A Phase 3 interventional study of Ipilimumab and Tilsotolimod with Ipilimumab in Metastatic Melanoma, sponsored by Idera Pharmaceuticals, Inc.. Terminated at 80 sites in 11 countries. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2022-11-08.
Sponsored by Idera Pharmaceuticals, Inc. · Phase 3, Interventional, and Treatment
A Phase 3 comparison of ipilimumab with and without IMO-2125 in advanced melanoma
A Phase 3 global, multi-center, open-label comparison of ipilimumab with and without intratumoral IMO-2125 in subjects with advanced melanoma who had confirmed disease progression while on anti-PD-1
Patients must have confirmed progression during or after treatment with a PD-1 inhibitor (cannot be part of a bi-specific antibody) e.g. nivolumab or pembrolizumab. Confirmed progression is defined as:
In addition, all the following must hold:
Patients must meet the following laboratory criteria:
Exclusion Criteria:
ipilimumab 3 mg/kg intravenous
Drug: Ipilimumab
IMO-2125 by intratumoral injection plus ipilimumab 3 mg/kg intravenous
Drug: Tilsotolimod with Ipilimumab
Arm A: 4 doses administered intravenously at a dose of 3 mg/kg over 90 minutes on Weeks 1, 4, 7, and 10.
Also known as: Yervoy®
IMO-2125 intratumoral injection administered as 9 doses on Weeks 1, 2, 3, 5, 8, 11, 16, 20, and 24. WITH (Arm B): Ipilimumab administered as 4 doses on Weeks 2, 5, 8, and 11. in combination with tilsotolimod
Also known as: IMO-2125 with Yervoy
Summary of Independent Reviewer-Assessed Objective Response Rate (ORR) by RECIST v1.1
The ORR for evaluable participants was calculated using the participant's best overall response (BOR). Per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST v1.1) for target lesions as assessed by MRI, CT or X-ray: Complete Response (CR) - disappearance of all target lesions; Partial Response (PR) - \>=30% decrease from baseline of the sum of diameters of all target lesions; Stable Disease (SD) - does not qualify for CR, PR or Progression; Progressive Disease (PD) - 20% increase in the sum of diameters of target lesions. The calculation is derived from measuring the diameter (mm) of the target lesion at baseline and comparing target lesion diameter (mm) at intervals during treatment and/or post-treatment. Based on the percent of tumor decrease or increase, the appropriate category is assigned.
Time frame: Response is measured from the date of randomization, until disease progression, death, or start of new anti-cancer therapy (up to 36 months).
Summary of Overall Survival
Efficacy measured by overall survival (OS) was defined as the number of participants alive compared to the number of participants that died by treatment group.
Time frame: OS is measured from the date of randomization to the date of death from any cause (up to 36 months).
The global Phase 3 study was conducted at academic cancer centers across 11 countries. Participating countries included United States, Australia, Canada, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Spain, Sweden, and United Kingdom.
| Milestone | Arm A: Ipilimumab | Arm B: IMO-2125 (Tilsotolimod) Plus Ipilimumab |
|---|---|---|
| Started | 243 | 238 |
| Completed | 115 | 45 |
| Not completed | 128 | 193 |
| Withdrew: Progressive disease | 48 | 81 |
| Withdrew: Adverse event | 60 | 64 |
| Withdrew: Death | 9 | 19 |
| Withdrew: Miscellaneous | 0 | 16 |
| Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject | 3 | 4 |
| Withdrew: Physician decision | 1 | 3 |
| Withdrew: Sponsor decision | 0 | 1 |
| Withdrew: Lost to follow-up | 0 | 1 |
| Withdrew: Never received any study treatment | 7 | 4 |
The ORR for evaluable participants was calculated using the participant's best overall response (BOR). Per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST v1.1) for target lesions as assessed by MRI, CT or X-ray: Complete Response (CR) - disappearance of all target lesions; Partial Response (PR) - \>=30% decrease from baseline of the sum of diameters of all target lesions; Stable Disease (SD) - does not qualify for CR, PR or Progression; Progressive Disease (PD) - 20% increase in the sum of diameters of target lesions. The calculation is derived from measuring the diameter (mm) of the target lesion at baseline and comparing target lesion diameter (mm) at intervals during treatment and/or post-treatment. Based on the percent of tumor decrease or increase, the appropriate category is assigned.
| Participants | Arm A: Ipilimumab | Arm B: IMO-2125 Plus Ipilimumab |
|---|---|---|
| Complete Response | 1 | 1 |
| Partial Response | 20 | 20 |
| Stable Disease | 45 | 61 |
| Progressive Disease | 110 | 89 |
| Not Evaluable | 67 | 67 |
Efficacy measured by overall survival (OS) was defined as the number of participants alive compared to the number of participants that died by treatment group.
| Participants | Arm A: Ipilimumab | Arm B: IMO-2125 Plus Ipilimumab |
|---|---|---|
| Died | 166 | 165 |
| Alive (Censored) | 77 | 73 |
Collected over Adverse events were collected from the signing of informed consent, through the duration of active study treatment (10 weeks active study for participants assigned to Arm A OR 24 weeks active study for participants assigned to Arm B) and then for 90 days after the last dose of study treatment. All-Cause Mortality was assessed for up to 36 months.. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Arm A: Ipilimumab | 166/243 (68.3%) | 108/243 (44.4%) | 218/243 (89.7%) |
| Arm B: IMO-2125 (Tilsotolimod) Plus Ipilimumab | 165/238 (69.3%) | 119/238 (50%) | 226/238 (95%) |
| Event | Arm A: Ipilimumab | Arm B: IMO-2125 (Tilsotolimod) Plus Ipilimumab |
|---|---|---|
| ColitisGastrointestinal disorders | 13/243 | 10/238 |
| PyrexiaGeneral disorders | 8/243 | 12/238 |
| Immune-mediated EnterocolitisGastrointestinal disorders | 11/243 | 11/238 |
| DiarrhoeaGastrointestinal disorders | 9/243 | 3/238 |
| General Physical Health DeteriorationGeneral disorders | 5/243 | 6/238 |
| Immune-mediated HepatitisHepatobiliary disorders | 5/243 | 6/238 |
| HypophysitisEndocrine disorders | 6/243 | 3/238 |
| PneumonitisRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 2/243 | 5/238 |
| ErysipelasInfections and infestations | 5/243 | 2/238 |
| Pulmonary EmbolismRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 5/243 | 0/238 |
| Event | Arm A: Ipilimumab | Arm B: IMO-2125 (Tilsotolimod) Plus Ipilimumab |
|---|---|---|
| PyrexiaGeneral disorders | 28/243 | 102/238 |
| AstheniaGeneral disorders | 52/243 | 79/238 |
| ChillsGeneral disorders | 7/243 | 75/238 |
| DiarrhoeaGastrointestinal disorders | 61/243 | 70/238 |
| PruritusSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders | 60/243 | 57/238 |
| NauseaGastrointestinal disorders | 48/243 | 54/238 |
| FatigueGeneral disorders | 35/243 | 48/238 |
| Decreased AppetiteMetabolism and nutrition disorders | 42/243 | 45/238 |
| HeadacheNervous system disorders | 15/243 | 43/238 |
| AnaemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 31/243 | 37/238 |
| Age, Continuous(years) | Arm A: Ipilimumab | Arm B: IMO-2125 Plus Ipilimumab | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 64.3 ± 13.73 | 64.3 ± 13.28 | 64.3 ± 13.49 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Arm A: Ipilimumab | Arm B: IMO-2125 Plus Ipilimumab | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 116 | 105 | 221 |
| Male | 127 | 133 | 260 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Arm A: Ipilimumab | Arm B: IMO-2125 Plus Ipilimumab | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 5 | 6 | 11 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 211 | 187 | 398 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 27 | 45 | 72 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Arm A: Ipilimumab | Arm B: IMO-2125 Plus Ipilimumab | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Asian | 6 | 1 | 7 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Black or African American | 2 | 2 | 4 |
| White | 207 | 187 | 394 |
| More than one race | 0 | 3 | 3 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 27 | 44 | 71 |
| Region of Enrollment(Participants) | Arm A: Ipilimumab | Arm B: IMO-2125 Plus Ipilimumab | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Canada | 9 | 11 | 20 |
| Netherlands | 9 | 2 | 11 |
| Sweden | 2 | 3 | 5 |
| United States | 23 | 23 | 46 |
| Czechia | 11 | 19 | 30 |
| Italy | 53 | 40 | 93 |
| United Kingdom | 2 | 3 | 5 |
| Australia | 10 | 4 | 14 |
| France | 71 | 97 | 168 |
| Germany | 24 | 14 | 38 |
| Spain | 29 | 22 | 51 |
| Baseline Melanoma Characteristics(Participants) | Arm A: Ipilimumab | Arm B: IMO-2125 Plus Ipilimumab | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Primary Histology - Cutaneous | 210 | 203 | 413 |
| Primary Histology - Mucosal | 14 | 12 | 26 |
| Primary Histology - Other | 18 | 23 | 41 |
| Primary Histology - Missing | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Baseline Melanoma Staging(Participants) | Arm A: Ipilimumab | Arm B: IMO-2125 Plus Ipilimumab | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| IIIA | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| IIIB | 0 | 2 | 2 |
| IIIC | 20 | 35 | 55 |
| IVM1A | 36 | 24 | 60 |
| IVM1B | 46 | 24 | 70 |
| IVM1C | 137 | 147 | 284 |
| Other | 4 | 5 | 9 |
| Baseline Elevated LDH (lactate dehydrogenase)(Participants) | Arm A: Ipilimumab | Arm B: IMO-2125 Plus Ipilimumab | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Yes | 124 | 126 | 250 |
| No | 112 | 106 | 218 |
| Unknown | 7 | 6 | 13 |
6 further baseline measures are reported on the registry.
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
Plan to share: No
This study is terminated, as verified in Oct 2022. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Idera Pharmaceuticals, Inc.