ClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT03616964BRAVE IIUpdated Nov 23, 2022Results posted

A Study of Baricitinib in Participants With Systemic Lupus Erythematosus (SLE-BRAVE II)

A Phase 3 interventional study of Baricitinib and Placebo in Systemic Lupus Erythematosus, sponsored by Eli Lilly and Company. Completed at 159 sites in 15 countries. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2022-11-23.

Sponsored by Eli Lilly and Company · Phase 3, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
778
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

The reason for this study is to see how effective and safe the study drug known as baricitinib is in participants with systemic lupus erythematosus (SLE).

02

Conditions studied

  • Systemic Lupus Erythematosus

Keywords

  • SLE
03

In context

Lupus Erythematosus, Systemic

1,222 studies on the registry are indexed under Lupus Erythematosus, Systemic; 399 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 778 is above the median of 50 across 881 interventional studies indexed under Lupus Erythematosus, Systemic.

Browse Lupus Erythematosus, Systemic studies →

Lead sponsor

Eli Lilly and Company is the lead sponsor of 2,095 studies on the registry; 142 are open to participants now.

Of its 535 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 356 (67%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Go through the criteria one by one — yes, no or not sure — and take the list to your doctor or the study team. Kept in this browser only.

Inclusion criteria

  • Have a clinical diagnosis of SLE at least 24 weeks prior to screening.
  • Have documentation of having met at least 4 of 11 Revised Criteria for Classification of Systemic Lupus Erythematosus according to the 1997 Update of the 1982 American College of Rheumatology (ACR) criteria for classification of SLE prior to randomization.
  • Have a positive antinuclear antibody (ANA) (titer ≥1:80) and/or a positive anti-double-stranded deoxyribonucleic acid (dsDNA), and/or a positive anti-Smith (anti-Sm) as assessed by a central laboratory during screening.
  • Have a total Systemic Lupus Erythematosus Disease Activity Index 2000 (SLEDAI-2K) score ≥6 during screening.
  • Have a clinical SLEDAI-2K score ≥4 at randomization.
  • Have at least 1 British Isles Lupus Assessment Group (BILAG) A score or 2 BILAG B scores during screening.
  • Are receiving at least one of the following standard of care medications for SLE:

    • A single antimalarial at a stable dose for at least 8 weeks prior to screening
    • A single immunosuppressant at a stable dose for at least 8 weeks prior to screening
    • An oral corticosteroid, initiated at least 4 weeks prior to screening, at a stable dose ≤40 milligrams/day prednisone (or equivalent) for at least 2 weeks prior to screening. If the participant is not receiving an antimalarial or immunosuppressant, the dose of corticosteroid must be ≥7.5 milligrams/day prednisone (or equivalent)

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Have severe active lupus nephritis.
  • Have active central nervous system (CNS) lupus.
  • Have a history or presence of cardiovascular, respiratory, hepatic, gastrointestinal, endocrine, hematological, neurological, or neuropsychiatric disorders or any other serious and/or unstable illness that, in the opinion of the investigator, could constitute an unacceptable risk when taking investigational product or interfere with the interpretation of data.
  • Have a current or recent clinically serious viral, bacterial, fungal, or parasitic infection.
  • Have received cyclophosphamide (or any other cytotoxic agent) within 12 weeks prior to screening.
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Parallel assignment
Masking
Double (Participant, Investigator)
Enrollment
778 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    2 milligram (mg) Baricitinib

    Participants received one 2 mg baricitinib tablet and one placebo tablet matching 4 mg baricitinib administered orally once daily (QD) for 52 weeks.

    Drug: Baricitinib · Drug: Placebo

  • Experimental
    4 mg Baricitinib

    Participants received one 4 mg baricitinib tablet and one placebo tablet matching 2 mg baricitinib administered orally QD for 52 weeks.

    Drug: Baricitinib · Drug: Placebo

  • Placebo comparator
    Placebo

    Participants received 2 placebo tablets: one placebo tablet matching 4 mg baricitinib and one placebo tablet matching 2 mg baricitinib administered orally QD for 52 weeks.

    Drug: Placebo

Interventions

  • Administered orally.

    Also known as: LY3009104

  • DrugPlacebo

    Administered orally

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Percentage of Participants Achieving a Systemic Lupus Erythematosus Responder Index 4 (SRI-4) Response (4 mg Baricitinib)

    SRI-4 response defined as 1)greater than or equal to (\>=) 4-point reduction in Systemic Lupus Erythematosus Disease Activity Index 2000 (SLEDAI-2K) total score 2)no new British Isles Lupus Assessment Group (BILAG) A and no more than 1 new BILAG B domain score and 3)no worsening in Physician Global Assessment (PGA) of Disease Activity (worsening defined as an increase of \>=0.3 from baseline on a 0-3 visual analogue scale). SLEDAI-2K assessment consists of 24 items with total score of 0(no symptoms) to 105 (presence of all defined symptoms) with higher scores representing increased disease activity. BILAG Index: assessing clinical signs, symptoms,or laboratory parameters related to Systemic Lupus Erythematosus (SLE),divided into 9 organ systems. For each organ system A=severe disease,B=moderate disease,C=mild stable disease,D=inactive,but previously active,E=inactive and never affected. PGA assess disease activity on a visual analogue scale from 0 to 3 (1=mild, 2=moderate, 3=severe).

    Time frame: Week 52

Secondary outcomes

  1. Percentage of Participants Achieving SRI-4 Response (2 mg Baricitinib)

    SRI-4 response defined as 1)greater than or equal to (\>=) 4-point reduction in Systemic Lupus Erythematosus Disease Activity Index 2000 (SLEDAI-2K) total score 2)no new British Isles Lupus Assessment Group (BILAG) A and no more than 1 new BILAG B domain score and 3)no worsening in Physician Global Assessment (PGA) of Disease Activity (worsening defined as an increase of \>=0.3 from baseline on a 0-3 visual analogue scale). SLEDAI-2K assessment consists of 24 items with total score of 0(no symptoms) to 105 (presence of all defined symptoms) with higher scores representing increased disease activity. BILAG Index: assessing clinical signs, symptoms,or laboratory parameters related to Systemic Lupus Erythematosus (SLE),divided into 9 organ systems. For each organ system A=severe disease,B=moderate disease,C=mild stable disease,D=inactive,but previously active,E=inactive and never affected. PGA assess disease activity on a visual analogue scale from 0 to 3 (1=mild, 2=moderate, 3=severe).

    Time frame: Week 52

  2. Percentage of Participants Achieving a Lupus Low Disease Activity State (LLDAS)

    The LLDAS is a composite measure designed to identify patients achieving a state of low disease activity. The LLDAS response criteria were: (1) SLEDAI-2K \<=4, with no activity in major organ systems (CNS, vascular, renal, cardiorespiratory and constitutional); where "no activity" is defined as all items of SLEDAI-2K within these major organ systems equal to 0. (2) no new features of lupus disease activity compared to previous occurred visit, where the "new feature" is defined as any of the SLEDAI-2K 24 items changed from 0 to greater than 0; (3) PGA (scale 0-3), \<=1; (4) current prednisolone (or equivalent) dose \<=7.5 mg daily.

    Time frame: Week 52

  3. Time to First Severe Flare

    Time to first severe flare analyzed using a Cox proportional hazards model with treatment group, baseline disease activity \[Systemic Lupus Erythematosus Disease Activity Index 2000 (SLEDAI-2K) \<10; SLEDAI-2K ≥10\], baseline corticosteroid dose (\<10 mg/day; ≥10 mg/day prednisone or equivalent), and region fitted as explanatory variables. Participants who did not have severe flare during the flare exposure time period were censored at the end of the flare exposure time.

    Time frame: Baseline to Week 52

  4. Percentage of Participants Whose Average Prednisone Dose Had Been Reduced by >=25% From Baseline to <=7.5 mg/Day During Weeks 40 Through 52 in Participants Receiving Greater Than 7.5 mg/Day at Baseline

    For the analysis of steroid use, steroid dosages were converted to a prednisone equivalent in mg. A responder was defined as having a prednisone reduction by \>=25% from Baseline to \<=7.5 mg/day during Weeks 40 through 52.

    Time frame: Baseline, Week 40 through Week 52

  5. Change From Baseline in Worst Pain Numeric Rating Scale (NRS)

    Participants assessed the worst pain in the last 24 hours on an 11-point numeric rating scale (NRS) ranging from 0 (no pain) to 10 (pain as bad as you can imagine). The average worst daily pain score was calculated as the mean of the scores over the last 7 days prior to each assessment time point. Higher score indicated severe pain. Least Squares (LS) mean was calculated using Mixed Model Repeated Measures (MMRM) analysis with treatment, baseline disease activity (total SLEDAI-2K \<10; \>=10), baseline corticosteroid dose (\<10 mg/day; \>= 10 mg/day prednisone or equivalent), region (North America, Central/South, America/Mexico, Europe, Asia Rest of World), visit (as categorical variable), baseline value, treatment-by-visit interaction, and baseline value-by-visit interaction.

    Time frame: Baseline, Week 52

  6. Change From Baseline in Functional Assessment of Chronic Illness Therapy-Fatigue (FACIT-Fatigue) Total Score

    FACIT-Fatigue score calculated according to a 13-item questionnaire that assess self reported fatigue and its impact upon daily activities and function. It uses a 5-point Likert-type scale (0 = not at all; 1 = a little bit; 2 = somewhat; 3 = quite a bit; 4 = very much). The sum of all responses resulted in the FACIT-Fatigue score for a total possible score of 0 (worse possible score) to 52 (best score). A higher score reflected an improvement in the participant's health status. Least Squares (LS) mean was calculated using Mixed Model Repeated Measures (MMRM) analysis with treatment, baseline disease activity (total SLEDAI-2K \<10; \>=10), baseline corticosteroid dose (\<10 mg/day; \>= 10 mg/day prednisone or equivalent), region (North America, Central/South, America/Mexico, Europe, Asia Rest of World), visit (as categorical variable), baseline value, treatment-by-visit interaction, and baseline value-by-visit interaction.

    Time frame: Baseline, Week 52

  7. Percentage of Participants With Cutaneous Lupus Erythematosus Disease Area and Severity Index (CLASI) Total Activity Score ≥10 at Baseline With ≥50% Reduction in CLASI Total Activity Score

    The CLASI is a single-page tool that separately quantifies disease activity and damage. For the activity score, points are given for the presence of erythema, scale, mucous membrane lesions, recent hair loss, and inflammatory alopecia. The total score represents the sum of the individual scores and ranges from 0 to 70. Higher scores are awarded for more severe manifestations.

    Time frame: Week 52

  8. Change From Baseline in Tender Joint Count

    The number of tender and painful joints is determined by examination of 28 joints (14 on each side) which include: the 2 shoulders, the 2 elbows, the 2 wrists, the 10 metacarpophalangeal joints, the 2 interphalangeal joints of the thumb, the 8 proximal interphalangeal joints, and the 2 knees. The joints are assessed and classified as tender or not tender. LS mean was calculated using Mixed Model Repeated Measures (MMRM) analysis with treatment, baseline disease activity (total SLEDAI-2K \<10; \>=10), baseline corticosteroid dose (\<10 mg/day; \>=10 mg/day prednisone or equivalent), region (North America, Central/South America/Mexico, Europe, Asia and Rest of World), visit (as categorical variable), baseline value, treatment-by-visit interaction, and baseline value-by-visit interaction.

    Time frame: Baseline, Week 52

  9. Change From Baseline in Swollen Joint Count

    The number of swollen joints is determined by examination of 28 joints (14 on each side) which include: the 2 shoulders, the 2 elbows, the 2 wrists, the 10 metacarpophalangeal joints, the 2 interphalangeal joints of the thumb, the 8 proximal interphalangeal joints, and the 2 knees. The joints are assessed and classified as swollen or not swollen. LS mean was calculated using MMRM analysis with treatment, baseline disease activity (total SLEDAI-2K \<10; \>=10), baseline corticosteroid dose (\<10 mg/day; \>=10 mg/day prednisone or equivalent), region (North America, Central/South America/Mexico, Europe, Asia and Rest of World), visit (as categorical variable), baseline value, treatment-by-visit interaction, and baseline value-by-visit interaction.

    Time frame: Baseline, Week 52

  10. Population Pharmacokinetics (PK): Area Under the Concentration-Time Curve for Dosing Interval of Baricitinib at Steady State (AUCtau,ss)

    AUCtau,ss reported for participants who received multiple doses of mg baricitinib was derived by a population pharmacokinetics approach.

    Time frame: Week 0 (Baseline): 15 minutes (min) and 60 min postdose; Week 4: 2 to 4 hours (hr) postdose; Week 8: 4 to 6 hr postdose; Week 12 and Week 16 predose

  11. Population PK: Maximum Observed Drug Concentration at Steady State (Cmax,ss)

    PK: Maximum Concentration of Baricitinib at steady-state (Cmax,ss) was derived by a population pharmacokinetics approach.

    Time frame: Week 0 (Baseline): 15 minutes (min) and 60 min postdose; Week 4: 2 to 4 hours (hr) postdose; Week 8: 4 to 6 hr postdose; Week 12 and Week 16 predose

07

Results

Posted Nov 23, 2022

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestonePlacebo2 mg Baricitinib4 mg Baricitinib
Started257262259
Received at least one dose of study drug256261258
Safety population256261258
Pharmacokinetic (pk) population0277241
Completed212222205
Not completed454054
Withdrew: Adverse event151016
Withdrew: Death304
Withdrew: Lack of efficacy488
Withdrew: Lost to follow-up213
Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject181421
Withdrew: Withdrawal by principal investigator (pi)111
Withdrew: Sponsor's decision100
Withdrew: Physician decision020
Withdrew: Decreased neutrophils due to systemic lupus erythematosus (sle)010
Withdrew: Protocol violation010
Withdrew: Due to epidemic/pandemic010
Withdrew: Randomized but never treated111

Outcome measures

PrimaryPercentage of Participants Achieving a Systemic Lupus Erythematosus Responder Index 4 (SRI-4) Response (4 mg Baricitinib)

SRI-4 response defined as 1)greater than or equal to (\>=) 4-point reduction in Systemic Lupus Erythematosus Disease Activity Index 2000 (SLEDAI-2K) total score 2)no new British Isles Lupus Assessment Group (BILAG) A and no more than 1 new BILAG B domain score and 3)no worsening in Physician Global Assessment (PGA) of Disease Activity (worsening defined as an increase of \>=0.3 from baseline on a 0-3 visual analogue scale). SLEDAI-2K assessment consists of 24 items with total score of 0(no symptoms) to 105 (presence of all defined symptoms) with higher scores representing increased disease activity. BILAG Index: assessing clinical signs, symptoms,or laboratory parameters related to Systemic Lupus Erythematosus (SLE),divided into 9 organ systems. For each organ system A=severe disease,B=moderate disease,C=mild stable disease,D=inactive,but previously active,E=inactive and never affected. PGA assess disease activity on a visual analogue scale from 0 to 3 (1=mild, 2=moderate, 3=severe).

Time frame:
Week 52
Reported as:
Number · percentage of participants
Percentage of Participants Achieving a Systemic Lupus Erythematosus Responder Index 4 (SRI-4) Response (4 mg Baricitinib)
percentage of participantsPlacebo4 mg Baricitinib
Percentage of Participants Achieving a Systemic Lupus Erythematosus Responder Index 4 (SRI-4) Response (4 mg Baricitinib)45.647.1
Statistical analysis
  • Placebo vs 4 mg Baricitinib · Regression, Logistic · p = 0.711 · Odds ratio (or): 1.07 · 95% CI 0.75 to 1.53
SecondaryPercentage of Participants Achieving SRI-4 Response (2 mg Baricitinib)

SRI-4 response defined as 1)greater than or equal to (\>=) 4-point reduction in Systemic Lupus Erythematosus Disease Activity Index 2000 (SLEDAI-2K) total score 2)no new British Isles Lupus Assessment Group (BILAG) A and no more than 1 new BILAG B domain score and 3)no worsening in Physician Global Assessment (PGA) of Disease Activity (worsening defined as an increase of \>=0.3 from baseline on a 0-3 visual analogue scale). SLEDAI-2K assessment consists of 24 items with total score of 0(no symptoms) to 105 (presence of all defined symptoms) with higher scores representing increased disease activity. BILAG Index: assessing clinical signs, symptoms,or laboratory parameters related to Systemic Lupus Erythematosus (SLE),divided into 9 organ systems. For each organ system A=severe disease,B=moderate disease,C=mild stable disease,D=inactive,but previously active,E=inactive and never affected. PGA assess disease activity on a visual analogue scale from 0 to 3 (1=mild, 2=moderate, 3=severe).

Time frame:
Week 52
Reported as:
Number · percentage of participants
Percentage of Participants Achieving SRI-4 Response (2 mg Baricitinib)
percentage of participantsPlacebo2 mg Baricitinib
Percentage of Participants Achieving SRI-4 Response (2 mg Baricitinib)45.646.3
Statistical analysis
  • Placebo vs 2 mg Baricitinib · Regression, Logistic · p = 0.789 · Odds ratio (or): 1.05 · 95% CI 0.73 to 1.50
SecondaryPercentage of Participants Achieving a Lupus Low Disease Activity State (LLDAS)

The LLDAS is a composite measure designed to identify patients achieving a state of low disease activity. The LLDAS response criteria were: (1) SLEDAI-2K \<=4, with no activity in major organ systems (CNS, vascular, renal, cardiorespiratory and constitutional); where "no activity" is defined as all items of SLEDAI-2K within these major organ systems equal to 0. (2) no new features of lupus disease activity compared to previous occurred visit, where the "new feature" is defined as any of the SLEDAI-2K 24 items changed from 0 to greater than 0; (3) PGA (scale 0-3), \<=1; (4) current prednisolone (or equivalent) dose \<=7.5 mg daily.

Time frame:
Week 52
Reported as:
Number · percentage of participants
Percentage of Participants Achieving a Lupus Low Disease Activity State (LLDAS)
percentage of participantsPlacebo2 mg Baricitinib4 mg Baricitinib
Percentage of Participants Achieving a Lupus Low Disease Activity State (LLDAS)23.224.025.4
Statistical analysis
  • Placebo vs 2 mg Baricitinib · Regression, Logistic · p = 0.673 · Odds ratio (or): 1.10 · 95% CI 0.72 to 1.68
  • Placebo vs 4 mg Baricitinib · Regression, Logistic · p = 0.528 · Odds ratio (or): 1.15 · 95% CI 0.75 to 1.75
SecondaryTime to First Severe Flare

Time to first severe flare analyzed using a Cox proportional hazards model with treatment group, baseline disease activity \[Systemic Lupus Erythematosus Disease Activity Index 2000 (SLEDAI-2K) \<10; SLEDAI-2K ≥10\], baseline corticosteroid dose (\<10 mg/day; ≥10 mg/day prednisone or equivalent), and region fitted as explanatory variables. Participants who did not have severe flare during the flare exposure time period were censored at the end of the flare exposure time.

Time frame:
Baseline to Week 52
Reported as:
Median · weeks
Time to First Severe Flare
weeksPlacebo2 mg Baricitinib4 mg Baricitinib
Time to First Severe FlareNA (NA to NA)NA (NA to NA)NA (NA to NA)
SecondaryPercentage of Participants Whose Average Prednisone Dose Had Been Reduced by >=25% From Baseline to <=7.5 mg/Day During Weeks 40 Through 52 in Participants Receiving Greater Than 7.5 mg/Day at Baseline

For the analysis of steroid use, steroid dosages were converted to a prednisone equivalent in mg. A responder was defined as having a prednisone reduction by \>=25% from Baseline to \<=7.5 mg/day during Weeks 40 through 52.

Time frame:
Baseline, Week 40 through Week 52
Reported as:
Number · percentage of participants
Percentage of Participants Whose Average Prednisone Dose Had Been Reduced by >=25% From Baseline to <=7.5 mg/Day During Weeks 40 Through 52 in Participants Receiving Greater Than 7.5 mg/Day at Baseline
percentage of participantsPlacebo2 mg Baricitinib4 mg Baricitinib
Percentage of Participants Whose Average Prednisone Dose Had Been Reduced by >=25% From Baseline to <=7.5 mg/Day During Weeks 40 Through 52 in Participants Receiving Greater Than 7.5 mg/Day at Baseline31.729.834.3
Statistical analysis
  • Placebo vs 2 mg Baricitinib · Regression, Logistic · p = 0.761 · Odds ratio (or): 0.91 · 95% CI 0.51 to 1.64
  • Placebo vs 4 mg Baricitinib · Regression, Logistic · p = 0.611 · Odds ratio (or): 1.17 · 95% CI 0.65 to 2.10
SecondaryChange From Baseline in Worst Pain Numeric Rating Scale (NRS)

Participants assessed the worst pain in the last 24 hours on an 11-point numeric rating scale (NRS) ranging from 0 (no pain) to 10 (pain as bad as you can imagine). The average worst daily pain score was calculated as the mean of the scores over the last 7 days prior to each assessment time point. Higher score indicated severe pain. Least Squares (LS) mean was calculated using Mixed Model Repeated Measures (MMRM) analysis with treatment, baseline disease activity (total SLEDAI-2K \<10; \>=10), baseline corticosteroid dose (\<10 mg/day; \>= 10 mg/day prednisone or equivalent), region (North America, Central/South, America/Mexico, Europe, Asia Rest of World), visit (as categorical variable), baseline value, treatment-by-visit interaction, and baseline value-by-visit interaction.

Time frame:
Baseline, Week 52
Reported as:
Least squares mean · score on a scale
Change From Baseline in Worst Pain Numeric Rating Scale (NRS)
score on a scalePlacebo2 mg Baricitinib4 mg Baricitinib
Change From Baseline in Worst Pain Numeric Rating Scale (NRS)-1.37 ± 0.14-1.45 ± 0.14-1.44 ± 0.14
Statistical analysis
  • Placebo vs 2 mg Baricitinib · Mixed Models Analysis · p = 0.698 · Ls mean difference (final values): -0.08 · 95% CI -0.47 to 0.32
  • Placebo vs 4 mg Baricitinib · Mixed Models Analysis · p = 0.744 · Ls mean difference (final values): -0.07 · 95% CI -0.46 to 0.33
SecondaryChange From Baseline in Functional Assessment of Chronic Illness Therapy-Fatigue (FACIT-Fatigue) Total Score

FACIT-Fatigue score calculated according to a 13-item questionnaire that assess self reported fatigue and its impact upon daily activities and function. It uses a 5-point Likert-type scale (0 = not at all; 1 = a little bit; 2 = somewhat; 3 = quite a bit; 4 = very much). The sum of all responses resulted in the FACIT-Fatigue score for a total possible score of 0 (worse possible score) to 52 (best score). A higher score reflected an improvement in the participant's health status. Least Squares (LS) mean was calculated using Mixed Model Repeated Measures (MMRM) analysis with treatment, baseline disease activity (total SLEDAI-2K \<10; \>=10), baseline corticosteroid dose (\<10 mg/day; \>= 10 mg/day prednisone or equivalent), region (North America, Central/South, America/Mexico, Europe, Asia Rest of World), visit (as categorical variable), baseline value, treatment-by-visit interaction, and baseline value-by-visit interaction.

Time frame:
Baseline, Week 52
Reported as:
Least squares mean · score on a scale
Change From Baseline in Functional Assessment of Chronic Illness Therapy-Fatigue (FACIT-Fatigue) Total Score
score on a scalePlacebo2 mg Baricitinib4 mg Baricitinib
Change From Baseline in Functional Assessment of Chronic Illness Therapy-Fatigue (FACIT-Fatigue) Total Score7.26 ± 0.606.90 ± 0.606.96 ± 0.61
Statistical analysis
  • Placebo vs 2 mg Baricitinib · Mixed Models Analysis · p = 0.665 · Ls mean difference (final values): -0.36 · 95% CI -2.00 to 1.28
  • Placebo vs 4 mg Baricitinib · Mixed Models Analysis · p = 0.723 · Ls mean difference (final values): -0.30 · 95% CI -1.95 to 1.35
SecondaryPercentage of Participants With Cutaneous Lupus Erythematosus Disease Area and Severity Index (CLASI) Total Activity Score ≥10 at Baseline With ≥50% Reduction in CLASI Total Activity Score

The CLASI is a single-page tool that separately quantifies disease activity and damage. For the activity score, points are given for the presence of erythema, scale, mucous membrane lesions, recent hair loss, and inflammatory alopecia. The total score represents the sum of the individual scores and ranges from 0 to 70. Higher scores are awarded for more severe manifestations.

Time frame:
Week 52
Reported as:
Number · percentage of participants
Percentage of Participants With Cutaneous Lupus Erythematosus Disease Area and Severity Index (CLASI) Total Activity Score ≥10 at Baseline With ≥50% Reduction in CLASI Total Activity Score
percentage of participantsPlacebo2 mg Baricitinib4 mg Baricitinib
Percentage of Participants With Cutaneous Lupus Erythematosus Disease Area and Severity Index (CLASI) Total Activity Score ≥10 at Baseline With ≥50% Reduction in CLASI Total Activity Score66.156.958.0
Statistical analysis
  • Placebo vs 2 mg Baricitinib · Regression, Logistic · p = 0.372 · Odds ratio (or): 0.69 · 95% CI 0.31 to 1.55
  • Placebo vs 4 mg Baricitinib · Regression, Logistic · p = 0.555 · Odds ratio (or): 0.78 · 95% CI 0.34 to 1.78
SecondaryChange From Baseline in Tender Joint Count

The number of tender and painful joints is determined by examination of 28 joints (14 on each side) which include: the 2 shoulders, the 2 elbows, the 2 wrists, the 10 metacarpophalangeal joints, the 2 interphalangeal joints of the thumb, the 8 proximal interphalangeal joints, and the 2 knees. The joints are assessed and classified as tender or not tender. LS mean was calculated using Mixed Model Repeated Measures (MMRM) analysis with treatment, baseline disease activity (total SLEDAI-2K \<10; \>=10), baseline corticosteroid dose (\<10 mg/day; \>=10 mg/day prednisone or equivalent), region (North America, Central/South America/Mexico, Europe, Asia and Rest of World), visit (as categorical variable), baseline value, treatment-by-visit interaction, and baseline value-by-visit interaction.

Time frame:
Baseline, Week 52
Reported as:
Least squares mean · tender joint count
Change From Baseline in Tender Joint Count
tender joint countPlacebo2 mg Baricitinib4 mg Baricitinib
Change From Baseline in Tender Joint Count-6.92 ± 0.301-7.40 ± 0.300-7.83 ± 0.306
Statistical analysis
  • Placebo vs 2 mg Baricitinib · Mixed Models Analysis · p = 0.251 · Ls mean difference (final values): -0.48 · 95% CI -1.31 to 0.34
  • Placebo vs 4 mg Baricitinib · Mixed Models Analysis · p = 0.333 · Ls mean difference (final values): -0.91 · 95% CI -1.74 to -0.07
SecondaryChange From Baseline in Swollen Joint Count

The number of swollen joints is determined by examination of 28 joints (14 on each side) which include: the 2 shoulders, the 2 elbows, the 2 wrists, the 10 metacarpophalangeal joints, the 2 interphalangeal joints of the thumb, the 8 proximal interphalangeal joints, and the 2 knees. The joints are assessed and classified as swollen or not swollen. LS mean was calculated using MMRM analysis with treatment, baseline disease activity (total SLEDAI-2K \<10; \>=10), baseline corticosteroid dose (\<10 mg/day; \>=10 mg/day prednisone or equivalent), region (North America, Central/South America/Mexico, Europe, Asia and Rest of World), visit (as categorical variable), baseline value, treatment-by-visit interaction, and baseline value-by-visit interaction.

Time frame:
Baseline, Week 52
Reported as:
Least squares mean · swollen joint count
Change From Baseline in Swollen Joint Count
swollen joint countPlacebo2 mg Baricitinib4 mg Baricitinib
Change From Baseline in Swollen Joint Count-4.79 ± 0.202-5.10 ± 0.201-5.31 ± 0.205
Statistical analysis
  • Placebo vs 2 mg Baricitinib · Mixed Models Analysis · p = 0.284 · Ls mean difference (final values): -0.30 · 95% CI -0.86 to 0.25
  • Placebo vs 4 mg Baricitinib · Mixed Models Analysis · p = 0.069 · Ls mean difference (final values): -0.52 · 95% CI -1.08 to 0.04
SecondaryPopulation Pharmacokinetics (PK): Area Under the Concentration-Time Curve for Dosing Interval of Baricitinib at Steady State (AUCtau,ss)

AUCtau,ss reported for participants who received multiple doses of mg baricitinib was derived by a population pharmacokinetics approach.

Time frame:
Week 0 (Baseline): 15 minutes (min) and 60 min postdose; Week 4: 2 to 4 hours (hr) postdose; Week 8: 4 to 6 hr postdose; Week 12 and Week 16 predose
Reported as:
Geometric mean · nanogram*hour/milliliter (ng*h/mL)
Population Pharmacokinetics (PK): Area Under the Concentration-Time Curve for Dosing Interval of Baricitinib at Steady State (AUCtau,ss)
nanogram*hour/milliliter (ng*h/mL)2 mg Baricitinib4 mg Baricitinib
Population Pharmacokinetics (PK): Area Under the Concentration-Time Curve for Dosing Interval of Baricitinib at Steady State (AUCtau,ss)257 ± 48505 ± 50
SecondaryPopulation PK: Maximum Observed Drug Concentration at Steady State (Cmax,ss)

PK: Maximum Concentration of Baricitinib at steady-state (Cmax,ss) was derived by a population pharmacokinetics approach.

Time frame:
Week 0 (Baseline): 15 minutes (min) and 60 min postdose; Week 4: 2 to 4 hours (hr) postdose; Week 8: 4 to 6 hr postdose; Week 12 and Week 16 predose
Reported as:
Geometric mean · nanograms per milliliter (ng/mL)
Population PK: Maximum Observed Drug Concentration at Steady State (Cmax,ss)
nanograms per milliliter (ng/mL)2 mg Baricitinib4 mg Baricitinib
Population PK: Maximum Observed Drug Concentration at Steady State (Cmax,ss)27.0 ± 2354.1 ± 24

Adverse events

Collected over Baseline through Follow-up (Up to 56 Weeks). Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Placebo3/256 (1.2%)26/256 (10.2%)96/256 (37.5%)
2 mg Baricitinib0/261 (0%)35/261 (13.4%)100/261 (38.3%)
4 mg Baricitinib4/258 (1.6%)32/258 (12.4%)96/258 (37.2%)
Most frequent serious events
Showing 10 of 97
Most frequent serious events
EventPlacebo2 mg Baricitinib4 mg Baricitinib
Systemic lupus erythematosusMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders0/2566/2613/258
PneumoniaInfections and infestations3/2561/2612/258
Pneumonia bacterialInfections and infestations2/2560/2611/258
Deep vein thrombosisVascular disorders2/2560/2610/258
PancytopeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders0/2560/2612/258
CholelithiasisHepatobiliary disorders1/2560/2612/258
Covid-19Infections and infestations1/2562/2611/258
Hip arthroplastySurgical and medical procedures0/2562/2610/258
Abortion spontaneousPregnancy, puerperium and perinatal conditions1/2411/2461/245
Postmenopausal haemorrhageReproductive system and breast disorders1/2410/2460/245
Most frequent other events
Most frequent other events
EventPlacebo2 mg Baricitinib4 mg Baricitinib
Urinary tract infectionInfections and infestations26/25629/26119/258
HeadacheNervous system disorders23/25625/26119/258
NasopharyngitisInfections and infestations23/25618/26121/258
DiarrhoeaGastrointestinal disorders13/25620/26110/258
Upper respiratory tract infectionInfections and infestations13/25617/26119/258
Back painMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders6/2568/26115/258
NeutropeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders7/2565/26113/258
HypertensionVascular disorders9/25612/26113/258

Baseline characteristics

All randomized participants who received at least one dose of study drug.

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)Placebo2 mg Baricitinib4 mg BaricitinibTotal
Mean43.50 ± 13.4742.80 ± 12.9942.20 ± 12.1142.80 ± 12.86
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Placebo2 mg Baricitinib4 mg BaricitinibTotal
Female241246245732
Male15151343
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Placebo2 mg Baricitinib4 mg BaricitinibTotal
Hispanic or Latino911828
Not Hispanic or Latino403840118
Unknown or Not Reported207212210629
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Placebo2 mg Baricitinib4 mg BaricitinibTotal
American Indian or Alaska Native14121339
Asian716670207
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0011
Black or African American17232666
White145152140437
More than one race54413
Unknown or Not Reported44412
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(Participants)Placebo2 mg Baricitinib4 mg BaricitinibTotal
Argentina34292992
Chile8141234
Colombia17151648
France3227
India32283494
Italy2259
Japan14121238
Philippines13141138
Poland26363193
Romania1211730
Serbia15201853
South Africa14151241
South Korea47819
Spain1261230
United States505049149
08

Study locations

159 sites
  • University of Arizona Arthritis Center
    Gilbert, Arizona 85297, United States
  • Arizona Arthritis & Rheumatology Research
    Phoenix, Arizona 85302, United States
  • Arizona Arthritis & Rheumatology Associates, P. C.
    Tucson, Arizona 85704, United States
  • Wallace Rheumatic Studies Center
    Beverly Hills, California 90211, United States
  • Medvin Clinical Research - Weidmann
    Covina, California 91722, United States
  • Office: Dr Robin K Dore
    Tustin, California 92780, United States
  • Inland Rheumatology & Osteoporosis Medical Group
    Upland, California 91786, United States
  • Denver Arthritis Clinic - Lowry
    Denver, Colorado 80230, United States
  • Clinical Research of West Florida, Inc. (Clearwater)
    Clearwater, Florida 33765, United States
  • Millennium Research
    Ormond Beach, Florida 32174, United States
  • Integral Rheumatology & Immunology Specialists
    Plantation, Florida 33324, United States
  • Clinical Research of West Florida
    Tampa, Florida 33603, United States
  • Tampa Medical Group, P.A.
    Tampa, Florida 33614, United States
  • Emory University
    Atlanta, Georgia 30322, United States
  • Northside Hospital
    Atlanta, Georgia 30342, United States
  • North Georgia Rheumatology, PC
    Lawrenceville, Georgia 30046, United States
  • Arthritis Center of Lexington
    Lexington, Kentucky 40504, United States
  • Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
    Baltimore, Maryland 21224-6801, United States
  • Advanced Rheumatology, PC
    Lansing, Michigan 48910, United States
  • Glacier View Research Institute - Endocrinology
    Kalispell, Montana 59901, United States
  • Innovative Health Research
    Las Vegas, Nevada 89128, United States
  • Albuquerque Clinical Trials, Inc.
    Albuquerque, New Mexico 87102, United States
  • Arthritis and Osteoporosis Associates of New Mexico
    Las Cruces, New Mexico 88011, United States
  • St. Lawrence Health System
    Canton, New York 13617, United States
  • New York University Medical Center
    New York, New York 10016, United States
  • SUNY Upstate Medical University
    Syracuse, New York 13210, United States
  • Joint and Muscle Medical Care
    Charlotte, North Carolina 28204, United States
  • Box Arthritis & Rheumatology of the Carolinas, PLLC
    Charlotte, North Carolina 28210, United States
  • Cincinnati Rheumatic Disease Study Group
    Cincinnati, Ohio 45242, United States
  • Oklahoma Medical Research Foundation
    Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73104, United States
  • Clinical Research Center of Reading,LLC
    Wyomissing, Pennsylvania 19610, United States
  • Articularis Healthcare d/b/a/ Low Country Rheumatology, PA
    Summerville, South Carolina 29486, United States
  • Eagle Medical
    Crossville, Tennessee 38555, United States
  • Dr. Dhiman Basu Private Practice
    Colleyville, Texas 76034, United States
  • Metroplex Clinical Research Center
    Dallas, Texas 75231, United States
  • Advanced Rheumatology of Houston
    The Woodlands, Texas 77382, United States
  • Clear Lake Specialties
    Webster, Texas 77598, United States
  • Arthritis Clinic of Northern VA, P.C.
    Arlington, Virginia 22205, United States
  • Spectrum Medical Inc.
    Danville, Virginia 24541, United States
  • Aprillus Asistencia e Investigacion - Servicio de neurologia
    CABA, Buenos Aires C1046AAQ, Argentina
  • DOM Centro de Reumatologia
    Ciudad de Buenos Aires, Buenos Aires C1111AAH, Argentina
  • Framingham Centro Medico
    La Plata, Buenos Aires B1902COS, Argentina
  • CER Instituto Medico
    Quilmes, Buenos Aires B1878DVC, Argentina
  • Instituto de Investigaciones Clinicas Quilmes
    Quilmes, Buenos Aires B1878GEG, Argentina
  • Comite de Etica en Investigacion - CEMIC
    Buenos Aires, Ciudad Autonoma de Buenos Aire C1431FWO, Argentina
  • Clinica Adventista Belgrano
    CABA, Ciudad Autónoma de Buenos Aire C1430EGF, Argentina
  • Sanatorio Británico
    Rosario, Santa Fe Province 2000, Argentina
  • Centro Medico Privado de Reumatologia
    SAN M. de Tucuman, Tucumán Province T4000AXL, Argentina
  • Sanatorio Guemes Cardiocirugia
    Ciudad Autonoma Buenos Aires, C1181AAX, Argentina
  • IR Medical Center S.A. Instituto de Reumatologia
    Mendoza, M5500CPH, Argentina
  • Clinical Research Chile SpA
    Valdivia, Los Ríos Region 5110683, Chile
  • Enroll SpA
    Providencia, Región Metropolitana de Santia 7500587, Chile
  • Clinica Alemana de Osorno
    Osorno, 5290000, Chile
  • Sociedad Medica Del Aparato Locomotor SA
    Santiago, 7510186, Chile
  • Prosalud y cia. Ltda.
    Santiago, Chile
  • ReumaCen Centro Reumatologico Integral
    Viña del Mar, 2570017, Chile
  • HPTU-El Hospital con alma Pablo Tobon Uribe
    Medellín, Antioquia, Colombia
  • Circaribe SAS
    Barranquilla, Atlántico, Colombia
  • Clinica de la Costa
    Barranquilla, Atlántico, Colombia
  • Idearg S.A.S.
    Bogota, Cundinamarca, Colombia
  • Centro Integral de Reumatologia e Inmunologia
    Bogotá, Cundinamarca, Colombia
  • Servimed S.A.S.
    Bucaramanga, Santander Department 12345, Colombia
  • Centro de Medicina Interna
    Cali, Valle del Cauca Department, Colombia
  • Preventive Care Ltdac
    Chía, Colombia
  • CHRU Brest - Hopital Cavale Blanche
    Brest, Finistère 29609, France
  • Centre hospitalier universitaire de Haut Leveque
    Pessac, Gironde 33604, France
  • CHU Montpellier Lapeyronie Hospital
    Montpellier, Hérault 34295, France
  • Centre hospitalier universitaire Pellegrin
    Bordeaux, 33076, France
  • Hopital Européen
    Marseille, 13003, France
  • Krishna Institute of Medical Science
    Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh 500003, India
  • Panchshil Hospital
    Ahmedabad, Gujarat 380005, India
  • CIMS Hospital Private Limited
    Ahmedabad, Gujarat 380060, India
  • NHL Municipal Medical College & VS General Hospital
    Ahmedabad, Gujarat 38006, India
  • Shree Giriraj Hospital
    Rajkot, Gujarat 360004, India
  • Nirmal Hospital Private Limited
    Surat, Gujarat 395002, India
  • Sterling Hospital
    Vadodara, Gujarat 390007, India
  • St. John Medical College & Hospital
    Bangalore, Karnataka 560034, India
  • ChanRe Rheumatology And Immunology Center And Research
    Bangalore, Karnataka 560079, India
  • Sushruta Multispecialty Hospital & Research Center Pvt Ltd
    Hubli, Karnataka 580021, India
  • Kasturba Medical College Hospital, Mangalore
    Madhav Nagar, Manipal, Karnataka 576104, India
  • Jasleen Hospital
    Nagpur, Maharashtra 44012, India
  • Synexus Affiliate - Sujata Birla Hospital & Medical Research Center
    Nashik, Maharashtra 422101, India
  • Fortis Escorts Hospital
    Jaipur, Rajasthan 302017, India
  • Azienda Ospedaliera Universitaria
    Modena, MO 41124, Italy
  • Azienda Ospedaliera Universitaria Pisana
    Pisa, Tuscany 56100, Italy
  • IRCCS Ospedale Policlinico San Martino
    Genova, 16132, Italy
  • Fondazione IRCCS Ca'Granda Ospedale Maggiore Policlinico
    Milan, 20122, Italy
  • Azienda Policlinico Umberto I
    Roma, 00161, Italy
  • Azienda Ospedaliera Santa Maria Della Misericordia
    Udine, 33100, Italy
  • University of Occupational and Enviromental Health
    Kitakyushu, Fukuoka 807-8556, Japan
  • Hiroshima University Hospital
    Hiroshima, Hiroshima 734-8551, Japan
  • National Hospital Organization Asahikawa Medical Center
    Asahikawa, Hokkaido 070-8644, Japan
  • Hokkaido University Hospital
    Sapporo, Hokkaido 060-8648, Japan
  • Jp Red Cross Society Himeji Hp
    Himeji, Hyōgo 670-8540, Japan
  • Kobe University Hospital
    Kobe, Hyōgo 650-0017, Japan
  • Kagawa University Hospital
    Kita-gun, Kagawa-ken 761-0793, Japan
  • Tohoku University Hospital
    Sendai, Miyagi 980-8574, Japan
  • Juntendo University Hospital
    Bunkyo-ku, Tokyo 113-8431, Japan
  • St. Lukes International Hospital
    Chuo-Ku, Tokyo 104 8560, Japan
  • Toho University Ohashi Med C
    Meguro-ku, Tokyo 153-8515, Japan

Showing the first 100 of 159 sites across 15 countries.

09

References and documents

Publications

  • Yin J, Hou Y, Wang C, Qin C. Clinical outcomes of baricitinib in patients with systemic lupus erythematosus: Pooled analysis of SLE-BRAVE-I and SLE-BRAVE-II trials. PLoS One. 2025 Apr 30;20(4):e0320179. doi: 10.1371/journal.pone.0320179. eCollection 2025. PubMed 40305472 ↗
  • Petri M, Bruce IN, Dorner T, Tanaka Y, Morand EF, Kalunian KC, Cardiel MH, Silk ME, Dickson CL, Meszaros G, Zhang L, Jia B, Zhao Y, McVeigh CJ, Mosca M. Baricitinib for systemic lupus erythematosus: a double-blind, randomised, placebo-controlled, phase 3 trial (SLE-BRAVE-II). Lancet. 2023 Mar 25;401(10381):1011-1019. doi: 10.1016/S0140-6736(22)02546-6. Epub 2023 Feb 24. PubMed 36848919 ↗
  • Hannon CW, McCourt C, Lima HC, Chen S, Bennett C. Interventions for cutaneous disease in systemic lupus erythematosus. Cochrane Database Syst Rev. 2021 Mar 9;3(3):CD007478. doi: 10.1002/14651858.CD007478.pub2. PubMed 33687069 ↗

Study documents

  • Study protocol · Apr 20, 2020
  • Statistical analysis plan · Nov 1, 2021

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: Yes — Anonymized individual patient level data will be provided in a secure access environment upon approval of a research proposal and a signed data sharing agreement.

Supporting information: Study protocol, Statistical analysis plan, Clinical study report

Time frame: Data are available 6 months after the primary publication and approval of the indication studied in the US and EU, whichever is later. Data will be indefinitely available for requesting.

Access criteria: A research proposal must be approved by an independent review panel and researchers must sign a data sharing agreement.

Data sharing details ↗ · vivli.org

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Nov 23, 2022, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT03616964
Collaborators
Incyte Corporation
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Aug 6, 2018
Start date
Aug 2, 2018
Primary completion
Sep 24, 2021
Completion
Oct 20, 2021
Results posted
Nov 23, 2022
Last update
Nov 23, 2022

Study contacts

Call 1-877-CTLILLY (1-877-285-4559) or 1-317-615-4559 Mon - Fri 9 AM - 5 PM Eastern time (UTC/GMT - 5 hours, EST)
study director · Eli Lilly and Company

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Nov 2022. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Studies of the drug tested here: Baricitinib

Start the discussion