An interventional study of Standard of Care Schedule Variation: SABR and Breast-conserving Surgery in Breast Cancer, Breast Cancer Female and Breast Adenocarcinoma, sponsored by H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute. Terminated at 1 site in United States. Open to female participants aged 50 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2023-02-23.
Sponsored by H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute · Not applicable, Interventional, and Treatment
This study involves a course of radiation to the tumor that is delivered BEFORE surgery. The type of radiation is called stereotactic ablative body radiation therapy (SABR). The purpose of this study is to evaluate the effects, good and/or bad, of pre-operative SABR specifically focusing on its ability to reduce the chances that additional breast surgery will be needed, reducing the amount of breast/heart/lung tissue that is irradiated, and to study the tumor-tissue effects of SABR. The usual treatment for patients with early-stage breast cancer who have breast-conserving treatment (BCT) is to receive radiotherapy AFTER surgery, targeting either the whole breast or part of the breast.
12,543 studies on the registry are indexed under Breast Neoplasms; 2,892 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 20 is below the median of 72 across 9,302 interventional studies indexed under Breast Neoplasms.
Browse Breast Neoplasms studies →H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute is the lead sponsor of 533 studies on the registry; 74 are open to participants now.
Of its 99 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 57 (58%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Exclusion Criteria:
Pre-Surgery SABR: Treatment with Stereotactic Ablative Body Radiation Therapy (SABR) followed by breast-conserving surgery. The usual treatment for patients with early-stage breast cancer who have breast-conserving treatment (BCT) is to receive radiotherapy AFTER surgery, targeting either the whole breast or part of the breast.
Other: Standard of Care Schedule Variation: SABR · Procedure: Breast-conserving Surgery
SABR will be delivered over 3 days, prior to surgery.
Also known as: radiotherapy, Stereotactic Ablative Body Radiation Therapy (SABR)
Breast-conserving surgery will be scheduled for 6-8 weeks after SABR and will be conducted by a Moffitt breast surgeon.
Rate of Pathologic Complete Response (pCR)
Rate of pathologic complete response following pre-operative SABR for early-stage breast carcinoma. pCR: The absence of residual invasive disease in the breast and in the axillary lymph nodes at the completion of the neoadjuvant treatment.
Time frame: 6 weeks post SABR
| Milestone | All Participants |
|---|---|
| Started | 20 |
| Completed | 20 |
| Not completed | 0 |
Rate of pathologic complete response following pre-operative SABR for early-stage breast carcinoma. pCR: The absence of residual invasive disease in the breast and in the axillary lymph nodes at the completion of the neoadjuvant treatment.
| percentage of participants | All Participants |
|---|---|
| Rate of Pathologic Complete Response (pCR) | 0 |
Collected over 1 year, 11 months. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| All Participants | 0/20 (0%) | 0/20 (0%) | 3/20 (15%) |
| Event | All Participants |
|---|---|
| PainGeneral disorders | 2/20 |
| Dermatitis radiationInjury, poisoning and procedural complications | 1/20 |
| Infections and Infestations - OtherInfections and infestations | 1/20 |
| Age, Categorical(Participants) | All Participants |
|---|---|
| <=18 years | 0 |
| Between 18 and 65 years | 9 |
| >=65 years | 11 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | All Participants |
|---|---|
| Female | 20 |
| Male | 0 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | All Participants |
|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 3 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 17 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | All Participants |
|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 |
| Asian | 1 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 |
| Black or African American | 0 |
| White | 19 |
| More than one race | 0 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 |
| Region of Enrollment(participants) | All Participants |
|---|---|
| United States | 20 |
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
This study is terminated, as verified in Feb 2023. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute