CClinicalTrials.gg
TerminatedNCT03239470Updated Feb 15, 2024Results posted

Polyclonal Regulatory T Cells (PolyTregs) for Pemphigus

A Phase 1 interventional study of Cohort 1: 1.0 x 10^8 PolyTregs and Cohort 2: 2.5x10^8 PolyTregs in Pemphigus Foliaceus and Pemphigus Vulgaris, sponsored by National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID). Terminated at 4 sites in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years to 75 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2024-02-15.

Sponsored by National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) · Phase 1, Interventional, and Treatment

Why this study was terminated
Lack of recruitment, ongoing and new feasibility issues, and the impact of the coronavirus infectious disease 19 (COVID-19) pandemic
Phase
Phase 1
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
5
Allocation
Non-randomized
Ages
18 Years to 75 Years
Sex
All
01

Study summary

T cells, a type of white blood cell called a lymphocyte, play an important role in the immune system. One subtype, the regulatory T cell (Treg) helps to regulate the immune system and may provide protection against the development of autoimmune disease. The hope is that these naturally occurring Treg cells can be utilized for the treatment of autoimmune disease and potentially replace the use of chronic immunosuppressive therapies that are associated with multiple side effects. There has been a small study showing safe administration of Tregs with decreased disease activity in patients with insulin-dependent diabetes. Tregs are being studied in lupus, cancer and organ transplantation.

This phase I trial will be conducted as an open-label, dose-escalation, multicenter trial in adult participants with active pemphigus.The purpose of this study is to test the safety and effect of Treg therapy in participants who have skin (cutaneous) involvement due to pemphigus.

Read the detailed description

Up to 12 adults between the ages of 18 and 75 years of age who have been diagnosed with pemphigus and meet all other entry criteria will be enrolled to receive one infusion of their own expanded Tregs at one of the following doses:

  • 1.0 x 10\^8 PolyTregs or
  • 2.5 x 10\^8 PolyTregs.

Safety, disease activity, and mechanism of action will be assessed over a three year period, using biospecimens from blood and skin. Study therapy administration will occur during an overnight stay, followed by 2 weekly visits, then monthly visits from Week 8 to Week 12, then quarterly visits from Week 26 to Week 52, then twice a year visits until Week 156.

02

Conditions studied

  • Pemphigus Foliaceus
  • Pemphigus Vulgaris

Browse trials for

Keywords

  • autologous polyclonal regulatory T cell therapy
  • PolyTregs
  • open-label
  • Phase 1 (safety)
03

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years to 75 Years
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • Ability to provide informed consent;
  • Diagnosis of Pemphigus Vulgaris (PV) or Pemphigus Foliaceus (PF), defined by H\&E staining (e.g., Haemotoxylin and Eosin) and direct immunofluorescence staining of skin biopsy at any time prior to enrollment;
  • Pemphigus treated with systemic corticosteroids within the 2 years prior to screening (historic or current), or treated with rituximab ≥ 12 months prior to screening;
  • Presence of:

    • anti-Dsg3 antibodies (>20.0 U/ml) at screening visit consistent with diagnosis of pemphigus vulgaris or,
    • anti-Dsg1 antibodies (>20.0 U/ml) at screening visit consistent with diagnosis of pemphigus foliaceus.
  • Active of PV or PF as defined by Pemphigus Disease Area Index (PDAI) overall activity score 3-10 at screening visit, and PDAI overall activity score 1-12 at baseline visit;
  • Positive test for Epstein-Barr Virus (EBV) antibody;
  • Adequate venous access to support draw of 400 ml whole blood and infusion of investigational therapy; and
  • An absolute Treg count of ≥ 42 cells/μL within 6 weeks prior to whole blood collection at Week -2 (i.e., 2 weeks prior to planned PolyTreg Infusion).

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Initiation of systemic corticosteroid therapy, prednisone dose > 25 mg/d (or equivalent) or change in prednisone dose within 4 weeks prior to screening;
  • Addition of a new medication, or change in the dose of any background medication used to treat any aspect of pemphigus within the timeframes listed below. Specifically:

    • methotrexate, mycophenolate mofetil, mycophenolic acid, azathioprine, cyclosporine or dapsone within the 6 weeks prior to screening or in the time between screening and study drug infusion,
    • intravenous Immunoglobulin (IVIG) within 12 weeks prior to screening or in the time between screening and study drug infusion (subjects on IVIG must be on stable dose for at least 12 weeks prior to screening),
    • treatment with cyclophosphamide within 12 weeks prior to screening or in the time between screening and study drug infusion.
  • Doses of background medications at screening:

    • methotrexate > 25 mg/week,
    • mycophenolate mofetil > 3000 mg/d,
    • mycophenolic acid > 1080 mg/bid,
    • azathioprine > 200 mg/d,
    • cyclosporine > 2 mg/kg/d,
    • dapsone >250 mg/d,or
    • intravenous immunoglobulin (IVIG) > 4mg/kg monthly.
  • Use of rituximab within the 12 months prior to screening;
  • Change in dosing frequency, concentration, or applied surface area of topical steroids and/or topical calcineurin inhibitors within 2 weeks prior to screening;
  • Paraneoplastic pemphigus;
  • Pemphigus erythematosus;
  • Pemphigus vegetans;
  • Immunoglobulin A (IgA) pemphigus;
  • Drug-induced pemphigus;
  • Blood donation within 10 weeks prior to baseline visit (Day 0);
  • Hemoglobin \< 10 g/dL;
  • White blood cell (WBC) count \< 3,000/ mm\^3 (equivalent to \< 3 x10\^9/L);
  • Lymphocyte count \< 800/mm\^3 (equivalent to \< 0.8 x10\^9/L);
  • Absolute neutrophil count \< 1,500/mm\^3 (equivalent to \< 1.5 x10\^9/L);
  • Platelets \< 100,000/mm\^3 (equivalent to \< 100 x 10\^9/L);
  • Liver function test [aspartate aminotransferase (AST)], alanine aminotransferase (ALT), or alkaline phosphatase (ALK)] results that are ≥ 2 times the upper limit of normal (ULN);
  • Direct bilirubin > ULN;
  • End stage renal disease [estimated glomerular filtration rate (eGFR) \< 20 ml/min/1.73m\^2 using the Chronic Kidney Disease Epidemiology Collaboration (CKD-EPI) equation];
  • At or within three months of screening:

    • a positive QuantiFERON(R)-TB Gold test or positive purified protein derivative tuberculin skin test (PPD) [>5mm induration, regardless of Bacille Calmette Guerin (BCG) vaccine administration] unless completion of treatment has been documented for active Tuberculosis (TB),
    • an indeterminate QuantiFERON (R)-TB Gold test unless followed by a subsequent negative PPD or negative QuantiFERON(R)-TB Gold test as well as a consultation with and clearance by local infectious disease (ID) department.
  • Recent or ongoing active bacterial, viral, fungal, or opportunistic infections requiring systemic anti-infective therapy;
  • Evidence of current or prior infection with human immunodeficiency virus (HIV), hepatitis B [as assessed by HBsAg and anti-hepatitis B core antigen (HBc) Ab] or hepatitis C [as assessed by anti-Hepatitis C Virus (anti-HCV) Ab];
  • Detectable circulating EBV or Cytomegalovirus (CMV) genomes or active infection;
  • Chronic infection that is currently being treated with suppressive anti-infective therapy, including but not limited to tuberculosis, pneumocystis, CMV, herpes zoster, and atypical mycobacteria, with the exception of historical orolabial or localized cutaneous herpes simplex infections treated with suppressive anti- viral therapy;
  • Receipt of a live-attenuated vaccine within 12 months prior to screening;
  • Concomitant malignancies or a history of malignancy, with the exception of completely treated basal cell carcinoma of the skin;
  • Pregnancy;
  • Lactating or breastfeeding;
  • Unwilling or unable to use reliable method(s) of contraception:

    • For females of child-bearing potential, from four weeks prior to Day 0 through

      1 year after Treg dosing;

    • For males, from the day of Treg infusion (baseline visit) to three months after Treg infusion.
  • Use of an investigational therapeutic medication, or other biologic medications except rituximab, within the past 90 days, or 5 half-lives prior to screening, whichever is greater;
  • Concomitant medical condition that places the subject at risk by participating in this study, including but not limited to:

    • another severe, systemic autoimmune disease or condition (besides pemphigus) requiring systemic immunosuppressive therapy (e.g., rheumatoid arthritis, Systemic Lupus Erythematosus (SLE), systemic sclerosis, primary Sjogren's syndrome, primary vasculitis, psoriasis, multiple sclerosis, ankylosing spondylitis, and inflammatory bowel disease), or
    • severe, progressive, or poorly controlled renal, hepatic, hematological, gastrointestinal, pulmonary, cardiac, or neurological disease, or
    • history of significant infection or recurrent infection that, in the investigator's opinion, places the subject at risk by participating in this study, or
    • any other concomitant medical condition that, in the investigator's opinion, places the subject at risk by participating in this study.
  • Comorbidities requiring glucocorticoid therapy, including those which have required three or more courses of systemic glucocorticoids within the previous 12 months;
  • Current or history within the past year of substance abuse; or
  • Inability to comply with study and follow-up procedures.
04

Study design

Phase
Phase 1
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Non-randomized
Intervention model
Sequential assignment
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
5 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Cohort 1: 1.0 x 10^8 PolyTregs

    A single intravenous infusion of 1.0 x 10\^8 PolyTregs will be administered.

    Biological: Cohort 1: 1.0 x 10^8 PolyTregs

  • Experimental
    Cohort 2: 2.5x10^8 PolyTregs

    A single intravenous infusion of 2.5x10\^8 PolyTregs will be administered.

    Biological: Cohort 2: 2.5x10^8 PolyTregs

Interventions

  • BiologicalCohort 1: 1.0 x 10^8 PolyTregs

    Each participant will receive a target cell dose of 1.0 x 10\^8 polyclonal Tregs.

    Also known as: Polyclonal Regulatory T Cells, autologous PolyTregs, CD4+CD127lo/negCD25+ PolyTregs

  • BiologicalCohort 2: 2.5x10^8 PolyTregs

    Each participant will receive a target cell dose of 2.5x10\^8 polyclonal Tregs.

    Also known as: Polyclonal Regulatory T Cells, autologous PolyTregs, CD4+CD127lo/negCD25+ PolyTregs

05

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Number of Significant Adverse Events Through Week 52

    Number of significant adverse events, defined as any related National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Toxicity Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) version 4.03 Grade 3 or higher adverse event or any related serious adverse event (SAE). Related is defined as being possibly related or related to the ex vivo expanded autologous PolyTregs, as determined by the safety review committee. An SAE is any untoward medical occurrence that, at any dose\* results in death, is life-threatening, requires hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization, results in disability/incapacity, or is a congenital anomaly/birth defect or is medically significant. \*Polyclonal Tregs: Ex Vivo Expanded Autologous CD4+CD127lo/-CD25+ Polyclonal Regulatory T Cells.

    Time frame: Up to Week 52

Secondary outcomes

  1. Number of Significant Adverse Events

    Number of significant adverse events, defined as any related National Cancer Institute's (NCI's) Common Toxicity Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) version 4.03 Grade 3 or higher adverse event or any related serious adverse event. Related is defined as being possibly related or related to the ex vivo expanded autologous PolyTregs, as determined by the safety review committee.

    Time frame: From the start of investigational product infusion through Week 156.

  2. Number of All Adverse Events

    An adverse event is any untoward or unfavorable medical occurrence in a human subject, including any abnormal sign, symptom, or disease, temporally associated with the subject's participation in the research, whether or not considered related to the subject's participation in the research.

    Time frame: From the start of investigational product infusion through Week 156.

  3. Number of All NCI-CTCAE Grade 3 or Higher Adverse Events

    Adverse events Grade 3 or higher were graded according to the National Cancer Institute's Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events, Version 4.0.

    Time frame: From the start of investigational product infusion through Week 52.

  4. Number of All NCI-CTCAE Grade 3 or Higher Adverse Events

    Adverse events Grade 3 or higher were graded according to the National Cancer Institute's Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events, Version 4.0.

    Time frame: From the start of investigational product infusion through Week 156.

  5. Number of All SAEs

    Number of all serious adverse events, defined as adverse events that result in the following outcomes (21 CFR 312.32(a) and ICH E2A): 1. Death 2. A life-threatening event: An AE or SAR is considered "life-threatening" if, in the view of either the investigator or DAIT, NIAID, its occurrence places the subject at immediate risk of death. It does not include an AE or SAR that, had it occurred in a more severe form, might have caused death. 3. Inpatient hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization 4. Persistent or significant incapacity or substantial disruption of the ability to conduct normal life functions 5. Congenital anomaly or birth defect 6. Important medical event that may not result in death, be life threatening, or require hospitalization may be considered serious when, based upon appropriate medical judgment, it may jeopardize the subject and may require medical or surgical intervention to prevent one of the outcomes listed above.

    Time frame: From the start of investigational product infusion through Week 156.

  6. Number of All Infection Related Events

    If the adverse event was believed to be caused by a viral, bacterial, or fungal organism, regardless of whether it was treated with antibiotics or not, then it was classified as infection related.

    Time frame: From the start of investigational product infusion through Week 156.

  7. Number of All Infusion Reactions

    Defined as any adverse reaction of National Cancer Institute - Common Terminology Criteria Grade 1 and higher occurring within 24 hours of infusion. An adverse reaction means any AE caused by a drug.

    Time frame: Within 24 hours of infusion

  8. Change in Pemphigus Disease Area Index (PDAI) Score From Baseline

    The PDAI consists of a total activity score and a total damage score. The total activity score is a sum of the activity scores for skin, scalp and mucous membrane. The total activity score can range from 0 to 250. The total damage score is a sum of damage scores for skin and scalp. The total damage score can range from 0 to 13. Higher scores represent higher disease activity.

    Time frame: Weeks 1, 2, 8, 12, 26, 39, 52, 78, 104, 130, and 156

  9. Change in Desmoglein 1 and 3 Titers by ELISA From Baseline

    Autoantibodies were measured by Enzyme-Linked Immunosorbent Assays (ELISA). Blood samples were taken from participants at baseline and Weeks 1, 2, 8, 12, 26, 39, 52, 78, 104, 130, and 156. If the desmoglein 1 or desmoglein 3 titer was below the limit of detection, the lower limit of detection at the central lab was imputed. The lower limit of detection for both desmoglein 1 and desmoglein 3 was 2.5 U/mL. Change was calculated as the post-baseline value minus the baseline value. A positive difference reflects an increase in the desmoglein titer value over time; a negative difference reflects a decreased desmoglein titer over time.

    Time frame: Weeks 1, 2, 8, 12, 26, 39, 52, 78, 104, 130, and 156

  10. Number of Participants Experiencing a Relapse/Flare

    Pemphigus relapses/flares were assessed using the consensus definition of 3 or more new lesions a month that do not heal spontaneously within 1 week or by the extension of established lesions in a patient who has achieved disease control.

    Time frame: From the start of investigational product infusion through Week 156.

  11. Time to Relapse (Flare)

    Pemphigus relapses/flares will be assessed using the consensus definition of 3 or more new lesions a month that do not heal spontaneously within 1 week or by the extension of established lesions in a patient who has achieved disease control. Time to flare is defined as the number of days between the date of the flare and the date of the investigational product infusion. Only participants who experienced a flare are summarized.

    Time frame: From the start of investigational product infusion through Week 156.

  12. Number of Participants on Prednisone Dose ≤10 mg/Day

    Defined as the number of participants who were taking 0 mg/day, \>0 and \<=10 mg/day, or \>10 mg/day of prednisone at the time of the associated study visit.

    Time frame: Weeks 12, 26, 39, 52, 78, 104, 130, and 156

06

Results

Posted Nov 22, 2021
Limitations and caveats
Enrollment was stopped early, on May 1, 2020, due to: * Lack of recruitment, * Ongoing and new feasibility issues, including the recent approval of rituximab for treatment of pemphigus, and * The impact of the coronavirus infectious disease 19 (COVID-19) pandemic. No participants were enrolled in Cohort 2.

Participant flow

Ten participants were screened at four sites in the United States, and 5 of those participants initiated blood donation. Enrollment occurred between October 2017 and May 2020. The first participant signed informed consent on October 10, 2017.

Blood Donation
Participant flow — Blood Donation
MilestoneCohort 1: Polyclonal Treg Infusion (PolyTregs) Low DoseCohort 2: Polyclonal Treg Infusion (Poly Tregs) High Dose
Started50
Completed50
Not completed00
Polyclonal Treg Infusion
Participant flow — Polyclonal Treg Infusion
MilestoneCohort 1: Polyclonal Treg Infusion (PolyTregs) Low DoseCohort 2: Polyclonal Treg Infusion (Poly Tregs) High Dose
Started50
Completed40
Not completed10
Withdrew: Baseline pemphigus disease area index (pdai) >12, thus ineligible for polytregs infusion.10

Outcome measures

PrimaryNumber of Significant Adverse Events Through Week 52

Number of significant adverse events, defined as any related National Cancer Institute (NCI) Common Toxicity Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) version 4.03 Grade 3 or higher adverse event or any related serious adverse event (SAE). Related is defined as being possibly related or related to the ex vivo expanded autologous PolyTregs, as determined by the safety review committee. An SAE is any untoward medical occurrence that, at any dose\* results in death, is life-threatening, requires hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization, results in disability/incapacity, or is a congenital anomaly/birth defect or is medically significant. \*Polyclonal Tregs: Ex Vivo Expanded Autologous CD4+CD127lo/-CD25+ Polyclonal Regulatory T Cells.

Time frame:
Up to Week 52
Reported as:
Number · Number of Events
Number of Significant Adverse Events Through Week 52
Number of EventsCohort 1: Polyclonal Treg Infusion (PolyTregs)
Number of Significant Adverse Events Through Week 520
SecondaryNumber of Significant Adverse Events

Number of significant adverse events, defined as any related National Cancer Institute's (NCI's) Common Toxicity Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) version 4.03 Grade 3 or higher adverse event or any related serious adverse event. Related is defined as being possibly related or related to the ex vivo expanded autologous PolyTregs, as determined by the safety review committee.

Time frame:
From the start of investigational product infusion through Week 156.
Reported as:
Number · Number of Events
Number of Significant Adverse Events
Number of EventsPolyclonal Treg Infusion
Number of Significant Adverse Events0
SecondaryNumber of All Adverse Events

An adverse event is any untoward or unfavorable medical occurrence in a human subject, including any abnormal sign, symptom, or disease, temporally associated with the subject's participation in the research, whether or not considered related to the subject's participation in the research.

Time frame:
From the start of investigational product infusion through Week 156.
Reported as:
Number · Number of Events
Number of All Adverse Events
Number of EventsPolyclonal Treg Infusion
Number of All Adverse Events23
SecondaryNumber of All NCI-CTCAE Grade 3 or Higher Adverse Events

Adverse events Grade 3 or higher were graded according to the National Cancer Institute's Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events, Version 4.0.

Time frame:
From the start of investigational product infusion through Week 52.
Reported as:
Number · Number of Events
Number of All NCI-CTCAE Grade 3 or Higher Adverse Events
Number of EventsPolyclonal Treg Infusion
Number of All NCI-CTCAE Grade 3 or Higher Adverse Events0
SecondaryNumber of All NCI-CTCAE Grade 3 or Higher Adverse Events

Adverse events Grade 3 or higher were graded according to the National Cancer Institute's Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events, Version 4.0.

Time frame:
From the start of investigational product infusion through Week 156.
Reported as:
Number · Number of Events
Number of All NCI-CTCAE Grade 3 or Higher Adverse Events
Number of EventsPolyclonal Treg Infusion
Number of All NCI-CTCAE Grade 3 or Higher Adverse Events0
SecondaryNumber of All SAEs

Number of all serious adverse events, defined as adverse events that result in the following outcomes (21 CFR 312.32(a) and ICH E2A): 1. Death 2. A life-threatening event: An AE or SAR is considered "life-threatening" if, in the view of either the investigator or DAIT, NIAID, its occurrence places the subject at immediate risk of death. It does not include an AE or SAR that, had it occurred in a more severe form, might have caused death. 3. Inpatient hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization 4. Persistent or significant incapacity or substantial disruption of the ability to conduct normal life functions 5. Congenital anomaly or birth defect 6. Important medical event that may not result in death, be life threatening, or require hospitalization may be considered serious when, based upon appropriate medical judgment, it may jeopardize the subject and may require medical or surgical intervention to prevent one of the outcomes listed above.

Time frame:
From the start of investigational product infusion through Week 156.
Reported as:
Number · Number of Events
Number of All SAEs
Number of EventsPolyclonal Treg Infusion
Number of All SAEs0
SecondaryNumber of All Infection Related Events

If the adverse event was believed to be caused by a viral, bacterial, or fungal organism, regardless of whether it was treated with antibiotics or not, then it was classified as infection related.

Time frame:
From the start of investigational product infusion through Week 156.
Reported as:
Number · Number of Events
Number of All Infection Related Events
Number of EventsPolyclonal Treg Infusion
Number of All Infection Related Events7
SecondaryNumber of All Infusion Reactions

Defined as any adverse reaction of National Cancer Institute - Common Terminology Criteria Grade 1 and higher occurring within 24 hours of infusion. An adverse reaction means any AE caused by a drug.

Time frame:
Within 24 hours of infusion
Reported as:
Number · Number of Events
Number of All Infusion Reactions
Number of EventsPolyclonal Treg Infusion
Number of All Infusion Reactions5
SecondaryChange in Pemphigus Disease Area Index (PDAI) Score From Baseline

The PDAI consists of a total activity score and a total damage score. The total activity score is a sum of the activity scores for skin, scalp and mucous membrane. The total activity score can range from 0 to 250. The total damage score is a sum of damage scores for skin and scalp. The total damage score can range from 0 to 13. Higher scores represent higher disease activity.

Time frame:
Weeks 1, 2, 8, 12, 26, 39, 52, 78, 104, 130, and 156
Reported as:
Mean · score
Change in Pemphigus Disease Area Index (PDAI) Score From Baseline
scorePolyclonal Treg Infusion
PDAI Total Activity Score at Week 1-1.58 ± 1.179
PDAI Total Activity Score at Week 2-1.15 ± 2.845
PDAI Total Activity Score at Week 8-1.50 ± 3.032
PDAI Total Activity Score at Week 12-0.33 ± 4.392
PDAI Total Activity Score at Week 26-2.87 ± 3.092
PDAI Total Activity Score at Week 39-1.23 ± 6.823
PDAI Total Activity Score at Week 52-3.28 ± 3.323
PDAI Total Activity Score at Week 78-5.08 ± 3.496
PDAI Total Activity Score at Week 104-5.75 ± 4.070
PDAI Total Activity Score at Week 130-3.98 ± 7.617
PDAI Total Activity Score at Week 156-7.23 ± 2.700
PDAI Total Damage Score at Week 10.000 ± 0.816
PDAI Total Damage Score at Week 20.25 ± 1.258
PDAI Total Damage Score at Week 8-1.00 ± 1.414
PDAI Total Damage Score at Week 12-1.00 ± 1.414
PDAI Total Damage Score at Week 26-0.67 ± 1.155
PDAI Total Damage Score at Week 39-0.75 ± 0.957
PDAI Total Damage Score at Week 52-0.50 ± 1.291
PDAI Total Damage Score at Week 78-1.25 ± 1.893
PDAI Total Damage Score at Week 104-1.50 ± 2.380
PDAI Total Damage Score at Week 130-1.25 ± 2.630
PDAI Total Damage Score at Week 156-1.50 ± 2.380
SecondaryChange in Desmoglein 1 and 3 Titers by ELISA From Baseline

Autoantibodies were measured by Enzyme-Linked Immunosorbent Assays (ELISA). Blood samples were taken from participants at baseline and Weeks 1, 2, 8, 12, 26, 39, 52, 78, 104, 130, and 156. If the desmoglein 1 or desmoglein 3 titer was below the limit of detection, the lower limit of detection at the central lab was imputed. The lower limit of detection for both desmoglein 1 and desmoglein 3 was 2.5 U/mL. Change was calculated as the post-baseline value minus the baseline value. A positive difference reflects an increase in the desmoglein titer value over time; a negative difference reflects a decreased desmoglein titer over time.

Time frame:
Weeks 1, 2, 8, 12, 26, 39, 52, 78, 104, 130, and 156
Reported as:
Mean · U/mL
Change in Desmoglein 1 and 3 Titers by ELISA From Baseline
U/mLPolyclonal Treg Infusion
Desmoglein 1 at Week 11.00 ± 1.414
Desmoglein 1 at Week 21.50 ± 2.082
Desmoglein 1 at Week 8-0.50 ± 3.873
Desmoglein 1 at Week 123.50 ± 4.123
Desmoglein 1 at Week 26-7.67 ± 17.786
Desmoglein 1 at Week 39-8.67 ± 15.144
Desmoglein 1 at Week 52-17.00 ± 33.237
Desmoglein 1 at Week 78-20.75 ± 57.968
Desmoglein 1 at Week 104-33.88 ± 68.940
Desmoglein 1 at Week 130-28.75 ± 75.168
Desmoglein 1 at Week 156-28.25 ± 79.943
Desmoglein 3 at Week 1-1.75 ± 1.708
Desmoglein 3 at Week 2-0.50 ± 4.123
Desmoglein 3 at Week 83.00 ± 9.309
Desmoglein 3 at Week 121.25 ± 15.457
Desmoglein 3 at Week 2613.33 ± 27.538
Desmoglein 3 at Week 39-33.50 ± 36.919
Desmoglein 3 at Week 52-30.75 ± 45.966
Desmoglein 3 at Week 78-33.25 ± 49.789
Desmoglein 3 at Week 104-38.88 ± 50.150
Desmoglein 3 at Week 130-34.38 ± 51.406
Desmoglein 3 at Week 156-42.25 ± 49.291
SecondaryNumber of Participants Experiencing a Relapse/Flare

Pemphigus relapses/flares were assessed using the consensus definition of 3 or more new lesions a month that do not heal spontaneously within 1 week or by the extension of established lesions in a patient who has achieved disease control.

Time frame:
From the start of investigational product infusion through Week 156.
Reported as:
Number · participants
Number of Participants Experiencing a Relapse/Flare
participantsPolyclonal Treg Infusion
Number of Participants Experiencing a Relapse/Flare2
SecondaryTime to Relapse (Flare)

Pemphigus relapses/flares will be assessed using the consensus definition of 3 or more new lesions a month that do not heal spontaneously within 1 week or by the extension of established lesions in a patient who has achieved disease control. Time to flare is defined as the number of days between the date of the flare and the date of the investigational product infusion. Only participants who experienced a flare are summarized.

Time frame:
From the start of investigational product infusion through Week 156.
Reported as:
Mean · Days
Time to Relapse (Flare)
DaysPolyclonal Treg Infusion
Time to Relapse (Flare)149.0 ± 181.02
SecondaryNumber of Participants on Prednisone Dose ≤10 mg/Day

Defined as the number of participants who were taking 0 mg/day, \>0 and \<=10 mg/day, or \>10 mg/day of prednisone at the time of the associated study visit.

Time frame:
Weeks 12, 26, 39, 52, 78, 104, 130, and 156
Reported as:
Number · participants
Number of Participants on Prednisone Dose ≤10 mg/Day
participantsPolyclonal Treg Infusion
Number taking 0 mg/day at Week 122
Number taking >0 mg/day and <= 10 mg/day at Week 122
Number taking >10 mg/day at Week 120
Number taking 0 mg/day at Week 262
Number taking >0 mg/day and <= 10 mg/day at Week 262
Number taking >10 mg/day at Week 260
Number taking 0 mg/day at Week 392
Number taking >0 mg/day and <= 10 mg/day at Week 392
Number taking >10 mg/day at Week 390
Number taking 0 mg/day at Week 522
Number taking >0 mg/day and <= 10 mg/day at Week 522
Number taking >10 mg/day at Week 520
Number taking 0 mg/day at Week 782
Number taking >0 mg/day and <= 10 mg/day at Week 782
Number taking >10 mg/day at Week 780
Number taking 0 mg/day at Week 1042
Number taking >0 mg/day and <= 10 mg/day at Week 1042
Number taking >10 mg/day at Week 1040
Number taking 0 mg/day at Week 1302
Number taking >0 mg/day and <= 10 mg/day at Week 1302
Number taking >10 mg/day at Week 1300
Number taking 0 mg/day at Week 1562
Number taking >0 mg/day and <= 10 mg/day at Week 1562
Number taking >10 mg/day at Week 1560

Adverse events

Collected over Adverse Event data were collected during the following time frames: • From time of signing of informed consent until start of investigational product infusion: all SAEs • From start of investigational product infusion until 24 hours post infusion: all NCI-CTCAE Grade 1 and higher AEs • From 24 hours post-infusion until Week 52: all NCI-CTCAE Grade 2 and higher AEs • From Week 52 until Week 156: all SAEs and all NCI-CTCAE Grade 3 and higher AEs. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Polyclonal Treg Infusion0/4 (0%)0/4 (0%)4/4 (100%)
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 19
Most frequent other events
EventPolyclonal Treg Infusion
COVID-19Infections and infestations2/4
Viral upper respiratory tract infectionInfections and infestations2/4
Infusion related reactionInjury, poisoning and procedural complications2/4
LeukopeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders1/4
NeutropeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders1/4
NauseaGastrointestinal disorders1/4
Eye infectionInfections and infestations1/4
Herpes simplexInfections and infestations1/4
Fascial ruptureInjury, poisoning and procedural complications1/4
Procedural painInjury, poisoning and procedural complications1/4

Baseline characteristics

Participants who donated peripheral blood to be processed in a lab that expanded regulatory T cells (Tregs) that, after two weeks, received a single infusion of ex vivo expanded autologous CD4+CD127lo/-CD25+ polyclonal Tregs (PolyTregs). Target cell dose was 1 x 10\^8 PolyTregs.

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)Cohort 1: Polyclonal Treg Infusion (PolyTregs) Low Dose
Mean38.8 ± 14.2
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Cohort 1: Polyclonal Treg Infusion (PolyTregs) Low Dose
Female2
Male2
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Cohort 1: Polyclonal Treg Infusion (PolyTregs) Low Dose
Hispanic or Latino2
Not Hispanic or Latino2
Unknown or Not Reported0
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Cohort 1: Polyclonal Treg Infusion (PolyTregs) Low Dose
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Asian0
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
Black or African American0
White4
More than one race0
Unknown or Not Reported0
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(Participants)Cohort 1: Polyclonal Treg Infusion (PolyTregs) Low Dose
United States4
Type of Pemphigus
Type of Pemphigus(Participants)Cohort 1: Polyclonal Treg Infusion (PolyTregs) Low Dose
Pemphigus Vulgaris3
Pemphigus Foliaceus1
Age at Diagnosis of Pemphigus
Age at Diagnosis of Pemphigus(years)Cohort 1: Polyclonal Treg Infusion (PolyTregs) Low Dose
Mean33.5 ± 16.9
07

Study locations

4 sites
  • University of California San Francisco School of Medicine: Department of Dermatology
    San Francisco, California 94115, United States
  • University of Iowa Health Care: Department of Dermatology
    Iowa City, Iowa 52242, United States
  • Duke University Medical Center: Department of Dermatology
    Durham, North Carolina 27710, United States
  • University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center: Department of Dermatology
    Dallas, Texas 75390, United States
08

References and documents

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Dec 17, 2018

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: Yes — The plan is to share data upon completion of the study in: Immunology Database and Analysis Portal (ImmPort), a long-term archive of clinical and mechanistic data from DAIT-funded grants and contracts.

09

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT03239470
Lead sponsor
National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID)
Collaborators
Autoimmunity Centers of Excellence, Rho Federal Systems Division, Inc.
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Aug 4, 2017
Start date
Oct 10, 2017
Primary completion
Dec 10, 2020
Completion
Jan 9, 2023
Results posted
Nov 22, 2021
Last update
Feb 15, 2024

Study contacts

Haley Naik, MD,MHSc
study chair · University of California San Francisco School of Medicine: Department of Dermatology
Anna Haemel, MD
study chair · University of California San Francisco School of Medicine: Department of Dermatology
Michael Rosenblum, MD, Ph.D.
study chair · University of California San Francisco School of Medicine: Department of Dermatology
Jeffrey Bluestone, Ph.D.
study chair · UCSF School of Medicine: UCSF Diabetes Clinic
David Wofsy, M.D.
study chair · University of California San Francisco School of Medicine: Lupus Clinic and Rheumatology Clinical Research Center

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is terminated, as verified in Feb 2024. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion