An interventional study of Pathway in Shoulder Pain, sponsored by Hospital for Special Surgery, New York. Completed at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years to 80 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2024-12-27.
Sponsored by Hospital for Special Surgery, New York · Not applicable, Interventional, and Treatment
Rotator cuff surgery is mostly performed on an outpatient basis, and many patients still experience moderate to severe pain after surgery, despite the use of regional anesthesia and opioids. The specific aim is to determine whether a comprehensive pathway that includes a well-defined regional technique and multimodal analgesia will reduce the worst pain with movement 0-48 hours after block placement compared to the current standard practice. This is a 'before and after' study. We plan to have 70 patients studied prior to initiation of a pathway, and 70 patients studied after initiation of a pathway. Both groups will receive identical postoperative follow-up.
Previous study in shoulder arthroplasty patients demonstrated low pain scores and minimal intravenous opioid use when utilizing a clinical pathway that included peripheral nerve block and preemptive non-opioid analgesia (Goon et al. 2014). These surgeries were done as inpatient and patients had availability of intravenous opioids. Assessment of the current approach to managing rotator cuff repairs demonstrated an average worst pain score after surgery of 7.0, SD 2.1 (Kahn) which is often categorized as "severe" pain. Given that most rotator cuff repairs are done as outpatients, it is important to develop a clinical pathway that mitigates the worst pain experienced after surgery. With outpatient surgery, there are obvious limitations regarding availability of rescue pain medications. Therefore, the pathway needs to emphasize patient education and strategies to reduce the pain as peripheral nerve block subsides. Given these issues, we believe there is an advantage to prolonging the analgesia from the nerve block (Rosenfeld et al. 2016, Yadeau et al. 2016, Kahn) and educating patients regarding the importance of preemptive analgesia and when to take opioid medications. This study will evaluate whether the clinical pathway might mitigate the worst pain after surgery that occurs with the current standard practice.
707 studies on the registry are indexed under Shoulder Pain; 152 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 140 is above the median of 60 across 561 interventional studies indexed under Shoulder Pain.
Browse Shoulder Pain studies →Hospital for Special Surgery, New York is the lead sponsor of 217 studies on the registry; 39 are open to participants now.
Of its 27 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 20 (74%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Includes the following concomitant procedures:
Exclusion Criteria:
We plan to have 70 patients studied prior to initiation of a pathway.
We plan to have 70 patients studied after initiation of a pathway.
Other: Pathway
The study team emphasizes that all components of the pathway are considered standard of care at this institution. The objective of this study is to ensure that the study patients assigned to the pathway will receive these standard of care components. Both groups will receive identical postoperative follow-up.
Primary Outcome - Worst NRS With Movement
worst NRS with movement. A lower score is a better outcome. The score range is between 0 and 10.
Time frame: 0-48 hours after block placement
Total Opioid Use
The total opioid consumption measured in morphine milligram equivalents (MME). Although recorded at different time points, the total MME per patient was calculated.
Time frame: Post Op Days 1,2,7,14
Patient Satisfaction With Pain Management
Measures the patient's satisfaction with their pain management on a scale of 0-10. A higher score is a better outcome.
Time frame: Post Op Days 1,2,7,14
Pain Score at Rest
a NRS score on a scale from 0 to 10. 0 means no pain and 10 is the worst pain imaginable. A lower score is a better outcome.
Time frame: Post Op Days 1,2,7,14
Block Duration
Measures the duration of the block from: the time the block started to the time the block completely wore off the time the block started to the time the patient first noticed pain the time the block started to the time the patient felt normal sensation
Time frame: Through Post Op Day 2
| Milestone | Before Group | After Group |
|---|---|---|
| Started | 70 | 70 |
| Completed | 70 | 70 |
| Not completed | 0 | 0 |
worst NRS with movement. A lower score is a better outcome. The score range is between 0 and 10.
| score on a scale | Before Group | After Group |
|---|---|---|
| Post-Op Day 1 | 5.6 ± 3 | 3.3 ± 3.1 |
| Post-Op Day 2 | 6.1 ± 2.7 | 6.4 ± 2.5 |
The total opioid consumption measured in morphine milligram equivalents (MME). Although recorded at different time points, the total MME per patient was calculated.
| morphine equivalent units (mg) | Before Group | After Group |
|---|---|---|
| 0-24 hours | 15 (7.5 to 30) | 0 (0 to 7.5) |
| 24-48 hours | 22.5 (15 to 45) | 15 (7.5 to 30) |
| POD7 | 0 (0 to 7.5) | 0 (0 to 0) |
| POD14 | 0 (0 to 0) | 0 (0 to 0) |
Measures the patient's satisfaction with their pain management on a scale of 0-10. A higher score is a better outcome.
| score on a scale | Before Group | After Group |
|---|---|---|
| POD0 | 9.6 ± 1.4 | 9.5 ± 1.6 |
| POD1 | 8.2 ± 2.5 | 9.2 ± 1.7 |
| POD2 | 8.6 ± 1.6 | 8.8 ± 1.8 |
| POD7 | 8.7 ± 1.5 | 9.1 ± 1.7 |
| POD14 | 9 ± 1.3 | 9.1 ± 1.7 |
a NRS score on a scale from 0 to 10. 0 means no pain and 10 is the worst pain imaginable. A lower score is a better outcome.
| score on a scale of | Before Group | After Group |
|---|---|---|
| Post-Op Day 1 | 4.0 ± 2.9 | 1.9 ± 2.3 |
| Post-Op Day 2 | 4.2 ± 2.1 | 4.7 ± 2.8 |
| Post-Op Day 7 | 2.3 ± 2.1 | 3 ± 2.4 |
| Post-Op Day 14 | 2.2 ± 1.9 | 1.7 ± 1.4 |
Measures the duration of the block from: the time the block started to the time the block completely wore off the time the block started to the time the patient first noticed pain the time the block started to the time the patient felt normal sensation
| hours | Before Group | After Group |
|---|---|---|
| Time to first notice pain | 21.1 (13.9 to 23.6) | 25.4 (22.8 to 27.8) |
| Time to block start to wear off | 20.1 (13.9 to 23.4) | 23.2 (18.3 to 26.9) |
| Time to block to completely wear off | 22.7 (17.3 to 24.6) | 28.4 (24.9 to 33.1) |
| Time to normal sensation | 22.8 (17.7 to 26) | 28.6 (25.1 to 36.7) |
Collected over Up to postoperative day 14.. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Before Group | 0/70 (0%) | 0/70 (0%) | 0/70 (0%) |
| After Group | 0/70 (0%) | 0/70 (0%) | 0/70 (0%) |
| Age, Continuous(years) | Before Group | After Group | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 55 ± 12 | 59 ± 10 | 57 ± 11 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Before Group | After Group | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 28 | 32 | 60 |
| Male | 42 | 38 | 80 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Before Group | After Group | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 2 | 1 | 3 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 66 | 69 | 135 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 2 | 0 | 2 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Before Group | After Group | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Asian | 3 | 2 | 5 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Black or African American | 3 | 4 | 7 |
| White | 62 | 59 | 121 |
| More than one race | 0 | 3 | 3 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 2 | 2 | 4 |
| Region of Enrollment(participants) | Before Group | After Group | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| United States | 70 | 70 | 140 |
| ASA Level(Participants) | Before Group | After Group | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| ASA I | 17 | 12 | 29 |
| ASA II | 51 | 53 | 104 |
| ASA III | 2 | 5 | 7 |
| BMI(kg/m^2) | Before Group | After Group | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 27.8 ± 5.1 | 28.2 ± 4.2 | 28.0 ± 4.7 |
| Procedure Time(minutes) | Before Group | After Group | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 47 ± 16 | 57 ± 18 | 52 ± 18 |
1 further baseline measures are reported on the registry.
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
This study is completed, as verified in Dec 2024. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Hospital for Special Surgery, New York