CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT03201458Updated Apr 5, 2024Results posted

Atezolizumab With or Without Cobimetinib in Treating Patients With Metastatic Bile Duct Cancer That Cannot Be Removed by Surgery or Gallbladder Cancer

A Phase 2 interventional study of Atezolizumab and Biopsy in Gallbladder Carcinoma, Metastatic Cholangiocarcinoma and Stage III Intrahepatic Cholangiocarcinoma AJCC v8, sponsored by National Cancer Institute (NCI). Completed at 41 sites in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2024-04-05.

Sponsored by National Cancer Institute (NCI) · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
86
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

This randomized phase II trial studies how well atezolizumab with or without cobimetinib works in treating patients with bile duct cancer that has spread to other places in the body (metastatic) and cannot be removed by surgery (unresectable) or gallbladder cancer. Immunotherapy with monoclonal antibodies, such as atezolizumab, may help the body's immune system attack the cancer, and may interfere with the ability of tumor cells to grow and spread. Cobimetinib is used in patients whose cancer has a mutated (changed) form of a gene called BRAF. It is in a class of medications called kinase inhibitors. It works by blocking the action of an abnormal protein that signals cancer cells to multiply. This helps slow or stop the spread of cancer cells. Giving atezolizumab with cobimetinib may work better at treating patients with bile duct and gallbladder cancer.

Read the detailed description

PRIMARY OBJECTIVE:

I. To assess the progression free survival (PFS) of patients receiving atezolizumab monotherapy and cobimetinib in combination with atezolizumab for unresectable cholangiocarcinoma.

SECONDARY OBJECTIVES:

I. To assess the overall survival (OS) of patients receiving cobimetinib in combination with atezolizumab and atezolizumab monotherapy for unresectable cholangiocarcinoma.

II. To determine the objective response rate (ORR), defined as complete plus partial response, of cobimetinib in combination with atezolizumab and atezolizumab monotherapy in patients with unresectable cholangiocarcinoma.

III. To assess the safety and tolerability of cobimetinib in combination with atezolizumab and atezolizumab monotherapy in patients with unresectable cholangiocarcinoma.

IV. To determine the relationship between PD-L1 expression in tumor at baseline and on treatment, and response to treatment.

CORRELATIVE OBJECTIVES:

I. To determine the effect of cobimetinib on CD8+ T cell infiltration in tumor. II. To determine the effect of cobimetinib on T cell subpopulations systemically and in tumor, PD-1/PD-L1 expression on tumor, and MHC 1/2 expression.

III. To determine the effect of cobimetinib on markers of immune exhaustion and pro-apoptotic factors in CD8+ effector T cells.

IV. To explore the effect of cobimetinib on local and systemic immune activation pathways and immune suppressive pathways through expression profiling.

OUTLINE: Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 arms.

ARM A: Patients receive atezolizumab intravenously (IV) over 30-60 minutes on days 1 and 15. Cycles repeat every 28 days in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients also undergo computed tomography (CT) or magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) and collection of blood samples throughout the trial and undergo tumor biopsy on study.

ARM B: Patients receive atezolizumab IV over 30-60 minutes on days 1 and 15 and cobimetinib orally (PO) once daily (QD) on days 1-21. Cycles repeat every 28 days in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients also undergo CT or MRI and collection of blood samples throughout the trial and undergo tumor biopsy on study.

After completion of study treatment, patients are followed up every 3 months until death, withdrawal of consent, or study closure, whichever occurs first.

02

Conditions studied

  • Gallbladder Carcinoma
  • Metastatic Cholangiocarcinoma
  • Stage III Intrahepatic Cholangiocarcinoma AJCC v8
  • Stage IV Intrahepatic Cholangiocarcinoma AJCC v8
  • Unresectable Cholangiocarcinoma

Browse trials for

03

In context

Cholangiocarcinoma

914 studies on the registry are indexed under Cholangiocarcinoma; 286 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 86 is above the median of 50 across 687 interventional studies indexed under Cholangiocarcinoma.

Browse Cholangiocarcinoma studies →

Lead sponsor

National Cancer Institute (NCI) is the lead sponsor of 3,506 studies on the registry; 334 are open to participants now.

Of its 402 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 365 (91%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • Pathologically confirmed metastatic or unresectable cholangiocarcinoma or gallbladder carcinoma (GBC), having received at least 1 prior line of systemic therapy, and received no more than 2 prior lines of therapy in the metastatic setting (disease recurrence =\< 6 months from the last dose of adjuvant therapy in resected patients will be considered the first line of therapy)

    • Includes intrahepatic cholangiocarcinoma (IHC), extrahepatic cholangiocarcinoma (EHC), and gallbladder carcinoma (GBC), but not ampulla of vater cancers
  • Patients must have measurable disease, defined as at least one lesion that can be accurately measured in at least one dimension (longest diameter to be recorded for non-nodal lesions and short axis for nodal lesions) as >= 20 mm (>= 2 cm) with conventional techniques or as >= 10 mm (>= 1 cm) with spiral CT scan, MRI, or calipers by clinical exam; assessment must be completed within 4 weeks of randomization
  • Age >= 18 years. Because no dosing or adverse event data are currently available on the use of cobimetinib in combination with atezolizumab in patients \< 18 years of age, children are excluded from this study
  • Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status =\< 1 (Karnofsky >= 80%)
  • Life expectancy of greater than 2 months
  • Leukocytes >= 2,500/mcL (within 2 weeks of randomization)
  • Absolute neutrophil count >= 1,500/mcL (within 2 weeks of randomization)
  • Platelets >= 75,000/mcL (within 2 weeks of randomization)
  • Hemoglobin >= 8 g/dL (within 2 weeks of randomization)
  • Total bilirubin =\< 1.5 x institutional upper limit of normal (ULN) (however, patients with known Gilbert disease who have serum bilirubin level =\< 3 x ULN may be enrolled) (within 2 weeks of randomization)
  • Aspartate aminotransferase (AST) (serum glutamic-oxaloacetic transaminase [SGOT])/alanine aminotransferase (ALT) (serum glutamate pyruvate transaminase [SGPT]) =\< 3 x ULN (within 2 weeks of randomization)
  • Creatinine clearance >= 30 mL/min/1.73 m\^2 by Cockcroft-Gault OR creatinine \< 1.5 x ULN (within 2 weeks of randomization)
  • International normalized ratio (INR) and activated partial thromboplastin time (aPTT) =\< 1.5 x ULN (this applies only to patients who do not receive therapeutic anticoagulation; patients receiving therapeutic anticoagulation, such as low-molecular-weight heparin or warfarin, should be on a stable dose) (within 2 weeks of randomization)
  • Administration of atezolizumab and cobimetinib may have an adverse effect on pregnancy and poses a risk to the human fetus, including embryo-lethality; women of childbearing potential must agree to use either two adequate barrier methods or a barrier method plus a hormonal method of contraception to prevent pregnancy, or to abstain from heterosexual activity (complete abstinence) prior to study entry, for the duration of study participation, and for 5 months (150 days) after the last dose of study agent; should a woman become pregnant or suspect she is pregnant while she or her partner is participating in this study, she should inform her treating physician immediately; male patients must agree to use an adequate method of contraception, or to abstain from heterosexual activity (complete abstinence), prior to study entry, for the duration of study participation, and for 5 months (150 days) after the last dose of study agent
  • Ability to understand and the willingness to sign a written informed consent document
  • Patients positive for human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) are allowed on study, but HIV-positive patients must have:

    • A stable regimen of highly active anti-retroviral therapy (HAART)
    • No requirement for concurrent antibiotics or antifungal agents for the prevention of opportunistic infections
    • A CD4 count above 250 cells/mcL and an undetectable HIV viral load on standard polymerase chain reaction (PCR)-based tests
  • Oxygen saturation >= 92% on room air

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Received chemotherapy or radiotherapy within 3 weeks prior to randomization or those who have not recovered to =\< grade 1 adverse events (other than alopecia) due to agents administered more than 3 weeks earlier; herbal therapy intended as anticancer therapy must be discontinued at least 1 week prior to randomization; for patients who received prior immunotherapy (eg anti-CTLA-4), at least five drug half-lives must have passed before the patient may enroll on this study; however, the following therapies are allowed:

    • Hormone-replacement therapy or oral contraceptives
    • Palliative radiotherapy for bone metastases >= 2 weeks prior to randomization
  • Prior treatment with a MEK inhibitor or ERK inhibitor
  • Prior treatment with any anti-PD-1 or anti-PD-L1 antibody, prior allogeneic bone marrow transplantation, or prior solid organ transplantation
  • Treatment with any investigational agent within 4 weeks prior to cycle 1, day 1, or five drug half-lives (whichever is longer)
  • Treatment with systemic immunosuppressive medications (including, but not limited to, prednisone, cyclophosphamide, azathioprine, methotrexate, thalidomide, and anti-tumor necrosis factor [anti-TNF] agents) within 6 weeks prior to cycle 1 day 1;

    • Patients who have received acute, low dose, systemic immunosuppressant medications (e.g., a one-time dose of dexamethasone for nausea) may be enrolled
    • The use of inhaled corticosteroids and mineralocorticoids (e.g., fludrocortisone) for patients with orthostatic hypotension or adrenocortical insufficiency is allowed
  • Patients with known primary central nervous system (CNS) malignancy or symptomatic CNS metastases, with the following exceptions:

    • Patients with asymptomatic treated CNS metastases may be enrolled, provided all the criteria listed above are met as well as the following:

      • Radiographic demonstration of clinical stability upon the completion of CNS directed therapy and no evidence of interim progression between the completion of CNS directed therapy and the screening radiographic study
      • No stereotactic radiation or whole-brain radiation within 28 days prior to randomization
      • Screening CNS radiographic study >= 4 weeks from completion of radiotherapy and >= 2 weeks from discontinuation of corticosteroids
  • Has a known concurrent malignancy that is expected to require active treatment within two years, or may interfere with the interpretation of the efficacy and safety outcomes of this study in the opinion of the treating investigator; superficial bladder cancer, non-melanoma skin cancers, or low grade prostate cancer not requiring therapy should not exclude participation in this trial
  • Known hypersensitivity to Chinese hamster ovary cell products or other recombinant human antibodies
  • Allergy or hypersensitivity to components of the cobimetinib formulations
  • History of congenital long QT syndrome or corrected QT interval (QTc) > 450 msec within 2 weeks of randomization
  • Left ventricular ejection fraction (LVEF) below institutional lower limit of normal (LLN) or below 50%, whichever is lower, as determined by echocardiogram or multi-gated acquisition (MUGA) scan within 4 weeks of randomization
  • Patients who meet any of the following exclusion criteria related to ocular disease will be excluded from study entry:

    • Known risk factors for ocular toxicity, consisting of any of the following:

      • History of serous retinopathy
      • History of retinal vein occlusion (RVO)
      • Evidence of ongoing serous retinopathy or RVO at screening
  • Patients receiving any medications or substances that are strong inhibitors or inducers of CYP3A4 enzymes are ineligible; these include St. John's wort or hyperforin (potent CYP3A4 enzyme inducer) and grapefruit juice (potent cytochrome P450 CYP3A4 enzyme inhibitor); such substances can significantly increase or decrease the serum level of cobimetinib; as part of the enrollment/informed consent procedures, the patient will be counseled on the risk of interactions with other agents, and what to do if new medications need to be prescribed or if the patient is considering a new over-the-counter medicine or herbal product
  • Known clinically significant liver disease, including active viral, alcoholic, or other hepatitis; cirrhosis; fatty liver; and inherited liver disease

    • Patients with past or resolved hepatitis B infection (defined as having a negative hepatitis B surface antigen [HBsAg] test and a positive anti-HBc [antibody to hepatitis B core antigen] antibody test) are eligible
    • Patients positive for hepatitis C virus (HCV) antibody are eligible only if polymerase chain reaction (PCR) is negative for HCV ribonucleic acid (RNA)
  • History or risk of autoimmune disease, including, but not limited to, systemic lupus erythematosus, rheumatoid arthritis, inflammatory bowel disease, vascular thrombosis associated with antiphospholipid syndrome, Wegener's granulomatosis, Sjogren's syndrome, Bell's palsy, Guillain-Barre syndrome, multiple sclerosis, autoimmune thyroid disease, vasculitis, or glomerulonephritis

    • Patients with a history of autoimmune hypothyroidism on a stable dose of thyroid replacement hormone may be eligible
    • Patients with controlled type 1 diabetes mellitus on a stable insulin regimen may be eligible
    • Patients with eczema, psoriasis, lichen simplex chronicus of vitiligo with dermatologic manifestations only (e.g., patients with psoriatic arthritis would be excluded) are permitted provided that they meet the following conditions:

      • Rash must cover less than 10% of body surface area (BSA)
      • Disease is well controlled at baseline and only requiring low potency topical steroids (e.g., hydrocortisone 2.5%, hydrocortisone butyrate 0.1%, flucinolone 0.01%, desonide 0.05%, aclometasone dipropionate 0.05%)
      • No acute exacerbations of underlying condition within the last 12 months (not requiring psoralen plus ultraviolet A radiation [PUVA], methotrexate, retinoids, biologic agents, oral calcineurin inhibitors; high potency or oral steroids)
  • History of idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis, pneumonitis (including drug induced), organizing pneumonia (i.e., bronchiolitis obliterans, cryptogenic organizing pneumonia, etc.), or evidence of active pneumonitis on screening chest computed tomography (CT) scan; history of radiation pneumonitis in the radiation field (fibrosis) is permitted
  • Severe infections within 4 weeks prior to randomization, including, but not limited to, hospitalization for complications of infection, bacteremia, or severe pneumonia
  • Signs or symptoms of infection within 2 weeks prior to randomization
  • Received oral or intravenous (IV) antibiotics within 2 weeks prior to randomization; patients receiving prophylactic antibiotics (e.g., for prevention of a urinary tract infection or chronic obstructive pulmonary disease) are eligible
  • Major surgical procedure within 4 weeks prior to randomization or anticipation of need for a major surgical procedure during the course of the study
  • Administration of a live, attenuated vaccine within 4 weeks before randomization or anticipation that such a live, attenuated vaccine will be required during the study and up to 5 months after the last dose of atezolizumab

    • Influenza vaccination should be given during influenza season only (approximately October to March); patients must not receive live, attenuated influenza vaccine within 4 weeks prior to cycle 1, day 1 or at any time during the study
  • Uncontrolled intercurrent illness including, but not limited to, ongoing or active infection, active tuberculosis (TB), symptomatic congestive heart failure (CHF), unstable angina pectoris, cardiac arrhythmia, or psychiatric illness/social situations that would limit compliance with study requirements

    • Symptomatic CHF is defined as New York Heart Association (NYHA) CHF class II or higher disease
  • Pregnant women are excluded from this study because both atezolizumab and cobimetinib are expected to cause fetal harm if used during pregnancy; because there is an unknown but potential risk for adverse events in nursing infants secondary to treatment of the mother with cobimetinib or atezolizumab, breastfeeding should be discontinued if the mother is treated with either therapy; these potential risks may also apply to other agents used in this study
  • Inability or unwillingness to swallow pills
  • History of malabsorption syndrome or other condition that would interfere with enteral absorption
  • Clinically significant ascites, defined as ascites that is symptomatic or has resulted in a paracentesis in the past 3 months
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Parallel assignment
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
86 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Arm A (atezolizumab)

    Patients receive atezolizumab IV over 30-60 minutes on days 1 and 15. Cycles repeat every 28 days in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients also undergo CT or MRI and collection of blood samples throughout the trial and undergo tumor biopsy on study.

    Drug: Atezolizumab · Procedure: Biopsy · Procedure: Biospecimen Collection · Procedure: Computed Tomography · Procedure: Magnetic Resonance Imaging

  • Experimental
    Arm B (atezolizumab, cobimetinib)

    Patients receive atezolizumab IV over 30-60 minutes on days 1 and 15 and cobimetinib PO QD on days 1-21. Cycles repeat every 28 days in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients also undergo CT or MRI and collection of blood samples throughout the trial and undergo tumor biopsy on study.

    Drug: Atezolizumab · Procedure: Biopsy · Procedure: Biospecimen Collection · Drug: Cobimetinib · Procedure: Computed Tomography · Procedure: Magnetic Resonance Imaging

Interventions

  • DrugAtezolizumab

    Given IV

    Also known as: MPDL 3280A, MPDL 328OA, MPDL-3280A, MPDL3280A, MPDL328OA, RG7446, RO5541267, Tecentriq

  • ProcedureBiopsy

    Undergo tumor biopsy

    Also known as: BIOPSY_TYPE, Bx

  • ProcedureBiospecimen Collection

    Undergo collection of blood samples

    Also known as: Biological Sample Collection, Biospecimen Collected, Specimen Collection

  • DrugCobimetinib

    Given PO

    Also known as: Cotellic, GDC-0973, MEK Inhibitor GDC-0973, XL518

  • ProcedureComputed Tomography

    Undergo CT

    Also known as: CAT, CAT Scan, Computed Axial Tomography, Computerized Axial Tomography, Computerized axial tomography (procedure), Computerized Tomography, Computerized Tomography (CT) scan, CT, CT Scan, tomography

  • ProcedureMagnetic Resonance Imaging

    Undergo MRI

    Also known as: Magnetic Resonance, Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI), Magnetic resonance imaging (procedure), Magnetic Resonance Imaging Scan, Medical Imaging, Magnetic Resonance / Nuclear Magnetic Resonance, MR, MR Imaging, MRI, MRI Scan, MRIs, NMR Imaging, NMRI, Nuclear Magnetic Resonance Imaging, sMRI, Structural MRI

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Progression Free Survival (PFS)

    PFS within each treatment arm will be summarized descriptively and compared between groups, under the assumption of Cox proportional hazards, using the stratified log-rank test to account for tumor site. Progression is defined using Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST v1.1), as a 20% increase in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions, or a measurable increase in a non-target lesion, or the appearance of new lesions.

    Time frame: From date of randomization to time of progression or death, assessed up to 1 year

Secondary outcomes

  1. Number of Participants With Adverse Events

    Will be assessed using National Cancer Institute's Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events version 5.0. The incidence of AEs will be tabulated by subgroups of interest (e.g. grade 3 or higher, organ class, relationship to study drug). For analyses at the individual level, the highest grade and relationship to study drug will be assumed if multiple events have occurred. Toxicity will be tabulated by type and grade and will be summarized with descriptive statistics.

    Time frame: Up to 1 year

  2. Objective Response Rate

    Defined as the proportion of response evaluable subjects who have a complete response or partial response and will be assessed by Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors version 1.1. Per Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST v1.1) for target lesions: Complete Response (CR), Disappearance of all target lesions; Partial Response (PR), \>=30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions; Overall Response (OR) = CR + PR.

    Time frame: Up to 1 year

  3. Overall Survival

    Results will be summarized descriptively and compared between groups, under the assumption of proportional hazards, using the stratified log-rank test to account for tumor site.

    Time frame: From date of randomization to time of death, assessed up to 1 year

  4. Change in CD8+ Density Within the Tumor

    Change between the pre-treatment tumor biopsy to the on-treatment biopsy collected on day 21.

    Time frame: Day 21

Other outcomes

  1. Number of Participants With PD-L1 Expression

    The number of participants with tumors expressing PD-L1 by 1 percent or more.

    Time frame: Up to 1 year

07

Results

Posted Jul 11, 2023

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneArm A (Atezolizumab)Arm B (Atezolizumab, Cobimetinib)
Started4343
Completed3938
Not completed45
Withdrew: No longer eligible25
Withdrew: Health event before starting10
Withdrew: Physician decision10

Outcome measures

PrimaryProgression Free Survival (PFS)

PFS within each treatment arm will be summarized descriptively and compared between groups, under the assumption of Cox proportional hazards, using the stratified log-rank test to account for tumor site. Progression is defined using Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST v1.1), as a 20% increase in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions, or a measurable increase in a non-target lesion, or the appearance of new lesions.

Time frame:
From date of randomization to time of progression or death, assessed up to 1 year
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Progression Free Survival (PFS)
ParticipantsArm A (Atezolizumab)Arm B (Atezolizumab, Cobimetinib)
Progression free at 1 Year after Randomization03
Progressed or Off Treatment by 1 Year after Randomization3935
Statistical analysis
  • Arm A (Atezolizumab) vs Arm B (Atezolizumab, Cobimetinib) · Log Rank · p = 0.027 (One-sided test) · Hazard ratio (hr): 0.58 · 90% CI 0.35 to 0.93
SecondaryNumber of Participants With Adverse Events

Will be assessed using National Cancer Institute's Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events version 5.0. The incidence of AEs will be tabulated by subgroups of interest (e.g. grade 3 or higher, organ class, relationship to study drug). For analyses at the individual level, the highest grade and relationship to study drug will be assumed if multiple events have occurred. Toxicity will be tabulated by type and grade and will be summarized with descriptive statistics.

Time frame:
Up to 1 year
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants With Adverse Events
ParticipantsArm A (Atezolizumab)Arm B (Atezolizumab, Cobimetinib)
Grade 3 or higher adverse event considered at least possibly related to the study drug(s)1517
No grade 3 or higher adverse events considered at least possibly related to the study drug(s)2421
Statistical analysis
  • Arm A (Atezolizumab) vs Arm B (Atezolizumab, Cobimetinib) · Fisher Exact · p = 0.22 · Odds ratio (or): 2.3
SecondaryObjective Response Rate

Defined as the proportion of response evaluable subjects who have a complete response or partial response and will be assessed by Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors version 1.1. Per Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST v1.1) for target lesions: Complete Response (CR), Disappearance of all target lesions; Partial Response (PR), \>=30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions; Overall Response (OR) = CR + PR.

Time frame:
Up to 1 year
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Objective Response Rate
ParticipantsArm A (Atezolizumab)Arm B (Atezolizumab, Cobimetinib)
Complete Response00
Partial Response11
Stable Disease1013
Clinical or Radiographic Progression2516
SecondaryOverall Survival

Results will be summarized descriptively and compared between groups, under the assumption of proportional hazards, using the stratified log-rank test to account for tumor site.

Time frame:
From date of randomization to time of death, assessed up to 1 year
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Overall Survival
ParticipantsArm A (Atezolizumab)Arm B (Atezolizumab, Cobimetinib)
Alive at 1 year99
Deceased or Lost to Follow Up at 1 year3029
Statistical analysis
  • Arm A (Atezolizumab) vs Arm B (Atezolizumab, Cobimetinib) · Log Rank · p = 0.410 (One-sided test)
SecondaryChange in CD8+ Density Within the Tumor

Change between the pre-treatment tumor biopsy to the on-treatment biopsy collected on day 21.

Time frame:
Day 21
Reported as:
Mean · cells per millimeter squared
Change in CD8+ Density Within the Tumor
cells per millimeter squaredArm A (Atezolizumab)Arm B (Atezolizumab, Cobimetinib)
Change in CD8+ Density Within the Tumor0.719 ± 0.4690.892 ± 0.535
Other pre-specifiedNumber of Participants With PD-L1 Expression

The number of participants with tumors expressing PD-L1 by 1 percent or more.

Time frame:
Up to 1 year
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants With PD-L1 Expression
ParticipantsArm A (Atezolizumab)Arm B (Atezolizumab, Cobimetinib)
1% or more Positivity11
No expression88

Adverse events

Collected over Up to 1 year. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Arm A (Atezolizumab)35/43 (81.4%)32/43 (74.4%)38/43 (88.4%)
Arm B (Atezolizumab, Cobimetinib)35/43 (81.4%)31/43 (72.1%)36/43 (83.7%)
Most frequent serious events
Showing 10 of 74
Most frequent serious events
EventArm A (Atezolizumab)Arm B (Atezolizumab, Cobimetinib)
Disease ProgressionGeneral disorders32/4331/43
Abdominal painGastrointestinal disorders6/434/43
AscitesGastrointestinal disorders0/435/43
FeverGeneral disorders0/435/43
SepsisInfections and infestations1/435/43
VomitingGastrointestinal disorders3/435/43
Biliary duct obstructionHepatobiliary disorders1/434/43
DyspneaRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders2/434/43
HypotensionVascular disorders4/433/43
ColitisGastrointestinal disorders2/433/43
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 80
Most frequent other events
EventArm A (Atezolizumab)Arm B (Atezolizumab, Cobimetinib)
RashSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders4/4330/43
FatigueGeneral disorders20/4324/43
DiarrheaGastrointestinal disorders14/4323/43
Platelet count decreasedInvestigations9/4321/43
HypoalbuminemiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders11/4319/43
VomitingGastrointestinal disorders10/4318/43
Alkaline phosphatase increasedInvestigations12/4317/43
Lymphocyte count decreasedInvestigations13/4317/43
NauseaGastrointestinal disorders12/4317/43
AnemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders13/4316/43

Baseline characteristics

Age, Categorical
Age, Categorical(Participants)Arm A (Atezolizumab)Arm B (Atezolizumab, Cobimetinib)Total
<=18 years145
Between 18 and 65 years322860
>=65 years101121
Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)Arm A (Atezolizumab)Arm B (Atezolizumab, Cobimetinib)Total
Median62 (45 to 86)63 (44 to 80)63 (44 to 86)
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Arm A (Atezolizumab)Arm B (Atezolizumab, Cobimetinib)Total
Female302353
Male132033
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Arm A (Atezolizumab)Arm B (Atezolizumab, Cobimetinib)Total
Hispanic or Latino4812
Not Hispanic or Latino393372
Unknown or Not Reported022
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Arm A (Atezolizumab)Arm B (Atezolizumab, Cobimetinib)Total
American Indian or Alaska Native000
Asian314
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander000
Black or African American527
White333770
More than one race000
Unknown or Not Reported235
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(participants)Arm A (Atezolizumab)Arm B (Atezolizumab, Cobimetinib)Total
United States434386
Subgroup
Subgroup(Participants)Arm A (Atezolizumab)Arm B (Atezolizumab, Cobimetinib)Total
Extrahepatic cholangiocarcinoma (EHC)9918
Gallbladder cancer (GBC)121022
Intrahepatic cholangiocarcinoma (IHC)222446
Height
Height(centimeter (cm))Arm A (Atezolizumab)Arm B (Atezolizumab, Cobimetinib)Total
Median163.4 (142.2 to 190.0)166.4 (151.0 to 182.9)164.9 (142.2 to 190.0)

2 further baseline measures are reported on the registry.

08

Study locations

41 sites
  • City of Hope Comprehensive Cancer Center
    Duarte, California 91010, United States
  • University of California Davis Comprehensive Cancer Center
    Sacramento, California 95817, United States
  • City of Hope South Pasadena
    South Pasadena, California 91030, United States
  • UCHealth University of Colorado Hospital
    Aurora, Colorado 80045, United States
  • Smilow Cancer Hospital-Derby Care Center
    Derby, Connecticut 06418, United States
  • Smilow Cancer Hospital Care Center-Fairfield
    Fairfield, Connecticut 06824, United States
  • Smilow Cancer Hospital Care Center - Guilford
    Guilford, Connecticut 06437, United States
  • Smilow Cancer Hospital Care Center at Saint Francis
    Hartford, Connecticut 06105, United States
  • Smilow Cancer Center/Yale-New Haven Hospital
    New Haven, Connecticut 06510, United States
  • Yale University
    New Haven, Connecticut 06520, United States
  • Yale-New Haven Hospital North Haven Medical Center
    North Haven, Connecticut 06473, United States
  • Smilow Cancer Hospital-Torrington Care Center
    Torrington, Connecticut 06790, United States
  • Smilow Cancer Hospital Care Center-Trumbull
    Trumbull, Connecticut 06611, United States
  • Smilow Cancer Hospital-Waterbury Care Center
    Waterbury, Connecticut 06708, United States
  • MedStar Georgetown University Hospital
    Washington, District of Columbia 20007, United States
  • University of Florida Health Science Center - Gainesville
    Gainesville, Florida 32610, United States
  • Moffitt Cancer Center
    Tampa, Florida 33612, United States
  • Emory University Hospital Midtown
    Atlanta, Georgia 30308, United States
  • Emory University Hospital/Winship Cancer Institute
    Atlanta, Georgia 30322, United States
  • Johns Hopkins University/Sidney Kimmel Cancer Center
    Baltimore, Maryland 21287, United States
  • Massachusetts General Hospital Cancer Center
    Boston, Massachusetts 02114, United States
  • Brigham and Women's Hospital
    Boston, Massachusetts 02115, United States
  • Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
    Boston, Massachusetts 02215, United States
  • Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
    Boston, Massachusetts 02215, United States
  • Wayne State University/Karmanos Cancer Institute
    Detroit, Michigan 48201, United States
  • Siteman Cancer Center at West County Hospital
    Creve Coeur, Missouri 63141, United States
  • Washington University School of Medicine
    Saint Louis, Missouri 63110, United States
  • Siteman Cancer Center-South County
    Saint Louis, Missouri 63129, United States
  • Siteman Cancer Center at Christian Hospital
    Saint Louis, Missouri 63136, United States
  • Siteman Cancer Center at Saint Peters Hospital
    Saint Peters, Missouri 63376, United States
  • Rutgers Cancer Institute of New Jersey
    New Brunswick, New Jersey 08903, United States
  • Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
    New York, New York 10065, United States
  • UNC Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center
    Chapel Hill, North Carolina 27599, United States
  • Duke University Medical Center
    Durham, North Carolina 27710, United States
  • Case Western Reserve University
    Cleveland, Ohio 44106, United States
  • Ohio State University Comprehensive Cancer Center
    Columbus, Ohio 43210, United States
  • Thomas Jefferson University Hospital
    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19107, United States
  • University of Pittsburgh Cancer Institute (UPCI)
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15232, United States
  • Vanderbilt University/Ingram Cancer Center
    Nashville, Tennessee 37232, United States
  • University of Virginia Cancer Center
    Charlottesville, Virginia 22908, United States
  • Virginia Commonwealth University/Massey Cancer Center
    Richmond, Virginia 23298, United States
09

References and documents

Publications

  • Yarchoan M, Cope L, Ruggieri AN, Anders RA, Noonan AM, Goff LW, Goyal L, Lacy J, Li D, Patel AK, He AR, Abou-Alfa GK, Spencer K, Kim EJ, Davis SL, McRee AJ, Kunk PR, Goyal S, Liu Y, Dennison L, Xavier S, Mohan AA, Zhu Q, Wang-Gillam A, Poklepovic A, Chen HX, Sharon E, Lesinski GB, Azad NS. Multicenter randomized phase II trial of atezolizumab with or without cobimetinib in biliary tract cancers. J Clin Invest. 2021 Dec 15;131(24):e152670. doi: 10.1172/JCI152670. PubMed 34907910 ↗

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Oct 10, 2022

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Apr 5, 2024, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT03201458
Lead sponsor
National Cancer Institute (NCI)
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Jun 28, 2017
Start date
Feb 8, 2018
Primary completion
Aug 7, 2020
Completion
Feb 19, 2024
Results posted
Jul 11, 2023
Last update
Apr 5, 2024

Study contacts

Nilofer S Azad
principal investigator · JHU Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center LAO

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Feb 2024. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion