CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT03745794Updated Dec 23, 2025Results posted

Repeat Quadratus Lumborum Block to Reduce Opioid Need in Patients After Pancreatic Surgery

A Phase 2 interventional study of Best Practice and Quadratus Lumborum Block in Pancreatic Carcinoma, sponsored by M.D. Anderson Cancer Center. Completed at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2025-12-23.

Sponsored by M.D. Anderson Cancer Center · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
136
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

This phase II trial studies how an additional anesthetic nerve block, called a quadratus lumborum block, works to reduce the need for opioids in patients after pancreatic surgery. Giving an additional regional anesthetic after surgery may hasten the weaning process, reduce the need for opioid medications upon discharge, and reduce the risk of opioid dependence.

Read the detailed description

PRIMARY OBJECTIVE:

I. To use a phase II randomized controlled trial to compare the intervention of a second regional anesthetic block (quadratus lumborum [QL] block) versus usual care (single intraoperative QL block) to increase the proportion of opioid-free pancreatic cancer survivors at discharge after potentially curative surgery.

OUTLINE: Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 arms.

ARM 1: Patients undergo QL block before surgery and receive standard of care multimodal pain control after surgery.

ARM 2: Patients undergo QL block before surgery and receive multimodal pain control. Patients then undergo a second QL block on day 4 after surgery and continue to receive standard of care.

After completion of study treatment, patients are followed up at 1 month, 3 months, 6 months, and 1 year after surgery.

02

Conditions studied

  • Pancreatic Carcinoma
03

In context

Pancreatic Neoplasms

3,235 studies on the registry are indexed under Pancreatic Neoplasms; 899 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 136 is above the median of 46 across 2,424 interventional studies indexed under Pancreatic Neoplasms.

Browse Pancreatic Neoplasms studies →

Lead sponsor

M.D. Anderson Cancer Center is the lead sponsor of 2,999 studies on the registry; 581 are open to participants now.

Of its 599 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 402 (67%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • Patients undergoing elective open pancreatic resection for potentially curative intent (pancreaticoduodenectomy or distal pancreatectomy) who would otherwise be treated with QL block + IV-PCA converted to oral pain meds (non-narcotic bundle + opioid pain pill).

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Patients with current or past substance (drug or alcohol) abuse disorder.
  • Laparoscopic or minimally invasive surgery.
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Parallel assignment
Masking
Triple (Participant, Care provider, Investigator)
Enrollment
136 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Active comparator
    Arm I (QL block, standard of care)

    Patients undergo QL block before surgery and receive standard of care multimodal pain control after surgery.

    Other: Best Practice · Drug: Quadratus Lumborum Block · Other: Quality-of-Life Assessment · Other: Questionnaire Administration

  • Experimental
    Arm II (second QL block)

    Patients undergo QL block before surgery and receive multimodal pain control. Patients then undergo a second QL block on day 4 after surgery and continue to receive standard of care.

    Other: Best Practice · Drug: Quadratus Lumborum Block · Other: Quality-of-Life Assessment · Other: Questionnaire Administration

Interventions

  • OtherBest Practice

    Given standard of care

    Also known as: standard of care, standard therapy

  • DrugQuadratus Lumborum Block

    Undergo QL block

    Also known as: QL Block

  • OtherQuality-of-Life Assessment

    Ancillary studies

    Also known as: Quality of Life Assessment

  • OtherQuestionnaire Administration

    Ancillary studies

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Number of Participants Discharged Opioid-Free

    Performed Chi-squared test to compare the proportion of patients who were opioid-free on the discharge date between the two arms

    Time frame: 90 days from surgery

Secondary outcomes

  1. Total Inpatient Oral Morphine Equivalents (OME)

    Two sample t-test or Wilcoxon rank-sum test will be used.

    Time frame: Up to 1 year

  2. Hospital Cost

    Two sample t-test.

    Time frame: Up to 1 year

  3. Quality of Life Score Assessed by MD Anderson Symptom Inventory-Gastrointestinal (MDASI-GI)

    Two sample t-test or Wilcoxon rank-sum test will be used.

    Time frame: Up to 1 year

  4. Pain Prescription Dosage/Size

    Two sample t-test or Wilcoxon rank-sum test will be used.

    Time frame: through study completion, an average of 1 year

  5. Percentage of Patients With Initial Discharge Prescription Dosage/Size Total OME < 200 mg

    Two sample t-test or Wilcoxon rank-sum test will be used.

    Time frame: Up to 1 year

  6. Percentage of Patients Using Opioids

    Two sample t-test or Wilcoxon rank-sum test will be used.

    Time frame: At 30 days after surgery

  7. MDASI-GI in Clinic Visits

    Two sample t-test or Wilcoxon rank-sum test will be used.

    Time frame: Up to 1 year

  8. Percentage of Patients Using Opioids

    Two sample t-test or Wilcoxon rank-sum test will be used.

    Time frame: At 90 days after surgery

  9. Total OME for First 30 Days and First 90 Days (Inpatient + Outpatient)

    Two sample t-test or Wilcoxon rank-sum test will be used.

    Time frame: At 30 and 90 days

  10. Patients and Family Free of Opioid Use

    Two sample t-test or Wilcoxon rank-sum test will be used.

    Time frame: At 6 months and 1 year

07

Results

Posted Feb 13, 2023

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneArm 1, Control Arm (Usual Care)Arm 2, Experimental Arm (2nd QL-Block)
Started5254
Completed5253
Not completed01

Outcome measures

PrimaryNumber of Participants Discharged Opioid-Free

Performed Chi-squared test to compare the proportion of patients who were opioid-free on the discharge date between the two arms

Time frame:
90 days from surgery
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants Discharged Opioid-Free
ParticipantsArm 1, Control Arm (Usual Care)Arm 2, Experimental Arm (2nd QL-Block)
Number of Participants Discharged Opioid-Free1927
Statistical analysis
  • Arm 1, Control Arm (Usual Care) vs Arm 2, Experimental Arm (2nd QL-Block) · Chi-squared · p = 0.17
SecondaryTotal Inpatient Oral Morphine Equivalents (OME)

Two sample t-test or Wilcoxon rank-sum test will be used.

Time frame:
Up to 1 year

Results for this outcome have not been posted.

SecondaryHospital Cost

Two sample t-test.

Time frame:
Up to 1 year

Results for this outcome have not been posted.

SecondaryQuality of Life Score Assessed by MD Anderson Symptom Inventory-Gastrointestinal (MDASI-GI)

Two sample t-test or Wilcoxon rank-sum test will be used.

Time frame:
Up to 1 year

Results for this outcome have not been posted.

SecondaryPain Prescription Dosage/Size

Two sample t-test or Wilcoxon rank-sum test will be used.

Time frame:
through study completion, an average of 1 year

Results for this outcome have not been posted.

SecondaryPercentage of Patients With Initial Discharge Prescription Dosage/Size Total OME < 200 mg

Two sample t-test or Wilcoxon rank-sum test will be used.

Time frame:
Up to 1 year

Results for this outcome have not been posted.

SecondaryPercentage of Patients Using Opioids

Two sample t-test or Wilcoxon rank-sum test will be used.

Time frame:
At 30 days after surgery

Results for this outcome have not been posted.

SecondaryMDASI-GI in Clinic Visits

Two sample t-test or Wilcoxon rank-sum test will be used.

Time frame:
Up to 1 year

Results for this outcome have not been posted.

SecondaryPercentage of Patients Using Opioids

Two sample t-test or Wilcoxon rank-sum test will be used.

Time frame:
At 90 days after surgery

Results for this outcome have not been posted.

SecondaryTotal OME for First 30 Days and First 90 Days (Inpatient + Outpatient)

Two sample t-test or Wilcoxon rank-sum test will be used.

Time frame:
At 30 and 90 days

Results for this outcome have not been posted.

SecondaryPatients and Family Free of Opioid Use

Two sample t-test or Wilcoxon rank-sum test will be used.

Time frame:
At 6 months and 1 year

Results for this outcome have not been posted.

Adverse events

Collected over 90 days from surgery. Non-serious events are listed at a 1% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Arm 1, Control Arm (Usual Care)3/52 (5.8%)10/52 (19.2%)39/52 (75%)
Arm 2, Experimental Arm (2nd QL-Block)3/54 (5.6%)10/54 (18.5%)31/54 (57.4%)
Most frequent serious events
Showing 10 of 14
Most frequent serious events
EventArm 1, Control Arm (Usual Care)Arm 2, Experimental Arm (2nd QL-Block)
Pancreatic leakGastrointestinal disorders4/522/54
GI OtherGastrointestinal disorders3/522/54
SepsisInfections and infestations2/520/54
Chyle leakGastrointestinal disorders0/522/54
AbscessInfections and infestations1/522/54
BJ leakGastrointestinal disorders1/520/54
PneumoniaRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders1/520/54
Hematologic_ otherBlood and lymphatic system disorders1/520/54
Sterile collectionInfections and infestations1/520/54
Delayed Gastric EmptyingGastrointestinal disorders0/521/54
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 20
Most frequent other events
EventArm 1, Control Arm (Usual Care)Arm 2, Experimental Arm (2nd QL-Block)
GI OtherGastrointestinal disorders9/523/54
Delayed Gastric EmptyingGastrointestinal disorders8/527/54
Pancreatic leakGastrointestinal disorders8/527/54
Wound infectionInfections and infestations7/522/54
Infectious OtherInfections and infestations6/521/54
Post-op transfusionBlood and lymphatic system disorders4/525/54
Chyle leakGastrointestinal disorders2/524/54
Renal otherRenal and urinary disorders3/523/54
CholangitisInfections and infestations3/521/54
ArrythmiaCardiac disorders2/520/54

Baseline characteristics

Age, Categorical
Age, Categorical(Participants)Arm 1, Control Arm (Usual Care)Arm 2, Experimental Arm (2nd QL-Block)Total
<=18 years000
Between 18 and 65 years271946
>=65 years253459
Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)Arm 1, Control Arm (Usual Care)Arm 2, Experimental Arm (2nd QL-Block)Total
Mean63 ± 12.565 ± 11.264 ± 11.8
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Arm 1, Control Arm (Usual Care)Arm 2, Experimental Arm (2nd QL-Block)Total
Female242347
Male283058
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Arm 1, Control Arm (Usual Care)Arm 2, Experimental Arm (2nd QL-Block)Total
Hispanic or Latino628
Not Hispanic or Latino444993
Unknown or Not Reported224
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Arm 1, Control Arm (Usual Care)Arm 2, Experimental Arm (2nd QL-Block)Total
American Indian or Alaska Native101
Asian314
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander000
Black or African American145
White464894
More than one race000
Unknown or Not Reported101
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(participants)Arm 1, Control Arm (Usual Care)Arm 2, Experimental Arm (2nd QL-Block)Total
United States5253105
08

Study locations

1 site
  • M D Anderson Cancer Center
    Houston, Texas 77030, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Jun 15, 2020
  • Informed consent form · Jan 16, 2020

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Dec 23, 2025, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT03745794
Lead sponsor
M.D. Anderson Cancer Center
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Nov 19, 2018
Start date
Feb 28, 2019
Primary completion
Jul 31, 2025
Completion
Jul 31, 2025
Results posted
Feb 13, 2023
Last update
Dec 23, 2025

Study contacts

Ching-Wei D Tzeng
principal investigator · M.D. Anderson Cancer Center

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Dec 2025. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion