CClinicalTrials.gg
Active, not recruitingNCT03126630Updated Apr 1, 2026Results posted

Pembrolizumab With or Without Anetumab Ravtansine in Treating Patients With Mesothelin-Positive Pleural Mesothelioma

A Phase 1/2 interventional study of Anetumab Ravtansine and Laboratory Biomarker Analysis in Pleural Malignant Mesothelioma, sponsored by National Cancer Institute (NCI). Active, not recruiting at 33 sites in 2 countries. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2026-04-01.

Sponsored by National Cancer Institute (NCI) · Phase 1/2, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 1/2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
49
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

This phase I/II trial studies the side effects and how well pembrolizumab with or without anetumab ravtansine works in treating patients with mesothelin-positive pleural mesothelioma. Anetumab ravtansine is a monoclonal antibody, called anetumab, linked to a chemotherapy drug, called ravtansine. Anetumab is a form of targeted therapy because it attaches to specific molecules (receptors) on the surface of cancer cells, known as mesothelin receptors, and delivers ravtansine to kill them. Immunotherapy with monoclonal antibodies, such as pembrolizumab, may help the body's immune system attack the cancer, and may interfere with the ability of tumor cells to grow and spread. Giving pembrolizumab and anetumab ravtansine may work better in treating patients with mesothelin-positive pleural mesothelioma.

Read the detailed description

PRIMARY OBJECTIVES:

I. Determine the dose of anetumab ravtansine that is safe in combination with pembrolizumab to be used in the randomized phase 2 study. (Phase I safety lead-in) II. Determine if the overall response rate of the combination of anetumab ravtansine and pembrolizumab is superior to pembrolizumab alone. (Phase II)

SECONDARY OBJECTIVES:

I. To determine the progression free survival of anetumab ravtansine and pembrolizumab compared to pembrolizumab alone.

II. To evaluate the pharmacodynamic effects of anetumab ravtansine and pembrolizumab on soluble megakaryocyte potentiating factor (MPF).

III. To evaluate the pharmacokinetics of anetumab ravtansine and pembrolizumab. IV. To evaluate mononuclear phagocyte system (MPS) function, FcgammaRs, hormone and chemokine mediators as methods to evaluate factors affecting the pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics of these agents.

V. To determine the incidence of antibodies directed against anetumab ravtansine.

CORRELATIVE STUDY OBJECTIVES:

I. To determine whether elevations in Bim in tumor-reactive T cells (TTR) predict responses to treatment and whether its detection is dynamic with treatment.

II. To determine whether soluble PD-L1 predicts responses to treatment and whether its detection is dynamic with treatment.

III. To evaluate PD-L1 expression in archival tissue as a predictive marker of response to pembrolizumab-based therapy.

IV. To explore the symptomatic adverse events (AE) for tolerability of each treatment group using Patient Reported Outcomes (PRO)-Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE).

OUTLINE: Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 groups.

GROUP I: Patients receive pembrolizumab intravenously (IV) over 30 minutes on day 1. Cycles repeat every 21 days for up to 24 months in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Upon radiologic documentation of disease progression, patients may cross over to Group II.

GROUP II: Patients receive anetumab ravtansine IV over 1 hour and pembrolizumab IV over 30 minutes on day 1. Cycles repeat every 21 days for up to 12 months for anetumab ravtansine and up to 24 months for pembrolizumab in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

After completion of study treatment, patients are followed up for 12 months.

02

Conditions studied

  • Pleural Malignant Mesothelioma
03

In context

Mesothelioma, Malignant

409 studies on the registry are indexed under Mesothelioma, Malignant; 71 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 49 is above the median of 37 across 329 interventional studies indexed under Mesothelioma, Malignant.

Browse Mesothelioma, Malignant studies →

Lead sponsor

National Cancer Institute (NCI) is the lead sponsor of 3,506 studies on the registry; 334 are open to participants now.

Of its 402 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 365 (91%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • PRE-REGISTRATION
  • Patients must have histologically or cytologically confirmed malignant pleural mesothelioma
  • Patient is willing to submit a tissue sample to test for expression of mesothelin

    • Note: Tissue sample for mesothelin assay may have been collected prior to, during or after receipt of the frontline chemotherapy; patients will not be required to submit another tissue sample after receipt of the chemotherapy
  • Patients must have received platinum based chemotherapy
  • REGISTRATION
  • For phase 2 only:
  • Patient has measurable disease per Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) 1.1 for non-pleural disease or modified RECIST 1.1 (mRECIST) for pleural disease

    • Note: For pleural disease, this is defined as at least one lesion that can be accurately measured perpendicular to the chest wall or mediastinum that is >= 10 mm (>= 1 cm); for extra pleural disease, measurable disease is defined as at least one lesion that can be accurately measured in at least one dimension (longest diameter to be recorded for non-nodal lesions and short axis for nodal lesions) as >= 10 mm (>= 1 cm) for non-nodal lesions and >= 15 mm (>= 1.5 cm) for nodal lesions with spiral computed tomography (CT) scan, magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), or calipers by clinical exam as per RECIST 1.1
  • Tissue submitted for testing at pre-registration shows moderate or stronger mesothelin expression in >= 30% of the tumor cells
  • For phase 1 and 2:
  • Patients must have received platinum-based therapy with or without bevacizumab
  • Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status \< 2 (Karnofsky >= 70%)
  • Leukocytes >= 3,000/mcL
  • Absolute neutrophil count >= 1,500/mcL
  • Platelets >= 100,000/mcL
  • Total bilirubin within normal institutional limits
  • Aspartate aminotransferase (AST) (serum glutamic-oxaloacetic transaminase [SGOT])/alanine aminotransferase (ALT) (serum glutamate pyruvate transaminase [SGPT]) =\< 2.5 x institutional upper limit of normal (ULN)
  • Creatinine within normal institutional limits OR creatinine clearance >= 60 mL/min/1.73 m\^2 for patients with creatinine levels above institutional normal
  • International normalized ratio (INR) or prothrombin time (PT) =\< 1.5 x ULN AND partial thromboplastin time (PTT) or activated PTT (aPTT) =\< 1.5 x ULN, unless patient is on stable dose of anti-coagulation therapy in which case patients will be allowed to participate if they have no signs of bleeding or clotting and the INR/PT and PTT/aPTT results are compatible with an acceptable risk-benefit ratio as per the investigator's discretion
  • Negative serum pregnancy test for females of child bearing potential

    • Note: Females are considered to not be of child bearing potential if any of the following apply:
    • Postmenopausal (defined as at least 12 months with no menses without an alternative medical cause; in women \< 45 years of age, a high follicle stimulating hormone [FSH] level in the postmenopausal range may be used to confirm a postmenopausal state in women not using hormonal contraception or hormonal replacement therapy; in the absence of 12 months of amenorrhea, a single FSH measurement is insufficient);
    • Have had a hysterectomy and/or bilateral oophorectomy, bilateral salpingectomy or bilateral tubal ligation/occlusion, at least 6 weeks prior to screening;
    • Has a congenital or acquired condition that prevents childbearing
  • Patient agrees to use one of the following acceptable methods of contraception prior to study entry, during study participation, and for at least six months after receiving the last dose of study treatment:

    • Acceptable methods of contraception are:

      • Single method (1 of the following is acceptable):

        • Abstinence, if consistently employed as the patient's preferred and usual lifestyle and if considered acceptable by local regulatory agencies and Institutional Review Boards (IRBs)
        • Intrauterine device (IUD)
        • Vasectomy of a female patient's male partner
        • Contraceptive rod implanted into the skin
      • Combination method (requires use of 2 of the following):

        • Diaphragm with spermicide (cannot be used in conjunction with cervical cap/spermicide)
        • Cervical cap with spermicide (nulliparous women only)
        • Contraceptive sponge (nulliparous women only)
        • Male condom or female condom (cannot be used together)
        • Hormonal contraceptive: oral contraceptive pill (estrogen/progestin pill or progestin-only pill), contraceptive skin patch, vaginal contraceptive ring, or subcutaneous contraceptive injection
  • Ability to understand and the willingness to sign a written informed consent document, unless patient is of impaired decision making capacity in which case patient may be eligible if they have a legal authorized representative or caretaker available

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Patients who have received any monoclonal antibody therapy within 4 weeks prior to entering the study
  • Patients who have not recovered from adverse events due to prior anti-cancer therapy (i.e., have residual toxicities > grade 1)

    • Note: Patients with =\< grade 2 neuropathy or =\< grade 2 alopecia are an exception to this criterion and may qualify for the study
    • Note: If patients received major surgery, they must have recovered adequately from the toxicity and/or complications from the intervention prior to starting therapy
  • Patients who are receiving any other investigational agents
  • Patients with known brain metastases with progressive neurologic dysfunction, requirement of steroids and lack of improvement on head imaging obtained prior to consent to this clinical trial should be excluded because of their poor prognosis and because they would confound the evaluation of neurologic and other adverse events

    • Note: Patients with previously treated brain metastases may participate provided they are stable (without evidence of progression by imaging using the identical imaging modality for each assessment, either magnetic resonance imaging [MRI] or computed tomography [CT] scan, for at least 4 weeks prior to the first dose of trial treatment and any neurologic symptoms have returned to baseline), have no evidence of new or enlarging brain metastases, and are not using steroids for at least 7 days prior to trial treatment
    • Note: Patients with carcinomatosis meningitis should also be excluded
  • History of allergic reactions attributed to compounds of similar chemical or biologic composition to anetumab ravtansine or pembrolizumab
  • Patients receiving any medications or substances that are strong inhibitors or inducers of CYP3A4, including herbal preparation containing CYP3A4 inducers (e.g., St. John's Wort), grapefruit and grapefruit juice (CYP3A4 inhibitor), within 2 weeks before the start of study treatment
  • Patients are prohibited from receiving the following therapies during the screening and treatment phases (including retreatment for post-complete response relapse) of this trial:

    • Antineoplastic systemic chemotherapy or biological therapy
    • Immunotherapy not specified in this protocol
    • Chemotherapy not specified in this protocol
    • Investigational agents other than anetumab ravtansine and pembrolizumab
    • Radiation therapy (Note: Radiation therapy to a symptomatic solitary lesion or to the brain may be considered on an exceptional case by case basis after consultation with Cancer Therapy Evaluation Program (CTEP); the patient must have clear measurable disease outside the radiated field; administration of palliative radiation therapy will be considered clinical progression for the purposes of determining progression free survival [PFS])
    • Live vaccines within 30 days prior to the first dose of trial treatment and while participating in the trial; examples of live vaccines include, but are not limited to, the following: measles, mumps, rubella, chicken pox, yellow fever, rabies, Bacillus Chalmette-Guerin (BCG), and typhoid (oral) vaccine; seasonal influenza vaccines for injection are generally killed virus vaccines and are allowed; however, intranasal influenza vaccines (e.g., Flu-Mist) are live attenuated vaccines, and are not allowed
    • Systemic glucocorticoids for any purpose other than to modulate symptoms from an event of suspected immunologic etiology; the use of physiologic doses of corticosteroids may be approved after consultation with the study principal investigator (PI) and CTEP
  • Uncontrolled intercurrent illness including, but not limited to, ongoing or active infection, symptomatic congestive heart failure, unstable angina pectoris, cardiac arrhythmia, or psychiatric illness/social situations that would limit compliance with study requirements
  • Women who are pregnant or breastfeeding.

    • Note: Pregnant women are excluded from this study because anetumab ravtansine and pembrolizumab are agents with the potential for teratogenic or abortifacient effects; because there is an unknown but potential risk for adverse events in nursing infants secondary to treatment of the mother with anetumab ravtansine and pembrolizumab, breastfeeding should be discontinued if the mother is treated with anetumab ravtansine or pembrolizumab
  • Human immunodeficiency virus (HIV)-positive patients who do not meet all of the following and/or are on HIV medications considered to be strong inhibitors or inducers of CYP3A4:

    • Undetectable HIV viral load by standard clinical assay within 6 months of registration
    • Willing to adhere to antiretroviral therapy that has minimal overlapping toxicity or pharmacokinetic interactions with protocol therapy
    • No acquired immunodeficiency syndrome (AIDS)-defining events other within the past 12 months
    • Near normal life expectancy if not for the presence of the cancer
  • Has a known history of hepatitis B (defined as hepatitis B surface antigen [HBsAg] reactive) or known active hepatitis C virus (defined as HCV ribonucleic acid [RNA] [qualitative] is detected) infection

    • Note: No testing for hepatitis B and hepatitis C is required unless mandated by local health authority
  • Patients who are known to have a history of or a finding of corneal epitheliopathy at pre-study are excluded because anetumab ravtansine may worsen this condition and reduce vision
  • Known additional malignancy that is progressing or requires active treatment; exceptions include basal cell carcinoma of the skin, squamous cell carcinoma of the skin that has undergone potentially curative therapy, or in situ cervical cancer
  • Receipt of transfusion of blood products (including platelets or red blood cells) or administration of colony stimulating factors (including granulocyte colony-stimulating factor [G-CSF], granulocyte macrophage colony-stimulating factor [GM-CSF], or recombinant erythropoietin) within 4 weeks prior to study treatment
  • Patient with active interstitial lung disease (ILD)/pneumonitis or a prior history of ILD/pneumonitis requiring treatment with steroids
  • Patient has received prior treatment with PD-1, PD-L1 or PD-L2 inhibitor
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 1 / Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Crossover assignment
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
49 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Active comparator
    Group I (pembrolizumab)

    Patients receive pembrolizumab IV over 30 minutes on day 1. Cycles repeat every 21 days for up to 24 months in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Upon radiologic documentation of disease progression, patients may cross over to Group II.

    Other: Laboratory Biomarker Analysis · Biological: Pembrolizumab · Other: Pharmacological Study

  • Experimental
    Group II (anetumab ravtansine, pembrolizumab)

    Patients receive anetumab ravtansine IV over 1 hour and pembrolizumab IV over 30 minutes on day 1. Cycles repeat every 21 days for up to 12 months for anetumab ravtansine and up to 24 months for pembrolizumab in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

    Biological: Anetumab Ravtansine · Other: Laboratory Biomarker Analysis · Biological: Pembrolizumab · Other: Pharmacological Study

Interventions

  • BiologicalAnetumab Ravtansine

    Given IV

    Also known as: BAY 94-9343

  • OtherLaboratory Biomarker Analysis

    Correlative studies

  • BiologicalPembrolizumab

    Given IV

    Also known as: BCD-201, GME 751, GME751, Keytruda, Lambrolizumab, MK 3475, MK-3475, MK3475, Pembrolizumab Biosimilar BCD-201, Pembrolizumab Biosimilar GME751, Pembrolizumab Biosimilar QL2107, Pembrolizumab Biosimilar RPH-075, Pembrolizumab Biosimilar SB27, QL2107, RPH 075, RPH-075, RPH075, SB 27, SB-27, SB27, SCH 900475, SCH-900475, SCH900475

  • OtherPharmacological Study

    Correlative studies

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Phase 2 Confirmed Tumor Response Rate (Phase II)

    Will be assessed using Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors version 1.1 criteria. The proportion of successes will be estimated in each group by the number of successes divided by the total number of evaluable patients. Confidence intervals for the true success proportion will be calculated in each arm. Comparison of confirmed response rates between the two treatment groups will be performed using a one-sided z-test with pooled variance at significance level 0.10. Per Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST v1.0) for target lesions and assessed by MRI: Complete Response (CR), Disappearance of all target lesions; Partial Response (PR), \>=30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions; Overall Response (OR) = CR + PR.

    Time frame: Up to 2 years

  2. Phase I - Recommended Phase 2 Dose of Ametumab Ravtansine With Combination of Pembrolizumab

    All patients that have received any amount of the combination anetumab ravtansine and pembrolizumab will be evaluable for toxicity. Please note this is different from the definition of evaluable for dose-limiting toxicity (DLT) where patients who cannot complete the planned dose due to reasons other than toxicity will be replaced.

    Time frame: Up to 2 years

Secondary outcomes

  1. Phase 2 Duration of Response

    Will be defined as evaluable patients who achieved noted to be a partial response or complete response based Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors version 1.1 criteria. Will be estimated using the method of Kaplan-Meier. The comparison of duration of response between two treatment arms will be based on the log-rank test. This calculation will start with the date of start of treatment.

    Time frame: Up to 2 years

  2. Phase 2 Overall Survival

    Will be estimated using the method of Kaplan-Meier. The comparison of overall survival in event of death between two treatment arms will be based on the log-rank test.

    Time frame: From the start of treatment to death due to any cause, assessed up to 2 years

  3. Phase 2 Progression Free Survival

    Will be estimated using the method of Kaplan-Meier. The comparison of progression-free survival between two treatment arms will be based on the log-rank test. Progression is defined using Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST v1.0), as a 20% increase in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions, or a measurable increase in a non-target lesion, or the appearance of new lesions

    Time frame: From the start of treatment to the earliest date of documentation of disease progression or death due to any cause, assessed up to 2 years

  4. Pharmacokinetics of Anetumab Ravtansine

    Will be largely descriptive. Changes over time will be plotted and assessed for each patient.

    Time frame: Days 1 and 3 of courses 1 and 8

  5. Change in Megakaryocyte Potentiating Factor Levels Assessed in Tumor

    Relative changes in biomarker levels will be compared by best overall response groups using the non-parametric Wilcoxon rank-sum test. Also, the associations between changes in megakaryocyte potentiating factor levels and ordered response categories (i.e. complete response-partial response-stable disease-progressive disease) will be assessed with the Jonckheere-Terpstra test for trend.

    Time frame: Baseline up to 2 years

  6. Mononuclear Phagocyte System -FcgammaRs and Chemokine Mediators of Mononuclear Phagocyte System

    The mean equivalent soluble fluorophore and antibody bound to cell (ABC) will be determined for each specimen. Linear regression will be used to explore the linear relationship between the continuous values of these mononuclear phagocyte system-FcgammaRs probes and anetumab ravtansine levels. The concentrations of CCL2 and CCL5 will be determined for each specimen. Linear regression will be used to explore the linear relationship between the continuous values of these chemokines and anetumab ravtansine levels.

    Time frame: Up to 2 years

  7. Incidence of Adverse Events

    To explore the symptomatic adverse events (AE) for tolerability of each treatment group using Patient Reported Outcomes (PRO)-Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE).

    Time frame: Up to 2 years

07

Results

Posted Oct 16, 2024

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestonePhase 2 Group I (Pembrolizumab)Phase 2 Group II (Anetumab Ravtansine, Pembrolizumab)Phase 1 Cohort Dose Level 1
Started181813
Completed181713
Not completed010

Outcome measures

PrimaryPhase 2 Confirmed Tumor Response Rate (Phase II)

Will be assessed using Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors version 1.1 criteria. The proportion of successes will be estimated in each group by the number of successes divided by the total number of evaluable patients. Confidence intervals for the true success proportion will be calculated in each arm. Comparison of confirmed response rates between the two treatment groups will be performed using a one-sided z-test with pooled variance at significance level 0.10. Per Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST v1.0) for target lesions and assessed by MRI: Complete Response (CR), Disappearance of all target lesions; Partial Response (PR), \>=30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions; Overall Response (OR) = CR + PR.

Time frame:
Up to 2 years
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Phase 2 Confirmed Tumor Response Rate (Phase II)
ParticipantsGroup I (Pembrolizumab)Group II (Anetumab Ravtansine, Pembrolizumab)
NE24
PD (Preliminary)62
PD (Confirmed)31
SD59
PR (Confirmed)12
Statistical analysis
  • Group I (Pembrolizumab) vs Group II (Anetumab Ravtansine, Pembrolizumab) · Chi-squared · p = 0.27541
PrimaryPhase I - Recommended Phase 2 Dose of Ametumab Ravtansine With Combination of Pembrolizumab

All patients that have received any amount of the combination anetumab ravtansine and pembrolizumab will be evaluable for toxicity. Please note this is different from the definition of evaluable for dose-limiting toxicity (DLT) where patients who cannot complete the planned dose due to reasons other than toxicity will be replaced.

Time frame:
Up to 2 years
Reported as:
Number · mg/kg IV
Phase I - Recommended Phase 2 Dose of Ametumab Ravtansine With Combination of Pembrolizumab
mg/kg IVPhase 1 Cohort: Anetumab Ravtansine & MK-3475
Phase I - Recommended Phase 2 Dose of Ametumab Ravtansine With Combination of Pembrolizumab6.5
SecondaryPhase 2 Duration of Response

Will be defined as evaluable patients who achieved noted to be a partial response or complete response based Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors version 1.1 criteria. Will be estimated using the method of Kaplan-Meier. The comparison of duration of response between two treatment arms will be based on the log-rank test. This calculation will start with the date of start of treatment.

Time frame:
Up to 2 years

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

SecondaryPhase 2 Overall Survival

Will be estimated using the method of Kaplan-Meier. The comparison of overall survival in event of death between two treatment arms will be based on the log-rank test.

Time frame:
From the start of treatment to death due to any cause, assessed up to 2 years
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Phase 2 Overall Survival
ParticipantsGroup I (Pembrolizumab)Group II (Anetumab Ravtansine, Pembrolizumab)
Phase 2 Overall Survival02
Statistical analysis
  • Group I (Pembrolizumab) · Log Rank · p = 0.1936 · Hazard ratio (hr): 0.0
SecondaryPhase 2 Progression Free Survival

Will be estimated using the method of Kaplan-Meier. The comparison of progression-free survival between two treatment arms will be based on the log-rank test. Progression is defined using Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST v1.0), as a 20% increase in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions, or a measurable increase in a non-target lesion, or the appearance of new lesions

Time frame:
From the start of treatment to the earliest date of documentation of disease progression or death due to any cause, assessed up to 2 years
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Phase 2 Progression Free Survival
ParticipantsGroup I (Pembrolizumab)Group II (Anetumab Ravtansine, Pembrolizumab)
Phase 2 Progression Free Survival109
Statistical analysis
  • Group I (Pembrolizumab) vs Group II (Anetumab Ravtansine, Pembrolizumab) · Log Rank · p = 0.1952 · Hazard ratio (hr): 1.81 · 95% CI 0.73 to 4.51
SecondaryPharmacokinetics of Anetumab Ravtansine

Will be largely descriptive. Changes over time will be plotted and assessed for each patient.

Time frame:
Days 1 and 3 of courses 1 and 8

Results for this outcome have not been posted.

SecondaryChange in Megakaryocyte Potentiating Factor Levels Assessed in Tumor

Relative changes in biomarker levels will be compared by best overall response groups using the non-parametric Wilcoxon rank-sum test. Also, the associations between changes in megakaryocyte potentiating factor levels and ordered response categories (i.e. complete response-partial response-stable disease-progressive disease) will be assessed with the Jonckheere-Terpstra test for trend.

Time frame:
Baseline up to 2 years

Results for this outcome have not been posted.

SecondaryMononuclear Phagocyte System -FcgammaRs and Chemokine Mediators of Mononuclear Phagocyte System

The mean equivalent soluble fluorophore and antibody bound to cell (ABC) will be determined for each specimen. Linear regression will be used to explore the linear relationship between the continuous values of these mononuclear phagocyte system-FcgammaRs probes and anetumab ravtansine levels. The concentrations of CCL2 and CCL5 will be determined for each specimen. Linear regression will be used to explore the linear relationship between the continuous values of these chemokines and anetumab ravtansine levels.

Time frame:
Up to 2 years

Results for this outcome have not been posted.

SecondaryIncidence of Adverse Events

To explore the symptomatic adverse events (AE) for tolerability of each treatment group using Patient Reported Outcomes (PRO)-Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE).

Time frame:
Up to 2 years

Results for this outcome have not been posted.

Adverse events

Collected over Up to 2 years. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Phase 2 Group I (Pembrolizumab)1/17 (5.9%)1/17 (5.9%)17/17 (100%)
Phase 2 Group II (Anetumab Ravtansine, Pembrolizumab)2/18 (11.1%)2/18 (11.1%)18/18 (100%)
Phase 1 Cohort DLT 11/13 (7.7%)1/13 (7.7%)13/13 (100%)
Most frequent serious events
Most frequent serious events
EventPhase 2 Group I (Pembrolizumab)Phase 2 Group II (Anetumab Ravtansine, Pembrolizumab)Phase 1 Cohort DLT 1
Neoplasms benign, mal, uncpec - Oth specNeoplasms benign, malignant and unspecified (incl cysts and polyps)1/170/181/13
Death NOSGeneral disorders0/171/180/13
Gen disord and admin site conds-Oth specGeneral disorders0/171/180/13
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 165
Most frequent other events
EventPhase 2 Group I (Pembrolizumab)Phase 2 Group II (Anetumab Ravtansine, Pembrolizumab)Phase 1 Cohort DLT 1
NauseaGastrointestinal disorders3/1713/186/13
FatigueGeneral disorders8/1712/189/13
Aspartate aminotransferase increasedInvestigations4/1711/188/13
DiarrheaGastrointestinal disorders4/1711/187/13
AnemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders7/177/187/13
Alanine aminotransferase increasedInvestigations3/177/187/13
Alkaline phosphatase increasedInvestigations4/179/187/13
AnorexiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders2/175/187/13
HypoalbuminemiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders7/179/185/13
Peripheral sensory neuropathyNervous system disorders1/179/184/13

Baseline characteristics

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)Phase 2 Group I (Pembrolizumab)Phase 2 Group II (Anetumab Ravtansine, Pembrolizumab)Phase 1 Cohort DLT 1: Anetumab Ravtansine & MK-3475Total
Median70.0 (46.0 to 85.0)67.5 (23.0 to 88.0)72 (48 to 81)68.0 (23.0 to 88.0)
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Phase 2 Group I (Pembrolizumab)Phase 2 Group II (Anetumab Ravtansine, Pembrolizumab)Phase 1 Cohort DLT 1: Anetumab Ravtansine & MK-3475Total
Female66416
Male1112932
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Phase 2 Group I (Pembrolizumab)Phase 2 Group II (Anetumab Ravtansine, Pembrolizumab)Phase 1 Cohort DLT 1: Anetumab Ravtansine & MK-3475Total
Hispanic or Latino0112
Not Hispanic or Latino1617538
Unknown or Not Reported1078
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Phase 2 Group I (Pembrolizumab)Phase 2 Group II (Anetumab Ravtansine, Pembrolizumab)Phase 1 Cohort DLT 1: Anetumab Ravtansine & MK-3475Total
American Indian or Alaska Native0000
Asian2204
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0000
Black or African American0000
White14161141
More than one race0000
Unknown or Not Reported1023
Histologic Grade
Histologic Grade(Participants)Phase 2 Group I (Pembrolizumab)Phase 2 Group II (Anetumab Ravtansine, Pembrolizumab)Phase 1 Cohort DLT 1: Anetumab Ravtansine & MK-3475Total
Borderline malignancy0101
Grade cannot be assessed108725
Poorly Differentiated1113
Well Differentiated1001
Missing58518
Disease Stage
Disease Stage(Participants)Phase 2 Group I (Pembrolizumab)Phase 2 Group II (Anetumab Ravtansine, Pembrolizumab)Phase 1 Cohort DLT 1: Anetumab Ravtansine & MK-3475Total
Stage IA2002
Stage IB3003
Stage II0112
Stage III1203
Stage IIIB0516
Stage IV88622
Missing32510
Weight
Weight(kg)Phase 2 Group I (Pembrolizumab)Phase 2 Group II (Anetumab Ravtansine, Pembrolizumab)Phase 1 Cohort DLT 1: Anetumab Ravtansine & MK-3475Total
Mean77.2 (48.8 to 100.2)80.1 (53.2 to 108.0)85.0 (51.8 to 173)80.4 (48.8 to 173)
Height
Height(cm)Phase 2 Group I (Pembrolizumab)Phase 2 Group II (Anetumab Ravtansine, Pembrolizumab)Phase 1 Cohort DLT 1: Anetumab Ravtansine & MK-3475Total
Mean168.4 (152.8 to 188.0)173.1 (152.0 to 188.0)167.3 (90.9 to 196)169.2 (90.9 to 196)

2 further baseline measures are reported on the registry.

08

Study locations

33 sites
  • University of Alabama at Birmingham Cancer Center
    Birmingham, Alabama 35233, United States
  • Mayo Clinic Hospital in Arizona
    Phoenix, Arizona 85054, United States
  • Mayo Clinic in Arizona
    Scottsdale, Arizona 85259, United States
  • City of Hope Comprehensive Cancer Center
    Duarte, California 91010, United States
  • UC San Diego Moores Cancer Center
    La Jolla, California 92093, United States
  • Los Angeles General Medical Center
    Los Angeles, California 90033, United States
  • USC / Norris Comprehensive Cancer Center
    Los Angeles, California 90033, United States
  • USC Norris Oncology/Hematology-Newport Beach
    Newport Beach, California 92663, United States
  • UCHealth University of Colorado Hospital
    Aurora, Colorado 80045, United States
  • UM Sylvester Comprehensive Cancer Center at Aventura
    Aventura, Florida 33180, United States
  • UM Sylvester Comprehensive Cancer Center at Coral Gables
    Coral Gables, Florida 33146, United States
  • UM Sylvester Comprehensive Cancer Center at Deerfield Beach
    Deerfield Beach, Florida 33442, United States
  • Mayo Clinic in Florida
    Jacksonville, Florida 32224-9980, United States
  • University of Miami Miller School of Medicine-Sylvester Cancer Center
    Miami, Florida 33136, United States
  • UM Sylvester Comprehensive Cancer Center at Kendall
    Miami, Florida 33176, United States
  • UM Sylvester Comprehensive Cancer Center at Plantation
    Plantation, Florida 33324, United States
  • Northwestern University
    Chicago, Illinois 60611, United States
  • University of Chicago Comprehensive Cancer Center
    Chicago, Illinois 60637, United States
  • University of Kentucky/Markey Cancer Center
    Lexington, Kentucky 40536, United States
  • University of Maryland/Greenebaum Cancer Center
    Baltimore, Maryland 21201, United States
  • Johns Hopkins University/Sidney Kimmel Cancer Center
    Baltimore, Maryland 21287, United States
  • Massachusetts General Hospital Cancer Center
    Boston, Massachusetts 02114, United States
  • Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
    Boston, Massachusetts 02215, United States
  • Mayo Clinic in Rochester
    Rochester, Minnesota 55905, United States
  • Siteman Cancer Center at Saint Peters Hospital
    City of Saint Peters, Missouri 63376, United States
  • Siteman Cancer Center at West County Hospital
    Creve Coeur, Missouri 63141, United States
  • Washington University School of Medicine
    St Louis, Missouri 63110, United States
  • Siteman Cancer Center-South County
    St Louis, Missouri 63129, United States
  • Duke University Medical Center
    Durham, North Carolina 27710, United States
  • University of Pittsburgh Cancer Institute (UPCI)
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15232, United States
  • UT Southwestern/Simmons Cancer Center-Dallas
    Dallas, Texas 75390, United States
  • Huntsman Cancer Institute/University of Utah
    Salt Lake City, Utah 84112, United States
  • University Health Network-Princess Margaret Hospital
    Toronto, Ontario M5G 2M9, Canada
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Oct 25, 2021

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Apr 1, 2026, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT03126630
Lead sponsor
National Cancer Institute (NCI)
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Apr 24, 2017
Start date
Oct 4, 2018
Primary completion
May 4, 2023
Completion
Feb 25, 2027 (estimated)
Results posted
Oct 16, 2024
Last update
Apr 1, 2026

Study contacts

Aaron S Mansfield
principal investigator · Dana-Farber - Harvard Cancer Center LAO

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is active, not recruiting, as verified in Feb 2026. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion