737 ± 0.7939 | 0.969 ± 0.8943 |
The percent of eyes with pupil diameter 6.0 mm or larger as measured using pupillometry in highly photopic conditions. As this is a cross-over study, each of the 62 participants received each medication. Data is reported separately for the right and left eyes of the 62 participants. A higher percentage indicates a better outcome.
| percentage of eyes | TR/PE - Right Eye | TR/PE - Left Eye | TR - Right Eye | TR - Left Eye | PE - Right Eye | PE - Left Eye |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of Eyes Achieving Pupil Diameter 6.0 mm or Larger After Receipt of Each Medication | 95.2 | 93.5 | 79.0 | 77.4 | 1.6 | 1.6 |
The percent of eyes with pupil diameter 7.0 mm or larger as measured using pupillometry in highly photopic conditions. As this is a cross-over study, each of the 62 participants received each medication. Data is reported separately for the right and left eyes of the 62 participants. A higher percentage indicates a better outcome.
| percentage of eyes | TR/PE - Right Eye | TR/PE - Left Eye | TR - Right Eye | TR - Left Eye | PE - Right Eye | PE - Left Eye |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of Eyes Achieving Pupil Diameter 7.0 mm or Larger After Receipt of Each Medication | 67.7 | 67.7 | 43.5 | 41.9 | 0 | 0 |
Collected over Adverse event data was collected over each subject's study participation period, which was a maximum of 14 days. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tropicamide/Phenylephrine | 0/62 (0%) | 0/62 (0%) | 2/62 (3.2%) |
| Tropicamide | 0/64 (0%) | 0/64 (0%) | 4/64 (6.3%) |
| Phenylephrine | 0/62 (0%) | 0/62 (0%) | 4/62 (6.5%) |
| Event | Tropicamide/Phenylephrine | Tropicamide | Phenylephrine |
|---|---|---|---|
| Vision blurredEye disorders | 1/62 | 3/64 | 1/62 |
| Visual acuity reducedEye disorders | 1/62 | 1/64 | 1/62 |
| Vital dye staining cornea presentInvestigations | 0/62 | 0/64 | 1/62 |
| Eye painEye disorders | 0/62 | 0/64 | 1/62 |
| Age, Continuous(years) | All Participants |
|---|---|
| Mean | 39.4 ± 12.00 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | All Participants |
|---|---|
| Female | 27 |
| Male | 37 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | All Participants |
|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 22 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 42 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | All Participants |
|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 |
| Asian | 8 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 |
| Black or African American | 19 |
| White | 35 |
| More than one race | 2 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 |
| Region of Enrollment(participants) | All Participants |
|---|---|
| United States | 64 |
| Iris color category(Participants) | All Participants |
|---|---|
| Dark | 54 |
| Light | 10 |
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
Plan to share: No
This study is completed, as verified in Jan 2022. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Eyenovia Inc.