CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT03290378Updated Mar 19, 2020Results posted

Tramadol Versus Placebo in the Management of Postoperative Pain Following Bunionectomy

A Phase 3 interventional study of Tramadol and Placebo in Pain Management, sponsored by Avenue Therapeutics, Inc.. Completed at 5 sites in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years to 75 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2020-03-19.

Sponsored by Avenue Therapeutics, Inc. · Phase 3, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
409
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
18 Years to 75 Years
Sex
All
01

Study summary

The study evaluates the effectiveness and safety of IV tramadol compared to placebo managing postoperative pain following a bunionectomy

Read the detailed description

(Non-clinical summary)

Tramadol is a centrally-acting synthetic analgesic of the aminocyclohexanol group with opioidlike effects. Tramadol is extensively metabolized following administration, which results in a number of enantiomeric metabolites that display different opioid-receptor binding properties, and monoaminergic reuptake inhibition.

02

Conditions studied

  • Pain Management

Browse trials for

03

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years to 75 Years
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Eligibility criteria

Key Inclusion Criteria:

  • The patient is male or female 18-75 years of age undergoing unilateral first metatarsal bunionectomy surgery
  • Willing to give consent and able to understand the study procedures
  • Female patients must be of non-childbearing potential or be practicing a highly effective contraception
  • The patient must be willing to be housed in a healthcare facility and able to receive parenteral analgesia for at least 72 hours after surgery.
  • The patient meets definition of American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) Physical Class 1, or 2.

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Patient is not expected to receive a continuous infusion nerve block as described in the Post-Op anesthetic procedures protocol
  • Patient is undergoing bilateral or revision bunionectomy surgery
  • The patient has allergy or hypersensitivity (or is intolerant) to opioids or tramadol The patient has known physical dependence on opioids
  • The patient has taken other prior/concurrent chronic medications that have not been at a stable dose for at least 2 weeks prior to screening
  • The patient is taking herbal or dietary supplements or medications that are moderate or strong inhibitors of CYP2D6 or CYP3A4 or inducers of CYP3A4
  • The patient has taken monoamine oxidase (MAO) inhibitors, trazodone, or cyclobenzaprine within 14 days prior to surgery
  • The patient cannot be withdrawn from medications (at least 7 days prior to surgery) that may lower the seizure threshold (e.g. anti-psychotic agents, MAOI inhibitors) or which increase serotonergic tone (e.g. selective serotonin reuptake inhibitors (SSRIs), serotonin norepinephrine reuptake inhibitors (SNRIs), tricyclic antidepressants, triptans).
  • The patient has a history of epilepsy, or is known to be susceptible to seizures
  • The patient has a history of Long QT Syndrome or a relative with this condition
  • The patient has expressed suicidal ideation or is considered to be at risk of suicide.
  • The patient is morbidly obese (body mass index [BMI] ≥ 40 kg/m2) or has documented sleep apnea requiring pharmacological or device intervention.
  • Clinically significant abnormalities in the judgement of the Investigator
  • The patient was administered an investigational product within 30 days prior to Screening.
  • The patient has previously participated in a clinical study with AVE-901.
04

Study design

Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Parallel assignment
Masking
Triple (Participant, Care provider, Investigator)
Enrollment
409 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Active comparator
    AVE-901 50 mg

    Drug: Tramadol

  • Active comparator
    AVE-901 25 mg

    Drug: Tramadol

  • Placebo comparator
    Placebo

    Other: Placebo

Interventions

  • DrugTramadol

    IV; 25 mg or 50 mg, given at Hours 0, 2, 4, 8, 12, 16, 20, 24, 28, 32, 36, 40, and 44

  • OtherPlacebo

    IV; Placebo, given at Hours 0, 2, 4, 8, 12, 16, 20, 24, 28, 32, 36, 40, and 44

05

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. The Sum of Pain Intensity Differences (SPID) Through 48 Hours Post First Dose

    Pain intensity was recorded using the Numerical Pain Rating Scale (NPRS) from 0 to 10, where 0 was no pain and 10 was the worst pain imaginable at hrs: .5, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 10, 12, 14, 16, 18, 20, 22, 24, 26, 28, 30, 32, 34, 36, 38, 40, 42, 44, 46, 48. As higher pain scores indicate worse pain, a negative Pain Intensity Difference (PID) indicates less pain (improvement from baseline). Thus, SPID scores are expected to be negative if a patient's pain decreases over time, with the lower SPID values indicating greater reduction in pain intensity.

    Time frame: 48 hours post first dose

06

Results

Posted Mar 19, 2020

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneAVE-901 50 mgAVE-901 25 mgPlacebo
Started140133136
Completed137123120
Not completed31016

Outcome measures

PrimaryThe Sum of Pain Intensity Differences (SPID) Through 48 Hours Post First Dose

Pain intensity was recorded using the Numerical Pain Rating Scale (NPRS) from 0 to 10, where 0 was no pain and 10 was the worst pain imaginable at hrs: .5, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 10, 12, 14, 16, 18, 20, 22, 24, 26, 28, 30, 32, 34, 36, 38, 40, 42, 44, 46, 48. As higher pain scores indicate worse pain, a negative Pain Intensity Difference (PID) indicates less pain (improvement from baseline). Thus, SPID scores are expected to be negative if a patient's pain decreases over time, with the lower SPID values indicating greater reduction in pain intensity.

Time frame:
48 hours post first dose
Reported as:
Least squares mean · score on a scale
The Sum of Pain Intensity Differences (SPID) Through 48 Hours Post First Dose
score on a scaleAVE-901 50 mgAVE-901 25 mgPlacebo
The Sum of Pain Intensity Differences (SPID) Through 48 Hours Post First Dose-122.8 (-135.14 to -110.50)-110.9 (-123.64 to -98.17)-97.8 (-110.60 to -85.00)
Statistical analysis
  • AVE-901 50 mg vs Placebo · ANCOVA · p = <.005

Adverse events

Collected over 6 months. Non-serious events are listed at a 2% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
AVE-901 50 mg0/140 (0%)0/140 (0%)93/140 (66.4%)
AVE-901 25 mg0/133 (0%)1/133 (0.8%)56/133 (42.1%)
Placebo0/136 (0%)0/136 (0%)60/136 (44.1%)
Most frequent serious events
Most frequent serious events
EventAVE-901 50 mgAVE-901 25 mgPlacebo
non-cardiac chest painGeneral disorders0/1401/1330/136
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 14
Most frequent other events
EventAVE-901 50 mgAVE-901 25 mgPlacebo
NauseaGastrointestinal disorders45/14012/13311/136
VomitingGastrointestinal disorders28/1404/1335/136
DizzinessNervous system disorders21/1407/1334/136
SomnolenceNervous system disorders16/1406/1333/136
HeadacheNervous system disorders8/14014/13313/136
Infusion Site PainGeneral disorders11/1405/13310/136
ConstipationGastrointestinal disorders8/1403/1333/136
Infusion site extravasationGeneral disorders5/1407/1335/136
HypoxiaRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders5/1400/1331/136
Pruritus generalizedGastrointestinal disorders4/1403/1331/136

Baseline characteristics

Patient 03-042 was randomized to tramadol 25 mg but received tramadol 50 mg in error.

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)AVE-901 50 mgAVE-901 25 mgPlaceboTotal
Mean45.3 ± 13.5144.5 ± 13.1545.0 ± 13.4445.2 ± 13.35
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)AVE-901 50 mgAVE-901 25 mgPlaceboTotal
Female120116113349
Male19182360
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)AVE-901 50 mgAVE-901 25 mgPlaceboTotal
Hispanic or Latino514652149
Not Hispanic or Latino888884260
Unknown or Not Reported0000
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)AVE-901 50 mgAVE-901 25 mgPlaceboTotal
American Indian or Alaska Native2147
Asian2349
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0101
Black or African American293837104
White1048888280
More than one race2237
Unknown or Not Reported0101
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(Participants)AVE-901 50 mgAVE-901 25 mgPlaceboTotal
United States139134136409
Previous opioid history
Previous opioid history(Participants)AVE-901 50 mgAVE-901 25 mgPlaceboTotal
Yes425247141
No978289268
American Society of Anesthesiology (ASA) Physical Classification
American Society of Anesthesiology (ASA) Physical Classification(Participants)AVE-901 50 mgAVE-901 25 mgPlaceboTotal
1707172213
2696364196
Qualifying Categorical Pain Score
Qualifying Categorical Pain Score(Participants)AVE-901 50 mgAVE-901 25 mgPlaceboTotal
Moderate898075244
Severe505461165

2 further baseline measures are reported on the registry.

07

Study locations

5 sites
  • Trovare Clinical Research
    Bakersfield, California 93301, United States
  • Lotus Clinical Research
    Pasadena, California 91105, United States
  • Cheseapeake Research Group, LLC
    Pasadena, Maryland 21122, United States
  • H.D. Research Corporation
    Houston, Texas 77004, United States
  • Endeavor Clinical Trials, PA
    San Antonio, Texas 78229, United States
08

References and documents

Publications

  • Singla NK, Pollak R, Gottlieb I, Leiman D, Minkowitz H, Zimmerman J, Harnett M, Ryan M, Lu L, Reines S. Efficacy and Safety of Intravenously Administered Tramadol in Patients with Moderate to Severe Pain Following Bunionectomy: A Randomized, Double-Blind, Placebo-Controlled, Dose-Finding Study. Pain Ther. 2020 Dec;9(2):545-562. doi: 10.1007/s40122-020-00184-2. Epub 2020 Jul 18. PubMed 32683644 ↗

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Oct 24, 2017

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

09

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT03290378
Lead sponsor
Avenue Therapeutics, Inc.
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Sep 21, 2017
Start date
Sep 19, 2017
Primary completion
Apr 11, 2018
Completion
Apr 23, 2018
Results posted
Mar 19, 2020
Last update
Mar 19, 2020

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Sep 2019. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion