ClinicalTrials.gg
TerminatedNCT03323398Updated Jul 31, 2024Results posted

Dose Escalation and Efficacy Study of mRNA-2416 for Intratumoral Injection Alone and in Combination With Durvalumab for Participants With Advanced Malignancies

A Phase 1/2 interventional study of mRNA-2416 and Durvalumab in Relapsed/Refractory Solid Tumor Malignancies or Lymphoma and Ovarian Cancer, sponsored by ModernaTX, Inc.. Terminated at 9 sites in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2024-07-31.

Sponsored by ModernaTX, Inc. (part of Moderna, Inc.) · Phase 1/2, Interventional, and Treatment

Why this study was terminated
This study was halted prematurely because the efficacy endpoints were not met for either treatment arm.
Phase
Phase 1/2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
79
Allocation
Non-randomized
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

This clinical study will assess the safety and tolerability of escalating doses of mRNA-2416 alone and in combination with administered fixed doses of durvalumab in participants with relapsed/refractory solid tumor malignancies or lymphoma, as well as the objective response rate (ORR) of mRNA-2416 alone or in combination with durvalumab in ovarian cancer based on Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) v1.1. The applicable dose of mRNA-2416 will be injected directly into the participant's tumor (intratumoral) and the applicable dose of durvalumab will be administered intravenously.

Read the detailed description

This is a first-in-human, Phase 1/2, open-label, multicenter, dose escalation and efficacy study designed to determine the safety and tolerability of repeated intratumoral injections of mRNA-2416 alone (Arm A) and in combination with intravenously administered durvalumab (Arm B) in participants with advanced relapsed/refractory solid tumor malignancies or lymphoma and to assess the ORR of mRNA-2416 alone and in combination with durvalumab in ovarian cancer based on RECIST v1.1. The study includes 2 treatment arms (mRNA-2416 monotherapy [Arm A],and mRNA-2416 + durvalumab [Arm B]), each arm of the study consists of a Dose Escalation period in non-visceral lesions followed by a Dose Confirmation period in visceral lesions and an Expansion period (Arm B only) in participants with ovarian cancer at the MTD/RDE as determined by the Dose Escalation period. Once the expected maximum tolerated dose/recommended dose for expansion (MTD/RDE) has been cleared in Dose Escalation for Arm A, Dose Escalation for Arm B will begin with mRNA-2416 at 1 dose level lower than the Arm A MTD/RDE.

Following completion of 6 cycles of mRNA-2416 + durvalumab (Arm B), participants may continue with durvalumab alone until disease progression, unacceptable toxicity, or 24 months of treatment (total), whichever is sooner.

02

Conditions studied

  • Relapsed/Refractory Solid Tumor Malignancies or Lymphoma
  • Ovarian Cancer

Keywords

  • mRNA-2416
  • OX40 ligand
  • OX40L
  • Moderna
03

In context

Recurrence

4,347 studies on the registry are indexed under Recurrence; 1,004 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 79 is above the median of 50 across 3,429 interventional studies indexed under Recurrence.

Browse Recurrence studies →

Lead sponsor

ModernaTX, Inc. is the lead sponsor of 117 studies on the registry; 16 are open to participants now.

Of its 63 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 35 (56%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Go through the criteria one by one — yes, no or not sure — and take the list to your doctor or the study team. Kept in this browser only.

Inclusion criteria

  • Written informed consent prior to completing any study-specific procedure
  • Dose Escalation and Dose Confirmation Periods: Histologically- or cytologically-confirmed advanced/metastatic solid tumor or lymphoma by pathology report and who has received, or been intolerant to, all approved therapies
  • Dose Expansion Period: Histologically or cytologically confirmed diagnosis of: epithelial cancer of the ovary, fallopian tube, or peritoneum which is platinum resistant or platinum refractory. Participants must have received at least 2 prior lines of therapy. Participants with known Breast Cancer gene 1 (BRCA) mutation positive must have been treated with and progressed on at least 1 prior poly[ADP-ribose] polymerase inhibitor (PARPi)
  • Lesions for intratumoral injection and biopsies:

    • Dose Escalation: A minimum of one lesion that is easily accessible for injection where easily accessible is defined as a cutaneous or subcutaneous mass that is palpable and/or visualizable by ultrasound
    • Dose Confirmation: A minimum of one visceral lesion injectable with ultrasound or computer tomography (CT) guidance and that is not encasing or abutting major vascular structures or are in a location that are considered high risk for AEs by the enrolling physician
    • Dose Expansion: A minimum of one lesion amenable to injection (either non-visceral or visceral). Participants must have a tumor lesion amenable to biopsy and consent to a pre-treatment and an on-treatment biopsy. For participants with only one lesion amenable to injection, biopsy, and RECIST assessment, the lesion must be ≥2 centimeters (cm)
    • Biopsy Cohort Enrichment: Participants must have a tumor lesion amenable to biopsy and consent to a pre-treatment and an on-treatment biopsy
  • All lesion(s) targeted for the initial injection must be ≥0.5 cm on longest diameter, be at least 5 mm thick, and have distinct borders based on exam or imaging, not close to critical structures such as major vessels, nerves, or airways
  • Participants must have measurable disease as determined by RECIST v1.1 (solid tumors) or Cheson 2014 criteria (lymphomas).

    - Dose Expansion: Participants must have at least 1 measurable lesion per RECIST v1.1 which has not been previously irradiated

  • Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status of ≤1
  • Adequate hematological and biological function
  • Adequate thyroid function: Thyroid-stimulating hormone within normal range.
  • Female participants of childbearing potential must have a negative serum pregnancy test during screening.
  • Male and female participants must agree to use a highly reliable method of birth control.
  • Must have life expectancy of at least 12 weeks
  • Body weight >30 kilograms (kg)

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Active central nervous system tumors or metastases
  • Treatment with chemotherapy, radiation (local radiation for palliative care is permitted), hormonal anti-cancer treatment, or biologic therapy \<14 days prior to the first day of study treatment (Cycle 1 Day 1 [C1D1]). Treatment with any other investigational agent or treatment with any anti-cancer monoclonal antibody, immunostimulant, or vaccine \<28 days prior to C1D1
  • Any unresolved toxicity NCI CTCAE Grade ≥2 from previous anticancer therapy with the exception of alopecia, vitiligo, and the laboratory values defined in the inclusion criteria

    • Participants with Grade ≥2 neuropathy will be evaluated on a case-by-case basis after consultation with the Study Physician
    • Participants with irreversible toxicity not reasonably expected to be exacerbated by the treatment with durvalumab may be included only after consultation with the Study Physician
  • Has active or prior documented autoimmune or inflammatory disorders (including inflammatory bowel disease [for example, colitis or Crohn's disease], diverticulitis [with the exception of diverticulosis], systemic lupus erythematosus, Sarcoidosis syndrome, or Wegener syndrome [for example, granulomatosis with polyangiitis, Graves' disease, rheumatoid arthritis, hypophysitis, uveitis]). The following are exceptions to this criterion:

    • Participants with vitiligo or alopecia
    • Participants with hypothyroidism (for example, following Hashimoto syndrome) stable on hormone replacement
    • Participants with any chronic skin condition that does not require systemic therapy
    • Participants without active disease in the last 5 years may be included but only after consultation with the Moderna medical monitor
    • Participants with celiac disease controlled by diet alone
  • Has a history of primary immunodeficiency, allogenic solid organ transplantation, or tuberculosis
  • Receipt of live attenuated vaccine within 30 days prior to the first dose of study treatment. Note: Participants, if enrolled, should not receive live vaccine whilst receiving study treatment and up to 30 days after the last dose of study treatment.
  • History of human immunodeficiency virus infection
  • Active/chronic hepatitis B or C
  • Any of the following cardiac abnormalities:

    • Medically uncontrolled hypertension
    • New York Heart Association Class III or IV cardiac disease
    • Myocardial infarction within prior 6 months
    • Unstable angina
    • Unstable arrhythmias or mean QT interval corrected for heart rate using Fridericia's formula (QTcF) ≥470 milliseconds (ms) calculated from 3 electrocardiograms (ECGs) (within 15 minutes at 5 minutes apart)
  • History of another primary malignancy except for:

    • Malignancy treated with curative intent and with no known active disease ≥5 years before the first dose of IP and of low potential risk for recurrence
    • Adequately treated non-melanoma skin cancer or lentigo maligna without evidence of disease
    • Adequately treated carcinoma in situ without evidence of disease
  • Females who are pregnant or breastfeeding
  • Any other unstable or clinically significant concurrent medical condition (for example, substance abuse, psychiatric illness/social situations, uncontrolled intercurrent illness including active infection, arterial thrombosis, symptomatic pulmonary embolism, active interstitial lung disease, serious chronic gastrointestinal conditions associated with diarrhea) that would, in the opinion of the investigator, jeopardize the safety of a participant, impact their expected survival through the end of the study participation, and/or impact their ability to give written informed consent or comply with the protocol
  • For participants who have received prior anti-programmed death 1 (PD-1) or anti-programmed death ligand 1 (PD-L1) therapy, a participant must not have experienced any of the following:

    • Must not have experienced a toxicity that led to permanent discontinuation of prior immunotherapy.
    • All AEs while receiving prior immunotherapy must have completely resolved or resolved to baseline prior to screening for this study.
  • Must not have experienced a Grade ≥3 immune related AE or an immune related neurologic or ocular AE of any grade while receiving prior immunotherapy. Note: Participants with endocrine AEs of Grade ≤2 are permitted to enroll if they are stable while maintained on appropriate replacement therapy and are asymptomatic.
  • Must not have required the use of additional immunosuppression other than corticosteroids for the management of an AE, not have experienced recurrence of an AE if re-challenged, and not currently require maintenance doses of >10 milligrams (mg) prednisone or equivalent per day.
  • Has an active infection including tuberculosis (clinical evaluation that includes clinical history, physical examination and radiographic findings, and tuberculosis testing in line with local practice), hepatitis B (known positive HBV surface antigen [HBsAg] result), hepatitis C, or human immunodeficiency virus (positive HIV 1/2 antibodies). Participants with a past or resolved HBV infection (defined as the presence of hepatitis B core antibody [anti-HBc] and absence of HBsAg) are eligible. Participants positive for hepatitis C (HCV) antibody are eligible only if polymerase chain reaction is negative for HCV RNA.
  • Has a history of (non-infectious) pneumonitis that required steroids or has current pneumonitis.
  • Has a history of leptomeningeal carcinomatosis.
  • Has involvement in the planning and/or conduct of the study.
  • Must not plan to donate blood or blood components while participating in this study and through 90 days after the last dose of study treatment
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 1 / Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Non-randomized
Intervention model
Parallel assignment
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
79 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Arm A: mRNA-2416 Alone

    Participants will be administered mRNA-2416 through an intratumoral injection at the applicable dose on Days 1 and 15 for six 28-day cycles.

    Biological: mRNA-2416

  • Experimental
    Arm B: mRNA-2416 in Combination with Durvalumab

    Participants will be administered mRNA-2416 through an intratumoral injection at the applicable dose on Days 1 and 15 of Cycle 1 and on Day 1 of Cycles 2 through 6 in combination with durvalumab through an intravenous infusion at a fixed dose on Day 1 of Cycles 1 through 6. The duration for each cycle is 28 days.

    Biological: mRNA-2416 · Biological: Durvalumab

Interventions

  • BiologicalmRNA-2416

    mRNA encoding human OX40L

  • BiologicalDurvalumab

    PD-L1 inhibitor

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Number of Participants Who Experienced Dose Limiting Toxicities (DLTs)

    DLTs: assessed by Investigator as unrelated to disease, disease progression, intercurrent illness, or concomitant medications; at least possibly related to study drug; and occurred within first 28 days of the study. DLTs in Arm A participants: Grade (Gr)3 adverse events (AEs) (except Gr3 thrombocytopenia lasting \<7 days/Gr3 neutropenia without fever or lasting \<7 days) and any Gr4/5 toxicity. DLTs (criteria assessed by Investigator) participants in Arm B: diarrhea/colitis; pneumonitis; hepatitis; rash; peripheral neuromotor syndromes; myocarditis; myositis/polymyositis; endocrinopathies involving thyroid, pituitary glands, or adrenal insufficiency; type I diabetes mellitus; nephritis; elevated amylase/lipase pancreatitis; all other immunemediated/nonimmunemediated AEs; infusion-related reactions; any Gr≥3 immune/nonimmune AE except vitiligo/alopecia; neutropenia Gr≥3 with fever/Gr4 lasting \>7 days; Gr≥3 thrombocytopenia and significant bleeding; Gr4 thrombocytopenia; and Gr4 anemia.

    Time frame: Days 1-28 (Cycle 1)

  2. Number of Participants With a Treatment-Emergent AEs (TEAE) or a Serious AE

    An AE is any adverse experience in a participant administered a study drug, whether or not it is considered drug related, that occurred during study participation. This would include any side effect, injury, toxicity, sensitivity reaction, intercurrent illness, or sudden death. Conditions that started before study entry were reported as an AE if the frequency, intensity, or character of the condition worsened during the study. A TEAE was defined as any AE that newly appeared, increased in frequency, or worsened in severity following initiation of study drug. A serious AE (SAE) was defined as any AE that resulted in death, is life-threatening, required inpatient hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization, resulted in disability/permanent damage, was a congenital anomaly/birth defect, or was an important medical event. A summary of SAEs and all nonserious AEs ("Other"), regardless of causality, is located in the Reported "Adverse Events" section.

    Time frame: Day 1 up to 90 days after the last dose of study treatment (maximum exposure=26.3 weeks)

  3. Objective Response Rate (ORR) Based on Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) Version 1.1

    ORR was defined as the percentage of participants in the Activity Evaluable Set with best overall response of Partial Response (PR) or better, where the denominator was the number of participants with solid tumor. Solid tumor response was assessed by Investigators based on RECIST version 1.1 (complete response \[CR\], PR, stable disease \[SD\], progressive disease \[PD\], or not evaluable), and based on Immune-related Response Criteria (irRC) (immune-related CR, immune-related PR, immune-related SD, immune-related PD, or not evaluable). The 95% confidence interval (CI) was based on the Clopper-Pearson exact test.

    Time frame: Day 1 through 6 months after the last dose of study treatment, or until disease progression, whichever occurred first (maximum exposure=26.3 weeks)

Secondary outcomes

  1. Duration of Response in Participants With Ovarian Cancer (RECIST Version 1.1)

    Duration of response was defined as the time from first response (PR or better, as assessed by Investigators based on RECIST version 1.1) to first occurrence of a disease progression. Participants who never achieved a response were excluded from this analysis. DOR (days) = date of event/censoring - date of first response + 1. Duration of response could only be calculated if more than 1 participant had a PR. Since only 1 participant had a PR, the duration of response could not be calculated.

    Time frame: Day 1 through 6 months after last dose of study treatment, or until disease progression, whichever occurred first (maximum exposure=26.3 weeks)

  2. Disease Control Rate in Participants With Ovarian Cancer (RECIST Version 1.1)

    Disease control rate (DCR) was defined as the percentage of participants in the Activity Evaluable Set with best overall response of PR or better, or SD ≥55 days (from the first dose date to the last SD assessment, and without PD between), where the denominator is the number of participants with solid tumor. Solid tumor response was assessed by investigators based on RECIST version 1.1 (CR, PR, SD, PD, or not evaluable), and based on irRC (immune-related CR, immune-related PR, immune-related SD, immune-related PD, or not evaluable). The 95% CI was based on the Clopper-Pearson exact test.

    Time frame: Day 1 through 6 months after last dose of study treatment, or until disease progression, whichever occurred first (maximum exposure=26.3 weeks)

  3. Number of Participants With Anti-OX40L Antibodies

    Data are presented for number of participants with anti-OX40L antibodies. OX40L is the protein translated by the drug product.

    Time frame: Cycle (C) 1 Day (D) 1, C1D15, C2D1, C3D1, C3D15, C4D1, C5D1, C6D1, C6D15, End of Treatment (maximum exposure=26.3 weeks); Cycle =28 days

07

Results

Posted Jul 31, 2024
Limitations and caveats
This study was halted prematurely because the efficacy endpoints were not met for either treatment arm.

Participant flow

It was planned to include participants with lymphoma in the study, but none of the enrolled participants had lymphoma.

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneArm A, Dose Escalation: mRNA-2416 1.0 Milligrams (mg) AloneArm A, Dose Escalation: mRNA-2416 2.0 mg AloneArm A, Dose Escalation: mRNA-2416 4.0 mg AloneArm A, Dose Escalation: mRNA-2416 8.0 mg AloneArm A, Dose Confirmation: mRNA-2416 8.0 mg AloneArm B, Dose Escalation: mRNA-2416 4.0 mg and DurvalumabArm B, Dose Confirmation: mRNA-2416 4.0 mg and DurvalumabArm B, Dose Expansion: mRNA-2416 2.0 mg and DurvalumabArm B, Dose Expansion: mRNA-2416 4.0 mg and Durvalumab
Started1112123133115
Received at least 1 dose of study drug1112123133115
Completed212100107
Not completed91110213218
Withdrew: Other than specified012000102
Withdrew: Lost to follow-up121000000
Withdrew: Death462212006
Withdrew: Received alternative anticancer therapy212000000
Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject213001000
Withdrew: Participant was put on hospice000000100
Withdrew: Discontinued following discussion with physician000000010

Outcome measures

PrimaryNumber of Participants Who Experienced Dose Limiting Toxicities (DLTs)

DLTs: assessed by Investigator as unrelated to disease, disease progression, intercurrent illness, or concomitant medications; at least possibly related to study drug; and occurred within first 28 days of the study. DLTs in Arm A participants: Grade (Gr)3 adverse events (AEs) (except Gr3 thrombocytopenia lasting \<7 days/Gr3 neutropenia without fever or lasting \<7 days) and any Gr4/5 toxicity. DLTs (criteria assessed by Investigator) participants in Arm B: diarrhea/colitis; pneumonitis; hepatitis; rash; peripheral neuromotor syndromes; myocarditis; myositis/polymyositis; endocrinopathies involving thyroid, pituitary glands, or adrenal insufficiency; type I diabetes mellitus; nephritis; elevated amylase/lipase pancreatitis; all other immunemediated/nonimmunemediated AEs; infusion-related reactions; any Gr≥3 immune/nonimmune AE except vitiligo/alopecia; neutropenia Gr≥3 with fever/Gr4 lasting \>7 days; Gr≥3 thrombocytopenia and significant bleeding; Gr4 thrombocytopenia; and Gr4 anemia.

Time frame:
Days 1-28 (Cycle 1)
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants Who Experienced Dose Limiting Toxicities (DLTs)
ParticipantsArm A, Dose Escalation: mRNA-2416 1.0 mg AloneArm A, Dose Escalation: mRNA-2416 2.0 mg AloneArm A, Dose Escalation: mRNA-2416 4.0 mg AloneArm A, Dose Escalation: mRNA-2416 8.0 mg AloneArm A, Dose Confirmation: mRNA-2416 8.0 mg AloneArm B, Dose Escalation: mRNA-2416 4.0 mg and DurvalumabArm B, Dose Confirmation: mRNA-2416 4.0 mg and DurvalumabArm B, Dose Expansion: mRNA-2416 2.0 mg and DurvalumabArm B, Dose Expansion: mRNA-2416 4.0 mg and DurvalumabEdit
Number of Participants Who Experienced Dose Limiting Toxicities (DLTs)000000000
PrimaryNumber of Participants With a Treatment-Emergent AEs (TEAE) or a Serious AE

An AE is any adverse experience in a participant administered a study drug, whether or not it is considered drug related, that occurred during study participation. This would include any side effect, injury, toxicity, sensitivity reaction, intercurrent illness, or sudden death. Conditions that started before study entry were reported as an AE if the frequency, intensity, or character of the condition worsened during the study. A TEAE was defined as any AE that newly appeared, increased in frequency, or worsened in severity following initiation of study drug. A serious AE (SAE) was defined as any AE that resulted in death, is life-threatening, required inpatient hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization, resulted in disability/permanent damage, was a congenital anomaly/birth defect, or was an important medical event. A summary of SAEs and all nonserious AEs ("Other"), regardless of causality, is located in the Reported "Adverse Events" section.

Time frame:
Day 1 up to 90 days after the last dose of study treatment (maximum exposure=26.3 weeks)
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants With a Treatment-Emergent AEs (TEAE) or a Serious AE
ParticipantsArm A, Dose Escalation: mRNA-2416 1.0 mg AloneArm A, Dose Escalation: mRNA-2416 2.0 mg AloneArm A, Dose Escalation: mRNA-2416 4.0 mg AloneArm A, Dose Escalation: mRNA-2416 8.0 mg AloneArm A, Dose Confirmation: mRNA-2416 8.0 mg AloneArm B, Dose Escalation: mRNA-2416 4.0 mg and DurvalumabArm B, Dose Confirmation: mRNA-2416 4.0 mg and DurvalumabArm B, Dose Expansion: mRNA-2416 2.0 mg and DurvalumabArm B, Dose Expansion: mRNA-2416 4.0 mg and DurvalumabEdit
TEAE1012123133115
SAE3672122111
PrimaryObjective Response Rate (ORR) Based on Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) Version 1.1

ORR was defined as the percentage of participants in the Activity Evaluable Set with best overall response of Partial Response (PR) or better, where the denominator was the number of participants with solid tumor. Solid tumor response was assessed by Investigators based on RECIST version 1.1 (complete response \[CR\], PR, stable disease \[SD\], progressive disease \[PD\], or not evaluable), and based on Immune-related Response Criteria (irRC) (immune-related CR, immune-related PR, immune-related SD, immune-related PD, or not evaluable). The 95% confidence interval (CI) was based on the Clopper-Pearson exact test.

Time frame:
Day 1 through 6 months after the last dose of study treatment, or until disease progression, whichever occurred first (maximum exposure=26.3 weeks)
Reported as:
Number · percentage of participants
Objective Response Rate (ORR) Based on Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) Version 1.1
percentage of participantsArm A, Dose Escalation: mRNA-2416 1.0 mg AloneArm A, Dose Escalation: mRNA-2416 2.0 mg AloneArm A, Dose Escalation: mRNA-2416 4.0 mg AloneArm A, Dose Escalation: mRNA-2416 8.0 mg AloneArm A, Dose Confirmation: mRNA-2416 8.0 mg AloneArm B, Dose Escalation: mRNA-2416 4.0 mg and DurvalumabArm B, Dose Confirmation: mRNA-2416 4.0 mg and DurvalumabArm B, Dose Expansion: mRNA-2416 2.0 mg and DurvalumabArm B, Dose Expansion: mRNA-2416 4.0 mg and DurvalumabEdit
Objective Response Rate (ORR) Based on Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) Version 1.10.0 (0.0 to 36.9)0.0 (0.0 to 33.6)0.0 (0.0 to 36.9)0.0 (0.0 to 70.8)0.0 (0.0 to 97.5)0.0 (0.0 to 84.2)0.0 (0.0 to 70.8)0.0 (0.0 to 97.5)7.7 (0.2 to 36.0)
SecondaryDuration of Response in Participants With Ovarian Cancer (RECIST Version 1.1)

Duration of response was defined as the time from first response (PR or better, as assessed by Investigators based on RECIST version 1.1) to first occurrence of a disease progression. Participants who never achieved a response were excluded from this analysis. DOR (days) = date of event/censoring - date of first response + 1. Duration of response could only be calculated if more than 1 participant had a PR. Since only 1 participant had a PR, the duration of response could not be calculated.

Time frame:
Day 1 through 6 months after last dose of study treatment, or until disease progression, whichever occurred first (maximum exposure=26.3 weeks)

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

SecondaryDisease Control Rate in Participants With Ovarian Cancer (RECIST Version 1.1)

Disease control rate (DCR) was defined as the percentage of participants in the Activity Evaluable Set with best overall response of PR or better, or SD ≥55 days (from the first dose date to the last SD assessment, and without PD between), where the denominator is the number of participants with solid tumor. Solid tumor response was assessed by investigators based on RECIST version 1.1 (CR, PR, SD, PD, or not evaluable), and based on irRC (immune-related CR, immune-related PR, immune-related SD, immune-related PD, or not evaluable). The 95% CI was based on the Clopper-Pearson exact test.

Time frame:
Day 1 through 6 months after last dose of study treatment, or until disease progression, whichever occurred first (maximum exposure=26.3 weeks)
Reported as:
Number · percentage of participants
Disease Control Rate in Participants With Ovarian Cancer (RECIST Version 1.1)
percentage of participantsArm A, Dose Escalation: mRNA-2416 1.0 mg AloneArm A, Dose Escalation: mRNA-2416 2.0 mg AloneArm A, Dose Escalation: mRNA-2416 4.0 mg AloneArm A, Dose Escalation: mRNA-2416 8.0 mg AloneArm A, Dose Confirmation: mRNA-2416 8.0 mg AloneArm B, Dose Escalation: mRNA-2416 4.0 mg and DurvalumabArm B, Dose Confirmation: mRNA-2416 4.0 mg and DurvalumabArm B, Dose Expansion: mRNA-2416 2.0 mg and DurvalumabArm B, Dose Expansion: mRNA-2416 4.0 mg and DurvalumabEdit
Disease Control Rate in Participants With Ovarian Cancer (RECIST Version 1.1)50.0 (15.7 to 84.3)33.3 (7.5 to 70.1)12.5 (0.3 to 52.7)33.3 (0.8 to 90.6)0.0 (0.0 to 97.5)0.0 (0.0 to 84.2)0.0 (0.0 to 70.8)100.0 (2.5 to 100.0)15.4 (1.9 to 45.4)
SecondaryNumber of Participants With Anti-OX40L Antibodies

Data are presented for number of participants with anti-OX40L antibodies. OX40L is the protein translated by the drug product.

Time frame:
Cycle (C) 1 Day (D) 1, C1D15, C2D1, C3D1, C3D15, C4D1, C5D1, C6D1, C6D15, End of Treatment (maximum exposure=26.3 weeks); Cycle =28 days
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants With Anti-OX40L Antibodies
ParticipantsArm A, Dose Escalation: mRNA-2416 1.0 mg AloneArm A, Dose Escalation: mRNA-2416 2.0 mg AloneArm A, Dose Escalation: mRNA-2416 4.0 mg AloneArm A, Dose Escalation: mRNA-2416 8.0 mg AloneArm A, Dose Confirmation: mRNA-2416 8.0 mg AloneArm B, Dose Escalation: mRNA-2416 4.0 mg and DurvalumabArm B, Dose Confirmation: mRNA-2416 4.0 mg and DurvalumabArm B, Dose Expansion: mRNA-2416 2.0 mg and DurvalumabArm B, Dose Expansion: mRNA-2416 4.0 mg and DurvalumabEdit
C1D1000000000
C1D15000000000
C2D1212000000
C3D1212000000
C3D15211000000
C4D1221000000
C5D1101000000
C6D1100000000
C6D15100000000
End of Treatment453100000

Adverse events

Collected over Day 1 up to 90 days after the last dose of study treatment (maximum exposure=26.3 weeks). Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Arm A, Dose Escalation: mRNA-2416 1.0 mg Alone4/11 (36.4%)3/11 (27.3%)10/11 (90.9%)
Arm A, Dose Escalation: mRNA-2416 2.0 mg Alone6/12 (50%)6/12 (50%)12/12 (100%)
Arm A, Dose Escalation: mRNA-2416 4.0 mg Alone3/12 (25%)7/12 (58.3%)12/12 (100%)
Arm A, Dose Escalation: mRNA-2416 8.0 mg Alone2/3 (66.7%)2/3 (66.7%)3/3 (100%)
Arm A, Dose Confirmation: mRNA-2416 8.0 mg Alone1/1 (100%)1/1 (100%)0/1 (0%)
Arm B, Dose Escalation: mRNA-2416 4.0 mg and Durvalumab2/3 (66.7%)2/3 (66.7%)3/3 (100%)
Arm B, Dose Confirmation: mRNA-2416 4.0 mg and Durvalumab0/3 (0%)2/3 (66.7%)3/3 (100%)
Arm B, Dose Expansion: mRNA-2416 2.0 mg and Durvalumab0/1 (0%)1/1 (100%)1/1 (100%)
Arm B, Dose Expansion: mRNA-2416 4.0 mg and Durvalumab6/15 (40%)11/15 (73.3%)15/15 (100%)
Most frequent serious events
Showing 10 of 51
Most frequent serious events
EventArm A, Dose Escalation: mRNA-2416 1.0 mg AloneArm A, Dose Escalation: mRNA-2416 2.0 mg AloneArm A, Dose Escalation: mRNA-2416 4.0 mg AloneArm A, Dose Escalation: mRNA-2416 8.0 mg AloneArm A, Dose Confirmation: mRNA-2416 8.0 mg AloneArm B, Dose Escalation: mRNA-2416 4.0 mg and DurvalumabArm B, Dose Confirmation: mRNA-2416 4.0 mg and DurvalumabArm B, Dose Expansion: mRNA-2416 2.0 mg and DurvalumabArm B, Dose Expansion: mRNA-2416 4.0 mg and Durvalumab
PeritonitisInfections and infestations0/110/120/120/31/10/30/30/10/15
Ovarian cancerNeoplasms benign, malignant and unspecified (incl cysts and polyps)0/110/120/120/31/10/30/30/14/15
Venous thrombosisVascular disorders0/110/120/120/31/10/30/30/10/15
AnaemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders0/110/120/120/30/10/30/31/11/15
HypokalaemiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders0/110/120/120/30/10/30/31/10/15
Cerebrovascular accidentNervous system disorders0/110/120/120/30/10/30/31/10/15
SeizureNervous system disorders0/110/120/120/30/10/30/31/10/15
Abdominal painGastrointestinal disorders0/110/120/120/30/10/30/31/10/15
Squamous cell carcinoma of skinNeoplasms benign, malignant and unspecified (incl cysts and polyps)0/110/120/121/30/10/30/30/10/15
DyspnoeaRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders0/111/120/120/30/10/31/30/12/15
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 236
Most frequent other events
EventArm A, Dose Escalation: mRNA-2416 1.0 mg AloneArm A, Dose Escalation: mRNA-2416 2.0 mg AloneArm A, Dose Escalation: mRNA-2416 4.0 mg AloneArm A, Dose Escalation: mRNA-2416 8.0 mg AloneArm A, Dose Confirmation: mRNA-2416 8.0 mg AloneArm B, Dose Escalation: mRNA-2416 4.0 mg and DurvalumabArm B, Dose Confirmation: mRNA-2416 4.0 mg and DurvalumabArm B, Dose Expansion: mRNA-2416 2.0 mg and DurvalumabArm B, Dose Expansion: mRNA-2416 4.0 mg and Durvalumab
AnaemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders1/113/122/120/30/10/31/31/18/15
Decreased appetiteMetabolism and nutrition disorders1/112/121/122/30/10/30/31/18/15
DizzinessNervous system disorders3/110/121/120/30/10/30/31/13/15
AphasiaNervous system disorders0/110/121/120/30/10/30/31/10/15
DyspnoeaRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders1/112/123/120/30/10/31/31/14/15
NauseaGastrointestinal disorders4/113/124/120/30/11/32/31/111/15
DiarrhoeaGastrointestinal disorders1/111/121/120/30/10/33/31/16/15
ConstipationGastrointestinal disorders0/110/121/120/30/10/31/31/14/15
Abdominal distensionGastrointestinal disorders1/110/121/120/30/10/31/31/13/15
FlatulenceGastrointestinal disorders0/110/121/120/30/10/30/31/10/15

Baseline characteristics

Safety Set included all enrolled participants who received any amount of study drug. Participants were included in the dose cohort corresponding to the dose level they actually received. No baseline characteristics data is reported for Arm A, Dose Confirmation: mRNA-2416 8.0 mg Alone or Arm B, Dose Expansion: mRNA-2416 2.0 mg and Durvalumab to maintain participant confidentiality.

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)Arm A, Dose Escalation: mRNA-2416 1.0 mg AloneArm A, Dose Escalation: mRNA-2416 2.0 mg AloneArm A, Dose Escalation: mRNA-2416 4.0 mg AloneArm A, Dose Escalation: mRNA-2416 8.0 mg AloneArm A, Dose Confirmation: mRNA-2416 8.0 mg AloneArm B, Dose Escalation: mRNA-2416 4.0 mg and DurvalumabArm B, Dose Confirmation: mRNA-2416 4.0 mg and DurvalumabArm B, Dose Expansion: mRNA-2416 2.0 mg and DurvalumabArm B, Dose Expansion: mRNA-2416 4.0 mg and DurvalumabTotal
Mean64.6 ± 7.5559.8 ± 17.4064.4 ± 11.1869.3 ± 5.69—66.0 ± 7.8150.3 ± 23.59—64.1 ± 64.063.1 ± 11.74
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Arm A, Dose Escalation: mRNA-2416 1.0 mg AloneArm A, Dose Escalation: mRNA-2416 2.0 mg AloneArm A, Dose Escalation: mRNA-2416 4.0 mg AloneArm A, Dose Escalation: mRNA-2416 8.0 mg AloneArm A, Dose Confirmation: mRNA-2416 8.0 mg AloneArm B, Dose Escalation: mRNA-2416 4.0 mg and DurvalumabArm B, Dose Confirmation: mRNA-2416 4.0 mg and DurvalumabArm B, Dose Expansion: mRNA-2416 2.0 mg and DurvalumabArm B, Dose Expansion: mRNA-2416 4.0 mg and DurvalumabTotal
Female4481—02—1534
Male7842—31—025
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Arm A, Dose Escalation: mRNA-2416 1.0 mg AloneArm A, Dose Escalation: mRNA-2416 2.0 mg AloneArm A, Dose Escalation: mRNA-2416 4.0 mg AloneArm A, Dose Escalation: mRNA-2416 8.0 mg AloneArm A, Dose Confirmation: mRNA-2416 8.0 mg AloneArm B, Dose Escalation: mRNA-2416 4.0 mg and DurvalumabArm B, Dose Confirmation: mRNA-2416 4.0 mg and DurvalumabArm B, Dose Expansion: mRNA-2416 2.0 mg and DurvalumabArm B, Dose Expansion: mRNA-2416 4.0 mg and DurvalumabTotal
Hispanic or Latino0130—00—04
Not Hispanic or Latino111193—33—1555
Unknown or Not Reported0000—00—00
Race/Ethnicity, Customized
Race/Ethnicity, Customized(Participants)Arm A, Dose Escalation: mRNA-2416 1.0 mg AloneArm A, Dose Escalation: mRNA-2416 2.0 mg AloneArm A, Dose Escalation: mRNA-2416 4.0 mg AloneArm A, Dose Escalation: mRNA-2416 8.0 mg AloneArm A, Dose Confirmation: mRNA-2416 8.0 mg AloneArm B, Dose Escalation: mRNA-2416 4.0 mg and DurvalumabArm B, Dose Confirmation: mRNA-2416 4.0 mg and DurvalumabArm B, Dose Expansion: mRNA-2416 2.0 mg and DurvalumabArm B, Dose Expansion: mRNA-2416 4.0 mg and DurvalumabTotal
Race — White1011103—32—1453
Race — Other0100—00—01
Race — Not Reported1020—00—14
Race — Black or African American0000—01—01
08

Study locations

9 sites
  • University of Colorado Hospital
    Aurora, Colorado 80045, United States
  • Smilow Cancer Hospital
    New Haven, Connecticut 06520, United States
  • Northwestern Memorial Hospital
    Indianapolis, Indiana 46202, United States
  • Massachusetts General Hospital
    Boston, Massachusetts 02114, United States
  • Dana Farber Cancer Institute
    Boston, Massachusetts 02215, United States
  • University of Minnesota Medical Center
    Minneapolis, Minnesota 55455, United States
  • University of Oklahoma Peggy and Charles Stephenson Cancer Center
    Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73104, United States
  • Women & Infants Hospital
    Providence, Rhode Island 02905, United States
  • Sarah Cannon Research Institute
    Nashville, Tennessee 37203, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Study protocol · Jun 10, 2019
  • Statistical analysis plan · Nov 29, 2021

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: No

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Jul 31, 2024, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT03323398
Lead sponsor
ModernaTX, Inc.
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Oct 27, 2017
Start date
Aug 15, 2017
Primary completion
Aug 18, 2021
Completion
Aug 18, 2021
Results posted
Jul 31, 2024
Last update
Jul 31, 2024

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is terminated, as verified in Jun 2024. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Studies of the drug tested here: Durvalumab

Start the discussion