A Phase 2 interventional study of Cabozantinib and Pembrolizumab in Metastatic Urothelial Carcinoma and Bladder Cancer, sponsored by University of Utah. Completed at 3 sites in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2024-11-26.
Sponsored by University of Utah · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment
This is an open label, non-randomized phase 2 study of the combination of pembrolizumab and cabozantinib to assess overall response rate (ORR), progression free survival at 6 months (PFS6), and overall survival (OS) in patients with metastatic urothelial carcinoma (UC) ineligible for cisplatin.
6,745 studies on the registry are indexed under Carcinoma; 1,163 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 37 is below the median of 45 across 5,174 interventional studies indexed under Carcinoma.
Browse Carcinoma studies →University of Utah is the lead sponsor of 969 studies on the registry; 178 are open to participants now.
Of its 107 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 62 (58%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Pre-Screening Eligibility
Treatment Inclusion Criteria:
Patients with locally advanced or metastatic urothelial carcinoma must meet one of the following:
Cisplatin-ineligibility based on ≥1 of the following:
Exclusion Criteria:
Allowed anticoagulants are the following:
Therapeutic doses of LMWH or anticoagulation with direct factor Xa inhibitors rivaroxaban, edoxaban, or apixaban is allowed in subjects without known brain metastases who are on a stable dose of the anticoagulant for at least 1 week before the first dose of study treatment without, clinically significant hemorrhagic complications from the anticoagulation regimen or the tumor.
Cardiovascular disorders:
Stroke (including transient ischemic attack [TIA]), myocardial infarction (MI), or other ischemic event, or symptomatic thromboembolic event (eg, deep venous thrombosis, pulmonary embolism) occurring less than or equal to 6 months before first dose of cabozantinib. [Note: Subjects with a diagnosis of deep vein thrombosis (DVT) or incidentally detected asympotmatic and sub-segmental pulmonary embolism (PE) on routine scans are allowed if on a stable dose of anti-coagulation for at least 1 week before first dose of study treatment].
Gastrointestinal (GI) disorders including those associated with a high risk of perforation or fistula formation:
Note: Complete healing of an intra-abdominal abscess must be confirmed before first dose.
Other clinically significant disorders that would preclude safe study participation per investigator clinical judgement.
Moderate to severe hepatic impairment (Child-Pugh B or C).
Note: If a single ECG shows a QTcF with an absolute value > 500 ms, two additional ECGs at intervals of approximately 3 min must be performed after the initial ECG, and the average of these three consecutive results for QTcF will be used to determine eligibility.
Drug: Cabozantinib · Drug: Pembrolizumab
Cabozantinib is administered at 40 mg oral daily
Also known as: XL184
Pembrolizumab will be administered at a fixed dose of 200mg intravenously every 3 weeks.
Count of Participants With Response Measured by RECIST 1.1
To evaluate measurable disease overall response. Subjects were evaluated by CT scans at regular intervals for disease assessment by RECISTv1.1 criteria for the duration of treatment. Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) is a standard measure of how well cancer patients respond to treatment. Possible scores are CR (Complete Response; total disappearance of all target lesions), PR (Partial Response; at least a 30% decrease of the sum of the longest diameter of all target lesions), PD (Progressive Disease; at least a 20% increase of the sum of the longest diameter of all target lesions), and SD (Stable Disease; neither a sufficient decrease for PR, or sufficient increase for PD). Overall response is the count of PR and CR scores among the participants' best RECISTv1.1 responses.
Time frame: From baseline disease assessment to best response disease assessment, measured up to 28 months.
Count of Participants Who Were Progression-free at the Completion of Study Follow-up (PFS).
To evaluate progression-free survival at completion of study follow-up (PFS). PFS is defined as the count of participants who remained alive and progression-free completion of their follow-up period. Participants were followed up to six months after completion of the study treatment. Subjects were evaluated by CT scans at regular intervals for disease assessment by RECISTv1.1 criteria (as described in the primary outcome) for the duration of treatment.
Time frame: Up to 34 months from the start of the study treatment.
Count of Overall Survival (OS) at Completion of Study Follow-up
To evaluate Overall Survival (OS) at completion of study follow-up. OS is defined as the count of participants who remained alive after their follow-up period. Participants were followed up to six months after completion of the study treatment. Subjects were followed via telephone contact or medical record review for survival 6 months after completing the study treatment.
Time frame: Up to 34 months from the start of the study treatment.
Occurrence of Adverse Events and Serious Adverse Events
To evaluate toxicities associated with the combination treatment. Subjects were monitored for adverse events from the start of treatment through 30 days after the last dose of study treatment, and serious adverse events were collected until 90 days after the cessation of study treatment. The severity of adverse events was assessed using CTCAE v5.0 criteria, a 1-5 scale with higher numbers indicating greater severity. Grade 1 indicates "mild; asymptomatic or mild symptoms; clinical or diagnostic observations only; intervention not indicated" and Grade 5 indicates "death related to AE". The treating investigator evaluated each adverse event to assess its attribution to the study treatment. This outcome measure will report the following: * The count of participants who had a grade 1-2 event, related to study treatment. * The count of the participants who had a grade 3-4 event, related to study treatment. * The count of the participants who had a grade 5 event or higher,
Time frame: Up to 31 months from the start of study treatment.
| Milestone | Cabozantinib and Pembrolizumab, All Patients |
|---|---|
| Started | 36 |
| Completed | 35 |
| Not completed | 1 |
| Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject | 1 |
To evaluate measurable disease overall response. Subjects were evaluated by CT scans at regular intervals for disease assessment by RECISTv1.1 criteria for the duration of treatment. Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) is a standard measure of how well cancer patients respond to treatment. Possible scores are CR (Complete Response; total disappearance of all target lesions), PR (Partial Response; at least a 30% decrease of the sum of the longest diameter of all target lesions), PD (Progressive Disease; at least a 20% increase of the sum of the longest diameter of all target lesions), and SD (Stable Disease; neither a sufficient decrease for PR, or sufficient increase for PD). Overall response is the count of PR and CR scores among the participants' best RECISTv1.1 responses.
| Participants | Cabozantinib and Pembrolizumab, All Patients |
|---|---|
| Count of Participants With Response Measured by RECIST 1.1 | 16 |
To evaluate progression-free survival at completion of study follow-up (PFS). PFS is defined as the count of participants who remained alive and progression-free completion of their follow-up period. Participants were followed up to six months after completion of the study treatment. Subjects were evaluated by CT scans at regular intervals for disease assessment by RECISTv1.1 criteria (as described in the primary outcome) for the duration of treatment.
| Participants | Cabozantinib and Pembrolizumab, All Patients |
|---|---|
| Count of Participants Who Were Progression-free at the Completion of Study Follow-up (PFS). | 18 |
To evaluate Overall Survival (OS) at completion of study follow-up. OS is defined as the count of participants who remained alive after their follow-up period. Participants were followed up to six months after completion of the study treatment. Subjects were followed via telephone contact or medical record review for survival 6 months after completing the study treatment.
| Participants | Cabozantinib and Pembrolizumab, All Patients |
|---|---|
| Count of Overall Survival (OS) at Completion of Study Follow-up | 23 |
To evaluate toxicities associated with the combination treatment. Subjects were monitored for adverse events from the start of treatment through 30 days after the last dose of study treatment, and serious adverse events were collected until 90 days after the cessation of study treatment. The severity of adverse events was assessed using CTCAE v5.0 criteria, a 1-5 scale with higher numbers indicating greater severity. Grade 1 indicates "mild; asymptomatic or mild symptoms; clinical or diagnostic observations only; intervention not indicated" and Grade 5 indicates "death related to AE". The treating investigator evaluated each adverse event to assess its attribution to the study treatment. This outcome measure will report the following: * The count of participants who had a grade 1-2 event, related to study treatment. * The count of the participants who had a grade 3-4 event, related to study treatment. * The count of the participants who had a grade 5 event or higher,
| Participants | Cabozantinib and Pembrolizumab, All Patients |
|---|---|
| Count of participants with a related grade 1-2 event. | 23 |
| Count of participants with a related grade 3-4 event. | 6 |
| Count of participants with a related grade 5 event or higher. | 0 |
Collected over Collection of Non-Serious Adverse Events (NSAE) began after informed consent and ended 30 days post the last dose of study treatment. Collection of Serious Adverse Events (SAE) began after informed consent and ended 90 days after the last dose of study treatment or until new cancer treatment was initiated. Patients were followed for survival 6 months after study treatment. NSAEs were assessed up to 29 months, SAEs up to 31 months, and death up to 34 months from the start of treatment.. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cabozantinib and Pembrolizumab, All Patients | 12/37 (32.4%) | 22/37 (59.5%) | 37/37 (100%) |
| Event | Cabozantinib and Pembrolizumab, All Patients |
|---|---|
| Thromboembolic eventVascular disorders | 6/37 |
| HematuriaRenal and urinary disorders | 3/37 |
| Urinary tract infectionInfections and infestations | 3/37 |
| Acute kidney injuryRenal and urinary disorders | 2/37 |
| Disease progressionGeneral disorders | 2/37 |
| PneumonitisRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 2/37 |
| Alanine aminotransferase increasedInvestigations | 1/37 |
| AnorexiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders | 1/37 |
| Aspartate aminotransferase increasedInvestigations | 1/37 |
| Atrial flutterCardiac disorders | 1/37 |
| Event | Cabozantinib and Pembrolizumab, All Patients |
|---|---|
| DiarrheaGastrointestinal disorders | 24/37 |
| FatigueGeneral disorders | 23/37 |
| NauseaGastrointestinal disorders | 19/37 |
| ConstipationGastrointestinal disorders | 15/37 |
| Palmar-plantar erythrodysesthesia syndromeSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders | 14/37 |
| AnorexiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders | 13/37 |
| PruritusSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders | 13/37 |
| Investigations - Other, specifyInvestigations | 11/37 |
| VomitingGastrointestinal disorders | 11/37 |
| HoarsenessRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 10/37 |
| Age, Categorical(Participants) | Cabozantinib and Pembrolizumab, All Patients |
|---|---|
| <=18 years | 0 |
| Between 18 and 65 years | 6 |
| >=65 years | 30 |
| Age, Continuous(years) | Cabozantinib and Pembrolizumab, All Patients |
|---|---|
| Mean | 70.06 ± 7.78 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Cabozantinib and Pembrolizumab, All Patients |
|---|---|
| Female | 8 |
| Male | 28 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Cabozantinib and Pembrolizumab, All Patients |
|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 1 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 32 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 3 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Cabozantinib and Pembrolizumab, All Patients |
|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 |
| Asian | 0 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 |
| Black or African American | 0 |
| White | 34 |
| More than one race | 0 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 2 |
| Region of Enrollment(participants) | Cabozantinib and Pembrolizumab, All Patients |
|---|---|
| United States | 36 |
| ECOG at Baseline(Participants) | Cabozantinib and Pembrolizumab, All Patients |
|---|---|
| Fully Active | 11 |
| Restricted | 21 |
| Ambulatory | 4 |
| Capable of limited selfcare | 0 |
| Completely disabled | 0 |
| Dead | 0 |
| Not Done | 0 |
| Overall Stage at Enrollment(Participants) | Cabozantinib and Pembrolizumab, All Patients |
|---|---|
| I: cancer has not spread to the muscle (Tis+N0+M0). | 1 |
| III: cancer has spread through the bladder to nearby tissues (T3+N0+M0) | 1 |
| IIIA: cancer has spread to the fat surrounding the bladder (T3a/T3b/T4a+N0+M0) or (T1-4a, N1+M0). | 1 |
| IV: cancer spread to far lymph nodes or organs (T4+NX/N0+M0), (Any T+N1/N2+M0), or (Any T+Any N+M1). | 27 |
| IVA: cancer spread to the pelvic or abdominal wall (T4b + Any N + M0) or (Any T + Any N + M1a). | 1 |
| IVB: cancer spread to distant organs (Any T + Any N + M1b) | 2 |
| Unknown/Unable to Determine | 3 |
12 further baseline measures are reported on the registry.
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
Plan to share: No
This study is completed, as verified in Nov 2024. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
University of Utah