CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT03538951Phase2bUpdated Aug 23, 2022Results posted

Study to Evaluate the Efficacy, Safety, and Tolerability of Topical VDA-1102 Ointment in Subjects With Actinic Keratosis

A Phase 2 interventional study of 10% VDA-1102 and 20% VDA-1102 in Actinic Keratosis, sponsored by Vidac Pharma. Completed at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2022-08-23.

Sponsored by Vidac Pharma · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
83
Allocation
Non-randomized
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

This is a Phase 2 clinical study in patients with actinic keratosis involving daily application of 1 of 2 strengths of VDA-1102 topical ointment for approximately 12 weeks (84 days). This study has no placebo and the subjects enrolled in the study will know exactly what they are receiving. The objectives of the study are to evaluate the safety and benefit of these two strengths.

Read the detailed description

This Phase 2 clinical trial is a 3-part, open-label, multi-center study involving a non-occluded, daily topical dermal application of 1 of 2 strengths of VDA-1102 ointment for approximately 12 weeks (84 days) to an initial 2 cohorts of subjects. The first 40 eligible subjects will be enrolled into Cohort 1 (Part A). Cohort 1 subjects will be assigned to receive approximately 200 mg of 10% VDA-1102 twice-daily (BID). Once approximately 40 subjects have been enrolled in Cohort 1, Cohort 1 will be closed to enrollment and Cohort 2 (Part B) will be opened for enrollment. Cohort 2 subjects will be assigned to receive approximately 200 mg of 20% VDA-1102 once-daily (QD). Once approximately 40 subjects have been enrolled in Cohort 2, an additional 70 subjects will be randomly assigned to Cohort 1 or Cohort 2 (Part C) in a 1:1 ratio.

To qualify for the study, subjects aged 18 (inclusive) or older must have signed informed consent and met the study enrollment criteria that include having 4-8 actinic keratosis (AK) lesions within an approximate 25 cm2 area on the cheek, forehead, or hairless scalp (the "Treatment Field").

02

Conditions studied

  • Actinic Keratosis

Keywords

  • actinic keratosis
  • efficacy
  • safety
  • VDA-1102
03

In context

Keratosis, Actinic

364 studies on the registry are indexed under Keratosis, Actinic; 31 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 83 is above the median of 60 across 315 interventional studies indexed under Keratosis, Actinic.

Browse Keratosis, Actinic studies →

Lead sponsor

Vidac Pharma is the lead sponsor of 2 studies on the registry; none are open to participants now.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • 4-8 grade 1 or grade 2 AK lesions in Treatment Field on face or scalp

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Subject has no clinically significant findings at Baseline
  • Subject is unable to demonstrate adequate precision applying the study drug to the Treatment Field at Baseline
  • Subject has in the opinion of the Investigator (a) an unstable medical, psychiatric, social problem
  • Subject has at any time been given a diagnosis or treatment associated with immunosuppression
  • Subject has received VDA-1102 in the past
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Non-randomized
Intervention model
Sequential assignment
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
83 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Cohort 1

    10% VDA-1102

    Drug: 10% VDA-1102

  • Experimental
    Cohort 2

    20% VDA-1102

    Drug: 20% VDA-1102

Interventions

  • Drug10% VDA-1102

    200 mg twice-daily for 12 weeks

    Also known as: 10% VDA-1102 topical ointment

  • Drug20% VDA-1102

    200 mg once-daily for 12 weeks

    Also known as: 20% VDA-1102 topical ointment

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Complete Clearance Rate

    Efficacy will be evaluated by the proportion of subjects achieving complete clearance of AK lesions in the treatment field of subjects in each treatment arm

    Time frame: Week 16

  2. Complete Facial Clearance Rate

    Efficacy will be evaluated by the proportion of subjects achieving complete clearance of facial AK lesions in the treatment field of subjects in each treatment arm

    Time frame: Week 16

Secondary outcomes

  1. Partial Clearance

    Efficacy will be evaluated by the proportion of subjects achieving at least 75% clearance of AK lesions in the selected area of subjects of subjects in each treatment arm

    Time frame: 16 weeks

  2. Partial Facial Clearance

    Efficacy will be evaluated by the proportion of subjects achieving at least 75% clearance of facial AK lesions in the selected area of subjects in each treatment arm

    Time frame: 16 weeks

  3. Lesion Number Reduction

    Efficacy will be evaluated by the proportion of AK lesion reduction in the treatment field of subjects in each treatment arm

    Time frame: 16 weeks

  4. Lesion Number Reduction on Face

    Efficacy will be evaluated by the proportion of AK lesion reduction in the facial treatment fields of subjects in each treatment arm

    Time frame: 16 weeks

07

Results

Posted Aug 23, 2022

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneCohort 1Cohort 2
Started4142
Completed4040
Not completed12
Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject12

Outcome measures

PrimaryComplete Clearance Rate

Efficacy will be evaluated by the proportion of subjects achieving complete clearance of AK lesions in the treatment field of subjects in each treatment arm

Time frame:
Week 16
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Complete Clearance Rate
ParticipantsCohort 1Cohort 2
Complete Clearance Rate79
PrimaryComplete Facial Clearance Rate

Efficacy will be evaluated by the proportion of subjects achieving complete clearance of facial AK lesions in the treatment field of subjects in each treatment arm

Time frame:
Week 16
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Complete Facial Clearance Rate
ParticipantsCohort 1Cohort 2
Complete Facial Clearance Rate58
SecondaryPartial Clearance

Efficacy will be evaluated by the proportion of subjects achieving at least 75% clearance of AK lesions in the selected area of subjects of subjects in each treatment arm

Time frame:
16 weeks
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Partial Clearance
ParticipantsCohort 1Cohort 2
Partial Clearance1214
SecondaryPartial Facial Clearance

Efficacy will be evaluated by the proportion of subjects achieving at least 75% clearance of facial AK lesions in the selected area of subjects in each treatment arm

Time frame:
16 weeks
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Partial Facial Clearance
ParticipantsCohort 1Cohort 2
Partial Facial Clearance813
SecondaryLesion Number Reduction

Efficacy will be evaluated by the proportion of AK lesion reduction in the treatment field of subjects in each treatment arm

Time frame:
16 weeks
Reported as:
Mean · percentage of change from baseline
Lesion Number Reduction
percentage of change from baselineCohort 1Cohort 2
Lesion Number Reduction-46.00 ± 36.47-52.66 ± 37.31
SecondaryLesion Number Reduction on Face

Efficacy will be evaluated by the proportion of AK lesion reduction in the facial treatment fields of subjects in each treatment arm

Time frame:
16 weeks
Reported as:
Mean · Percentage of change from baseline
Lesion Number Reduction on Face
Percentage of change from baselineCohort 1Cohort 2
Lesion Number Reduction on Face-48.51 ± 37.35-62.42 ± 34.02
Post-hocComplete Clearance in Patients With Local Skin Reaction- Erythema

Erythema (score=0 or score \>0) week 8 100% clearance week 16 (Face and Scalp)

Time frame:
Week 16
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Complete Clearance in Patients With Local Skin Reaction- Erythema
ParticipantsCohort 1Cohort 2
Erythema score = 0 — Complete clearance24
Erythema score = 0 — No complete clearance2124
Erythema score > 0 — Complete clearance56
Erythema score > 0 — No complete clearance125
Post-hocLesion Reduction in Patients With Local Skin Reaction- Erythema

Erythema (score=0 or score \>0) week 8 75% clearance week 16 (Face and Scalp)

Time frame:
Week 16
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Lesion Reduction in Patients With Local Skin Reaction- Erythema
ParticipantsCohort 1Cohort 2
Erythema score=0 — 75% lesion reduction05
Erythema score=0 — Less than 75% lesion reduction023
Erythema score >0 — 75% lesion reduction06
Erythema score >0 — Less than 75% lesion reduction03

Adverse events

Collected over From screening until week 16. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Cohort 10/41 (0%)0/41 (0%)10/41 (24.4%)
Cohort 20/42 (0%)0/42 (0%)10/42 (23.8%)
Most frequent other events
Most frequent other events
EventCohort 1Cohort 2
Skin reactionSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders10/4110/42

Baseline characteristics

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)Cohort 1Cohort 2Total
Mean66.5 ± 7.566.4 ± 9.266.4 ± 8.3
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Cohort 1Cohort 2Total
Female6915
Male353368
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Cohort 1Cohort 2Total
Hispanic or Latino000
Not Hispanic or Latino414283
Unknown or Not Reported000
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Cohort 1Cohort 2Total
American Indian or Alaska Native000
Asian000
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander000
Black or African American000
White414283
More than one race000
Unknown or Not Reported000
08

Study locations

1 site
  • Therapeutics Clinical Research
    San Diego, California 92123, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Apr 30, 2018

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: No

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Aug 23, 2022, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT03538951
Lead sponsor
Vidac Pharma
Collaborators
Therapeutics, Inc., PharPoint Research, Inc., Medistat Ltd., Israel
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
May 29, 2018
Start date
May 23, 2018
Primary completion
Dec 10, 2018
Completion
Dec 10, 2018
Results posted
Aug 23, 2022
Last update
Aug 23, 2022

Study contacts

Mark G Lebwohl, MD
principal investigator · Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in May 2021. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion