CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT03448939Updated Dec 14, 2021Results posted

A Study of S5G4T-1 in the Treatment of Papulopustular Rosacea

A Phase 3 interventional study of S5G4T-1 and S5G4T-2 in Papulopustular Rosacea, sponsored by Sol-Gel Technologies, Ltd.. Completed at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2021-12-14.

Sponsored by Sol-Gel Technologies, Ltd. · Phase 3, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
361
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

To assess the efficacy and safety of S5G4T-1 compared to its vehicle when applied once daily for 12 weeks in participants with papulopustular rosacea.

Read the detailed description

In this Phase 3, double-blind, vehicle-controlled, parallel-group pivotal study, participants will be admitted only after a written informed consent has been obtained and after all inclusion/exclusion criteria have been met. Male and female participants at least 18 years of age with moderate or severe papulopustular rosacea will be eligible for enrollment for daily treatment with S5G4T-1 or its vehicle for 12 weeks.

02

Conditions studied

  • Papulopustular Rosacea

Browse trials for

Keywords

  • papulopustular rosacea
03

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  1. Participants must sign an Institutional Review Board (IRB) approved written informed consent for this study.
  2. Male and female 18 years of age and older.
  3. Participants must have clinical diagnosis of moderate to severe rosacea.
  4. Have a minimum total of 15 and a maximum of 70 total inflammatory lesions (papules and/or pustules) including those present on the nose.
  5. Have 2 nodules or less.

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  1. Females, who are pregnant, breastfeeding, or planning a pregnancy within the period of their study participation or were found to have positive pregnancy test at Baseline or screening visits.
  2. Presence of more than 2 facial nodules or any nodule greater than 1 centimeter (cm).
  3. Current or past ocular rosacea (for example, conjunctivitis, blepharitis, or keratitis) of sufficient severity to require topical or systemic antibiotics.
04

Study design

Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Parallel assignment
Masking
Double (Participant, Investigator)
Enrollment
361 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    S5G4T-1

    Participants will topically apply S5G4T-1 cream, once daily to face for 12 weeks.

    Drug: S5G4T-1

  • Placebo comparator
    S5G4T-2 Vehicle Cream

    Participants will topically apply S5G4T-2 vehicle cream, once daily to face for 12 weeks.

    Drug: S5G4T-2

Interventions

  • DrugS5G4T-1

    Once a day topical cream

    Also known as: Encapsulated benzoyl peroxide (E-BPO) cream

  • DrugS5G4T-2

    Once a day topical cream

    Also known as: Vehicle cream

05

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Percentage of Participants Achieving an IGA Score of Clear or Almost Clear From Baseline at Week 12

    Percentage of participants in each treatment group achieving an acne severity IGA score of "clear (score=0)" or "almost clear (score=1)".

    Time frame: Baseline through Week 12

  2. Change From Baseline in Inflammatory Lesion Counts at Week 12

    Inflammatory lesions were characterized as papules and pustules. A papule was defined as a solid, elevated inflammatory lesion equal to or less than 5 mm in diameter. A pustule was defined as an elevated inflammatory lesion equal to or less than 5 mm in diameter and contains pus (yellow-white exudate). Least squares means and standard deviations from an analysis of covariance (ANCOVA) with factors of treatment, analysis center and treatment by analysis center interaction and the Baseline lesion count as a covariate. Negative least squares means values represent decrease from Baseline.

    Time frame: Baseline, Week 12

Secondary outcomes

  1. Percent Change From Baseline in Inflammatory Lesion Counts at Week 12

    Inflammatory lesions were characterized as papules and pustules. A papule was defined as a solid, elevated inflammatory lesion equal to or less than 5 mm in diameter. A pustule was defined as an elevated inflammatory lesion equal to or less than 5 mm in diameter and contains pus (yellow-white exudate). Least squares means and standard deviations from an analysis of covariance (ANCOVA) with factors of treatment, analysis center and treatment by analysis center interaction and the Baseline lesion count as a covariate. Negative least squares means values represent decrease from Baseline.

    Time frame: Baseline, Week 12

06

Results

Posted Dec 14, 2021

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneS5G4T-1S5G4T-2 Vehicle Cream
Started243118
Received at least 1 dose of study drug239113
Completed222107
Not completed2111
Withdrew: Adverse event51
Withdrew: Lost to follow-up66
Withdrew: Pregnancy11
Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject93

Outcome measures

PrimaryPercentage of Participants Achieving an IGA Score of Clear or Almost Clear From Baseline at Week 12

Percentage of participants in each treatment group achieving an acne severity IGA score of "clear (score=0)" or "almost clear (score=1)".

Time frame:
Baseline through Week 12
Reported as:
Number · Percentage of Participants
Percentage of Participants Achieving an IGA Score of Clear or Almost Clear From Baseline at Week 12
Percentage of ParticipantsS5G4T-1S5G4T-2 Vehicle Cream
Percentage of Participants Achieving an IGA Score of Clear or Almost Clear From Baseline at Week 1243.516.1
PrimaryChange From Baseline in Inflammatory Lesion Counts at Week 12

Inflammatory lesions were characterized as papules and pustules. A papule was defined as a solid, elevated inflammatory lesion equal to or less than 5 mm in diameter. A pustule was defined as an elevated inflammatory lesion equal to or less than 5 mm in diameter and contains pus (yellow-white exudate). Least squares means and standard deviations from an analysis of covariance (ANCOVA) with factors of treatment, analysis center and treatment by analysis center interaction and the Baseline lesion count as a covariate. Negative least squares means values represent decrease from Baseline.

Time frame:
Baseline, Week 12
Reported as:
Least squares mean · Inflammatory Lesions
Change From Baseline in Inflammatory Lesion Counts at Week 12
Inflammatory LesionsS5G4T-1S5G4T-2 Vehicle Cream
Change From Baseline in Inflammatory Lesion Counts at Week 12-17.4 ± 9.30-9.5 ± 9.45
SecondaryPercent Change From Baseline in Inflammatory Lesion Counts at Week 12

Inflammatory lesions were characterized as papules and pustules. A papule was defined as a solid, elevated inflammatory lesion equal to or less than 5 mm in diameter. A pustule was defined as an elevated inflammatory lesion equal to or less than 5 mm in diameter and contains pus (yellow-white exudate). Least squares means and standard deviations from an analysis of covariance (ANCOVA) with factors of treatment, analysis center and treatment by analysis center interaction and the Baseline lesion count as a covariate. Negative least squares means values represent decrease from Baseline.

Time frame:
Baseline, Week 12
Reported as:
Least squares mean · Percent Change
Percent Change From Baseline in Inflammatory Lesion Counts at Week 12
Percent ChangeS5G4T-1S5G4T-2 Vehicle Cream
Percent Change From Baseline in Inflammatory Lesion Counts at Week 12-68.2 ± 36.94-38.3 ± 37.02

Adverse events

Collected over Baseline (Day 0) through end of study (Week 12). Non-serious events are listed at a 1% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
S5G4T-10/239 (0%)0/239 (0%)13/239 (5.4%)
S5G4T-2 Vehicle Cream0/113 (0%)1/113 (0.9%)5/113 (4.4%)
Most frequent serious events
Most frequent serious events
EventS5G4T-1S5G4T-2 Vehicle Cream
Femur fractureInjury, poisoning and procedural complications0/2391/113
Most frequent other events
Most frequent other events
EventS5G4T-1S5G4T-2 Vehicle Cream
Application site erythemaGeneral disorders8/2392/113
NasopharyngitisInfections and infestations6/2391/113
Application site painGeneral disorders5/2392/113
Upper respiratory tract infectionInfections and infestations3/2392/113
Application site papulesGeneral disorders0/2392/113
Application site pruritusGeneral disorders3/2391/113
Muscle strainInjury, poisoning and procedural complications3/2390/113

Baseline characteristics

The intent-to-treat (ITT) population consisted of all randomized participants who were dispensed study drug.

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(Years)S5G4T-1S5G4T-2 Vehicle CreamTotal
Mean52.8 ± 13.2152.4 ± 13.2652.7 ± 13.21
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)S5G4T-1S5G4T-2 Vehicle CreamTotal
Female18383266
Male603595
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)S5G4T-1S5G4T-2 Vehicle CreamTotal
Hispanic or Latino8639125
Not Hispanic or Latino15677233
Unknown or Not Reported123
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)S5G4T-1S5G4T-2 Vehicle CreamTotal
American Indian or Alaska Native000
Asian9211
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander000
Black or African American000
White233116349
More than one race101
Unknown or Not Reported000
Baseline Inflammatory Lesion Count
Baseline Inflammatory Lesion Count(lesions)S5G4T-1S5G4T-2 Vehicle CreamTotal
Mean25.7 ± 11.0726.3 ± 12.4525.9 ± 11.52
Baseline Investigator's Global Assessment (IGA)
Baseline Investigator's Global Assessment (IGA)(Participants)S5G4T-1S5G4T-2 Vehicle CreamTotal
0 - Clear000
1 - Almost Clear000
2 - Mild000
3 - Moderate210104314
4 - Severe331447
07

Study locations

1 site
  • Sol-Gel
    Tampa, Florida 33607, United States
08

References and documents

Study documents

  • Study protocol · Oct 24, 2018
  • Statistical analysis plan · Apr 24, 2019

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

09

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT03448939
Lead sponsor
Sol-Gel Technologies, Ltd.
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Feb 28, 2018
Start date
Jun 18, 2018
Primary completion
May 24, 2019
Completion
May 24, 2019
Results posted
Dec 14, 2021
Last update
Dec 14, 2021

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Dec 2021. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion