CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT03254147Updated Mar 4, 2019Results posted

Medical Need of OAC Reversal

An observational study in Atrial Fibrillation, sponsored by Boehringer Ingelheim. Completed at 1 site in Japan. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2019-03-04.

Sponsored by Boehringer Ingelheim · Observational

Study type
Observational
Model
Cohort
Time perspective
Retrospective
Enrollment
53,969
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

This is a retrospective, observational, claims cohort study to assess, for adult patients initiating an oral anticoagulant for NVAF

Read the detailed description

This is a retrospective, observational, claims cohort study to assess, for adult patients initiating an oral anticoagulant for NVAF, the incidence rates of emergency surgery, major bleeding due to trauma, and major bleeding due to fracture, overall and stratified by age (\<64, 65-74, >75). The secondary objective is to estimate the overall and age stratified incidence of cardiac tamponade and peri-cardiocentesis.

02

Conditions studied

  • Atrial Fibrillation

Browse trials for

03

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No
Sampling method
Non-probability sample

Study population

Any patients with atrial fibrillation contained in the Medical Data Vision (MDV) database which is a Japanese, nationwide claims data containing approximately 16 million patients cumulatively. The data cut is between March 2011 to June 2016, and the patients in the MDV database are those who have visited DPC hospitals (diagnostic procedure combination, a lump-sum payment system based on disease diagnosis to be treated similar to Medicare/Medicaid in the USA) hospitals which provide acute in-patient, as well as outpatient care.

Inclusion criteria

->18 year old non-valvular atrial fibrillation (NVAF) patients

  • Prescribed dabigatran, rivaroxaban, apixaban, edoxaban or warfarin
  • Patients with confirmed date of initiation of OACs
  • Patients with a minimum of 6 months of enrolment data prior to index date
  • Has an index date between 14th of March 2011 to 30 June, 2016

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Patients receiving two or more oral anti-coagulants at the same time at index date
  • Patients with prescriptions of index treatment in the 6 months prior to index date
  • Patients without enrolment period of at least six month in the database
04

Study design

Observational model
Cohort
Time perspective
Retrospective
Enrollment
53,969 participants (actual)
Patient registry
No

Groups and cohorts

  • patients prescribed with Oral Anti-coagulants

    warfarin and non-vitamin K dependent oral anti-coagulants

    Drug: warfarin · Drug: dabigatran · Drug: Apixaban · Drug: Edoxaban · Drug: Rivaroxaban

Interventions

  • Drugwarfarin

    warfarin

  • Drugdabigatran

    Non-vitamin K dependent oral anti-coagulants (NOACs)

    Also known as: PRADAXA, PRAZAXA

  • DrugApixaban

    Non-vitamin K dependent oral anti-coagulants (NOACs)

  • DrugEdoxaban

    Non-vitamin K dependent oral anti-coagulants (NOACs)

  • DrugRivaroxaban

    Non-vitamin K dependent oral anti-coagulants (NOACs)

05

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. The Number of Patients With Emergency Surgery and Major Bleeding Due to Fracture or Trauma.

    The number of patients with emergency surgery and major bleeding due to fracture or trauma. Where emergency surgery defined as any surgical procedure (International Classification of Diseases (ICD) 10 code K000-879) performed on the same day as hospital admission with additional claims, major bleeding due to fracture is any bleeding associated with hospitalization or blood transfusion (ICD10 code E83.111) accompanied by any fracture, and major bleeding due to trauma is any bleeding associated with hospitalization or blood transfusion (ICD10 code E83.111) accompanied by any trauma.

    Time frame: One year

Secondary outcomes

  1. The Number of Patients With Cardiac Tamponade and Pericardiocentesis.

    The number of patients with cardiac tamponade and pericardiocentesis. Cardiac tamponade diagnosis (ICD 10 code 4200001) on the same or next day as catheter ablation or percutaneous coronary intervention (PCI), Pericardiocentesis (Medical Data Vision (MDV) procedure code 140010510) on the same or next day as catheter ablation or PCI.

    Time frame: One year

06

Results

Posted Mar 4, 2019
Limitations and caveats
The findings from this study may not be generalizable to other Japanese population outside of Diagnosis Procedure Combination (DPC) hospitals. All information of each patient is from consent giving DPC hospitals.

Participant flow

Non-interventional study based on existing health insurance claims data

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestonePatients Prescribed With Non-warfarin Oral Anti Coagulants
Started53969
Completed53969
Not completed0

Outcome measures

PrimaryThe Number of Patients With Emergency Surgery and Major Bleeding Due to Fracture or Trauma.

The number of patients with emergency surgery and major bleeding due to fracture or trauma. Where emergency surgery defined as any surgical procedure (International Classification of Diseases (ICD) 10 code K000-879) performed on the same day as hospital admission with additional claims, major bleeding due to fracture is any bleeding associated with hospitalization or blood transfusion (ICD10 code E83.111) accompanied by any fracture, and major bleeding due to trauma is any bleeding associated with hospitalization or blood transfusion (ICD10 code E83.111) accompanied by any trauma.

Time frame:
One year
Reported as:
Number · Number of Patients
The Number of Patients With Emergency Surgery and Major Bleeding Due to Fracture or Trauma.
Number of PatientsPatients Prescribed With Non-warfarin Oral Anti Coagulants
Age <=6414
Age 65-7435
Age >=7584
SecondaryThe Number of Patients With Cardiac Tamponade and Pericardiocentesis.

The number of patients with cardiac tamponade and pericardiocentesis. Cardiac tamponade diagnosis (ICD 10 code 4200001) on the same or next day as catheter ablation or percutaneous coronary intervention (PCI), Pericardiocentesis (Medical Data Vision (MDV) procedure code 140010510) on the same or next day as catheter ablation or PCI.

Time frame:
One year
Reported as:
Number · Number of Patients
The Number of Patients With Cardiac Tamponade and Pericardiocentesis.
Number of PatientsPatients Prescribed With Non-warfarin Oral Anti Coagulants
The Number of Patients With Cardiac Tamponade and Pericardiocentesis.1

Adverse events

Collected over No adverse event reporting was done.. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Patients Prescribed With Non-warfarin Oral Anti Coagulants———

Baseline characteristics

Baseline characteristics are based on the number of patients meeting the inclusion and exclusion criteria.

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(Years)Patients Prescribed With Non-warfarin Oral Anti Coagulants
Mean76 ± 10
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Patients Prescribed With Non-warfarin Oral Anti Coagulants
Female21587
Male32382
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Patients Prescribed With Non-warfarin Oral Anti Coagulants
Hispanic or Latino0
Not Hispanic or Latino53969
Unknown or Not Reported0
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Patients Prescribed With Non-warfarin Oral Anti Coagulants
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Asian53969
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
Black or African American0
White0
More than one race0
Unknown or Not Reported0
07

Study locations

1 site
  • Nippon Boehringer Ingelheim Co., Ltd.
    Tokyo, Japan
08

References and documents

Publications

  • Yasaka M, Yokota H, Suzuki M, Yamane T, Ono Y. Incidence Rates of Bleeding and Emergency Surgery Due to Trauma or Fracture Among Japanese Patients with Non-valvular Atrial Fibrillation Receiving Oral Anticoagulation Therapy. Cardiol Ther. 2020 Jun;9(1):189-199. doi: 10.1007/s40119-020-00171-w. Epub 2020 May 11. PubMed 32394292 ↗

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Jul 18, 2017

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: Undecided

09

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT03254147
Lead sponsor
Boehringer Ingelheim
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Aug 18, 2017
Start date
Oct 15, 2017
Primary completion
Oct 30, 2017
Completion
Nov 10, 2017
Results posted
Mar 4, 2019
Last update
Mar 4, 2019

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
FDA-regulated drug
No
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Oct 2018. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion