A Phase 3 interventional study of Teprotumumab in Thyroid Eye Disease, sponsored by Amgen. Completed at 13 sites in 3 countries. Open to participants aged 18 Years to 80 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2024-06-28.
Sponsored by Amgen · Phase 3, Interventional, and Treatment
The overall objective is to evaluate the safety and efficacy of teprotumumab in the treatment of thyroid eye disease (TED) in participants who participated in the lead-in study HZNP-TEP-301 (NCT03298867; OPTIC) and who were either proptosis non-responders at Week 24 of HZNP-TEP-301 or were proptosis responders at Week 24 but met the criteria for re-treatment due to relapse during the Follow-Up Period of HZNP-TEP-301.
This is a multi-center, open-label extension study of HZNP-TEP-301 (NCT03298867) examining the safety and efficacy of teprotumumab in the treatment of TED in adult participants. Participants who complete the 24-week double-masked Treatment Period in Study HZNP-TEP-301 and are proptosis non-responders or are proptosis responders at Week 24 but meet the criteria for re-treatment due to relapse during the Follow-Up Period of HZNP-TEP-301 will be eligible for enrollment.
All participants who choose to participate will receive 8 infusions of teprotumumab (10 mg/kg for the first infusion followed by 20 mg/kg for the remaining 7 infusions) in an open-label fashion. The Baseline (Day 1) Visit of this extension study will occur within 14 days after the final visit of Study HZNP-TEP-301 (Week 24 for proptosis non-responders and up to Week 72 for participants who relapse). During the open-label Treatment Period, study drug infusions are scheduled for Day 1 (Baseline), and Weeks 3, 6, 9, 12, 15, 18, and 21, (with the final visit at Week 24). After completion of the Treatment Period, subjects who were proptosis non-responders in Study HZNP-TEP-301 will enter a 24-week Follow-Up Period during which study drug will not be administered and clinic visits are scheduled for 1, 3, and 6 months (Visits Month 7, 9, and 12) after the Week 24 visit. Subjects will be contacted 6 and 12 months later by phone or email to enquire if any treatment for TED had been received since the last study contact.
Participants who relapse during the Follow-Up Period of HZNP-TEP-301 and choose to enter this extension study will not participate in the Follow-Up Period of this study but will be contacted by phone or email 6 and 12 months after the Week 24 visit.
Study acquired from Horizon in 2024.
198 studies on the registry are indexed under Graves Ophthalmopathy; 60 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 51 is below the median of 64 across 147 interventional studies indexed under Graves Ophthalmopathy.
Browse Graves Ophthalmopathy studies →Amgen is the lead sponsor of 1,044 studies on the registry; 51 are open to participants now.
Of its 246 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 164 (67%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Go through the criteria one by one — yes, no or not sure — and take the list to your doctor or the study team. Kept in this browser only.
Exclusion Criteria:
Eight infusions of teprotumumab every 3 weeks (q3W) for a total of 21 weeks: teprotumumab 10 mg/kg administered on Day 1 and teprotumumab 20 mg/kg administered q3W for the remaining 7 infusions.
Biological: Teprotumumab
Teprotumumab is a fully human anti-IGF-1R mAb. Teprotumumab will be provided in single-dose 20 mL glass vials as a freeze-dried powder. Each vial of teprotumumab must be reconstituted with 10 mL of water for injection. Reconstituted teprotumumab solution must be further diluted in 0.9% (w/v) sodium chloride (NaCl) solution prior to administration. Teprotumumab will be administered in 100 mL or 250 mL infusion bags (100 mL infusion bags for doses up to 1800 mg and 250 mL infusion bags for doses \> 1800 mg).
Also known as: HZN-001
Percentage of Participants With a ≥ 2 mm Reduction From Baseline in the Study Eye Without Deterioration of Proptosis in the Fellow Eye at Week 24
Proptosis responders were defined as participants with a ≥ 2 mm reduction from study baseline in proptosis in the study eye, without deterioration (≥ 2 mm increase) of proptosis in the fellow eye at Week 24. Participants missing Week 24 values were considered non-responders, aside from those with missing data related to the COVID-19 pandemic.
Time frame: Baseline, Week 24
Percentage of Participants With a European Group on Graves' Ophthalmopathy (EUGOGO) Amended Clinical Activity Score (CAS) Total Score of 0 or 1 in the Study Eye at Week 24
CAS responders were defined as participants with a reduction to a CAS of 0 or 1 (no or minimal inflammatory symptoms) as a categorical response variable at Week 24. The 7-item CAS assigns 1 point for each of the following items present in the study eye: spontaneous orbital pain; gaze evoked orbital pain; eyelid swelling that is considered to be due to active (inflammatory phase) thyroid eye disease/Graves' ophthalmopathy (TED/GO); eyelid erythema; conjunctival redness that is considered to be due to active (inflammatory phase) TED/GO (ignore "equivocal" redness); chemosis; inflammation of caruncle or plica. The sum of these points is the total score (0 to 7), with higher scores indicating worse symptoms.
Time frame: Week 24
Change in Proptosis From Baseline to Week 24
Mean change from study baseline to Week 24 in proptosis measurement (mm) in the study eye at Week 24.
Time frame: Study Baseline, Week 24
Percentage of Participants Who Were Diplopia Responders at Week 24
Diplopia responders were defined as participants with 1 grade or greater reduction in diplopia score in the study eye without worsening by at least 1 grade in the fellow eye at Week 24. The subjective diplopia score (0=no diplopia; 1=intermittent, i.e. diplopia in primary position of gaze, when tired or when first awakening; 2=inconstant, i.e. diplopia at extremes of gaze; 3=constant, i.e. continuous diplopia in primary or reading position) was recorded for each eye. A participant was considered to have diplopia if a score \> 0 is observed in the study eye at study baseline.
Time frame: Week 24
Mean Change From Baseline to Week 24 in the Graves' Ophthalmopathy Quality of Life (GO-QoL) Questionnaire Overall Score
The GO-QoL is a 16-item self-administered questionnaire divided into 2 subsets and used to assess the perceived effects of TED by the participants on (i) their daily physical activity as it relates to visual function, and (ii) psychosocial functioning. The sum of the scores from each set of 8 questions was calculated and transformed to a scale from 0 (worst) to 100 (best) - one for visual function (VF), one for appearance (A) and one for the overall combined (VF + A) score. Scores were transformed as follows: Transformed score = \[(sum of each score - number of completed items) / (2 \* number of completed items)\] \* 100. The "overall combined (VF + A) score" is also 0 to 100, with higher scores indicating a better outcome.
Time frame: Study Baseline, Week 24
Participants were eligible for enrollment in this study (OPTIC-X) if they completed the 24-week double-masked Treatment Period in Study HZNP-TEP-301 (NCT03298867; OPTIC) and were proptosis non-responders or were proptosis responders at Week 24 but met the criteria for re-treatment due to relapse during the Follow-Up Period of HZNP-TEP-301.
| Milestone | Teprotumumab (OPTIC Placebo) | Teprotumumab (OPTIC Teprotumumab) |
|---|---|---|
| Started | 37 | 14 |
| Proptosis non-responders in optic | 36 | 5 |
| Relapsed during follow-up period of optic | 1 | 9 |
| Completed | 36 | 12 |
| Not completed | 1 | 2 |
| Withdrew: Adverse event | 1 | 1 |
| Withdrew: Lack of efficacy | 0 | 1 |
Proptosis responders were defined as participants with a ≥ 2 mm reduction from study baseline in proptosis in the study eye, without deterioration (≥ 2 mm increase) of proptosis in the fellow eye at Week 24. Participants missing Week 24 values were considered non-responders, aside from those with missing data related to the COVID-19 pandemic.
| percentage of participants | Teprotumumab (OPTIC Placebo) | Teprotumumab (OPTIC Teprotumumab) |
|---|---|---|
| Percentage of Participants With a ≥ 2 mm Reduction From Baseline in the Study Eye Without Deterioration of Proptosis in the Fellow Eye at Week 24 | 89.2 | 53.8 |
CAS responders were defined as participants with a reduction to a CAS of 0 or 1 (no or minimal inflammatory symptoms) as a categorical response variable at Week 24. The 7-item CAS assigns 1 point for each of the following items present in the study eye: spontaneous orbital pain; gaze evoked orbital pain; eyelid swelling that is considered to be due to active (inflammatory phase) thyroid eye disease/Graves' ophthalmopathy (TED/GO); eyelid erythema; conjunctival redness that is considered to be due to active (inflammatory phase) TED/GO (ignore "equivocal" redness); chemosis; inflammation of caruncle or plica. The sum of these points is the total score (0 to 7), with higher scores indicating worse symptoms.
| percentage of participants | Teprotumumab (OPTIC Placebo) | Teprotumumab (OPTIC Teprotumumab) |
|---|---|---|
| Percentage of Participants With a European Group on Graves' Ophthalmopathy (EUGOGO) Amended Clinical Activity Score (CAS) Total Score of 0 or 1 in the Study Eye at Week 24 | 65.6 | 36.4 |
Mean change from study baseline to Week 24 in proptosis measurement (mm) in the study eye at Week 24.
| mm | Teprotumumab (OPTIC Placebo) | Teprotumumab (OPTIC Teprotumumab) |
|---|---|---|
| Change in Proptosis From Baseline to Week 24 | -3.47 ± 1.732 | -1.77 ± 1.126 |
Diplopia responders were defined as participants with 1 grade or greater reduction in diplopia score in the study eye without worsening by at least 1 grade in the fellow eye at Week 24. The subjective diplopia score (0=no diplopia; 1=intermittent, i.e. diplopia in primary position of gaze, when tired or when first awakening; 2=inconstant, i.e. diplopia at extremes of gaze; 3=constant, i.e. continuous diplopia in primary or reading position) was recorded for each eye. A participant was considered to have diplopia if a score \> 0 is observed in the study eye at study baseline.
| percentage of participants | Teprotumumab (OPTIC Placebo) | Teprotumumab (OPTIC Teprotumumab) |
|---|---|---|
| Percentage of Participants Who Were Diplopia Responders at Week 24 | 60.9 | 75.0 |
The GO-QoL is a 16-item self-administered questionnaire divided into 2 subsets and used to assess the perceived effects of TED by the participants on (i) their daily physical activity as it relates to visual function, and (ii) psychosocial functioning. The sum of the scores from each set of 8 questions was calculated and transformed to a scale from 0 (worst) to 100 (best) - one for visual function (VF), one for appearance (A) and one for the overall combined (VF + A) score. Scores were transformed as follows: Transformed score = \[(sum of each score - number of completed items) / (2 \* number of completed items)\] \* 100. The "overall combined (VF + A) score" is also 0 to 100, with higher scores indicating a better outcome.
| score on a scale | Teprotumumab (OPTIC Placebo) | Teprotumumab (OPTIC Teprotumumab) |
|---|---|---|
| Mean Change From Baseline to Week 24 in the Graves' Ophthalmopathy Quality of Life (GO-QoL) Questionnaire Overall Score | 13.39 ± 17.890 | 14.73 ± 11.777 |
Collected over All-Cause Mortality and Serious Adverse Events (AEs): from informed consent through 30 days after study discontinuation. Mean days on study was 332.9 and 218.8 for Teprotumumab (OPTIC Placebo) and Teprotumumab (OPTIC Teprotumumab) arms, respectively.. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Treatment Period: Teprotumumab (OPTIC Placebo) | 0/37 (0%) | 0/37 (0%) | 32/37 (86.5%) |
| Treatment Period: Teprotumumab (OPTIC Teprotumumab) | 0/14 (0%) | 1/14 (7.1%) | 11/14 (78.6%) |
| Follow-Up Period: No Treatment (OPTIC Placebo) | 0/36 (0%) | 0/36 (0%) | 16/36 (44.4%) |
| Follow-Up Period: No Treatment (OPTIC Teprotumumab) | 0/4 (0%) | 0/4 (0%) | 2/4 (50%) |
| Event | Treatment Period: Teprotumumab (OPTIC Placebo) | Treatment Period: Teprotumumab (OPTIC Teprotumumab) | Follow-Up Period: No Treatment (OPTIC Placebo) | Follow-Up Period: No Treatment (OPTIC Teprotumumab) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cerebral HaemorrhageNervous system disorders | 0/37 | 1/14 | 0/36 | 0/4 |
| Event | Treatment Period: Teprotumumab (OPTIC Placebo) | Treatment Period: Teprotumumab (OPTIC Teprotumumab) | Follow-Up Period: No Treatment (OPTIC Placebo) | Follow-Up Period: No Treatment (OPTIC Teprotumumab) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Muscle SpasmsMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders | 18/37 | 4/14 | 3/36 | 0/4 |
| Pupillary Reflex ImpairedEye disorders | 0/37 | 0/14 | 0/36 | 1/4 |
| Post Procedural ContusionInjury, poisoning and procedural complications | 0/37 | 0/14 | 0/36 | 1/4 |
| HyperglycaemiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders | 0/37 | 0/14 | 0/36 | 1/4 |
| White Matter LesionNervous system disorders | 0/37 | 0/14 | 0/36 | 1/4 |
| ArthralgiaMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders | 0/37 | 2/14 | 0/36 | 0/4 |
| Back PainMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders | 0/37 | 2/14 | 0/36 | 0/4 |
| Nasal DrynessRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 0/37 | 2/14 | 0/36 | 0/4 |
| AlopeciaSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders | 4/37 | 2/14 | 0/36 | 0/4 |
| Dry SkinSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders | 4/37 | 2/14 | 0/36 | 0/4 |
| Age, Continuous(years) | Teprotumumab (OPTIC Placebo) | Teprotumumab (OPTIC Teprotumumab) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 48.5 ± 13.49 | 56.1 ± 11.52 | 50.6 ± 13.32 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Teprotumumab (OPTIC Placebo) | Teprotumumab (OPTIC Teprotumumab) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 27 | 11 | 38 |
| Male | 10 | 3 | 13 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Teprotumumab (OPTIC Placebo) | Teprotumumab (OPTIC Teprotumumab) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 36 | 14 | 50 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Race/Ethnicity, Customized(Participants) | Teprotumumab (OPTIC Placebo) | Teprotumumab (OPTIC Teprotumumab) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Asian | 1 | 2 | 3 |
| Black or African American | 1 | 1 | 2 |
| White | 33 | 11 | 44 |
| Other, Not Specified | 2 | 0 | 2 |
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
Plan to share: Yes — De-identified individual patient data for variables necessary to address the specific research question in an approved data sharing request.
Supporting information: Study protocol, Statistical analysis plan, Informed consent form, Clinical study report
Time frame: Data sharing requests relating to this study will be considered beginning 18 months after the study has ended and either 1) the product and indication have been granted marketing authorization in both the US and Europe or 2) clinical development for the product and/or indication discontinues and the data will not be submitted to regulatory authorities. There is no end date for eligibility to submit a data sharing request for this study.
Access criteria: Qualified researchers may submit a request containing the research objectives, the Amgen product(s) and Amgen study/studies in scope, endpoints/outcomes of interest, statistical analysis plan, data requirements, publication plan, and qualifications of the researcher(s). In general, Amgen does not grant external requests for individual patient data for the purpose of re-evaluating safety and efficacy issues already addressed in the product labelling. Requests are reviewed by a committee of internal advisors. If not approved, a Data Sharing Independent Review Panel will arbitrate and make the final decision. Upon approval, information necessary to address the research question will be provided under the terms of a data sharing agreement. This may include anonymized individual patient data and/or available supporting documents, containing fragments of analysis code where provided in analysis specifications. Further details are available at the URL below.
Data sharing details ↗ · www.amgen.com
Ran from Apr 2018 to primary completion in Jun 2020, 25 months.
Results were first posted in Jul 2021, 1 year 1 month after primary completion.
Of 29 phase 3 interventional studies under Graves Ophthalmopathy, half reached primary completion within 18 months of starting (the median), counting those still running; a quarter within 14 and three quarters within 25. This study's 25 months is above that.
How these figures are worked out, and which studies are left out of them.
This study is completed, as verified in Jun 2024. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Studies of the drug tested here: Teprotumumab