CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT03220893Updated Sep 24, 2026Results posted

Molecular Breast Imaging and Digital Breast Tomosynthesis in Screening Patients With Dense Breast Tissue

An interventional study of Digital Breast Tomosynthesis (DBT) and Scintimammography in Breast Carcinoma, sponsored by Mayo Clinic. Completed at 5 sites in United States. Open to female participants aged 40 Years to 75 Years, including healthy volunteers. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2026-09-24.

Sponsored by Mayo Clinic · Not applicable, Interventional, and Diagnostic

Phase
Not applicable
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
3,023
Allocation
Non-randomized
Ages
40 Years to 75 Years
Sex
Female
01

Study summary

This study compares molecular breast imaging (MBI) and digital breast tomosynthesis (DBT) in screening patients with dense breast tissue. Breast imaging may help doctors find breast cancer sooner, when it may be easier to treat. Molecular breast imaging (MBI) uses an injection of a small amount of radioactive material that is taken up in tissues of the body that are actively changing, such as breast cancer. A specialized camera, called a gamma camera, takes pictures of the gamma rays emitted by this material. MBI may detect cancers that are not visible on mammograms. This study may help researchers determine how MBI testing compares to DBT screening.

Read the detailed description

This study includes women age 40-75 who are presenting for breast cancer screening and had mammographically dense breasts on their last mammogram. Participants undergo annual DBT and MBI screening for two years. The primary aim for this study is to compare the rate of detection of invasive cancers between DBT alone vs. the combination of DBT with supplemental MBI at the first year of screening.

02

Conditions studied

  • Breast Carcinoma

Browse trials for

03

In context

Breast Neoplasms

12,543 studies on the registry are indexed under Breast Neoplasms; 2,892 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 3,023 is above the median of 72 across 9,302 interventional studies indexed under Breast Neoplasms.

Browse Breast Neoplasms studies →

Lead sponsor

Mayo Clinic is the lead sponsor of 3,218 studies on the registry; 670 are open to participants now.

Of its 445 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 313 (70%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
40 Years to 75 Years
Sexes eligible
Female
Accepts healthy volunteers
Yes

Inclusion criteria

  • Patient is a consenting female age 40-75 years
  • Patient is scheduled for routine screening DBT
  • Patient is asymptomatic for breast disease
  • Patient had heterogeneously dense or extremely dense breasts on most recent prior mammography examination (Breast Imaging Reporting and Data System [BI-RADS] c or d) within 24 months of enrollment
  • Patient is able to participate fully in all aspects of the study (completing study visits and study data collection)
  • Patient understands and signs the study informed consent
  • Patient anticipates being able to return one year after study enrollment to complete the second round of screening

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Patient is currently pregnant or plans to become pregnant during the course of the study
  • Patient is currently lactating
  • Patient has had a prior MBI
  • Patient has had a prior whole breast ultrasound (WBUS) for screening, with either a hand-held ultrasound probe or automated system, within 12 months prior to study enrollment
  • Patient has had a prior breast MRI
  • Patient has had a prior contrast-enhanced mammogram (contrast enhanced spectral mammography [CESM] or contrast-enhanced digital mammography [CEDM])
  • Patient is concurrently participating in any other breast imaging research studies that involve undergoing additional breast imaging tests beyond routine screening with mammography, including but not limited to contrast-enhanced mammography, WBUS, MBI, or contrast-enhanced breast MRI
  • Patient has had a breast biopsy within 3 months prior to study enrollment
  • Patient has had breast surgery within 12 months prior to study enrollment
  • Patient is currently undergoing treatment for breast cancer or planning surgery for a high-risk breast lesion (atypical ductal hyperplasia [ADH], atypical lobular hyperplasia [ALH], lobular carcinoma in situ [LCIS], papilloma, radial scar)
  • Patient is currently taking a chemoprevention agent for breast cancer risk reduction or osteoporosis prevention (tamoxifen, raloxifene, anastrazole, letrozole, exemestane)
  • Patient has a known history of any condition or factor judged by the investigator to preclude participation in the study or which might hinder study adherence
05

Study design

Phase
Not applicable
Primary purpose
Diagnostic
Allocation
Non-randomized
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
3,023 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    DBT alone

    All participants undergo DBT screening

    Procedure: Digital Breast Tomosynthesis (DBT)

  • Experimental
    DBT + MBI

    All participants undergo DBT screening + supplemental MBI

    Procedure: Digital Breast Tomosynthesis (DBT) · Radiation: Scintimammography

Interventions

  • ProcedureDigital Breast Tomosynthesis (DBT)

    DBT is standard of care breast screening

    Also known as: DBT, Digital Breast Tomosynthesis, Digital Tomosynthesis Mammography, Digital Tomosynthesis of the Breast

  • RadiationScintimammography

    Undergo MBI

    Also known as: Breast-Specific Gamma Imaging, MBI, Miraluma Scan, Miraluma Test, Molecular Breast Imaging, Nuclear Medicine Breast Imaging, sestamibi breast imaging, Sestamibi Scintimammography

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Rate of Detection of Invasive Cancers

    Compare the rate of detection of invasive cancers between DBT alone versus (vs.) the combination of digital breast tomosynthesis (DBT) with supplemental molecular breast imaging (MBI) at initial (year 1) screening. For each modality, the detection rate of invasive cancers will be estimated as the proportion of participants in the analysis set who had an invasive cancer detected by the modality and verified by pathology.

    Time frame: At year 1 screening

07

Results

Posted Feb 3, 2026

Participant flow

Enrollment occurred from June 2017 to July 2022 through consecutive sampling.

DBT Alone
Participant flow — DBT Alone
MilestoneAll Participants
Started2978
Completed2978
Not completed0
DBT + MBI
Participant flow — DBT + MBI
MilestoneAll Participants
Started2978
Completed2978
Not completed0

Outcome measures

PrimaryRate of Detection of Invasive Cancers

Compare the rate of detection of invasive cancers between DBT alone versus (vs.) the combination of digital breast tomosynthesis (DBT) with supplemental molecular breast imaging (MBI) at initial (year 1) screening. For each modality, the detection rate of invasive cancers will be estimated as the proportion of participants in the analysis set who had an invasive cancer detected by the modality and verified by pathology.

Time frame:
At year 1 screening
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Rate of Detection of Invasive Cancers
ParticipantsObservational (MBI, DBT)
Invasive cancers detected by DBT alone9
Additional invasive cancers detected by supplemental MBI14

Adverse events

Collected over 365 days after screening. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
All Participants0/2,978 (0%)0/2,978 (0%)0/2,978 (0%)

Baseline characteristics

2978 participants met eligibility criteria and had both DBT and MBI screening performed

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)All Participants
Mean56.8 ± 9.3
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)All Participants
Female2978
Male0
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)All Participants
American Indian or Alaska Native7
Asian59
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
Black or African American268
White2592
More than one race4
Unknown or Not Reported48
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)All Participants
Hispanic or Latino77
Not Hispanic or Latino2833
Unknown or Not Reported68
08

Study locations

5 sites
  • Henry Ford Hospital
    Detroit, Michigan 48202, United States
  • Mayo Clinic in Rochester
    Rochester, Minnesota 55905, United States
  • Toledo Clinic Cancer Centers-Toledo
    Toledo, Ohio 43623, United States
  • M D Anderson Cancer Center
    Houston, Texas 77030, United States
  • Mayo Clinic Health System-Franciscan Healthcare
    La Crosse, Wisconsin 54601, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Mar 19, 2025
  • Informed consent form · Feb 3, 2022

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Sep 24, 2026, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT03220893
Lead sponsor
Mayo Clinic
Collaborators
Susan G. Komen Breast Cancer Foundation, National Cancer Institute (NCI)
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Jul 18, 2017
Start date
Jun 14, 2017
Primary completion
Jun 30, 2025
Completion
Jun 30, 2025
Results posted
Feb 3, 2026
Last update
Sep 24, 2026

Study contacts

Carrie B. Hruska, M.D.
principal investigator · Mayo Clinic in Rochester

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
FDA-regulated drug
No
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Aug 2026. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion