CClinicalTrials.gg
TerminatedNCT03075527Updated Jul 16, 2026Results posted

A Phase 2 Study of Durvalumab in Combination With Tremelimumab in Malignant Pleural Mesothelioma

A Phase 2 interventional study of Tremelimumab and Durvalumab in Mesothelioma, sponsored by Dana-Farber Cancer Institute. Terminated at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2026-07-16.

Sponsored by Dana-Farber Cancer Institute · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment

Why this study was terminated
Criteria not met for second stage at time of interim analysis
Phase
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
19
Allocation
Not applicable
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

This research study is studying a pair of immunotherapies as a possible treatment for malignant pleural mesothelioma.

The drugs involved in this study are:

  • Durvalumab
  • Tremelimumab
Read the detailed description

This research study is a Phase II clinical trial. Phase II clinical trials test the safety and effectiveness of an investigational drug to learn whether the drug works in treating a specific disease. "Investigational" means that the drug is being studied.

The FDA (the U.S. Food and Drug Administration) has not approved durvalumab or tremelimumab as a treatment for any disease.

In this research study, the investigators are studying if the study drug can help your cancer compared to the usual approach to treating malignant pleural mesothelioma . Durvalumab is a drug that blocks a protein often produced by cancer cells or surrounding cells to suppress immune cells from attacking cancer cells. Tremelimumab blocks a receptor on immune cells that normally suppresses immune attack. These two study drugs have been used alone for mesothelioma but the combination has not yet been tested for mesothelioma. These two drugs have been used for cancers such as melanoma and have been effective than using either drug alone.

02

Conditions studied

  • Mesothelioma

Browse trials for

Keywords

  • Mesothelioma
03

In context

Mesothelioma

470 studies on the registry are indexed under Mesothelioma; 75 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 19 is below the median of 40 across 371 interventional studies indexed under Mesothelioma.

Browse Mesothelioma studies →

Lead sponsor

Dana-Farber Cancer Institute is the lead sponsor of 813 studies on the registry; 124 are open to participants now.

Of its 113 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 77 (68%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • Written informed consent obtained prior to any study-specific procedures not considered part of routine medical care
  • Histologically or cytologically confirmed unresectable or medically inoperable malignant pleural mesothelioma
  • Disease progression after treatment with at least one line of chemotherapy that included a first-line platinum agent in combination with an anti-folate
  • Participants must have measurable disease according to modified RECIST for pleural malignant mesothelioma. (Bone metastases are not considered measurable.) Prior radiation to the only site of measurable disease will make the participant ineligible unless the lesion has been demonstrated to grow after completion of radiation therapy.
  • Participants must be willing and able to undergo a biopsy at the start of this study and an on-treatment biopsy if safe and feasible.
  • Participants must have be at least 28 days from any major surgery.
  • ECOG performance status of 0 or 1.
  • Subjects must have adequate hematologic, renal, and organ and marrow function
  • Age 18 years or older
  • Female subjects of childbearing potential who are sexually active with a non sterilized male partner must agree to use at least one highly effective method of contraception from the time of screening and must agree to continue using such precautions for 180 days after the last dose of investigational product. Male partners of a female subject must also agree to use male condom plus spermicide throughout this period. Cessation of birth control after this point should be discussed with a responsible physician. Not engaging in sexual activity for the total duration of the trial and the drug washout period is an acceptable practice; however, occasional abstinence, the rhythm method, and the withdrawal method are not acceptable methods of contraception. Female patients should refrain from breastfeeding throughout this period.
  • Females of childbearing potential are defined as those who are not surgically sterile (i.e., bilateral tubal ligation, bilateral oophorectomy, or complete hysterectomy) or post-menopausal (defined as greater than or equal to 12 months with no menses without an alternative medical cause)
  • Non-sterilized male subjects who are sexually active with a female partner of childbearing potential must use male condom plus spermicide from screening through 180 days after the last dose of investigational product. Not engaging in sexual activity for the total duration of the trial and the drug washout period is an acceptable practice; however, occasional abstinence, the rhythm method, and the withdrawal method are not acceptable methods of contraception. Male patients should refrain from sperm donation throughout this period. Female partners of a male subject must use a highly effective method of contraception throughout this period.
  • Ability to understand and the willingness to sign a written informed consent document
  • Subject is willing and able to comply with the protocol for the duration of the study including undergoing treatment and scheduled visits and examinations including follow up

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Previous treatment with an immune check-point inhibitors, CTLA-4, PD-1, or PD-L1, including prior treatment with either durvalumab or tremelimumab
  • Known central nervous system metastasis. Patients with known brain metastases, spinal cord compression, carcinomatous meningitis, or leptomeningeal disease may be enrolled if they have been treated, are no longer taking corticosteroids, and have been stable on imaging for at least 3 weeks
  • Subjects currently receiving systemic corticosteroids above 10 mg per day for more than 14 days; subjects receiving other systemic immunosuppressive drugs for more than 14 days. Exceptions include: inhaled, intranasal, ophthalmic, and topical corticosteroids, local corticosteroid injections (e.g., intra-articular injections), and subjects requiring corticosteroid pre-medication for hypersensitivity reactions (e.g. CT scan premedication)
  • Subjects with medical conditions that require the chronic use of systemic corticosteroids. Exceptions include: inhaled, intranasal, ophthalmic, and topical corticosteroids, local corticosteroid injections (e.g., intra-articular injections), and subjects requiring corticosteroid pre-medication for hypersensitivity reactions (e.g. CT scan premedication)
  • Active or prior documented autoimmune disease within the past 2 years, including but not limited to systemic lupus erythematosus, sarcoidosis syndrome, or Wegener's granulomatosis. NOTE: Subjects with vitiligo, Grave's disease, or psoriasis not requiring systemic treatment within the past 2 years are not excluded.
  • Active or prior documented inflammatory bowel disease (e.g., Crohn's disease, ulcerative colitis, celiac disease, diverticulitis), or any other chronic, serious gastrointestinal condition associated with diarrhea. NOTE: Subjects with known diverticulosis are permitted to enroll.
  • History of interstitial lung disease or pneumonitis that has required steroid administration.
  • History of primary immunodeficiency
  • History of allogeneic organ transplant
  • History of hypersensitivity to tremelimumab, durvalumab, or any excipient
  • Known history of active tuberculosis
  • Receipt of live attenuated vaccination within 30 days prior to study entry or within 30 days of receiving durvalumab or tremelimumab
  • Participants with a history of a second primary malignancy. Exceptions include: patients with a history of malignancies that were treated curatively and have not recurred within 5 years prior to study entry; resected basal and squamous cell carcinomas of the skin, and completely resected carcinoma in situ of any type.
  • Participants who have had chemotherapy, biologic therapy, or investigational therapy within 21 days (including bevacizumab) or radiotherapy within 7 days prior to entering the study or those who have not recovered from adverse events due to agents administered
  • Any history of a prior immune-related adverse event (irAE) at least or greater than grade 3 while receiving any previous immunotherapy agent.
  • Participants who are receiving any other investigational agents.
  • Uncontrolled intercurrent illness including, but not limited to:

    • Ongoing or active infection
    • Gastritis
    • Symptomatic congestive heart failure
    • Severe hypertension (defined as BP at least or greater than160/100 during the screening period despite optimal medical management)
    • Unstable angina pectoris
    • Cardiac arrhythmia
    • Active bleeding diatheses
    • Active peptic ulcer disease
    • Psychiatric illness/social situations that would limit compliance with study requirements
  • Mean QT interval corrected for heart rate (QTc) ≥470 ms calculated from 3 electrocardiograms (ECGs) using Fredericia's Correction
  • Known past or present medical history HIV-positive
  • Subjects with known acute or chronic hepatitis B or hepatitis C.
  • Pregnant women are excluded from this study because tremelimumab and durvalumab have unknown effects on the developing fetus. Because there is an unknown but potential risk for adverse events in nursing infants secondary to treatment of the mother with tremelimumab or durvalumab, breastfeeding women are also excluded. Female subjects of child bearing potential must have a negative serum pregnancy test obtained prior to trial registration.
  • Subjects who are involved in the planning and/or conduct of the study (applies to both AstraZeneca staff and/or staff at the study site).
  • Subjects who have undergone a pneumonectomy due to known potential for pulmonary toxicities and heightened risk for complications.
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
19 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Tremelimumab + Durvalumab

    Subjects will receive durvalumab and tremelimumab both via intravenous infusion once per day for every 28 day cycles (+ 7 days). Participants will receive tremelimumab for up to 4 cycles (4 doses). Beginning with cycle 5 day 1, subjects will continue to receive durvalumab alone, until clinical or radiological progression.

    Drug: Tremelimumab · Drug: Durvalumab

Interventions

  • DrugTremelimumab

    Tremelimumab blocks a receptor on immune cells that normally suppresses immune attack.

    Also known as: CP-675,206

  • DrugDurvalumab

    Durvalumab is a drug that blocks a protein often produced by cancer cells or surrounding cells to suppress immune cells from attacking cancer cells.

    Also known as: MEDI-4736

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Overall Response Rate (ORR)

    Overall Response Rate (ORR) was defined as the proportion of participants achieving complete response (CR) or partial response (PR) as best response on treatment based on RECIST v1.1 criteria.

    Time frame: ORR was assessed every 8 weeks from Cycle 1 Day 1 until date of documented disease progression or death. The median treatment duration is 1.91 months with range (0.00 months - 23.46 months).

Secondary outcomes

  1. Median Overall Survival (OS)

    OS based on the Kaplan-Meier method is defined as the time from study entry to death or censored at date last known alive.

    Time frame: OS is assessed from date of registration until date of death on-treatment or during follow-up. Survival data collection in long-term follow-up every 3-4 months. Median follow-up for survival is of 27.33 months with range (0.76 months - 50.40 months).

  2. Median Progression Free Survival (PFS)

    PFS based on the Kaplan-Meier method is defined as the duration between randomization and documented disease progression (PD) defined per RECIST 1.1 criteria. or death, or is censored at time of last disease assessment.

    Time frame: Participants were evaluated for response every 8 weeks on study and in long-term survival followed-up every 3-4 months. Median follow-up for survival is of 27.33 months with range (0.76 months - 50.40 months).

  3. Median Duration of Response (DOR)

    DOR is measured from the time measurement criteria are met for CR or PR (whichever is first recorded) until the first date that recurrent or progressive disease is objectively documented (or censored at the date of last disease evaluation).

    Time frame: The median of treatment duration is 1.91 months with range (0.00 months - 23.46 months).

  4. Grade 4-5 Treatment-related Toxicity Rate

    All grade 4-5 adverse events (AE) with treatment attribution of possibly, probably or definite based on CTCAEv4.03 that are not resolved in accordance with treatment guidelines were counted. Rate is the proportion of treated participants experiencing at least one of these adverse events as defined during the time of observation.

    Time frame: Toxicity is assessed from the time of first dose of study medication until the participant comes off study. The median of treatment duration is 1.91 months with range (0.00 months - 23.46 months).

07

Results

Posted Nov 12, 2019

Participant flow

Patients were enrolled from April 2017 to August 2018.

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneTremelimumab + Durvalumab
Started19
Completed0
Not completed19
Withdrew: Death1
Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject1
Withdrew: Physician decision3
Withdrew: Progression/relapse14

Outcome measures

PrimaryOverall Response Rate (ORR)

Overall Response Rate (ORR) was defined as the proportion of participants achieving complete response (CR) or partial response (PR) as best response on treatment based on RECIST v1.1 criteria.

Time frame:
ORR was assessed every 8 weeks from Cycle 1 Day 1 until date of documented disease progression or death. The median treatment duration is 1.91 months with range (0.00 months - 23.46 months).
Reported as:
Number · proportion of paticipants
Overall Response Rate (ORR)
proportion of paticipantsTremelimumab + Durvalumab
Overall Response Rate (ORR)0.105 (0.045 to 0.229)
SecondaryMedian Overall Survival (OS)

OS based on the Kaplan-Meier method is defined as the time from study entry to death or censored at date last known alive.

Time frame:
OS is assessed from date of registration until date of death on-treatment or during follow-up. Survival data collection in long-term follow-up every 3-4 months. Median follow-up for survival is of 27.33 months with range (0.76 months - 50.40 months).
Reported as:
Median · months
Median Overall Survival (OS)
monthsTremelimumab + Durvalumab
Median Overall Survival (OS)9.76 (7.2 to 29.2)
SecondaryMedian Progression Free Survival (PFS)

PFS based on the Kaplan-Meier method is defined as the duration between randomization and documented disease progression (PD) defined per RECIST 1.1 criteria. or death, or is censored at time of last disease assessment.

Time frame:
Participants were evaluated for response every 8 weeks on study and in long-term survival followed-up every 3-4 months. Median follow-up for survival is of 27.33 months with range (0.76 months - 50.40 months).
Reported as:
Median · months
Median Progression Free Survival (PFS)
monthsTremelimumab + Durvalumab
Median Progression Free Survival (PFS)3.42 (2.79 to 5.72)
SecondaryMedian Duration of Response (DOR)

DOR is measured from the time measurement criteria are met for CR or PR (whichever is first recorded) until the first date that recurrent or progressive disease is objectively documented (or censored at the date of last disease evaluation).

Time frame:
The median of treatment duration is 1.91 months with range (0.00 months - 23.46 months).
Reported as:
Median · months
Median Duration of Response (DOR)
monthsTremelimumab + Durvalumab
Median Duration of Response (DOR)2.07 (2.07 to NA)
SecondaryGrade 4-5 Treatment-related Toxicity Rate

All grade 4-5 adverse events (AE) with treatment attribution of possibly, probably or definite based on CTCAEv4.03 that are not resolved in accordance with treatment guidelines were counted. Rate is the proportion of treated participants experiencing at least one of these adverse events as defined during the time of observation.

Time frame:
Toxicity is assessed from the time of first dose of study medication until the participant comes off study. The median of treatment duration is 1.91 months with range (0.00 months - 23.46 months).
Reported as:
Number · proportion of paticipants
Grade 4-5 Treatment-related Toxicity Rate
proportion of paticipantsTremelimumab + Durvalumab
Grade 4-5 Treatment-related Toxicity Rate0.158 (0.061 to 0.322)

Adverse events

Collected over Adverse events were collected from time of first dose through end of follow-up, every 3 weeks during active therapy. The median of the observation period for all-cause mortality is 27.33 months with range (0.76 months - 50.40 months). The median of observation time for AE is 1.91 months with range (0.00 months - 23.46 months).. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Tremelimumab + Durvalumab11/19 (57.9%)4/19 (21.1%)19/19 (100%)
Most frequent serious events
Most frequent serious events
EventTremelimumab + Durvalumab
PneumonitisRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders2/19
DysphagiaGastrointestinal disorders1/19
Spinal Cord CompressionMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders1/19
DyspneaRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders1/19
Death NOSGeneral disorders1/19
Adult respiratory distress syndromeRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders1/19
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 75
Most frequent other events
EventTremelimumab + Durvalumab
FatigueGeneral disorders7/19
HypoalbuminemiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders6/19
ConstipationGastrointestinal disorders4/19
Lipase increasedInvestigations4/19
HyponatremiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders4/19
CoughRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders4/19
PruritusSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders4/19
HyperthyroidismEndocrine disorders3/19
DiarrheaGastrointestinal disorders3/19
NauseaGastrointestinal disorders3/19

Baseline characteristics

Age, Customized
Age, Customized(years)Tremelimumab + Durvalumab
Age69 (33 to 84)
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Tremelimumab + Durvalumab
Female3
Male16
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Tremelimumab + Durvalumab
Hispanic or Latino0
Not Hispanic or Latino18
Unknown or Not Reported1
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Tremelimumab + Durvalumab
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Asian0
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
Black or African American0
White18
More than one race0
Unknown or Not Reported1
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(participants)Tremelimumab + Durvalumab
United States19
08

Study locations

1 site
  • Dana Farber Cancer Institute
    Boston, Massachusetts 02215, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · May 12, 2017

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: No

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Jul 16, 2026, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT03075527
Lead sponsor
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Collaborators
AstraZeneca
Responsible party
Biagio Ricciuti (Sponsor Investigator, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute) — Principal investigator
First posted
Mar 9, 2017
Start date
Apr 10, 2017
Primary completion
Jun 7, 2019
Completion
Dec 16, 2024
Results posted
Nov 12, 2019
Last update
Jul 16, 2026

Study contacts

Mark M. Awad, MD, PhD
principal investigator · Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Biagio Ricciuti, MD
principal investigator · Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is terminated, as verified in Dec 2025. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion