A Phase 3 interventional study of Daratumumab and Bortezomib in Multiple Myeloma, sponsored by Janssen Research & Development, LLC. Completed at 114 sites in 13 countries. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2026-06-02.
Sponsored by Janssen Research & Development, LLC · Phase 3, Interventional, and Treatment
The purpose of this study to determine if the addition of daratumumab to bortezomib + lenalidomide + dexamethasone (VRd) will improve overall minimal residual disease (MRD) negativity rate compared with VRd alone.
This study will evaluate participants with newly diagnosed multiple myeloma (MM) for whom hematopoietic stem cell transplant is not planned as initial therapy. The data available from other available studies suggests that addition of daratumumab with Velcade (bortezomib), lenalidomide, and dexamethasone [VRd] is anticipated to improve the response rates and the depth of response and may lead to improved long-term outcomes in newly diagnosed participants with MM. Daratumumab targets CD38, a protein expressed on the surface of MM cells and other hematopoietic cells. Bortezomib is a proteasome inhibitor, which plays a critical role in the pathogenesis of MM. Lenalidomide has cytotoxic effects on myeloma cells and is capable of inducing apoptosis, or programmed cell death and dexamethasone induces apoptosis in MM cells. The rationale for the study is to utilize the subcutaneous (SC) formulation of daratumumab instead of the intravenous (IV) formulation, which is expected to provide similar exposure and is expected to limit additional toxicity to participants, treated with this quadruplet regimen. The study will consist of 3 phases: Screening (up to 28 days before randomization), Treatment phase (from Cycle 1 [21 days] Day 1 and continues until disease progression) and Follow up (Postintervention). Efficacy evaluations will include measurements of tumor burden/residual disease, myeloma proteins, bone marrow examinations, skeletal surveys, extramedullary plasmacytomas, and serum calcium corrected for albumin. Participants will undergo procedures like electrocardiogram (ECG), chest x-rays or full dose chest CT scans, Pulmonary function test (PFT), spirometry etc. during the course of study. Participants will also be monitored closely for adverse events (AEs), laboratory abnormalities, and clinical response. The duration of the study will be approximately 6.5 years.
3,632 studies on the registry are indexed under Multiple Myeloma; 745 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 395 is above the median of 41 across 2,907 interventional studies indexed under Multiple Myeloma.
Browse Multiple Myeloma studies →Janssen Research & Development, LLC is the lead sponsor of 912 studies on the registry; 76 are open to participants now.
Of its 278 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 131 (47%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
- Diagnosis of multiple myeloma as documented per International Myeloma Working Group (IMWG) criteria Monoclonal plasma cells in the bone marrow greater than or equal to (>=)10 percentage (%) or presence of a biopsy proven plasmacytoma and documented multiple myeloma satisfying at least one of the calcium, renal, anemia, bone (CRAB) criteria or biomarkers of malignancy criteria. CRAB criteria: Hypercalcemia: serum calcium greater than (>) 0.25 millimoles per liter (mmol/L) (>1 milligram per deciliter [mg/dL]) higher than upper limit of normal (ULN) or >2.75 mmol/L (>11 mg/dL); Renal insufficiency: creatinine clearance less than (\<) 40 milliliter per minute (mL/min) or serum creatinine >177 micro millimoles per liter (umol/L) (>2 mg/dL); Anemia: hemoglobin >2 g/dL below the lower limit of normal or hemoglobin \<10 g/dL; Bone lesions: one or more osteolytic lesions on skeletal radiography, computed tomography (CT), or positron emission tomography (PET)-CT.
Biomarkers of Malignancy: Clonal bone marrow plasma cell percentage >=60%; Involved: uninvolved serum free light chain (FLC) ratio >=100; >1 focal lesion on magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) studies
Exclusion Criteria:
Participants will receive bortezomib 1.3 milligram per square meter (mg/m\^2) as subcutaneous (SC) injection twice weekly on Days 1, 4, 8, 11 for Cycles 1 through 8 (each cycle is of 21 days); lenalidomide 25 mg orally on Day 1 to Day 14 for Cycles 1 through 8 and on Days 1 to 21 for Cycle 9 (cycle of 28 days); dexamethasone 20 mg orally or intravenously on Days 1, 2, 4, 5, 8, 9, 11, 12 for Cycles 1 through 8 and 40 mg on Days 1,8, 15 and 22 during Cycle 9 and beyond (each cycle is of 28 days) followed by lenalidomide-dexamethasone (Rd) until disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Participants aged greater than (\>)75 years or body mass index (BMI) less than (\<) 18.5 kilograms per meters (kg/m\^2) will receive dexamethasone 20 mg oral tablets on Days 1, 4, 8, and 11 of each cycle.
Drug: Bortezomib · Drug: Lenalidomide · Drug: Dexamethasone
Participants will receive daratumumab 1800 mg as SC injection once every week for Cycles 1 to 2, then every 3 weeks for Cycles 3 through 8 and every 4 weeks for Cycle 9 and beyond; bortezomib 1.3 mg/m\^2 as SC injection twice weekly on Days 1, 4, 8, 11 for Cycles 1 through 8 (each cycle is of 21 days); lenalidomide 25 mg orally on Day 1 to Day 14 for Cycles 1 through 8 and on Days 1 to 21 for Cycle 9; dexamethasone 20 mg orally or intravenously on Days 1, 2, 4, 5, 8, 9, 11, 12 for Cycles 1 through 8 and 40 mg on Days 1,8, 15 and 22 during Cycle 9 and beyond followed by daratumumab-lenalidomide-dexamethasone (DRd) until disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Participants aged \>75 years or BMI \<18.5 kg/m\^2 will receive Dexamethasone 20 mg oral tablets on Days 1, 4, 8, and 11 of each cycle.
Drug: Daratumumab · Drug: Bortezomib · Drug: Lenalidomide · Drug: Dexamethasone
Daratumumab (1800 mg) will be administered by SC injection once every week for Cycles 1 to 2, then every 3 weeks for Cycles 3-8. For Cycle 9 and beyond, participants will receive daratumumab 1800 mg SC once every 4 weeks until documented disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
Also known as: JNJ-54767414, DARZALEX
Bortezomib 1.3 mg/m\^2 will be administered by SC injection twice weekly on Days 1, 4, 8, and 11 of each 21-day cycle for Cycles 1-8.
Also known as: Velcade
Lenalidomide will be self-administered at a dose of 25 mg orally on Day 1 to Day 14 for Cycles 1 through 8 and on Days 1 to 21 for Cycle 9 and beyond until disease progression or unacceptable toxicity whichever occurs first.
Also known as: Revlimid
Dexamethasone will be self-administered orally, 20 mg on Days 1, 2, 4, 5, 8, 9, 11, 12 of each 21-day cycle for Cycles 1-8. During Cycle 9 and beyond dexamethasone, will be self-administered orally at a total dose of 40 mg on Days 1, 8, 15, 22 of each 28-day cycle.
Primary Analysis: Overall Minimal Residual Disease (MRD) Negative Rate
Overall MRD negativity rate was defined as the percentage of participants who achieved complete response (CR) or better response and had MRD negative status (at 10\^5) by bone marrow biopsy or aspirate after randomization but prior to progressive disease (PD), subsequent anti-myeloma therapy, or both. CR or better rate was defined as the percentage of participants achieving CR or stringent complete response (sCR) prior to subsequent anti-myeloma therapy in accordance with the International Myeloma Working Group (IMWG) criteria during or after the study treatment. CR was defined as negative immunofixation on the serum and urine, and disappearance of any soft tissue plasmacytomas, and less than (\<) 5 percent (%) plasma cells (PCs) in bone marrow. sCR was defined as CR plus normal free light chain (FLC) ratio, and absence of clonal PCs by immunohistochemistry, immunofluorescence or 2- to 4-color flow cytometry.
Time frame: From randomization (Day 1) up to 27.9 months
Final Progression-Free Survival (PFS) Analysis : Overall Minimal Residual Disease (MRD) Negative Rate
Overall MRD negativity rate was defined as the percentage of participants who achieved CR or better response and had MRD negative status (at 10\^5) by bone marrow biopsy or aspirate after randomization but prior to PD, subsequent anti-myeloma therapy, or both. CR or better rate was defined as the percentage of participants achieving CR or sCR prior to subsequent anti-myeloma therapy in accordance with the IMWG criteria during or after the study treatment. CR was defined as negative immunofixation on the serum and urine, and disappearance of any soft tissue plasmacytomas, and \< 5 % PCs in bone marrow. sCR was defined as CR plus normal FLC ratio, and absence of clonal PCs by immunohistochemistry, immunofluorescence or 2- to 4-color flow cytometry.
Time frame: From randomization (Day 1) up to 64.8 months
Complete Response (CR) or Better Rate
Time frame: From randomization (Day 1) up to 64.8 months
Progression-Free Survival (PFS)
Time frame: From randomization (Day 1) up to 64.8 months
MRD Negativity Rate at 1 Year
Time frame: At 1 Year
Overall Response Rate (ORR)
Time frame: From randomization (Day 1) up to 64.8 months
Durable MRD Negative Rate
Time frame: From randomization (Day 1) up to 64.8 months
Very Good Partial Response (VGPR) or Better Rate
Time frame: From randomization (Day 1) up to 64.8 months
Duration of Response (DOR)
Time frame: From randomization (Day 1) up to 64.8 months
Time to Response
Time frame: From randomization (Day 1) up to 64.8 months
PFS on the Next Line of Therapy
Time frame: From randomization (Day 1) up to 64.8 months
Overall Survival (OS)
Time frame: From screening (-28 Days) up to 64.8 months
Overall MRD Negativity Rate in High-risk Molecular Subgroups
Time frame: From randomization (Day 1) up to 64.8 months
PFS in High-risk Molecular Subgroups
Time frame: From randomization (Day 1) up to 64.8 months
Maximum Observed Serum Concentration (Cmax) of Daratumumab
Time frame: Predose on Day 1 and post dose on Day 4 of Cycles 1, 3 (each cycle consisted of 21 days); Predose on Day 1 of Cycles 9 and 12 (each cycle consisted of 28 days); Post treatment Week 8
Minimum Observed Serum Concentration (Cmin) of Daratumumab
Time frame: Predose on Day 1 and post dose on Day 4 of Cycles 1 and 3 (each cycle consisted of 21 days); Predose on Day 1 of Cycles 9 and 12 (each cycle consisted of 28 days); Post treatment Week 8
Number of Participants With Anti-daratumumab Antibodies
Time frame: Predose on Day 1 of Cycles 1, 9, and 12 (Cycle 1 consisted of 21 days, Cycles 9 and 12 consisted of 28 days); and Post-Treatment Week 8
Number of Participants With Anti-recombinant Human Hyaluronidase PH20 (Anti-rHuPH20) Antibodies
Time frame: Predose on Day 1 of Cycles 1, 9, and 12 (Cycle 1 consisted of 21 days, Cycles 9 and 12 consisted of 28 days); and Post-Treatment Week 8
Mean Change From Baseline in European Organization for Research and Treatment of Cancer Quality of Life Questionnaire Core-30 Item (EORTC QLQ-C30)
Time frame: From screening (-28 Days) up to 64.8 months
Mean Change From Baseline in European Organization for Research and Treatment of Cancer Quality of Life Questionnaire Multiple Myeloma 20-item (EORTC QLQ-MY20)
Time frame: From screening (-28 Days) up to 64.8 months
Mean Change From Baseline in EuroQol Five Dimension Five Level Questionnaire (EQ-5D-5L)
Time frame: From screening (-28 Days) up to 64.8 months
| Milestone | Arm A: Bortezomib-lenalidomide-dexamethasone (VRd) | Arm B: Daratumumab-bortezomib-lenalidomide-dexamethasone (D-VRd) |
|---|---|---|
| Started | 198 | 197 |
| Treated | 195 | 197 |
| Completed | 0 | 0 |
| Not completed | 198 | 197 |
| Withdrew: Death | 54 | 50 |
| Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject | 13 | 11 |
| Withdrew: Lost to follow-up | 2 | 1 |
| Withdrew: Randomized but not treated | 3 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Ongoing | 126 | 135 |
Overall MRD negativity rate was defined as the percentage of participants who achieved complete response (CR) or better response and had MRD negative status (at 10\^5) by bone marrow biopsy or aspirate after randomization but prior to progressive disease (PD), subsequent anti-myeloma therapy, or both. CR or better rate was defined as the percentage of participants achieving CR or stringent complete response (sCR) prior to subsequent anti-myeloma therapy in accordance with the International Myeloma Working Group (IMWG) criteria during or after the study treatment. CR was defined as negative immunofixation on the serum and urine, and disappearance of any soft tissue plasmacytomas, and less than (\<) 5 percent (%) plasma cells (PCs) in bone marrow. sCR was defined as CR plus normal free light chain (FLC) ratio, and absence of clonal PCs by immunohistochemistry, immunofluorescence or 2- to 4-color flow cytometry.
| Percentage of participants | Arm A: Bortezomib-lenalidomide-dexamethasone (VRd) | Arm B: Daratumumab-bortezomib-lenalidomide-dexamethasone (D-VRd) |
|---|---|---|
| Primary Analysis: Overall Minimal Residual Disease (MRD) Negative Rate | 35.4 (28.7 to 42.4) | 53.3 (46.1 to 60.4) |
Overall MRD negativity rate was defined as the percentage of participants who achieved CR or better response and had MRD negative status (at 10\^5) by bone marrow biopsy or aspirate after randomization but prior to PD, subsequent anti-myeloma therapy, or both. CR or better rate was defined as the percentage of participants achieving CR or sCR prior to subsequent anti-myeloma therapy in accordance with the IMWG criteria during or after the study treatment. CR was defined as negative immunofixation on the serum and urine, and disappearance of any soft tissue plasmacytomas, and \< 5 % PCs in bone marrow. sCR was defined as CR plus normal FLC ratio, and absence of clonal PCs by immunohistochemistry, immunofluorescence or 2- to 4-color flow cytometry.
| Percentage of participants | Arm A: Bortezomib-lenalidomide-dexamethasone (VRd) | Arm B: Daratumumab-bortezomib-lenalidomide-dexamethasone (D-VRd) |
|---|---|---|
| Final Progression-Free Survival (PFS) Analysis : Overall Minimal Residual Disease (MRD) Negative Rate | 39.4 (32.5 to 46.6) | 60.9 (53.7 to 67.8) |
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
Collected over Serious adverse events (SAE) and other adverse events (AEs): From start of treatment (Day 1) up to 30 days after the last dose of study treatment (up to 64.8 months); All-cause mortality: From screening (Day -28) up to 64.8 months. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Arm A: Bortezomib-lenalidomide-dexamethasone (VRd) | 59/198 (29.8%) | 131/195 (67.2%) | 191/195 (97.9%) |
| Arm B: Daratumumab-bortezomib-lenalidomide-dexamethasone (D-VRd) | 51/197 (25.9%) | 142/197 (72.1%) | 196/197 (99.5%) |
| Event | Arm A: Bortezomib-lenalidomide-dexamethasone (VRd) | Arm B: Daratumumab-bortezomib-lenalidomide-dexamethasone (D-VRd) |
|---|---|---|
| PneumoniaInfections and infestations | 25/195 | 27/197 |
| Covid-19Infections and infestations | 16/195 | 22/197 |
| Pulmonary EmbolismRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 5/195 | 11/197 |
| DiarrhoeaGastrointestinal disorders | 6/195 | 10/197 |
| Covid-19 PneumoniaInfections and infestations | 4/195 | 8/197 |
| Atrial FibrillationCardiac disorders | 7/195 | 7/197 |
| SepsisInfections and infestations | 4/195 | 7/197 |
| Urinary Tract InfectionInfections and infestations | 4/195 | 7/197 |
| SyncopeNervous system disorders | 6/195 | 3/197 |
| AnaemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 2/195 | 6/197 |
| Event | Arm A: Bortezomib-lenalidomide-dexamethasone (VRd) | Arm B: Daratumumab-bortezomib-lenalidomide-dexamethasone (D-VRd) |
|---|---|---|
| Peripheral Sensory NeuropathyNervous system disorders | 118/195 | 110/197 |
| DiarrhoeaGastrointestinal disorders | 112/195 | 111/197 |
| NeutropeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 76/195 | 108/197 |
| ThrombocytopeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 66/195 | 91/197 |
| Oedema PeripheralGeneral disorders | 76/195 | 83/197 |
| ConstipationGastrointestinal disorders | 82/195 | 75/197 |
| Upper Respiratory Tract InfectionInfections and infestations | 64/195 | 77/197 |
| AnaemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 62/195 | 71/197 |
| InsomniaPsychiatric disorders | 63/195 | 63/197 |
| FatigueGeneral disorders | 60/195 | 63/197 |
| Age, Continuous(years) | Arm A: Bortezomib-lenalidomide-dexamethasone (VRd) | Arm B: Daratumumab-bortezomib-lenalidomide-dexamethasone (D-VRd) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Median | 70.0 (31 to 80) | 70.0 (42 to 79) | 70 (31 to 80) |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Arm A: Bortezomib-lenalidomide-dexamethasone (VRd) | Arm B: Daratumumab-bortezomib-lenalidomide-dexamethasone (D-VRd) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 87 | 110 | 197 |
| Male | 111 | 87 | 198 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Arm A: Bortezomib-lenalidomide-dexamethasone (VRd) | Arm B: Daratumumab-bortezomib-lenalidomide-dexamethasone (D-VRd) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 35 | 31 | 66 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 147 | 154 | 301 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 16 | 12 | 28 |
| Race/Ethnicity, Customized(Participants) | Arm A: Bortezomib-lenalidomide-dexamethasone (VRd) | Arm B: Daratumumab-bortezomib-lenalidomide-dexamethasone (D-VRd) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| White | 156 | 162 | 318 |
| Black or African American | 9 | 10 | 19 |
| Asian | 14 | 11 | 25 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Other | 2 | 1 | 3 |
| Not reported | 16 | 13 | 29 |
Showing the first 100 of 114 sites across 13 countries.
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
This study is completed, as verified in May 2026. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Janssen Research & Development, LLC